View Full Version : Plan F….Fixture us out of this mess!

BrizzyBlue
27 May 2006, 03:27
What do we do if Plans A, B, C or D don’t come to fruition very soon? IE: (A) If the AFL doesn’t assist us, (B) Big Bruce doesn’t set up a legacy that we may earn from, (C) Carlton Memberships go through the roof & (D) Rick says “Here’s a lazy 10Mill. Pay me back when you can”. Let’s face facts. It is time to get our collective heads out of the sand. We are in more strife than Batman. The old saying about fish rings in my ears: “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, but teach a man to fish; you feed him for life” :eek:

I reckon that applies to our famous club right now. We are stuck in the mire of decision paralysis. We have been too proud to accept the gift of a fish, haven’t we? We have resisted wanting to learn how to fish, haven’t we? We need positive and proactive thinkers that will be courageous decision makers who will show the way forward. This all starts at the top. The President and Board have to stand up and do a deal that is Win-Win for all parties concerned. I believe there is a formula that if followed through may just resolve most of our financial issues. It will require a modicum of common sense from the AFL and plenty of support from Carlton lovers.

If implemented, this concept will assist us out of the mess that we are in, but will allow us to save face as well. We certainly won’t have to go on the drip from Doctor AFL and as such won’t have to toe the line like the Kangaroos, Bulldogs and Demons. Who knows it may even get a few thousand people fired up to become members instead of just passive supporters.

I am suggesting the continuation of the mighty Carlton Blues as an entity still based in Melbourne, still wearing our Old Dark Navy Blue strip with White CFC Monogram and still singing that famous Da Da Da Da! :cool:

Read on, I’m sure you will realise that it is time to compromise, but simply because this concept will be in our long term interests.

The concept requires an approach to the AFL to consider a number of fixture requests. There is no secret that Collingwood have a solid understanding that the more games they play in Melbourne the better the bottom line for them and the AFL. They don’t even know the way to Tullamarine as a result of this imbalance in the draw. We have been interstate on average 1.5 times more than the filth in the past 10 years. I believe we can do a deal to our financial advantage if this trend of so many interstate games was to continue. There is no doubt that we lose money playing the interstate clubs at the Telephone Dome or the MCG. Why not turn this disadvantage into a Cash Cow? I hate the idea of giving any other club an advantage, so maybe that’s why I think we need to be proactive and make some sensible decisions for our future. We could steal a march on the rest of the competition by:

(1) Being pioneers by taking the game to the people. This means playing some of our usual interstate games as our home games at an AFL sanctioned venue. I suggest 3 Home Interstate matches for a 3 year period. Wherever this is we could do a deal that would see us receiving about 900K backed by the AFL/Local or State Governments, rather than losing 500K by playing the interstaters in Melbourne. :p

(2) Because we are playing 3 games Interstate (even though they are home games), reduce the number of times we actually have to travel to only 3 more times a season. So total Interstate per season would be 6.

(3) Reduce our Melbourne home games to 8 (Split 4 at the MCG and 4 at the Dome), but do a deal that gives Members seating rights to 3 extra Melbourne games.

(4) That leaves our Melbourne away games which could also be Split 4 at the MCG and 4 at the Dome.

(5) To summarise we would be playing 16 times in Melbourne with 8 home and 8 away and equal splits at the MCG & the Dome. We would be playing 6 times Interstate with 3 home and 3 away.

In fact if this plan could come together we would not only resolve some of our financial woes, but satisfy the AFL push into their beloved northern market. You see there is a solid agreement struck with the Queensland Government when they paid for the Gabba redevelopment, that the AFL would fixture any further games in Queensland at the Gabba. Rather than be playing in what really amounts to the country circuit by playing at York Park, Manuka or Carrara, we could satisfy all parties by being bold and playing the three mentioned at the Gabba. We would draw huge crowds as the Blues are very popular in SEQ, where there is an estimated 300K Victorians. Both Sunshine Coasters and Gold Coasters would travel to the more central Brisbane to see their beloved Blueboys because they would be guaranteed a seat at the Gabba. This wouldn’t be the case at other venues. EG: Carrara has only seating capacity for 10K ATM. Footy tragics who support other clubs including the Brions would also start attending our games because they would be fixtured in the weeks that their mob are playing interstate. Who knows the AFL may just push a number of struggling clubs to do similar and secure some tenure at the Gabba. We gotta be the innovators here, not be pushed. I reckon we could get up to $500K per game if we are proactive rather than reactive. That’s $1.5 Mill in the tin rather than losing $500K as we are at the moment. That’s a turnaround of $2 Million to our bottom line! :cool: :cool:

Let’s look at a potential fixture draw that would accommodate this scenario, but before you pass judgement, it is important to note that we would be very well served with the traditional Blockbusters at the MCG where we play each of those rivals twice every season. We would be playing the less fashionable clubs at the Dome or interstate as the draw requires.

Home @ MCG:...................Away @ MCG:
Collingwood........................Collingwood.....This Block of Matches against
Essendon...........................Essendon...........our Traditional Rivals would
Richmond...........................Richmond..............be Fixed for 3 Seasons.
Hawthorn...........................Hawthorn

Home @ The Dome:...........Away @ The Dome:
Melbourne..........................St Kilda..........This Block of Matches against
Adelaide............................Bulldogs...........our former VFL rivals would
Sydney.............................Geelong................. Rotate for 3 Seasons.
Brisbane............................Kangaroos

Home @ Gabba:...............Away Interstate:
Fremantle.........................Adelaide...........This Block of Matches against
West Coast.......................Sydney...............the Interstate Clubs would
Port Adelaide.....................Brisbane.................Rotate for 3 Seasons.

