View Full Version : Central Highlands
X Man
22nd May 2006, 12:34
Thought id start a thread about the Central Highlands League and the happenings of it.
Saw waubra vs beaufort on saturday wasnt much of a spectacle. Brown kicked 12 and s.mullane was bog. Any repots from any other games???
clifton's lookalike
22nd May 2006, 13:32
Anyone tell me how the bloke Uhi is going for Ballan?
How are Learmonth travelling under new coach Beacham?
KingRich
22nd May 2006, 13:39
Heard Uhi is going well.
I've seen one Clunes game this year and they looked to have dropped off significantly! Not many avenues to goal without Weatherley and Bourke! Wont play finals by the looks of them
Apple Eater
22nd May 2006, 16:53
Uhi best player in the league will win the league B & F.
X Man
23rd May 2006, 12:26
Heard that a quality Learmonth player broke his leg the other week. Is this true??
Who will win out of Waubra vs Hepburn on saturday should be a good game?
The Scribe
23rd May 2006, 15:42
Thought id start a thread about the Central Highlands League and the happenings of it.
Saw waubra vs beaufort on saturday wasnt much of a spectacle. Brown kicked 12 and s.mullane was bog. Any repots from any other games???
X man this Brown character would he happen to be a former Donald gun??heard he's proving unstoppable up in the central highlands, kicking bags. :thumbsu:
You wouldn't happen to know by any chance if the rumour that his brother who's still at donald, is considering a transfer to rival club wedderburn?? Any truth to it??
Heard they were looking for another ruckman and the big fella would slot in nicely, the only question thats been raised or so called hurdle he faces is if his drinking prowess is up to scratch with the burn boys, heard he was sent packing with his tail between his legs pre season and hasn't been cited since... :D
X Man
23rd May 2006, 16:18
Yeah mate Brown is from Donald. Apparently that rumour is correct and that the burn is chasing his brother fairly hard before clearences close .He has a girlfriend in Bendigo and a few mates over there so apparently talks have arisen.
Dont think the money will be there as they already have a few players there on big coin..... A bloke by the name of Hutton is reported to be on between 800 - 1k a game and $20 a goal.
As far as the drinking question goes i couldnt answer that but i would imagine that Brown could aquit himself fairly well
thekid178
23rd May 2006, 16:53
i see that mullane grant from ballan is kicking big bags even though from what i read in the paper he's playing on 1 leg... can anyone tell me how long til he's fully fit, or if the papers wrong and he already is, cos he'l b unstoppable if he comes good
ryang
23rd May 2006, 21:26
i see that mullane grant from ballan is kicking big bags even though from what i read in the paper he's playing on 1 leg... can anyone tell me how long til he's fully fit, or if the papers wrong and he already is, cos he'l b unstoppable if he comes good
My mail is that Mullane Grant has been carrying a leg injury for a number of years so may not be fully fit for a long time. Have seen him in action enough over the last 4 years to know that the bloke can seriously play - on 1 leg or 2. Look out if he does get 100%!
ryang
23rd May 2006, 21:36
Heard that a quality Learmonth player broke his leg the other week. Is this true??
Who will win out of Waubra vs Hepburn on saturday should be a good game?
W v H would be worth watching and get on WAUBRA. Burners have too many injuries & blokes underdone inc. Raak Brown Peake & Grant. Not a bad list of names. Keep an eye on a skinny little kid from the Marsh playing for Hepburn called Andy Mckay, he is an absolute freak.
ryang
23rd May 2006, 21:54
Have heard Uhi is getting better every week for Ballan and is still only half fit. He is way too good to be playing in that league, no offence to anyone, but this guy is an elite athlete. God help opposition teams that come up against this mob with him firing on all (12) cylinders. Dunno much about the rest of their list apart from Mullane Grant who is a gun but not in the same class as Uhi, but if they are even half decent they will win games when he's up & about.
goalposts
24th May 2006, 10:58
Just wondering how the new recruits for Waubra are going particularly the Learmonth players who now travel down the road. I hear this Leigh Brown is the new cult figure at the club is this true. How is coach Skontra keeping this team out of the pub and on the track!!!:)
clifton's lookalike
24th May 2006, 11:10
Have heard Uhi is getting better every week for Ballan and is still only half fit. He is way too good to be playing in that league, no offence to anyone, but this guy is an elite athlete. God help opposition teams that come up against this mob with him firing on all (12) cylinders. Dunno much about the rest of their list apart from Mullane Grant who is a gun but not in the same class as Uhi, but if they are even half decent they will win games when he's up & about.
Cheers ryang. He is a quality athlete but I didn't know how he would go in the chilly and wet conditions the CHFL has to offer. Now that i have found out about Uhi can anyone give me any info on Beacham? How is he taking to coaching, has he got the respect of the players, will they be any good, has he been performing?
X Man
24th May 2006, 11:58
wouldnt say cult figure but has started the year very well kicking 38 from 5. Dunno bout the ex learmonth lads but wont that be an interesting game when the two meet.
KingRich
26th May 2006, 15:54
Hepburn v Waubra big game.
I'm tipping Waubra at this stage.
stokesy
25th June 2006, 22:11
Fair to say Hepburn v Daylesford on the weekend would have been one of the most anticipated, if not the most anticipated game CHFL has experienced in recent years.
I believe Daylesford won.
localfootyguru
25th June 2006, 22:29
First time in over 60 seasons that Daylesford has played Hepburn. Looking at the scores it must have been a cracker. On the ABC yesterday the scribe said there were nearly 3000 at the game. Must be great for local footy in the region.
Great to see the former Demons (now Bulldogs) in Daylesford doing really well in the CHFL. Also great to see the Beaufort Crows (formerly the Cats) have a great win over highly fancied Learmonth.
CHFL scores for the round are below.
CENTRAL HIGHLANDS: Dunnstown 9.5 bt Clunes 7.9, Buninyong 21.18 bt Gordon 5.7, Springbank 15.9 bt Creswick 8.9, Beaufort 10.8 bt Learmonth 7.15, Daylesford 20.8 bt Hepburn 16.11, Bungaree 18.12 bt Ballan 13.18, Waubra 19.15 bt Newlyn 7.7. Res: Ballan 10.6 bt Bungaree 6.8, Learmonth 10.9 bt Beaufort 5.5, Buninyong 14.16 bt Gordon 3.5, Creswick 5.2 bt Springbank 3.9, Clunes 9.8 bt Dunnstown 3.7, Hepburn 13.11 bt Daylesford 2.3, Waubra 6.8 bt Newlyn 4.6. U-18: Bungaree 8.16 bt Ballan 4.1, Beaufort 29.10 bt Learmonth 1.3, Buninyong 4.7 bt Gordon 4.6, Creswick 20.11 bt Springbank 0.0, Dunnstown 5.13 bt Clunes 3.4, Hepburn 9.5 bt Daylesford 1.6, Newlyn 22.19 bt Waubra 0.1.
KingRich
26th June 2006, 09:50
Hepburn would be Livid over that result! Would have been a great game to watch! Beaufort getting over Learmonth was a shock and Learmonth appear to be in trouble all of a sudden!
crusader
20th July 2006, 11:07
Yeah i was there for the Hepburn - Daylesford match. Was great to see the Bulldogs get up against a team that is supposedly spending 4 times as much them on players. Shows that money isnt the only thing that will get you by in country footy. Learmonth are not going to be much come finals. They beat waubra the top team last week, but come finals time they will just choke, cant handle the pressure games, and they wont have a double chance, so Beacham will start blaming his teammates as he supposedly used to do at Daylesford
Vineyard
20th July 2006, 13:17
How is Salesi Uhi going at Ballan.
