View Full Version : Central Highlands
Actually saw Teddy boy on the tv today his red face has healed not to bad. I'm led to believe the man in question has a head looking like a snake trying to shed it's skin.
Who was the waubra bloke that got kicked out of the bird cage just before the last race cup day because he had sh*t his pants!!!! Literally!!!! ********in hilarious when I was told!
Astro Boy
27 Nov 2006, 14:42
Leave Paul alone. I do believe he's heading off to Sea World shortly on a special burn victims camp.
Good on him if thats true. Astro Boy, how's waubra shaping up, have heard your've lost only stepnell who's 110 yrs old anyway so all set for another crack at it this year. Is it true Mully (shaun)is off to Darwin for 3-4 months in the new year?
Grimmett
27 Nov 2006, 15:26
Still no word on what is happening out the highway at Springbank? they given up on recruiting this year? haven't heard a thing...
Is this because the coach put in for the Rebels job?
learmonth
27 Nov 2006, 15:27
Good on him if thats true. Astro Boy, how's waubra shaping up, have heard your've lost only stepnell who's 110 yrs old anyway so all set for another crack at it this year. Is it true Mully (shaun)is off to Darwin for 3-4 months in the new year?
Your on the money there Gadget, Is up there for work (Telstra) and from what I hear will be playing for Southern Districts. Is also getting married on Dec 30.
That would hurt waubra massively! Averages at least 1- 2 goals per match aswell as 30+ touches... Would need to replace him I'd think if they were to win it again this year. (IMO)
Harry HP
27 Nov 2006, 15:48
That would hurt waubra massively! Averages at least 1- 2 goals per match aswell as 30+ touches... Would need to replace him I'd think if they were to win it again this year. (IMO)
Thats very true, i dont think Waubra have a chance without him. Hes out until August, that will hurt the boys.
Harry HP
27 Nov 2006, 15:55
Also the Waubra boys had there premiership photo on Sunday at Vic park followed by a 20/20 cricket match. Some of these boys have a lot to be desired for when it comes to cricket, especially one S Mullane, who took 2 hours to put every piece of padding on possible because he was scared of the brutal pace of a man named 'The dirty bird' only to be bowled out for a golden duck. Another noticable window licker was L Oliver. On the footy field he can lay a good hip and shoulder, but when it comes to catching a cricket ball he's alligator hands really dont cut it.
If mully goes to Darwin does that mean Naylon will go aswell? Seems to live in his shadow over the past couple of years?
The Train
27 Nov 2006, 18:58
Thats very true, i dont think Waubra have a chance without him. Hes out until August, that will hurt the boys.
Been told by very close source to Shaun Mullane has guaranteed that he will captain Waubra again NO DOUBT about it.
The Train
27 Nov 2006, 19:12
Boys,
Heard some massive news regarding Hepburn over the weekend. If my sources are right Hepburn have signed 5 players from the Northern Bullants VFL!! Have also heard that a recently delisted AFL player will be lining up at Centre Half forward for daylesford next year. Can anyone confirm the Daylesford/Hepburn signings?
Can confirm Hepburn have picked up a handfull VFL players and also a few Ballarat players too.
Fence Sitter
27 Nov 2006, 19:54
Can confirm Hepburn have picked up a handfull VFL players and also a few Ballarat players too.
How many did you hear I heard upto 5 from VFL and which BFL players?
The Train
27 Nov 2006, 20:02
yeah heard 5 from the bullants, and two pretty handy bfl players, waiting on one more signing, but dont know names yet!
Bdiddy18
27 Nov 2006, 20:06
yeah heard 5 from the bullants, and two pretty handy bfl players, waiting on one more signing, but dont know names yet!
The Train how can you confirm without names? Come on mate at least get some names if you are going to confirm signings
Bdiddy18
27 Nov 2006, 20:08
Can anyone confirm any definite signings for any CHFL clubs?
Bdiddy18
27 Nov 2006, 20:08
Whats your background fence sitter?
long john silver
27 Nov 2006, 20:10
would that be Rod Stepnell from Waubra
Fence Sitter
27 Nov 2006, 20:15
Whats your background fence sitter?
House and front garden is my background. Havent played much but before but just love footy and one of my mates knows this league pretty well.
So i keep an eye on.
The Train
27 Nov 2006, 20:22
The Train how can you confirm without names? Come on mate at least get some names if you are going to confirm signings
well my source is well and truly involved with the burra, but wasnt going to reveal names, may be waiting for a big spread in the courier... will be working on some names in the next week or so.
Fence Sitter
27 Nov 2006, 20:34
well my source is well and truly involved with the burra, but wasnt going to reveal names, may be waiting for a big spread in the courier... will be working on some names in the next week or so.
Who will be working on names you or Burra's. Can you give any hints?
Fence Sitter
27 Nov 2006, 20:40
Can anyone confirm any definite signings for any CHFL clubs?
Redan Jayden Reid at Bunga
Wills from Sebas - Ballan
Redan Nicholson - Waubra
Redan Nowles - Bunga
Ballarat Baker - Learmonth (trying to get him assist) learmonth should be able to confirm.
