View Full Version : Central Highlands
Bdiddy18
5 Dec 2006, 19:00
Your figure is incorrect Astro Boy and if the rumoured deal that McGuigan is getting at Learmonth is correct, it is substantially more than what Cartledge is on. I also know what Cartledge was getting at East Point and I wouldn't call it very well paid, especially as assistant coach. After he broke his collarbone playing for East, he had to have his guernsey cut off at hospital and it was thrown in the bin by hospital staff. East Point made him pay for the jumper! What a club.
Helmut, I dont know what you think good money is for an assistant coach, but I can tell you that he was getting well looked after at east. I dont know where you got your info from but he was paid very well and that is a fact!
Fence Sitter
5 Dec 2006, 19:28
Learmonth have secured the services of Brad Maxwell.
Pring and Clarke from Cargnham reportedly joining team mates Raynor and Porter in moving to Buninyong, along with ex Lexton coach David Box.
Dave Dridan and a few other Lexton blokes to join either Buninyong or Dunnstown, not sure which.
Not sure about Pring, he has trained at Daylesford though.
19th Man
5 Dec 2006, 23:44
You'd imagine Jayden Reid would have a good understanding of conditioning work and would taper off at different stages. He has been around a few good programs in his time.
I bet he would not be doing all the hard yards.
Astro Boy
6 Dec 2006, 07:34
Any word on the finals format?
Did a vote take place for the 5 or 6 at the CHFL AGM ?
learmonth
6 Dec 2006, 07:39
Any word on the finals format?
Did a vote take place for the 5 or 6 at the CHFL AGM ?
They have decided to stick to a top 5... There will be a couple of good sides that may miss this year due to unfavourable draws.... But thats life, and I hope those clubs dont complain...... top 3 Dford, Waubra, Bungaree..... Followed by whoever... learmonth, Hepburn, Ballan & Buninyong.. 2 of these last 4 will miss....
learmonth
6 Dec 2006, 07:43
Was speaking to Lexton lad on the weekend who told me Box, Dridan and a bloke called Trevor Johnson are definates for D-town. Those of you who don't know Dridan - the guy can seriously play! has won 2 league medals and dominated out there for years. He's 25, is 10kg over weight and needs a change to spark him up again.
If Dunnstown get him fit I'd go as far as saying he is the best recruit by any CHFL club this year yet. He has been untouchable for years due to his loyalty to Lexton.
Big call, but he is a gun.
never heard of this guy, but its not a very high standard so I wouldnt rate him until he comes into the CHFL and proves himself against quality opposition. If he is to make an impact, then he will ahve to be very fit, otherwise he will be run off all day, and made to be a liability..Natural talent doesnt just get u through now days... Russ Waters has tried to play a higher standard and cant get a kick and he has dominated that league...
Ild also say at this stage that McGuigan and Michael davis (Drafted to Essendon & a B & F winner for Sth Adelaide in the SANFL would just be a tad better then a double LPFL League medallist!!!!
Sherman41
6 Dec 2006, 08:19
Thought I'd start a new direction on this thread.
Top 10 Players in CHFL - In your own opinion
Mine would be...
1. Shaun Mullane
2. Matthew Peake
3. George Russell
4. Joe Gilbert
5. Luke Adams
6. Scott Winduss
7. Hayden Cartledge
8. Salesh Uli
9. Brenton Powell
10. Big Brown (Waubra)
Apologises for spelling mistakes...
i am not an avid follower of this league, but have caught a few games here and there, was wondering why glenn handley is not worth a mention in the top ten, wasnt he runner up league best and fairest??, and winner of the courier award or something, do u not rate him??
Glen handley is a very skilful player and by far clunes best player in '06 but shouldn't have polled votes in a lot of games that he did.I was at vote count & was amazed when he was pulling 3 votes a couple of times after being beaten by 10 goals or more. lots of posts about top 5 or 6 teams any news on bottom half?
Yeah mate, Handles would be up there, there are alot of quality players getting around in the CHFL now, you'd also have Chris O'keefe up there aswell as McKay from Hepburn.
Was speaking to Lexton lad on the weekend who told me Box, Dridan and a bloke called Trevor Johnson are definates for D-town. Those of you who don't know Dridan - the guy can seriously play! has won 2 league medals and dominated out there for years. He's 25, is 10kg over weight and needs a change to spark him up again.
If Dunnstown get him fit I'd go as far as saying he is the best recruit by any CHFL club this year yet. He has been untouchable for years due to his loyalty to Lexton.
Big call, but he is a gun.
He's a gun? Blokes that get on this site and pump up there mates being guns is ridiculous. I'v seen him play and the LPFL is possibly the worst league ever... Never seen so many mongrel punts and helicopter kicks in my life! He'll be no good scoots.
ablett19
6 Dec 2006, 10:32
Any word on how many Ballan have had at training??
Hear they have recruited a lot and are looking to a massive year!!
Tommy M-G to kick 100 next year is my prediction!!
Any word on how many Ballan have had at training??
