View Full Version : Thoughts on The Carlton Game
Wayne's-World
27 May 2006, 15:01
An hour before the game and must admit I'm not that excited.....looking forward to see if Knights plays a good game but I'm not for looking back and IMO Skippy and Stevens is llooking back not forward.
But who else was available fit and raring for an opportunity.....personally I would rather have played Maric at CHB...at least thats forward thinking.
Pity Gibson is still not up to speed...would have been a great opportunity for the kid.
These are our future ......
An hour before the game and must admit I'm not that excited.....looking forward to see if Knights plays a good game but I'm not for looking back and IMO Skippy and Stevens is llooking back not forward.
But who else was available fit and raring for an opportunity.....personally I would rather have played Maric at CHB...at least thats forward thinking.
Pity Gibson is still not up to speed...would have been a great opportunity for the kid.
First quarter - Carlton are shooting themselves in the foot with poor ball skills.
Are we playing well or are they playing poorly - difficult to tell.
Second quarter - we started to lairize as we did at the end of last quarter. Another poor second quarter.
We look vulnerable down back without Ben Hart.
Rutten has his hands full with Fevola.
Stevens beaten one on one consistently. He gets the ball when on his own, but giving Fevola too much room.
Thommo three clangers in a row.
Mattner looks sore and stiff. Is he injured?
Bode poor until he kicked that ball to Burton.
Roo still struggling at FF. Hentschell our only forward who looks like taking a mark.
They have taken too many uncontested marks in the back half.
Clarke not doing enough - Biglands better today.
Up till half time we are still not playing that tough uncompromising football we are known for. We have let Carlton back into the game.:mad: :mad: :mad:
FFS Kenny have you forgotten how to kick the ball.
He is also leading under the ball all of the time.
We have lost the art of spoiling in defence. Too many uncontested marks
Doughty played well - in our best for the first quarter - but poor kick when kicking for goal.
Still not enough deperation in our game or ruthless tackles when we are on song.
maccas_no1
27 May 2006, 18:42
Good Solid win but still cant put together four quarters:(
Goodwin, Doughty, Mcleod, Johncock in my best players.
Credit to Stevens played a good game today.
Wayne's-World
27 May 2006, 19:33
Todays game deserves a hard critique based on our efforts last week, who we were playing and the expected response we should get on the rebound against carlton.
Gotta say I was fluctuating between praise and disappointment today as some disturbing trends from recent weeks were continued:
1. Well beaten again in the second qtr
2. Beaten for the game in clearances - wasn't this a strength in our game
3. Beaten for the game in contested footy
4. Thommo....again with the lairising:rolleyes:
5. Roo is not fit....was seen to be flexing his left leg after the game in a fashion that suggests it's not a hamstring issue.
So we won by 64 points! ....let me assure everyone it was a combination of Adelaides efficiency and Carltons clangers....but was it good enough to beat the better sides?
lead by 45 points some 20 minutes into the first qtr yet only outscored Carlton by some 20 points for the last 3 qtrs????
The second qtr after playing AGAIN beautiful first qtr footy appeared that we did not attack hard enough......and then when Carlton started to come back we went defensive throwing more men behind the ball.
It's simple play hard attacking footy as we did in the first qtr and make a statement that last weeks effort was unacceptable.
It was very noticable after Burton went off how dependant, without Welsh, & Perrie, we are on Burton. That last qtr effort of 2 goals to one flashed some danger signs IMO.
Doughty: what a great month of footy .....showing form beyound the expectation of most Crows footy fans and in our top 3 today.
Macca: BOG ...produced that run from the HB line thru the centre and his disposals were excellent....Carlton had no answer.
Goodwin: after a average patch of 3 weeks where he was heavily tagged he was back to his best and got some valuable contested footy to get us going
Van Berlo: This kid is "special"....Craig on Fox footy heaped praise on him by saying that his improvement in the last month was special for a kid of his age.
The composure and some of his in close efforts today were superb...and he's only 19!!!
Burton: Carlton had no answer and his marking was the best it has been....shows what he's capable if he can string games together consistently and run into form.
Bassett/ Stiffy: These guys mopped up everything today taking the pressure off of Rutten. Their run and clean disposal was excellent and set up many attacks.
Reilly: continued his great form....he now has the confidence to hold the ball when tackled, break the tackle and deliver with precision
Stevens: the matchup with Whitnall was ideal with their pace being on a par....he did well, copped some praise from Craig but my opinion doesn't change game by game!
