View Full Version : Central Highlands
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.
With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.
Good to see you finally 'come out' on the NTFL thread learmonth.
I've heard Gunn may be returning to your mob from Lake Wendouree next year. Any progress there?
Grimmett
24 Oct 2006, 23:50
Good to see you finally 'come out' on the NTFL thread learmonth......
Hehehe. Duly noted. :p
Astro Boy
25 Oct 2006, 09:15
Reid, Jones, Nicholson, MacDonald, Jeffrey, Quinlan, not a bad list to pick a forward line from. Chuck in O'Keefe, Carmody, O'Donohue who could all run through there and it looks pretty potent if it comes together.
Must have plenty of coin, Jayden wanted 20K.
learmonth
25 Oct 2006, 09:49
Good to see you finally 'come out' on the NTFL thread learmonth.
I've heard Gunn may be returning to your mob from Lake Wendouree next year. Any progress there?
At this stage still in preliminary discussions. He has a very hectic work load + is going back to uni full time as well. Would be a great pick up for Learmonth, but still along way away from playing with us.
As for the NTFL sight, always good to keep yaself informed as what is going on. Certainly will be looking at securing a couple of players from up that way and have the right guy in the right position to secure that for us. I will be up there in early January to talk to possible players that may want to return and play at Learmonth.
learmonth
25 Oct 2006, 09:53
Must have plenty of coin, Jayden wanted 20K.
20K no one is worth that in the Central Highlands, + its good to have all those BIG forwards, might as well add Crough to that as well if he isnt injured or retired.
Problem is they can get in the road of each other, and some may lose form or feel crowded. Will be interesting to see if they do sign Reid as I heard from a reliable source last night that he conducted a leadership group info session for all redan senior players at his house the other night.
Very hard to get Redan players away, especially the premiership captain, but if they pull it off, what an excellent effort.
Astro Boy
25 Oct 2006, 11:02
20K no one is worth that in the Central Highlands, + its good to have all those BIG forwards, might as well add Crough to that as well if he isnt injured or retired.
Problem is they can get in the road of each other, and some may lose form or feel crowded. Will be interesting to see if they do sign Reid as I heard from a reliable source last night that he conducted a leadership group info session for all redan senior players at his house the other night.
Very hard to get Redan players away, especially the premiership captain, but if they pull it off, what an excellent effort.
Well I have heard he's taken the job. I'll bet my right nut he didn't put any piss on for the redan boys @ the meeting @ his house.
I Agree no one is worth 20k, only time will tell , good luck to him, he's a good bloke. I look forward to seeing him in action in the CHF if my source is on the money.
crusader
25 Oct 2006, 11:17
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.
With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.
Learmonth, i know you very well and i am used to you making rash calls, but locket will not tear up the league sorry mate. He will be a handy pick up, but he should be playing up darwin, cause he is more than likely to go walk about. And the netballers shouldn't be hassled to much, because i remember him at daylesford, and he was more infatuated with blokes than girls.
Gunn would be a handy player, only cause you fellas need someone other than beacham in the middle that is hard at it.
Bungaree looking real strong if they pick those redan boys up, but they are a pretty loyal bunch so dont know if they would all go.
Hepburn having been going hard. Offered a mate of mine $1200 from down melbourne and got knocked back. Ha, hopefully the empire crumbles. Alot of local boys are also thinking of leaving due to getting f#*&ed in the back side by out of towners getting payed big bucks.
rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???
Riff Raff
25 Oct 2006, 20:11
Don't know about the interleague idea. The squad would more than likely be made up of players who have experienced representing leagues at a higher level (like Ballarat) so may not be that attractive to the best.[/quote]
I like the idea of interleague or team of the year, one or the other though as both sides would or should be the same. There are some guns in the CHFL and a team of the year 06 would be an awesome side.
Anyone know all sides well enough to have a crack at Team OF The Year 06? I'll start with the easy part.
B. Newton
HB. Madigan
C. Adams
HF. Nicholson
F. Brown
Foll. Winduss Mullane Peake
Int.
"rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???"
That AFL ruckman wouldn't happen to be Tristan Cartledge would it???
Which club is he rumoured to go to?
learmonth
26 Oct 2006, 13:49
"rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???"
I wouldnt call him an AFL Ruckman...More like VFL and the only reason he would come this way is because he probably couldnt get a game at VFL or BFL level. Worst draft pick ever!
Hampton Hammer
26 Oct 2006, 14:47
That ruckman wouldn't happen to be Tristan Cartledge would it?????
Which club is he rumored to be going to????
Do you have a stutter mate, stop repeating yourself..... :D
thekid178
26 Oct 2006, 14:53
Do you have a stutter mate, stop repeating yourself..... :D
afl clubs love height, he'd still be a chance of getting picked up, so surely he'l play vfl next year
No it's Clark Keating. He's going to Gordon.
gotiger33
26 Oct 2006, 23:03
No it's Clark Keating. He's going to Gordon.
yeah as if.... what are they doing, offering him the whole township of Gordon?
I hear from a pretty good source that after already quitting, Melcom Scott has changed his mind and decided to coach Ballan again.
Can anyone confirm this??
KingRich
27 Oct 2006, 11:40
I hear from a pretty good source that after already quitting, Melcom Scott has changed his mind and decided to coach Ballan again.
Can anyone confirm this??
He is coaching as far as I know. Job prospect fell through so he stayed.
Uncle CC
27 Oct 2006, 14:28
I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwise they can't have a footy trip.
I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwiase they can't have a footy trip.
