View Full Version : Central Highlands
Grimmett
30 Sep 2006, 23:12
Yes, i hear that Leo Fitzpatrick is coaching the Beaufort Crows this Year.
Also hear Foster is most likely coming back, unsure about the other two... but will be very handy and are needed! With these boys back the only was is up!
Fitzpatrick one of the Lake Bolac guys?
Well what a massive two weeks it has been. After watching Skontra and the crew take out the CHFL grand final i was able to encounter some the still celebrating Waubra footballers at the NCFL grand final. It was a Brown quinella with Fridge and his brother both winning grand finals within a week of one another. I would certainly say that the pubs have cringed at the sight of the Brown boys walking into certain venues over the last two weeks. Rumour has it that Fridge is still celebrating with beer and not KFC!! His posse of teammates certainly made it known that they were at the NCFL final with a certain player getting on the PA and announcing that the team had arrived at Wedderburn with a little bit of leaverage!!
Overall it was fantastic to witness a Waubra win after 24 years, their dominance all year proved that they were certainly the most switched on team to win the CHFL premiership and lets hope for the league that Skontra decides to have another crack at a double premiership. Waubra certainly have the talent if they can keep it to take it out again next year. they need to keep Miller under control and Liston in cotton wool, another fantastic season out of Mullane (one of the better players seen over the last year) and i just think they may be the goods again.
Let the preseason begin and let the stories surface from football trips!!!!:)
learmonth
2 Oct 2006, 13:16
Judging by the previous posts it seems there'll be a few coaching changes next year. Daylesford, Hepburn, Learmonth, Springbank & Clunes are the only teams that i haven't heard of any coaching changes. Are they keeping the same coaches? I'd be suprised if the rumours of Skontra stepping down from the Waubra job are true!
Have heard that Adams has stood down from Daylesford due to time commitment with a new job and young family, Hepburn will resign Robertson. A.J Beacham is on his 2nd year of his contract and will be in charge again of the Lakies.
At the B&F Powell was a runaway winner with Veldhuis and Pat McGuigan Runners up!
Jarman03
3 Oct 2006, 15:04
There has been an exodus of BFL players into the Central Highlands last few years, is there any more rumoured to be heading that way next season. Heard that mcguigan from East may head to Learmonth.
Also talk that the Daylesford Bulldogs are talking to some current BFL players about coaching there next year.
learmonth
3 Oct 2006, 16:05
There has been an exodus of BFL players into the Central Highlands last few years, is there any more rumoured to be heading that way next season. Heard that mcguigan from East may head to Learmonth.
Also talk that the Daylesford Bulldogs are talking to some current BFL players about coaching there next year.
The players in question at the Bulldogs would be Faull & Giggsy to play along side their good mate Adam Hall. Both were seen reguarly out their last season. Central Highlands is certainly becoming more professional these days with the inclusion of BFL players. Only good for the League.
N.C.F.L have you heard any interesting news over the last 48 hours regarding the Waubra F.C??? What players would they be chasing up in the off season to defend there crown??
Scoop quite right in saying that the Waubra boys put on a show at the ncfl grand final with great support being shown for the better brown brother (there words apparently).
Heard a whisper that Benny Naylon and the Fridge were put under immense pressure by a couple of the donald recruiters during the game. Apparently both were very keen with the package deal that was offered.... Dont think they will go though Donald doesnt have a k.f.c so i cant see the big fridge moving too far from his beloved Chicken franchise:D
N.C.F.L have you heard any interesting news over the last 48 hours regarding the Waubra F.C??? What players would they be chasing up in the off season to defend there crown??
Scoop quite right in saying that the Waubra boys put on a show at the ncfl grand final with great support being shown for the better brown brother (there words apparently).
Heard a whisper that Benny Naylon and the Fridge were put under immense pressure by a couple of the donald recruiters during the game. Apparently both were very keen with the package deal that was offered.... Dont think they will go though Donald doesnt have a k.f.c so i cant see the big fridge moving too far from his beloved Chicken franchise:D
What chance of the "better brown" moving down the highway to Waubra, so they can have the Brown Brothers.
