View Full Version : WRFL Division 2

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

Death@ #27
16 Jun 2006, 10:45
anyone have tips for round 9 in div 2 ?? - match of the day would have to be the albanvale / west footscray clash @ bruce reserve - two real premiership contenders - albanvale might sneak thru at home for my liking, unless big laney kicks a bag (7-8g)

My Tips

Albanvale vs West Footscray
Central Altona vs Wyndhamvale
Coburg vs Braybrook
Deer Park vs Western Magpies
Glenorden vs Nth Sunshine
Nth Footscray vs Gladstone Park
Sunshine Heights vs Brunswick Power

beefeater1000
16 Jun 2006, 11:59
Albanvale in that 1 for me. West rely too much on Lane, Cubella and Mcghie. Cubella is at the world cup and Albanvale have enough good players to cover 2 forwards.

Does anyone know anything about Baines from West. He is in the best every week?
had a look on the wrfl website and he has been in the best everyweek except one game v Gladdy.
whos the bloke they call Crawf, he plays in the middle, is that M.Baines?

Travvy43
16 Jun 2006, 16:25
My Tips

Albanvale vs West Footscray
Central Altona vs Wyndhamvale
Coburg vs Braybrook
Deer Park vs Western Magpies
Glenorden vs Nth Sunshine
Nth Footscray vs Gladstone Park
Sunshine Heights vs Brunswick Power

Albanvale- cubella out and home ground advantage
Centrals- because of home ground only
Deer Park- too much class
Orden- two big recognised forward to kick a good winning score
Devils- by plenty, shephard can only do so much
Sunny heights- pencil greto in for 10

ditchdavey
16 Jun 2006, 18:40
Someone tell me how Burrowes and Speakman are travelling down at W. Footscray.
Are brunswick still paying their players with persian rugs?

GoesBangFrom50
16 Jun 2006, 18:50
Sunny heights- pencil greto in for 10

Fair effort to that from Germany but he is pretty good so u never know!!

EDFL MAN
16 Jun 2006, 18:54
Fair effort to that from Germany but he is pretty good so u never know!!

Is Brad Hall still playing at Deer Park?
Haven't seen his name in the goal kickers this year, is he still playing there? :confused:

GoesBangFrom50
16 Jun 2006, 18:55
Is Brad Hall still playing at Deer Park?
Haven't seen his name in the goal kickers this year, is he still playing there? :confused:

Played in the two's at the start of the year... looked fit so I dont know what the story is there

EDFL MAN
16 Jun 2006, 19:02
Played in the two's at the start of the year... looked fit so I dont know what the story is there

Thanks Goesbang, good player in my opinion. :thumbsu:
Just selfish at time and lazy. :rolleyes:

obe1
17 Jun 2006, 10:53
Thanks Goes bang, good player in my opinion. :thumbsu:
Just selfish at time and lazy. :rolleyes:

Spot on EDFL FAN Man, good knock about bloke that has promised much but delivered little in both comps, as a young bloke reminded me a little of another deer park boy who could and should have more of he's talent (Tyson Lane )

EDFL MAN
17 Jun 2006, 19:36
Spot on EDFL FAN Man, good knock about bloke that has promised much but delivered little in both comps, as a young bloke reminded me a little of another deer park boy who could and should have more of he's talent (Tyson Lane )

Totally agree Obe1, it shame the bloke is lazy. :(

GoesBangFrom50
17 Jun 2006, 19:48
Heard McGhie from West did a hammy today. Can anyone confirm this?

Roonaldo!
17 Jun 2006, 20:57
Brent Hall is in the reserves purely because he is lazy. Spoke to a Deer Park player and said that even though he is super talented (90 goals one season in the firsts) he just simply couldnt be bothered. Took himself off at 3/4 time today after botting 8 goals, because he couldnt be ****ed out there.

Death@ #27
17 Jun 2006, 21:16
Sunshine Heights bet Brunswick Power by 401 points!!!!!!!! Must be a record thats the biggest win i think any of us have ever heard of

GoesBangFrom50
17 Jun 2006, 23:01
Sunshine Heights bet Brunswick Power by 401 points!!!!!!!! Must be a record thats the biggest win i think any of us have ever heard of

Was at the game. Could have beeen worese for Brunswick if Heights didnt have 6 senior players in Germany... including Greto, Weston and Mallia

Death@ #27
18 Jun 2006, 15:35
How come Nth Sunshine have been so dissapointing this year? , this time last year they were in A grade ...

GoesBangFrom50
18 Jun 2006, 16:03
They dont have any $$$ left ..... and the players that got them to Div 1 were only at the club for the cash!

coldog
18 Jun 2006, 17:33
Was at Magpies Match yeaterday and they lost by 201 points, and just saw that Brunswick lost by 401 points.