Knights: Did some good things in the last qtr....but his disposal, sharpness, and leg speed still has a lot of work to be done.....but as I have said he will be a player!
Hentschell: Not at the point where he can be the focul point of the attack, plaays better as the third tall ATS of his career....and is suffering with Welsh and Perrie out. Still his performance today was pleasing
Some players that disappointed me today:
Mattner as Bigman has said looks injured...he certainly looks slower, particularly off the mark. I haven't seen him stick many of his trademark tackles this year...yes he got Murphy but how many can you remember?
Skippy did his future no good today with an average performance that really only cemented peoples opinions of him.
MacGregor (yes the one who everyone here said was on our untouchable list)....meh
Clarke, looks tired and is getting beaten for first hand to the ball....a rarity in his time....he has to be "rested" soon not Dropped!
Bode again was quiet but I'm not reading anything into it....his attack on the footy and man with the ball was fantastic....it's just not falling his awy at present.
I suppose the disappointing thing today was that it was the same players again leading the way (Goody, Macca...) There was less of what we have seen with Craig and that is an even team performance
Good Solid win but still cant put together four quarters:(
Goodwin, Doughty, Mcleod, Johncock in my best players.
Credit to Stevens played a good game today.
Much better third quarter. Was there a wind of significiance today.
Macca, Goody, Dogga, Bass, Stiffy all in the better players.
Stevens better after half time (bugger), but I still have my doubts about him long term- he will play next week after the things Carigy said about him.
Clarke down on form - Maric should be tried next week.
VB played most of the game - he needs to be given more time on the park!!!!
Massie down on form until he came back on in the last quarter.
Will people please stop giving Dogga a hard time. His last two or three years have been very good and his form in recent times has been of a very high order. He is more than a depth player.
Skippy did not do enough - he is likely to be given the rasberry and sars next week.
Is the skipper fit?
Ins: Maric, Edwards
Outs: Skippy, Clarke
Wayne's-World
27 May 2006, 19:48
Gee I'll have to differ with you on this, I thought he was great today and continued his good touch.
Can't remember his making a clanger of his opponent getting on top of him?
Gee I'll have to differ with you on this, I thought he was great today and continued his good touch.
Can't remember his making a clanger of his opponent getting on top of him?
WW, i think Lappin may have got the better of him and kicked 3 goals. hemay have been taken off because of this. Mind you our defence was leaking like a sieve in the second quarter.
SpringChoke
27 May 2006, 21:42
Stevens looked great when in space but man on man he gets beaten too often for my liking. Macca, and Stiffy were amazing. Thommo was disappointing in the first half, great in the second.
Credit where credits due, I thought Biglands tap work was sensation today, especially in the first quarter. We seemed to lose momentum when he was replaced by Clarke.
Doughty was excellent, seems to be backing himself in alot more. The cheap sideways and backwards give to more senior players seem to have disappeared. He could have saved his career.
I'm excited that Welsh, Thornet and Edwards should be back in the next few weeks. Becuase if we go into the finals with Stevens, Skipwroth and to a lesser extent Massie, Bode and Doughty all in the same team we won't go far.
Roo is definately playing hurt and let's hope for his sake, Mcgregor is also playing hurt becuase if he's not he's in the worst form slump of his better than solid career.
We definately have a player in young Van Berlo.
SpringChoke
27 May 2006, 22:03
Much better third quarter. Was there a wind of significiance today.
Macca, Goody, Dogga, Bass, Stiffy all in the better players.
Stevens better after half time (bugger), but I still have my doubts about him long term- he will play next week after the things Carigy said about him.
Clarke down on form - Maric should be tried next week.
VB played most of the game - he needs to be given more time on the park!!!!
Will people please stop giving Dogga a hard time. His last two or three years have been very good and his form in recent times has been of a very high order. He is more than a depth player.
Skippy did not do enough - he is likely to be given the rasberry and sars next week.
Is the skipper fit?
Ins: Maric, Edwards
Outs: Skippy, Clarke
Clarke 1 Kick, 1 handball, 0 marks - I wouldn't drop hiom but I would bring in Maric ( won't happen ) to share the ruck duties with Clarke and move Biglands to the forward line.
INS: Maric, Edwards.
OUTS: Stevens, Skipworth.
As for Skippy, unfortunately as much as I think he has a big heart, he is not skilful enough or tough enough to make it at this level. He is not strong enough to play in the midfield and as a small forward, Vince, Porp and Bode are all better options.
