View Full Version : Central Highlands

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

N Bartos
13 Nov 2006, 17:10
Reid should kick 50 easily for Bunga next year. With a top midfield he's bound to get endless opportunities. Remember Seiz kicked about 70 last year. The key forward in the top 5 teams should be kicking at least 50. Alot will depend on where he plays, if he plays CHF then 40 odd goals is a pretty fair return.
Has Nicholson signed with Waubra? all the talk seems to point that way. I heard he's living with a couple of the Waubra players, this may be a major reason if true for him heading to the roos.

ryang
13 Nov 2006, 21:44
I can all but confirm that Sacco will coach Newlyn next year with Shane 'Wizza' Edwards (ex-sebas) as his assistant.

I was told today that Sacco was likely to line up with Ballan along with a couple of former Sebas team mates. Didn't get any names but I assume one of those would be Wills as that has been flagged on here. Anybody in the know? Helmut maybe?

KingRich
14 Nov 2006, 09:34
I was told today that Sacco was likely to line up with Ballan along with a couple of former Sebas team mates. Didn't get any names but I assume one of those would be Wills as that has been flagged on here. Anybody in the know? Helmut maybe?

Gee how much money are Ballan spending? Are Ballan in danger of importing too many and upsetting their locals in the future?

crusader
14 Nov 2006, 10:16

Heard the same thing. He is supposed to be going with wills, and ben collier aswell.

crusader
14 Nov 2006, 10:18
Reid should kick 50 easily for Bunga next year. With a top midfield he's bound to get endless opportunities. Remember Seiz kicked about 70 last year. The key forward in the top 5 teams should be kicking at least 50. Alot will depend on where he plays, if he plays CHF then 40 odd goals is a pretty fair return.
Has Nicholson signed with Waubra? all the talk seems to point that way. I heard he's living with a couple of the Waubra players, this may be a major reason if true for him heading to the roos.

Yeah reid should kick 50 goals, but he is still nowhere near as good as everyone is pumping him up to be. Once you get the better backmen on him such as veldhuis and reeves on him he will struggle

learmonth
14 Nov 2006, 10:34
Yeah reid should kick 50 goals, but he is still nowhere near as good as everyone is pumping him up to be. Once you get the better backmen on him such as veldhuis and reeves on him he will struggle

Totally agree, has played in such a well drilled unit for years, it will be a very different game style that he will have to adapt too. Im sure he is capable of it, but it may take time to adapt.

Have heard on the Grapevine that the Daylesford Bulldogs have signed a guy by the name of Dwayne Schashiginni, clever half forward flanker, who is sure to add strength around the contest this season...Any truth to that Cruasader.

With Ballan, Scotty doesnt care, he has wrecked every club he has been too, after short term glory (Which he wont get) and does not look at the best interest of the club. Could see plenty of locals getting upset, as these type of recruits wont be there for ever!!!

Think strategically Ballan..??? Helmut whats your opinion on this..??

Buninyong seem to be very quiet, anyone heard about them. Heard they have already strated Pre-season..???

Scoots
14 Nov 2006, 10:46
Totally agree, has played in such a well drilled unit for years, it will be a very different game style that he will have to adapt too. Im sure he is capable of it, but it may take time to adapt.

Have heard on the Grapevine that the Daylesford Bulldogs have signed a guy by the name of Dwayne Schashiginni, clever half forward flanker, who is sure to add strength around the contest this season...Any truth to that Cruasader.

With Ballan, Scotty doesnt care, he has wrecked every club he has been too, after short term glory (Which he wont get) and does not look at the best interest of the club. Could see plenty of locals getting upset, as these type of recruits wont be there for ever!!!

Buninyong seem to be very quiet, anyone heard about them. Heard they have already strated Pre-season..???

They've signed "Jughead" Porter from Carnham, if his knee pulls up alright after the reco he be dangerous up forward for them.

Just on Reid, a good example was the Colonial Molloy this year. After having it speared down his throat during his time at Redan he didn't dominate the LPFL as expected. He still was clearly a very good player and had a reasonable year, although he didn't kick the goals that was expected of him dropping back to a weaker league. Reid may find he'll be the centre of attention from every coach, he'll have the best defender, plus flankers floating into his space. He's been a bit lucky in his time at Redan because of blokes like Molloy and Walsh and Jones taking away the best defenders.

The best thing about Reid is his ability to create a contest, he hits it hard has made blokes like Barker and co's crumbing job easier. If your a Bunga forward flanker or pocket this year you should be rapped, just get front and centre and he'll either mark it or give you an easy crumb.

I agree with people on here saying him may struggle a bit - for the above reasons. Taking nothing away from him though, he's a class act.

KingRich
14 Nov 2006, 11:09

Where has he coached in the past Learmonth?

crusader
14 Nov 2006, 11:12

Dwayne Scashighini is a sure thing. only weakness in his game is that he cant kick, take a mark or handball, and is very timid. other than that he is a gun. Learmonth you know better than that. Crazy talk. Whats the latest on mcguigen.heard he is a sure thing but wants a fair bit of cash.