And are bungaree any chance of playing finals?
HappyDayz
20th July 2006, 14:13
Does anybody know how a bloke by the name of Jamie Wilson has been going? Joined Newlyn about half way through the season i think. Smallish, stocky onballer.
clifton's lookalike
20th July 2006, 15:22
Yeah i was there for the Hepburn - Daylesford match. Was great to see the Bulldogs get up against a team that is supposedly spending 4 times as much them on players. Shows that money isnt the only thing that will get you by in country footy. Learmonth are not going to be much come finals. They beat waubra the top team last week, but come finals time they will just choke, cant handle the pressure games, and they wont have a double chance, so Beacham will start blaming his teammates as he supposedly used to do at Daylesford
If they can't handle the pressure games how did they beat top team waubra. wouldn't all games that are keeping your spot in the finals be pressure games? how well do you know beacham, he is one crazy cat
X Man
20th July 2006, 15:40
How is Salesi Uhi going at Ballan.
And are bungaree any chance of playing finals?
Watched him play on saturday for the first time and although conditions didnt suit the big man looks like he can go a bit would love to see him in the dry conditions.. He is one big unit
Talked to a few blokes and they think Bungaree are the sleeping giant i think they are around 4th or 5th (correct me if im wrong) and have a quality side..
ryang
20th July 2006, 22:29
Watched him play on saturday for the first time and although conditions didnt suit the big man looks like he can go a bit would love to see him in the dry conditions.. He is one big unit
Talked to a few blokes and they think Bungaree are the sleeping giant i think they are around 4th or 5th (correct me if im wrong) and have a quality side..
Bungaree sitting 3rd Xman but No.1 big man Scott Crough left in an ambulance with a neck injury on saturday, under rated chf Quinlan missing with a broken hand and guns Tony Trigg and Chris O'Keefe are as fragile as Smiths crisps, so they might be ripe for the picking for a tough and seasoned Hepburn come finals - they will meet 1st week if the ladder stays as is.
As for crusaders howler that Hepburn are paying their players 4 times as much as Daylesford, so that must mean Hepburn are forking out about 350 to 400k! I have heard from several people who knocked them back how much Daylesford were offering pre season so don't put that crap on here. Funny how they were broke but could still afford 4 new sets of jumpers, netball uniforms, training jumpers and then spruik off in the paper that they were going to build new club rooms. Maybe Carlton should join the CHFL next year for the same reason Daylesford did - to be more competitive. W. A. P. Played finals 5 years out of 6 in BFL, drew with Sunbury last year - only club to take points from them, and they squib it and want to be big fish in a little pond. 2 x Adams, Winduss, O'Brien, Jurcan, Thompson, Nesbitt, Rogers, Keighran, Rahill, Bourke, they are all playing for nothing are they? I bet they are.
Have seen Salesi Uhi 4 times this year and he has been best on in 3 of those. He is the best player in the league by a street. A freak!
Bar Andrew Madigan and Anthony Beacham, Learmonth are soft. Should be known as the turtles, and I don't mean because they have hard shells.
Vineyard
21st July 2006, 10:15
Bungaree sitting 3rd Xman but No.1 big man Scott Crough left in an ambulance with a neck injury on saturday, under rated chf Quinlan missing with a broken hand and guns Tony Trigg and Chris O'Keefe are as fragile as Smiths crisps, so they might be ripe for the picking for a tough and seasoned Hepburn come finals - they will meet 1st week if the ladder stays as is.
As for crusaders howler that Hepburn are paying their players 4 times as much as Daylesford, so that must mean Hepburn are forking out about 350 to 400k! I have heard from several people who knocked them back how much Daylesford were offering pre season so don't put that crap on here. Funny how they were broke but could still afford 4 new sets of jumpers, netball uniforms, training jumpers and then spruik off in the paper that they were going to build new club rooms. Maybe Carlton should join the CHFL next year for the same reason Daylesford did - to be more competitive. W. A. P. Played finals 5 years out of 6 in BFL, drew with Sunbury last year - only club to take points from them, and they squib it and want to be big fish in a little pond. 2 x Adams, Winduss, O'Brien, Jurcan, Thompson, Nesbitt, Rogers, Keighran, Rahill, Bourke, they are all playing for nothing are they? I bet they are.
Have seen Salesi Uhi 4 times this year and he has been best on in 3 of those. He is the best player in the league by a street. A freak!
Bar Andrew Madigan and Anthony Beacham, Learmonth are soft. Should be known as the turtles, and I don't mean because they have hard shells.
One of the best sprays on Big Footy ever. Well done Ryang but answered all questions asked.
AJ ZUB
21st July 2006, 15:06
I heard Springbank picked up a guy called Darren Leahy any one know of him and how has he gone?
September
21st July 2006, 15:06
Does anybody know how a bloke by the name of Jamie Wilson has been going? Joined Newlyn about half way through the season i think. Smallish, stocky onballer.
Can anyone answer this question re: Jamie Wilson.
Goes by the name of Woody I think
Can regularly be seen talking to umpires before, during and after games.
Any boys from Newlyn on here that can help.
Just interested in his progress.
ryang
22nd July 2006, 20:19
Can anyone answer this question re: Jamie Wilson.
Goes by the name of Woody I think
Can regularly be seen talking to umpires before, during and after games.
Any boys from Newlyn on here that can help.
Just interested in his progress.
I'm told he has been going very well since moving there mate. Newlyn more than happy with his output.
DfordDog
26th July 2006, 09:34
RyanG, before you go running your mouth, identify yourself and how you know so much about daylesford?
I have been at the club for the last 6 years and yes you are right we played finals for most of those, that is one thing you said that is correct. As for all of your other comments, unless you have been a mystery member of the Daylesford Commitee for the last 5 years, you would not have a clue about the financial status of the club.
So all i ask, is that you identify yourself and put some credit behind your comments because you are way off base.
:mad:
crusader
26th July 2006, 12:55
RyanG, haha, very interesting comments mate. Shows what people know about Daylesford hey. The bulldogs got new jumpers and uniforms through grants mate, thus thats how they can afford them. Shows how much you know. Adams boys play for nothing cause they are local boys and aren't money hungry prciks like others out there, as goes the same for Rodgers, Winduss, OBrien, Thompson and Jurcan. So just stop talking rot mate, cause you have no idea about what is going on. And there is a fair chance Rahill wouldnt be getting a cent because he is over in europe for two years, so well educated answer mate.
As for Learmonth, Madigan is hard at it, but beacham is one of the biggest cats out there. He comes up against Daylesford this week, and from all reports after slagging off a few boys from Dford he and Wade Veldhuis will be very lucky to make it through the day. So ryang, good answer mate, real good.
X Man
27th July 2006, 12:30
Who would be Top 10 players in the league i have only seen 4 games so im not worthy of posting 10 but what i have seen and heard blokes like Mullane, Uhi, Mackay would all be in there???
ryang
27th July 2006, 17:41
Fair enough DfordDog and crusader, you're right I don't know the financial position of the Daylesford footy club, just as you crusader don't know how much Hepburn are paying their players. It's all just speculation isn't it. However, as I said, I do know they were offering pretty good dough pre season to a few blokes from other clubs. If, as you claim, many of the players I mentioned are playing for 0, I suppose they would be in a position to do so. DfordDog, maybe you could tell us why after 1 off year Daylesford left the BFL. Most clubs struggle at some point, both financially and on field, but stick it out - Redan is a perfect example. The Marsh and Sebas are perennial strugglers but keep backing up each year.
