View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
Gibbsrightboot
27 Mar 2007, 11:47
Weapons... where are u... getting close to round one and there doesnt seem to be much movement on the clearances ( to or from) for the pensioners... give the big footy public some mail... praccies?? training numbers?? recruits??
Is the silence killing you buddy?
Don't stress mate only a couple of weeks to the season starts;)
We can all talk about the questions above when we have a drink after the game, ohh **** Deer Park don't do that right, sorry then, no info for you.:)
typewriter
27 Mar 2007, 11:54
well prove the theory wrong goose
GoesBangFrom50
27 Mar 2007, 12:06
We can all talk about the questions above when we have a drink after the game, ohh **** Deer Park don't do that right, sorry then, no info for you.:)
Who pulled ur chain CLOWN.... stick to talking about the 2 or 3 wins that Carlton will be lucky to have this year... Weapons is big enough to speak for himself....... GOOSE!!
karim13
27 Mar 2007, 13:22
hey karim can u confirm or deny the following recruits:
Marty McGrath - former richmond rookie list player i think
Leroy Jettas dad - supposed 2 be only mid 30's
???
and if so will they be like bluey and rock up 2 weeks and go walkabout for 2 months? have they been down to training i heard your pinning your hopes on them being your new gun recruits.
we already know about oil boy and the full forward
seriously dude i know about as much about them 2 as u do.. where so not pinning out hopes on them champ they have never been mentioned...
typewriter
27 Mar 2007, 13:35
so who r these new recruits ur pinning ur hopes on????
we know micalef and velloff and charter r supposed 2 be back but no sign of them on saturday u picked up hislop and a so called ff who wasnt there on sat. no clearences posted yet there not playing in the praccies and the big 1 no wingy 4 this year. so where is the improvement coming from?
under 18s won a flag in B grade last year so maybe 1 or 2 contributors there but certanly nobody who can take division 2 seniors by storm. come on Jason give us something?????
Tony Delaney
27 Mar 2007, 14:42
Funny post nearly fell off my chair - NOT.
We will see how funny not having a drink is when Heights play at Deer Park later in the year and don't spend a cent at the bar or canteen.
So back in your box now dill.
Blueboy16
27 Mar 2007, 16:55
We will see how funny not having a drink is when Heights play at Deer Park later in the year and don't spend a cent at the bar or canteen.
But are sucking down stubbies and a sausage sizzle on the other side of the ground watching Deer Park get a thumping.
Hey TD being new to the league what's the history behind DP not going in for a drink after games? Is it because usually the street lights are on by the time they get their old bodies iced and showered that it's time for bed?
karim13
27 Mar 2007, 17:55
so who r these new recruits ur pinning ur hopes on????
we know micalef and velloff and charter r supposed 2 be back but no sign of them on saturday u picked up hislop and a so called ff who wasnt there on sat. no clearences posted yet there not playing in the praccies and the big 1 no wingy 4 this year. so where is the improvement coming from?
under 18s won a flag in B grade last year so maybe 1 or 2 contributors there but certanly nobody who can take division 2 seniors by storm. come on Jason give us something?????
where not pinning our hopes on any indaviduals man... reply to my pm and i mite fill u in.. charts. micalef and simon were all there saterday but all were on the side lines, and so was the mystry ff, switch on typwriter... who r ya anyways?
Go Doggies
27 Mar 2007, 18:20
where not pinning our hopes on any indaviduals man... reply to my pm and i mite fill u in.. charts. micalef and simon were all there saterday but all were on the side lines, and so was the mystry ff, switch on typwriter... who r ya anyways?
Don't count on your mystery FF yet - if it is the same person I think it is - his current club is going to work extremely hard to keep him.
GoesBangFrom50
27 Mar 2007, 18:26
Just curious where everyone has been training?... will be a bit harder this week without daylight savings
Calls it as I see it
27 Mar 2007, 19:40
Don't count on your mystery FF yet - if it is the same person I think it is - his current club is going to work extremely hard to keep him.
Come on guys what is with all this Mystery. Let's get a name as it will come out eventually anyway
Tony Delaney
27 Mar 2007, 20:54
But are sucking down stubbies and a sausage sizzle on the other side of the ground watching Deer Park get a thumping.
Hey TD being new to the league what's the history behind DP not going in for a drink after games? Is it because usually the street lights are on by the time they get their old bodies iced and showered that it's time for bed?