Gadget
14 Nov 2006, 11:22
Dwayne Scashighini is a sure thing. only weakness in his game is that he cant kick, take a mark or handball, and is very timid. other than that he is a gun. Learmonth you know better than that. Crazy talk. Whats the latest on mcguigen.heard he is a sure thing but wants a fair bit of cash.
If I was Learmonth, I'd fork out the cash for McGuigan... He will be the difference on how far you want to go this year. It has been over 50 years Learmonth???

learmonth
14 Nov 2006, 11:33
Where has he coached in the past Learmonth?

From my collection, He has coached at Bacchus Marsh, Sebastopol, Learmonth and Ballan (Think Nth Ballarat may be in that.???). Im sure there would be others! I class him as the Kevin Sheedy of the CHFL

learmonth
14 Nov 2006, 11:36

Not sure at this stage..??? but im sure he will be offered what he is worth, and after the last 3 season he has had (Rookie of Year, R/Up league medallist & BFL team of the Year) he could ask for the township of learmonth. In my opinion, I believe he will play back with his mates/brother at learmonth.

tud34
14 Nov 2006, 13:03
Not sure at this stage..??? but im sure he will be offered what he is worth, and after the last 3 season he has had (Rookie of Year, R/Up league medallist & BFL team of the Year) he could ask for the township of learmonth. In my opinion, I believe he will play back with his mates/brother at learmonth.

I have heard first hand from him that he will be going out there, and he is definately worth spending the good money. He has proven himself as a very classy central highlands onballer and with a year of BFL football he will have gained extremely valuable experience at the higher level.

Gadget
14 Nov 2006, 13:06
Any news fom Hepburn and how there recruiting is going?

Velvetsledgehammer
14 Nov 2006, 14:02
I have heard first hand from him that he will be going out there, and he is definately worth spending the good money. He has proven himself as a very classy central highlands onballer and with a year of BFL football he will have gained extremely valuable experience at the higher level.

Agree with comment, but has he proven anything at BFL level in one season? Much the same sort of discussion as earlier on this thread with Nicholson?
McGuigan is a classy player though and worth throwing a few coins at. I am sure Gordon would still be spewing that club legend Noel McGuigan took his two sons with him to the pub at Learmonth.
Any news on Gordon at this stage?

Gadget
15 Nov 2006, 09:08
Agree with comment, but has he proven anything at BFL level in one season? Much the same sort of discussion as earlier on this thread with Nicholson?
McGuigan is a classy player though and worth throwing a few coins at. I am sure Gordon would still be spewing that club legend Noel McGuigan took his two sons with him to the pub at Learmonth.
Any news on Gordon at this stage?
Has he proved anything??? Mate, he kicked 60+ goals, team of the year, close to on of the best in finals, apart from GF (Pitt killed him). Did you play against him this year?

learmonth
15 Nov 2006, 09:20
Has he proved anything??? Mate, he kicked 60+ goals, team of the year, close to on of the best in finals, apart from GF (Pitt killed him). Did you play against him this year?

I dont know how you can possibly put Nicholson in McGuigans class..... Its like taking Jade Rawlings over a Matthew lloyd for Full forward.>???

Heard last night that Mcguigan had spoken to Fisher and has signed at learmonth. Massive gain to an already impressive midfield. Training starts tonight at Learmonth with all the boys pretty keen to make amends for last season.

KingRich
15 Nov 2006, 09:30
I dont know how you can possibly put Nicholson in McGuigans class..... Its like taking Jade Rawlings over a Matthew lloyd for Full forward.>???

Heard last night that Mcguigan had spoken to Fisher and has signed at learmonth. Massive gain to an already impressive midfield. Training starts tonight at Learmonth with all the boys pretty keen to make amends for last season.

Nice night in Rat to start training!!! Few boys might stay on the couch I think!

Gadget
15 Nov 2006, 09:47
Has anyone else heard of Ryan McKee and Michael Sheedy playing at Gordon this year??? It was mentioned last night to me but I'm very doubtful of it happening. Maybe Velvet, you might know more?

gotiger33
15 Nov 2006, 10:07
Still no word on what is happening out the highway at Springbank? they given up on recruiting this year? haven't heard a thing...

Harry HP
15 Nov 2006, 10:14
Still no word on what is happening out the highway at Springbank? they given up on recruiting this year? haven't heard a thing...

Yes true. I also hear alot of people saying Waubra are recruiting well, but i havent heard any actual names! Is Skontra satisfied with he's list and resting after last years efforts?

X Man
15 Nov 2006, 11:56
Yes true. I also hear alot of people saying Waubra are recruiting well, but i havent heard any actual names! Is Skontra satisfied with he's list and resting after last years efforts?

Heard from across the country that Donald in the N.C.F.L have thrown huge coin at Brown to get him back this year to his home town. They have also had a big crack at Russell, Dodds and Sean Mullane. And i mean a big crack;) Any truth to the rumor about Skontra??

learmonth
15 Nov 2006, 13:22
Heard from across the country that Donald in the N.C.F.L have thrown huge coin at Brown to get him back this year to his home town. They have also had a big crack at Russell, Dodds and Sean Mullane. And i mean a big crack;) Any truth to the rumor about Skontra??