I take it from your comments crusader that Beacham and Velduis are going to meet with violent retribution on Saturday for slagging off Daylesford people. Does that mean that it is ok for Daylesford people to slag off players from other clubs, ie Beacham, but not vice versa? I would have thought it would be a bit foolish to risk reports this close to a finals series that Daylesford will obviously play a part in.
ryang
27th July 2006, 19:11
Who would be Top 10 players in the league i have only seen 4 games so im not worthy of posting 10 but what i have seen and heard blokes like Mullane, Uhi, Mackay would all be in there???
Salesi Uhi (Ballan)
Matthew Peake (Hepburn)
Andrew Tranquilli (Springbank)
Lee Brown (Waubra)
Sean Mullane (Waubra)
Luke Adams (Daylesford)
Joey Gilbert (Buninyong)
Chris O'Keefe (Bungaree)
Glenn Handley (Clunes)
Justin Harris (Clunes)
Hayden Cartledge (Ballan)
Scott Winduss (Daylesford)
Matthew Brown (Hepburn)
Andrew Madigan (Learmonth)
Andy McKay (Hepburn)
Could only narrow it down to 15, sorry. I am still sure to cop it from someone. There are a couple of blokes on the list getting on a bit, but are still very good players.
Grimmett
27th July 2006, 23:08
Tom Mullane-Grant at Ballan? Goes alright, no?
X Man
28th July 2006, 09:31
Righto time for the serious questions???
Waubra are they the real deal this year?
Learmonth are the only team to have beaten the blue and white and im just wondering if the boys down at Waubra can stay off the **** and out of trouble for another month or two. Coach Skontra (who is an angry man at stages) has the boys up and running leading into an important month and by reports from one of my moles may be pulling on the boots again to be a suprise packet for them late in the year.
Apparently the big unit in Fridge Brown didnt leave the goal square last week (when does he) as he kicked 11 and the qualtiy on baller in mullane ran a muck as per usual as they handed out a cricket score to Gordon.
Can this outfit go all the way to a flag or who will knock them off there perch??
ablett19
28th July 2006, 09:33
I was thinking the same myself... I think Tom made the VCFL District squad so surely he would be in the top 10 in the league... What about Troy Ferrier from Hepburn as well, very quick and silky skills.....
learmonth
28th July 2006, 15:40
Salesi Uhi (Ballan)
Matthew Peake (Hepburn)
Andrew Tranquilli (Springbank)
Lee Brown (Waubra)
Sean Mullane (Waubra)
Luke Adams (Daylesford)
Joey Gilbert (Buninyong)
Chris O'Keefe (Bungaree)
Glenn Handley (Clunes)
Justin Harris (Clunes)
Hayden Cartledge (Ballan)
Scott Winduss (Daylesford)
Matthew Brown (Hepburn)
Andrew Madigan (Learmonth)
Andy McKay (Hepburn)
Could only narrow it down to 15, sorry. I am still sure to cop it from someone. There are a couple of blokes on the list getting on a bit, but are still very good players.
A guy at Learmonth called Wade Veldhuis who hasnt been beaten all year... Plays CHB and has been the major reason why they have been successful this season.
Mullane-Grant is a GUN, but the best player in the league by a mile, and that comes from playing with and against him is Cade Obrien (N.o 23 for dford). Hard at it, skillful and quick
learmonth
28th July 2006, 15:50
Fair enough DfordDog and crusader, you're right I don't know the financial position of the Daylesford footy club, just as you crusader don't know how much Hepburn are paying their players. It's all just speculation isn't it. However, as I said, I do know they were offering pretty good dough pre season to a few blokes from other clubs. If, as you claim, many of the players I mentioned are playing for 0, I suppose they would be in a position to do so. DfordDog, maybe you could tell us why after 1 off year Daylesford left the BFL. Most clubs struggle at some point, both financially and on field, but stick it out - Redan is a perfect example. The Marsh and Sebas are perennial strugglers but keep backing up each year.
I take it from your comments crusader that Beacham and Velduis are going to meet with violent retribution on Saturday for slagging off Daylesford people. Does that mean that it is ok for Daylesford people to slag off players from other clubs, ie Beacham, but not vice versa? I would have thought it would be a bit foolish to risk reports this close to a finals series that Daylesford will obviously play a part in.
The truth behind Daylesford leaving the BFL is pretty obvious. They just dont have the players to compete in a major league + who wants to play in snow every second week. (Very hard to attract quality players i.e have a look at their 2's). Due to the change in employment situations, this has seen many locals leave the area due to costs of living and work oppertunities.
ALSO there are a few older players amongst the club that looked at the oppertunity of winning an easy premiership in the CHFL (Which i dont blame them, as they have been great servents of DFC) compared to the BFL, which was just too far out of their reach as they didnt have the depth or finances. Daylesford are the best side in the CHFL (2 x Adams, Winduss, Thompson, Obrien, Nesbitt, Rodgers, Trimble, Cronin & Bourke). They will win a flag within 2 yrs
learmonth
28th July 2006, 15:58
Really silly comment from you Crusader, If you knew anything about football, Learmonth have beaten two quality sides in Daylesford and Waubra and come from behind at 3/4 time in both games. Now thats what i call choking..??? But yes they have lost to Beaufort, which just proves footy is played 90% in the mind and 10% with the body. All players have 2 legs/arms/eyes and one tongue, so we are all even when u step onto the field.
As for Beacham blaming his former teammates, on what evidence do u have..?? As far as i know him, he is a tough but fair person, who wouldnt expect any of his players do what he wouldnt. They call it dedication and committment.
learmonth
28th July 2006, 16:21
Learmonth are sitting in 5th with by 6 points and percentage. Need to win 3 of there last 4 to guarantee a spot in the finals (Play daylesford (A), Clunes (A), Ballan (H) & Gordon (H).
HAve lost games they should have won, but have also won games that otheres expected them to lose.
Has brought many new and different game plans, and you will see Learmonth rapidly improve over the next 2 years, as there young guys gain more experience. Are still a shot this season, but b'ware in 2007 as many quality players from major leagues are sure to play at Learmonth next season
ryang
28th July 2006, 19:26
Learmonth are sitting in 5th with by 6 points and percentage. Need to win 3 of there last 4 to guarantee a spot in the finals (Play daylesford (A), Clunes (A), Ballan (H) & Gordon (H).
HAve lost games they should have won, but have also won games that otheres expected them to lose.
Has brought many new and different game plans, and you will see Learmonth rapidly improve over the next 2 years, as there young guys gain more experience. Are still a shot this season, but b'ware in 2007 as many quality players from major leagues are sure to play at Learmonth next season
Don't tease us learmonth, give us some hints as to who the major league players might be. Agree, Daylesford are the best side I have seen this year but Waubra very good also.
As I believe I have said before Mullane-Grant is a gun, but left him out because he is lame. On 2 good legs he would kick a 100. Fair call on O'Brien but don't agree on Velduis & Ferrier. Not in same class as others. Go ok though.
NCFL
28th July 2006, 21:30
X- man,
You seem to have an interest in Waubra. Maybe you can shed some light on the rumour that the other Brown brother will be at Waubra next year. Given Waubra has wine making in the area the Brown brothers would have a nice ring to it.
NCFL
30th July 2006, 19:05
With 3 weeks to go and 6 teams left in the race, who are the contenders and who are the pretenders?? I like the fast game of Daylesford, the experience of Hepburn and Waubra seem solid. Bungaree cant be wriitten off and add either Ballan or Learmonth it makes for a great finals series. Give some feedback on what you all think.
scoop22
31st July 2006, 10:17
X- man,
You seem to have an interest in Waubra. Maybe you can shed some light on the rumour that the other Brown brother will be at Waubra next year. Given Waubra has wine making in the area the Brown brothers would have a nice ring to it.
