View Full Version : Aussie Rock Bands

TheMase
9 Jan 2002, 08:54
I was just wondering if people coulds put down a list of some good Aussie rock bands going round at the moment.

Some that I can think of...

Motor Ace
Bodyjar (more punkish i guess)
Grinspoon...

Add to the list!!

Robbo1
9 Jan 2002, 10:07
GOOD aussie rock bands....there arn't a lot of replies mate......

brampta
9 Jan 2002, 10:37
hmm about good bands from the 80s still going around? :D Coz I could name a lot of those :D

How bout bands like Powderfinger, Silverchair, Jebediah, Eskimo Joe, Spiderbait, Living End (rock - abilly), John Butler Trio...

Lash (tehehe). :D

Macca19
9 Jan 2002, 10:44
I could name a whole heap of good Aussie metal bands....but plain rock i dunno.

Grinspoon would be my fav
Jebediah
Motorace

Darky
9 Jan 2002, 10:56
Not many about, IMHO. I think people tend to have the mentality of "support Aussie rock" because it's home-grown, not because it's necessarily any good or any different.

There were many great bands around in the1980s, but lately the derivative nature of a lot of Aussie bands has put me off in a big way.

Screaming Jets were good, but they are no longer around, AC/DC haven't been Australian in any way since they moved overseas 25 years ago and the less I say about Powderfinger and Something For Kate, the better. :D

coxon
9 Jan 2002, 10:57
regurgitator would be my fave aussie act... ~

hawkfan5
9 Jan 2002, 13:19
The Living End are the best by a mile IMO!!

Nic
9 Jan 2002, 15:22
Originally posted by Darky
the less I say about Something For Kate, the better. :D

Good. Don't say anything.:D

The_Flying_Egg
9 Jan 2002, 15:55
I reckon the only good Aussie rock bands are Powderfinger, Living End, Midnight Oil, Something for Kate and the Screaming Jets

And if u count AC/DC as Aussie they're one of the best too

mandy
9 Jan 2002, 16:20
You Am I? They're pretty good. Especially the early stuff.

M29
9 Jan 2002, 18:32
Here are some great Aussie bands:
Regurgitator
Lazy Suzan - (Along with Regurgitator the only decent oz band at present)

Older Bands
AC/DC
Ice House
Boom Crash Opera

Rusty Brookes
9 Jan 2002, 20:41
Current Aussie bands I love are:

the Naked Eye (plug, plug, plug), the Celibate Rifles, the Mystaken, Hands of Time, Dern Rutledge, Dung, Cosmic Psychos,

All time Aussie Bands: the Saints (early stuff), Radio Birdman, New Christs, the Scientists (reforming soon!), AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, Coloured Balls, the Chosen Few, the Easybeats, the Master's Apprentices, the Missing Links, the Loved Ones, the Sunnyboys (especially their first album) and probably my favourite all time Aussie band: The Eastern Dark

BW
10 Jan 2002, 11:07
Silverchair, The Living End and Superheist

Mcchawk
12 Jan 2002, 09:09
Originally posted by mandy5
You Am I? They're pretty good. Especially the early stuff.

A killer Aussie band, God knows why Timothy Adrian Rodgers doesn't play at the Grand Final? He played second fiddle the Footy Show!! Others I loved .......... Aussie Crawl!!

dogboy23
12 Jan 2002, 09:18
Hunters And Collectors;)

dennisismyhero
14 Jan 2002, 11:36
The Fauves

Definitely the most under-rated Aussie Rock Band.

Mobbenfuhrer
15 Jan 2002, 04:44
v.spy.v.spy

Bigger
15 Jan 2002, 10:17
The Fauves and You Am I both RAWK and, coincidentally, they love footy.

Coxy from the Fauves is a Melbourne Dees tragic and I once spent a drunken evening with Rusty Hopkinson from You Am I reliving the splendour that was the East Freo 79 derby team.

Australian live acts knock spots off Pommy contenders. The dullards from Oasis were gobsmacked by the rocking genius that is Rusty Hopkinson, declaring him "the best fookin drummer EVER". Which he may very well be...

DEVO
15 Jan 2002, 11:52
v.spy.v.spy, The Divinyls and The Falling Joys.