Not sure about that, but herad today from a very very reliable source that Craig Baker may be appointed coach of Gordon. Is darley assistant coach and a former asst coach of the Ballarat Interleague. Very handy pick up if this is true, and players rumored to go with him are Travis Stephenson (Massive Ruckman) Travis Digger Edwards, Lee Cox, and Im sure there would be a few more on the cards as well....

I guess we will have to wait and see..??

ROOSTER1
15 Nov 2006, 16:18
I saw reid play couple of games this year, didn't think much of him at all! Would of been better off sitting next to murrihy on the bench xcept for the fact they didn't have anyone else.

learmonth
16 Nov 2006, 08:03
I saw reid play couple of games this year, didn't think much of him at all! Would of been better off sitting next to murrihy on the bench xcept for the fact they didn't have anyone else.

Do u ever have a positive word to say Rooster. Reid is a proven player 3 premierships, 1 R/Up and captain of last years side and still competed very well in the G/F. Though he is getting older, can still play the game. U seem to bag everyone, with no facts behind it- And everytime in the past threads someone has bagged Hepburn u start to sook! So gathering from that u must be a hepburn player/ supporter, but on 2nd thoughts, Hepburn people woulnt know how to turn a computer on!.......

rexxy
16 Nov 2006, 08:23

Surely Reid has played on and beaten better players than Veldhuis and Reeves...........He is a much better player than them. Veldhuis struggles and I haven't seen much of Reeves

Gadget
16 Nov 2006, 08:25
Do u ever have a positive word to say Rooster. Reid is a proven player 3 premierships, 1 R/Up and captain of last years side and still competed very well in the G/F. Though he is getting older, can still play the game. U seem to bag everyone, with no facts behind it- And everytime in the past threads someone has bagged Hepburn u start to sook! So gathering from that u must be a hepburn player/ supporter, but on 2nd thoughts, Hepburn people woulnt know how to turn a computer on!.......
Cop that rooster! Well Said Learmonth. Maybe rooster you can redeem yourself by telling us what's news on the Hepburn front?

Astro Boy
16 Nov 2006, 08:50

Reckon the big fella played in another BFL flag in 96 & a VLF reserves one as well. Would have Reeves & Veldhuis covered.

learmonth
16 Nov 2006, 08:59
Reckon the big fella played in another BFL flag in 96 & a VLF reserves one as well. Would have Reeves & Veldhuis covered.

Have seen Veldhuis carv Reid on numerous occassions from when he played at East/Point and Daylesford. Veldhuis is clearly the best backman in the league. Is quick, can jump, great agility, can read the play,probably does struggle to kick well.
From watching him this season, he was brilliant, and was never beaten!

Astro Boy
16 Nov 2006, 09:21
Have seen Veldhuis carv Reid on numerous occassions from when he played at East/Point and Daylesford. Veldhuis is clearly the best backman in the league. Is quick, can jump, great agility, can read the play,probably does struggle to kick well.

I haven't seen him play much, bit I really rate Sam Newton , Madigan & Pellisier.

crusader
16 Nov 2006, 11:09
Spot on mate, but not sure about the best back man. sammy newton up there. On the hepburn front, supposedly are going hard at one of the hardest blokes getting around. Brendan shepard was down there this week rumor has it. Learmonth you would remember him, massive unit and loves running in straight lines. makes sammy newtown and tom reeves look like cream puffs. played inter league a few years ago for bendigo and literally nearly killed a bloke with a fair hip and shoulder. smashed his throat up and he stopped breathing. if this is true about him joining hepburn, alot of the other teams better not want to blood any kids against hepburn. Big bucks though, was on $1200 at kerang last year.

Gadget
16 Nov 2006, 14:36
Anybody heard of Cam Landry maybe heading to Waubra???

learmonth
16 Nov 2006, 14:41
Anybody heard of Cam Landry maybe heading to Waubra???

Very good player, can play CHB or CHF, would be an exceptional player in the CHFL. Has played Inter-league for Ballarat and currently plays for Lake Wendouree. His brother in-law Adam Jarvis plays for Waubra, so that would be the connection

Teeth
16 Nov 2006, 14:51
Very good player, can play CHB or CHF, would be an exceptional player in the CHFL. Has played Inter-league for Ballarat and currently plays for Lake Wendouree. His brother in-law Adam Jarvis plays for Waubra, so that would be the connection

Not sure if Cam's head would fit through the gates at Waubra.

Gadget
16 Nov 2006, 14:58
Not sure if Cam's head would fit through the gates at Waubra.
It is a big head isn't it... He is one that would match up alright on Reid.

Gadget
16 Nov 2006, 15:01
Is there anything you don't know Learmonth!!!! Could you possibly tell me what Astro Boy had for breakfast? Or better still, what colour g banger Velvet is wearing! If you get that I give up!!!!

Uncle CC
16 Nov 2006, 15:37
Is there anything you don't know Learmonth!!!! Could you possibly tell me what Astro Boy had for breakfast? Or better still, what colour g banger Velvet is wearing! If you get that I give up!!!!