Hear they have recruited a lot and are looking to a massive year!!
Tommy M-G to kick 100 next year is my prediction!!
37 there on the first night ablett19. Reckon your prediction will be pretty close to the mark on Mullane-Grant, has had his knee fixed and has set himself for a big year.
Tommy got any Uni mates heading out there this year Helmut.
Not sure Gadget, at one stage looked like there could be half a dozen coming with him but that's no longer the case. Might still be a couple though.
learmonth
7 Dec 2006, 07:43
Not sure Gadget, at one stage looked like there could be half a dozen coming with him but that's no longer the case. Might still be a couple though.
With all these massive recruits and massive numbers at training Helmut, Ild say Ballan would be favorites for the flag!!!!! One thing most CHFL sides lack is depth, which wasnt a weakness for Ballan last year....
Mullane-Grant is a star, no question about that, and I rate him highly... Would be in my top 3 players in the league...
With all these massive recruits and massive numbers at training Helmut, Ild say Ballan would be favorites for the flag!!!!! One thing most CHFL sides lack is depth, which wasnt a weakness for Ballan last year....
Mullane-Grant is a star, no question about that, and I rate him highly... Would be in my top 3 players in the league...
Only 4 new blokes on the track, stories about numbers of recruits get over blown on here.
I think the title of favourites sits well and truly with Waubra and Daylesford at this stage Learmonth, although the less I hear about Hepburn the more worrying it becomes. Seems to be a few rumours about what they are up to, but no confirmation. One thing for sure, it will be a hotly contested season with improvement expected by a lot of sides. The draw could play a big part in determining ladder position.
Expect a big year from Mullane-Grant.
gotiger33
7 Dec 2006, 08:49
Anyone heard anything about the new Uni students coming next year? What about the older students that are sick of travelling home?
Adrian parker from Boort in the NCFL is looking to get into ballarat uni and would be a senior player in the CHFL but im unsure if he is going to travel back for footy. Stew Brousard is also looking for a ballarat club to after travelling back to ultima for apart of last year. Sam Gosbell who travelled back to play at wodonga bulldogs in the O&M has signed on with redan aswell as Tom Robertson from Horsham Saints. Redan seem to always be first is grabbing the uni students...
master21
7 Dec 2006, 14:27
Adrian parker from Boort in the NCFL is looking to get into ballarat uni and would be a senior player in the CHFL but im unsure if he is going to travel back for footy. Stew Brousard is also looking for a ballarat club to after travelling back to ultima for apart of last year. Sam Gosbell who travelled back to play at wodonga bulldogs in the O&M has signed on with redan aswell as Tom Robertson from Horsham Saints. Redan seem to always be first is grabbing the uni students...
certainly seems to be the case gault. done the club some good in the last few years aswel with some amazing talent coming through with the uni boys.Gosbell is a good pick up. Anyone got any names of the uni boys potentially going to the CHFL...?
ablett19
7 Dec 2006, 14:49
certainly seems to be the case gault. done the club some good in the last few years aswel with some amazing talent coming through with the uni boys.Gosbell is a good pick up. Anyone got any names of the uni boys potentially going to the CHFL...?
Think they are only rumours but i dare say Dallas Byars will be a slight chance as he lives with TMG. Played at Otway Districts last year, Geelong Falcons back in the day......
He might be able to entice other Otway boys as well such as Stew and Tom Sutherland, Hugh Saunders etc.
All rumours though i think as my mail has them staying at Otway.....
learmonth
7 Dec 2006, 15:15
Think they are only rumours but i dare say Dallas Byars will be a slight chance as he lives with TMG. Played at Otway Districts last year, Geelong Falcons back in the day......
He might be able to entice other Otway boys as well such as Stew and Tom Sutherland, Hugh Saunders etc.
All rumours though i think as my mail has them staying at Otway.....
Dallas also played at Leopold, but uni life has certainly taken over and he has been in a good paddock for a while.... Would not be an elite CHFL player, only just a player!!!
ablett19
7 Dec 2006, 15:27
Dallas also played at Leopold, but uni life has certainly taken over and he has been in a good paddock for a while.... Would not be an elite CHFL player, only just a player!!!
Very skillful isnt he?
I would imagine he would be perfect under Tommys Feet, only one problem that Tommy never gets beaten in a one one one contest so it might be slim pickings......
gotiger33
7 Dec 2006, 15:30
Springbank have a few out there who are at Uni dont they? A bloke that played only a bit at full back, dutch last name, van something for memory... Heard they had a big bloke but played at home out there trainin with him last year as well as the 2's coach being a Uni student...
crusader
7 Dec 2006, 15:37
Not sure about Pring, he has trained at Daylesford though.
Yeah pring has trained at daylesford, as have a couple of his mates which are also very good players. Learmonth, heard your coach made a cameo over there the other day aswell and was in fine form at one of the local establishments with an ex team mate. You can take the boy out of daylesford but you cant take the daylesford out of the boy they reckon
crusader
7 Dec 2006, 15:39
Regarding hepburn, they are going along very quietly under the radar, and from reports from a few of their people, are going to be very probably a top two team if the recruiting they are doing is true. So other teams should probably be worried about that.
