View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36

Off Shore
26 Aug 2008, 00:44
Thanks for the hot tip ( Joint winners J Adams & A Sawers) on league B&F $100 down, mother of god......A great leak may have suggested Louis Franc at 10-1 , now the umpires have a end of season trip to Europe .
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

timmy 32
26 Aug 2008, 00:46
One of the runners up in the reserves netball was a real stunner. Soon took my eyes off her after realising who she was with.

Main course was OK, but wish that I got the chicken instead. Dessert was beautiful. Coffee was pretty cold but the chocolates were nice.

Louis Franc won the medal by 3 votes. Congrats to him :thumbsu: That was pretty much it.
Franc the winner, i bet a popular one.. Andy McKay and Jamie Wilson tied for second with Ross Mann next in line.. not sure of who else.
So what happened to the leak? Obviously it was the wrong info, and did anyone get a bet on Franc? odds would have been pretty good one would think.

Tonker Truck
26 Aug 2008, 11:07
Great work LJ.
A great stalwart for his club and a worth winner.

Ermie
26 Aug 2008, 11:34
Glen Kirby from daylesford is the tuffest bloke running around! and he is only 17, really showd up the bunninyong senior softies!

Gnawing on a pie
26 Aug 2008, 12:57
Glen Kirby from daylesford is the tuffest bloke running around! and he is only 17, really showd up the bunninyong senior softies!

Thanks Glen!!:thumbsu:..............

anywho, first things first congrats to Louis, a deserving Winner!!!

Lets get onto some tips for this weekend

for me.......

Hepburn vs Learmonth

Waubra vs Daylesford

then Daylesford to beat Learmonth next week and a Hepburn-Daylesford Grand Final.........wouldn't that be huge!!

cowboy8
26 Aug 2008, 17:27
One of the runners up in the reserves netball was a real stunner. Soon took my eyes off her after realising who she was with.

Main course was OK, but wish that I got the chicken instead. Dessert was beautiful. Coffee was pretty cold but the chocolates were nice.

Louis Franc won the medal by 3 votes. Congrats to him :thumbsu: That was pretty much it.

who was she? how does jamie wilson keep getting runners up or even in the top 5? iv seen him play heaps and dont think to much of him. is it cause his in a shit side?

Animal
26 Aug 2008, 18:10
who was she? how does jamie wilson keep getting runners up or even in the top 5? iv seen him play heaps and dont think to much of him. is it cause his in a shit side?

Shit side + shit hairdo + plays on the ball ALL day = Votes

backup
26 Aug 2008, 18:12
well done lou

Final Say
27 Aug 2008, 17:35
...Also a big thumbs down to the umpires who have leaked the league medal once again. I know the top 3 with 2 equal leaders and one player is 2 votes behind them currently. Will be interesting to see if they let me on as ill box the top 3. Should get odds of arong 5/1 minimum. Ill certainly be loading up for the footy trip and my own pocket...

About time the CHFL stopped this umpire footy trip fundraiser as it takes all the anticpation out of the night...But when would they stand up and make an executive decision....

I'm yet to see it, but would hope given your strong words here AJ, soon you will be posting an apology of sorts addressed to the CHFL and the umpires...

Back to the onfield stuff.

Two massive games this week with Hepburn playing their first finals game for 2008 coming up against Learmonth. Can Learmonth turn the tables on the Burra after a massive turnaround against Waubra last week...

The other game is a do or die clash between last years grand finalists Waubra and Daylesford. Both sides have dropped crucial games in the past 2 weeks and for one of the two, at around 4:45PM on Sunday it will be season over...

Thoughts / Tips

learmonth
27 Aug 2008, 17:55
I'm yet to see it, but would hope given your strong words here AJ, soon you will be posting an apology of sorts addressed to the CHFL and the umpires...

Back to the onfield stuff.

Two massive games this week with Hepburn playing their first finals game for 2008 coming up against Learmonth. Can Learmonth turn the tables on the Burra after a massive turnaround against Waubra last week...

The other game is a do or die clash between last years grand finalists Waubra and Daylesford. Both sides have dropped crucial games in the past 2 weeks and for one of the two, at around 4:45PM on Sunday it will be season over...

Thoughts / Tips

1st of all what a boring night the CHFL medal count is (Do I owe an appology there??).... Should be on a Saturday night or the Sunday afternoon after the preliminary final. Have a band, guest speaker, Rookie of the year, Team of the Year, Coach of the year, umpire of the year etc + a guest speaker all on the one night. That would then be value for $40. Bit rich, If i just wanted to hear numbers called out Ild go to BINGO!

The contact must have set me up cause he is involved in the betting side of it and is an umpire, as its from a reliable source, as stated, even more $$ for the end of season trip. I didnt have a bet on it, and still believe betting should be outlawed. So they didnt get my money but if you want to listen to rumors etc then all is fair and love and war. I hope the umps enjoy their trip. I dont think anyone would have got a return, but well done to Louis, well deserved. Still would like to know how opposition sides players get votes when their side doesnt get within 100+ points, just confuses me, I would suggest that their would be a minimum of 3 better players from that winning side.

Also though both Umps from the Learmonth/Waubra game did an excellent job, best we have had all year, as I didnt even notice them. So well done to Darryl and Mr Deveraux.

As for the 4 remaining sides, anyone on their day can win.... Its not ability, but how the players prepare mentally.

Off Shore
27 Aug 2008, 20:13
[quote=learmonth;12219445].

Also though both Umps from the Learmonth/Waubra game did an excellent job, best we have had all year, as I didnt even notice them. So well done to Darryl and Mr Deveraux.

You have got to be kidding ........ Your brother and those two useless pricks were your 3 best players by far on saturday.

By far the most ridiculous comment you have made surely you are saying that tongue in cheek?

ryang
27 Aug 2008, 22:30

Bonny someone, plays for Ballan, about the only time all the blokes in the room were paying attention when she stood up.

Can't help you on the other question as its a complete mystery. Do you mean top 5 or 50??

ryang
27 Aug 2008, 22:47
1st of all what a boring night the CHFL medal count is (Do I owe an appology there??).... Should be on a Saturday night or the Sunday afternoon after the preliminary final. Have a band, guest speaker, Rookie of the year, Team of the Year, Coach of the year, umpire of the year etc + a guest speaker all on the one night. That would then be value for $40. Bit rich, If i just wanted to hear numbers called out Ild go to BINGO!

The contact must have set me up cause he is involved in the betting side of it and is an umpire, as its from a reliable source, as stated, even more $$ for the end of season trip. I didnt have a bet on it, and still believe betting should be outlawed. So they didnt get my money but if you want to listen to rumors etc then all is fair and love and war. I hope the umps enjoy their trip. I dont think anyone would have got a return, but well done to Louis, well deserved. Still would like to know how opposition sides players get votes when their side doesnt get within 100+ points, just confuses me, I would suggest that their would be a minimum of 3 better players from that winning side.

As for the 4 remaining sides, anyone on their day can win.... Its not ability, but how the players prepare mentally.

Agreed, it is a boring night. Can't work out why they choose a bloke who doesn't seem very popular with anyone in the room to read the votes either.

Well done to Lou Franc, don't think he would have been anyones tip pre-count, and also to Bernie Jurcan - both good blokes.

As Off Shore said, the comment about the umpires from Saturdays game must have been tongue in cheek. I have had the pleasure of witnessing umpire Devereux destroy games of football on many occasions. Seems to be arrogant, has little or no grasp of either the rules or the spirit of the game and struggles to keep up. Apart from that he's ok. I must admit I didn't get to the game, but it's surprising to hear that he got a gig in a final.

Final Say
28 Aug 2008, 13:20

No "appology" required for calling the vote count boring, most would agree that the night is about as entertaining as watching the meat raffle get drawn at the Golf House of a Friday night… Agree that depending upon the availability of venues, the night would be far better suited to the Saturday night after the preliminary final with a band and festivities. It is however difficult to fit in four best and fairest counts into one evening and I’m not sure that there is an easy way to compress proceedings without taking away from the count?? Perhaps someone could provide some input as to other leagues B&F’s that are successful??