Velvet was wearing a purple eatable banger this morning. Astro Boy had it for breakfast!

helmut
16 Nov 2006, 15:43
I hear that Josh Quinlan and Glenn McKenzie from Bungaree, and Matt Clarke from Waubra have all been offered pretty good dough by a GFL club.

Gruss Monkey
16 Nov 2006, 17:44
I hear that Josh Quinlan and Glenn McKenzie from Bungaree, and Matt Clarke from Waubra have all been offered pretty good dough by a GFL club.

Gees Mckenzie and Quinlan have a lot to be desired for on the footy field. But they do work well together off the field, especially at the Mid City Motor Inn after 5am on a satdy night so a young skank tells me.

PAUL3232
16 Nov 2006, 18:05
Can anyone tell me how the Gordon boys have gone in the last couple years, played there a while ago, not much sucess on the field by the boys were great off the field.:D

helmut
16 Nov 2006, 18:56
Gees Mckenzie and Quinlan have a lot to be desired for on the footy field. But they do work well together off the field, especially at the Mid City Motor Inn after 5am on a satdy night so a young skank tells me.

He he. Your mail is pretty good there Gruss Monkey. I'm told the old rottiserie cooked up a storm.

Rooster07
16 Nov 2006, 19:22
I follow the gfl pretty closely, can you name the club. Very interested to know

Astro Boy
17 Nov 2006, 07:08
Velvet was wearing a purple eatable banger this morning. Astro Boy had it for breakfast!

it was very tasty.

Astro Boy
17 Nov 2006, 07:15

Spoke to Mat Clarke, he hasn't been in contact with any GFL clubs.
He is interested in teaming up with Josh & Glen @ the Mid City next time tho.. said for a tupperware party..all holes sealed.

Harry HP
17 Nov 2006, 07:34

I can pretty much put my house on it that it's St. Albans! But im not even sure if there in the GFL????

helmut
17 Nov 2006, 08:06

St. Albans is the club mate.

Astro boy where does Matty work?

learmonth
17 Nov 2006, 08:21

St Albams is the footy side and the $$ is correct, but they will be both staying at Bunga. Very loyal cousins.

Gadget
17 Nov 2006, 08:55
Could we maybe get some idea of how clubs are going on the recruiting side with confirmed signings.....Learmonth, you have McGuigan in ink, anyone else?

Astro Boy
17 Nov 2006, 09:14
St. Albans is the club mate.

Astro boy where does Matty work?

He works on himself.. He has been known to go to the gym 5 days a week & work on his guns for up to an hour per arm.
It has paid off as they r huge!

When he's not working on himself he drives cranes for Tommy Quinlan(down Melb), Josh & Glen's Uncle.

Astro Boy
17 Nov 2006, 10:01
Could we maybe get some idea of how clubs are going on the recruiting side with confirmed signings.....Learmonth, you have McGuigan in ink, anyone else?

Heard Bunga have signed Dru Quinlan.

Gadget
17 Nov 2006, 10:48
Heard Bunga have signed Dru Quinlan.
What position suits D. Quinlan best in Bungaree's side. (Apart from the bar in the social rooms!)

Gruss Monkey
17 Nov 2006, 11:05
St Albams is the footy side and the $$ is correct, but they will be both staying at Bunga. Very loyal cousins.

I thought that Plugger would have stayed loyal to Waubra too. I've been trying to call him today to find out more but can't get through to him. I spoke to another Waubra boy today that lives near him in Melbourne and he said that he is as good as gone. Wants to play at a higher leval and said the money would be good.

helmut
17 Nov 2006, 11:56
He works on himself.. He has been known to go to the gym 5 days a week & work on his guns for up to an hour per arm.
It has paid off as they r huge!

When he's not working on himself he drives cranes for Tommy Quinlan(down Melb), Josh & Glen's Uncle.

Big Tommy also took over Barry James cranes in Geelong so perhaps he's branched out and is dabbling in the player agent area...??

helmut
17 Nov 2006, 12:04

You're probably right there learmonth, but the boys are being wined and dined by St. Albans next week and are certainly interested to hear the details of what they're offering. They probably don't get a cent at Bunga so you never know.

learmonth
17 Nov 2006, 12:16

At this stage McGuigan & Lockett are the only signings at Learmonth. Maybe a few more signings to announce next week, but its never official until pen is put to paper!

Helmut, heard a rumor that Ballan was changing their name this season, to Ballan/Sebastopol as there are a few ex sebas boys at the club this season- Cartledge/Sacco/Wills/Leon/Collier, maybe a few more I have forgoten and Scotty!!! Heard that Sebas have ripped up his life membership and isnt welcome back.

Also with those recruits only Wills is any good, but certainly the word around town is that BAllan are pumping themselves up BIG time, so we will just have to wait and see how good they are. In my opinion will win their fair share of games at home, but struggle on the Bigger grounds.

learmonth
17 Nov 2006, 12:21
Big Tommy also took over Barry James cranes in Geelong so perhaps he's branched out and is dabbling in the player agent area...??