Springbank have a few out there who are at Uni dont they? A bloke that played only a bit at full back, dutch last name, van something for memory... Heard they had a big bloke but played at home out there trainin with him last year as well as the 2's coach being a Uni student...
tom van kalken played out there 2 years ago and whitty coached the twos. both uni boys. tom is now strength and conditioning coach at Geelong footy club.
That may be the reason for there success you'd think as they seem to turn over the players each year. The university seems to the recruiting drive for alot of clubs as if you can get 1 or 2 to sign it helps with the numbers ie: reserves, functions, supporters....
well this year redan had something like 18 players living out on res at mt helen and there ones and twos made the Gf's so certainly helps them. i know brendan peace for redan all but signed at the lakers in 2004.. id imagine they are wishing he had of after two b&fs at redan and a best on in the grand final.
its is certainly something i beleive would help struggling CHFL clubs if they could attract uni boys, the only problem is they are only here for 3-4 years though. skipton train at the uni oval tuesday nights which helps them attract uni boys. my tip would be get good netballers and the boys will come
KingRich
7 Dec 2006, 18:15
well this year redan had something like 18 players living out on res at mt helen and there ones and twos made the Gf's so certainly helps them. i know brendan peace for redan all but signed at the lakers in 2004.. id imagine they are wishing he had of after two b&fs at redan and a best on in the grand final.
its is certainly something i beleive would help struggling CHFL clubs if they could attract uni boys, the only problem is they are only here for 3-4 years though. skipton train at the uni oval tuesday nights which helps them attract uni boys. my tip would be get good netballers and the boys will come
Agreed
gotiger33
7 Dec 2006, 20:52
tom van kalken played out there 2 years ago and whitty coached the twos. both uni boys. tom is now strength and conditioning coach at Geelong footy club.
who were the blokes out there training with him? are they half a chance to join the tigers this year?
Duck Hunter
8 Dec 2006, 08:02
Have heard a few rumours with the Pre-season. This is generally a good reflection of the up coming season. Daylesford have been training for 3 weeks with solid sessions. Ballan have had good numbers as usual. Bungaree with good numbers and training hard. Waubra with about 10 getting to training.....Have they got ahead of themselves? I reckon they will be the big slider this season. Learmonth looking in good shape and will be very strong next year.
learmonth
8 Dec 2006, 09:39
Have heard a few rumours with the Pre-season. This is generally a good reflection of the up coming season. Daylesford have been training for 3 weeks with solid sessions. Ballan have had good numbers as usual. Bungaree with good numbers and training hard. Waubra with about 10 getting to training.....Have they got ahead of themselves? I reckon they will be the big slider this season. Learmonth looking in good shape and will be very strong next year.
Learmonth have been training 3 nights a week since November 15, been getting around 20-25 players per session and are a lot fitter then at the same stage of last year. 37 players have trained so far with all the older more experienced players not required until January 22 when they start back. Learmonths facilities continue to climb, with new gym equipment to a value of $10,000 has been brought to help develop players with gaining power and size. Speed bikes have also been added to the gym to help players with leg injuries maintain there fitness.
Players that have been burning on the track are Paul Rogan who ran a 4min 18 sec 1600m, Brenton Powell, very very fit and dedicated on having another massive season, with his twin brother Shane showing great signs after a knee injury which kept him out all of last season. Jon Basham has put about 5kg on and is still as quick as ever and will be a real handful for backman and midfielders this season as he matures into a player. Have also had 6 juniors make their way up who are handling themselves very well. A few recruits also training the house down, which will be kept quiet.....
Any news from other clubs on how individuals are going
learmonth
8 Dec 2006, 09:41
Redan have a business relationship with the uni, and they will continue to get the best!!!!! Gun players wont come to the CHFL a sthey would prefer to play major league!
doppelganger
8 Dec 2006, 09:55
Learmonth, heard your coach made a cameo over there the other day aswell and was in fine form at one of the local establishments with an ex team mate. You can take the boy out of daylesford but you cant take the daylesford out of the boy they reckon[/quote]
ha ha too true Crusader, said coach was telling the certain gun midfielder that he was worth $800 a game in the CHFL... & didn't the boy just lap it up it!