Of the current bands, Henry's Anger and.....

dennisismyhero
15 Jan 2002, 12:58
Originally posted by Bigger
Coxy from the Fauves is a Melbourne Dees tragic

I was at a Fauves concert the night of the Dees vs Roos Prelim final back in '98. They played half a set before Coxy found out that the Dees lost the game. After that he didn't give a toss about the rest of the concert, even when he lost sound out of the mike. Quite a funny night really.

jod23
16 Jan 2002, 01:24
JEBEDIAH!!!!

Mr Eagle
16 Jan 2002, 11:10
Originally posted by M29
Ice House
Boom Crash Opera

Indecent Obsession too :D

Seriously: Powderfinger by a mile.

SydneyBomber
16 Jan 2002, 11:30
Originally posted by DEVO

Of the current bands, Henry's Anger and.....

No longer current I'm afraid.... Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings.

Jerome
18 Jan 2002, 18:39
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
Current Aussie bands I love are:

the Naked Eye (plug, plug, plug), the Celibate Rifles, the Mystaken, Hands of Time, Dern Rutledge, Dung, Cosmic Psychos,

All time Aussie Bands: the Saints (early stuff), Radio Birdman, New Christs, the Scientists (reforming soon!),

Rusty,

I have been waiting for The Human Jukebox to come out on CD since last October. I have just found out today that Kim Salmon & the Scientists are touring again!! I've already got my tickets for the Adelaide show! never thought I'd see it happen.

cheers

Jerome

Jerome
18 Jan 2002, 18:44
Originally posted by TheMase
I was just wondering if people coulds put down a list of some good Aussie rock bands going round at the moment.

Some that I can think of...

Motor Ace
Bodyjar (more punkish i guess)
Grinspoon...

Add to the list!!

Some good ones that are not that well known (but damn well should be)

Spencer P Jones & Cow Penalty
Jeff Lang
Luxedo
Rocket Science
Working Class Ringos
The Black Eyed Susans
If you're into Aussie punk check out The Scientists

cheers

Jerome

Rusty Brookes
19 Jan 2002, 13:25
Originally posted by Jerome

Rusty,

I have been waiting for The Human Jukebox to come out on CD since last October. I have just found out today that Kim Salmon & the Scientists are touring again!! I've already got my tickets for the Adelaide show! never thought I'd see it happen.

cheers

Jerome

Jerome,

Should be a great show. I'll post a review of the Melbourne show at the Corner Hotel. As long as I hear We Had Love, Set it on Fire and Solid Gold Hell I'll be happy.

M29
19 Jan 2002, 15:06
Originally posted by Mr Eagle

Indecent Obsession too :D

Are you being sarcastic? 1927 etc were a gret band(s).

Jerome
21 Jan 2002, 19:17
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Jerome,

Should be a great show. I'll post a review of the Melbourne show at the Corner Hotel. As long as I hear We Had Love, Set it on Fire and Solid Gold Hell I'll be happy.

I'd also like to add SixFtHick to my list above. Rusty, The Human Jukebox finally arrived at my record store today. Great stuff! I'm hoping they play Nitro, Blood Red River & Happy Hour.

Jerome

BT
22 Jan 2002, 17:53
Saw Powderfinger,Grinspoon & Bodyjar in the flesh last year & was very impressed with all 3.

Santos L Helper
23 Jan 2002, 19:10
Apparently an Adelaide band called 'Where's The Pope?' used to rawk ****in hard.

SydneyBomber
24 Jan 2002, 04:56
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Apparently an Adelaide band called 'Where's The Pope?' used to rawk ****in hard.

Nothing quite like a bit of shameless self-promotion eh?;)

Santos L Helper
24 Jan 2002, 09:22
Originally posted by SydneyBomber

Nothing quite like a bit of shameless self-promotion eh?;)

Very true, Mr Bomber.;) :D

Maybe we should have done that more when we were playing instead of worrying more about where our beer was and how many chicks were in the joint.:D

SydneyBomber
24 Jan 2002, 09:24

Very true, Mr Bomber.;) :D

Maybe we should have done that more when we were playing instead of worrying more about where our beer was and how many chicks were in the joint.:D

hehe...