However an apology is appropriate when you’ve questioned the integrity of the umpires and the system in place. I’ve no problems with conspiracy theories or the “leaks” that are bandied about, hey the same thing happens each year around Brownlow time, where someone draws up an excel spreadsheet and claims that it’s a leaked document from the AFL, but no-one is stupid enough to publicly attack the league or the umpires in case the theories are wrong..

learmonth
28 Aug 2008, 13:42
No "appology" required for calling the vote count boring, most would agree that the night is about as entertaining as watching the meat raffle get drawn at the Golf House of a Friday night… Agree that depending upon the availability of venues, the night would be far better suited to the Saturday night after the preliminary final with a band and festivities. It is however difficult to fit in four best and fairest counts into one evening and I’m not sure that there is an easy way to compress proceedings without taking away from the count?? Perhaps someone could provide some input as to other leagues B&F’s that are successful??

However an apology is appropriate when you’ve questioned the integrity of the umpires and the system in place. I’ve no problems with conspiracy theories or the “leaks” that are bandied about, hey the same thing happens each year around Brownlow time, where someone draws up an excel spreadsheet and claims that it’s a leaked document from the AFL, but no-one is stupid enough to publicly attack the league or the umpires in case the theories are wrong..

Never questioned the integrity of the umpires, just a few people involved in the betting on the league medal who are looking after their own pocket. If it was taken that way then I appologise to those umpires that dont have anything to do with the betting which is 99%. I think the league is run very poorly and wont hide that. I think the delegates and the paid personal looking after the CHFL run it very poorly and need to be moved on. This league has overtaken them, and they are holding it back from going in the right direction. We need a board system that can support all clubs, increase sponsorship etc..
And where do they get off charging $1 for records at finals, there is less information in them then at Home & Away games due to less sides being in. A cheap money raiser in my opinion. Maybe some player profiles, history on past finals etc in their may endorse the $1 fee.

I know of leagues that only count from half way- That would wipe of 2 hours, Have forms on each table with results up to half way which would show who got votes in which game and current leader board etc. More interest as noone cares really at the start. Have a comedian, guest speaker and band and we can fit taht in on the Saturday night. The money made over the bar, might even cover them in not charging $1 for records at finals....
Cheers

cowboy8
28 Aug 2008, 16:45
cheers ryang. I meant top 5 in league. But Iv worked it out. shit team and midfielder. at ballan Zacch peoples won b/f but didnt get single league vote, how does that work?

Learmonth why dont you think about running for president of league when your coaching career is over? think you would do a better job then the people that are doing it know

ryang
28 Aug 2008, 17:33
cheers ryang. I meant top 5 in league. But Iv worked it out. shit team and midfielder. at ballan Zacch peoples won b/f but didnt get single league vote, how does that work?

Learmonth why dont you think about running for president of league when your coaching career is over? think you would do a better job then the people that are doing it know

I saw 2 Ballan games this year and both times Peoples stood out. The first time I had no idea who he was but he was by far the dominant player on the ground in a winning side and clearly deserved the 3. The 2nd time was an 8 goal loss and even then I would have thought he was right in the mix for votes. Maybe he has a bit to say to the umps I don't know. Umpires certainly see things differently sometimes and I'm sure there would be a lot of other players in every side who miss out on votes they deserve. It helps to be well known in country footy when it comes to b&fs.

On this weeks games, Hepburn to be too strong for Learmonth - although they better be on their game as Learmonth proved last week they are the real deal. Waubra to bounce back in the other match.

backup
29 Aug 2008, 16:19
This weeks tips Hepburn V Learmonth by 5 goals on fast track
Pretty sure that Robbo will get key match ups right unlike Waubra did the previous week. Some very poor match ups??????? Also believe that Hepburn may have turned to ST BRENDAN during a recent training session, or just visiting Dooley's old stomping ground.

Waubra V Daylesford comfortably. waubra looked very underdone last week not sure if they can bounce back against a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Hoping to see two exciting games of football. Unlike last weeks dull affairs

learmonth
29 Aug 2008, 16:30
Pretty sure that Robbo will get key match ups right unlike Waubra did the previous week. Some very poor match ups??????? Also believe that Hepburn may have turned to ST BRENDAN during a recent training session, or just visiting Dooley's old stomping ground.

Waubra V Daylesford comfortably. waubra looked very underdone last week not sure if they can bounce back against a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Im gathering your a dford person, last week you tip Waubra to beat learmonth, with learmonth out in straight sets. Waubra are a good unit, just got beaten by a better side on the day, things could have easily gone their way as well. What were the poor match ups in your opinion?? Who shouldnt or should have played on who that you didnt like?

backup
29 Aug 2008, 16:37
The poor match ups were in your favour, I'm pretty sure you would have liked what you saw in your forward 50. and yes were beaten by a better side on the day, waubra are a quality side and no not a Dford person.

Off Shore
29 Aug 2008, 18:24

Mate if your tips are right Hepburn by 5 goals and Daylesford comfortably you wont see two exciting games of football now will you....

If the weather is kind we should see two cracking games if it's wet anything could happen.

Hepburn over Learmonth
Waubra over a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Waubra v Learmonth #4 next week.

chfl_fan5
31 Aug 2008, 00:37
Had the pleasure of witnessing the Hepburm V Learmonth game today. Saw some great things for a low scoring game of footy, and as long as Learmonth can get T. Beacham back, by the looks of it it will be a rematch again in two weeks. Probably with the same result. no other team has kept hepburn scoreless (bar 6 points) in the second half. I see M. Dillon did not get in hepburns best but he saved the game for hepburn when learmonth were attacking in the second half, sweeping the ball off the half back flank just as soon as John Cantwell had tapped the ball 20m to learmonths advantage at almost every hitout. Umpiring was not great, but about normal CHFL standards, not favoring one side more than the other. Did anyone else happen to see Shep kicking Learmonth's number 5 in the leg off the ball? Cox looked lame, and will be better for the two weeks off, but was it lack of match practice that had them score their lowest for the year? and the closest margin since their loss to Dford. It was made clear today, and over the last two weeks that Learmonth can bounce back. looks like AJ learnt some lessons from their last towling, just as he did with waubra. But can hepburn learn from today as well? Looking forward to tomorrows game, Last time waubra had it over Dford, tomorrow I think it will be turned around. Any other thoughts from anybody who seen todays match? Learmonth... were you happy with your guys? do you thing they can take it a step further? Hepburn... Bad day? or is that the best you have? will the lack of match practice hurt?

Gnawing on a pie
31 Aug 2008, 12:44
I see the large umpire from the Waubra-Learmonth game got dropped to the Hepburn-Daylesford 2's game yesterday, still managed to screw up pretty badly in that game.........dropped to the U/18's next week my tip!!

Anyway good hard slog yesterday in s*ithouse weather, Hepburn would have to be worried with there conversion rate wouldnt they after kicking 5.15 yesterday and a similar score in there previous game against Daylesford....Cox didnt seem to be quite on, was his usual self in the air with his strong pack marks but didnt seem to be confident kicking at goal.

Anyone with an update on Tim Beacham's injury?? Didnt seem to be in a good way. Will he get up for next week against Waubra or Daylesford??

Would love to hear your take on the game AJ??

learmonth
1 Sep 2008, 09:37
I see the large umpire from the Waubra-Learmonth game got dropped to the Hepburn-Daylesford 2's game yesterday, still managed to screw up pretty badly in that game.........dropped to the U/18's next week my tip!!

Anyway good hard slog yesterday in s*ithouse weather, Hepburn would have to be worried with there conversion rate wouldnt they after kicking 5.15 yesterday and a similar score in there previous game against Daylesford....Cox didnt seem to be quite on, was his usual self in the air with his strong pack marks but didnt seem to be confident kicking at goal.

Anyone with an update on Tim Beacham's injury?? Didnt seem to be in a good way. Will he get up for next week against Waubra or Daylesford??

Would love to hear your take on the game AJ??

Shocking conditions, but thats football. Hepburn are a very disciplined in the way they play football. They were just too good for us in the 2nd quarter when we had the win, and should have made in roads. We blazed away, and without Tim we certainly struggled in the conditions to kick a winning score. Dillion was best for Hepburn in my opinion, played a great game as a defensive wingman running the lines. Hepburn are certainly beatable, especially on the BIG northern oval but it will take a good side playing 100mins which we were unable to do. Brought the margin down by 10 goals and if we are lucky enough to get another chance we have certainly learnt new things about hepburn.
As for Shepherd, just low in what he did, who kicks someone when their not watching thats not football and shows the mentality of the person, not very smart. Could easily cost hepburn a premiership if he has another brain faze.
As for front on contact I think that has gone out of the game as on the weekend if it was AFL there would have been some massive suspensions handed out. 2 X Hepburn players 1 X Learmonth player and the front on contact to D Liston in yesterdays game. Atleast they were consistent.