learmonth
8 Dec 2006, 10:44
Learmonth, heard your coach made a cameo over there the other day aswell and was in fine form at one of the local establishments with an ex team mate. You can take the boy out of daylesford but you cant take the daylesford out of the boy they reckon
ha ha too true Crusader, said coach was telling the certain gun midfielder that he was worth $800 a game in the CHFL... & didn't the boy just lap it up it![/quote]
Adam Morgan- Latest Daylesford recruit
Season Club Games Kicks Marks Hball Poss FF FA Goals Behinds Conversion H-O 2002 PORT 2 8 1 1 9 0 2 0 0 0.00% 0 2003 PORT 1 2 2 3 5 0 0 0 0 0.00% 0 2004 WB 7 22 10 15 37 2 1 2 0 100.00% 0 2005 WB 4 20 13 14 34 5 2 2 2 50.00% 0 Total 14 52 26 33 85 7 5 4 2 0 Average 3.7 1.8 2.3 6 0.5 0.3 0.2 0
Astro Boy
8 Dec 2006, 12:33
Learmonth have been training 3 nights a week since November 15, been getting around 20-25 players per session and are a lot fitter then at the same stage of last year. 37 players have trained so far with all the older more experienced players not required until January 22 when they start back. Learmonths facilities continue to climb, with new gym equipment to a value of $10,000 has been brought to help develop players with gaining power and size. Speed bikes have also been added to the gym to help players with leg injuries maintain there fitness.
Players that have been burning on the track are Paul Rogan who ran a 4min 18 sec 1600m, Brenton Powell, very very fit and dedicated on having another massive season, with his twin brother Shane showing great signs after a knee injury which kept him out all of last season. Jon Basham has put about 5kg on and is still as quick as ever and will be a real handful for backman and midfielders this season as he matures into a player. Have also had 6 juniors make their way up who are handling themselves very well. A few recruits also training the house down, which will be kept quiet.....
4:18 for the mile on grass ?? surely not.
Look out Craig Motram if this is correct. I don't believe any player in the CHFL could even run that time for a 1500m.
master21
8 Dec 2006, 12:41
Redan have a business relationship with the uni, and they will continue to get the best!!!!! Gun players wont come to the CHFL a sthey would prefer to play major league!
what is this business realtionship between the two?
KingRich
8 Dec 2006, 13:19
Look out Craig Motram if this is correct. I don't believe any player in the CHFL could even run that time for a 1500m.
Roges is a very good runner but your right that does sound quick.
I heard basham drove it in 47 seconds with a bundy between his legs!
learmonth
8 Dec 2006, 14:43
Was done at Llanberris reserve and was over 1500m sorry!!!! I got carried away... Is doing athletics down there on Saturdays...
ROOSTER1
8 Dec 2006, 23:38
stop trying to pump yourself up d head
jumpingjackflash
9 Dec 2006, 07:38
anyone know how Xavier Keighran goes at Daylesford?
Astro Boy
9 Dec 2006, 08:27
Was done at Llanberris reserve and was over 1500m sorry!!!! I got carried away... Is doing athletics down there on Saturdays...
Well thats still very impressive...do u know which club he's having a run 4 ?
Does he have an athletics background ??
Fence Sitter
9 Dec 2006, 14:28
Yes agree quick that is runnging 17 sec per 100 metres for x 15. Lets hope that Learmonth play next year all home games at Lanberris in November and December. we have now beaten the March champion.....I think you have a tight grip on it at the moment.:D
Also the interest in maxwell seems to have wained, heard he is back training with Lakers, can anyone confirm.
long john silver
10 Dec 2006, 09:42
can anyone tell me anything about brad molloy and guy thompson from waubra. Can they play decent footy
gotiger33
10 Dec 2006, 17:41
who were the blokes out there training with him? are they half a chance to join the tigers this year?
Still chasing some answers...
Bdiddy18
11 Dec 2006, 07:46
Yes agree quick that is runnging 17 sec per 100 metres for x 15. Lets hope that Learmonth play next year all home games at Lanberris in November and December. we have now beaten the March champion.....I think you have a tight grip on it at the moment.:D
Also the interest in maxwell seems to have wained, heard he is back training with Lakers, can anyone confirm.
Heard from the horses mouth that maxwell will be staying at Lake Wendouree for the 2007 season. Apparently it had nothing to do with money as Learmonth offered him a good deal. Learmonth you must be very disappointed to here this news?
scoop22
11 Dec 2006, 08:29
Heard from quite a reliable Melbourne source over the weekend, that some of the Waubra boys have been doing a bit of BOXING training lately!!!! Apparently a likely new recruit for the roos in 2007 showed his traits in the ring!!!
:) :thumbsu:
KingRich
11 Dec 2006, 08:45
anyone know how Xavier Keighran goes at Daylesford?
Played against him when he played for Trentham and he was handy but quite inconsistent. Obviously playing in a poor side makes it hard to judge but he did bob up and kick a goal from time to time. Reasonable player.
Seemed to get in the best in the paper quite a bit this year so must be enjoying playing with a stronger team.
Fence Sitter
11 Dec 2006, 09:11
I dont know who's telling porkies here Learmonth you or him, but he did run a quick time, you better check but reckon it was closer to 4.28...allthe same it is quick.:thumbsu:
KingRich
11 Dec 2006, 09:24
I used to live close by to him and he used to run pretty much every day. Not sure if he has an athletics background, just built like a whippet.
learmonth
11 Dec 2006, 10:12
Heard from the horses mouth that maxwell will be staying at Lake Wendouree for the 2007 season. Apparently it had nothing to do with money as Learmonth offered him a good deal. Learmonth you must be very disappointed to here this news?