I think Bodey has been sensational this year but he has now played 2 bad games in a row. He wouldn't want to play 3 in a row especially with the gifted Porp and Vince breathing down his neck.
maccas_no1
27 May 2006, 22:32
Clarke 1 Kick, 1 handball, 0 marks - I wouldn't drop hiom but I would bring in Maric ( won't happen ) to share the ruck duties with Clarke and move Biglands to the forward line.
INS: Maric, Edwards.
OUTS: Stevens, Skipworth.
As for Skippy, unfortunately as much as I think he has a big heart, he is not skilful enough or tough enough to make it at this level. He is not strong enough to play in the midfield and as a small forward, Vince, Porp and Bode are all better options.
I think Bodey has been sensational this year but he has now played 2 bad games in a row. He wouldn't want to play 3 in a row especially with the gifted Porp and Vince breathing down his neck.
Good stuff springy just one thing I dont think the AFC can drop Stevens on todays performance.
Ins: Maric,Edwards and Torney
Outs: Skipworth, Knights and Bode
Crow-mo
27 May 2006, 22:45
Stevens looked great when in space but man on man he gets beaten too often for my liking.
Dustin Fletcher made a career out of this. maybe we can trade him to essendon for one of their priority picks :p
Wayne's-World
27 May 2006, 22:47
Dustin Fletcher made a career out of this. maybe we can trade him to essendon for one of their priority picks :p
Definately greatly over-rated
crows98
27 May 2006, 23:01
Good stuff springy just one thing I dont think the AFC can drop Stevens on todays performance.
Ins: Maric,Edwards and Torney
Outs: Skipworth, Knights and Bode
We won by 11 goals today and you want to make 3 necessary changes?
Next week we are playing Essendon, a very young side with a large amount of inexperienced players so the necessity to rush Scott Welsh and Jason Torney back into the side will not be there. I would hold off playing them and give them another week in the magoos to find match fitness.
Tyson Edwards is no certainty to come back into the side as I have received a conflicting reports about his alleged ankle injury (something else :( ) and if he has this mystery injury he will not be ready for a few more weeks. I will allow the person to reveal what the injury is in there own good time but if Tyson Edwards is not fit enough to play I would be going with an unchanged line up.
If Tyson Edwards plays, one change
In: Edwards
Out: Skipworth
Crow-mo
27 May 2006, 23:08
Definately greatly over-rated
you take that back! he's one of the great defenders of modern times.
it's not his fault all the quality forwards are too scared to play on him :D
maccas_no1
27 May 2006, 23:14
We won by 11 goals today and you want to make 3 necessary changes?
Next week we are playing Essendon, a very young side with a large amount of inexperienced players so the necessity to rush Scott Welsh and Jason Torney back into the side will not be there. I would hold off playing them and give them another week in the magoos to find match fitness.
Tyson Edwards is no certainty to come back into the side as I have received a conflicting reports about his alleged ankle injury (something else :( ) and if he has this mystery injury he will not be ready for a few more weeks. I will allow the person to reveal what the injury is in there own good time but if Tyson Edwards is not fit enough to play I would be going with an unchanged line up.
If Tyson Edwards plays, one change
In: Edwards
Out: Skipworth
Just feel if we have the opportunity we should play a couple of our experienced players coming back from injury, as you said we are playing Essendon so its a good opportunity.
If Welsh was fit enough I would give him a run also.
Brisbane the week after and Torney and Welsh with an AFL game under there belt will be pretty handy.
crows98
27 May 2006, 23:28
Just feel if we have the opportunity we should play a couple of our experienced players coming back from injury, as you said we are playing Essendon so its a good opportunity.
If Welsh was fit enough I would give him a run also.
Brisbane the week after and Torney and Welsh with an AFL game under there belt will be pretty handy.
But it’s also a good opportunity to give Chris Knights and Nathan Van Berlo a full game rather than only giving them only half a game.
Jason Torney and Scott Welsh are seasoned players and know what to expect, all they would need is match fitness and they will be able to adapt to the tempo of the game. They wont need to be eased back into it.
Good team effort today :thumbsu:
McLeod was brilliant and unstoppable. Doughty went in hard and really put his body on the line, he played really well.