Read these ones earlier on the website.
Redan Jayden Reid at Bunga
Wills from Sebas - Ballan
Redan Nicholson - Waubra
Redan Nowles - Bunga
Ballarat Baker - Learmonth (trying to get him assist) learmonth should be able to confirm.
Read these ones earlier on the website.
McGuigan, Reid & Nicholson are the only definate signings i've heard?
You wont get sellars Learmonth, He's very close to signing at Donald. Good luck to you if you do as he would slot into your backline very nicely.
KingRich
28 Nov 2006, 11:20
You wont get sellars Learmonth, He's very close to signing at Donald. Good luck to you if you do as he would slot into your backline very nicely.
What's his connection with Donald Gadget?
$$$$$$
KingRich
28 Nov 2006, 12:41
$$$$$$
Surely must know someone over there as well. Would have to be good dollars to lure him away from Rovers I would think.
True. You'd think he would rather play with mates and whether there is 1 or 2 that play for Donald i don't know but will get back to you.
learmonth
28 Nov 2006, 13:21
True. You'd think he would rather play with mates and whether there is 1 or 2 that play for Donald i don't know but will get back to you.
Certainly will have a crack at him, all he can say is NO, so its worth a shot. I gues Learmonth are able to offer excellent facilities, great ground and be around the mark in the $$$ area.
Not taht far from home for him as well.
Certainly will have a crack at him, all he can say is NO, so its worth a shot. I gues Learmonth are able to offer excellent facilities, great ground and be around the mark in the $$$ area.
Not taht far from home for him as well.
With the amount of dollars your throwing around Learmonth I hope your looking after the locals who actually play for the club.... ie: Bashams, Davies, Sobeys, Powells etc
crusader
29 Nov 2006, 11:16
Hope for there sake they have, cause i know alot of their younger players have cracked it with them for paying them $50 a game and all the out of towners are getting massive $$$$. A lot of under 18s are supposedly heading out to trentham because of this.
KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 11:19
Hope for there sake they have, cause i know alot of their younger players have cracked it with them for paying them $50 a game and all the out of towners are getting massive $$$$. A lot of under 18s are supposedly heading out to trentham because of this.
Trentham?? That is a massive move for them. They are heading out there for Cash I assume or do they have other ties?? How many are going?
Under 18s leaving because they are only getting $50 a game??? hhhmmm.....
crusader
29 Nov 2006, 11:28
Trentham?? That is a massive move for them. They are heading out there for Cash I assume or do they have other ties?? How many are going?
Under 18s leaving because they are only getting $50 a game??? hhhmmm.....
Nah mate misunderstood. Younger senior players getting payed very little compared to the out of towners. Under 18s are getting offered some cash to head out to trentham, and are assured to play senior footy, so they may be keen to leave. Although a big influence to stay may be with Raaky being apointed reserves coach down there, which would make things interesting when he pulls the boots on, as he isnt playing senior footy anymore.
KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 12:36
Nah mate misunderstood. Younger senior players getting payed very little compared to the out of towners. Under 18s are getting offered some cash to head out to trentham, and are assured to play senior footy, so they may be keen to leave. Although a big influence to stay may be with Raaky being apointed reserves coach down there, which would make things interesting when he pulls the boots on, as he isnt playing senior footy anymore.
Ah fair enough. Is always tough for the young fellas when they get money thrown at them! Tough to knock it back at that age!
learmonth
29 Nov 2006, 13:25
With the amount of dollars your throwing around Learmonth I hope your looking after the locals who actually play for the club.... ie: Bashams, Davies, Sobeys, Powells etc
Completely hyphothetical that statement their by you gadget. Throwing heaps of money around??? Are you the Learmonth Treasurer are you..?? How would you know what the Learmonth Football club pays its players. As for the locals, u will just have to go and ask them if they are being looked after. All are playing this year again, so maybe that might answer your question.
Maybe Gadget u need to understand footy a bit better as some of your threads you have posted are very naive. Redan finishing 6th in the BFL... What odds would you give me for that..??? Silly statements. Ill leave u with this. God gave you two eyes, two ears and one tongue, so what does that tell you? You should look and listen twice as much as you talk!
Completely hyphothetical that statement their by you gadget. Throwing heaps of money around??? Are you the Learmonth Treasurer are you..?? How would you know what the Learmonth Football club pays its players. As for the locals, u will just have to go and ask them if they are being looked after. All are playing this year again, so maybe that might answer your question.
Maybe Gadget u need to understand footy a bit better as some of your threads you have posted are very naive. Redan finishing 6th in the BFL... What odds would you give me for that..??? Silly statements. Ill leave u with this. God gave you two eyes, two ears and one tongue, so what does that tell you? You should look and listen twice as much as you talk!
Just an opinion... Pull your visor from back over your eyes!!!