We get another chance to play in a grand final so its up to us and dford will be a great challenge for us, as to beat them you need to beat their midfield which is a lot easier said then done...

Game is at Dunnstown...

Bdiddy18
1 Sep 2008, 10:39
Shocking conditions, but thats football. Hepburn are a very disciplined in the way they play football. They were just too good for us in the 2nd quarter when we had the win, and should have made in roads. We blazed away, and without Tim we certainly struggled in the conditions to kick a winning score. Dillion was best for Hepburn in my opinion, played a great game as a defensive wingman running the lines. Hepburn are certainly beatable, especially on the BIG northern oval but it will take a good side playing 100mins which we were unable to do. Brought the margin down by 10 goals and if we are lucky enough to get another chance we have certainly learnt new things about hepburn.
As for Shepherd, just low in what he did, who kicks someone when their not watching thats not football and shows the mentality of the person, not very smart. Could easily cost hepburn a premiership if he has another brain faze.
As for front on contact I think that has gone out of the game as on the weekend if it was AFL there would have been some massive suspensions handed out. 2 X Hepburn players 1 X Learmonth player and the front on contact to D Liston in yesterdays game. Atleast they were consistent.

We get another chance to play in a grand final so its up to us and dford will be a great challenge for us, as to beat them you need to beat their midfield which is a lot easier said then done...

Game is at Dunnstown...

Learmonth I think one player in your team is very lucky to be playing at all this week. He made a head high bump on the weekend which I thought was very lucky not to be reportable. I wont name names as that is unfair however im pretty sure you would know who he is. He seems to do this week in week out and will be very very lucky he doesn't get sighted one day. Not a big bloke but very talented. Have you addressed this with him as yet?

Also once again thought the umpiring from yesterday's game was ordinary to say the least. To send a player off for swearing in such a cut throat game where expletives were used all day by both teams was very very ordinary by the umpire.

Like the Learmonth player I think a very very influential Daylesford player is very very lucky to be playing this week after two seperate incidents with a Waubra player on the weekend. Apparently the Waubra player has both sides of his jaw fractured.

sheen of queeba
1 Sep 2008, 11:03
Saw both games and those umpiring decisions were absolutely sh*tful. All the incidents resulted in free kicks and from the understanding i have, if there is any head high contact a report should have been made. Well with less matches being played now in the coming weeks, lets hope those umpires that were involved in these matches each get the ass so we can have some consistent and decent umpiring. What a joke about the games being played at dunstown. Bungaree is a better option with the surface being a lot even all over the ground. Heard one of Daylesfords senior midifelders is gone with a broken arm also. Will mean less of a headache for the learmonth players this week.

goalposts
1 Sep 2008, 14:24
It has been extremely disappointing to see the Finals games in the Central Highlands League over the last two weeks be completely ruined by incompetent umpires. The inconsistency of decisions has been terrible. In yesterday’s match Waubra vs. Learmonth the decision making of the umpires was truly farcical. The game was played with intensity and passion by both teams, but was ruined by bad umpiring from start to finish. How can a player be yellow carded for swearing yet another player not be even given a penalty for felling a player in front of the umpire? It certainly said it all when some Daylesford supporters after the game clapped the umpires off the ground. The question should be asked as to whether the same umpire is allowed to umpire the same team two weeks running throughout finals?? I just hope that finals football can get back to being determined by the spirit , grit and determination of players trying to win the game not by umpires making inconsistent and ridiculous decisions.

backup
1 Sep 2008, 14:49
Totally agree, the standard and inconsistency of umpiring decisions/ non decisions has been poor at best. Some of these guys need to realise that the crowd isn't there to watch them.:confused::confused::confused:

Did see both games on weekend and there are 5 blokes who should be sitting on the sidelines watching for the rest of the season 3 from sat and 2 yesterday. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Gnawing on a pie
1 Sep 2008, 15:24
Learmonth I think one player in your team is very lucky to be playing at all this week. He made a head high bump on the weekend which I thought was very lucky not to be reportable. I wont name names as that is unfair however im pretty sure you would know who he is. He seems to do this week in week out and will be very very lucky he doesn't get sighted one day. Not a big bloke but very talented. Have you addressed this with him as yet?

Also once again thought the umpiring from yesterday's game was ordinary to say the least. To send a player off for swearing in such a cut throat game where expletives were used all day by both teams was very very ordinary by the umpire.

Like the Learmonth player I think a very very influential Daylesford player is very very lucky to be playing this week after two seperate incidents with a Waubra player on the weekend. Apparently the Waubra player has both sides of his jaw fractured.

Agreed, i think the Learmonth player was very lucky to just get away with a free kick in an incident that probably would have drawn 4-6 weeks in the AFL, didnt see the Sheppard incident, but if what you said is true AJ that should be his season over too.

Anyway congratulations should be given to Hepburn for making it into the Granny, well deserved, I think the performance of their 2's side also shows the depth that they have within the club.

Bit of an intriguing match-up this week, can't wait!!! :):):thumbsu::thumbsu:

KingRich
1 Sep 2008, 15:35
Unfortunately it happens everywhere you go with the umpiring and I'm not sure what the answer is. The best ones are the ones who umpire the game and aren't out there to hog the attention. All a player asks for is consistency from the umpires and inconsistency generally leads to player frustration etc!

matho44
1 Sep 2008, 17:44
Saw both games and those umpiring decisions were absolutely sh*tful. All the incidents resulted in free kicks and from the understanding i have, if there is any head high contact a report should have been made. Well with less matches being played now in the coming weeks, lets hope those umpires that were involved in these matches each get the ass so we can have some consistent and decent umpiring. What a joke about the games being played at dunstown. Bungaree is a better option with the surface being a lot even all over the ground. Heard one of Daylesfords senior midifelders is gone with a broken arm also. Will mean less of a headache for the learmonth players this week.

No way. played on the oval on the we and it was very very good. better than bunga

fire43
1 Sep 2008, 17:58
Yes it is a time when umpires are becoming more and more of a concern. It use to be that people went to a game and came away remembering a great goal, good mark, good contest etc. Now it is about how bad the umpires are. All we hear is the umpires this and the umpires that, They are meant to be there to officiate and implement the rules, not to be the focus of the game and determine results.

That been said I agree that there should have been a few reports on the weekend. The worst by far was sheppards kick behind play, far worse than the elbow from the daylesford player and the knee from the learmonth player, they were both in play. each to their own though.

this week should be a good game depends on how both teams pull up after this week. Hopefully the weather is better. ie. a fair bit less wind. Sunday at learmonth was good in the second half with no wind, allowed footy to played on even terms.

Jimmy Bartel will go back to back

Bdiddy18
1 Sep 2008, 19:43
Yes it is a time when umpires are becoming more and more of a concern. It use to be that people went to a game and came away remembering a great goal, good mark, good contest etc. Now it is about how bad the umpires are. All we hear is the umpires this and the umpires that, They are meant to be there to officiate and implement the rules, not to be the focus of the game and determine results.

That been said I agree that there should have been a few reports on the weekend. The worst by far was sheppards kick behind play, far worse than the elbow from the daylesford player and the knee from the learmonth player, they were both in play. each to their own though.

this week should be a good game depends on how both teams pull up after this week. Hopefully the weather is better. ie. a fair bit less wind. Sunday at learmonth was good in the second half with no wind, allowed footy to played on even terms.

Jimmy Bartel will go back to back

I think what we have to realise is that players are simply not protected by the umpires in the CHFL. There quite possibly could have been three incidents at the Learmonth game on the weekend where players could have been seriously injured and a further two at Sundays game. Players simply have no confidence in umpires to protect them. Unfortunately it will probably take someone to get seriously injured for them to do something about it.

ryang
1 Sep 2008, 22:34
It has been extremely disappointing to see the Finals games in the Central Highlands League over the last two weeks be completely ruined by incompetent umpires. The inconsistency of decisions has been terrible. In yesterday’s match Waubra vs. Learmonth the decision making of the umpires was truly farcical. The game was played with intensity and passion by both teams, but was ruined by bad umpiring from start to finish. How can a player be yellow carded for swearing yet another player not be even given a penalty for felling a player in front of the umpire? It certainly said it all when some Daylesford supporters after the game clapped the umpires off the ground. The question should be asked as to whether the same umpire is allowed to umpire the same team two weeks running throughout finals?? I just hope that finals football can get back to being determined by the spirit , grit and determination of players trying to win the game not by umpires making inconsistent and ridiculous decisions.