My mail has it the deal is as good as done.
if it does eventuate look out JD's, look out maccas and look out for the big chicken place!!!! Only kidding Skontra will have them on a strict regime of water and salad for the whole preseason....a drinking ban would surely have to be put in place!!!!:)
Heaven forbid, a water and salad diet, hazeldenes chicken farms would have to retrench workers... and as for those poor maccas staff that would be looking for work ;)
They might be able to become school teachers :eek: :eek: .
Uncle CC
4 Oct 2006, 17:32
You're not wrong. The moment I laid eyes on the fridge, I suggested to the Waubra president that the club buy shares in a local KFC store. If the bigger & better fridge comes to Waubra, i'm sure the KFC coupons that the club have will play a large role in luring him.
Any news on the footy trips front?
Waubra are heading to Cairns on their footy trip tomorrow. I hear Ballan are going up there at the same time and that Bungaree went to Sydney last week. Gordan are again spending more money on their footy trip than they did on football operations and are heading to Thailand.
Where have other clubs been/going?
learmonth
4 Oct 2006, 18:29
You're not wrong. The moment I laid eyes on the fridge, I suggested to the Waubra president that the club buy shares in a local KFC store. If the bigger & better fridge comes to Waubra, i'm sure the KFC coupons that the club have will play a large role in luring him.
Any news on the footy trips front?
Waubra are heading to Cairns on their footy trip tomorrow. I hear Ballan are going up there at the same time and that Bungaree went to Sydney last week. Gordan are again spending more money on their footy trip than they did on football operations and are heading to Thailand.
Where have other clubs been/going?
Learmonth are heading to the Gold Coast on Friday 13th October!!! Until Monday 16th October
You blokes need to back off the big unit fridge. It must be hard on him only having one nut. Heard that Hepburn went hard after Jordan to the tune of 30k, can anyone confirm this.
Blues1995
4 Oct 2006, 23:59
You blokes need to back off the big unit fridge. It must be hard on him only having one nut. Heard that Hepburn went hard after Jordan to the tune of 30k, can anyone confirm this.
Didnt Hepburn do the same with Siez, little return for $800 per game, more money wasted, Did hear that Skontra will be an assistant in the BFL Next season more than ikley with East Point or Ballarat. When i played in Ballarat FL Skonna was playing twos footy as i knew him through my days at Ballarat Redan CC, he has applied himself very well and would be a great asset to a BFL club with what he has done at Waubra. Also heard from a mate of mine tonite that Reid is coaching Bungaree? anyone else heard that one.
Astro Boy
5 Oct 2006, 08:52
Didnt Hepburn do the same with Siez, little return for $800 per game, more money wasted, Did hear that Skontra will be an assistant in the BFL Next season more than ikley with East Point or Ballarat. When i played in Ballarat FL Skonna was playing twos footy as i knew him through my days at Ballarat Redan CC, he has applied himself very well and would be a great asset to a BFL club with what he has done at Waubra. Also heard from a mate of mine tonite that Reid is coaching Bungaree? anyone else heard that one.
I have heard Reidy may coach Bungaree, but he is not keen on doing it on his own .Maybe joint with Piggy Linton. I know Reidy has been toying with the idea of coaching over the last couple of years maybe he feels he's ready? huge call to walk way from Redan when u've just captained them to a flag. Bunga must have offered him plenty coz Jayden really like his Kanga.
Appin Vet
5 Oct 2006, 11:30
Does Marc Cassidy still play ??
I believe he was Ass. Coach at Carisbrook in 2004, a Premiership year??
learmonth
5 Oct 2006, 14:49
Perfect way to beat WAUBRA. If the other Brown is coming, just leave a few Barrels of KFC in the opposition's forward line and you will not have to worry about them kicking goals. Will have to donate a few barrels each game though, and let them wash it down with some Diet Coke!!!
learmonth
5 Oct 2006, 14:49
Does Marc Cassidy still play ??
I believe he was Ass. Coach at Carisbrook in 2004, a Premiership year??
Isnt he a Jockey?????
Perfect way to beat WAUBRA. If the other Brown is coming, just leave a few Barrels of KFC in the opposition's forward line and you will not have to worry about them kicking goals. Will have to donate a few barrels each game though, and let them wash it down with some Diet Coke!!!
Mate if you put Diet Coke near the chicken the Brown Bros would stay down their own forward line, best to go for a sure thing replace the Diet Coke with a few long necks of Carlton Draught. Be like candy to a baby. Game over!!!
