View Full Version : Central Highlands
Indside Info
24 Oct 2008, 04:31
Cash not a problem Rooster. We actually finished the season with more money than we started, thanks to a warm Grand Final, bumper crowd and many drinkers giving our bar sales a huge boost.
I doubt you will see us figuring promenently on the CHFL transfers list this pre season. Not actually recruiting, will be giving our young Reserves Premiership side and our U/18s that are stepping up every oppertunity to break into the side if they are good enough and are willing to put the work required in.
We inquired about one, but he had already re signed with his club. We have recieved a few calls from players who have been interested in checking the club out. If the player fits the position that we may require then of course we will try and persuade him to play with us...
That all might sound big headed, but that was the plan the club put in place way back in 2001. We will just keep working hard to ensure we are part of the finals again in 2009.... only time will tell
Timmy is it true that you are making a play for a small forward who used to play with the club in 05,06!!!!!!!!
meltdown
24 Oct 2008, 09:24
Luke Beattie has been confirmed as Dford coach. Will add a lot to them. Excellent forward at CHFL standard and will be hard to match up on in CHFL.
How many coaches is that for D'ford in 3-4 years? They go through them pretty quick, any D'ford person out there wish to comment?:cool:
DfordDog
24 Oct 2008, 12:25
How many coaches is that for D'ford in 3-4 years? They go through them pretty quick, any D'ford person out there wish to comment?:cool:
Luke Adams coached in 2006 because we didnt have much time to find one, given we just changed leagues. It was always his intension to just coach 2006 and the club would get a coach in 2007.
After 2007, we had retained our coach only to be left by him 4 weeks out. The playing group are still waiting for a reason from him. While the group may be annoyed that he walked out without informing the players why, there is still a huge respect for Phil, as he did take us to a flag, the first in over 40 years.
When Phil left, we once again didnt really have time to find a coach (4 weeks), so Darren McColl (assistant to Phil) took over. The club always had the intention to review the situation once again at the end of the year.
So its not like we go through the coaches alot. Its just the circumstances the club has been put in over the past few years.
sheen of queeba
24 Oct 2008, 14:41
Luke Adams coached in 2006 because we didnt have much time to find one, given we just changed leagues. It was always his intension to just coach 2006 and the club would get a coach in 2007.
After 2007, we had retained our coach only to be left by him 4 weeks out. The playing group are still waiting for a reason from him. While the group may be annoyed that he walked out without informing the players why, there is still a huge respect for Phil, as he did take us to a flag, the first in over 40 years.
When Phil left, we once again didnt really have time to find a coach (4 weeks), so Darren McColl (assistant to Phil) took over. The club always had the intention to review the situation once again at the end of the year.
So its not like we go through the coaches alot. Its just the circumstances the club has been put in over the past few years.
He wasn't even there before he left. Pretty sure he had a few boys take the pre season for him. Still couldnt see him making the same mistakes twice! Could he???
timmy 32
24 Oct 2008, 18:58
Timmy is it true that you are making a play for a small forward who used to play with the club in 05,06!!!!!!!!
Im pretty sure you are talking about Rob Comelli ??? He is currently in WA and took the year off footy , probably wont be back next year, but when he does , it will be with the Burras.
N Bartos
26 Oct 2008, 22:24
Can anyone confirm that Learmonth have started the search for a new coach!!
Gnawing on a pie
28 Oct 2008, 18:19
come on fella's the threads gone abit stale, someone has to have some interesting news?? who's recruiting who?? who's pissed off with who?? who has gone a bender since the end of season and put on 20 kgs?? who's banging who's missus??
someone has to have something
maybe we should bring back shane19 at least the thread was active then (dont take that literally shane we DONT want you back!) but seriously give us something
matho44
28 Oct 2008, 23:08
Ive put on 5 kilos, is that good enough?
i think you'll find lads this thread will get a bit busier around the jan/feb stage, for now its just boring
walshy15
30 Oct 2008, 14:51
Hahaha are u serious? Forgot the incident at Hepburn pub before the 2006 season? You clown.