2 Questions to ponder.

Would Western Magpies beat Brunswick Power next time they play in Round 17 at Laverton?

And who is the worst, Western Magpies or Brunswick.

Falcon
18 Jun 2006, 19:14
Last year I played against both, and I have got to say that Brunswick is by far the worst team in the league. But things have changed this year. I have gone down to U'18's again so from what I have seen this year I'd still say the Magpies are still a tad better than the Power.

My North
18 Jun 2006, 19:31

score was
63.30.408 to 1.1.7

Give Brunswick Power some credit that they got a goal, who was the goal kicker??? I wonder and how many blokes from Sunshine Heights kicked goals. How many you guys have in the WRFL 21 or 22 players per team?? Possible that eveyone kicked a least a goal

Are Brunswick Power the worst football team in Australia???

GoesBangFrom50
18 Jun 2006, 19:36
score was
63.30.408 to 1.1.7

Give Brunswick Power some credit that they got a goal, who was the goal kicker??? I wonder and how many blokes from Sunshine Heights kicked goals. How many you guys have in the WRFL 21 or 22 players per team?? Possible that eveyone kicked a least a goal

Are Brunswick Power the worst football team in Australia???

Brunswick kicked the goal when they got a centre clearance and a Heights Player swore (to himself) and got sent off. Umpire awarded Brunswick a free kick and a 50m penalty...

20 players scored a goal. The one that missed out was an U18's player that came up to the ones and got injured before half time. He got stripped and didnt come back out after that!!

half of Brunswicks teams have to play 2 games ... poor bastards!!

Death@ #27
18 Jun 2006, 19:43
Did any Under 18's players play for the Western Magpies seniors on Saturday? , i heard that the Under 18's coach at Laverton wasnt going to let them play Seniors anymore.....

Falcon
18 Jun 2006, 23:35
It's unfortunate that both Western Magpies and Brunswick Power players have to play in both Reserves and Seniors. It must be hard and its sad to see any club in that position. But luck does turn around and I'm pretty confident that eventually these clubs will gain a few good players and some momentum. Laverton more so than Brunswick in the near future.

As for Brunswick been the worst team in Australia. I would say that them and the Flemington Football Club would fight it out for that spot. Well at least in the Western region. Having played against both sides, Brunswick's Seniors and Flemington's 18's, i haven't seen a worst team yet.

coldog
19 Jun 2006, 13:03
Did any Under 18's players play for the Western Magpies seniors on Saturday? , i heard that the Under 18's coach at Laverton wasnt going to let them play Seniors anymore.....

Yeah, about 3 or 4 of them, it should be their choice if they want to play, they are the best players they have got at the club. Hopefully with the U18s guys coming up hopefully that they all want to stay and and do better than the seniors and reserves have in the last few years.

pluga_4
19 Jun 2006, 13:38
It's unfortunate that both Western Magpies and Brunswick Power players have to play in both Reserves and Seniors. It must be hard and its sad to see any club in that position. But luck does turn around and I'm pretty confident that eventually these clubs will gain a few good players and some momentum. Laverton more so than Brunswick in the near future.

As for Brunswick been the worst team in Australia. I would say that them and the Flemington Football Club would fight it out for that spot. Well at least in the Western region. Having played against both sides, Brunswick's Seniors and Flemington's 18's, i haven't seen a worst team yet.

a classic case of what money does in local footy, or in this case a lack of it.
guys move local footy clubs for money on most occasions and i dare say that most players wouldn't be looking at brunswick as a prospective new club. its a downward spiral for them it'd seem.

how much longer can clubs like brunswick continue. they were down to 14 players at one stage on the weekend apparently. at the end of the day no one likes being flogged week in, week out.

My North
20 Jun 2006, 00:11
a classic case of what money does in local footy, or in this case a lack of it.
guys move local footy clubs for money on most occasions and i dare say that most players wouldn't be looking at brunswick as a prospective new club. its a downward spiral for them it'd seem.

how much longer can clubs like brunswick continue. they were down to 14 players at one stage on the weekend apparently. at the end of the day no one likes being flogged week in, week out.

Brunswick Power have been geeting flogged for years now, even back in the VAFA when playing D4 standard. Maybe being in the the VAFA D4 section was better off for Brunswick Power but then they were suspened from the VAFA for whatever reason a 3 yeras ago and and come in the WRFL.

Death@ #27
20 Jun 2006, 13:20
Yeah, about 3 or 4 of them, it should be their choice if they want to play, they are the best players they have got at the club. Hopefully with the U18s guys coming up hopefully that they all want to stay and and do better than the seniors and reserves have in the last few years.