Yeah, I think they will be right. Their players love the footytrip too much to let the club go under.
I mean what other club can go back to back wooden spoons and go for Footytrips to Fiji and Phuket respectivly.
I see what you mean about the social side of the club maybe being too good CC.
I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwise they can't have a footy trip.
Won't that be their second crack at the AGM? Heard they had it scheduled for last week or early this week & hardly anybody showed up. Not a great sign if that's the case. It doesn't matter what the players think if not enough people put their hands up to run the club.
On the subject of their footy trips, I know of a few blokes who are a bit pi ssed off with the fact their trips have been o\s, because they just can't afford to go.
Won't that be their second crack at the AGM? Heard they had it scheduled for last week or early this week & hardly anybody showed up. Not a great sign if that's the case. It doesn't matter what the players think if not enough people put their hands up to run the club.
On the subject of their footy trips, I know of a few blokes who are a bit pi ssed off with the fact their trips have been o\s, because they just can't afford to go.
I dont think they have had an AGM this week. And from all reports of overseas trips they seem to enjoy them. If they are run properly then the players have enough time to be able to budget for them and save money.
Apparently Gordon had a rebel footy trip where 8 blokes that couldn't adfford the big one went to Apollo bay for the weekend.
The Ghost
30 Oct 2006, 07:34
Here is a interleague/best team for '06'.
B: R Allan S Newton L Pellissier
HB: S Eason A Madigan S Uhi
W: M Peake D Liston J Sobey
HF: A Tranquilli B Nicholson S Mullane
F: T Mullane/Grant L Brown S McKay
Foll: S WInduss L Adams H Cartledge
Inter: C Scoble W Veldhuis A Beacham J Harris
Apologies to B Powell, G Handley, C O'Brien
Feel free to add or disagree Ladies and Gentlemen
KingRich
30 Oct 2006, 11:30
Just heard some whispers about Gordon's crisis meeting. Not folding yet, but may. They have a committee but no Coach or President and no one wants to be Pres.
Uncle CC
30 Oct 2006, 11:46
I thought there would have been room for Gav 'wild man' Miller in there somewhere. I heard he had 37 touches in the GF in what I thought could have earnt him BOG.
Just heard some whispers about Gordon's crisis meeting. Not folding yet, but may. They have a committee but no Coach or President and no one wants to be Pres.
From what i hear it wasn't s crisis meeting, but just a standard AGM.
I bellieve they had a pretty good turn out to it and got a good size committee which they are going to fill the president position from
goalposts
30 Oct 2006, 12:53
I thought there would have been room for Gav 'wild man' Miller in there somewhere. I heard he had 37 touches in the GF in what I thought could have earnt him BOG.
From what i have heard a guy that goes by the nickname of 'Chopper' i think should be put in the interleague side, has apparently played some awe-inspiring games for Waubra this year, is this true or are my informants telling me porky pies again!!!!
Apple Eater
30 Oct 2006, 13:12
B: R Allan S Newton L Pellissier
HB: S Eason A Madigan S Uhi
W: M Peake D Liston J Sobey
HF: A Tranquilli B Nicholson S Mullane
F: T Mullane/Grant L Brown S McKay
Foll: S WInduss L Adams H Cartledge
Inter: C Scoble W Veldhuis A Beacham J Harris
Apologies to B Powell, G Handley, C O'Brien
Feel free to add or disagree Ladies and Gentlemen
On ball forward spot on, would probably start veldhuis on and maybe slot cronin in the backline somewhere, but overall a very good job.:thumbsu:
From what i have heard a guy that goes by the nickname of 'Chopper' i think should be put in the interleague side, has apparently played some awe-inspiring games for Waubra this year, is this true or are my informants telling me porky pies again!!!!
I will second that comment.
I have seen him on a coulple of occasions and he has played some great games. One thing that may have cost him a spot in the interleague team is the fact that he was a bit of a sniper in a couple of games this year.
I hear he targeted Mick Carey when they played Hepburn and he ran through Wade Rivett against Gordon and broke his collarbone in two places.
Harry HP
30 Oct 2006, 13:45
Yeah i saw Waubra play a fair bit this year and he did play a couple of inspiring games, but at the same time he did only play a few games for the whole year. I heard he checked the weather forecasts for the weekend on the Thursday night and if it was bad weather he would conveniently do his calf on the warm up lap and rule himself out match day!
Astro Boy
31 Oct 2006, 08:32
Gav Miller did have 37 touches in the GF & was easily best on ground in the GF. I agree with u CC, he should be in the starting line up for team of the year.
Astro Boy
31 Oct 2006, 08:36
Heard Reidy may be also taking Lubeek & Ash Barker with him to Bunga.
We can expect an announcement shortly now Redan have returned from Cairns Footy trip.
The Ghost
31 Oct 2006, 08:48
I actually watched the GF and i agree the Gav Miller was B.O.G. Word from Waubra was that he had a pretty flat period during the year and struggled for consistency at times. Hence his exclusion from the team.
learmonth
31 Oct 2006, 09:19
Heard Reidy may be also taking Lubeek & Ash Barker with him to Bunga.
We can expect an announcement shortly now Redan have returned from Cairns Footy trip.
Dont think Lubeek will go, as he is a Creswick boy at heart, and his wife has very very strong ties to Newlyn. A lot of talk floating around, but when pull comes to shove, it will be interesting to see if they all do leave Redan.
Problem is that these Redan boys have played in such a well drilled unit for so long, it will take a while for them to adapt to the different standards and players that are not so gifted like their formr team mates. Players always look better in a great side which Redan was.