Dropped for finals again next year? When will you wake it up and move on to a club that will give you opportunity?
Yeah I did forget that. Not real sure what happened there though but it wasnt just hepburn lads boxing on amongst themselves... Havent I "woken up"?!
a mate told me ex north ballarat and redan player adam jenkins has knocked back a bit of coin at springbank too sign with ballan. will be very good pick up. anyone else got any news
WeHateTheDrummer
6 Nov 2008, 08:20
a mate told me ex north ballarat and redan player adam jenkins has knocked back a bit of coin at springbank too sign with ballan. will be very good pick up. anyone else got any news
Do you mean Ballan or Bungaree? Heard he'd signed there.
hooligan12
6 Nov 2008, 14:38
Craig aston was in ballarat on the weekend he is as fit as anyone and has lost id say around 20 kilos already if he decides to come back to ballarat from qld he will be one of the best forwards in the league i reckon
I guess hes an okay player mate, maybe handy in a CHFL under 18's side.
But hes nothing to talk up hooligan 12 hes nothing but a BFL reject.
Do you mean Ballan or Bungaree? Heard he'd signed there.
def ballan
hooligan12
7 Nov 2008, 12:34
not a bfl reject im from sebastopol they rejected his clearance the last three years in a row he just prefers the laid back style of footy nonetheless a very big threat next season
so were is he playing aston interesting. jenkins is not playing at sebas ,big coin at ballan$$!!
Jenkins hasn't played for about 2 years as his body has been knocked about a bit - used to be a good player, but probablty past it
not a bfl reject im from sebastopol they rejected his clearance the last three years in a row he just prefers the laid back style of footy nonetheless a very big threat next season
I was talking to people the other day from sebas mate....and they told me they didnt want him at the club because of his lake of good bloke material, plus they thought he was a fat C***
Has anyone got any mail on Daylesford's recruiting?
They didn't get many outside players in last season and got flogged by 10 goals in the GF. Still, there's been nothing coming out of D'ford regarding new players.
Wonder if they've got any brass to compete with Hepburn and Newlyn?
Could be in big trouble if the Cats and their new coach keep throwing the cash around and we all know well the Burras look after their players with coin.
Hope the comp is not gonna be decided by which club spends the most.
Hepburn showed everyone how it should be done in '08.
Freak Dodgeball Accident
9 Nov 2008, 16:04
Hope the comp is not gonna be decided by which club spends the most.
Hepburn showed everyone how it should be done in '08.
Great way to contradict yourself, mate!
Whether you like it or not, the point is Hepburn got the balance right.
Do you reckon Buningyoung and Bungaree got value for $. I wonder what their player payments were.
Hepburn got two flags. There is no salary cap, so it gets down to who uses $ the most effectively.
Unless you know exactly how much Hepburn outlaid, we're all guessing and I can't imagine Timmy is gonna tell the world what goes on down in the Burra.
Hepburn's home-grown players got paid as well. Whatever it was, it's tough to argue it wasn't $ well spent.
captain_crab
9 Nov 2008, 20:50
Do you reckon Buningyoung and Bungaree got value for $. I wonder what their player payments were.
Hepburn got two flags. There is no salary cap, so it gets down to who uses $ the most effectively.
Unless you know exactly how much Hepburn outlaid, we're all guessing and I can't imagine Timmy is gonna tell the world what goes on down in the Burra.
Hepburn's home-grown players got paid as well. Whatever it was, it's tough to argue it wasn't $ well spent.
Well, i dont know too much about bunni, but you'd think they would of payed tranquilli a bit per game.
As for Bungaree, well from the seniors side, the only players being payed match payments were the coach, Assistant Coach, Vice Captain, Full Forward, 3 players from the BFL, and 4 players from University, and they were only getting petrol money... There was incentives each game, but werent much at all...