Sherman41
29 Nov 2006, 14:30
sellers to donald that is big news, i know he went back to rovers to win a flag for home club, has obviously had enough after 2 years with no luck, oh ,maybe he is embarrassed to go back after his smiteful remarks to team mates when they lost semi final.
KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 14:55
sellers to donald that is big news, i know he went back to rovers to win a flag for home club, has obviously had enough after 2 years with no luck, oh ,maybe he is embarrassed to go back after his smiteful remarks to team mates when they lost semi final.
What was said?
[quote=KingRich;6309396]Trentham?? That is a massive move for them. They are heading out there for Cash I assume or do they have other ties?? How many are going?
Have you seen who is coaching Trentham????
What sort of footballer in their honest mind would agree to play for them under their new coach, regardless of how much cash they are splashing around...
KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 15:10
[quote=KingRich;6309396]Trentham?? That is a massive move for them. They are heading out there for Cash I assume or do they have other ties?? How many are going?
What sort of footballer in their honest mind would agree to play for them under their new coach, regardless of how much cash they are splashing around...
Who's the coach?? Same bloke as last year? If its the same as last year he was a toss I thought.
Velvetsledgehammer
29 Nov 2006, 15:44
Ian Denny played and coached the 1988 premiership side (Gordon's last senior premiership) He was one of the best players I have seen in this league.
Troy Maheras played in that premiership side as well. He was 16. They had to get him out of school on the monday after the grandfinal for mad monday.
Nick was actually signed to coach Gordon in 2003 from memory but pulled out early January. Both were very talented players tho. Troy very classy forward and Nick tough onballer.
Word has it, the previous Gordon committee had offered Nige Reid huge dollars to be assistant coach this season which he was close to signing..........but now with Baker on board and the new coach needing to attract big names players from Darley, Reid might be on the move??
Rojer_Ramjet
29 Nov 2006, 17:45
Is there new coach from Lexton seconds? I heard he struggled to get a game there. If there was big money would you run round a footy field for 3 hours?
Fence Sitter
29 Nov 2006, 18:43
Is there new coach from Lexton seconds? I heard he struggled to get a game there. If there was big money would you run round a footy field for 3 hours?
Given they only play for 2 hours most weeks, what are you suggetsting that trentham may need to stay out for another 1 hour.:confused:
Fence Sitter
29 Nov 2006, 18:45
Hey learmonth is it true, you guys a chasing Baker from Ballarat as an assistant?
the gloved 1
29 Nov 2006, 19:59
i wouldn't be totally sure he has signed with donald, plenty of clubs up this way interested in his services and while plenty of clubs still have $$$ to offer i am positive he is not a done deal yet.
Perhaps he's heard the rumours on the $$ that McGuigan has had thrown at him to lure him back next year learmonth, besides that, it's a bit rich to have a go at Gadget for commenting on Learmonth throwing heaps of $ around. You don't mind talking about what you reckon other clubs are spending - you must be treasurer at a few clubs then??
Did like your last comment though. You're smarter than I thought. Mind if I use that one?
Hey learmonth is it true, you guys a chasing Baker from Ballarat as an assistant?
It might well be Baker there chasing but there've also thrown an offer at Ash Barker aswell, not sure if it is a assistant coach offer or just player, but he is a chance to play there as a couple of he's mates will be there the following year after returning from Cairns.
learmonth
30 Nov 2006, 09:40
Thats the 1st ive heard of that, Couldnt see him leaving as he is the Captain and has been around at Ballarat for a while whilst they have struggled. Am sure he will stay there for some long awaited success now.
KingRich
30 Nov 2006, 09:55
i wouldn't be totally sure he has signed with donald, plenty of clubs up this way interested in his services and while plenty of clubs still have $$$ to offer i am positive he is not a done deal yet.
Certainly hasn't been confirmed anywhere yet.
Rojer_Ramjet
30 Nov 2006, 11:18
Given they only play for 2 hours most weeks, what are you suggetsting that trentham may need to stay out for another 1 hour.:confused:
When you play Trentham and the opposition kicks 50 goals there is a lot of time fetching the ball from behind the sticks. With time on it is not uncommon for a game to go beyond 5.30. Trentham probably do need to stay out there for another hour so they can get there hands on the footy and see what it feels like.
How'd ya meeting with sellars go last night leamonth?
Sherman41
30 Nov 2006, 12:42
What was said?
not sure if it is my place to say, but after the loss everyone was obviously dissapointed and having showers, he stood up and declared that he did not want to showers with them cos they were a bunch of losers and walked out in his footy gear and bag and never returned. heard this from the mouth of one of his team mates when i questioned him about it. i know ppl can get dissapointed after a loss and annoyed, but this surely was a little over the top, id hope this i something he regrets doing.
How'd your meeting with Maxwell ex lakers go last night Learmonth or is it tonight. Heard Ballan onto him aswell.
learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 08:55
How'd your meeting with Maxwell ex lakers go last night Learmonth or is it tonight. Heard Ballan onto him aswell.
I think who ever your getting your info from is leading u down a dead end rd Gadget! But thats what this sight is for to start rumors which we can all talk about.