N Bartos
5 Oct 2006, 18:04
Mate if you put Diet Coke near the chicken the Brown Bros would stay down their own forward line, best to go for a sure thing replace the Diet Coke with a few long necks of Carlton Draught. Be like candy to a baby. Game over!!!
I think it might be best to keep the Brown Brothers out of the forward line. We saw the damage 1 Brown in the forward 50 did for Waubra this year.
I reckon the boys would stick to the same routine as they did this year. A danglie around there neck speaks for itself!!!!!
A picture in the Weekly Times seems to sugest the better Brown may prefer VB Learmonth , buy a box of long necks half VB half Draught maybe 4 dark Cougers a set of keys ( i hear the boys enjoy shot gunning ) put it all near the chicken and they wont need maning up.
N Bartos
5 Oct 2006, 18:58
A picture in the Weekly Times seems to sugest the better Brown may prefer VB Learmonth , buy a box of long necks half VB half Draught maybe 4 dark Cougers a set of keys ( i hear the boys enjoy shot gunning ) put it all near the chicken and they wont need maning up.
Time to lay off the brown brothers i think, lets get back to Siez, any chance of Hepburn having him for a second year.
Isnt he a Jockey?????
After looking at a picture of him in the Bendigo Addy last year I didn't recognise him (Cassidy that is), he had certainly changed a lot since i last saw him play... Last i heard he was playing at maryborough... Not sure if it the BFL club or the Rovers...
learmonth
6 Oct 2006, 09:55
Time to lay off the brown brothers i think, lets get back to Siez, any chance of Hepburn having him for a second year.
For 800 a game, im sure he would be biting at the bullett to get back up there and drink some of that good Mineral Water. They cant possible offer him that again, and im sure they wont of Heartless Mick Carey 400 a game again, as he couldnt even get on the gound against Learmonth in the final because they had no faith in his ability.
What a joke Hepburn going after DJ from east, He would never go there!!!
Has anywone heard how Weatherly has been going for Nth Adelaide?
Grimmett
6 Oct 2006, 16:51
Has anywone heard how Weatherly has been going for Nth Adelaide?
Some discussion about him in a What Chance North Adelaide? thread started by GoYouBlues in the SA forum.
Montyking
7 Oct 2006, 00:09
i hear thomas mullane-grant is the new playing coach at Ballan and he is bringing a string of players with him. Including a ruckman from Otway in the Colac District League and a centrehalf back from a finalist GFL team, any one know anythin on this?
Blueboy16
7 Oct 2006, 00:11
How did Jimmy Newton play this year with Hepburn...... Played with him at Melton Centrals in 05?
Apple Eater
7 Oct 2006, 01:01
i hear thomas mullane-grant is the new playing coach at Ballan and he is bringing a string of players with him. Including a ruckman from Otway in the Colac District League and a centrehalf back from a finalist GFL team, any one know anythin on this?
Heard mullane-Grant may do it with Hayden Cartledge, Malcolm Scott still a big chance to do a backflip and remain at the club. Don't know about potential recruits but Ballan along with Learmonth are probably the two teams to watch if they retain their list and pick up two or three.
gotiger33
8 Oct 2006, 11:21
How are Springbank going to come up this year? Have overheard that there is a few of the Uni boys looking to head out there instead of joining the others at Redan... Tranquilli to coach again?
Montyking
8 Oct 2006, 13:25
How are Springbank going to come up this year? Have overheard that there is a few of the Uni boys looking to head out there instead of joining the others at Redan... Tranquilli to coach again?
Cant see Tranquilli not coaching again, he has been a big success with the boys. I rekon there will be a few surprises will Sammy Watson, Matty Harkin and Matty Pitt stick around Redan??? what do u rekon?
Success? In what way? They would need to pick up a dozen good players to be any threat to the top sides.
gotiger33
8 Oct 2006, 15:26
The first two wont be at Uni next year so they probably dont even know whether they will be in Ballarat, Pitt was one of the standouts in the backline for Redan in the final series, would be silly if they let him leave...
Riff Raff
9 Oct 2006, 09:20
Heard Tranquilli will coach again also that Skontra will coach Waubra again is this true?
learmonth
9 Oct 2006, 13:12
How did Jimmy Newton play this year with Hepburn...... Played with him at Melton Centrals in 05?