Do u know what players played from the under 18's?

coldog
20 Jun 2006, 15:54
Do u know what players played from the under 18's?

I don't know names of players there, I do go down and watch but am not on first name basis with 90% of them but I do know there were about 3 or 4 players that I saw play U18s in the morning and seniors in the afternoon.

Death@ #27
21 Jun 2006, 10:54
How good do you think Seddon would be in Division 2?

GoesBangFrom50
21 Jun 2006, 18:53
How good do you think Seddon would be in Division 2?

About the same as North Sunshine.... Not very well

beefeater1000
22 Jun 2006, 12:08
couple of good games this weekend, wests v heights @ wests and wyndham v north @ wyndam- anyone have tips for these 2 this week?

Death@ #27
22 Jun 2006, 12:49
couple of good games this weekend, wests v heights @ wests and wyndham v north @ wyndam- anyone have tips for these 2 this week?

Wests will get over heights by about 2 - 5 goals
Nth Footscray will beat Wyndhamvale 5-8 goals

DekkaRoo
22 Jun 2006, 18:17
West Footscray by 42 points over Heights

North Footscray by 37 over Wyndhamvale.

GoesBangFrom50
22 Jun 2006, 22:06
confidence is sky high at heights at the moment... but the casualty list is growing... 4 more players out this week....

If Lane and Mcghie both play could be a long day...

Death@ #27
23 Jun 2006, 10:56
How much do u think Glenorden will beat Western Magpies by?

bigdog08
23 Jun 2006, 13:39

west should account for heights fairly comfortably, that is ofcourse if they wanna be a contender come september, the amount of money being paid at that club they would have to settle for nothing less than a flag. and i think wyndam will come over the top of north with there run and account for them by 4 goals

beefeater1000
23 Jun 2006, 14:30
west should account for heights fairly comfortably, that is ofcourse if they wanna be a contender come september, the amount of money being paid at that club they would have to settle for nothing less than a flag. and i think wyndam will come over the top of north with there run and account for them by 4 goals

i rekn west by about 5 goals plus
and a close one between the falcon and nth, falcons just by under 2 kicks

beefeater1000
23 Jun 2006, 14:31
they should win by about 20 goals plus, glenorden should win the flag, they are b grade specialists and its bout time to take the next step to A grade.

GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2006, 15:25

35 goals plus!!

Expect N Foots to take it right up to the Falcons. Not a hard team to work out. They dont go direct and are happy to chip around the flanks and wings with posession footy. Can work at the start of the season when it is dry but as the grounds get wetter and heavier its hard to win with a plan like that... and they are as weak as.....

Falcon
23 Jun 2006, 15:39
my tip: Wyndhamvale will beat North Footscray this week, Id say by 40 pts.

beefeater1000
23 Jun 2006, 17:00
any one got tips for the other matches rounding out round 10?

beefeater1000
23 Jun 2006, 17:00
albanvale v cob dist - 5 goal win for the cobras at home

brunswick power v centrals - centrals to **** in
gladdy park v deer park - deer park to strong , 6 goals plus
western magpies v glenorden - glenorden easily, 20 goals plus
nth sunshine v braybrook - nth sunshine in a close one
---

matthewds
23 Jun 2006, 21:43
does anybody no what happened to all the division 1 players that north sunshine had last yeasr cause looking at there side this year it looks like all the leaders of the club last year have left

angus6
25 Jun 2006, 15:08
anyone think glenorden can take out both premierships this year? Reserves and Seniors?

GoesBangFrom50
25 Jun 2006, 18:16
anyone think glenorden can take out both premierships this year? Reserves and Seniors?

The seniors ahve it in the bag as long as they dont CHOKE.... the reserves and a bit off the pace and will probably fall further behind when the seniors from other teams drop out and theirs are still going.

angus6
25 Jun 2006, 18:21
The seniors ahve it in the bag as long as they dont CHOKE.... the reserves and a bit off the pace and will probably fall further behind when the seniors from other teams drop out and theirs are still going.

yeah i see your point regarding the reserves. sides will drop senior blokes back once there senior sides realise they cant win. the only hope i guess is that the senior players they do drop back dont play enough games to qualify to play finals for the reserves. then it would be back on even par.

i dont think the senior's will choke!

GoesBangFrom50
25 Jun 2006, 18:29
yeah i see your point regarding the reserves. sides will drop senior blokes back once there senior sides realise they cant win. the only hope i guess is that the senior players they do drop back dont play enough games to qualify to play finals for the reserves. then it would be back on even par.

i dont think the senior's will choke!