Umpire DEVEREUX again by any chance?

Harry HP
2 Sep 2008, 13:51
I was there at Learmonth watching and saw Lee Brown take an absolute screamer! According to the umpire your not allowed to do this anymore. He's explanation was that putting your knee's on someones shoulders and taking a hanger was simply too dangerous. What a joke! Then minutes later Brown was absolutely crunched illegally and the same umpire called play on! It was a disgrace to say the least! This particular umpire needs to go umpire the under 15's. Or on second thoughts never again. Ruined what was a good game of footy to watch.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Off Shore
2 Sep 2008, 14:00
I was there at Learmonth watching and saw Lee Brown take an absolute screamer! According to the umpire your not allowed to do this anymore. He's explanation was that putting your knee's on someones shoulders and taking a hanger was simply too dangerous. What a joke! Then minutes later Brown was absolutely crunched illegally and the same umpire called play on! It was a disgrace to say the least! This particular umpire needs to go umpire the under 15's. Or on second thoughts never again. Ruined what was a good game of footy to watch.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Spot on mate . I have a query if Lee Browns knees were on a blokes shoulders was the other bloke sitting down?

goalposts
2 Sep 2008, 14:10
I agree wholeheartedly Harry HP, what an absolute screamer it was for Brown to take and then to be not allowed the mark because it was too dangerous was ludicrous.. Both the Brown incident and Bourke incident was witnessed in full view of an umpire. The league certainly needs to take a good hard look at themselves in the forthcoming weeks if they continue to allow these umpires to umpire the finals. I could only imagine what would happen if these umpires were to umpire a Daylesford vs. Hepburn Grand Final!!!!

Dodgeyknee
2 Sep 2008, 16:26
I think what we have to realise is that players are simply not protected by the umpires in the CHFL. There quite possibly could have been three incidents at the Learmonth game on the weekend where players could have been seriously injured and a further two at Sundays game. Players simply have no confidence in umpires to protect them. Unfortunately it will probably take someone to get seriously injured for them to do something about it.

I did not see the game or incidents but perhaps the umpires did not report because it is a waste of time going to the tribunal. Both players deny everything and the report gets throw out, like McKay from Skipton in Lexton League. No one wants to see a player miss a GF through suspension. Tough job umpiring - damned if you do and damned if you dont. Lets just hope that we get some consistancy for the rest of the finals and the players decide the winner not umpires.

timmy 32
2 Sep 2008, 18:33

Game is at Dunnstown...
Nice of you to stay positive there Learmonth, the facts do say that you bought the margin down by 10 goals, but 20 scoring shots to only 8, also suggest that if Hepburn had of kicked straight you would have lost by a huge margin again. Im sure you would have learnt a little more about Hepburn, but im sure the Burras know a whole lot more about the Lakers after watching them in the last couple of weeks. Also having the oppertunity to watch on again this Saturday if you happen to win.
But what astounds me Learmonth is that are happy to name a Hepburn player involved in an incident, but steer clear of naming your own players or your former team mate who was also involved in and incident on Sunday.
Let me get this straight, you had a crack at Shep early last year, obviously a ploy to make the umpire's aware of the way he plays. This year he hasn't put a foot wrong, except recieving a weeks suspension for tripping a Newlyn opponent with his hand. Hardly a dirty act....30 seconds before the incident you are talking about, Shep was punched in the back of the head by Nick Bone after he had taken a mark, he let Bone know in no uncertain terms that he wasn't going to take that sort of behavior from him . It was right in front of the goal umpire who saw it, and he didn't even bother moving from his position standing on the goal line. Bone obviously got the message because he didn't antagonise Shep for the remainder of the game.
But his effort later in the match in lining up the smallest player on the field in Dan O'Haloran with his head over the ball, had supporters from both sides scratching their head why there was no send off or even report.
Also everyone in attendance is flaggergasted after watching Luke Adams collide with Chris Bourke, then moments later the same umpire decided to send Danny Liston off the field for swearing!
Lee Brown's grab was a ripper and what we all love to see. Not only was the ball taken off him, where he would have had a set shot at goal, but Daylesford went forward and kicked a goal themselves .. possibly a two goal turnaround ... very harsh in a close scoring game.
Having said that the game itself was one of the best i have seen

Johny Utah
2 Sep 2008, 19:50
I did not see the game or incidents but perhaps the umpires did not report because it is a waste of time going to the tribunal. Both players deny everything and the report gets throw out, like McKay from Skipton in Lexton League. No one wants to see a player miss a GF through suspension. Tough job umpiring - damned if you do and damned if you dont. Lets just hope that we get some consistancy for the rest of the finals and the players decide the winner not umpires.

They should get rubbed out. Luke Adams broke Bourkes jaw in 2 places.
Umpiring on Sunday was disgusting to say the least. He should have been reported and sent from the field on 2 occasions. How Lee Browns mark was not given is beyond me. To send Danny Liston off for swearing when it had been going on all day is unbelievable, I thought Waubra battled hard all day but things just didn't go there way.

Animal
3 Sep 2008, 03:18
Nice of you to stay positive there Learmonth, the facts do say that you bought the margin down by 10 goals, but 20 scoring shots to only 8, also suggest that if Hepburn had of kicked straight you would have lost by a huge margin again. Im sure you would have learnt a little more about Hepburn, but im sure the Burras know a whole lot more about the Lakers after watching them in the last couple of weeks. Also having the oppertunity to watch on again this Saturday if you happen to win.
But what astounds me Learmonth is that are happy to name a Hepburn player involved in an incident, but steer clear of naming your own players or your former team mate who was also involved in and incident on Sunday.
Let me get this straight, you had a crack at Shep early last year, obviously a ploy to make the umpire's aware of the way he plays. This year he hasn't put a foot wrong, except recieving a weeks suspension for tripping a Newlyn opponent with his hand. Hardly a dirty act....30 seconds before the incident you are talking about, Shep was punched in the back of the head by Nick Bone after he had taken a mark, he let Bone know in no uncertain terms that he wasn't going to take that sort of behavior from him . It was right in front of the goal umpire who saw it, and he didn't even bother moving from his position standing on the goal line. Bone obviously got the message because he didn't antagonise Shep for the remainder of the game.
But his effort later in the match in lining up the smallest player on the field in Dan O'Haloran with his head over the ball, had supporters from both sides scratching their head why there was no send off or even report.
Also everyone in attendance is flaggergasted after watching Luke Adams collide with Chris Bourke, then moments later the same umpire decided to send Danny Liston off the field for swearing!
Lee Brown's grab was a ripper and what we all love to see. Not only was the ball taken off him, where he would have had a set shot at goal, but Daylesford went forward and kicked a goal themselves .. possibly a two goal turnaround ... very harsh in a close scoring game.

Well shep does have an alleged history of kicking people in the head. Also i didnt realise grabbing your testicles and shaking them to the crowd was good football behavior.

IF Nick Bone did punch shep in the back of the head im sure kicking him is not the best option to get your payback.

learmonth
3 Sep 2008, 09:06

Didnt name anyone that committed front on contacts (i.e 2 X hepburn, 1 X L'Month and 1 X Dford), but from what I understand yes all three should have been reported. I only named Shepherd because what he did was low, and the goal umpire somehow didnt see it, as thats why I approached them at 1/2 time if you saw. I find that hard to believe as stated on here it was one of the lowest acts that can be done on a footy field and ive been involved a long time.

Also good to see the crazy Hepburn supporters back in full swing, I missed it since we last played them last time, they must be really uneducated the way that they constantly use inappropriate language to abuse opposition players. No wonder why Hepburn have such a bad name, its the supporters and with grandparents and parents behaving in this manner, the grand children and children have no hope to be decent citizens or people in a community other than Hepburn.

As stated Hepburn were too good, havent made any excuses on that but with three umpires in the grand final, ill be a little worried with a way a few of your players behave behind the line as the 3rd umpire might just spot what happens...