Plays ok in a good side, Would struggle in a mediocre side, as he gets the 3-4th best backman, does have a bit of agility in the ruck, but no match winner.
His brother is a lot better player in Sam
learmonth
9 Oct 2006, 13:13
Success? In what way? They would need to pick up a dozen good players to be any threat to the top sides.
For Springbank to be up there this season, they would require Tranqulli to bring 1/2 the playing listof Collingwood when he was there....
Montyking
9 Oct 2006, 16:14
[quote=Riff Raff]Heard Tranquilli will coach again also that Skontra will coach Waubra again is this true?[/quote
Thats the word across town, apparently they have offered Skontra the job again
thekid178
9 Oct 2006, 17:05
that rumour has been floating round for quite a while now, has the current coach actually left? will be an interesting decision when its made
KOOROC12
9 Oct 2006, 18:09
that rumour has been floating round for quite a while now, has the current coach actually left? will be an interesting decision when its made
y is that kid ? u interested in playing at the blues next year....
Centre Sqaure
9 Oct 2006, 19:17
good sources tell me that farrell from springbank will be bringing a few mates from uni blues and blacks down the highway next year, could be the big improvers in 07
Thats the word across town, apparently they have offered Skontra the job again[/quote]
Skontra has stayed on at waubra and sounds like all but 1 or 2 are staying also, they would have to happy with this result!!!
Who are some recruits apart from Porter & Leehane that we can expect to see in the CHFL next year and where, whats the GOSS????
learmonth
10 Oct 2006, 14:29
Thats the word across town, apparently they have offered Skontra the job again
Skontra has stayed on at waubra and sounds like all but 1 or 2 are staying also, they would have to happy with this result!!!
Who are some recruits apart from Porter & Leehane that we can expect to see in the CHFL next year and where, whats the GOSS????[/quote]
Not sure how the above 2 wilol fare! Porter is coming back from a Knee Reco and Leehane..??? Good player in the Lexton Plains, but CHFL is improving BIG time and it may be past him, though he looks the complete footballer.
Im sure more info on players will develop over the next month, so it will be good to keep all pasted. From speaking to Aj, he said its very very hard to get players from other clubs, and money is not much of a factor compared to playing in successful sides and with ya mates.
Learmonth should have a few high profile names signed over the next few weeks, but nothing is definant until its all on the dotted line and they are cleared.
Who are some recruits apart from Porter & Leehane that we can expect to see in the CHFL next year and where, whats the GOSS????
Not sure how the above 2 wilol fare! Porter is coming back from a Knee Reco and Leehane..??? Good player in the Lexton Plains, but CHFL is improving BIG time and it may be past him, though he looks the complete footballer.
Im sure more info on players will develop over the next month, so it will be good to keep all pasted. From speaking to Aj, he said its very very hard to get players from other clubs, and money is not much of a factor compared to playing in successful sides and with ya mates.
Learmonth should have a few high profile names signed over the next few weeks, but nothing is definant until its all on the dotted line and they are cleared.[/quote]
Not only is Porter reportedly coming back from a knee reco, and a late season one at that, he would be over 30yo, 100kg+ and known for being half fit. All ingredients that point to a speedy comeback? Don't think so. If it's true that Buninyong have recruited him, well good luck! I hope they remember their Brendan Lehmann experience. As for Leehane, has he improved since his last stint at Buninyong? He has always LOOKED good but apart from a 10 goal haul against Hepburn one day I can't remember him ever living up to expectations. Good as Porter has been, I can't see these two improving them enough to be a threat.
thekid178
10 Oct 2006, 19:37
y is that kid ? u interested in playing at the blues next year....
y do u ask, thinking of going urself?
Plenty of room boys, all welcome.