Also for anyone thats not doing anything tonight, Bungaree are holding their meet the coach at Oscars at 6pm. Might be interesting to drop in and see what great plans Reidy has install to win that elusive flag since 1991.
I think u will have to pay ya own way if your not a Bunga Member.

I can just imagine whats going to be on the menu-

Entree- POTATO & leak soup

Mains- Shepherds Pie, Roast potato's, Wedges and Potato salad.

Entree- Your selection from our famous sorted Potato chips (Plain, Salt & Vinegar/Chicken & Cheese & Onion)

Enjoy the night

Gadget
17 Nov 2006, 14:03
Also for anyone thats not doing anything tonight, Bungaree are holding their meet the coach at Oscars at 6pm. Might be interesting to drop in and see what great plans Reidy has install to win that elusive flag since 1991.
I think u will have to pay ya own way if your not a Bunga Member.

I can just imagine whats going to be on the menu-

Entree- POTATO & leak soup

Mains- Shepherds Pie, Roast potato's, Wedges and Potato salad.

Entree- Your selection from our famous sorted Potato chips (Plain, Salt & Vinegar/Chicken & Cheese & Onion)

Enjoy the night
Must be wearing a wife beater singlet to get in aswell...

Cheers Spud!!!

helmut
17 Nov 2006, 16:30
At this stage McGuigan & Lockett are the only signings at Learmonth. Maybe a few more signings to announce next week, but its never official until pen is put to paper!

Helmut, heard a rumor that Ballan was changing their name this season, to Ballan/Sebastopol as there are a few ex sebas boys at the club this season- Cartledge/Sacco/Wills/Leon/Collier, maybe a few more I have forgoten and Scotty!!! Heard that Sebas have ripped up his life membership and isnt welcome back.

Also with those recruits only Wills is any good, but certainly the word around town is that BAllan are pumping themselves up BIG time, so we will just have to wait and see how good they are. In my opinion will win their fair share of games at home, but struggle on the Bigger grounds.

Learmonth, heard a rumor that Learmonth was changing their name this season, to Learmonth/Daylesford as there are a few ex daylesford boys at the club this season- Beacham/Wright/Veldhuis/Gudgeon/Lockett, maybe a few more I have forgoten........

And no, not pumping themselves up at all, it's only November, long way to go between now and April. As you say, we will wait and see, but you're opinion is noted.

ROOSTER1
17 Nov 2006, 19:26

Hehe, good to see you remember me thou learmonth! Don't really give a ******** about hepburn, just that everyone on this thread bags the ******** out of them so someones got to give them some credit for what they have done. As skontra and many have said before, they have made this league, what it is today, very strong!
Good luck to them again, im sure they will go for it again.
By the way half of learmonth seem to be ex daylesford scum, although they have left so something must be working up there!

NCFL
18 Nov 2006, 12:09
Lot of talk about which clubs are doing what. Lets say we have just finished round 17 2007. Top five in order please boys. Put it on the line! or thread.

Apple Eater
19 Nov 2006, 11:30
Lot of talk about which clubs are doing what. Lets say we have just finished round 17 2007. Top five in order please boys. Put it on the line! or thread.

Waubra
Daylesford
Ballan
Learmonth
Hepburn

Bungaree unlucky.

Turtle_15
19 Nov 2006, 19:42
Waubra
Daylesford
Ballan
Learmonth
Hepburn

Bungaree unlucky.

Waubra- always strong
daylesford
hepburn
bungaree - recruited well
ballan - could do anything this year but will finish in the 5

Gadget
20 Nov 2006, 08:11
Waubra
Bungaree
Daylesford
Ballan
Learmonth

Bdiddy18
20 Nov 2006, 08:47
Boys,

Heard some massive news regarding Hepburn over the weekend. If my sources are right Hepburn have signed 5 players from the Northern Bullants VFL!! Have also heard that a recently delisted AFL player will be lining up at Centre Half forward for daylesford next year. Can anyone confirm the Daylesford/Hepburn signings?

Bdiddy18
20 Nov 2006, 08:49
NCFL, what are your predictions? What is your background? Player, coach?

Astro Boy
20 Nov 2006, 09:56
Boys,

Heard some massive news regarding Hepburn over the weekend. If my sources are right Hepburn have signed 5 players from the Northern Bullants VFL!! Have also heard that a recently delisted AFL player will be lining up at Centre Half forward for daylesford next year. Can anyone confirm the Daylesford/Hepburn signings?

Well this is massive news if true. Any names of these players?

learmonth
20 Nov 2006, 10:19
Boys,

Morgan is the guys name that Daylesford are talking too 6ft 7inc and had a knee reconstriction last season. Played at te Bulldogs last season, but is asking for massive $$$ and from my sources, Daylesford arnt prepared to pay that type off $$. Their President John Goulett has as much money as Commelli, and wants him big time.....

As for the Hepburn stories, wouldnt put it past them, as Robbo has a good relationship with the Bullants as a former asst coach. In my opinion, most would only be 2's players at VFL level, as senior players would get more down in melbourne and less travel. I think 6 would have been exagerated.... maybe 2-3....