I havnt checked the reserves ladder at the moment but u can bet ur nuts that the reserves specialist down at coburg are sorting out there"games played" right now to make sure that they qualify a few extra players for two's finals.

angus6
25 Jun 2006, 18:33
I havnt checked the reserves ladder at the moment but u can bet ur nuts that the reserves specialist down at coburg are sorting out there"games played" right now to make sure that they qualify a few extra players for two's finals.

yeah it was interesting that coburg actually managed to beat albanvale in the two's, a side who was undefeated up untill this week. at albanvale too.

GoesBangFrom50
25 Jun 2006, 18:45
yeah it was interesting that coburg actually managed to beat albanvale in the two's, a side who was undefeated up untill this week. at albanvale too.

didnt know that... but proves my point.

beefeater1000
26 Jun 2006, 11:32
DIVISION 2

ALBANVALE 2.2 6.5 8.7 12.12.84
COBURG DISTRICTS 0.2 1.5 5.6 7.7.49

Best Alb Harding, Martin, Williams
CD Calli, Newat, Collins

Goals Alb Sirianni 4, Zahra 3, Hendo 2
CD Calli, Newat 2

WESTERN MAGPIES 2.0 2.0 3.0 4.1.25
GLENORDEN 12.3 20.8 26.14 33.22.220

Best WM Broughton, Lindsay, Page
GO Doherty, Thyer, Boxshall

Goals WM All Singles
GO Rosenzweig 14, Lovell 7, Jones 3, Ferencc, Commensoli 2

WYNDHAMVALE FALCONS 4.2 9.4 11.5 17.8.110
NORTH FOOTSCRAY 1.1 3.3 5.4 7.6.48

Best WF Messina, Altair, Galle
NF Eldridge, Lock, Sanders

Goals WF Messin 5, Crea 4, Haw, Bunworth 2
NF Lucas 3

GLADSTONE PARK 0.0 2.1 2.2 3.2.20
DEER PARK 6.3 9.7 16.13 26.18.174

Best GP Orr, Sinclair, Wentworth
DP Radford, Frankel, Blyth

Goals GP All Singles
DP Dipietro 7, May 6, Rizzo 4, Blyth 3

NORTH SUNSHINE 5.1 11.1 11.4 13.5.
BRAYBROOK 2.1 6.8 8.11 10.13.73

Best NS Leech, Horne, Stone
Bray Serrano, Braun, Fowler

Goals NS Stone 7, L White 2
Bray Pearce 4, Morley 3

WEST FOOTSCRAY 3.4 5.8 8.10 13.10.94
SUNSHINE HEIGHTS 3.1 4.3 6.8 7.10.52

Best WF Phipps, Manikott, Ryan
SH Hinge, Bezzina, Burnfield

Goals WF Strelic, Price 3 , Batty 2
SH Smith 3

BRUNSWICK POWER 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.1.7
CENTRAL ALTONA 9.2 16.8 25.14 35.16.22

Best BP Vassallo, Briggs, Surace
CA Taleb, A. El Houli, Berardinelli

Goals BP
CA Taleb, Berrardinelli 9, Greco, Ramadan 3, Guerrera, D’Ambrosio, Braun 2

GoesBangFrom50
26 Jun 2006, 21:16
shocker from Nth Footscray.... most up and down team in the comp at the moment

Death@ #27
26 Jun 2006, 23:01
First time i think Lane hasnt been in West Footscray's goals ... did he play?

GoesBangFrom50
27 Jun 2006, 01:18
First time i think Lane hasnt been in West Footscray's goals ... did he play?

Can shed some lite on that. He played the full game (went off with 10 minutes to go). Got completely flogged by Hinge from Heights who was playing his first game for the year. Up until now he has been playing super rules. He was brought in specifically to play on Lane because he has beaten him in the past and heights were so under manned. Will qualify for finals and come back to do another job on him in the finals if required!!!

DekkaRoo
27 Jun 2006, 15:12
West Footscray by 42 points over Heights

North Footscray by 37 over Wyndhamvale.

I was right on the money with West, but North Footscray where very disapointing.. A big month coming up for the Devils.... Brunswick this week followed by three teams in the eight.

GoesBangFrom50
28 Jun 2006, 17:17
but North Footscray where very disapointing..

What happened dekkaroo. Got within a few goals of Glenorden, but flogged by Wyndhamvale?? Another below standard year from the devils

DekkaRoo
28 Jun 2006, 17:48
What happened dekkaroo. Got within a few goals of Glenorden, but flogged by Wyndhamvale?? Another below standard year from the devils

The year is not over yet GoBang, still a fair few games to go mate.
But yeah, although we had a few player out with injury last week and a few unavailable, we where very disapointing. We know we can play good footy as we shown againt the yard stick in Glenorden, so we are looking to build back up to that come finals time. Our next month will be tough and we will need to be back right on to our game if we want to come away with the chocolates.