KOOROC12
11 Oct 2006, 01:15
Plenty of room boys, all welcome.
cheers mate i might have to take u up on that offer next season... what bout u kid?
crusader
11 Oct 2006, 11:35
Hepburn are going hard after Jordan. Was talking to one of their main men down there, and mentioned that he had been offered 50k by other clubs, nad hes reply was yeah i have heard that, meaning that they are making a big play. Heard that seiz is also not a required player for the money they put into him. Nott going to give him half of what he is on this year, and if he goes it is no big loss. Big exodus of players aswell, but wont be to much of a worry as they are going hard. Daylesford will have a coach signed up next by next week aswell, with several big recruits rumoured to be keen to go out there for a kick
learmonth
11 Oct 2006, 12:57
Hepburn are going hard after Jordan. Was talking to one of their main men down there, and mentioned that he had been offered 50k by other clubs, nad hes reply was yeah i have heard that, meaning that they are making a big play. Heard that seiz is also not a required player for the money they put into him. Nott going to give him half of what he is on this year, and if he goes it is no big loss. Big exodus of players aswell, but wont be to much of a worry as they are going hard. Daylesford will have a coach signed up next by next week aswell, with several big recruits rumoured to be keen to go out there for a kick
Welcome back Crusader, U are a very smart man. They wont get Jordan as he has already signed with East/Point. Is on about 90k (30k Footy & 60K Work) with match payments and his job as Aussie Sports Tour which East/Point used to get him.
As for Seiz, its only a matter of time before all clubs that he goes to asking for BIG $$$ understands that he is not worth more then a bowl of Black & Gold Spagetti!
What is the news up Dford way... Any more information on Faull & Giggsy playing there this season.???
Also been told by a very reliable source that Salesi Uhi will be joining his former Coach Malcome Scott at North City this season. Scott is rumored to be an assistant to Bety McCarty.
N Bartos
11 Oct 2006, 13:23
Welcome back Crusader, U are a very smart man. They wont get Jordan as he has already signed with East/Point. Is on about 90k (30k Footy & 60K Work) with match payments and his job as Aussie Sports Tour which East/Point used to get him.
As for Seiz, its only a matter of time before all clubs that he goes to asking for BIG $$$ understands that he is not worth more then a bowl of Black & Gold Spagetti!
What is the news up Dford way... Any more information on Faull & Giggsy playing there this season.???
Also been told by a very reliable source that Salesi Uhi will be joining his former Coach Malcome Scott at North City this season. Scott is rumored to be an assistant to Bety McCarty.
Apparently Jordan isn't as good as we all thought. Apparently the big fella couldn't even drink on the footy trip he was that crook, a bad case of alcohol poisoning. Maybe he needs to get out with a few of the CHFL teams and learn to drink.
HAHAHAHAHAHA! Thats the best one I've heard on here. He must be a REALLY reliable source, sounds more like a wan ker to me. Scotty's story will come out soon enough. You should get your 'reliable' source to give you some cooking lessons because Black & Gold spaghetti comes up a treat. You're just using the wrong SAUCE. Again!
learmonth
12 Oct 2006, 10:38
HAHAHAHAHAHA! Thats the best one I've heard on here. He must be a REALLY reliable source, sounds more like a wan ker to me. Scotty's story will come out soon enough. You should get your 'reliable' source to give you some cooking lessons because Black & Gold spaghetti comes up a treat. You're just using the wrong SAUCE. Again!
Helmut, I expect an appology once this comes through. As we have said before, 90% is just rumor on these threads. Anyway Uhi is not as good, as everyone sais. is an individual with a rugby style of game and wouldnt be in the top 30 players in CHFL.
If an apology is warranted you'll get it, no problem. Ask your source how much North City are offering potential recruits and we can have a laugh together.
As for Uhi, most dynamic player I've seen in chfl, unstoppable when at his best. But I concede that we didn't see enough of his best at Ballan this year. Simply wasn't fit enough and had too many niggles, hopefully he will be fitter and turn it on for 120 minutes every week next year. At Ballan. If it's not Ballan it certainly won't be North City.
Riff Raff
16 Oct 2006, 10:11
Must be some footy trip mail out by now lads, lets have it. The thread is drying up give it some life.
crusader
16 Oct 2006, 15:07
News on Daylesford is that we have signed on a new coach last Wednesday in Phill Davies. Non playing coach. Coached queensland Teal cup in the early 90s and has had a bit to do with Brisbane Lions. Pretty sure he coached ballarat to there last premiership.
On Giggsy and Faully, havent even spoken to them, as there is a very good chance they are both backing up with East. Not really recruiting hard because there isnt much need, maybe one or two, but several guns who played a couple of years ago have signed up without daylesford even chasing. one being a gun forward that has been playing in the GFL for the last three years. Rumor has it that hepburn have lost mann, newtowns * 2, raak, grant, seiz (big loss), carey (bigger loss) and peake. Hard to replace most of them, except for seiz and carey.