For a first time poster; NCFL you are quite quick witted. I think the Brown Brothers would be more interested in owning a brewery rather than a winery - they may already have shares in them!!
I am sure that Waubra would be keen for another big man during the off season (not sure if brown is the man)to boast their big man brigade. It was good to see over the weekend that some of Waubra's second tier players stood up and solidly met their opponents head on with a couple of good old fashioned stoushes...It is also encouraging that Waubra still has room for improvement with a couple of their senior players set to return to the side over the next couple of weeks. So NCFL i would certainly say that after watching Waubra on the weekend they are still keen, not getting ahead of themselves and "taking it one week at a time" in order to break a long drought and make it to that big day in september. :thumbsu:
NCFL
31st July 2006, 10:55
For a first time poster; NCFL you are quite quick witted. I think the Brown Brothers would be more interested in owning a brewery rather than a winery - they may already have shares in them!!
I am sure that Waubra would be keen for another big man during the off season (not sure if brown is the man)to boast their big man brigade. It was good to see over the weekend that some of Waubra's second tier players stood up and solidly met their opponents head on with a couple of good old fashioned stoushes...It is also encouraging that Waubra still has room for improvement with a couple of their senior players set to return to the side over the next couple of weeks. So NCFL i would certainly say that after watching Waubra on the weekend they are still keen, not getting ahead of themselves and "taking it one week at a time" in order to break a long drought and make it to that big day in september. :thumbsu:
Scoop,
Was the Springbank Waubra clash a bit heated? I saw Ballan get over the line against a brave Newlyn. Big game this week for Ballan against Daylesford, whats your thoughts?
learmonth
31st July 2006, 11:14
With 3 weeks to go and 6 teams left in the race, who are the contenders and who are the pretenders?? I like the fast game of Daylesford, the experience of Hepburn and Waubra seem solid. Bungaree cant be wriitten off and add either Ballan or Learmonth it makes for a great finals series. Give some feedback on what you all think.
By all accounts in what i heard from the weekend, Daylesford are the real deal. They looked quick, used the ball well and have a forward by the name of Dave Thompson, when on song, is very hard to match up on. They are my tip to play Waubra off in the G/F, but dont discard Bungaree. As for the other 3 sides, Hepburn may make the G/F but cant win it on the BIG Nothern Oval..Too slow and too many old players. (They like small ovals). Seiz only kicks goals against weaker sides. Learmonth & Ballan who ever makes it are great on their day, but are another season atleast away from competing with the other 4 sides..???
NCFL
31st July 2006, 11:26
Its interesting, some big games to go. Who suits austar arena the most? Daylesford, and Bungaree if they are fit
scoop22
31st July 2006, 12:27
Scoop,
Was the Springbank Waubra clash a bit heated? I saw Ballan get over the line against a brave Newlyn. Big game this week for Ballan against Daylesford, whats your thoughts?
This clash between Waubra and Springbank certainly had a bit of spark early on with a good blood nose going to a Springbank player. I think the book did come out of the back pocket of the main umpire at one stage during one of the heated clashes. Not certain on this though.
I would certainly say on form that the Bulldogs will win this game, although I certainly wouldn't put it past Ballan to provide one of the upsets, as it is a must win if they are to keep their finals aspirations alive.
crusader
31st July 2006, 12:50
Went and watched the Daylesford and Learmonth game on the weekend, and as i said before, Learmonth are no way near up to the standard of the top 4 teams in the league. Too small in the midfield and were thrown around by the big men such as winduss, joel adams, and dave thompson. madigan copt an awfull hiding from thompson, and if he had his kicking boots on would have kicked 10 goals no worries. Nothing against madigan, but thompson is going to be the danger man come finals time if his kicking improves. ryang, the two players learmonth will be massive drawcards for the chfl if they get them, both are guns.
Top ten players from what i have seen this year would have to be>
Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake
learmonth
31st July 2006, 13:59
Went and watched the Daylesford and Learmonth game on the weekend, and as i said before, Learmonth are no way near up to the standard of the top 4 teams in the league. Too small in the midfield and were thrown around by the big men such as winduss, joel adams, and dave thompson. madigan copt an awfull hiding from thompson, and if he had his kicking boots on would have kicked 10 goals no worries. Nothing against madigan, but thompson is going to be the danger man come finals time if his kicking improves. ryang, the two players learmonth will be massive drawcards for the chfl if they get them, both are guns.
Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake
Since everyone else is having a go at their top 10, I'LL give mine, but it may vary as i only judge on what players do when i see them and not from what others say. I select match winners and not players who bludge behind the line and get easy kicks.
Mullane-Grant
Cade Obrien
Sean Mullane
Wade Veldhuis
Luke Adams
Scott Winduss
Weymess (Bungaree)
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Matthew PeakeAppologies to Brown, but when i saw him play, he was completely outclassed by Veldhuis who beat him in about 12/15 contests. The guy must be able to play as he has kicked plenty of goals against quality opposition.
ryang
31st July 2006, 21:19
By all accounts in what i heard from the weekend, Daylesford are the real deal. They looked quick, used the ball well and have a forward by the name of Dave Thompson, when on song, is very hard to match up on. They are my tip to play Waubra off in the G/F, but dont discard Bungaree. As for the other 3 sides, Hepburn may make the G/F but cant win it on the BIG Nothern Oval..Too slow and too many old players. (They like small ovals). Seiz only kicks goals against weaker sides. Learmonth & Ballan who ever makes it are great on their day, but are another season atleast away from competing with the other 4 sides..???
Good post. Spot on.
ryang
31st July 2006, 21:22
Since everyone else is having a go at their top 10, I'LL give mine, but it may vary as i only judge on what players do when i see them and not from what others say. I select match winners and not players who bludge behind the line and get easy kicks.
Mullane-Grant
Cade Obrien
Sean Mullane
Wade Veldhuis
Luke Adams
Scott Winduss
Weymess (Bungaree)
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Matthew PeakeAppologies to Brown, but when i saw him play, he was completely outclassed by Veldhuis who beat him in about 12/15 contests. The guy must be able to play as he has kicked plenty of goals against quality opposition.
Probably raise a few eyebrows by having Wemyss in there but not a bad call. Under rated but rarely beaten.
ryang
31st July 2006, 21:27
Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake
That comment about the potential Learmonth recruits just makes me even more curious. Come on you blokes how about just a little hint on their identity. I promise not to tell anyone.
NCFL
1st August 2006, 12:04
I think these blokes better start giving us some clues in regards to these new Learmonth recruits. I know Bungaree have a few big names in their sights too. One of them is in the sights of Learmonth as well. Cant name but will keep trying to find out.
learmonth
1st August 2006, 14:04
I think these blokes better start giving us some clues in regards to these new Learmonth recruits. I know Bungaree have a few big names in their sights too. One of them is in the sights of Learmonth as well. Cant name but will keep trying to find out.
Its amazing that recruits are already getting thrown away, the silly season has began. The CHFL is becomming stronger every year, and i can see many quality Nth Ballarat and BFL players coming back for more $$$, less travel and commitment. I am sure all clubs in the league will recruit heavily and ensure that they are a chance of playing finals next season. Rumor has it that the Bulldogs may be even stronger next seaon with the recuiting of 2 stars from East/Points midfield. Both play in a band with a current Bulldog player by the name of Adam Hall. They are Luke Faull and im not sure of the other guys name, but he wears 17 and plays on the wing.
ryang
1st August 2006, 21:46
Its amazing that recruits are already getting thrown away, the silly season has began. The CHFL is becomming stronger every year, and i can see many quality Nth Ballarat and BFL players coming back for more $$$, less travel and commitment. I am sure all clubs in the league will recruit heavily and ensure that they are a chance of playing finals next season. Rumor has it that the Bulldogs may be even stronger next seaon with the recuiting of 2 stars from East/Points midfield. Both play in a band with a current Bulldog player by the name of Adam Hall. They are Luke Faull and im not sure of the other guys name, but he wears 17 and plays on the wing.