Also heard that Bunga have lost 7 players from last years team that lost to learmonth..Massive loses if this is true (Perks, ODonohue, Castles, McDonald etc)
Eamon Johnson has also left Creswick with Les hughes. Johhno will play at lexton with good mate Tom Brand, or try his luck at Lake Wendouree. Hughes had talks with Lake wendouree the other night, but has also spoken to Ballarat.
Learmonth spoke to Johhno the other day, but through respect to his g/f, who's father is on the Creswick committee, wont play in the league.
Luke Nunn, former Lexton assistant, may also be on his way to learmonth this season, if my informants are correct..???
Duck Hunter
31 Oct 2006, 10:14
Didn't Creswick push Mountains to get Les Hughes out there last year? I would have thought that a bit of loyalty to a new club is a priority and a minimum two years should be served even if they are run by Mountain goats.
Luke Nunn's injuries would be a concern for me but he can get a full season Learmonth will have a big win out of that trade
Redan will lose no more than 2-3 players and J Reid won't be at Bungaree this year. He will stay after much consideration and play on at the den for 1 more year and make the move to the CHFL in 2008
Clayton Scoble has indicated he might retire this year but i believe he will stay on for 1 more year
Jarman03
31 Oct 2006, 10:52
Word sweeping around the Eastern block clubs in the BFL is that Clayton Scoble may in fact play a year with his cousin Troy who has recently been announced as Co-Coach of the Melton South Football Club with Travis Chapman. The two have always wanted to play a year together, and Travis having also played a year at Daylesford many years ago knows him well and may make a transition easy for him.............
Uncle CC
31 Oct 2006, 14:02
I actually watched the GF and i agree the Gav Miller was B.O.G. Word from Waubra was that he had a pretty flat period during the year and struggled for consistency at times. Hence his exclusion from the team.
Gav Miller was 2nd in the Waubra B&F. He was pipped by S Mullane in the last round and managed to finish ahead of centurion goal kicker in Brown. Surely consistency wasn’t an issue for the kid.
Rumour has it weatherley & hill back at clunes, with their leadership & good kids coming through could be a top 5 chance
learmonth
1 Nov 2006, 09:35
Rumour has it weatherley & hill back at clunes, with their leadership & good kids coming through could be a top 5 chance
Have heard that as well, and any side with Weatherly up forward on a small ground with a gun midfield (Handley,Harris,Hill etc) will cause anyside trouble on its day. Hopefully they do play, as a strong and even competition is what everyone wants.
Would like to see the CHFL go to a top 6 rather then 5 with 14 sides in the competition. They need to move with the times. More $$ to be divided to the clubs, + on this years outcome, Ballan deserved a finals birth.
learmonth
1 Nov 2006, 09:39
Word sweeping around the Eastern block clubs in the BFL is that Clayton Scoble may in fact play a year with his cousin Troy who has recently been announced as Co-Coach of the Melton South Football Club with Travis Chapman. The two have always wanted to play a year together, and Travis having also played a year at Daylesford many years ago knows him well and may make a transition easy for him.............
Cant see that happening, only thing that could possibly take him there is the $$$ as he is only a 2nd year apprentice builder and from knowledge, he has knocked back BIG $$$ on many occassions in the past for his love of Daylesford. With all the travel etc, and family ties at daylesford, that is very unlikely to happen. His wife runs the canteen, and both brother in-laws play at the club. + his body is probably not up to Ballarat footy anymore, far to many injuries. Is an absolute star on his day.
crusader
1 Nov 2006, 09:59
Cant see that happening, only thing that could possibly take him there is the $$$ as he is only a 2nd year apprentice builder and from knowledge, he has knocked back BIG $$$ on many occassions in the past for his love of Daylesford. With all the travel etc, and family ties at daylesford, that is very unlikely to happen. His wife runs the canteen, and both brother in-laws play at the club. + his body is probably not up to Ballarat footy anymore, far to many injuries. Is an absolute star on his day.
Very interesting about scoble. On presentation night when accepting his B&F, he went on to say how he wanted to win a premiership with the bulldogs next year, so couldnt see him leaving, because that would be a massive turn around. Troy Scoble was supposedly close to coaching at Daylesford next year before they picked up Phil davies. But you never know.
Only players that have had a club have a crack at them is Kane Trimble and young gun Mick Cummings by Lakers (lake wendouree), but thats a waste of time because they have both signed two year contracts with the club.
Grimmett
1 Nov 2006, 11:32
Have heard that as well, and any side with Weatherly up forward on a small ground with a gun midfield (Handley,Harris,Hill etc) will cause anyside trouble on its day. Hopefully they do play, as a strong and even competition is what everyone wants.
Would like to see the CHFL go to a top 6 rather then 5 with 14 sides in the competition. They need to move with the times. More $$ to be divided to the clubs, + on this years outcome, Ballan deserved a finals birth.
Certainly would seem more logical for the CHFL's 14 teams to have a final six while the 10 Ballarat FL teams should really only have a final five.
Didn't the CHFL hierarchy propose a final six when Daylesford joined this year only to have the clubs vote against it?
KingRich
1 Nov 2006, 11:41
From an outsiders perspective a final 5 seems ludicrous with that many teams!
gotiger33
1 Nov 2006, 12:00
whats the story with Springbank this year??? havent heard a thing thus far???