My tip for the top 5 based on the draw as it favours Dford BIG time...

Dford
Waubra
Bungaree
Hepburn
Learmonth

helmut
20 Nov 2006, 11:13

Dford
Waubra
Bungaree
Hepburn
Learmonth[/quote]

Is there a draw out learmonth? Where did you see that?
Also there is talk again that the league will adopt a final 6 next year, league AGM on wednesday could be interesting.

learmonth
20 Nov 2006, 11:32

Dford
Waubra
Bungaree
Hepburn
Learmonth

Is there a draw out learmonth? Where did you see that?
Also there is talk again that the league will adopt a final 6 next year, league AGM on wednesday could be interesting.[/quote]

Yes have the official draw, and Ballan are playing Newlyn rnd 1 away, and the other 3 sides that they play twice are Daylesford. Clunes and Beaufort.

Learmonth have voted for the top 6 and im sure that it will go through as its dependent on all sides.. Silly not to have a top 6 in my opinion

Deledio2Tambling
20 Nov 2006, 11:34
Could you post the draw?

Deledio2Tambling
20 Nov 2006, 11:37
Actually to save time for yourself could you post my team, Daylesford's draw?

crusader
20 Nov 2006, 12:16
Morgan is the guys name that Daylesford are talking too 6ft 7inc and had a knee reconstriction last season. Played at te Bulldogs last season, but is asking for massive $$$ and from my sources, Daylesford arnt prepared to pay that type off $$. Their President John Goulett has as much money as Commelli, and wants him big time.....

As for the Hepburn stories, wouldnt put it past them, as Robbo has a good relationship with the Bullants as a former asst coach. In my opinion, most would only be 2's players at VFL level, as senior players would get more down in melbourne and less travel. I think 6 would have been exagerated.... maybe 2-3....

Dford
Waubra
Bungaree
Hepburn
Learmonth

Once again learmonth, your sources arent as good as you think mate. Morgan is no chance of playing a daylesford. Just a rumor that got started and spread onto a few people to get people talking. Although daylesford are talking to a very good player that should be a big signing in two weeks time. but sorry he isn't morgon. Daylesford recruiters were seen down geelong on saturday and sunday talking to a few boys down there mate, and one that you know well has all but guaranteed he will be playing. should be interesting.
Heard that norther bullants stuff as well and it is lies, no one wants to go down there

Bdiddy18
21 Nov 2006, 07:35
Once again learmonth, your sources arent as good as you think mate. Morgan is no chance of playing a daylesford. Just a rumor that got started and spread onto a few people to get people talking. Although daylesford are talking to a very good player that should be a big signing in two weeks time. but sorry he isn't morgon. Daylesford recruiters were seen down geelong on saturday and sunday talking to a few boys down there mate, and one that you know well has all but guaranteed he will be playing. should be interesting.
Heard that norther bullants stuff as well and it is lies, no one wants to go down there

Can any confirm that Phelps from Buninyong is leaving? Hear he was at East points first training session last night as his brother is playing there.

learmonth
21 Nov 2006, 14:03
Can any confirm that Phelps from Buninyong is leaving? Hear he was at East points first training session last night as his brother is playing there.

Couldnt see that happening as he is Buninyong through and through, but I guess stranger things have happened. May do a pre-season in their to get super fit and if he believes he is good enough to make the grade might have a crack at it. Im sure we will see him in the bunnies color this seson though.

Matthew Pillios
21 Nov 2006, 21:33
Couldnt see that happening as he is Buninyong through and through, but I guess stranger things have happened. May do a pre-season in their to get super fit and if he believes he is good enough to make the grade might have a crack at it. Im sure we will see him in the bunnies color this seson though.

Are the Mighty Gordon F.C. in this Comp?

The great Ian Denny use to play there in the mid 90's. As did my first Cousins Nick and Troy Maheras. Can anybody remember them?

What is the standard like in the Comp?

X Man
22 Nov 2006, 11:22
Am i corrrect in saying that Waubra start there 2007 title defence tonight??

Astro Boy
22 Nov 2006, 12:00
Am i corrrect in saying that Waubra start there 2007 title defence tonight??

Xman the boys started on Monday.. No training tonight as its Ballarat Cup.
The boys will be enjoying the frothies & chasing some crumpet.

doppelganger
22 Nov 2006, 16:14
Boys,

My sources have confirmed the Hepburn rumour... geez...the things people do for a dollar...
Bad enough that Daylesford's star recruit Michael Davis has to play his first game on the cow paddock at Gordon.... he might turn tail & run back down the highway to the big smoke after that!!!

JGraf
22 Nov 2006, 18:07
Learmonth have voted for the top 6 and im sure that it will go through as its dependent on all sides.. Silly not to have a top 6 in my opinion[/quote]

Can I ask why it would be silly not to have a top 6? Isnt it rewarding a mediocre team getting to the finals in 6th. The AFL has 8 which is 3 too many.

It is all about money and that is it.

Astro Boy
23 Nov 2006, 06:53
Learmonth have voted for the top 6 and im sure that it will go through as its dependent on all sides.. Silly not to have a top 6 in my opinion

Can I ask why it would be silly not to have a top 6? Isnt it rewarding a mediocre team getting to the finals in 6th. The AFL has 8 which is 3 too many.