Kade Nicholls
X Man
2nd August 2006, 08:46
X- man,
I know that he is going away for a couple of months and that Skontra is very keen to have a chat with the big unit when he gets back. They may have the pen and paper out this weekend as i understand that he is going down to show Skontra and his boys how to drink a t shirt, (his words not mine):D . Another factor is the money issue with the coach already getting paid big big dollars, would he be willing to take a substantial pay cut to allow Brown to slot into the big man brigade we will have to wait and see;)
crusader
2nd August 2006, 15:07
Learmonth, very big call saying that them two boys are coming over to Daylesford next year, because they are two of the best midfielders get around in the BFL. Faull got offered the coaching job at Newlyn last year, and although very young, money could have been eniticing to him, but he knocked it back cause he wants to be part of success. As for Nicholls, rumor has it that this is his last year of footy all together due to bad problems with his back.
ryang,, the two players in question for learmonth are both big name guns, with bfl premiership glory behind them and both playing at different ends of the ground??????? They will be very lucky to get them as they are both happy where they are now, in the sun!!!!!
crusader
2nd August 2006, 15:17
And yeah, if you need some lessons at school, those two learmonth recruits can help in that area. Enough said as that could be anough clues to answer your queries.
NCFL
2nd August 2006, 18:54
Big bucks alright! The word going around Bungaree the other day was he is on the big bucks and he has just been given a car, a maroon commodore, possibly by the club. But having said that, by all accounts he is worth it, I listened to his 3/4 time address when Waubra played against us and he spoke very well. He seems to have good support from his coaching staff as well.
ryang
2nd August 2006, 22:04
And yeah, if you need some lessons at school, those two learmonth recruits can help in that area. Enough said as that could be anough clues to answer your queries.
Yeah mate, very good clues thanks and yes they would be very handy pick ups to say the least. I believe one of them went very well on the Gold Coast in the ACFC last weekend.
X Man
3rd August 2006, 08:32
Big bucks alright! The word going around Bungaree the other day was he is on the big bucks and he has just been given a car, a maroon commodore, possibly by the club. But having said that, by all accounts he is worth it, I listened to his 3/4 time address when Waubra played against us and he spoke very well. He seems to have good support from his coaching staff as well.
Havnt heard that NCFL but i will do some investigating but he is not afraid to put a bit back over the bar and enjoy some froffys:thumbsu: ....
Yeah i have listened to him a few times and certainly seems a very swithced on bloke, i have listned to a fair few coaches address thier sides and this bloke would be in my Top 3, (Nigel Allan and John Cossar the other 2) If these boys get up at the end of the year this bloke will be crowned king of Waubra i reackon and one of those signs up at the entrance of the town Home of Shane Skontra (hahaha). Long way before that happens though NCFL.
learmonth
3rd August 2006, 11:51
Havnt heard that NCFL but i will do some investigating but he is not afraid to put a bit back over the bar and enjoy some froffys:thumbsu: ....
Yeah i have listened to him a few times and certainly seems a very swithced on bloke, i have listned to a fair few coaches address thier sides and this bloke would be in my Top 3, (Nigel Allan and John Cossar the other 2) If these boys get up at the end of the year this bloke will be crowned king of Waubra i reackon and one of those signs up at the entrance of the town Home of Shane Skontra (hahaha). Long way before that happens though NCFL.
Who are Nigel Allan & John Cossar...??? Skontra has done a great job for Waubra, and with certain stars to come back in, they will only get stronger. Needs to win the flag this year to prove that he is the supercoach of the Centralhighlands. If they dont win it, or even worse, dont make the Grand Final, where to then...
MasterOfRoc
3rd August 2006, 12:01
Who are Nigel Allan & John Cossar...??? Skontra has done a great job for Waubra, and with certain stars to come back in, they will only get stronger. Needs to win the flag this year to prove that he is the supercoach of the Centralhighlands. If they dont win it, or even worse, dont make the Grand Final, where to then...
John Cossar is the charlton former 'supercoach' he had coached charlton up until the end of last year, since the dinosaurs become extinct....ok, sarcasm, but hes had alot of success and alot of experience
crusader
3rd August 2006, 16:03
Yeah that is spot on learmonth, if he can take them to the finals and go out in straight sets, just shows he has a good list and a good bunch of players, but the top coaches stand up come finals time and bring something new to the table, which wins those big matches, and from all reports last year they didn't.
If Ballana get in watch out because Scotty knows what he is on about and with blokes like brendan heir just hitting their straps, they will be one dangerous team. This week is their grand final though, against the doggies, so if they cant beat them this week there is no point them even making. Same with yoour team against clunes, which is also a very dangerous game.
learmonth
3rd August 2006, 16:15
Yeah that is spot on learmonth, if he can take them to the finals and go out in straight sets, just shows he has a good list and a good bunch of players, but the top coaches stand up come finals time and bring something new to the table, which wins those big matches, and from all reports last year they didn't.
If Ballana get in watch out because Scotty knows what he is on about and with blokes like brendan heir just hitting their straps, they will be one dangerous team. This week is their grand final though, against the doggies, so if they cant beat them this week there is no point them even making. Same with yoour team against clunes, which is also a very dangerous game.
Will be making my way out to the game this week (CRUSADER). A must win for the Lakies, and a very very dangerous game as Clunes play their ground really well, and we cant forget that learmonth lost to Beaufort. If the Daylesford Dogs get home and Learmonth win, then Ild say the Lakies will be playing finals as they would have to lose their last two games against Ballan & Gordon. Both are at home were the Lakies play better. Ballan a real danger side, have spent BIG $$$ on Heir who is a money man, has played for about 12 clubs in 7 seasons, and in finals football, Passion and Pride will always beat a paid player..
Ballan play the small ovals well, but from what ive been told, struggle on the BIG ovals, should make for a beauty of a game b/t Ballan & learmonth if Ballan are able to beat Daylesford. Who ever wins that game will play finals.. Oh how tight its getting!!!!
learmonth
8th August 2006, 15:25
Why all the rave about Ballan..>?? They may be playing better, and have flogged some mediocre football sides, but are yet to beat a side within the top 5. Yes they have recruited some guns 1/2 yearly, but its your bottom 10 players (depth) that will get u too the finals and win u a flag. They dont have that..??
My tip for the final 5 is-
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Bungaree
Learmonth
Will be great to watch hepburn & Dford slug it out again.... especially on a neutral ground. Dford to win- too much class and leg speed.
Bungaree to be too strong for learmonth, though on their day they could possible upset anyside (from all reports, Coach beecham, has no fear and gives his players the confidence to play with flair and risk) could bring him down in a close game/ That is my only question about his coaching style.
Anyone else have suggestions.
NCFL
8th August 2006, 19:37
Tough for Bungaree if they miss the double chance. Hepburn this week, then Waubra, then finals, thats a hard run.Learmonth not quite good enough. Maybe next year their big recruits. Out of the top three.
ryang
8th August 2006, 22:19
Saw the 2nd half at ballan v daylesford on saturday, entertaining game, pretty much goal for goal. Difference was thompson up forward who has a great pair of hands. As mentioned previously ballan lack tall backmen and maybe a ruckman but apart from that they are a fairly young side, which i would say might contribute to their lack of success against the top sides. Reckon you're a little harsh in your assessment of their bottom 10 learmonth, i'd say only their bottom 5 fall away a bit, they're not far off. BUT, there is a rumour circulating that scotty told the players BEFORE saturdays game that he would'nt be coaching next year. Don't know any details as to why, if he is coaching elsewhere or whatever, but have heard that everybody at the club was shocked and devestated, especially the players. I've been told ballan has a history of falling apart at the seams pretty easily so it will be interesting to see what happens. The improvement might count for nought.