I agree with you on everything which you said about the Dford/Waubra game....

sheen of queeba
3 Sep 2008, 10:05
They should get rubbed out. Luke Adams broke Bourkes jaw in 2 places.
Umpiring on Sunday was disgusting to say the least. He should have been reported and sent from the field on 2 occasions. How Lee Browns mark was not given is beyond me. To send Danny Liston off for swearing when it had been going on all day is unbelievable, I thought Waubra battled hard all day but things just didn't go there way.

If a brendan shepard would have got someone like luke adams did it would be called a fair hit by the hepburn supporters. Not as much in it as everyone says. But i guess each to their own. And with everyone saying the waubra fellas were hard done by, i think the free kick count told a different story. 39-22 waubras way. Maybe they were first at the footy a lot more. Doubt it, but a possibility. Was probably one of the most entertaining games i have seen this year though. Learmonth, you are still pretty quiet on your brother. Will be a major factor on the result. Should be a ripper on saturday.
Will be hard to stop all of Daylesfords tall forwards if they fire. Most looked very dangerous, with cronin probably going to better for the last two weeks. Savige would have to be the best centre half forward in the league, bar his kicking at times. So will Veldhuis take him again.
Lets hope the umpires let this game flow a bit more this week instead of over umpiring. Ruins a good contest.

learmonth
3 Sep 2008, 13:29
If a brendan shepard would have got someone like luke adams did it would be called a fair hit by the hepburn supporters. Not as much in it as everyone says. But i guess each to their own. And with everyone saying the waubra fellas were hard done by, i think the free kick count told a different story. 39-22 waubras way. Maybe they were first at the footy a lot more. Doubt it, but a possibility. Was probably one of the most entertaining games i have seen this year though. Learmonth, you are still pretty quiet on your brother. Will be a major factor on the result. Should be a ripper on saturday.
Will be hard to stop all of Daylesfords tall forwards if they fire. Most looked very dangerous, with cronin probably going to better for the last two weeks. Savige would have to be the best centre half forward in the league, bar his kicking at times. So will Veldhuis take him again.
Lets hope the umpires let this game flow a bit more this week instead of over umpiring. Ruins a good contest.

So im guessing your a Dford player as I was speaking with two the other night and they gave me the same stat as you have just mentioned in frees.
Davis will play as he can still do his DJ work on a Sunday. With Dford playing in the twos before hand it will be easy to work out any changes. Tim will play, mark my word on that and he will be fit, expect a couple of other players who havent played over the finals series to come in as well. I think Learmonth are a taller side than Dford but wouldnt rate Saviage a better player than Tim who also plays CHF plus Rhy Carr. Big call that one.
Learmonth Tall forwards, Tim, Sobey, Davey, Gudgeon, Cantwell, Miller, J Basham so it might be can Dford man the Learmonth tall forwards...
Am looking forward to a great contest, wth te game being won from who can get 1st use in the middle...

sheen of queeba
3 Sep 2008, 14:25
So im guessing your a Dford player as I was speaking with two the other night and they gave me the same stat as you have just mentioned in frees.
Davis will play as he can still do his DJ work on a Sunday. With Dford playing in the twos before hand it will be easy to work out any changes. Tim will play, mark my word on that and he will be fit, expect a couple of other players who havent played over the finals series to come in as well. I think Learmonth are a taller side than Dford but wouldnt rate Saviage a better player than Tim who also plays CHF plus Rhy Carr. Big call that one.
Learmonth Tall forwards, Tim, Sobey, Davey, Gudgeon, Cantwell, Miller, J Basham so it might be can Dford man the Learmonth tall forwards...
Am looking forward to a great contest, wth te game being won from who can get 1st use in the middle...
You are on the ball today anthony. Yes Davis will be back, raring to go. Word is that tim is gone and dusted. Hope not because to be the best you have to beat them, and i honestly rate tim very highly as a footballer. Wouldn't think he works as hard as savige at CHF, but more versatile that he can play deeper in the fwd line and through the middle. Gudgeon is nearly dead isn't he, so that wont be an issue and from what i have seen of miller so far, one word. CAT. But sobey is a gun and j basham is also a danger. Should be a very interesting battle though. Good luck to both teams and may the best team win. There may be a couple of interesting players lining up in the twos and seniors this week also if the rumors up at vic park are true.

chfl_fan5
3 Sep 2008, 16:34
You are on the ball today anthony. Yes Davis will be back, raring to go. Word is that tim is gone and dusted. Hope not because to be the best you have to beat them, and i honestly rate tim very highly as a footballer. Wouldn't think he works as hard as savige at CHF, but more versatile that he can play deeper in the fwd line and through the middle. Gudgeon is nearly dead isn't he, so that wont be an issue and from what i have seen of miller so far, one word. CAT. But sobey is a gun and j basham is also a danger. Should be a very interesting battle though. Good luck to both teams and may the best team win. There may be a couple of interesting players lining up in the twos and seniors this week also if the rumors up at vic park are true.
With the bit of rain and sunny days should see Dunstown come up a treat this week, but of course it will be cold on Saturday as it always, hopefully the CHFL exec committee wont lock everybody out of the club rooms again. Dford Ressies did not look that impressive and from all reports Dford snrs were pretty impressesive so cant see to many changes being made. Unless Dford have some more Imports such as Button up there sleave, I heard $500 a game and training was optonial, Is he a gun for hire? Does he train? If that is true i wonder how the other Dford players feel about it?

Madroota69
3 Sep 2008, 21:30
I'm just wondering if anyone knows how long the junoirs should take to have a shower and get changed after the game. It seems to me some of the Hepburn junoirs may need there Mums to come in after the game to put their jeans on and tie up their shoe laces. It was 1:15 and there was kids still walking around piss farting around in their towels that doesn't leave much time to get ready for a game. I think Hepburn were doing it on purpose to unsettle Daylesford before the match. It's unreal what they'll do to try and get their own way. After one of the daylesford player asked if they could hurry up some westy looking rat comes in trying to start blues and making personal threats to a certain player. Oh well it seemed to work in our favour anyway getting the side G'd up before the game nicely. Can we get another westy hepburn bloke come into the rooms next week? cos it makes for great inspiration.

timmy 32
3 Sep 2008, 23:08
I'm just wondering if anyone knows how long the junoirs should take to have a shower and get changed after the game. It seems to me some of the Hepburn junoirs may need there Mums to come in after the game to put their jeans on and tie up their shoe laces. It was 1:15 and there was kids still walking around piss farting around in their towels that doesn't leave much time to get ready for a game. I think Hepburn were doing it on purpose to unsettle Daylesford before the match. It's unreal what they'll do to try and get their own way. After one of the daylesford player asked if they could hurry up some westy looking rat comes in trying to start blues and making personal threats to a certain player. Oh well it seemed to work in our favour anyway getting the side G'd up before the game nicely. Can we get another westy hepburn bloke come into the rooms next week? cos it makes for great inspiration.
i think i future you might find that the league will be making some rule after what happened last Sunday where you made an ass of yourself, it's not the only time your club has tried to take over the changerooms straight after the previous game has finished. How about showing a little respect towards whichever club is already occupying the rooms you are about to use, every other club in the league shows respect in this regard and never have a problem with it.( sometimes it can get annoying, but thats just the way it is when you have to share the rooms with a variety of other clubs ) It was still only the first quarter of the Reserves when you tried to bully a bunch of u/15s, some still naked out of the changerooms. You were very lucky that your ruckman had the sense to defuse the situation otherwise, the rat you are referring to, as i have been told was about to make it very hard for yourself to play football a couple of hours later. One of our juniors fathers recieved a verbal apology from the person who initially tried to remove the players, later on during Sunday night.( he even said that he was out of line ) Apology was accepted and all was forgotten.
So hopefully this Saturday, you show whichever u/18s side ( Hep or Byong ) some respect in this regard as every other club in the CHFL does. You are barking up the wrong tree here mate and completly in the wrong!

learmonth
4 Sep 2008, 12:48
Situation could have been handled better by both parties, but it was nearly half time of the reserves timmy 32. But as soon as the arguement was finished that should have been it between the two men, but with some idiot supporter outside the change rooms, james walsh, carrying on like a pork chop, didn't really help it to finish. His brother should have landed a few on that stupid head of his and shut him up. All done with now though. Actually thought tom reeves did a vey good job of breaking up the incident. smart head on that kids shoulders, and brave standing in between those two men during a verbal scuffle. Would have been lights out if he caught on from either of the men.
Interesting article on page 3 of the courier today. Any thoughts how this would affect a teams performance and an individuals game this close to a preliminary final???