If your able to get Baker, Barker and maxwwell to learmonth that would be sensational, as we havent spoken to any! So if you can help us out gadget that would be sensational! Would be 3 very handy pick ups, but there well out of league in attracting!
Wise man once said, do not believe everything you here, as someone may be leading you down the wrong garden path and making you look foolish!!!
learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 08:57
not sure if it is my place to say, but after the loss everyone was obviously dissapointed and having showers, he stood up and declared that he did not want to showers with them cos they were a bunch of losers and walked out in his footy gear and bag and never returned. heard this from the mouth of one of his team mates when i questioned him about it. i know ppl can get dissapointed after a loss and annoyed, but this surely was a little over the top, id hope this i something he regrets doing.
Just to inform the sight and here is some fact- that Justin Orwin from east/Point officiaaly signed with Buninyong on Tuesday! Will be a good pick up for them 6ft 2inc H/Back flanker. Will cover the loss of Phelps! But I suggest that he will be wanting to play midfield out there as thats why he left East/Point for the oppertunity.
I think who ever your getting your info from is leading u down a dead end rd Gadget! But thats what this sight is for to start rumors which we can all talk about.
If your able to get Baker, Barker and maxwwell to learmonth that would be sensational, as we havent spoken to any! So if you can help us out gadget that would be sensational! Would be 3 very handy pick ups, but there well out of league in attracting!
Wise man once said, do not believe everything you here, as someone may be leading you down the wrong garden path and making you look foolish!!!
Just a question and your answer is good enough for me! 90% of all posts are rumours learmonth.
Duck Hunter
1 Dec 2006, 09:59
Anyone who is looking to recruit Brad Maxwell are only looking for a short term fix. Maxwell is a money man and is fully aware that he is the most important person in the world. Only a Club with too much money on their hands would go down that path. The boy can play but his negatives can sometimes out way the postivies. I would be ringing Waubra & Lakers to get a reference
What's a bloke to do when he get's $$$'s thrown in his face and at that age where it can come in handy? There's a trend starting to take over that football loyalty is f**cked as blokes are getting money hungry but only because clubs are throwing it at them. It's a tough decision especially when you get to the age of 24-28 and houses, travel cars... It all helps.
Duck Hunter
1 Dec 2006, 10:43
Not really having a pot at Maxwell. More having a dig at the clubs chasing him. Smart clubs chase the loyal types. Dumb clubs chase the money men.
True That.
learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 11:26
U must ahve something agaibst Maxwell Duck Hunter, From what i know of him he has been a pretty loyal servant at Lakies, due to it not being his home club. Went to Waubra with his mate Michael Hines and played at Nth Ballarat until he lost interst in training 5 nights a week for $50.
Maxwell is a match winner and im sure any club would be silly not to speak to him if he was available.
Loyality in footy is gone!!!! is all about business and Gadget is spot on, if you can get $300-$500 cash for 5 years, goes a long way in helping you get in front of house loans etc....
learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 11:29
True That.
So hepburn are a dumb club, have won 2/3 flags made another G/F and most of their players are money chasers... If you can afford it do it.
The way clubs will operate is that they will spend ******** loads over 2 years in an aim to win a flag, then they will drop back to the field for a few years until they have another crack. to win a flag in the CHFL, it will cost u $60K now days, with that price gradually climbing!
Thats just a fact of life..... Majority of the CHFL sides now train B4 xmas which 5 years ago was unheard off, and the ones that dont will end bottom 4 due to being unfit and unprofessional!
So hepburn are a dumb club, have won 2/3 flags made another G/F and most of their players are money chasers... If you can afford it do it.
The way clubs will operate is that they will spend ******** loads over 2 years in an aim to win a flag, then they will drop back to the field for a few years until they have another crack. to win a flag in the CHFL, it will cost u $60K now days, with that price gradually climbing!
Thats just a fact of life..... Majority of the CHFL sides now train B4 xmas which 5 years ago was unheard off, and the ones that dont will end bottom 4 due to being unfit and unprofessional!
I rate maxwell Learmonth like you quoted earlier. My quote "True That" was in regards to clubs throwing cash at players that are'nt match winners ie: fringe BFL senior players. Not many clubs win flags these days unless there've thrown out the big biscuits... The only one I can think of in recent years was probably Buninyong's last flag? You hear about Redan in the BFL spending much less than other clubs and have loyal players that play for there mates. Those days have finished now.
Bernie Q
1 Dec 2006, 12:33
Has anyone heard anymore about who Craig Baker will be taking to Gordon with him for next season?? The rumor is there will be a few, but no names given
Duck Hunter
1 Dec 2006, 12:47
I have heard that Mick Carey is making a comeback to Gordon. Word is that Mick made this decision just before the finals whilst playing for Hepburn. He asked coach Robertson if he could be rested in the Final against Learmonth so he could be fresh for the 2007 Pre-season. Apparently he has been on a diet of Spinach and baby apples over the last month
Spinach and baby apples won't help his football ability!!! No news on Beaufort lately... might b in for another long season you'd think?