It is all about money and that is it.[/quote]

Ur right JGraf the final 6 is a joke. Lets hope it doesn't go through.

learmonth
23 Nov 2006, 09:31

Ur right JGraf the final 6 is a joke. Lets hope it doesn't go through.[/quote]

The only way the CHFL can go forward is to move with the times, and as stated before, footy is a small business. Small minded people like yourself who are happy with a 5 are the reason why the Australian economy is in the ********. Move with the times and stop using a Gas Lantern! Most civilised people can adapt to change and move forward. The ones who cant are uneducated and scared that they may have to do something outside the square. Why should the top team get a weeks break and only have to win 1 game to make a Grand Final. If they are truely the best side then winning 3 finals is a must to be classed as the best side, as Hepburn were spent last year after 4 finals compared to Waubra's 2.

Hopefully more people will understand this....

doppelganger
23 Nov 2006, 09:38

It is all about money and that is it.[/quote]

Agree the bottom side is just making up the numbers (but everyone said that about Learmonth last year & they nearly upset the proverbial applecart.) It is all about money... but at least in CHFL the clubs benefit from the profits. Another final gives the clubs opportunity to make more dollars on catering rights... & hardworking committees love that!!!

Gadget
23 Nov 2006, 10:06

Agree the bottom side is just making up the numbers (but everyone said that about Learmonth last year & they nearly upset the proverbial applecart.) It is all about money... but at least in CHFL the clubs benefit from the profits. Another final gives the clubs opportunity to make more dollars on catering rights... & hardworking committees love that!!![/QUOTE]
Let's just say it pays to finish on top. Very easy run into a grand final.

Rojer_Ramjet
23 Nov 2006, 10:35
Hay fellas, where did Dunnstown finish up last? What players are they lacking to be a top 5 side? Who is there coach for 07? cheers

tud34
23 Nov 2006, 13:18
Are the Mighty Gordon F.C. in this Comp?

The great Ian Denny use to play there in the mid 90's. As did my first Cousins Nick and Troy Maheras. Can anybody remember them?

What is the standard like in the Comp?

Ian Denny played and coached the 1988 premiership side (Gordon's last senior premiership) He was one of the best players I have seen in this league.

Troy Maheras played in that premiership side as well. He was 16. They had to get him out of school on the monday after the grandfinal for mad monday.

Nick was actually signed to coach Gordon in 2003 from memory but pulled out early January. Both were very talented players tho. Troy very classy forward and Nick tough onballer.

ringo1
23 Nov 2006, 14:16
Is Gerard Cahir still involved with Dunnstown?

Gadget
23 Nov 2006, 14:27
Anyone know of how Bungaree's meet the coach night went last friday? Any suprise new faces amongst the red & blue?

Gadget
24 Nov 2006, 12:39
Hey Learmonth, Any truth to the rumour that 3-5 players will be returning from cairns to the lakies after next season with 1 of them coaching? If so, will be a tough job this coming season knowing that they have already planned for the future and it seems AJ isn't in there plans?

KingRich
24 Nov 2006, 12:50
Are all of Ballan's potential recruits coming to fruition or was is all just big talk?

learmonth
24 Nov 2006, 13:18
Hey Learmonth, Any truth to the rumour that 3-5 players will be returning from cairns to the lakies after next season with 1 of them coaching? If so, will be a tough job this coming season knowing that they have already planned for the future and it seems AJ isn't in there plans?

I know for a fact that the football department spoke to two guys (Ryan & Watty) not sure who the other 3 would be as im not sure if there are any more Learmonth boys up that way. As for the coaching, Im sure if Aj wants the position it is his. Due to his ankle injury I know he likes to do his contract year by year, and as for Aj, I dont think you could faulter his 1st season as coach. But then again funny things happen in footy!!!

Just on speaking to Aj, it is amazing the amount of $$$ players are asking for! BFL players from what I have heard who are b/t 18-25 best on the clubs list are asking for ridiculous amounts of $$ b/t 350-400 p/game.

I think some of these players who are openely putting themself on the market for this type of $$ should just get back to the basics and worry about getting a kick, rather then pumping their own ego up with massive $$$.

learmonth
24 Nov 2006, 13:23
Anyone know of how Bungaree's meet the coach night went last friday? Any suprise new faces amongst the red & blue?

Heard Knowles will train with Bungaree, but hasnt made a definant decision on whether he will play their as he wants to get a feel for the club and see if he likes the CHFL and its professionalism. Redan are still pretty confident of keeping him. Barnett and Glasson will play with Bunga this season.

The Train
24 Nov 2006, 15:37
Not sure about that, but herad today from a very very reliable source that Craig Baker may be appointed coach of Gordon. Is darley assistant coach and a former asst coach of the Ballarat Interleague. Very handy pick up if this is true, and players rumored to go with him are Travis Stephenson (Massive Ruckman) Travis Digger Edwards, Lee Cox, and Im sure there would be a few more on the cards as well....