Jarman03
1 Nov 2006, 13:51
[quote=crusader]Very interesting about scoble. On presentation night when accepting his B&F, he went on to say how he wanted to win a premiership with the bulldogs next year, so couldnt see him leaving, because that would be a massive turn around. Troy Scoble was supposedly close to coaching at Daylesford next year before they picked up Phil davies. But you never know.
Your correct, very very close I am led to believe, if not for the opportunity to finish his career and start his coaching career at his home club, could well have been a different story. They are pretty tight the boys, Cs does love his bulldogs and his closest mates are there, if he does choose to have one last crack at BFL, that is where he will head!!
I agree, top 5 doesn't give much of a chance for the other sides. Ballan were unlucky last year.
N Bartos
1 Nov 2006, 14:09
The Ballarat League final 6 is a joke. 1st and 2nd play in the first week, and 3rd plays 6th. Team finishing 3rd can go into a 2nd semi by beating 6th, whereas 1st and 2nd have a tough first final. Although if 3rd lose, they are out. There should be some sort of advantage for finishing higher. Even though there are 14 teams a final 5 works really well.
Uncle CC
1 Nov 2006, 17:27
The final 6 system really does suck dik though and there weren't 6 real contenders last year anyway. The 6th team would have only been making up the numbers in September. Best to stick with the system that is fair and rewards the team that finishes on top.
Uncle CC
1 Nov 2006, 17:46
I agree, top 5 doesn't give much of a chance for the other sides. Ballan were unlucky last year.
Ballan were a good side on paper but you couldn't really say they were unlucky - they finished 10 points behind Learmonth + percentage.
From all reports, Ballan have really been throwing the coin around to lure more quality players this year and could be a real contender. I'd say apart from Hepburn, Ballan have more 'cash to spash' than any other team in the league. Do they get value for their money though?
ROOSTER1
1 Nov 2006, 20:08
On ball forward spot on, would probably start veldhuis on and maybe slot cronin in the backline somewhere, but overall a very good job.:thumbsu:
I wouldn't have Beacham in the top 50 players. He was terrible in the finals, the only thing that got them over the line against Bungaree was the fact that he got sent off!! He is the most over rated person in the CHFL, apart from Seiz!
Eason a questionable one and where is A.Mckay? I hope that is a mistake in the forward pocket because it is very very top heavy.
Peake plays rover in the VCFL and only gets a game on the wing in CHFL?
Apple Eater
1 Nov 2006, 20:31
I wouldn't have Beacham in the top 50 players. He was terrible in the finals, the only thing that got them over the line against Bungaree was the fact that he got sent off!! He is the most over rated person in the CHFL, apart from Seiz!
Eason a questionable one and where is A.Mckay? I hope that is a mistake in the forward pocket because it is very very top heavy.
Peake plays rover in the VCFL and only gets a game on the wing in CHFL?
Saw Beacham play six times over the year and imo he deserves a spot in the 22. A.Mckay in the forward pocket is good, and you can change Liston and Peake if you like but i would definitely have L.Adams and Cartledge in the middle. Eason for Cronin maybe?
Pelican23
2 Nov 2006, 07:43
Learmonth weren't far away this year, Beachman suprised many and reportedly did a great job as coach. He spoke well and lead by example(apart from that final). Question is will Learmonth recruit well enough over summer to get them at the level they need to be at to take it up to Waubra, Hepburn when it matters. Word is Beachman recruiting drive has started slowly, I haven't heard of anyone crossing to the Lakies at this stage. They are a a couple of key players away.
Waubra again have 2 or 3 high calibre recruits on the rader, Nicholson has the sads after Redan dropped him for the Grand Final and is heading out there, along with another recruit from Geelong who was rookie listed with St Kilda a few years back.
learmonth
2 Nov 2006, 08:13
Ballan were a good side on paper but you couldn't really say they were unlucky - they finished 10 points behind Learmonth + percentage.
From all reports, Ballan have really been throwing the coin around to lure more quality players this year and could be a real contender. I'd say apart from Hepburn, Ballan have more 'cash to spash' than any other team in the league. Do they get value for their money though?
have heard this as well, Have offered Chris Wills from Sebas $500 p/game. Scotty gets very excited, and offers players well over what their worth, but if you have the $$$ and think that these players will be of benefit and for the long term jeopardy of the club. GOOD LUCK! He will be a great player in the CHFL if they get him. His good mate Eason has been trying to get him for the past couple of years, with no success.
Spot on, finished 10 points behind, but I guess due to not all sides playing each other twice, some sides may get in by default by only having to play the top sides 1 whilst others could be unlucky and play the twice. But as the old saying goes, If ya good enough, you will make it!
learmonth
2 Nov 2006, 08:18
Learmonth weren't far away this year, Beachman suprised many and reportedly did a great job as coach. He spoke well and lead by example(apart from that final). Question is will Learmonth recruit well enough over summer to get them at the level they need to be at to take it up to Waubra, Hepburn when it matters. Word is Beachman recruiting drive has started slowly, I haven't heard of anyone crossing to the Lakies at this stage. They are a a couple of key players away.
Waubra again have 2 or 3 high calibre recruits on the rader, Nicholson has the sads after Redan dropped him for the Grand Final and is heading out there, along with another recruit from Geelong who was rookie listed with St Kilda a few years back.
The Lakies recruiting drive is in full swing, have no doubt about that. The players that they are talking to are quality, but at this stage of the year, not too many players like to committ. They like to bounce b/t clubs and try and UP their price which is fine. Have not seen any club come out with any star recruits at this stage???? Some still dont even have a coach?