Ballan havn't spoken to him either Gadget.
Beaufort will be a much improved side next year with the Fitzpatricks and Foster going back there, also heard the Bones brothers may have been returning along with several other recruits.
learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 14:44
Maybe a heart transplant may be more suitable.... Most overrarted and over paid player in teh comp along with Seiz!!! From my sources both have been delisted by Hepburn as they wasted about 15K on both for little return against the good sides...
They might go to the MCFL or LPFL as joint coaches next season.????
Report on the news tonight about McGuigan returning to Learmonth - no news flash there - but also that they are leading the race to secure Brad Maxwell. Are you telling porkies learmonth? As you say, he is a match winner and would be a very handy pick up.
Fence Sitter
1 Dec 2006, 20:53
Report on the news tonight about McGuigan returning to Learmonth - no news flash there - but also that they are leading the race to secure Brad Maxwell. Are you telling porkies learmonth? As you say, he is a match winner and would be a very handy pick up.
Can I ask why McGuigan went back to Learmonth, one in the BFL doesnt make him a star, definitely not a $300 a game star.
Also if they get maxwell, I would suspect the players that play for nothing (refer earleir posts - Sobey & Basham etc) will leave particular Basham who has no time for maxwell, I believe a Love hate relationship, Sam "loves to hate him". So Learmonth F.C will have to make a call John & Sam Basham VS Maxwell........hmmmmmmmm time to ponder, which is better for the team
Over to you Learmonth what do you think.:confused:
The Beaks Gossip 07
1 Dec 2006, 22:10
Can I ask why McGuigan went back to Learmonth, one in the BFL doesnt make him a star, definitely not a $300 a game star.
Also if they get maxwell, I would suspect the players that play for nothing (refer earleir posts - Sobey & Basham etc) will leave particular Basham who has no time for maxwell, I believe a Love hate relationship, Sam "loves to hate him". So Learmonth F.C will have to make a call John & Sam Basham VS Maxwell........hmmmmmmmm time to ponder, which is better for the team
A spy at Saxon House, who is new in the job! was told from a source who is very close to the Kangaroos that the reason that McGuigan left was for money reasons, Like $400 per game, He was also offered and guaranteed the Captaincy at the Club (i see it was a joint announcement on WIN TV tonite), A lump Sum Sign on Fee of $2k to help with his new business and that the Learmonth FC were footing the bill for a Injury Insurance policy that covers for loss of wages which i think is about $1350 for a $600 per week policy.So a fair amount of coin for a 20yo to consider dont you think.
My thoughts on this are if this is even close to the deal that has been struck is that it is very much overpriced for a small forward/rover who needs to get better with his decision making and kicking. Good luck to him if he has got the deal of a lifetime but one season at a higher level does not make you a STAR, a word of advice to young Mcguigan is that your coach is only out there now as his time at the highest levels had come to an end as he was getting older, slower, and not as good as he thought he was but still good enough to get the $$$$$$$ in the CHFL.
As a 20yo you have a huge amount of expectation on the shoulders and if i was you i would serioulsy think about putting this pressure on myself. 1 season of BFL footy does not make you a $400 per game player.
A STAR is a young bloke like Redans Ryan Waight who is not a money based person, Vic Rep, All Australian, Premiership Player who is now challenging himself by doing a pre season with the Roosters, This is one Kid who could possibly earn $400 per game in any major league based on his record as he is a disciplined, committeed and Team Orientated player, he would be the best kid in the BFL by far.
learmonth
2 Dec 2006, 10:44
Ill give u the right answer as to why McGuigan left East/Point- The reason -Shane Fisher- cant coach, is abusive towards his players, refused to acknowledge anyone after the grand final loss from 2's under 18's and majority of senior players and only thought if he had pl;ayed they would have won, and never gave the younger guys the oppertunity, even when they were 25 goals up. Where is his development skills. I can guarantee you know, Mcguigan wont be the 1st name that leaves east/point...many are following suit.
As for the Basham rumors Fence Sitter, your way off mate. Both Bashams are loyal learmonth boys and are looked after accordingly and if Maxwell ever did come to learmonth (which is a long way off) im sure the 3 of them along with sobey up forward would be sensational together. U are a rumor starter and may be getting worried that learmonth may be the real deal this year with some quality recruits.....
learmonth
2 Dec 2006, 10:57
A spy at Saxon House, who is new in the job! was told from a source who is very close to the Kangaroos that the reason that McGuigan left was for money reasons, Like $400 per game, He was also offered and guaranteed the Captaincy at the Club (i see it was a joint announcement on WIN TV tonite), A lump Sum Sign on Fee of $2k to help with his new business and that the Learmonth FC were footing the bill for a Injury Insurance policy that covers for loss of wages which i think is about $1350 for a $600 per week policy.So a fair amount of coin for a 20yo to consider dont you think.