NOTHING is more important than the drinks rider!
Never forget that!;)

TheMase
25 Jan 2002, 07:55
Originally posted by BT
Saw Powderfinger,Grinspoon & Bodyjar in the flesh last year & was very impressed with all 3.

I saw Bodyjar at homebake this year. They were awesome :)

TheMase
25 Jan 2002, 07:56
I heard a new band out of Melbourne yesterday, not bad.

Space Like Alice.

evade28
25 Jan 2002, 11:00
gawd if u want 2 hear space like alice put on MMM they have thrashed that song to death.

TwiggyDunn
25 Jan 2002, 16:03
space like alice, agreed. trashed to death on triple M. I loathe these guys now. I know some people who saw them at the evelyn not long ago said they were woeful live.

Mr. Blonde
25 Jan 2002, 21:36
Eskimo Joe are about the best band going around at the moment.

For a bit of variety Regurgitator, Machine Gun Fellatio, and Gerling are excellent.

daicos4ever
26 Jan 2002, 10:11
Current: Powderfinger, Jebediah, Living End

Older: AC/DC, Aussie Crawl, Hunters & Collectors, Cold Chisel

blues^rock
26 Jan 2002, 19:47
love space like alice, powderfinger ,something for kate, alex lloyd...dunno i fu'd call him a rock band tho...bodyjar, living end, jebediah, silverchair...ummm can't think of anymore for now...

TheMase
27 Jan 2002, 09:57
Originally posted by blues^rock
love space like alice, powderfinger ,something for kate, alex lloyd...dunno i fu'd call him a rock band tho...bodyjar, living end, jebediah, silverchair...ummm can't think of anymore for now...

Do the things we have in common ever stop?
my god.

:D :D

blues^rock
27 Jan 2002, 17:20
obviously not! only difference is u live in bloody sydney...and are male ;)

SPUNKY_MONKEY45
27 Jan 2002, 17:56
obviously not! only difference is u live in bloody sydney...and are male ;)

lol sorry dont think thats the only dif! LOL and Sarah luv all thems too! specially SFK!

blues^rock
27 Jan 2002, 18:22
Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45

lol sorry dont think thats the only dif! LOL and Sarah luv all thems too! specially SFK!

yeah...they are one of my faves! my sis went to the powderfinger concert when SFK were supporting...i so wanted to go to that concertbut of course i had no-one to go with :(

TheMase
28 Jan 2002, 10:53
Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45

Go SFK!

I would have gone with you Sarah ;)

SFK are great live. I saw them at Homebake this year, I was extremely impressed.

Other live acts I saw, were BodyJar, and they rocked, and The Superjesus and they went off!!

:D

blues^rock
28 Jan 2002, 16:56

I would have gone with you Sarah ;)

bit late now!
tell ya what, next time i go to a concert i'll invite ya to come along!

Possum Notting
28 Jan 2002, 19:07
Ok only know older Aussie bands

Hunters & Collectors
Aussie Crawl (Good work Mcchawk)
Ice House

All great bands

TheMase
30 Jan 2002, 15:01

bit late now!
tell ya what, next time i go to a concert i'll invite ya to come along!

Its a date ;) ;)

Rocco Jones
31 Jan 2002, 14:41
What about the Superjesus?

blues^rock
31 Jan 2002, 19:41
Originally posted by Rocco Jones

yeah i like them too, although i do prefer the guy bands...

Rocco Jones
1 Feb 2002, 11:21
The superjesus has only one chick in it, the lovely Sarah McLeod.

TheMase
1 Feb 2002, 12:45
The superjesus has only one chick in it, the lovely Sarah McLeod.

And she goes off live!!!

dennisismyhero
1 Feb 2002, 13:28

And she goes off live!!!

Just like any Aussie Band does....

except Alex Lloyd:mad: :mad: :mad:

Macca19
2 Feb 2002, 17:00
Originally posted by dennisismyhero

Just like any Aussie Band does....

except Alex Lloyd:mad: :mad: :mad:

and Something For Kate

TheMase
4 Feb 2002, 09:33
Originally posted by Macca19

and Something For Kate

Disagree.

cjwalkley
5 Feb 2002, 18:08
You people disappoint me, not one mention of the greatest two Aussie bands of all time.....