Death@ #27
28 Jun 2006, 22:45
Couple of good games this week.

Deer Park vs Wyndhamvale
Sunshine Heights vs Ablvanvale
your thoughts???

Death@ #27
28 Jun 2006, 22:51
The Seddon Football club has withdrew from the WRFL... what possibility is there of it happening to other small clubs? . Does anyone have any thoughts on what teams maybe at risk?

bush_tucker77
29 Jun 2006, 00:09
on the league website it says the players from seddon can transfer to other wrfl clubs delaying the cutoof date to july 4th (next tuesday). are there any players for seddon who are decent enuff for other teams to want them. could be handy to have to fill in for injured players

beefeater1000
29 Jun 2006, 10:34
this could mean a long road for seddon , if most of the players get cleared to other clubs, they will most likely stay there and for next year if they choose to continue in B grade they wouldnt have many players to keep them going to re-build.

beefeater1000
29 Jun 2006, 10:38
on the league website it says the players from seddon can transfer to other wrfl clubs delaying the cutoof date to july 4th (next tuesday). are there any players for seddon who are decent enuff for other teams to want them. could be handy to have to fill in for injured players
damian truslove, getting cleared to Mayne in the QAFL played for douttas a few seasons back- gun

beefeater1000
29 Jun 2006, 11:31
Couple of good games this week.

Deer Park vs Wyndhamvale
Sunshine Heights vs Ablvanvale
your thoughts???

deer park too strong for wyndhamvale at home, rizzo and dipietro will do the damage up forward - deer park by 5 goals

heights and albanvale will be the closest game of the round i reckon, heights will have a few players out of the world cup (greto weston etc) but they play there ground well and there full of run, heights by 2 goals

Spurling Reserve
29 Jun 2006, 13:12
I believe that albanvale shall smash Sunshine Heights.
Deer Park will beat Wyndhamvale. (Closest Game of the Round Tip)
West Footscray will smash Central Altona
Coburg to beat North Sunshine (Reserves by more)
Glenorden to hammer Gladstone Park
North Footscray to kill Brunswick
Braybrook to account for Western Magpies. Not sure how much, Braybrook haven't been that impressive? Could be an upset?

GoesBangFrom50
29 Jun 2006, 22:04
I believe that albanvale shall smash Sunshine Heights.

Any reason's behind that???

Spurling Reserve
30 Jun 2006, 10:20
Any reason's behind that???

I'm under the impression that Heights are missing a few players still and I really rate albanvale. It has nothing to do with Heights being crud, infact they're a good fast side, but I think Albanvale have the bodies in the middle to get the upperhand. If Heights have a fullstrength team, then I'd say Albanvale just - I could be totally wrong and have this make me look silly. Also Albanvales performances against the top teams have been better than Heights, so I just believe they'll come out on top.

sunline 11
30 Jun 2006, 13:00
I'm under the impression that Heights are missing a few players still and I really rate albanvale. It has nothing to do with Heights being crud, infact they're a good fast side, but I think Albanvale have the bodies in the middle to get the upperhand. If Heights have a fullstrength team, then I'd say Albanvale just - I could be totally wrong and have this make me look silly. Also Albanvales performances against the top teams have been better than Heights, so I just believe they'll come out on top.

I just spoke to a bloke at work who plays for Heights, he said everyone's back from there mid season break except for Nick Malia. They will go in full strength and will wipe the floor with Albanvale, he's very confident. Every chance you could look silly.

Spurling Reserve
30 Jun 2006, 15:39
I just spoke to a bloke at work who plays for Heights, he said everyone's back from there mid season break except for Nick Malia. They will go in full strength and will wipe the floor with Albanvale, he's very confident. Every chance you could look silly.

Fair enough, I'll cop it on the chin if thats correct. It is just that I am really impressed with the Albanvale side. Perhaps smash was a negative slant on saying account for them easily. Not very sure now however, should be a good game.

GoesBangFrom50
30 Jun 2006, 17:53

pretty close to the money... still no greto, camilleri, martin, mallia and a few off the boys are coming back through the two's for match fitness... will be at ful strength in 2 weeks.

still good enough to beat Albanvale. They dont really like the tight tough in close footy u get at asmall ground.

Big week for the falcons.... I reckon tey will be shown up as the pretenders they are this week

beefeater1000
30 Jun 2006, 17:57
pretty close to the money... still no greto, camilleri, martin, mallia and a few off the boys are coming back through the two's for match fitness... will be at ful strength in 2 weeks.

still good enough to beat Albanvale. They dont really like the tight tough in close footy u get at asmall ground.