My thoughts on this are if this is even close to the deal that has been struck is that it is very much overpriced for a small forward/rover who needs to get better with his decision making and kicking. Good luck to him if he has got the deal of a lifetime but one season at a higher level does not make you a STAR, a word of advice to young Mcguigan is that your coach is only out there now as his time at the highest levels had come to an end as he was getting older, slower, and not as good as he thought he was but still good enough to get the $$$$$$$ in the CHFL.
As a 20yo you have a huge amount of expectation on the shoulders and if i was you i would serioulsy think about putting this pressure on myself. 1 season of BFL footy does not make you a $400 per game player.
A STAR is a young bloke like Redans Ryan Waight who is not a money based person, Vic Rep, All Australian, Premiership Player who is now challenging himself by doing a pre season with the Roosters, This is one Kid who could possibly earn $400 per game in any major league based on his record as he is a disciplined, committeed and Team Orientated player, he would be the best kid in the BFL by far.
Like to know how East/point would know how much Mcguigan is getting. Im sure himself the coach and the treasurer would be the only ones that would know.. I think they may be savage in losing a quality player who made team of the year. That puts him in the best 22 in the BFL and im positive that there are morer then 22 players in the whole BFL on $500+ p/game. East/Point have way more money then Learmonth, so I dont believe it to be a $$$ thing. As stated b4 alot of East/Point players dont respect Fisher or can relate to him.
As for Aj- 14 yaers at major league footy is a fair effort, inter-league premiership player, 5 prelim apperances with redan & Daylesford, Team of the year, I dont think he has too much more to prove as a player. Thats why he wouold be in the CHFL trying to prove himself as a coach... Knowing him personally, with him still playing with the seriousness of his ankle and the effects he will have in later life, I rewspect him deeply. And yes! There a more then one of us who write on this THREAD!!! If he wanted to play BFL he would still be capable,and money, forget about that, he would be one of the lowest paid coaches in the comp, and i know that for a fact.... Its all about a premiership for him..Thanks BEAK!! I know who you are...
sharp shooter
2 Dec 2006, 11:16
Heard romours that springbank are trying to attract several players from A and B section Amature clubs in melbourne. is there any truth to these whispers
Like to know how East/point would know how much Mcguigan is getting. Im sure himself the coach and the treasurer would be the only ones that would know.. I think they may be savage in losing a quality player who made team of the year. That puts him in the best 22 in the BFL and im positive that there are morer then 22 players in the whole BFL on $500+ p/game. East/Point have way more money then Learmonth, so I dont believe it to be a $$$ thing. As stated b4 alot of East/Point players dont respect Fisher or can relate to him.
As for Aj- 14 yaers at major league footy is a fair effort, inter-league premiership player, 5 prelim apperances with redan & Daylesford, Team of the year, I dont think he has too much more to prove as a player. Thats why he wouold be in the CHFL trying to prove himself as a coach... Knowing him personally, with him still playing with the seriousness of his ankle and the effects he will have in later life, I rewspect him deeply. And yes! There a more then one of us who write on this THREAD!!! If he wanted to play BFL he would still be capable,and money, forget about that, he would be one of the lowest paid coaches in the comp, and i know that for a fact.... Its all about a premiership for him..Thanks BEAK!! I know who you are...
Yeah 25 thousand isn't much.
Maybe Chris has told somebody what he was offered, who told somebody else etc etc, because that story has been doing the rounds for quite a while. Why is it that you reckon you know what players at other clubs are getting but as soon as anybody posts anything about what Learmonth are paying you trot out the old "only the coach the player and the treasurer would know that".
No need to go into details on the magnitude of your respect for AJ, I think it's well known. I believe it's called narcissism.
Fence Sitter
2 Dec 2006, 17:20
Ill give u the right answer as to why McGuigan left East/Point- The reason -Shane Fisher- cant coach, is abusive towards his players, refused to acknowledge anyone after the grand final loss from 2's under 18's and majority of senior players and only thought if he had pl;ayed they would have won, and never gave the younger guys the oppertunity, even when they were 25 goals up. Where is his development skills. I can guarantee you know, Mcguigan wont be the 1st name that leaves east/point...many are following suit.
As for the Basham rumors Fence Sitter, your way off mate. Both Bashams are loyal learmonth boys and are looked after accordingly and if Maxwell ever did come to learmonth (which is a long way off) im sure the 3 of them along with sobey up forward would be sensational together. U are a rumor starter and may be getting worried that learmonth may be the real deal this year with some quality recruits.....
I'm not questioning the bashams loyalty and also know they are being looked after. I was actually responding to somebody else saying maxwel is going to learmonth and more passing comment that they apparently dont have much time for each other. As for starting rumour I'm not sure which rumour your are referring to as I have generally only passed comment although did ask about Baker (so i guess that could be a rumour) I have to sit on the fence on that one.
But as for worried about learmonth being the real deal, I reckon ,Hepburn, Waubra and Daylesford, Bunga and possibly Ballan will make top 5, which I guess your are keen on op 6.
Fence Sitter
2 Dec 2006, 17:25
Yeah 25 thousand isn't much.