I guess we will have to wait and see..??

Have heard Lee Cox is going Melton South and big Stephenson is staying not sure about Edwards though. Also believe Knowles is going to Bungaree

KingRich
24 Nov 2006, 15:49
Article in courier today about Gordon appointing Baker. Good to hear some positive news come out of the club finally!

JGraf
24 Nov 2006, 16:36
Ur right JGraf the final 6 is a joke. Lets hope it doesn't go through.

The only way the CHFL can go forward is to move with the times, and as stated before, footy is a small business. Small minded people like yourself who are happy with a 5 are the reason why the Australian economy is in the ********. Move with the times and stop using a Gas Lantern! Most civilised people can adapt to change and move forward. The ones who cant are uneducated and scared that they may have to do something outside the square. Why should the top team get a weeks break and only have to win 1 game to make a Grand Final. If they are truely the best side then winning 3 finals is a must to be classed as the best side, as Hepburn were spent last year after 4 finals compared to Waubra's 2.

Hopefully more people will understand this....[/quote]

Not sure how my education comes into question here and I am not sure how I am small minded as well. Having completed a four year Education degree and now working in the Education Department I would hardly say that I am uneducated. The drugs you took at Daylesford may have affected your brain.

What do you mean go forward?

Giving a sixth team a spot in the finals is rewarding mediocrity. It should not happen. I believe there should not be finals and the team who finishes on top over the season should be the premiership team. Eg. Premier League soccer.

The Train
24 Nov 2006, 17:57
Article in courier today about Gordon appointing Baker. Good to hear some positive news come out of the club finally!

On Gordon I believe that SMW Rovers are chasing Nigel Reid which would be bad luck after the good news of getting Baker

Also got to agree with Learmonth that the CHFL does need a final 6 with 14 teams in the comp while the team that finishes 6th might not be the best during the year the great thing about footy is once finals start you only need one month of good footy to make an impact like Learmonth proved this year when they were only a couple of point away from a prelim

Fence Sitter
25 Nov 2006, 13:15
On Gordon I believe that SMW Rovers are chasing Nigel Reid which would be bad luck after the good news of getting Baker

Also got to agree with Learmonth that the CHFL does need a final 6 with 14 teams in the comp while the team that finishes 6th might not be the best during the year the great thing about footy is once finals start you only need one month of good footy to make an impact like Learmonth proved this year when they were only a couple of point away from a prelim

Agree Top 6 is the way to go. This league has capacity to be very even for first 7 teams and given the amount of talent coming into league some clubs will want a top 6 to justify spending money and not making finals. I read about Hepburn attracting a heap of blokes from Bullants, if true will make then start a warm favourite for next years flag.
Also need to say the Knowles WILL BE going to Bunga, along with Dru Quinlan there maybe a handful of others to compliment this team.
Ballan are about to have a crack, quite a few sebastapol blokes heading that way. ButDaylesford is the big watch Davis and Family will have a big impact. could make a case for a few Waubra also although not sure if they will be fit enough as they only started preseason a week before carlton..:rolleyes:

Fence Sitter
25 Nov 2006, 13:40
Not sure how my education comes into question here and I am not sure how I am small minded as well. Having completed a four year Education degree and now working in the Education Department I would hardly say that I am uneducated. The drugs you took at Daylesford may have affected your brain.

What do you mean go forward?

Giving a sixth team a spot in the finals is rewarding mediocrity. It should not happen. I believe there should not be finals and the team who finishes on top over the season should be the premiership team. Eg. Premier League soccer.[/quote

Jgraf
(premier league soccer scenario)This would be an option if everyone played eachother twice. In fact they could split this league in two, as the top 7-8 sides are in their own league and the remaining could either join lexton plains or have a divvy 2 in CHFL. Both having top 4. Then you would be able to reward mediocriity by letting the bottom half play finals,it wold also mean the goal umpires wont have to wave flags as often in either division....this is actually starting to make sense to me so I better stop in case someone takes it serious. :eek:

Riff Raff
27 Nov 2006, 08:08
Is it true that Waubras P Doods dream of becoming a Liberal candidate for Ballarat is over? Word is he was left Red :mad: Faced after a failed election campaign with Liberal leader Ted Baillieu at the Ballarat Cup.

Harry HP
27 Nov 2006, 12:51
Is it true that Waubras P Doods dream of becoming a Liberal candidate for Ballarat is over? Word is he was left Red :mad: Faced after a failed election campaign with Liberal leader Ted Baillieu at the Ballarat Cup.

Not too sure if he was left Red Faced. From what i saw out at the cup, Teddy boy was the one Left Red :mad: Faced after he reached for the high five and got left hanging, he was the laughing stock of the Bird Cage tent.

Riff Raff
27 Nov 2006, 14:02
Not too sure if he was left Red Faced. From what i saw out at the cup, Teddy boy was the one Left Red :mad: Faced after he reached for the high five and got left hanging, he was the laughing stock of the Bird Cage tent.

Actually saw Teddy boy on the tv today his red face has healed not to bad. I'm led to believe the man in question has a head looking like a snake trying to shed it's skin.