Big week for the falcons.... I reckon tey will be shown up as the pretenders they are this week

good luck to all the teams this week , have a good one

beefy

angus6
2 Jul 2006, 14:54
did anyone see the deer park game? i thought wyndemvale were better than that. is it true deer park have recruited some extra players from epping?

also what about west footscray. how can you be trailling central altona at 3 1/4 time? it was still a good comeback to win but if you are expecting to challenge for the flag this year you should be able to account for central altona pretty easily.

crappermd
2 Jul 2006, 16:50
Albanvale looked like a team that liked the close , hard, tough footy to me on Saturday. Heights would have been beaten by ten goals if it wasn't for the late few goals they got in junk time when Albanvale had no bench.

obe1
2 Jul 2006, 18:57
Albanvale looked like a team that liked the close , hard, tough footy to me on Saturday. Heights would have been beaten by ten goals if it wasn't for the late few goals they got in junk time when Albanvale had no bench.

Well said Dr, heights are very over rated, too hot and cold to be a real threat to the top two or three. Have threatened for years to take the next step. Usually take their foot off when the finals are in site. Like being cosy in the middle of second division.

What are your thoughts on the influx of players from Seddon to Deer Park?

crappermd
2 Jul 2006, 19:54
Well said Dr, heights are very over rated, too hot and cold to be a real threat to the top two or three. Have threatened for years to take the next step. Usually take their foot off when the finals are in site. Like being cosy in the middle of second division.

What are your thoughts on the influx of players from Seddon to Deer Park?

Well Obe1, all the league websites are down at the moment. The latest I heard Sat night was that a number of players (about 6 or so) have gone to North Footscray. I am still yet to confirm if Deer Park have picked up any. If true then North would have to be eyeing top four depending on quality and Deer Park would be eyeing top spot.

They might add quality but then again they were the bottom side in A-Grade getting smashed every week. I wouldn't like to be a regular senior player at either of those clubs who now finds himself running around in the magoos because of some "big " names have now come on board. Couldn't do much for club morale one would think. Then again footballers are fairly insular and just like to win and who cares if your best mate misses out on a game because of some late comer..........

obe1
2 Jul 2006, 20:27
They might add quality but then again they were the bottom side in A-Grade getting smashed every week. I wouldn't like to be a regular senior player at either of those clubs who now finds himself running around in the magoos because of some "big " names have now come on board. Couldn't do much for club morale one would think. Then again footballers are fairly insular and just like to win and who cares if your best mate misses out on a game because of some late comer..........[/quote]

Agree with your thoughts regarding morale, it is usually the "club people" who suffer (miss out) when things like this happen. As for big names, I hardly think any of the names will rock second division. I would be more concerned if I was at one of the said clubs playing for the jumper and in rolled these blokes. Even though Seddon were rock bottom, they still paid out some reasonable monies to these players. Where will the money come from at North and Deer Park? someone will have to miss out?

angus6
2 Jul 2006, 21:28
so deer park have ended up with seddon players. i heard that they got players from either epping or taylors lakes? does anyone know if true?

roosters44
2 Jul 2006, 21:29
I heard a lot of the players for Seddon were players who jumped ship from North Sunshine because they didn't want to play div 2 again, i think it's a big risk to pick up those type of players this late in the year. Morale at your club would plummet.

crappermd
2 Jul 2006, 21:41
Agree with your thoughts regarding morale, it is usually the "club people" who suffer (miss out) when things like this happen. As for big names, I hardly think any of the names will rock second division. I would be more concerned if I was at one of the said clubs playing for the jumper and in rolled these blokes. Even though Seddon were rock bottom, they still paid out some reasonable monies to these players. Where will the money come from at North and Deer Park? someone will have to miss out?[/quote]

Agree with you there Obe1. We both have very similar thoughts in regard to the game. We might have to take up coaching together one day!

Spurling Reserve
4 Jul 2006, 11:49
Looks like I was right with my prediction regarding Albanvale vs Heights. I rate Albanvale highly and it looks like my faith in them has been justified. I don't think they can win the flag, I believe that it's a three team race between Deer Park, Glenorden and West Footscray, but they go well.

Sunshine Heights can smash the minnows of the competition, but come unstuck against the better teams. However, they're just in the second tier of teams along with Wyndhamvale and North Footscray - they're just making up the numbers this season.

I have been really impressed with the Squad Deer Park have assembled, aswell as the fact that they have Brent Hall and Paul Martello in their reserves who should play seniors but their ground is an absolute disgrace and is a long way away from being acceptable for Division 1 football if they do happen to get up. The centre square was rock hard and akin to concrete, due to the cricket pitch. I heard that they don't water it because it becomes slippery, but either way it's pretty dodgy and isn't even acceptable for Division 2 reserves players.