Maybe Chris has told somebody what he was offered, who told somebody else etc etc, because that story has been doing the rounds for quite a while. Why is it that you reckon you know what players at other clubs are getting but as soon as anybody posts anything about what Learmonth are paying you trot out the old "only the coach the player and the treasurer would know that".
No need to go into details on the magnitude of your respect for AJ, I think it's well known. I believe it's called narcissism.
Helmut, I think you might be overs I got told $20K. But It's what they think he is worth. I do agree that Beacham could still get a kick in the BFL.
Doctor Pink
2 Dec 2006, 19:10
Thanks BEAK!! I know who you are...
And who is the beak??
ROOSTER1
2 Dec 2006, 20:59
[quote=learmonth;6328051]Like to know how East/point would know how much Mcguigan is getting. Im sure himself the coach and the treasurer would be the only ones that would know.. I think they may be savage in losing a quality player who made team of the year. That puts him in the best 22 in the BFL and im positive that there are morer then 22 players in the whole BFL on $500+ p/game. East/Point have way more money then Learmonth, so I dont believe it to be a $$$ thing. As stated b4 alot of East/Point players dont respect Fisher or can relate to him.
Hey there learmonth: i totally agree with what you have just said. it is in chris' best interest to go back to learmonth. I know that he has been offered quite good cash but hey what clubs aren't throwing that sort of money around- good luck to him if he can get it.
He was given a raw deal at East. Given about 3 games for the whole year on the ball at East, which is absolute bull********. Meanwhile Fisher was playing himself ruck rover for the majority of the year??!! The two boys in who had transferred from BFL McGuigan and Bones got a raw deal. Not sure if Fisher liked seeing them play well in the BFL!! They did have a great midfield but these two guys weren't given a chance to prove themselfs. I agree that you may find a few others leaving the roos- with the side they had it may have been the coaches fault. why would you play jordan at chf when he was ff all year?
Answer this learmonth, Honestly name the positions that you think Basham (sam) can play?
KingRich
4 Dec 2006, 09:36
Dont know this bloke at all but it would seem he is getting unfairly picked on. There are heaps of lesser players around the district who are getting similar and more cash and have less credentials than this kid. Not really worth commenting on what he is getting.
I agree mate. He is copping a lot more flack then he deseves. At the end of the day he is going back to play with his mates at his previous club. He has played all his juniors within the CHFL and played good senior footy before going to the BFL (E.G. Winning Rookie of the year).
If he can get paid to do it that is a bonus for him. If Learmonth are happy to pay that money they are getting a good return for it. He will certainly get a lot of attention back in this league and the reason he will be paid what he will is that he is good enough to stand up to this pressure. He has shown this by kicking the amount of goals he did this year and making the team of the year.
As for the money he will be getting, there were players in the league this year that would have been on more that I dont believe are as valuable as Chris (E.G Hepburn - Seiz, Ballan - Cartledge)
I agree mate. He is copping a lot more flack then he deseves. At the end of the day he is going back to play with his mates at his previous club. He has played all his juniors within the CHFL and played good senior footy before going to the BFL (E.G. Winning Rookie of the year).
If he can get paid to do it that is a bonus for him. If Learmonth are happy to pay that money they are getting a good return for it. He will certainly get a lot of attention back in this league and the reason he will be paid what he will is that he is good enough to stand up to this pressure. He has shown this by kicking the amount of goals he did this year and making the team of the year.
As for the money he will be getting, there were players in the league this year that would have been on more that I dont believe are as valuable as Chris (E.G Hepburn - Seiz, Ballan - Cartledge)
Cartledge goes alright Tud.
McGuigan will be a stand out player for Learmonth, I just hope he contributes when it matters come finals as he did go missing during this years finals.
He'll go alright but will need a fair bit of protection from team mates with the close attention he'll get. IMO
McGuigan on a better wicket than Cartledge mate if the figures being talked about are correct. Good player, and will only get better, but I'd have Cartledge any day thanks.
I didnt say Cartledge isn't a valuable player, by all means, he can play.
I am just saying in my personal oppinion Chris is more valuable. I have played with Chris in years gone by and against Cartledge and I (again just oppinion) think that Chris is the pick of the two.
Your not making sense Tud. Refer to your earlier posts mate.
Astro Boy
4 Dec 2006, 13:55
Cartledge is a very good player & from what i've seen is a lot smarter footballer, although he does have problems with his shoulder . He would be on more money then Chris make no mistake about that, as he is a money man.. I heard he was getting flat $500 per game last year even if he missed through injury. Was also paid very well at Apsley/ Edenhope, Daylesford & East
doppelganger
4 Dec 2006, 13:59
Cartledge is a very good player & from wahts i've seen is a lot smarter footballer, although he does have problems with his shoulder . He would be on more money then Chris make no mistake about that, as he is a money man.. I heard he was getting flat $500 per game last year even if he missed through injury. Was also paid very well at Apsley/ Edenhope, Daylesford & East
Not that well paid at Daylesford m8. Those boys play for love not money.