From what I have heard is Maxwell wont be playing football this season. Has lost interest in the game, and couldnt see him playing with lakers due to Dangles being the reason and all of his mates going to cairns.
Heard from quite a reliable Melbourne source over the weekend, that some of the Waubra boys have been doing a bit of BOXING training lately!!!! Apparently a likely new recruit for the roos in 2007 showed his traits in the ring!!!
:) :thumbsu:
Heard it was a ripper aswell.... Started with one of the boys doing a penguin dance through the dance floor!
the_don88
12 Dec 2006, 12:44
Thats better than the Waubra players. I hear the other night at training, for an 800m the best time was 3min 15secs
KingRich
12 Dec 2006, 12:46
Thats better than the Waubra players. I hear the other night at training, for an 800m the best time was 3min 15secs
Surely not. Highly doubt that to be the case. Must be a long track.
the_don88
12 Dec 2006, 12:51
Surely not. Highly doubt that to be the case. Must be a long track.
The grass must of been very long or slippery
scoop22
12 Dec 2006, 14:38
If that is the case at the roos, It just proved the point you don't have to be quick to win a PREMIERSHIP!!! Honestly who cares whether you run fast or slow isn't it about how well you can play football!!! I have seen a lot of quality high classed country footballers that could barely run out of sight on a foggy night!!!! But they could certainly play the game to a very very high standard...
learmonth
13 Dec 2006, 10:26
If that is the case at the roos, It just proved the point you don't have to be quick to win a PREMIERSHIP!!! Honestly who cares whether you run fast or slow isn't it about how well you can play football!!! I have seen a lot of quality high classed country footballers that could barely run out of sight on a foggy night!!!! But they could certainly play the game to a very very high standard...
I wouldnt believe those times, and leg speed was Waubra's major asset along with their BIG forwards. There are plenty of great footballers who arnt quick, as they can read the play, and that can cover leg speed on smaller grounds and in lower leagues. Still I think everyone would love to be 1 yard quicker...
learmonth
13 Dec 2006, 10:29
Had a look at Buninyongs ground on Monday, and it doesnt look much better then their other ground at this stage. Their facilities are ok, but not great for a new state of the art facility...could have done better in my opinion.... Will be a windy place until some trees are up!!!! Hope they installed a bore as well....
From what i have heard, many grounds will struggle to get up and going, and their will be plenty of Sunday football this year....
the_don88
13 Dec 2006, 10:59
Had a look at Buninyongs ground on Monday, and it doesnt look much better then their other ground at this stage. Their facilities are ok, but not great for a new state of the art facility...could have done better in my opinion.... Will be a windy place until some trees are up!!!! Hope they installed a bore as well....
From what i have heard, many grounds will struggle to get up and going, and their will be plenty of Sunday football this year....
Heard a rumour that BFL games are going to get first rights to all grounds and CHFL get the rest. Any truth to this??
Velvetsledgehammer
13 Dec 2006, 11:07
Heard a rumour that BFL games are going to get first rights to all grounds and CHFL get the rest. Any truth to this??
Lot of Sunday games, and BFL will play a few double headers to fit the rounds in I think.
Will be very surprised if any footy gets underway on time next year unless we see a flood in Ballarat. Only grounds that might have a chance would be the Eastern, Learmonth, and maybe a Springbank/Dunnstown/Bungaree which have access to private water supplies. Don't think the CHFL clubs will be happy or allow the BFL to take over their grounds.......
Some of the local grounds being used for cricket are a disgrace at the moment and getting very dangerous so I am told.
Lot of Sunday games, and BFL will play a few double headers to fit the rounds in I think.
Will be very surprised if any footy gets underway on time next year unless we see a flood in Ballarat. Only grounds that might have a chance would be the Eastern, Learmonth, and maybe a Springbank/Dunnstown/Bungaree which have access to private water supplies. Don't think the CHFL clubs will be happy or allow the BFL to take over their grounds.......
Some of the local grounds being used for cricket are a disgrace at the moment and getting very dangerous so I am told.
Learmoth are in for a big financial gain this year again as there asking price for use of oval is massive, and why not! Good on them I say.
learmonth
13 Dec 2006, 12:50
Learmoth are in for a big financial gain this year again as there asking price for use of oval is massive, and why not! Good on them I say.
Wont be a huge price, will be very minimal for the best interest of football and thats the way it should be. Clubs are usually only charged for training on our oval which I believe is fair. Its no clubs fault, and all sides need to band together to ensure the CHFL gets underway on time.
From what I hear Daylesford, Ballan, Dunnstown, Learmonth, Beaufort, Bungaree grounds will be up to scratch, so all sides will need to work together. Eg Gordon V Hepburn, may need to be played at Dford etc....