Crackerz
10 Nov 2008, 13:17
Well that depends on what a premiership is worth!?! Financially? to the Community? Don't think 'prize money' would pay too many bill. Anyone involved in their club finance give some insight
Players probably a better investment than shares this year so there's an argument
cowboy8
10 Nov 2008, 16:38
who have newlyn signed? heard there throwing the cash around but no1 wants to go there. Think adam jenkins will be a good recruit if he gets fit and he is only 28
the barking dog
11 Nov 2008, 10:41
hi lads havent had much to do with the chfl the last few yrs but do take an interest in it.
word is that beaufort are on a mad recruiting binge, while keeping most of their players from this season gone..
also heard a rumour that aj beacham from learmonth has had talks with carngham linton. can anyone confirm??
hi lads havent had much to do with the chfl the last few yrs but do take an interest in it.
word is that beaufort are on a mad recruiting binge, while keeping most of their players from this season gone..
also heard a rumour that aj beacham from learmonth has had talks with carngham linton. can anyone confirm??
Probably, he's a good player and coach he probably gets a lot of clubs ring him all the good players and coachs do but i can tell you for certain 100% he has been re-appointed at Learmonth.
nutts_N_all
11 Nov 2008, 16:49
Have B1 and B2 finally come out of the closet yet?
The adventures of page three boy continues on with a change from learmonth footballer to football identity, saving his brothers club the humiliation by leaving ?
Craig56
11 Nov 2008, 18:21
who have newlyn signed? heard there throwing the cash around but no1 wants to go there. Think adam jenkins will be a good recruit if he gets fit and he is only 28
Why don't people want to go there if there's good coin on offer?
What's the problem? They've always been a good club. Good supporters and successful not that long ago.
What's changed?
benson_
12 Nov 2008, 10:16
Well, i dont know too much about bunni, but you'd think they would of payed tranquilli a bit per game.
As for Bungaree, well from the seniors side, the only players being payed match payments were the coach, Assistant Coach, Vice Captain, Full Forward, 3 players from the BFL, and 4 players from University, and they were only getting petrol money... There was incentives each game, but werent much at all...
A bloke i was speaking to plays for bungaree seniors. And hes not under any of those categorys and gets paid!
benson_
12 Nov 2008, 10:18
Why don't people want to go there if there's good coin on offer?
What's the problem? They've always been a good club. Good supporters and successful not that long ago.
What's changed?
Nothings changed there a shit town with shit footballers still!
bungareepremiers06
12 Nov 2008, 10:24
A bloke i was speaking to plays for bungaree seniors. And hes not under any of those categorys and gets paid!
is he being paid in 09? the list captain crab gave is pretty right for 08, 09 is a different story
Craig56
12 Nov 2008, 10:58
Nothings changed there a shit town with shit footballers still!
In that case, how will the new coach go?
The club is telling potential recruits they'll finish top 3....
Can't see Waubra, Bunni or any other club agreeing to move out of the way to let the Cats in without a big fight.
They'll need to pick up a lot of players if they're gonna make the five or will be it final six next year?
cowboy8
12 Nov 2008, 18:18
In that case, how will the new coach go?
The club is telling potential recruits they'll finish top 3....
Can't see Waubra, Bunni or any other club agreeing to move out of the way to let the Cats in without a big fight.
They'll need to pick up a lot of players if they're gonna make the five or will be it final six next year?
should be top 6
Craig56
12 Nov 2008, 18:40
should be top 6
Doubt if Eddie Comelli would support a final six.
Will the CHFL put it to a vote of delegates or just bring it in?
Maybe they should ask the people who actually support the league by going to all the games and get some feedback.