If you have a private message or problem speak to me in person, dont read everything you read...Now if you want to continue this conversation see me in person you gutless wimp!!! You know who I am..now delete your thread...
You should show a little respect to a former Henderson Medalist, Senior Football coach of your club... If the older players who are very good mates with Tim heard you speaking about this out of line, they would be the 1st to knock your head off...
Somethings are left best unsaid....

donkeypunch
4 Sep 2008, 12:51
learmonth[/SIZE];12313226]Didnt name anyone that committed front on contacts (i.e 2 X hepburn, 1 X L'Month and 1 X Dford), but from what I understand yes all three should have been reported. I only named Shepherd because what he did was low, and the goal umpire somehow didnt see it, as thats why I approached them at 1/2 time if you saw. I find that hard to believe as stated on here it was one of the lowest acts that can be done on a footy field and ive been involved a long time.

Also good to see the crazy Hepburn supporters back in full swing, I missed it since we last played them last time, they must be really uneducated the way that they constantly use inappropriate language to abuse opposition players. No wonder why Hepburn have such a bad name, its the supporters and with grandparents and parents behaving in this manner, the grand children and children have "no hope to be decent citizens or people in a community" other than Hepburn.

As stated Hepburn were too good, havent made any excuses on that but with three umpires in the grand final, ill be a little worried with a way a few of your players behave behind the line as the 3rd umpire might just spot what happens...

I agree with you on everything which you said about the Dford/Waubra game....

Suggest someone Reads todays Ballarat Courier before making these cheap shots!

sheen of queeba
4 Sep 2008, 13:57
If you have a private message or problem speak to me in person, dont read everything you read...Now if you want to continue this conversation see me in person you gutless wimp!!! You know who I am..now delete your thread...
You should show a little respect to a former Henderson Medalist, Senior Football coach of your club... If the older players who are very good mates with Tim heard you speaking about this out of line, they would be the 1st to knock your head off...
Somethings are left best unsaid....
Done. Wasn't trying to have a cheap shot at tim

nmfc_always
4 Sep 2008, 15:47
Suggest someone Reads todays Ballarat Courier before making these cheap shots!

perhaps he should take up mixed touch footy......at least then he would be able to over-power half the opposition.

Madroota69
4 Sep 2008, 18:10
i think i future you might find that the league will be making some rule after what happened last Sunday where you made an ass of yourself, it's not the only time your club has tried to take over the changerooms straight after the previous game has finished. How about showing a little respect towards whichever club is already occupying the rooms you are about to use, every other club in the league shows respect in this regard and never have a problem with it.( sometimes it can get annoying, but thats just the way it is when you have to share the rooms with a variety of other clubs ) It was still only the first quarter of the Reserves when you tried to bully a bunch of u/15s, some still naked out of the changerooms. You were very lucky that your ruckman had the sense to defuse the situation otherwise, the rat you are referring to, as i have been told was about to make it very hard for yourself to play football a couple of hours later. One of our juniors fathers recieved a verbal apology from the person who initially tried to remove the players, later on during Sunday night.( he even said that he was out of line ) Apology was accepted and all was forgotten.
So hopefully this Saturday, you show whichever u/18s side ( Hep or Byong ) some respect in this regard as every other club in the CHFL does. You are barking up the wrong tree here mate and completly in the wrong!

So I'm in the wrong and the bloke sending out the threats was completely in the right then ay? I was mearly asking the bloke how long it takes for them to get changed (because they were obviously taking there time) I never bullied any of the kids at all. Then the bloke just snapped and was about to start a punch on with me I never started to puff out my chest and stand over him. I'm not a person that likes to start fights obviously your mate does. At the same time i don't take threats too well and he threatened me a few times before i started to get angry myself. I doubt whatever he was able to dish out would have affected my footy too much i would have defended myself.

learmonth31
4 Sep 2008, 20:47
as a junior footballer for learmonth i'd just like to say how good this weeks game will be i've trained with the seniors and with senior clubs in the bfl and when this club is focused they are much stronger than plenty of people give them credit for aj will have the boys that revved up that i find it hard to see daylesford even gettin a look in the game my prediction at dunstown in the wet would be learmonth 9.4.59 to daylesford 4.2.26

Tonker Truck
5 Sep 2008, 10:03
as a junior footballer for learmonth i'd just like to say how good this weeks game will be i've trained with the seniors and with senior clubs in the bfl and when this club is focused they are much stronger than plenty of people give them credit for aj will have the boys that revved up that i find it hard to see daylesford even gettin a look in the game my prediction at dunstown in the wet would be learmonth 9.4.59 to daylesford 4.2.26

Young Learmonth. 9 goals 4 is 58 mate.
Easy to see Bam Bam doesnt do the Learmonth scoreboard.

But thinking you might be right on the money with the result.

learmonth31
5 Sep 2008, 12:24
haha that it is on your toes mate:thumbsu: yea either way all the boys will be raring to go

backup
5 Sep 2008, 16:27
Raring to go or not I'm not quite sure that I can tip the lakies to beat Daylesford without the page 3 courier boy. However if he is playing and is fully fit? :eek: I would think that he'll have to be as good as he was against Waubra 2 weeks ago for them to win. Should be a cracker of a game either way. My Tip Daylesford by less than a kick. good luck

Kardinia Boy
5 Sep 2008, 16:48
Quick Question.

I know the GF is to be played at Nth Ballarat, but when will it be played??

backup
5 Sep 2008, 17:20
Grand Final is next Saturaday 13th September 2008:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Kardinia Boy
5 Sep 2008, 17:29
Grand Final is next Saturaday 13th September 2008:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Still enjoyed the GF's better when they were at Learmonth, but time marches on.

learmonth31
6 Sep 2008, 00:13
Raring to go or not I'm not quite sure that I can tip the lakies to beat Daylesford without the page 3 courier boy. However if he is playing and is fully fit? :eek: I would think that he'll have to be as good as he was against Waubra 2 weeks ago for them to win. Should be a cracker of a game either way. My Tip Daylesford by less than a kick. good luck

pretty silly thing to say mate ridiculous actually one thing your a complete dropkick if u believe everythin u hear mate and its a completely out of line thing to say learmonth have a very strong side and rely on 22 players every week not just one sure he is a great inclusion but they are just as strong without him same goes for any player because they are a close unit and silly remarks like that will make the win tomoro all the more sweeter

backup
6 Sep 2008, 18:29
Oh well junior you weren't disgraced. Learmonth always do seem to play their best footy in DECEMBER , back in the box kid.
Anyhow a great game of football played in front of a huge crowd. Just wonder what #11 for Learmonth is in the side for. Watched him today not very good is he junior. Lucky you weren't relying on him to win it for you.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

learmonth31
6 Sep 2008, 19:19
Oh well junior you weren't disgraced. Learmonth always do seem to play their best footy in DECEMBER , back in the box kid.
Anyhow a great game of football played in front of a huge crowd. Just wonder what #11 for Learmonth is in the side for. Watched him today not very good is he junior. Lucky you weren't relying on him to win it for you.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

nah he isn mate he is a quality player with pace and skill he just had an off day today mate it would seem we did miss a centr half forward today although accuracy in front of goal was a big factoer considering we had more shots at goal

timmy 32
7 Sep 2008, 10:49
nah he isn mate he is a quality player with pace and skill he just had an off day today mate it would seem we did miss a centr half forward today although accuracy in front of goal was a big factoer considering we had more shots at goal
Sorry Learmonth 31 your side had their chances but missed too many easy shots at goal, where Daylesford converted most of their oppertunities. AJ will be filthy on this im sure..
Now of course i will be biased in my opinion of this weeks Grand Final winner, but the big match up of the arch rivals is here, if the weather is good to us it will certainly be a Grand Final to remember, with a massive crowd watching on. What are everones thoughts on who will be premiers in 08 and why? Should be some great match ups all over the Northern Oval

dr evil
7 Sep 2008, 13:51
Sorry Learmonth 31 your side had their chances but missed too many easy shots at goal, where Daylesford converted most of their oppertunities. AJ will be filthy on this im sure..
Now of course i will be biased in my opinion of this weeks Grand Final winner, but the big match up of the arch rivals is here, if the weather is good to us it will certainly be a Grand Final to remember, with a massive crowd watching on. What are everones thoughts on who will be premiers in 08 and why? Should be some great match ups all over the Northern Oval

i think hepburn will win with peake b o g if its a dry day SHEPHARD could loose it though. Daylesford r smart enough to suck him in, if hepburn loose i think its only fair that they replace the mighty burra with just the burra. good luck to both sides lets hope 4 a good day . GO DOGS GO

cowboy8
7 Sep 2008, 16:01
i think hepburn will win with peake b o g if its a dry day SHEPHARD could loose it though. Daylesford r smart enough to suck him in, if hepburn loose i think its only fair that they replace the mighty burra with just the burra. good luck to both sides lets hope 4 a good day . GO DOGS GO

hepburn by 12
salesi uhi best
CO BIG SAL!!