Must say the crowd was dead silent the whole afternoon :thumbsd:
Did anyone else see that banner that said, 'Cragy for whitehouse direct' :D
macca23
28 May 2006, 00:01
Some players that disappointed me today:
Mattner as Bigman has said looks injured...he certainly looks slower, particularly off the mark. I haven't seen him stick many of his trademark tackles this year...yes he got Murphy but how many can you remember?
Skippy did his future no good today with an average performance that really only cemented peoples opinions of him.
MacGregor (yes the one who everyone here said was on our untouchable list)....meh
Clarke, looks tired and is getting beaten for first hand to the ball....a rarity in his time....he has to be "rested" soon not Dropped!
Bode again was quiet but I'm not reading anything into it....his attack on the footy and man with the ball was fantastic....it's just not falling his awy at present.
Actually, the whole piece of yours was pretty good overall WW. I agreed with all your positives even though they didn't mention Shirley anywhere, who I though played a good game. I am surprised, as I've never known you to be biased :p .
On the negatives, as usual you've ripped into Kenny without any understanding of the word structure. Surprise surprise!! :eek:
And golly golly!! You thought Bodey was quiet, but at least you didn't pull his arms and legs off one at a time as we've seen at times in the past. ;)
Your calls on the rest are pretty accurate though. Something MUST be wrong with Mattner - he's only a shadow of the player he was last year at the moment, and Skippy is continuing to somewhat underwhelm.
As for Clarke, that wasn't much of a game from him today, and that's coming from someone who normally defends him.
I wouldn't be opposed to resting him for the Essendon game to give Maric another run at this level.
Crow_68
28 May 2006, 00:11
Actually, the whole piece of yours was pretty good overall WW. I agreed with all your positives even though they didn't mention Shirley anywhere, who I though played a good game. I am surprised, as I've never known you to be biased :p .
On the negatives, as usual you've ripped into Kenny without any understanding of the word structure. Surprise surprise!! :eek:
And golly golly!! You thought Bodey was quiet, but at least you didn't pull his arms and legs off one at a time as we've seen at times in the past. ;)
Your calls on the rest are pretty accurate though. Something MUST be wrong with Mattner - he's only a shadow of the player he was last year at the moment, and Skippy is continuing to somewhat underwhelm.
As for Clarke, that wasn't much of a game from him today, and that's coming from someone who normally defends him.
I wouldn't be opposed to resting him for the Essendon game to give Maric another run at this level.
In: Edwards, Porplyzia (if fit), Maric
Out: Skippy (omit), Mattner, Clarke (rest)
maccas_no1
28 May 2006, 00:12
Must say the crowd was dead silent the whole afternoon :thumbsd:
What else would you expect at AAMI Theatre?????:mad: :thumbsd:
crows98
28 May 2006, 00:29
What else would you expect at AAMI Theatre?????:mad: :thumbsd:
To be fair Marty, the atmosphere today was shyzzen and the worst so far for a long time but overall the other 3 home games this season the atmosphere has been relatively good.
Wayne's-World
28 May 2006, 08:48
Actually, the whole piece of yours was pretty good overall WW. I agreed with all your positives even though they didn't mention Shirley anywhere, who I though played a good game. I am surprised, as I've never known you to be biased
You always think the waterboys have had a good game though Macca ;)
On the negatives, as usual you've ripped into Kenny without any understanding of the word structure. Surprise surprise!!
Meh! is ripping into someone :confused:
They have to even out the match payments somehow Macca
And golly golly!! You thought Bodey was quiet, but at least you didn't pull his arms and legs off one at a time as we've seen at times in the past.
:D how did you know I did that to bees when I was a youngster in Richmond
Kane McGoodwin
28 May 2006, 20:49
Some tough selection choices this week. It is a real shame that the state game was on the WE for JT & Welsh, as they probably need another game at least for match fitness. But if Roo is still struggling, Welsh may be worth considering. Ditto for JT with respect to Mattner (though I don't think he is too bad). Would be a good time to bring in Maric for Clarke (Biglands is not a forward!) Skippy probably to make way for Edwards (Bode & Knights deserve to stay IMO). Stevens is a must to play on the Dons talls.
PS. Back to the topic - awesome to see Macca back to his attacking/rebounding best. Our HB line of Macca, Hound & Stiffy was unbelievable yesterday.
SpringChoke
28 May 2006, 21:15
Just watched the game again and I was really surprised with how well Reilly played. His disposal by foot was outstanding. I never thought I would say this, but both he and Doughty's attack at the man/contest is now second to none. The influense these two vastly improved players have had on our win/loss ratio during this time of high injury, cannot be understated. For consistency of performance, and ignoring past reputations, both would be in our top 10 players over the last 9 weeks.