Weddings Parties Anything
Paul Kelly and The Coloured Girls (Messengers)

Going around now check out Mick Thomas and The Sure Thing
Ruck Rover
The Lucksmiths

Mcchawk
5 Feb 2002, 18:41
Originally posted by Possum Notting

All great bands

Thanks Possum ( feel like Dame Edna!!)

I saw James Reyne about 10 years ago at the Spit up your way, he played his Aussie Crawl back catalogue. The weather, the beer ,the girls, but most of all the music made it a great night. Probably because I was on holidays!!;) But I say a comeback tour would be good. (But I suppose a fill in for Brad Robinson??)

M29
5 Feb 2002, 19:05

Ice House

All great bands

You've gopt great tatse. I can't seem to find any 1927 websites though... Have you come across any?

Stealth bomber
9 Feb 2002, 15:15
I like most of the Aussie bands that made it here in the 70s and 80s; cliched as it may be. I like the Bon era of Acca Dacca and I like early INXS, Split Enz, Midnight Oil, Crowded House and dare I say it, Men at Work.

I have both Superjesus albums but I don't listen to them much now....some of the songs are terrific but I don't like the production and sound of a lot of them. Sarah makes the band for me; the other three guys aren't anything special in my opinion; I think if they a fairly straightforward male singer that they would sound much less interesting.

I haven't been able to get into Powderfinger. I liked DAF a lot (even recorded a cover) but the more recent tunes don't grab me much.

coxon
10 Feb 2002, 00:20

Hunters & Collectors
Ice House

All great bands

ahh... icehouse...
frontman.. iva davies, was the library prefect at my highschool.. haha

CoastBhoy
12 Feb 2002, 07:23

latest stuff not great

PC28
12 Feb 2002, 12:36
The Living End & Powderfinger go off live, no doubts

You Am I were awesome last time i saw them...

Screaming Jets - Greatest Aussie Band EVER (only one way to listen to Better - LOUD!!!)

SFK were ****e at BDO, but album is great

Spiderbait - Saw them at BDO, beautiful, apsolutly fantastic

Wayne Otway
20 Feb 2002, 19:57
What the ...? Five pages of posts and not one mention of The Mark Of Cain! With all due respect to The Screaming Jets, these guys make them sound like Buck's Fizz. Crunching three-piece riff-o-rama. "This Is This", which was nominated for an Aria last year, is IMHO the best Oz rock album of the last decade. Saw them support the Rollins Band at The Palace in Oct., and frankly, they made old Henry look a little sick. They sound better than ever now with John Stanier (ex-Helmet) on drums. Don't want to sound like Molly or something, but if you want to hear some REALLY powerful Oz rock, you just cannot go past this band.

Try this link if you're interested.

http://www.tmoc.com.au

Cheers
Wayne

Santos L Helper
20 Feb 2002, 20:16
Where's The Pope? were the greatest Aussie band of all time.

dreamkillers
22 Feb 2002, 20:53
Beasts of Bourbon one of my all time favourite local bands and all the acts that were associated with the band members.........after growing up in The Angels and Oils era.........

used to love the Xmas show the Angels put on every year at the Bridgeway Hotel on Boxing Day..........:D

and who could forget The radiators with Gimme Head.......;)

The Hippie
22 Feb 2002, 22:48
Finally someones remembered The Rades. You must be as old as me, dreamkiller. :D :p ;)

TheMase
1 Mar 2002, 10:33
Originally posted by Robbo1
GOOD aussie rock bands....there arn't a lot of replies mate......

Did pretty well in the end didn't it mate :D

Mobbenfuhrer
27 Oct 2003, 08:52
From the distance, I thought ... nay, I felt ... a vague dissing of Bucks Fizz.

Upon arrival I cannot fully descry where that feeling came from, but *finger waggle* let this serve as a warning; no Fizz-dissin', or I cannot be held responsible for the quinceyconces.

Mobbenfuhrer
27 Oct 2003, 08:53
Personally,

Died Pretty
Underground Lovers
Cosmic Psychos
Lime Spiders

... many more (I think)

3lions3
27 Oct 2003, 11:37
Where's The Pope? were the greatest Aussie band of all time.

I wholeheartedly agree. That singer was awesome.

doug thomas
27 Oct 2003, 13:15
I'm with Wayne on TMOC thing.