Learmonth have a young side on the rise, excellent facilities and minor success last season, which should not make it to hard for Beacham to recruit players.
crusader
2 Nov 2006, 08:32
The Lakies recruiting drive is in full swing, have no doubt about that. The players that they are talking to are quality, but at this stage of the year, not too many players like to committ. They like to bounce b/t clubs and try and UP their price which is fine. Have not seen any club come out with any star recruits at this stage???? Some still dont even have a coach?
Learmonth have a young side on the rise, excellent facilities and minor success last season, which should not make it to hard for Beacham to recruit players.
Saw the quality of recruits last year learmonth. who was that big spastic that went walk about after about three rounds. You should tell beacham to come back to daylesford because i tell you what, they will be the biggest improvers by a mile. saw a rough team last night, and when rahill and reeves hop back into town, looks a really stong team. Backline better, midfield quicker and a new gun in the forward line, looking good
crusader
2 Nov 2006, 08:36
[quote=crusader]Very interesting about scoble. On presentation night when accepting his B&F, he went on to say how he wanted to win a premiership with the bulldogs next year, so couldnt see him leaving, because that would be a massive turn around. Troy Scoble was supposedly close to coaching at Daylesford next year before they picked up Phil davies. But you never know.
Your correct, very very close I am led to believe, if not for the opportunity to finish his career and start his coaching career at his home club, could well have been a different story. They are pretty tight the boys, Cs does love his bulldogs and his closest mates are there, if he does choose to have one last crack at BFL, that is where he will head!!
You must have a fair bit to do with troy scoble and melton south mate, cause you know a lot more than nearly everyone else does about whats going on?
Pelican23
2 Nov 2006, 10:40
Picking up Jayden Reid will be big plus for Bungaree, although his coaching may well be a bit rough, He will improve as the year goes on.
He will try and get those players from Redan eg. Barker, King and Knowles who have been there and are looking for a way out. Knowles is 90% going to Bunga due to his lack of motivation to train 3 or 4 times a week which is required of him at Redan. Other Redan players from 02/03 in the regain will also be chased such as Freeland, McMahon, Nunn, Giblett, Rumble, Cummins.
There will also be those players that didn't quite make senior footy this year who played in Redan's 2's grand final team who will look to make the jump to CHFL so they can play consistant senior footy.
Reid has been recruited I believe because of who he can bring with him, not for what he brings as a player (which is also fairly impressive though)..
crusader
2 Nov 2006, 11:08
Picking up Jayden Reid will be big plus for Bungaree, although his coaching may well be a bit rough, He will improve as the year goes on.
He will try and get those players from Redan eg. Barker, King and Knowles who have been there and are looking for a way out. Knowles is 90% going to Bunga due to his lack of motivation to train 3 or 4 times a week which is required of him at Redan. Other Redan players from 02/03 in the regain will also be chased such as Freeland, McMahon, Nunn, Giblett, Rumble, Cummins.
There will also be those players that didn't quite make senior footy this year who played in Redan's 2's grand final team who will look to make the jump to CHFL so they can play consistant senior footy.
Reid has been recruited I believe because of who he can bring with him, not for what he brings as a player (which is also fairly impressive though)..
Handy, but not as good as everyone says. played alot of footy against him and he was never a match winner off his own back. Is freeland really coming back?? has he had enough of getting smashed down melbourne.
I agree CC. For the amount of money they were paying they got very little value for money out of their players. I saw them play against teams at the bottom of the ladder and they were not that convincing. Some of their big name high paid players really didnt stand out when they were given a bit of attention from opposition teams.
I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.
Jarman03
2 Nov 2006, 12:36
[quote=Jarman03]
You must have a fair bit to do with troy scoble and melton south mate, cause you know a lot more than nearly everyone else does about whats going on?
Nothing at all to do with Melton South or the Ballarat Football League Crusader. I do know Troy Scoble fairly well though and a good friend of mine is very close to him. Apparently was up in the air when he finished his a/c stint at Darley, but is wrapt to be back with his mates at Melton South.
Pelican23
2 Nov 2006, 12:45
Handy, but not as good as everyone says. played alot of footy against him and he was never a match winner off his own back. Is freeland really coming back?? has he had enough of getting smashed down melbourne.
Freeland very close with Reid so may eventuate. Knowles going and a few others will follow. Redan getting a few players back from 02/03 sides this year to replace Knowles and co who will leave.
Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there.
Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?
N Bartos
2 Nov 2006, 12:58
I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.[/quote]
Apparently Malcolm Scott gave a number of the two's players a serve after the grand final, he wasn't impressed with their attitude and thought a few should have been playing seniors instead of trying to win a two's flag.
crusader
2 Nov 2006, 13:02
Freeland very close with Reid so may eventuate. Knowles going and a few others will follow. Redan getting a few players back from 02/03 sides this year to replace Knowles and co who will leave.
Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there. Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?
Pelican, i can vouch for that. I have seen pics and yes he did pick up a meter maid, and yes from looking at her and her body features, i.e. crotch area, yes it is possible she actually was a he. But that is of no worries to beach, he learnt his trade at dayleford, so it is anything goes for him, and why not. what happens on a footy trip, stays on a footy trip. supposedly!!!
KingRich
2 Nov 2006, 13:04
Any other news on any Clunes signings??? The one about Weatherly and Hill returning is untrue from what I can gather. Is Reed Wills still going to sign out there?
Apparently Malcolm Scott gave a number of the two's players a serve after the grand final, he wasn't impressed with their attitude and thought a few should have been playing seniors instead of trying to win a two's flag.