Drummond
28 May 2006, 21:21
There is no doubt about it, Reilly is now an exceptional player, he is one of the midfield leaders of our team. His work around the stoppages is great and his disposal is now very reliable. Great to see him step up his game this year and become the player we all thought he could be. And probably the most pleasing aspect of his game is his ferocious tackling, he doesn’t even need many possessions to make a big impact such is the standard of his tackling and hustling around the packs.
Stiffy_18
28 May 2006, 21:25
Just watched the game again and I was really surprised with how well Reilly played. His disposal by foot was outstanding. I never thought I would say this, but both he and Doughty's attack at the man/contest is now second to none. The influense these two vastly improved players have had on our win/loss ratio during this time of high injury, cannot be understated. For consistency of performance, and ignoring past reputations, both would be in our top 10 players over the last 9 weeks.
No doubt he has improved Springy. I also watched the game today again and he was good. His work in close is great and he does hunt the ball well in packs. When I look back, I remember a skinny, shy kid that didn't know what a hard ball get looked like and now I see a player who goes in hard, and uses the ball generally well. He has completely transformed his game from an outside wingman to an inside midfielder.
He is just about "put down your glasses" when he has a set shot at goal, but he does spray them on the run. He will continue to improve.
I am a bit disappointed that he hasn't been given a bit more responsibility this year. I would give him a lot more game time and play him in the guts. But then again who am I to question Craigy on how he develops players.
One pleasing aspect as far as Reilly's game is concerned is his belief in himself. For a couple of weeks in a row now, I have seen him break a tackle from the opposition. He is much stronger now which further shows his great balance.
Wayne's-World
28 May 2006, 22:17
One pleasing aspect as far as Reilly's game is concerned is his belief in himself. For a couple of weeks in a row now, I have seen him break a tackle from the opposition. He is much stronger now which further shows his great balance.
Stiffy IMO the main improvement this year has come from his legs....he's definately regained his original pace from when he was recruited but he also is much stronger in the legs....hence the breaking tackles and running thru packs at pace to get or receive the ball.
It's fantastic to see :thumbsu:
Wayne's-World
28 May 2006, 22:18
PS were their whispers of wanting to trade Reilly :rolleyes:
Blue Red and Gold
28 May 2006, 22:55
Reilly has been brilliant this year and has been our shining light. The only critisism I have of him is his finishing off in front of goals.
Just needs to nail some goals, particulary on the run, and he will take that next step up.
Wayne's-World
28 May 2006, 23:39
Reilly has been brilliant this year and has been our shining light. The only critisism I have of him is his finishing off in front of goals.
Just needs to nail some goals, particulary on the run, and he will take that next step up.
Seems to kick them on the outside of his boot ...in golfing terms an inside to inside arc
Stiffy_18
28 May 2006, 23:50
I am very confident when he lines up for goal from set shots. He can get those no problem. But as you say, on the run its a different matter.
He will get better.
Stiffy_18
28 May 2006, 23:51
Seems to kick them on the outside of his boot ...in golfing terms an inside to inside arc
Where as Thommo tends to kick with the inside of his foot when he burns the ball ;)
Wayne's-World
28 May 2006, 23:54
Where as Thommo tends to kick with the inside of his foot when he burns the ball ;)
Agree with that ...ATS have a little more confidence in Thommo on the run V Reilly, but he'll improve
dyertribe
29 May 2006, 00:01
PS were their whispers of wanting to trade Reilly :rolleyes:
I know you attended this as a rhetorical question, but yes there was and I was one of them.
This was his make-or-break year and good on him, he looks to have broken out, thus only increasing his trade value further... ;)
... Kristof's packet of M&Ms just became a block of Caramello and a Darrel Lea voucher (which according to the scouts in Victoria will get you a quality selection that sh#ts all over the chocolate the girl guides sold them).
Wayne's-World
29 May 2006, 00:30
I know you attended this as a rhetorical question, but yes there was and I was one of them.
This was his make-or-break year and good on him, he looks to have broken out, thus only increasing his trade value further... ;)
... Kristof's packet of M&Ms just became a block of Caramello and a Darrel Lea voucher (which according to the scouts in Victoria will get you a quality selection that sh#ts all over the chocolate the girl guides sold them).