Madroota69
7 Sep 2008, 16:36

Haha shots from 50 out on the boundry that don't make the distance and punched though for a point don't count sorry. The Umps were giving yous a fair chop out too! oh well cricket season has started for you now better start oiling up your bat.:p

FlyingDucks
7 Sep 2008, 21:14

Definitely the best two teams in the Grand Final. Learmonth choke it in the finals again...

Sayitaintso
7 Sep 2008, 21:43
Definitely the best two teams in the Grand Final. Learmonth choke it in the finals again...

Think Hepburn will be to strong.

Sayitaintso
7 Sep 2008, 21:49
Tell a lot more after round 13 when all played one another. At this stage id lean towards Hepburn, Daylesford and Waubra.Buningyoung too one dimensional always go to Tranquilli. Learmonth too slow and lack a ruckman. Just my thoughts at this stage will update after round 13.

Have to give myself a pat on the back with this one. Maybe underestimated Learmonth a bit though.Hope the weathers great and best of luck to both teams.

WeHateTheDrummer
9 Sep 2008, 10:46
Someone fill me in where GF is going to be played Saturday.

Kardinia Boy
9 Sep 2008, 10:51
From centralhighlandsfl.vcfl.com.au/

Bendigo Bank Central Highlands Football League
2008 Grand Finals

Saturday 13th September
Venue Austar Arena (Nth Ballarat Football Ground, Creswick Rd)
Gates open 8.00am
(Vehicle access Friday 14th September 4.00pm - 6.00pm)

Seniors Grand Final
Hepburn vs Daylesford 2.15pm
Reserves Grand Final
Hepburn vs Buninyong 12.05pm
Under 18 Grand Final
Bungaree vs Buninyong 10.20am
Under 15 Grand Final
Creswick vs Hepburn 9.00am

Admission Prices
Adults $12 (inc program)
Aged Pensioners and 15 - 17 years $6 (inc program)
Under 15 free entry

No alcohol is allowed to be taken into any CHFL match venues. Security inspections will be conducted and entry refused if alcohol is being brought in.

Gnawing on a pie
10 Sep 2008, 19:55
Come on people theres gotta be something interesting going on, ITS GRAND FINAL WEEK!!

Whats everyones tips for Each Grade???

I'll say

1sts - Hepburn by 20
2nds - Hepburn by 35
U/18's - Bungaree by 10
U/15's - Creswick by 25

Magpies696
10 Sep 2008, 22:50
1st - Hepburn by 8
2nds - Hepburn by 44
U/18s - Buninyong by 4
U/15s - Creswick by 18

learmonth31
11 Sep 2008, 02:21
seniors hepburn by 34
reserves hepburn by 80+
18's buninyong by 8
15's creswick 40

napisan
11 Sep 2008, 12:54
Daylesford by 5 points.(Cox to have buddy like accuracy and kick 3 goals 7 behinds)

Hepburns by 30 points in the 2's.

bungareepremiers06
11 Sep 2008, 17:17
hepburn by 13
buninyong by 2
bungaree by 8
creswick by 22

Deledio2Tambling
12 Sep 2008, 10:20
seniors hepburn by 34
reserves hepburn by 80+
18's buninyong by 8
15's creswick 40

There is no way on God's green earth that Hepburn will win by that much in the Reserves. While I still think the Burras will win, I wouldn't have thought it would blow out beyond 5 goals.

Buninyong beat them earlier in the year, remember.

fatality666
12 Sep 2008, 11:57
hepburn by 13
buninyong by 2
bungaree by 8
creswick by 22

hepburn by 20
buninyong by 12
buninyong by 8
creswick by 25

backup
12 Sep 2008, 17:06
Hepburn 7pts Matt Dillon BOG (will join an elite group)
Hepburn 25pts T.Saunders BOG
Bungaree last kick of the day J. Murphy BOG
Creswick 11pts Rogers BOG

Good luck to all should be a great day at a windy northern oval

Magpies696
13 Sep 2008, 00:44
The best time to rob a house at Hepburn & Daylesford is Saturday

Deledio2Tambling
13 Sep 2008, 00:50
The best time to rob a house at Hepburn & Daylesford is Saturday

Pies supporter eh?.......Says it all.

Cheyney
14 Sep 2008, 13:59
Hepburn 7pts Matt Dillon BOG (will join an elite group)
Hepburn 25pts T.Saunders BOG
Bungaree last kick of the day J. Murphy BOG
Creswick 11pts Rogers BOG

Good luck to all should be a great day at a windy northern oval

Did T. Saunders get BOG, he was, dominant in the 2's. Andy mac was awesome to watch, Dford did not have a match for him. Have Hepburn had their B&F yet if so can anyone tell me who got what?

chfl_fan5
14 Sep 2008, 14:24
Did T. Saunders get BOG, he was, dominant in the 2's. Andy mac was awesome to watch, Dford did not have a match for him. Have Hepburn had their B&F yet if so can anyone tell me who got what?

Hepburn must be happy with their "Investments" totally smashed Dford. Why Thompson was playing was beyond me. Full credit to Hepburn though, despite all the talk of imports and infighting not many teams with a supporter base like that in the CHFL. Maybe the players aren't just there for the paycheck. Who would not want to be in such a successful side getting cheered on by crazy fans every week. So now our attention turns to next year, Will Robinson stay or will he go. If he goes will he take the Hepburn forward line with him? Will Newlyn finally rebuild instead of waiting for their 2003 side to return? Will Waubra get a new coach and pull it together? Can Learmonth find a midfield and play some finals footy? Can Springbank win a game? Will Creswick ever attract some decent players before they get some decent facilities? Will Beaufort learn to play away from home and be a serious finals contender and will half the Dford team retire when the coach goes? No doubt an interesting off season.

ajk1980
14 Sep 2008, 18:42
Hey to everyone on this thread, ex chfl player here got a cousin who plays for daylesford, just wanted to know how the scores ended up in the grand finals and anyone's thoughts on how the games went? cheers

timmy 32
14 Sep 2008, 20:27
Hepburn must be happy with their "Investments" totally smashed Dford. Why Thompson was playing was beyond me. Full credit to Hepburn though, despite all the talk of imports and infighting not many teams with a supporter base like that in the CHFL. Maybe the players aren't just there for the paycheck. Who would not want to be in such a successful side getting cheered on by crazy fans every week. So now our attention turns to next year, Will Robinson stay or will he go. If he goes will he take the Hepburn forward line with him? Will Newlyn finally rebuild instead of waiting for their 2003 side to return? Will Waubra get a new coach and pull it together? Can Learmonth find a midfield and play some finals footy? Can Springbank win a game? Will Creswick ever attract some decent players before they get some decent facilities? Will Beaufort learn to play away from home and be a serious finals contender and will half the Dford team retire when the coach goes? No doubt an interesting off season.
Investments you may call them, but as i have said before, how many local players actually live in Learmonth or Waubra? Hepburn are a very smart club in what they do and proved it again yesterday. Our players are here for the right reasons, make no mistake about that.
No infighting at all, that was just a heap of crap that our old friend Shane 19 was spreading, trying to derail the club. Bad luck Shane 19 you are the loser and we are the victors! ... hope you have had a prick of a weekend, you deserve it.
I can confirm that Robbo will coach again in 09, and every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.
Our B & F count is on next Saturday, so i will fill you in on the results .