With the umpire situation, BFL gets 1st choice, and with not enough umpires, the CHFL administrators will have to start being more comprimising if we want umpires for all games this season..Sunday is a reality now for the CHFL, and time to move on rather then live in the dark ages and play on Saturdays only.
jumpingjackflash
13 Dec 2006, 14:04
Played against him when he played for Trentham and he was handy but quite inconsistent. Obviously playing in a poor side makes it hard to judge but he did bob up and kick a goal from time to time. Reasonable player.
Seemed to get in the best in the paper quite a bit this year so must be enjoying playing with a stronger team.
cheers for that
Who owns the Learmonth footy ground, is it the footy club or the city of ballarat? if its the footy club then i hope they make a few dollars out of it cos its a great oval 2 play on & still the spiritual home of the chfl grand final
Wont be a huge price, will be very minimal for the best interest of football and thats the way it should be. Clubs are usually only charged for training on our oval which I believe is fair. Its no clubs fault, and all sides need to band together to ensure the CHFL gets underway on time.
From what I hear Daylesford, Ballan, Dunnstown, Learmonth, Beaufort, Bungaree grounds will be up to scratch, so all sides will need to work together. Eg Gordon V Hepburn, may need to be played at Dford etc....
With the umpire situation, BFL gets 1st choice, and with not enough umpires, the CHFL administrators will have to start being more comprimising if we want umpires for all games this season..Sunday is a reality now for the CHFL, and time to move on rather then live in the dark ages and play on Saturdays only.
Mighten be a huge price for you but it's big dollars for other clubs... I say why not over charge, that money couyld come in very handy to the club to keep there future bright. I bet you billy at the stag is licking his lips of the posibilty of satdy / sundy games next year at learmonth!!!
Don't know about Ballan learmonth, very ordinary at the moment.
Pacific Hydro have bought the new Buninyong football ground after identifying it as an ideal location for a wind farm.
Has anybody seen the condition of the Eastern oval lately. The council have scalped it and the grass is dead except for the two ends (where
the goals normally are) beyond the shortened cricket boundaries.
Lakers Cameron McCrae lining up at Dunnstown next season. His brother will more than likely return there with him.
learmonth
14 Dec 2006, 12:02
Pacific Hydro have bought the new Buninyong football ground after identifying it as an ideal location for a wind farm.
Has anybody seen the condition of the Eastern oval lately. The council have scalped it and the grass is dead except for the two ends (where
Lakers Cameron McCrae lining up at Dunnstown next season. His brother will more than likely return there with him.
I thought Ballan was flyiing with all their new recruits helmut?? Plus 37 on the track, thats great numbers this time of yera, and it seems as there very motivated....
As for Eastern oval..its in real troble with no water being put on it.....
learmonth
14 Dec 2006, 12:07
Sorry helmut, have been on some heavy drugs after an op today and didnt read the question... Well that will make 1 less ground.... The league needs to start acting now on contingency plans for the future, especially if this drought goes for another 5 years....
Did they fix up that scar on the side of your neck Learmonth???
learmonth
14 Dec 2006, 14:50
Did they fix up that scar on the side of your neck Learmonth???
Im assuming the scar from Dford....Hepburn are the only ones with 2 heads......
Blues1995
14 Dec 2006, 18:31
I thought Ballan was flyiing with all their new recruits helmut?? Plus 37 on the track, thats great numbers this time of yera, and it seems as there very motivated....
As for Eastern oval..its in real troble with no water being put on it.....
My info from a mate on the weekend said that they have just put in 3 big water tanks (115,000 litre) and it will be back within a month to its best condition. The council have a bore which is now purposley used for the oval.
He said that it will be used for BFL Double Headers Sat/Sun games for Ballarat Clubs only this year, City Oval, Alfredton, Wendouree, Sebastopol grounds are all stuffed and resemble desert like. (we all know the solution but mother nature is a nasty piece of work sometimes).
Was also told that the Eastern Oval will be getting a Grandstand Makeover ($400,000) as well as the Ballarat Cricket Association going in with an administration centre extension ($200,000). The Eastern Oval looks like it is the oval where all the works will be to get it up to a level where it is the No 1 oval in Ballarat and major things will take place.
Anyone from Clunes give us a bit of a background on Justin Harris? He has just been signed by North Adelaide after being invited over by his mate, Owen Weatherley. We have been told he is a reasonably pacy on baller, very solid at around 92kgs (Must be a Weatherley "Mini-me"?) for his 178cm height. What sort of season did he have this year?
ROOSTER1
15 Dec 2006, 19:23
Im assuming the scar from Dford....Hepburn are the only ones with 2 heads......
Good to see you are back up to your antics again learmonth! Still jelous of their success
KingRich
15 Dec 2006, 23:04
Anyone from Clunes give us a bit of a background on Justin Harris? He has just been signed by North Adelaide after being invited over by his mate, Owen Weatherley. We have been told he is a reasonably pacy on baller, very solid at around 92kgs (Must be a Weatherley "Mini-me"?) for his 178cm height. What sort of season did he have this year?