As for daylesford they have the best midfield going around, good forward set up but I reckon a tall forward line might cause them some problems. I don't know if they were missing anyone on saturday, maybe somebody could fill me in, crusader maybe, if you were there I would be interested to hear your thoughts.
Bungaree will roll hepburn this week, so should set up a ripper in the last round against waubra to decide whether its bunga or the dogs that gets 3rd. Big ask to beat waubra out there though.
CountryScout
9th August 2006, 08:39
Hi to everyone.
First of all, great thread. Keeps me up to date on the league happenings and player performances.
I didnt make it to the Ballan Vs Daylesford game on the weekend. Saw in the Herald Sun that it was a close game with Daylesford running out winners. Was anyone there that could inform me of some of the players performances? (best players). Have heard both teams have some great players. Ryan G you mentioned Dave Thompson had a good game? What about Mullane-Grant at the other end???? I have noticed he has kicked quite a few this year.
So yeah, if anyone can inform me of player performances in this game, and maybe some standouts in other games it would be appreciated.
Thank You
Paul
Apple Eater
9th August 2006, 12:16
Was at Ballan Daylesford game, Adams boys and Winduss dominated the middle, while Ballans backline couldn't stand up. Mullane-Grant looked dangerous early but lack of opportunity particularly in the second half saw him move up the ground. Ballan went too wide when kicking forward which didn't help the likes of Mullane-grant, Watts and Uhi.
Daylesford look very dangerous and if Bungaree fail in the next two weeks and Daylesford snare third spot they will be Waubras big threat.
learmonth
9th August 2006, 15:37
Was at Ballan Daylesford game, Adams boys and Winduss dominated the middle, while Ballans backline couldn't stand up. Mullane-Grant looked dangerous early but lack of opportunity particularly in the second half saw him move up the ground. Ballan went too wide when kicking forward which didn't help the likes of Mullane-grant, Watts and Uhi.
Daylesford look very dangerous and if Bungaree fail in the next two weeks and Daylesford snare third spot they will be Waubras big threat.
Heard a rumor floating around that Malcome Scott announced his resignation before the Ballan/Daylesford game and came as a complete surprise to the players and may have distracted them. Scotty likes to get his own way and if he doesnt, he makes very rash statements. The Ballan committee will not tolerate his ignorance and he is very exchangable, even though he thinks he isnt.
Flat Track Bully
10th August 2006, 07:47
How has Darren "Dezy" Leahy been performing with Springbank. (far too modest to tell me himself.)
crusader
10th August 2006, 12:17
ryang, daylesford were nearly full strength on the weekend, couple of blokes still to come in, especially one under 18 player if they dont make the finals, absolute gun and probably one of the most skilled players in the juniors in the chfl. The forward structure is pretty big, but thats going to test alot of teams if they cant man up four talls. Rob Rodgers is also another, who although short will need to be manned up by one of their best players. So if there is any team that can man up five gun forwards, they will beat daylesford. Scott has resigned, because he knows that ballan are a great chance to win next year with a couple more recruits, and for a coach who gave all his money back to the club to recruit players, i dont think he would throw it in that easy. Bungaree vs Hepburn this week looms as the biggest match of the season. Who ever gets up is a real chance for top spot still, especially hepburn. But if Bungaree get up, they are my tip to make it to the grand final no worries and to play off against either waubra or daylesford. Hepburn have hammered some teams of late, but they wont be able to match the speed of the others on the big ground.
ryang
10th August 2006, 22:34
Hi to everyone.
First of all, great thread. Keeps me up to date on the league happenings and player performances.
I didnt make it to the Ballan Vs Daylesford game on the weekend. Saw in the Herald Sun that it was a close game with Daylesford running out winners. Was anyone there that could inform me of some of the players performances? (best players). Have heard both teams have some great players. Ryan G you mentioned Dave Thompson had a good game? What about Mullane-Grant at the other end???? I have noticed he has kicked quite a few this year.
So yeah, if anyone can inform me of player performances in this game, and maybe some standouts in other games it would be appreciated.
Thank You
Paul
Mullane-Grant was well held by Cronin?? (I think) but as apple eater said, Ballan stuffed around with the ball when going forward. I am told he was dangerous in the 1st half, kicked a couple and missed a few others he would normally kick, but he looks like a one legged duck. His knee looks to be getting worse. I know there are big wraps on him this season on the basis of his goal return, but when fully fit he is way better than this. He is unstoppable on his day so I hope he gets his knee fixed and shows what he is capable of.
Winduss for Daylesford dominated and fed the ball to his on-ballers on a platter, and when those on-ballers are as good as Daylesfords their dangerous forwards are going to be a handfull.
At other clubs, Bryce Nicholson is killing them up forward for Bungaree. I know a lot of people who say this bloke is soft, but he is a match winner.
The big fridge in the goal square for Waubra has been a headache for all clubs this year as has Sean Mullane. There is a young guy at Learmonth who has caught the eye, Powell I think his name is??? Very clever and dangerous around goal.
ryang
10th August 2006, 22:44
ryang, daylesford were nearly full strength on the weekend, couple of blokes still to come in, especially one under 18 player if they dont make the finals, absolute gun and probably one of the most skilled players in the juniors in the chfl. The forward structure is pretty big, but thats going to test alot of teams if they cant man up four talls. Rob Rodgers is also another, who although short will need to be manned up by one of their best players. So if there is any team that can man up five gun forwards, they will beat daylesford. Scott has resigned, because he knows that ballan are a great chance to win next year with a couple more recruits, and for a coach who gave all his money back to the club to recruit players, i dont think he would throw it in that easy. Bungaree vs Hepburn this week looms as the biggest match of the season. Who ever gets up is a real chance for top spot still, especially hepburn. But if Bungaree get up, they are my tip to make it to the grand final no worries and to play off against either waubra or daylesford. Hepburn have hammered some teams of late, but they wont be able to match the speed of the others on the big ground.
Sorry crusader I meant that a tall opposition forward line might trouble Daylesfords backs. Don't know whether he had a bad game or not but the chb, (don't know who he is, a very big unit though) didn't seem to know much about it, and Bourke looked way out of touch and shape. Realise he has missed a bit of footy. Thought that looked to be their only weakness.
learmonth
11th August 2006, 09:44
Mullane-Grant was well held by Cronin?? (I think) but as apple eater said, Ballan stuffed around with the ball when going forward. I am told he was dangerous in the 1st half, kicked a couple and missed a few others he would normally kick, but he looks like a one legged duck. His knee looks to be getting worse. I know there are big wraps on him this season on the basis of his goal return, but when fully fit he is way better than this. He is unstoppable on his day so I hope he gets his knee fixed and shows what he is capable of.
Winduss for Daylesford dominated and fed the ball to his on-ballers on a platter, and when those on-ballers are as good as Daylesfords their dangerous forwards are going to be a handfull.
At other clubs, Bryce Nicholson is killing them up forward for Bungaree. I know a lot of people who say this bloke is soft, but he is a match winner.
The big fridge in the goal square for Waubra has been a headache for all clubs this year as has Sean Mullane. There is a young guy at Learmonth who has caught the eye, Powell I think his name is??? Very clever and dangerous around goal.
Agree with you ryang- Cronin is a premier backman, and it will be sensational to see Mullane-Grant fully fit next season. It will cost Ballan a lot of $$$ to keep him. Heard clubs from Geelong way are throwing massive $$$ at him.