For me I would put The Spikes, Exploding White Mice Cosmic Psychos, The Eastern Dark and Hard-Ons in there for older rocking bands. Oh, one more, The Psychotic Turnbuckles used to raise the roof.

DT

scottywiper
27 Oct 2003, 16:54
What about Def-FX.
Ahead of their time and boasted the ultra-sexy Fiona Horne.
Great band and awesome live.
I liked Kings of the Sun - two brothers who played great pub rock that not many people ever heard of. Serpentine and Black Leather got a little air play.
And who can forget - the chaos that was Painter and Dockers!
Die Yuppie Die!!!
Finally Dave Hole - legendary WA blues guitarist.

Pantsless
28 Oct 2003, 08:51
Agree about TMOC...they are awesome!

Spiderbait - Absolutely awesome live..The Spanish Galleon is one brilliant album.

Maybe not strictly rock, but what about Bloodduster??

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Oct 2003, 10:15
The Models were pretty rocky on and off.

Agree totally re Kings Of The Sun!

scottywiper
28 Oct 2003, 18:01
Well done Mobbenfuhrer.
Kings of the SUn were supposed to come to Perth once and I teed up to interview them for the uni radio station and scored free tickets for the gig.
Then they cancelled...
Still like their first album, good fun rock'n'roll...

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Oct 2003, 21:41
Yeah I have that album ... hey babe go out and get yourself some black leather ;)

jerry springer
31 Oct 2003, 19:49
surprised no-ones metioned the Angels.

were known as the best live band in australia for about 10 years

PeteLX
31 Oct 2003, 21:07
Magic Dirt

Pre Shrunk (not really rock...two bass players and a drummer playin kinda techno....but still)

lenny&carl
2 Nov 2003, 22:54
Radio Birdman

Fwoy
3 Nov 2003, 01:37
Suprised it took Magic Dirt so long to get a mention...Been consistently good since Raul settled in to the merry-go-round position of lead guitarist. Will see them again for the umpteenth time this summer.

The Meanies provided me with many underage rock moments in south-eastern suburban Victoria.

Anyone like Jet?

Dogwatcher
3 Nov 2003, 09:08
Hmmmmm.....

Weddos, Rocket Science, saw an Adelaide band Hoy hoy recently, oldstagers who do a good job, The Mark of Cain, Def FX, Spiderbait, The Falling Joys.

Also.....

The Butterfly Effect and Cog
Performing at The Loxton Hotel
Saturday, November 22.
$15 a head.

Anyone from Adelaide or Mildura or elsewhere in country SA will find this to be a great show in a good front bar venue.

A bit of self promoting here!!!!!

Dogwatcher
3 Nov 2003, 09:10
And.....if you like rock get out and see more live bands - make it worth a pub's while to hold gigs and keep Australian music alive!

w00dy
3 Nov 2003, 11:03
geez, aussie music... where do i begin...

28 Days
Grinspoon
Jebediah
Antiskeptic
Bodyjar
Frenzal Rhomb
Area 7
For Amusement Only
Powderfinger
Machine Gun Fellatio (well not rock, but what??)
The Butterfly Effect
The Living End
Superheist
Motor Ace
Magic Dirt
Gyroscope
Sunk Loto
Jet
The Vines

those last 2 are a bit different though... why is it they have shot to overseas success straight away, when imho there are far better aussie bands that barely make a dint OS... commercial products i think...

off the top of my head... not all exactly rock, but close enough

add pacifier to that list too, they live in melbourne even though they're from NZ...

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Nov 2003, 11:41
Originally posted by w00dy
Area 7

My wife is in the video clip to Bitter Words, as she was the sound recordist for the clip (the style was a video clip of them making a video clip, so many of the crew were shown in the background). Therefore I am famous.

/namedrop

lenny&carl
3 Nov 2003, 22:21
Wow Mobbenfuhrer, and I'm talking to you on a webforum, therefore, by proxy, I am famous too. :)

Goldenblue
4 Nov 2003, 09:03
Superjesus

Old Favs:

The Oils
Chisel
Sunnyboys
Criminal Society
Baby Animals

Akalon
4 Nov 2003, 15:53
Segression!