Bout time too. One of the best junior players I have ever seen played 2nds for Ballan this year (if and when he played at all) - Zach Peoples. Should've have been playing on the ball in the Ones.
Blokes like Robby plagueman should have been in the ones all year as well.
Apple Eater
2 Nov 2006, 13:43
I agree CC. For the amount of money they were paying they got very little value for money out of their players. I saw them play against teams at the bottom of the ladder and they were not that convincing. Some of their big name high paid players really didnt stand out when they were given a bit of attention from opposition teams.
I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.
Have to disagree. High profile recruits Cartledge run away winner in the b&f, Mullane-Grant 2nd in the league goal kicking, Uhi VCFL rep and had an impact in almost every game he played (missed 5 or 6) Ballan got value in these players. Dans and Wilkie were a little disappointing though prob due to age.
learmonth
2 Nov 2006, 13:47
[quote=Pelican23]Picking up Jayden Reid will be big plus for Bungaree, although his coaching may well be a bit rough, He will improve as the year goes on.
Pelican, I think your dreaming that all those players are going. And from my resources Reid is no definant to coach, after the leadership group spoke to him on the footy trip.
Spoke to Freeland the other day and he is coaching Altona again, and wont come back as a player for less coin and a drop in rank. The remainder will stay at Redan, and in my opinion, u could see Barker head back to Nth Ballarat after this season. Pls state where u ahve heard this or is it just your imagination taking over.
learmonth
2 Nov 2006, 13:55
Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there.
Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?
A meter maid she was.?????? The transexual thing..??? Well if she was a he, I think anyone would have done her/Him...Fair pick up!
But what Ballan have is a good base of local players that can play.
all young and if you top these up with a few gun recuits E.G Hayden,Tommy
and big Sal plus whatever they pick up for next year who knows what they can do "IF" they can gel????
So how much were they paying to get so little value? I assume you are on the Ballan committee, otherwise you wouldn't have a clue, so give us the inside info. While you're at it you can tell us who the 'big name high paid' ones are who didn't perform. Cartledge? No, he walked the b&f in. Hehir? No, runner up & only played 8 games. Mullane-Grant? Nearly 80 goals on 1 leg, don't think so. Uhi? Well he only represented the VCFL team so maybe it's him you are referring to. Wilkie would have cost an arm and a leg - only played 4 games due to injury, Dans, assistant coach, did his job, missed the last 5 games through injury. You wouldn't know sh it from brown nugget mate if this offering is anything to go by.
Perhaps Ballan would be better off finishing last every year and fund raising to have footy trips to exotic locations. Might earn some points for that.
What players were charged? Another piece of creative writing on your part?
So how much were they paying to get so little value? I assume you are on the Ballan committee, otherwise you wouldn't have a clue, so give us the inside info. While you're at it you can tell us who the 'big name high paid' ones are who didn't perform. Cartledge? No, he walked the b&f in. Hehir? No, runner up & only played 8 games. Mullane-Grant? Nearly 80 goals on 1 leg, don't think so. Uhi? Well he only represented the VCFL team so maybe it's him you are referring to. Wilkie would have cost an arm and a leg - only played 4 games due to injury, Dans, assistant coach, did his job, missed the last 5 games through injury. You wouldn't know sh it from brown nugget mate if this offering is anything to go by.
Perhaps Ballan would be better off finishing last every year and fund raising to have footy trips to exotic locations. Might earn some points for that.
What players were charged? Another piece of creative writing on your part?
Slow down mate, we are all friends here having a discussion about the league.
No I have nothing to do with Ballan, but know a lot of people tied to it. I didn't say their big name players were'nt good players, but for the amount of money the dished out, they didn't get the return for them they probably should've. All I am saying is with the talent they had on show in there side that you have just mentioned the club was very dissapointing not to make the finals.
As for the charges, if it is not something that is known then it is not up to me to be spreading stories across on an internet forum.
I wasnt saying that Ballan arn't a talented side or are in trouble or anything like that. I was simply saying that they didnt see the value for the money they paid in the league ladder and there is some internal issues that the club need to resolve before they move on.
Oh, did you know the president quit as well because he wasnt happy with some things within the club?
learmonth
3 Nov 2006, 07:33
No I have nothing to do with Ballan, but know a lot of people tied to it. I didn't say their big name players were'nt good players, but for the amount of money the dished out, they didn't get the return for them they probably should've. All I am saying is with the talent they had on show in there side that you have just mentioned the club was very dissapointing not to make the finals.
As for the charges, if it is not something that is known then it is not up to me to be spreading stories across on an internet forum.
I wasnt saying that Ballan arn't a talented side or are in trouble or anything like that. I was simply saying that they didnt see the value for the money they paid in the league ladder and there is some internal issues that the club need to resolve before they move on.
Oh, did you know the president quit as well because he wasnt happy with some things within the club?
I can support u there Tud34, Barry Sims, isnt a man that likes to dish out too many $$$ and I believe that would be the reason. He believes in loyality and has great values! As for the players being paid big $$$ good luck for them, but as a club, u would want a better finish then falling 10 points shy of making the finals. No use spending massive $$$ if ya not going to be a realistic chance. Ballan will always struggle on the BIG grounds, but are exceptionally ahrd to beat at home...
You can look at Ballans recent history to see big name players and coaches coming and going through the club and not getting anywhere.
It start at the top and if they cant get that right they will always be middle of the road!
Harry HP
3 Nov 2006, 08:48
Gees boys, i love reading about all the clubs and that but can we get off Ballan for a bit. Its getting pretty tired.