N Bartos
16 Oct 2006, 16:29
News on Daylesford is that we have signed on a new coach last Wednesday in Phill Davies. Non playing coach. Coached queensland Teal cup in the early 90s and has had a bit to do with Brisbane Lions. Pretty sure he coached ballarat to there last premiership.
On Giggsy and Faully, havent even spoken to them, as there is a very good chance they are both backing up with East. Not really recruiting hard because there isnt much need, maybe one or two, but several guns who played a couple of years ago have signed up without daylesford even chasing. one being a gun forward that has been playing in the GFL for the last three years. Rumor has it that hepburn have lost mann, newtowns * 2, raak, grant, seiz (big loss), carey (bigger loss) and peake. Hard to replace most of them, except for seiz and carey.
Add Ferrier to that list. Word from up North is that he might be heading back home for a year.
learmonth
17 Oct 2006, 11:12
Massive news if that signing is from North Shore..??? Would probably be the best player in the league if you get him. Will be good to hear his famous Lleyton Hewitt "CMON" CAll.
What about Richardson and Dean..???? Heard they will be back this season..???
crusader
17 Oct 2006, 11:45
Massive news if that signing is from North Shore..??? Would probably be the best player in the league if you get him. Will be good to hear his famous Lleyton Hewitt "CMON" CAll.
You know your stuff learmonth. Richardson isnt coming back, north boy through and through. But dean should be back. What about down your way, heard matt lockett signed up, that should be good if you were the northern knights. He'll go missing half way through the year, as this year. What about the cairns connection. heard full forward is staying up there. Anyone heard any truth about a big exodus of players from newlyn as well. not happy campers out there.
Yes there are rumblings at Newlyn.
Is that Lynch?
Harry HP
17 Oct 2006, 14:19
Gees matt lockett will be a good signing!!! Couldn't even get a game for North City...But on the other front it's great to hear Hepburn coming apart at the seames.
Just got news in from the weekend that Waubra were nearly without most of there guys for next year after a near miss friday night on there way to a presentation dinner. Heard a bloke who plays in long sleeves on a wing (wears number 1) was squeeling like a little girl screaming " i dont want to die" when the bus driver had a brain freeze. Any truth in this boys ???
learmonth
17 Oct 2006, 14:33
Gees matt lockett will be a good signing!!! Couldn't even get a game for North City...But on the other front it's great to hear Hepburn coming apart at the seames.
Yes Matt Lockett from North, did struggle this season after coming back from a knee reconstruction, and didnt get along with the coach and didnt enjoy the season.
Must remember, that he was a good player for Daylesford in the Ballarat Football League, and will surely impress this season. He is looking super fit.
Trouble at Newlyn with the committee split in wanting to get rid of the coach..??
Cant believe this hasnt been mentioned yet but congratulations must go to Shane Skontra on his award for Coach of the Year. He certainly celebrated this in style on Friday night and capped off a great year for the Waubra footy club and himself personally..
In my opinion he should stick to coaching cos he cant dance!!!!:D
N Bartos
17 Oct 2006, 15:13
Cant believe this hasnt been mentioned yet but congratulations must go to Shane Skontra on his award for Coach of the Year. He certainly celebrated this in style on Friday night and capped off a great year for the Waubra footy club and himself personally..
In my opinion he should stick to coaching cos he cant dance!!!!:D
Skontra has done a great job at Waubra and not just in the last two years. SInce he first started out there as coach he has put in alot of hard work to get the club on the right track.
Any news on any recruits they're chasing?
Astro Boy
17 Oct 2006, 15:50
Yes i did hear that actually. Apparently all he was worried about was not reaching a milestone in his life that he is very close to cracking.[/quote]
what milestone is this?
Uncle CC
17 Oct 2006, 20:12
Just got news in from the weekend that Waubra were nearly without most of there guys for next year after a near miss friday night on there way to a presentation dinner. Heard a bloke who plays in long sleeves on a wing (wears number 1) was squeeling like a little girl screaming " i dont want to die" when the bus driver had a brain freeze. Any truth in this boys ???
Yep its all true. The Squeeling remined me of Peake of the footy field. I think the main reason the bus didn't tip was that the brown brothers were both sitting together on the opposite side of the bus(looking out the window at the proposed new KFC site).