Luke, Joel & Bernie are probably the most loyal players in the league in my opionion didn't Cartledge have a run in with a team mate at daylesford which made his decision to leave?
Fence Sitter
4 Dec 2006, 20:45
Luke, Joel & Bernie are probably the most loyal players in the league in my opionion didn't Cartledge have a run in with a team mate at daylesford which made his decision to leave?
Big Ox and Scoble are fairly loyal, so you can add them to list of loyal blokes.;) :thumbsu:
Learmonth have secured the services of Brad Maxwell.
Pring and Clarke from Cargnham reportedly joining team mates Raynor and Porter in moving to Buninyong, along with ex Lexton coach David Box.
Dave Dridan and a few other Lexton blokes to join either Buninyong or Dunnstown, not sure which.
Pring and Clarke from Cargnham reportedly joining team mates Raynor and Porter in moving to Buninyong, along with ex Lexton coach David Box.
Dave Dridan and a few other Lexton blokes to join either Buninyong or Dunnstown, not sure which.
I wasn't far off the mark Learmonth if this is true! Have you signed him or is it still a so called rumour that were've made up?
Cartledge is a very good player & from what i've seen is a lot smarter footballer, although he does have problems with his shoulder . He would be on more money then Chris make no mistake about that, as he is a money man.. I heard he was getting flat $500 per game last year even if he missed through injury. Was also paid very well at Apsley/ Edenhope, Daylesford & East
Your figure is incorrect Astro Boy and if the rumoured deal that McGuigan is getting at Learmonth is correct, it is substantially more than what Cartledge is on. I also know what Cartledge was getting at East Point and I wouldn't call it very well paid, especially as assistant coach. After he broke his collarbone playing for East, he had to have his guernsey cut off at hospital and it was thrown in the bin by hospital staff. East Point made him pay for the jumper! What a club.
Dunnstown losing Grigg back to Daylesford and George and Conroy to Skipton.
One thing we can guarantee is Bungaree will be very fit at the rate there going at training. Getting good numbers and getting the absolute s hit run through them. Just hope they don't burn out too quickly towards the end of season.
KingRich
5 Dec 2006, 12:30
One thing we can guarantee is Bungaree will be very fit at the rate there going at training. Getting good numbers and getting the absolute s hit run through them. Just hope they don't burn out too quickly towards the end of season.
You'd imagine Jayden Reid would have a good understanding of conditioning work and would taper off at different stages. He has been around a few good programs in his time.
Only had 10 there last Wednesday, as did Waubra.
learmonth
5 Dec 2006, 12:53
I wasn't far off the mark Learmonth if this is true! Have you signed him or is it still a so called rumour that were've made up?
Still a rumor from waht I know off, definantly hasnt signed with any club..???
Grigg to dford is true, and george to Skipton is aswell.
As for the loyality call in another thread, Joel & Bernie Yes. Scoble, Luke and Winduss all left Daylesford for 2 years when they were getting thumped by 40 goals and played in a premiership with castlemaine. Very passionate Dford players, but not a sloyal a sthe other two previously mentioned.
As for running the crap out of players during pre-season, it doesnt work, just creates injuries. Its all about modified programs and smart Personall trainers. All clubs should invest in them, as they specialise in that field. Learmonth have a guy by the name of John Borbitch and he was the reason why learmonth was so fit last year.
Still a rumor from waht I know off, definantly hasnt signed with any club..???
Grigg to dford is true, and george to Skipton is aswell.
As for the loyality call in another thread, Joel & Bernie Yes. Scoble, Luke and Winduss all left Daylesford for 2 years when they were getting thumped by 40 goals and played in a premiership with castlemaine. Very passionate Dford players, but not a sloyal a sthe other two previously mentioned.
As for running the crap out of players during pre-season, it doesnt work, just creates injuries. Its all about modified programs and smart Personall trainers. All clubs should invest in them, as they specialise in that field. Learmonth have a guy by the name of John Borbitch and he was the reason why learmonth was so fit last year.
Agree with you there Learmoth. In my opinion you get more out of doing most of your running with the footy's in pre-season, keeping to the oval instead of the pavement.
Thought I'd start a new direction on this thread.
Top 10 Players in CHFL - In your own opinion
Mine would be...
1. Shaun Mullane
2. Matthew Peake
3. George Russell
4. Joe Gilbert
5. Luke Adams
6. Scott Winduss
7. Hayden Cartledge
8. Salesh Uli
9. Brenton Powell
10. Big Brown (Waubra)
Apologises for spelling mistakes...
Was speaking to Lexton lad on the weekend who told me Box, Dridan and a bloke called Trevor Johnson are definates for D-town. Those of you who don't know Dridan - the guy can seriously play! has won 2 league medals and dominated out there for years. He's 25, is 10kg over weight and needs a change to spark him up again.
If Dunnstown get him fit I'd go as far as saying he is the best recruit by any CHFL club this year yet. He has been untouchable for years due to his loyalty to Lexton.
Big call, but he is a gun.