Nicholson only plays for himself, but can be a matchwinner... dont rate him as good as Brown or Mulland Grant, but definantly better then Seiz from Hepburn who is the softest player in the competition.
Brenton Powell is his name and has a twin brother when fit (Knee injury) by the name of Shane who is a good player as well. Brenton is exceptionally good at winning the hard ball, and is a smart and quick lead from the goal square. Has been at the club since a junior, with many clubs including Nth Ballarat VFL wanting him for next season.
AJ ZUB
11th August 2006, 11:18
How has Darren "Dezy" Leahy been performing with Springbank. (far too modest to tell me himself.)
Just a player in my opinion FTB, everyone down Geelong way talk very highly of the man but it's easy playing the loose man every week:eek:
learmonth
11th August 2006, 16:18
Just a player in my opinion FTB, everyone down Geelong way talk very highly of the man but it's easy playing the loose man every week:eek:
Havent heard of him, so he cant be that crash hot!!!!
ryang
11th August 2006, 19:56
Agree with you ryang- Cronin is a premier backman, and it will be sensational to see Mullane-Grant fully fit next season. It will cost Ballan a lot of $$$ to keep him. Heard clubs from Geelong way are throwing massive $$$ at him.
Nicholson only plays for himself, but can be a matchwinner... dont rate him as good as Brown or Mulland Grant, but definantly better then Seiz from Hepburn who is the softest player in the competition.
Brenton Powell is his name and has a twin brother when fit (Knee injury) by the name of Shane who is a good player as well. Brenton is exceptionally good at winning the hard ball, and is a smart and quick lead from the goal square. Has been at the club since a junior, with many clubs including Nth Ballarat VFL wanting him for next season.
East Point would have big Seizy back in the wink of an eye. I've heard their 2s need a big key forward.
learmonth
14th August 2006, 12:33
East Point would have big Seizy back in the wink of an eye. I've heard their 2s need a big key forward.
Well after their performance (East/Point 2's) this week I think they need him back. Just a note from being at the past 2 Learmonths games (Clunes & Ballan- Yes ive jumped on their wagon) both sides and their ferral supporters have just said Learmonth are only making up the numbers. Interested to know anyones thoughts on that, as they have beaten Daylesford and Waubra who from gathering what everyone is saying, they are the two best sides. Learmonth's leg speed on the big ground clearly showed Ballan up and if they hadnt kicked 5 goals in time on in the last quarter the lakies win would have looked more impressive.
Malcolm Scott has definantly finished at Ballan, and will not coach there next season. Has left on his own accords.
crusader
14th August 2006, 12:36
Damn straight that seiz would fit back into the 2s well. Would have to be the most over rated player in the CHFL. Have a look at what he has done this year. Against top teams he has been absolutely woeful. And with finals coming up he will be a liability to them. Hepburn v Daylesford should be a great match in the first week of the finals. Daylesford from all reports had a few big injury scares on the weekend so that could be a test for these blokes to get up. One what i heard was Cade Obrien who came off with some really bad knee problems in the last. Could be a big scare but has struggled of late. Grant has been supposedly struck down with a corky, but from some sources, the corky is actually a hamstring so he could be very doubtful for the first two weeks of finals. Bungaree have been hit hard and coming up against a learmonth team that is starting to play some decent footy could go out very early. Waubra are still going along well, but if the rumours of players sleeping with other players wives is true, could cause the well drilled machine to derail. If anyone has heard more about this can you let us know.
crusader
14th August 2006, 12:41
Well after their performance (East/Point 2's) this week I think they need him back. Just a note from being at the past 2 Learmonths games (Clunes & Ballan- Yes ive jumped on their wagon) both sides and their ferral supporters have just said Learmonth are only making up the numbers. Interested to know anyones thoughts on that, as they have beaten Daylesford and Waubra who from gathering what everyone is saying, they are the two best sides. Learmonth's leg speed on the big ground clearly showed Ballan up and if they hadnt kicked 5 goals in time on in the last quarter the lakies win would have looked more impressive.
Malcolm Scott has definantly finished at Ballan, and will not coach there next season. Has left on his own accords.
Learmonth, the daylesford match was a long time ago, and from what i have seen, things have changed. Waubra supposedly always struggle against learmonth so that might be a positive for learmonth. Malcom Scott has resigned but is staying on as chairman of selectors next year. Also true about clunes and ballan supporters, whole new breed.
ryang
14th August 2006, 16:52
Would say Learmonth have earned their spot in the finals and as everyone knows anything can happen once you're in there. But as has been stated on here before both Learmonth and Ballan are not quite at the level of the other 4 yet, work in progress. I was at the Jordan show (and what a show it was) so didn't get to see any chfl this week, sounds like the L v B game was a bit odd with both teams kicking big runs of unanswered goals a number of times throughout the game. Any injuries for Learmonth? Hepburn and Bungaree supposedly a cracker, very costly for Bungaree with 3rd spot gone and some big injuries. Byes for both Daylesford and Waubra! Let's hope the weather holds up for the finals and we see some good footy and big crowds, especially for the granny. Been shi thouse for the last 3.
ryang
14th August 2006, 16:57
Learmonth, the daylesford match was a long time ago, and from what i have seen, things have changed. Waubra supposedly always struggle against learmonth so that might be a positive for learmonth. Malcom Scott has resigned but is staying on as chairman of selectors next year. Also true about clunes and ballan supporters, whole new breed.
Hepburn, Creswick and Buninyong supporters would fit in that list quite comfortably as well I reckon.
learmonth
15th August 2006, 09:18
Would say Learmonth have earned their spot in the finals and as everyone knows anything can happen once you're in there. But as has been stated on here before both Learmonth and Ballan are not quite at the level of the other 4 yet, work in progress. I was at the Jordan show (and what a show it was) so didn't get to see any chfl this week, sounds like the L v B game was a bit odd with both teams kicking big runs of unanswered goals a number of times throughout the game. Any injuries for Learmonth? Hepburn and Bungaree supposedly a cracker, very costly for Bungaree with 3rd spot gone and some big injuries. Byes for both Daylesford and Waubra! Let's hope the weather holds up for the finals and we see some good footy and big crowds, especially for the granny. Been shi thouse for the last 3.
Sounds like there may be a few sore bodies running around in the finals. It will be interesting to see how some coaches deal with their players over the next week or so.
From what i saw on the weekend, Learmonth have as many problems as the othersides, but not sure if it will keep any of them out. Madigan didnt play (not sure why??) Gudgeon (Knee, didnt play after 1/2 time after completely out-playing Mullane-Grant), Sam Basham didnt re-surface after 1/2 time- not sure why.?? Sobey- left the ground with an ankle and didnt come back- hope its not the same ankle that kept him out all last season- Wright on suspension, and from what i was told after the game, its his second for the year and if he gets 2 weeks, will miss the first final. Coach Beecham only played across half back and looked to be carrying an ankle. Has played there for the past two weeks after being told he has played mainly up forward and in the midfield.
If the Lakies dont have all these players fit, they will struggle to cause any trouble come finals. As a biased supporter, atleast some other clubs have injuries aswell
tomsut_69
15th August 2006, 10:27
Hey Ryang, can you tell me whats happened at Ballan to lead Scotty to be stepping down and if its true?
ryang
15th August 2006, 16:30
Hey Ryang, can you tell me whats happened at Ballan to lead Scotty to be stepping down and if its true?
Don't really know tomsut, seems to be a mystery to everyone but as far as I know it is true. From what I've been told nobody saw it coming, especially the players and I believe the whole place is pretty down. Thought things were churning along ok out there so it will be interesting to hear the reasons when they come out. I did hear that he was pretty emotional when he informed the players which would indicate that there might be something outside footy preventing him from continuing. It's been put on here that he is taking on a selection role but thats about all I know.