Played TAC Cup with the Rebels but didn't quite make it. Has amazing ability and a pretty strong work ethic. Loves the night life which is his biggest downfall but if he has made the move over there I would think he would be having a crack. No doubt a very talented player. The Clunes boys who get on BF may want to elaborate more.
Fence Sitter
17 Dec 2006, 09:28
They have decided to stick to a top 5... There will be a couple of good sides that may miss this year due to unfavourable draws.... But thats life, and I hope those clubs dont complain...... top 3 Dford, Waubra, Bungaree..... Followed by whoever... learmonth, Hepburn, Ballan & Buninyong.. 2 of these last 4 will miss....
Hey Learmonth, he I was thinking that you were the Judge, Jury and only person who posts facts on Big Footy.
I read this week that the CHFL have not met on the issue of top 5 or 6, so where do you pull this info previously.
Although you may be able to clear a fact.
Who was the player previously from Daylesford who had a crack at an East Point's player defenseless brother, with special needs? I'm hoping for Learmonth's sake its not the now coach what sort of a message would that be?:eek:
Why would the league not want to go to a top 6 finals system? Clearly with the strength of the league these days more teams getting a crack at the september action is the way to go.
Final 5 has pros and cons as does final 6, but with as many teams as there is currently in the CHFL I would have thought the more the better in the finals.
learmonth
18 Dec 2006, 16:37
Hey Learmonth, he I was thinking that you were the Judge, Jury and only person who posts facts on Big Footy.
I read this week that the CHFL have not met on the issue of top 5 or 6, so where do you pull this info previously.
Although you may be able to clear a fact.
Who was the player previously from Daylesford who had a crack at an East Point's player defenseless brother, with special needs? I'm hoping for Learmonth's sake its not the now coach what sort of a message would that be?:eek:
Geez ya going a long way back there......Not sure!!! But I can tell u it wasnt the coach.... Give us an insight since u know what happened..???
Fence Sitter
18 Dec 2006, 17:36
Geez ya going a long way back there......Not sure!!! But I can tell u it wasnt the coach.... Give us an insight since u know what happened..???
Whats a long way back? 18 months isn't that far back given your memory on other issues.
You seem certain it's not the coach for someone who doesn't know. When you say it wasnt the coach...do you mean daylesford coach at the time? or the now learmonth coach? or were they both there?:confused:
Sherman41
19 Dec 2006, 07:37
as king rich stated played for rebels and went ok, he is one of those players that has the freakish ability to make something out of nothing, is quite quick across the ground and takes a good grab, loves a spekky too, had a good season 2 years back , but last year was pretty disappointing as he spent to much time on the social scene with the boys and not enough time resting up for football. from the info i have receive he has been given a contract and from all reports quite a good pay check aswell.
Astro Boy
19 Dec 2006, 11:58
What r the chances of the season starting on time?
I have heard that some leagues seasons may be shortened.
learmonth
19 Dec 2006, 12:26
What r the chances of the season starting on time?
I have heard that some leagues seasons may be shortened.
All leagues will struggle, as its all to do with insurance and the local councils will not allow any ground to be played on if there is any chance of injury. Even with heaps of water on grounds, many will still be unsuitable due to the surface, even if it is soft..... Plenty of irrigation and landscaping is required..
There's an idea for any of you people wanting to be an entrepreneur... Start a business in landscaping, as when the drought finally finishes all gardens, parks, sporting arena's etc will require maitenance... On a money winner there!!!
learmonth
19 Dec 2006, 12:31
Whats a long way back? 18 months isn't that far back given your memory on other issues.
You seem certain it's not the coach for someone who doesn't know. When you say it wasnt the coach...do you mean daylesford coach at the time? or the now learmonth coach? or were they both there?:confused:
I think your a person who lives on the fence and doesnt have a clue what happened that night..???? Get ya facts right buddy, before you shoot ya mouth off... All these rumors, and what happened that night has nothing to do with being a coach or football club.
Fence Sitter
19 Dec 2006, 14:52
I think your a person who lives on the fence and doesnt have a clue what happened that night..???? Get ya facts right buddy, before you shoot ya mouth off... All these rumors, and what happened that night has nothing to do with being a coach or football club.
You're a bit sensitive ther Learmonth, what rumours mate...it is fact.
Shooting ya mouth off that's an interesting call given that night was very much about that. A bit of "Tub'thumping at tubby's.
Starting to sound like I know more about what happened....
When you say it has nothing to do with a coach, how do you say that?
Ouch just got a splinter, from the fence!!
DfordDog
19 Dec 2006, 15:09
All leagues will struggle, as its all to do with insurance and the local councils will not allow any ground to be played on if there is any chance of injury. Even with heaps of water on grounds, many will still be unsuitable due to the surface, even if it is soft..... Plenty of irrigation and landscaping is required..
There's an idea for any of you people wanting to be an entrepreneur... Start a business in landscaping, as when the drought finally finishes all gardens, parks, sporting arena's etc will require maitenance... On a money winner there!!!