Chop Chop Are You Still There
Yep its all true. The Squeeling remined me of Peake of the footy field. I think the main reason the bus didn't tip was that the brown brothers were both sitting together on the opposite side of the bus(looking out the window at the proposed new KFC site).
And the big Dirty Bird was on that side of the bus too apparently. Boom Boom Ch Boom Boom Ch.
this is true, other players though were to busy getting cozy with the youngest player in the reserves team, and sucking up to her mother
Astro Boy
18 Oct 2006, 10:55
[quote=chubs]this is true, other players though were to busy getting cozy with the youngest player in the reserves team, and sucking up to her
I think the bloke ur talking about took out the most consistent award..Puts in plenty of hard work on & off the ground. I wasn't sure who he was going for the mum or daughter. I do believe he was all over the daughter like a rash, disco passhing in front of everyone @ his table though.. I think the lovely rinse through his hair got him over the line.
Riff Raff
18 Oct 2006, 12:52
[quote=chubs]this is true, other players though were to busy getting cozy with the youngest player in the reserves team, and sucking up to her
I think the bloke ur talking about took out the most consistent award..Puts in plenty of hard work on & off the ground. I wasn't sure who he was going for the mum or daughter. I do believe he was all over the daughter like a rash, disco passhing in front of everyone @ his table though.. I think the lovely rinse through his hair got him over the line.
Waubra have had there presentation night i take it, who won the B&F?
Astro Boy
18 Oct 2006, 13:13
[quote=Astro Boy]
Waubra have had there presentation night i take it, who won the B&F?
1.Shaun Mullane
2.Wild Man( G miller)
The highlight of the the night was Gav Millers Speech.
Astro Boy
19 Oct 2006, 16:29
So does anyone know who won the B&F's from all the other clubs ?
doppelganger
19 Oct 2006, 16:37
Daylesford's was won by Clayton Scoble in a rare injury free year (until the 1st final against Hepburn when someone put a knee into his rib cage). A very well deserved recipient. Went down to the wire with Scott Winduss just missing out in the last round. The big surprise is that captain Rob Rodgers didn't poll better. The Adams brothers both did well.
Pretty sure Bryce Nicholson won Bungaree with Joe Carmody Runner Up
learmonth
19 Oct 2006, 18:20
Pretty sure Bryce Nicholson won Bungaree with Joe Carmody Runner Up
At Learmonth-
B&F Brenton Powell
R/U Wade Veldhuis & Pat McGuigan
At Learmonth-
B&F Brenton Powell
Hayden Cartledge at Ballan with Brendan Hehir runner up.
Riff Raff
20 Oct 2006, 09:44
At Learmonth-
B&F Brenton Powell
Hey Learmonth how did your boys behave on the Gold Coast, who won the downlow???
learmonth
20 Oct 2006, 09:53
Hey Learmonth how did your boys behave on the Gold Coast, who won the downlow???
Massive weekend, with plenty of stories. Wade Veldhuis won the Downlow by 2 votes over Aj. Madigan was in fine form beating two massive Mauiri Bouncers in an arm wrestle, with only 4 guys getting any luck with the ladies out of the 24 who attended.
Had guys kicked out of the races and many hotels for doing plenty of STUPID drunken acts.
We also have the "TRAV COLLINS Award" which is awarded for worst performed or who doesnt have a CRACK! The guy Trav Collins went on a footy trip one year had 3 beers and lectured the rest of the boys about their behaviour. Good award to have, and you only give one vote rather then a 1, 2, 3 like the Downlow. The punishment is that they cant attend the following year. This years winner was BRENTON KLINE!
Riff Raff
20 Oct 2006, 10:07
Your neighbouring town had a post about there trip to Cairns, seems to have been deleted think i know why...... Have been led to believe only one of the lads did any good with the ladies and it's questionable that you would want to claim her!!! Maybe after the success of the season and all the bonding the lads are more comfortable together ......without ladies....
N Bartos
20 Oct 2006, 13:32
Things seem to be pretty tough out at Gordon. With a meeting planned for next week to determine whether the club continues next year or not.
Think they had a crisis meeting earlier in the year and got a very poor turnout.
Yes Matt Lockett from North, did struggle this season after coming back from a knee reconstruction, and didnt get along with the coach and didnt enjoy the season.