Bazza's Army
12 Nov 2008, 19:32
A new top 6 system will be voted on at CHFL AGM. The proposal is that 1st & 2nd go straight into the 2nd semi with 3 v 6 and 4 v 5 in elimination finals with the winners going to the 1st semi. Can not see this proposal getting through due to the large advantage that 2nd position gains over 3rd
timmy 32
12 Nov 2008, 19:56
A new top 6 system will be voted on at CHFL AGM. The proposal is that 1st & 2nd go straight into the 2nd semi with 3 v 6 and 4 v 5 in elimination finals with the winners going to the 1st semi. Can not see this proposal getting through due to the large advantage that 2nd position gains over 3rd
The final 5 is the best system, and keeps proving to be.. and is very easy to understand..... we have only ever had Springbank win it from 5th and they were a pretty special side going back to back.
Near impossible to win it from 6th so why bother considering it, and it is too much of a disadvantage for the side that finishes 3rd to be knocked out in the first week. It only takes a couple of injuries on the day to key players, or shocking weather and that sides Premiership dreams could be over....... Top 3 always deserve the double chance....
Let the other leagues have a final 6 which not many understand or like.
We wont be voting for it.
bungareepremiers06
13 Nov 2008, 08:46
The final 5 is the best system, and keeps proving to be.. and is very easy to understand..... we have only ever had Springbank win it from 5th and they were a pretty special side going back to back.
Near impossible to win it from 6th so why bother considering it, and it is too much of a disadvantage for the side that finishes 3rd to be knocked out in the first week. It only takes a couple of injuries on the day to key players, or shocking weather and that sides Premiership dreams could be over....... Top 3 always deserve the double chance....
Let the other leagues have a final 6 which not many understand or like.
We wont be voting for it.
agreed, final 6 is rubbish. tends to be a massive gulf in class between 3rd and 6th in most leagues anyway and you often see a 10 goal + thumpingh in that final. the final 5 and final 8 systems clearly the best, and 8 is proba bit extravagant for chfl??
Brooklyn Banger
13 Nov 2008, 09:22
Newlyn being in the middle of nowhere has a lot to do with it, and the fact that the towns a shit whole doesnt help either!!!
Any news on Dunnstown? Heard they have lost a heap of players!! have they signed any??
Craig56
13 Nov 2008, 10:35
Newlyn being in the middle of nowhere has a lot to do with it, and the fact that the towns a shit whole doesnt help either!!!
Any news on Dunnstown? Heard they have lost a heap of players!! have they signed any??
The Cats will be OK. They're already training under the new coach.
Saw them out there last night.
What's goin on at the Towners? Good bunch of boys down there.
sheen of queeba
13 Nov 2008, 10:53
The Cats will be OK. They're already training under the new coach.
Saw them out there last night.
What's goin on at the Towners? Good bunch of boys down there.
All good training, but from what i heard there hasn't been much point, with only 8 fellas out there the other night and the majority being kids. Heard that they approached 3 kids from Daylesford and Hepburn and the kids knocked it on the head already. And i don't like there chance of picking up anyone from Ballarat also. I can already hear the pitter patter of feet walking away from Newlyn. I heard, and this is only a rumor, but a lot of the people out at the cats aren't happy with the way things are moving. Very slow. Top 3 is gone, and its only November.
Craig56
13 Nov 2008, 12:20
All good training, but from what i heard there hasn't been much point, with only 8 fellas out there the other night and the majority being kids. Heard that they approached 3 kids from Daylesford and Hepburn and the kids knocked it on the head already. And i don't like there chance of picking up anyone from Ballarat also. I can already hear the pitter patter of feet walking away from Newlyn. I heard, and this is only a rumor, but a lot of the people out at the cats aren't happy with the way things are moving. Very slow. Top 3 is gone, and its only November.
8? I thought I saw more than that. Who are the kids from the Burra and D'ford who knocked it on the head? Can't imagine why there'd be any problem for Ballarat blokes to come out to Newlyn. Phil Davis won a flag in there and would surely have a lot of good connections in Ballarat, just as he would at Daylesford. The Cats will be strong. Big call to say Top 3 is gone, Sheen. Respect your opinion tho.