In other news, I can definately tell you boys that Hill and Weatherly will not be playing at Clunes next year. That come from the Horses mouth. Seems like there in for another bottom five finish.
Knowles no definate to goto Bunga, I hear that hes been offered massive dollars at another club just down the road.
What other news are there at clubs other than Ballan?
Jarman03
3 Nov 2006, 09:26
Has it been confirmed whether Reid is coaching Bungaree or not?
learmonth
3 Nov 2006, 10:50
Has it been confirmed whether Reid is coaching Bungaree or not?
Reis has signed, may be in the paper tomorrow, or maybe wait, until he has definantly signed up a few of his Redan mates....
You said the big name players didn't stand out, which is wrong. Of course it's dissappointing for any club to miss finals, but you are putting the blame at the wrong players. And you don't know money was dished out and to who.
You are right that the president quit. He told the committee that he didn't have the time to put in to take it on again, but would remain on the committee.
If you want to talk about massive $$$ learmonth, why not talk about the $25k that you're on for coaching, about $25k more than Ballan's coach got. You'll deny it, but I was told by a mate of yours.
Duck Hunter
3 Nov 2006, 12:21
AJ is a very good coach but 25K seems like a fair bit of money to me and would be surprised if that was the correct figure.
I would be interested to hear the figures some of the other coaches get?
Robertson?
Tranquilli?
Skontra?
Daylesford new coach?
Handley?
Gladman?
Gilbert?
C'mon boys let the rumours begin!
learmonth
3 Nov 2006, 13:45
AJ is a very good coach but 25K seems like a fair bit of money to me and would be surprised if that was the correct figure.
I would be interested to hear the figures some of the other coaches get?
Robertson?
Tranquilli?
Skontra?
Daylesford new coach?
Handley?
Gladman?
Gilbert?
C'mon boys let the rumours begin!
For starters, Aj is on no where near 25K, most of the money goes into his players, as a coach is only as good as the cattle he has on the park.
Robertson- Heard 30K (Not bad for a non playing coach)
Dford -No more then 10k
Gladman- Heard he was on 14K but ended up getting another 4k this season to total 18K- Not bad for a coach that seems to coach every side to the bottom???? Heard he is going back to Creswick this season>>>
As for all teh others, I have no idea, but would suggest b/t 8K & 16K
Pelican23
3 Nov 2006, 14:45
For starters, Aj is on no where near 25K, most of the money goes into his players, as a coach is only as good as the cattle he has on the park.
Dford -No more then 10k
Gladman- Heard he was on 14K but ended up getting another 4k this season to total 18K- Not bad for a coach that seems to coach every side to the bottom???? Heard he is going back to Creswick this season>>>
Beacham has always been a money man, he be clearing 20k a year to coach, with the majority spent on his hair and spray tan.
interesting to note Gladman coached thw wickers to last in 2003/4 and Gordon to last in 05/06. His results speak for themselve so earned every penny of the 18k.
Waubra preseason starts in 2 weeks - Skontra not mucking around in his title defence. Also must start early because of the size Fridge Brown will be in a months time.
Chop Oliver apparantly spending hours in the gym - has incresed his benchpress limit from and empty bottle of fanta to a footlong sub.
Uncle CC
3 Nov 2006, 15:06
I heard from a reliable source last night that Luke Nunn is heading back to Redan this year and that he said he wouldn't play CHFL for less than $800 a game. He will only play at Learmonth if he is offered the coaching role.
Riff Raff
3 Nov 2006, 15:15
I heard from a reliable source last night that Luke Nunn is heading back to Redan this year and that he said he wouldn't play CHFL for less than $800 a game. He will only play at Learmonth if he is offered the coaching role.
What was he on last year?
Dford -No more then 10k
How much longer are you going to persist with talking about yourself in the third person? Your mate was adamant about the 25.
Freak Dodgeball Accident
3 Nov 2006, 16:03
But that is of no worries to beach, he learnt his trade at dayleford, so it is anything goes for him
Speaking of, this week I was shown the latest video doing the rounds on mobile phones. It's simply titled The Lyndall. Features AJ himself, as well as a decent looking older chick who I hear is on the Daylesford committee.
Seems he doesn't just leave his coaching persona on the field - from the little audio that I could hear, he was ordering her around as if she was one of the guys out on the track. It doesn't show Beachams face, although I think I could make out a grainy silhouette of a guy sporting a visor.
I'm not having a dig though. I've seen her in real life and she's not a bad catch in my opinion. Nice work.
You said the big name players didn't stand out, which is wrong. Of course it's dissappointing for any club to miss finals, but you are putting the blame at the wrong players. And you don't know money was dished out and to who.
You are right that the president quit. He told the committee that he didn't have the time to put in to take it on again, but would remain on the committee.
So Helmut what players are you blaming if any???
Nobody, just had about the 6th best list in the league. People forget it's still a pretty young list.
If Learmonth is AJ what does it matter. Part of this site is not knowing thats the good bit! If it is well done AJ. You are quite tollerant of all the shight you cop. Heard AJ talk in some of the finals and was impressed. Known of his and Tims history in other sports in their younger days and they seem to have matured as blokes and doing well for themselves. All this talk of money is starting to piss me off. I coached another sport at state senior level and did not recieve anywhere near some of the money you blokes talk . Whatever happened to doing it for the love of the game and the rewards you recieve when you see the cup held aloft. Am I just being a ****er?