When the drought finishes?????? I dont think thats ever going to happen (unfortunately)
DfordDog
19 Dec 2006, 15:12
Shooting ya mouth off that's an interesting call given that night was very much about that. A bit of "Tub'thumping at tubby's.
Hmmm, isnt this forum about footy???
Fence sitter, you've made your point and so has Learmonth. How about some informative CENTRAL HIGHLANDS FOOTBALL LEAGUE posts. :)
Astro Boy
20 Dec 2006, 07:00
Any word on recruits so far from each club... haven't heard much about Hepburn.. any names of these blokes from the Bullants??
crusader
20 Dec 2006, 10:57
Yeah even if learmonth did get into some bloke about his brother he would have deserved it cause he is an absolute tosser. Fence sitter, more like 'Fence post up your ass sitter'
Fence Sitter
20 Dec 2006, 13:09
Yeah even if learmonth did get into some bloke about his brother he would have deserved it cause he is an absolute tosser. Fence sitter, more like 'Fence post up your ass sitter'
Who's a tosser?
No problems about fence posts, better than you.
They tell me you wouldnt know you had a bus parked up your ass, only the people have to get out.
Obviously another mate of AJ's (aka Learmonth)
learmonth
20 Dec 2006, 15:12
Who's a tosser?
No problems about fence posts, better than you.
They tell me you wouldnt know you had a bus parked up your ass, only the people have to get out.
Obviously another mate of AJ's (aka Learmonth)
A bit of pressure back on you fence sitter and u dont like it, Geez imagine if u were as well known as Aj and Tim and constantly had people talking up crap about you. Maybe u might learn to get some facts, and stop going along with petty rumors. From being their that night, I think 3 onto about 20 they did a pretty good job..... and they didnt start it either. Have been mates with Aj for years and he has walked away from majority of occassions people have had a GO at him....
So u know Aj well do u...??? Dont judge him, unless you know him....
As for the footy, Bungaree had their final run last night and did 4km time trials around Jayden Reid. Supposedly they only had to do 4 laps..????
Fence Sitter
20 Dec 2006, 15:54
A bit of pressure back on you fence sitter and u dont like it, Geez imagine if u were as well known as Aj and Tim and constantly had people talking up crap about you. Maybe u might learn to get some facts, and stop going along with petty rumors. From being their that night, I think 3 onto about 20 they did a pretty good job..... and they didnt start it either. Have been mates with Aj for years and he has walked away from majority of occassions people have had a GO at him....
So u know Aj well do u...??? Dont judge him, unless you know him....
As for the footy, Bungaree had their final run last night and did 4km time trials around Jayden Reid. Supposedly they only had to do 4 laps..????
Hmmmmmmmm, if there were 3 their that night and 2 were AJ & Tim...I now know who you are!!!!
But on a serious note, what do you mean by the 4 laps around Reid?:confused:
Hmmmmmmmm, if there were 3 their that night and 2 were AJ & Tim...I now know who you are!!!!
But on a serious note, what do you mean by the 4 laps around Reid?:confused:
I think he might mean that Reidy is fat and that Bunga boys don't have very good turning circles.
doppelganger
22 Dec 2006, 11:48
Merry Christmas to all the avid Central Highlands supporters!!! Thanks for all the interesting banter... country footy at its best!
kanga fan man
1 Jan 2007, 00:04
how will be buninyong will go this year, heard off the grapevine the signed Justin Orwin from eastpoint, very good player, he use to dominate in the DVFL
Bdiddy18
2 Jan 2007, 07:58
how will be buninyong will go this year, heard off the grapevine the signed Justin Orwin from eastpoint, very good player, he use to dominate in the DVFL
I saw Orwin play a couple of times this year, namely against Redan and he had no influence on the game what so ever. I have heard the same though that he definitley has the goods. Should be a very handy pickup for Buninyong. Anyone have any other news on signings?
Bdiddy18
2 Jan 2007, 07:59
Learmonth can you name any definite signings at Learmonth? Also can you name players who are training with the Lakies with you guys hoping to sign them?
the_don88
2 Jan 2007, 08:59
Yesterday was a great drink for the Ballarat area. Any updates of rain around the central highland grounds?
CranktheAnchors
2 Jan 2007, 16:17
I saw Orwin play a couple of times this year, namely against Redan and he had no influence on the game what so ever. I have heard the same though that he definitley has the goods. Should be a very handy pickup for Buninyong. Anyone have any other news on signings?
Have heard a whisper of Big Justin Porter from Carnam Linton to Buninyong. anyone confirm:thumbsu: or deny the rumour:thumbsd: .
Thoroughbred
3 Jan 2007, 09:46
Have heard a whisper of Big Justin Porter from Carnam Linton to Buninyong. anyone confirm:thumbsu: or deny the rumour:thumbsd: .
I have also heard that rumour. I have heard he is going there with Raynor and a couple of other guys from Carnam that I haven't heard of before.
19th Man
6 Jan 2007, 12:03
How did we fare with all that rain recorded the other night? Has it made any difference(tanks full etc) to the local grounds?