Season Venues:
Home MCG:.....4................Away MCG:.....4............Total MCG:......8
Home Dome:...4.................Away Dome:...4............Total Dome:.....8
Home Gabba:..3.................Away Inters:..3............Total Inters:.....6
Home Total:...11................Away Total:...11...........Total Games:...22

I reckon that the AFL would go for this because it means they have a way of helping us without upsetting the other clubs by giving us a handout and it gets them more games in Queensland. Carlton should do whatever it can to play less away games Interstate and push the envelope to reduce those financial disasters in Melbourne, particularly at the Dome. Members are not disadvantaged because there will be a guaranteed 8 home & 8 away games (16) in Melbourne each season. Supporters will get to see the Blues 3 more times per season as all these games would be beamed back live to Victoria. Finally with larger crowds in attendance at our Gabba Home games and the extra TV exposure, our profile will be raised for Members and Sponsors alike. In 3 years we should once again be a Power Club both off-field and on-field and be in a position to dictate terms rather than the restricted submissive position that we have found ourselves in. If we want to survive as a club in our own right and not be merged/taken over/relocated, then this is one way to restore the pride in our great club. Let’s for once do something positive and bring that 17th that much closer. If we all pull together, we can do amazing things. Da Da Da Da…. :D

Aussie Joe
27 May 2006, 04:08
I like it. Some good thinking there.

TheBlueblood
27 May 2006, 04:59
Id suggest getting this acros to the CFC board as fast as possible mate!!!!!!!!

Any chance of lessening the mcg games though? Totally a pain in the ass to get to for me:mad:

but id be happy for my membership to change to incorporate the above fixturing

medusala
27 May 2006, 05:36
The Hawks have suffered this year in membership no's from selling games. If you take in to account the cost of that plus the cost of members turning up to designated Melbourne away games the club doesnt make anywhere near as much as you would think on first glance.

However, you could probably get more out of the AFL for Carrara games than other teams get for selling their home games.

stokesy
27 May 2006, 10:22
Some fantastic thinking, all makes sense to me.

bluegal1983
27 May 2006, 11:44
I think the idea is brilliant!! It is a shame that it has had to come to this though :(

saint13
27 May 2006, 12:36
you'd better get down the club mate, put a syndicate together and run for pres, you have my vote:thumbsu:

Funkalicous
27 May 2006, 12:45
I have no problems with where Carlton play their home games anymore. We've already left our spiritual ground, so those sentiments are no longer a factor.... unfortunately.

I too like the idea of playing games in SEQ. Maybe I'm being biased, but IMO, it's the hottest property in the country. Playing at the Gabba would probably be ideal. It's a great stadium, and we could comfortably get an 'AFL' sized crowd. Not sure how much the QLD Government would pay us though.

Southport would be guaranteed to pay us something decent for playing at Carrara. Although, they would rather have the Kangaroos playing out of Gold Coast (considering they're privately owned and all...). The Gold Coast City Counsil have also promised to increase the ground capacity, particularly the seating. ATM there's only 6000 seats. - The rest of the crowd are forced to stand.

Even if the AFL pay us the 7 million, we should still look at taking some pro-active measures. Melbourne is a very difficult market for teams like us ATM. Especially when you're not winning.

HBF
27 May 2006, 12:49
Fantastic thinking BB. However, I for one have been saying on here for sometime now that Carlton should look at selling home games interstate.

Infact, on MMM before the St.Kilda game last week, SQ asked Michael Malouf if Carlton had considered doing this. He said we had, but the $$$ had not been enough to get us to do it.

igt22265
27 May 2006, 13:21
Bloody well though out.
Submit it to the powers that be.

Maybe too logical.

BrizzyBlue
28 May 2006, 14:43
So far the response to this concept has been very positive from most of the the sites that I put this up on. I will wait a bit to see the overall reception and any tweaking. I have a contact within the club who I have known for 30 years who is always prepared to listen. It goes without saying that I get plenty of inside info from him from time to time, but apparently they believe the AFL will bail us out. I actually argued the point with him the other night that we need to think outside the square and be proactive. Whilst he agreed, he said that they were extremely confident that the tide would turn in the next month or so. I am not as confident as he was. :rolleyes:

Irrespective of whether there is an announcement pending or not, I'll do this up in a pdf type document and shoot it in, Guys. Can't hurt..... :cool:

Powerstufff
29 May 2006, 11:32
So far the response to this concept has been very positive from most of the the sites that I put this up on.....Not surprising, it is an excellent idea. Great to see +ve vibes from your fellow Carlton supporters.
So many good things could come of this. Firstly a great club to get back on its feet. Secondly financial recovery in your own right rather than a zombie like existence on AFL funds. Thirdly growing the AFL market by playing in a greater range of areas. Actually I've got the feeling we will need to do this soon.
My brain is reeling at the scale of the plan. Would you personally consider scheduling any of your non-Melbourne home games in regional centres or in New Zealand?

murphster
29 May 2006, 12:13
I sent a similar concept to Malouf and Smorgan 4 weeks ago and have heard nothing not even a thanks for taking the time, but send it in anyway as the more that do the better chance of being heard. Carlton under George Harris where the innovators of the competition which is why we were such a succesful club and that is definately what we have to get back to if we are to continue to survive and prosper into the future, the need for action is far overdue, Collingwood has outstripped us on everything over the last 10 years in terms of chasing financial avenues to all corners of the country and even the globe, through there association with Emirates. It is time we got back to our roots as the forward thinking innovators of the competition and stop running with the also rans.
So send it in and let me know what response if any you get from the reactive unproductive board currently in power.:thumbsu:

Go the Mopsquito Fleet!!!!!