Also appears that a contingent of Seddon players have made a switch to North Footscray. As I believe today is the last day for clearances, it will be interesting to see where everyone else goes to. Hopefully some of the players go to clubs who need the players to avoid a Seddon like situation in Division 2, but honestly you can't expect that to happen.

Question: With Western Magpies losing to Braybrook of all teams by over 100 - will they come within 100 points of any other team this season (barring Brunswick)? This is their run home:

North Sunshine (H)
Coburg Districts (A)
Gladstone Park (H)
Wyndhamvale (A)
Brunswick Power (H)
West Footscray (A)

Also when will #4 for them finally get suspended :eek:

beefeater1000
4 Jul 2006, 12:17
Looks like I was right with my prediction regarding Albanvale vs Heights. I rate Albanvale highly and it looks like my faith in them has been justified. I don't think they can win the flag, I believe that it's a three team race between Deer Park, Glenorden and West Footscray, but they go well.

Sunshine Heights can smash the minnows of the competition, but come unstuck against the better teams. However, they're just in the second tier of teams along with Wyndhamvale and North Footscray - they're just making up the numbers this season.

I have been really impressed with the Squad Deer Park have assembled, aswell as the fact that they have Brent Hall and Paul Martello in their reserves who should play seniors but their ground is an absolute disgrace and is a long way away from being acceptable for Division 1 football if they do happen to get up. The centre square was rock hard and akin to concrete, due to the cricket pitch. I heard that they don't water it because it becomes slippery, but either way it's pretty dodgy and isn't even acceptable for Division 2 reserves players.

Also appears that a contingent of Seddon players have made a switch to North Footscray. As I believe today is the last day for clearances, it will be interesting to see where everyone else goes to. Hopefully some of the players go to clubs who need the players to avoid a Seddon like situation in Division 2, but honestly you can't expect that to happen.

Question: With Western Magpies losing to Braybrook of all teams by over 100 - will they come within 100 points of any other team this season (barring Brunswick)? This is their run home:

North Sunshine (H)
Coburg Districts (A)
Gladstone Park (H)
Wyndhamvale (A)
Brunswick Power (H)
West Footscray (A)

Also when will #4 for them finally get suspended :eek:

I think north sunshine will account for them easily , most likely between the 80-100pt mark
coburg - 100 +
gladdy park - they have gladdy at home, and there form of late hasnt been crash hot - i think this is the game sheppard returns from injury and most likely a comfortable win for gladdy - but who knows ???? ill say gladdy by 12 goals if sheppard plays
wyndhamvale - 100+
brunswick power- this should be a win for the maggies, especially at home and the state that brunswick are in at the moment, should account for them by 10 goals plus
west footscray - 100+

obe1
4 Jul 2006, 17:58
Agree with your thoughts regarding morale, it is usually the "club people" who suffer (miss out) when things like this happen. As for big names, I hardly think any of the names will rock second division. I would be more concerned if I was at one of the said clubs playing for the jumper and in rolled these blokes. Even though Seddon were rock bottom, they still paid out some reasonable monies to these players. Where will the money come from at North and Deer Park? someone will have to miss out?

Agree with you there Obe1. We both have very similar thoughts in regard to the game. We might have to take up coaching together one day![/quote]

Reading between the lines I would say that you have at sime time or another.

beefeater1000
5 Jul 2006, 14:50
Agree with you there Obe1. We both have very similar thoughts in regard to the game. We might have to take up coaching together one day!

Reading between the lines I would say that you have at sime time or another.[/quote]

round 12 tips for this week
albanvale v centrals - 36 points
brunswick v deer park - 40 goals
gladdy park v braybrook - 25 points
western maggies v north sunshine - 75 points
sunshine heights v coburg - 40 points
west footscray v north footscray - 55 points
wyndhamvale v glenorden - 50 points

Death@ #27
5 Jul 2006, 18:24
My round 12 tips

albanvale v centrals - 60 points
brunswick v deer park - 50 goals
gladdy park v braybrook - 3 goals
western maggies v north sunshine - 60 points
sunshine heights v coburg - 40 points
west footscray v north footscray - (Match of the round) 2 goals
wyndhamvale v glenorden - 7 goals

roosters44
6 Jul 2006, 13:51
Albanvale 42pts
Deer Park 290pts
Gladstone Park 13pts
North Sunshine 54pts
Sunshine Heights 31pts
West Footscray 27pts
Glenorden 63pts

angus6
8 Jul 2006, 19:44
anyone know the results of the glenorden-w/vale game?

Death@ #27
9 Jul 2006, 22:41
Braybrook seems to be getting in form at the right time ... If they make the finals can u c them making any sort of impact?

DekkaRoo
10 Jul 2006, 11:08
Braybrook seems to be getting in form at the right time ... If they make the finals can u c them making any sort of impact?