JGraf
15th August 2006, 19:09
Hepburn, Creswick and Buninyong supporters would fit in that list quite comfortably as well I reckon.
What club are you linked with ryang? Easy to comment on people from the outside but have you ever played for these clubs? Supporters of opposition teams always seem to be poor.
As for Hepburn there is one in particular and you cant put that on the whole club.
ryang
15th August 2006, 22:05
What club are you linked with ryang? Easy to comment on people from the outside but have you ever played for these clubs? Supporters of opposition teams always seem to be poor.
As for Hepburn there is one in particular and you cant put that on the whole club.
Fair enough JGraf as I'm not linked to any club it's easy to make flippant comments about supporters. There's nothing wrong with a bit of passion & voice at the footy so I stand corrected.
crusader
16th August 2006, 13:25
Jgraf, sorry mate, one down at hepburn?? I have seen them play numerous times over the years and the language that comes out of half the womens mouths down there is disgusting. As for supporters, there is a big thing happening from the creswick v hepburn match with a spectator assaulting an umpire. So don't you ever just say there is one down there because they go 10 deep down in hepburn. always have and always will
learmonth
16th August 2006, 15:51
Jgraf, sorry mate, one down at hepburn?? I have seen them play numerous times over the years and the language that comes out of half the womens mouths down there is disgusting. As for supporters, there is a big thing happening from the creswick v hepburn match with a spectator assaulting an umpire. So don't you ever just say there is one down there because they go 10 deep down in hepburn. always have and always will
Hepburn supporters are scum, and they are 2nd class citizens. As soon as they start behaving like normal individuals and not alligators on HEAT! then just maybe, people may take them serious. It must be something in the Mineral Water... Totally agree with you Crusader.
Hepburn cant help themself and ill guarantee they lose the plot within the finals series. They are chokers and will be found wanting come finals. Within a couple of years it will be good to see the Burra back on the bottom where they belong!
JGraf
16th August 2006, 18:17
Hepburn supporters are scum, and they are 2nd class citizens. As soon as they start behaving like normal individuals and not alligators on HEAT! then just maybe, people may take them serious. It must be something in the Mineral Water... Totally agree with you Crusader.
Hepburn cant help themself and ill guarantee they lose the plot within the finals series. They are chokers and will be found wanting come finals. Within a couple of years it will be good to see the Burra back on the bottom where they belong!
Chokers???You watch much footy??? Learmonth were top of the table 2004 all year and should have made the Grand Final and CHOKED!!! and didnt even make the Grand Final. Hepbrun happened to win that season and then last year they also won the Senior premiership... Hmmm seems you dont have an clue whatsoever.
learmonth
17th August 2006, 11:55
Chokers???You watch much footy??? Learmonth were top of the table 2004 all year and should have made the Grand Final and CHOKED!!! and didnt even make the Grand Final. Hepbrun happened to win that season and then last year they also won the Senior premiership... Hmmm seems you dont have an clue whatsoever.
Sides have caught up too them JGraf and they are spending way more money then other clubs in the CHFL. Daylesford have come in and caused havoc up there from my opinion. Thats why Hepburn didnt want them in (scared of competition). Dont worry what happened in the past (Im talking this season), from being at that ground that day, Hepburn went the hit like usuall against a lot younger and small side and intimidated them..Typicall of them. Sides have no fear of their thuggary anymore and i can see through my crystal ball that once the money runs dry (which is soon) they will have a lengthy period were they belong..On the bottom!
Good to see Hepburn have so many localls in their senior team.. A list of imports- Ferrier/Saunders/Peake/Carey/McKay/Seiz/Newton Bros/Brown/Grant/Raak/Mann/Atkin.. and im sure there are more who started their careers at Daylesford.. Great development of ya Juniors!!
JGraf
18th August 2006, 18:39
Sides have caught up too them JGraf and they are spending way more money then other clubs in the CHFL. Daylesford have come in and caused havoc up there from my opinion. Thats why Hepburn didnt want them in (scared of competition). Dont worry what happened in the past (Im talking this season), from being at that ground that day, Hepburn went the hit like usuall against a lot younger and small side and intimidated them..Typicall of them. Sides have no fear of their thuggary anymore and i can see through my crystal ball that once the money runs dry (which is soon) they will have a lengthy period were they belong..On the bottom!
Good to see Hepburn have so many localls in their senior team.. A list of imports- Ferrier/Saunders/Peake/Carey/McKay/Seiz/Newton Bros/Brown/Grant/Raak/Mann/Atkin.. and im sure there are more who started their careers at Daylesford.. Great development of ya Juniors!!
Went the hit??? Yes they intimidated them through physical strength at the ball and the game. All supporters are so one eyed against Hepburn it is just ridiculous.
Nigel Howard was suspended for a high hit that if he played for another team he wouldnt have been but because of the clubs unfair reputation he was rubbed out.
Yes they have recruited as have all other clubs. How many locals played in the Learmonth teams??? Or any of the premiership teams?
ryang
19th August 2006, 12:26
Went the hit??? Yes they intimidated them through physical strength at the ball and the game. All supporters are so one eyed against Hepburn it is just ridiculous.
Nigel Howard was suspended for a high hit that if he played for another team he wouldnt have been but because of the clubs unfair reputation he was rubbed out.
Yes they have recruited as have all other clubs. How many locals played in the Learmonth teams??? Or any of the premiership teams?
The days when country clubs could win a flag with a team full of locals are long gone. Hepburn have the money and prowess to be able to recruit gun players and good luck to them. Credit to the blokes running the show out there for trying to change the reputation they have earned over the years as being thugs. They are nothing like they used to be and I agree that sometimes their reputation works against them. Old wounds are slow to heal.
Blues1995
20th August 2006, 13:42
Fair enough JGraf as I'm not linked to any club it's easy to make flippant comments about supporters. There's nothing wrong with a bit of passion & voice at the footy so I stand corrected.
Hepburn Vrs Daylesford in an Elimination final should be a very interesting game and i would expect a huge crowd to attend, imagine the crowd and fireworks! As it is i think this will be a cracker of a game and might make the trip up to see this one cause it may be worth the price of admisson alone to see the antics of the crowds as both are colourful to say the least. my tip early is Hepburn to beat Daylesford and then go on and beat Waubra and advance to the Grand Final.
Any word on when and where this will be played?
JGraf
20th August 2006, 18:56
Hepburn Vrs Daylesford in an Elimination final should be a very interesting game and i would expect a huge crowd to attend, imagine the crowd and fireworks! As it is i think this will be a cracker of a game and might make the trip up to see this one cause it may be worth the price of admisson alone to see the antics of the crowds as both are colourful to say the least. my tip early is Hepburn to beat Daylesford and then go on and beat Waubra and advance to the Grand Final.
Any word on when and where this will be played?
Elimination??? They will play in the Qualifying Final wont they???
NCFL
20th August 2006, 19:27
No venues as yet. It would look like Springbank or Dunnstown wouldn,t it. Thompson kicked a bag for Daylesford seems to be travelling well. Anyone know how Bryce Nicholson went against Waubra?
ryang
20th August 2006, 20:55
No venues as yet. It would look like Springbank or Dunnstown wouldn,t it. Thompson kicked a bag for Daylesford seems to be travelling well. Anyone know how Bryce Nicholson went against Waubra?
Probably right with the venues, Learmonth or Bungaree the only other 2 that could get the gig as they can't be used on Saturday. Nicholson was ok, kicked 3 but the game was over at 1/2 time. Waubra looking ominous & will take some beating.