So you would trade him for what???
Your not going to get a quality KPP, so where do you improve by trading reilly?
AdelUniCrowFan
29 May 2006, 02:37
McLeod certainly created some run from defence. He gained 1167m for the Crows during the match, a season best for the AFL (and an overall record considering the stat has been used for 9 games so far)
When rivals have 23/23 vision
By ANDREW CAPEL
29may06
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19287393%255E25397,00.html
Attacking defence in control
By ANDREW CAPEL
29may06
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19287392%255E25397,00.html
drakeyv2
29 May 2006, 10:07
To be fair Marty, the atmosphere today was shyzzen and the worst so far for a long time but overall the other 3 home games this season the atmosphere has been relatively good.
The atmosphere was shyzzen because it was a shyzzen game of football.
I can't believe the game has got to the point that I would be :D:D:D:Ded off watching my team belt Carlton by 10 but AFL football has become a joke. Boring non-contested crap, flooding, kicking backwards, it's not our game.
The coaches (Craig included) & the rule makers stand condemed for what they have done to our once great game.
For god's sake, please get a copy of the rule book from 1986 & start using that again.
macca23
29 May 2006, 10:30
Correct. It's a technical error relating to when he guides the ball down, as there are times that he guides to the inside of the arc of his leg, hence kicking with the inside of his foot.
When he gets the drop straight, he's an excellent kick.
Darren Jarman - where are you when you're needed.??
It amazes me the number of AFL players that do have technical problems with their kicking eg Tredrea with his bent leg, which tended to spoon the ball out to the right.
crows98
29 May 2006, 10:48
So you would trade him for what???
Your not going to get a quality KPP, so where do you improve by trading reilly?
Martin Mattner (or our first round pick) and Brent Reilly to the Western Bulldogs for Adam Cooney? :thumbsu:
There is NO way I would do that.
crows98
29 May 2006, 15:02
Why not Gets? :cool:
Just curious as to why you wouldn’t do that deal?
Because Reilly will develop into a star of the AFL and Mattner will be a very good player for us for another 8 or so years.
Cooney is good, but he is only one player...and he is too inconsistent I reckon.
buttersoft
29 May 2006, 15:41
what about griffen?
Blue Red and Gold
29 May 2006, 15:45
what about griffen?
I dont think it would happen but I would prefer Griffen over Cooney.
dyertribe
29 May 2006, 16:17
Because Reilly will develop into a star of the AFL ... Cooney is good, but he is only one player...and he is too inconsistent I reckon.
The rose-coloured glasses have certainly come on with Reilly - yes he's had a solid start to the season but Cooney still has it all over him given they're about at the same level of gametime but Cooney is nearly a full two years younger.
COONEY, Adam in 2006 (Age 20 - 30/09/85, 50 Career Games)
Games: 9
Disposals: 18.9 per game
Marks: 5.4 per game
Tackles: 4.8 per game
Goals: 1.3 per game
Clearances: 2.4 per game
Inside-50s: 3.0 per game
Contested Possessions: 1.7 per game
1-percenters: 3.6 per game
Errors: 2.8 per game
REILLY, Brent in 2006 (Age 22 - 12/11/83, 53 Career Games)
Games: 9
Disposals: 17.8 per game
Marks: 5.0 per game
Tackles: 6.0 per game
Goals: 0.7 per game
Clearances: 1.9 per game
Inside-50s: 4.0 per game
Contested Possessions: 2.2 per game
1-percenters: 4.6 per game
Errors: 4.0 per game
I have always thought Reilly was a gun.
But Crows 98 suggested both Reilly and Mattner for Cooney. Not just Reilly for Cooney.
buttersoft
29 May 2006, 16:44
But Crows 98 suggested both Reilly and Mattner for Cooney. Not just Reilly for Cooney.
reilly and a 2nd rounder?
remember this is the year that trading picks for players is beneficial to clubs like ours and yours.
crows98
29 May 2006, 16:50
If the Adelaide Crows went to the Western Bulldogs in trade week and said to Rocket, we will give you young Brent Reilly and we will be more than satisfied to receive Adam Cooney in return. The Western Bulldogs will simply laugh at us and not even consider it, if we added Martin Mattner (or out first round pick) and it could potentially happen
Adam Cooney will be a star.
Mattner and Reilly potentially will be good player but will never be top 5 league players, Adam Cooney will be IMO.