I think with Pearce returning to the club, he has made an impact. It gives their on ballers a target up forward and he rarely lets them down. He is a quality player in Div two and takes a good player to keep him down.

GoesBangFrom50
10 Jul 2006, 19:15
what do people think of the un even draw... Wyndhamvale will finish 5th at worst and possibly make the top 4 for one reason only... the draw!! They are rewarded for being average for 10 years when a team like Albanvale gets punished for being a good side for 10 years..

Pearce off Jack
11 Jul 2006, 14:11
Can anyone tell me if Jason Curmi is coaching Albanvale and if so how is he going? Is he still playing every game?

beefeater1000
11 Jul 2006, 15:45
Can anyone tell me if Jason Curmi is coaching Albanvale and if so how is he going? Is he still playing every game?

according to the website he got BOG on the w'end v centrals and yes hes played every game

Pearce off Jack
11 Jul 2006, 15:54
according to the website he got BOG on the w'end v centrals and yes hes played every game
Do you know if he is their coach Beefeater?

unit27
11 Jul 2006, 17:21
Theres word thats been makin the rounds sayin that Point Cook are going to have a senior side in Div 2 next year , can anyone confirm this?

speculator
11 Jul 2006, 19:52
Do you know if he is their coach Beefeater?

The curmsta is co-coaching with a fella called Trevor Johnstone, both have been long servants at club and are life members. From all reports Curm has played most of the season with TJ working the boundary.

beefeater1000
12 Jul 2006, 10:36
couple of close games tipped for this round

braybrook v falcons, deer park v wests, nth foots v albanvale, nth sunshine v gladdy

hopefully there wont be as many blow outs this week :rolleyes:

angus6
12 Jul 2006, 20:14
couple of close games tipped for this round

braybrook v falcons, deer park v wests, nth foots v albanvale, nth sunshine v gladdy

hopefully there wont be as many blow outs this week :rolleyes:

i dont think braybrook v falcons will be a close game. i reckon falcons will win by 8 goals+. also think west footscray will beat deer park in a upset as i think deer park will be favourites. but your right there wont be as many blowouts this week. how much you think glenorden will beat brunswick power by?

unit27
12 Jul 2006, 20:24
i dont think braybrook v falcons will be a close game. i reckon falcons will win by 8 goals+. also think west footscray will beat deer park in a upset as i think deer park will be favourites. but your right there wont be as many blowouts this week. how much you think glenorden will beat brunswick power by?

I actually think the bombers will put up a good fight against the Vales and come very close or even winning , If Deer Park stop Lane they will win the game but if they cant Wests will win ... Glenorden i think will beat Brunswick by 45 goals plus with Rosenweig to kick about 15 goals

billylid
13 Jul 2006, 11:27
I think with Pearce returning to the club, he has made an impact. It gives their on ballers a target up forward and he rarely lets them down. He is a quality player in Div two and takes a good player to keep him down.

Lets not forget the bombers defenders in particular BIG AL BURRIDGE, one of the most underrated backman going around in Division 2:thumbsu: :D

beefeater1000
13 Jul 2006, 11:31

i rekn braybrook and wyndhamvale will be closer than most ppl think, but then again, who knows with wyndhamvale , theyll either run out of legs or they'll run all over them in the last half -

my tips for round 13 are;

braybrook v wyndhamvale - upset of the round, braybrook by 2 kicks
centrals v heights - heights by 40 points
coburg v western maggies - coburg far too strong at home 90+ points
deer park v wests - deer park in a tight one, parkers by 2 kicks
glenorden v power - orden by 40 goals
north footscray v albanvale - albanvale by 5 goals
north sunshine v gladdy - north by a 2-3 goals

angus6
13 Jul 2006, 16:12
my round 13 tips.

braybrook v w/vale: w/vale by 8 goals
c/altona v s/heights: heights by 30 points
coburg v magpies: coburg by 20 goals
deer park v west: west by 2 goals
glenorden v power: glenorden by 35 goals.
nth f/scray v albanvale: vale by 3 goals
nth sunshine v gladstone park: g/park by 4 goals

unit27
13 Jul 2006, 21:09
my tips for round 13 are;

braybrook v wyndhamvale
centrals v heights
coburg v western maggies
deer park v wests
glenorden v power
north footscray v albanvale
north sunshine v gladdy

beefeater1000
14 Jul 2006, 11:02
anyone know why tragjasi isnt playin for heights? injured?

GoesBangFrom50
14 Jul 2006, 18:41
anyone know why tragjasi isnt playin for heights? injured?

Got injured and then just lost interest.... still a chance to bob up in the next few weeks. Stays pretty fit on his own. Could be a wild card in the finals... Have u seen him play?