confusia say
14 Sep 2008, 20:30
can anyone explain how the assistant coach( non playing ) from hepburn can become involved on the field with a buninyong player at 3q time,and when he gets physical and the player responds the ump sends the player off with a red card unable to be replaced for the rest of the game which had a huge effect on the result as buninyong were able to get within 5 pts with one short.
the umps response was that he saw a "unknown spectator" headbutt or attempt to headbutt the player and then saw the player attempt the same thing. so it was his duty to send off the player but he could do nothing about the "unknown spectator". at what point did we stop protecting the players on the field from this sort of thuggery from someone who has no business getting involved with any oppisition player at any time.
the league needs to investigate the matter and ban the assistant coach for life good old hepburn the great family club setting great examples for all up and coming hepburn kids.
if players have no rights when confronted by oppisition staff or supporters might be a great tatic to send suporters out to target good oppisition players and have them redcarded.
due to ump shortages the offending young ump will be fully supported in his decision as to save face and to be seen to fully defend the men in white which is not acceptable.
the league had better investigate this matter and hand out fitting punishment as buninyongs right to play fairly for the cup has been taken away and can not be given back.
this is a major incident and im sure it would not meet the conditions which were given to hepburn on being able to re-enter the league (after one of there better examples of how they are such a wounderful "family" club) and should be treated as such.
the chfl can not sweep this under the carpet it must act and insure that players are unapproachable on the footy field and have the right to defend if assulted.

da_wog_from_so
14 Sep 2008, 20:49
Investments you may call them, but as i have said before, how many local players actually live in Learmonth or Waubra? Hepburn are a very smart club in what they do and proved it again yesterday. Our players are here for the right reasons, make no mistake about that.
No infighting at all, that was just a heap of crap that our old friend Shane 19 was spreading, trying to derail the club. Bad luck Shane 19 you are the loser and we are the victors! ... hope you have had a prick of a weekend, you deserve it.
I can confirm that Robbo will coach again in 09, and every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.

not every player you liar! i infact know that one of your players is leaving the state.

timmy 32
14 Sep 2008, 21:20
not every player you liar! i infact know that one of your players is leaving the state.
correct. then he is back in time to start the season of 2009

Bdiddy18
15 Sep 2008, 14:11
correct. then he is back in time to start the season of 2009

So you can confirm that every single player has actually signed a contract for next year? I would of thought that Darley would be making a huge play for Cox next year and I would of thought that there would be a heap of clubs especially BFL clubs such as Darley and the Marsh trying to get McKay. I hope your right that 'every player on the list' has signed on for next year because you will look awfully silly if your wrong

Downtroden
15 Sep 2008, 15:41
So you can confirm that every single player has actually signed a contract for next year? I would of thought that Darley would be making a huge play for Cox next year and I would of thought that there would be a heap of clubs especially BFL clubs such as Darley and the Marsh trying to get McKay. I hope your right that 'every player on the list' has signed on for next year because you will look awfully silly if your wrong

Darley and Marsh couldnt match their payments, unless they go back for a bit of love and a lot less cash?

DrWho
15 Sep 2008, 16:29
every single player that played in yesterdays senior side ( and i mean every single player )had already signed on before the Grand Final had even been played. So no doubt Hepburn will be up there again.

So was it a condition that they had to sign on to play in the grand final then maybe, could be seen as a great policy to retain players but on the other hand could be also seen as undue pressure, giving players a legal avenue out of contracts.

Bdiddy18
15 Sep 2008, 16:42
Darley and Marsh couldnt match their payments, unless they go back for a bit of love and a lot less cash?

Mate you are kidding arn't you?? Darley would be able to pay more than Hepburn and Daylesford combined.

DrWho
15 Sep 2008, 16:55
can anyone explain how the assistant coach( non playing ) from hepburn can become involved on the field with a buninyong player at 3q time,and when he gets physical and the player responds the ump sends the player off with a red card unable to be replaced for the rest of the game which had a huge effect on the result as buninyong were able to get within 5 pts with one short.
the umps response was that he saw a "unknown spectator" headbutt or attempt to headbutt the player and then saw the player attempt the same thing. so it was his duty to send off the player but he could do nothing about the "unknown spectator". at what point did we stop protecting the players on the field from this sort of thuggery from someone who has no business getting involved with any oppisition player at any time.
the league needs to investigate the matter and ban the assistant coach for life good old hepburn the great family club setting great examples for all up and coming hepburn kids.
if players have no rights when confronted by oppisition staff or supporters might be a great tatic to send suporters out to target good oppisition players and have them redcarded.
due to ump shortages the offending young ump will be fully supported in his decision as to save face and to be seen to fully defend the men in white which is not acceptable.
the league had better investigate this matter and hand out fitting punishment as buninyongs right to play fairly for the cup has been taken away and can not be given back.
this is a major incident and im sure it would not meet the conditions which were given to hepburn on being able to re-enter the league (after one of there better examples of how they are such a wounderful "family" club) and should be treated as such.
the chfl can not sweep this under the carpet it must act and insure that players are unapproachable on the footy field and have the right to defend if assulted.

Hepburn are the underbelly of the CHFL, they are untouchable for some reason.
There is nothing in the vcfl bfl or chfl rules which allow a player to be sent off for striking anyone other than another player or umpires. Therefore the umpire actually had no grounds to send the player off.
Once again, is this just exagerated rumours or fact.
Bunninyong club, or the player involved need to submit incident reports to the league and VCFL.
Altho i have to admit when the league being managed by the VCFL umpire manager, has such a bad umpire consistancy you have to wonder what these people actually do?

chumpy
15 Sep 2008, 16:57
Mate you are kidding arn't you?? Darley would be able to pay more than Hepburn and Daylesford combined.
As good as Cox and McKay are, no club in the BFL would try to match Hepburns payments. There are better players in the BFL getting half of what those blokes get paid.

pollythefarmer
15 Sep 2008, 19:25
the chfl can not sweep this under the carpet it must act and insure that players are unapproachable on the footy field and have the right to defend if assulted.chin up mate another case of sour grapes,start looking to next year the season is over and the best teams won.you have finally come back with an alias shane 19

confusia say
15 Sep 2008, 20:02
i am not shane and this is not sour grapes but every player, club ect should be able to compete for the prize at the end of the year without bulls##t like this as all the boys have worked there ass off as im sure have yours and all we want is a fair crack is this to much to ask?????

timmy 32
15 Sep 2008, 20:04
Trust me readers, they have all signed.. if you look after your players , then they will look after you.. if you dont believe me then ask them yourselves....Coxy and Andy could earn far more elsewhere, both Champions.
Hepburn won two premierships on Saturday and made an absolute shit load running the bar.. thats how you run a footy club...
What other clubs would have the man power to manage having three teams play on Grand Final day, yet still have the volunteers to run a very succesful bar?
write back and have a go if you want, call us arrogant if you want, but we now have 6 flags and the nearest to us is on 3.. only stating facts...
And to confusious say, im wondering why on earth was your coach in the middle of the Hepburn huddle at 3/4 time causing trouble, when the game was in the balance? He was only asking for trouble.. The Buninyong club should be asking him why he was in there in the first place.... supposedly THE OPPOSITON HUDDLE IS A NO GO ZONE, or am i mistaken.

Downtroden
15 Sep 2008, 20:05
As good as Cox and McKay are, no club in the BFL would try to match Hepburns payments. There are better players in the BFL getting half of what those blokes get paid.

Thats exactly what im saying. Both are locals and why do you think they left, to see the countryside. They left because they werent getting looked after and Hepburn came up with the cash. Good luck to both them and Hepburn because it paid off. And dont worry there arent many better going around in the BFL, both guns and would walk into any country league side.

Downtroden
15 Sep 2008, 20:09
Trust me readers, they have all signed.. if you look after your players , then they will look after you.. if you dont believe me then ask them yourselves....Coxy and Andy could earn far more elsewhere, both Champions.
Hepburn won two premierships on Saturday and made an absolute shit load running the bar.. thats how you run a footy club...
What other clubs would have the man power to manage having three teams play on Grand Final day, yet still have the volunteers to run a very succesful bar?
write back and have a go if you want, call us arrogant if you want, but we now have 6 flags and the nearest to us is on 3.. only stating facts...
And to confusious say, im wondering why on earth was your coach in the middle of the Hepburn huddle at 3/4 time causing trouble, when the game was in the balance? He was only asking for trouble.. The Buninyong club should be asking him why he was in there in the first place.... supposedly THE OPPOSITON HUDDLE IS A NO GO ZONE, or am i mistaken.

Dont know that they could earn more elsewhere? But whatever they are on they earnt it.