Uncle CC
4 Nov 2006, 11:23
All this talk of money is starting to piss me off. I coached another sport at state senior level and did not recieve anywhere near some of the money you blokes talk . Whatever happened to doing it for the love of the game and the rewards you recieve when you see the cup held aloft. Am I just being a ****er?
Agreed. It would be good if they could have a celery cap that was enforceable. Players getting paid in excess of $400 for just playing is ridiculous. In my opinion, you would have to either be a mercenary to accept that amount of coin or be arrogant to think that you actually deserve that amount of coin for playing sport at this level. I can't think of any current players in CHFL that are worth more than $400 a game.
Spot on about the money not being there in other sports. You could be in the top 10 in the country in other sports and still have to pay to compete!
Freak Dodgeball Accident
4 Nov 2006, 12:52
Agreed. It would be good if they could have a celery cap that was enforceable.
http://www.nicholsoncartoons.com.au/cartoons/new/2002-08-21%20Aug%20Bulldogs%20celery%20cap%20550.JPG
I think you mean salary cap, CC.
Uncle CC
4 Nov 2006, 12:59
Last time I checked, this was a footy forum...not a ****ing spelling bee.
Harry HP
4 Nov 2006, 16:16
http://www.nicholsoncartoons.com.au/cartoons/new/2002-08-21%20Aug%20Bulldogs%20celery%20cap%20550.JPG
Yeah cc you spastic
Last time I checked, this was a footy forum...not a ****ing spelling bee.
Come on CC you have to admit it is pretty funny:D
On salary caps, why not look at the points system being used in some other leagues.
Has anyone got any news on whats happening with the teams player wise from the bottom half of the ladder from 06?
all I have heard lately is how the top half are getting stronger!!!
I would hate to think the CHFL could turn into something like the BFL!!!
the_pill
5 Nov 2006, 16:27
dont worry, it wont
Uncle CC
5 Nov 2006, 21:24
Come on CC you have to admit it is pretty funny:D
On salary caps, why not look at the points system being used in some other leagues.
Yeah don't get me wrong mate. I laughed my arse of when I saw what dodgeball posted.
Tell me more about this points system?
Yeah don't get me wrong mate. I laughed my arse of when I saw what dodgeball posted.
Tell me more about this points system?
There is a thread on here about CELERY caps, (sorry mate, I fought the urge but couldn't resist) where there is a fair bit of discussion about it. There are a few leagues around where it is currently enforced with a few different formats. Basically works by allocating each player on a clubs list a certain number of points and setting a maximum total of points that the 21/22 selected can total. Think the totals vary from league to league from as little as 20 and up to 40 in others. Depending on the total used, players already on your list get a 0 or a 1, blokes recruited from AFL get 5, ex VFL 4, players switching clubs within same league get a 4 or 5, Major league to minor league get 4 or 3 etc. Each year a player spends at a club he gets discounted a point and playing coaches get less points allocated as well.
It's pretty involved and I probably havn't explained it very well, but I reckon it has some merit. Salary caps are impossible to enforce but there is no getting around this system because once you play footy you have a rego number so you're easily trackable. It is worth a try I reckon.
learmonth
6 Nov 2006, 07:48
There is a thread on here about CELERY caps, (sorry mate, I fought the urge but couldn't resist) where there is a fair bit of discussion about it. There are a few leagues around where it is currently enforced with a few different formats. Basically works by allocating each player on a clubs list a certain number of points and setting a maximum total of points that the 21/22 selected can total. Think the totals vary from league to league from as little as 20 and up to 40 in others. Depending on the total used, players already on your list get a 0 or a 1, blokes recruited from AFL get 5, ex VFL 4, players switching clubs within same league get a 4 or 5, Major league to minor league get 4 or 3 etc. Each year a player spends at a club he gets discounted a point and playing coaches get less points allocated as well.
It's pretty involved and I probably havn't explained it very well, but I reckon it has some merit. Salary caps are impossible to enforce but there is no getting around this system because once you play footy you have a rego number so you're easily trackable. It is worth a try I reckon.
Well explained Helmut, thats exactly how it operates, and if it was enforced, then you would see a lot more even competition (Very similar to why the AFL introduced the draft). It would see clubs not having to fork out huge $$$ and players being a bit more loyal. Salary caps are impossible to control, due to the costs of the league, and this system, should be looked at strongly by the CHFL.
Heard simon Crowe has retired for good from Buninyong. His Back has finally given way!
Grimmett
6 Nov 2006, 08:42
The points system as used in some other leagues also factors in that smaller clubs are allowed a larger points cap as a rule. So teams based in major centres are not given as much leeway as teams in small rural townships.
I know this is not such a factor in the CHFL but it is another component of the system that may be factored in.
Gruss Monkey
6 Nov 2006, 14:38
Ruck is the most important position on the field. I think Winduss and Russell are the best in the league. Who do you think are the better ruckman in the league?
Winduss definately good, I would have to question Russell, shared much of the ruck load with Dom Clark and Moran this year. Needs to have a good year next year to be considered as one of the top in the league. Needs to learn how to judge the flight of the footy and jump up adn forward instead of backwards.
Uncle CC
6 Nov 2006, 17:35
Winduss definately good, I would have to question Russell, shared much of the ruck load with Dom Clark and Moran this year. Needs to have a good year next year to be considered as one of the top in the league. Needs to learn how to judge the flight of the footy and jump up and forward instead of backwards.
Sorry Gruss Monkey, I'd have to agree with NCFL about Russell. Nick Moran, AKA Boggers, was stiff not to take part in the GF. Nigal Ried from Gordan isn't a bad tap ruckman either.