Must remember, that he was a good player for Daylesford in the Ballarat Football League, and will surely impress this season. He is looking super fit.
Trouble at Newlyn with the committee split in wanting to get rid of the coach..??
Surprising you hadn't signed Lockett earlier Learmonth, seeing he lives with you.
Uncle CC
23 Oct 2006, 22:45
I heard that Mr Waubra 2006 will not be around to defend his crown next year. I've heard the man is heading west...can anyone confirm this?
Astro Boy
24 Oct 2006, 09:11
I heard that Mr Waubra 2006 will not be around to defend his crown next year. I've heard the man is heading west...can anyone confirm this?
Yeah I 've heard this aswell. He may be doing a pre season with Peel Thunder.. He will need to bulk up a bit tho.
Greg Mildleton will be pleased to c him go, I think he was very unlucky not tot be crowned MR WAUBRA last year.
Astro Boy
24 Oct 2006, 09:13
Any news on Gordon??
learmonth
24 Oct 2006, 09:57
Surprising you hadn't signed Lockett earlier Learmonth, seeing he lives with you.
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.
With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.
learmonth
24 Oct 2006, 09:59
Any news on Gordon??
If Gordon folded, would any player besides Busitill get a game at any other club..???
It would be better to see them try and merge rather then fold- Maybe springbank!
Astro Boy
24 Oct 2006, 11:20
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.
With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.
Lockett will be a handy player & he's a good bloke as well, good luck to him in the CHFL not sure he will tear it apart tho.. The netballers will be in for a treat as he is a bit of a ladies man.
Interleague is a good idea, A team of the year should also be introduced.
Astro Boy
24 Oct 2006, 11:25
If Gordon folded, would any player besides Busitill get a game at any other club..???
It would be better to see them try and merge rather then fold- Maybe springbank!
Maybe steve tudor, but not in the top 5 teams.
buzzi would struggle aslo as he plays like Matthew Richardson & the gap between his best & his worst is huge.
KingRich
24 Oct 2006, 11:36
So are they looking like folding up or not? Lack of cash or players?? From what I have heard Socially it's a pretty good club they are just ordinary on the field!
Harry HP
24 Oct 2006, 12:14
Gees plugga is a good bloke and a good mate of mine, but i doubt he will tear up Central Highlands. I think your putting way too much pressure on the kid. Usually its him who is talking himself up...
Interleague is a great idea, as is team of the year...
Astro Boy
24 Oct 2006, 13:13
Any news on the Bungaree coaching job?
Heard Jayden Reid was letting them know on friday. Ryan Knowles may follow.
Apple Eater
24 Oct 2006, 13:20
Yeah interleague and Team of The Year should definitely be introduced.
Uncle CC
24 Oct 2006, 17:44
So are they looking like folding up or not? Lack of cash or players?? From what I have heard Socially it's a pretty good club they are just ordinary on the field!
I heard they ran the club on about 20k this year. 20k doesn't compare well with other clubs when you consider the poor value they got out of their paid players. I guess once you are that poor on the field, you need to fork out good coin just to get average players. These players soon realise that no amount of money is worth ankle grabbing like that every week. The social side is great...probably too good. Seems every other team is getting stronger - They need to change the culture of the club if they are to hang around much longer.
Riff Raff
24 Oct 2006, 19:54
Any news on the Bungaree coaching job?
Heard Jayden Reid was letting them know on friday. Ryan Knowles may follow.
I think you can add Jones to the list, would be a fair start to their season!
Lockett will be a handy player & he's a good bloke as well, good luck to him in the CHFL not sure he will tear it apart tho.. The netballers will be in for a treat as he is a bit of a ladies man.
Interleague is a good idea, A team of the year should also be introduced.
Couldn't see him getting too cosy with the Learmonth netballers, doubt there would be too many could measure up to the tidy piece he currently has on his arm. Wouldn't want to upset her old man either.
Don't know about the interleague idea. The squad would more than likely be made up of players who have experienced representing leagues at a higher level (like Ballarat) so may not be that attractive to the best.
I think you can add Jones to the list, would be a fair start to their season!
Reid, Jones, Nicholson, MacDonald, Jeffrey, Quinlan, not a bad list to pick a forward line from. Chuck in O'Keefe, Carmody, O'Donohue who could all run through there and it looks pretty potent if it comes together.