I believe that the deal would be worth it, its fine that you don’t but I do.
SpringChoke
29 May 2006, 17:00
If the Adelaide Crows went to the Western Bulldogs in trade week and said to Rocket, we will give you young Brent Reilly and we will be more than satisfied to receive Adam Cooney in return. The Western Bulldogs will simply laugh at us and not even consider it, if we added Martin Mattner (or out first round pick) and it could potentially happen
Adam Cooney will be a star.
Mattner and Reilly potentially will be good player but will never be top 5 league players, Adam Cooney will be IMO.
I believe that the deal would be worth it, its fine that you don’t but I do.
For a club that i still effectively in "renovation" mode why would you trade 2 quality young players for 1? I also believe there are huge question marks over Cooneys hardness at the contest and lack of consistency.
Stiffy_18
29 May 2006, 17:08
I dont think it would happen but I would prefer Griffen over Cooney.
Ditto
Stiffy_18
29 May 2006, 17:12
REILLY, Brent in 2006 (Age 22 - 12/11/83, 53 Career Games)
Tackles: 6.0 per game
1-percenters: 4.6 per game
Those are the most pleasing aspects of Reilly's game for me so far this year. He really has completely changed his game from outside wingman to inside midfielder.
dyertribe
29 May 2006, 17:23
No doubt, still - wouldn't mind seeing the clearances rise and the tackles drop if he is to be a prime ball-winner.
It's a very basic assumption based on raw numbers, but as an inside-midfielder those stats would suggest he is second to the ball more often than not.
Blue Red and Gold
29 May 2006, 17:39
Cooney is a loose cannon if you ask me.
Blue Red and Gold
29 May 2006, 17:40
I dont even know why we are talking about it but instead of going for Cooney I would prefer to either go for Griffen or Waters.
Stiffy_18
29 May 2006, 17:56
I dont even know why we are talking about it but instead of going for Cooney I would prefer to either go for Griffen or Waters.
I'd rather go Cooney or Waters.
Waters has proven to be injury prone and a bit undisciplined. Cooney has a match winning quality.
I would go Griffen, Cooney then Waters.
Blue Red and Gold
29 May 2006, 18:01
he hasnt been that injury prone, he had OP last season and well being hit by a taxi, its more of an impact injury rather than soft tissue ;)
He has been a tad undiscliplined but I think that is due to him being an agressive player and just not harnessing this in the correct way. He will learn.
Cooney will always be the more spectacular of the 2/3 but I think you will find, in the long run Waters and Griffen will be better. They are more passionate with their footy and want to get the best out of themselves. Cooney I am not so sure about, just not sure if he is prepared to work as hard as the other two.
macca23
29 May 2006, 18:04
I'd rather go Cooney or Waters.
Waters has proven to be injury prone and a bit undisciplined. Cooney has a match winning quality.
I would go Griffen, Cooney then Waters.
Surely a typo, Stiffy?? :confused:
Stiffy_18
29 May 2006, 18:48
Surely a typo, Stiffy?? :confused:
I meant
I'da rather go Cooney than Waters ;)
IMHO Griffen > Cooney > Waters
NikkiNoo
29 May 2006, 19:47
my main concern with Cooney, from watching him this year, is that he is a front runner and not willing to do the hard work, like play accountable football. He seems to be very happy to run forward of the ball but when there is a turnover or a defensive action is required he doesn't even put in. That type of player would not last long in a Craig team. Agree he has great match winning ability but he needs to play the accountable football style to be a crows player.
macca23
29 May 2006, 21:23
my main concern with Cooney, from watching him this year, is that he is a front runner and not willing to do the hard work, like play accountable football. He seems to be very happy to run forward of the ball but when there is a turnover or a defensive action is required he doesn't even put in. That type of player would not last long in a Craig team. Agree he has great match winning ability but he needs to play the accountable football style to be a crows player.
I agree with you Nikki, so that makes you a great judge IMO!! ;) :D
Cooney is full of natural talent BUT dead set a front runner, who loves to run past, take the easy handball and then run in the open.
Definitely plays forward of the ball and doesn't chase overly hard.
Flashy and eye-catching, but you can't have too many of these in a footy club. Winning is based on hard work and that type of player relies on the hard workers feeding him.
Port lost one of these types of players at the end of 2003 and won the flag without him in 2004.
Just ask Nick Stevens. :)
Crow-mo
29 May 2006, 21:24
i would. 17 times on tuesday