2005 they left straight after the game because the hard man of the league former coach Balshaw was upset because the Heights coached gave one of his players a spray at half time for punching guys in the back of the head continuosly in the first half.
Then 2006 at Deer Park we thought we would be better than that and all went in for a drink. Then later in the year when Deer Park came to Ainsworth guess what all took off again and didn't come in for a drink. Make of that what you like I know what I make of it and it's not what local footy is all about.
Anyway Blueboy how is Chickey going this year. Is he training hard. What do you think of him as a player and bloke.
Have heard from a un-reliable resource that Werribee Amateurs will have sides in Division 2 this season? Any truth to that
red devil1
27 Mar 2007, 21:06
2005 they left straight after the game because the hard man of the league former coach Balshaw was upset because the Heights coached gave one of his players a spray at half time for punching guys in the back of the head continuosly in the first half.
Then 2006 at Deer Park we thought we would be better than that and all went in for a drink. Then later in the year when Deer Park came to Ainsworth guess what all took off again and didn't come in for a drink. Make of that what you like I know what I make of it and it's not what local footy is all about.
Anyway Blueboy how is Chickey going this year. Is he training hard. What do you think of him as a player and bloke.
TD I know you are asking Blueboy's opinion but I will give my two bob.
Great talent but carries on like a bit of prat on the field. Sniped one of our blokes behind play in last years finals. His brother was also rumoured to have be playing for West this year? How heavy is Innella Blueboy? How can you fit Laney and Innella in the same side?
all-eyes-on-me
27 Mar 2007, 21:57
hay blueboy ill keep the questions coming!! how did matty nolton go? do u think he will play 1s this year?
hammertigers07
28 Mar 2007, 00:43
td or weapons u seem to know everyhting that goes on in div 2 is there any truth in the season going back to may. Has any one heard whats going on at deer park this year have they picked up any more blokes from taylors lakes or lost a few and the falcons what are they up to, and to the heights guys dont get to ahead off yourself talking top 2-3 were only in march just take it easy. Any teams got practice matches this week. does anyone know how gpark went against braybrook on weekend i hear gpark are getting 8-10 blokes at training and are in trouble lost a few any one fronm gladdy care to fill us in
al_smith07
28 Mar 2007, 00:45
blue boy i was just wondering how bobby evans is going down there is he worth the money he is on or do you think he is over rated
typewriter
28 Mar 2007, 10:29
hey hammers there hasnt bn 1 heights player talking them up about top 2, we simply say we will be up there as we have in the past couple, no way r we saying wer premiership certainties, we r saying howver we hope to play finals and anything less would be considered a very disapointing year. i would dare say there would be 5 or 6 clubs saying the same including Wests, North, Deer Park, albanvale and wyndamvale.
would u agree boys?
GoesBangFrom50
28 Mar 2007, 10:33
Great talent but carries on like a bit of prat on the field. Sniped one of our blokes behind play in last years finals. His brother was also rumoured to have be playing for West this year? How heavy is Innella Blueboy? How can you fit Laney and Innella in the same side?
I saw Chickey throw one of the best punches ever on a footy field against Glenorden in the Prelim.... some clown from Glenorden was trying to play the big man standing over him when he was on the ground... got up and just cracked him flush on the jaw... nobody saw it... dropped him like a sack...... ABSOLUTE GEM!!!!
Gemini17
28 Mar 2007, 10:43
hay blueboy ill keep the questions coming!! how did matty nolton go? do u think he will play 1s this year?
Can't fault Nolt's endeavour, however some of his excuses for not training are rippers.
Should be in the 21 come round 1.
Gemini17
28 Mar 2007, 10:48
blue boy i was just wondering how bobby evans is going down there is he worth the money he is on or do you think he is over rated
Definitely over rated. Should feel guilty receiving any money to play football. Needs to learn how to handball. Also sleeps with too many fat chicks. Is that enough info Al? Now go back to teaching.
al_smith07
28 Mar 2007, 11:44
not a teacher buddy i follow div 1 i heard that he wasnt quite good enough for div 1 and had signed with west do you guys have a praccy game this weekend
Have heard from a un-reliable resource that Werribee Amateurs will have sides in Division 2 this season? Any truth to that
absolutely no truth in that.
Gemini17
28 Mar 2007, 13:20
not a teacher buddy i follow div 1 i heard that he wasnt quite good enough for div 1 and had signed with west do you guys have a praccy game this weekend
Sorry Al, mistakenly thought you were Bobbie and I was just taking the piss.
I've seen a couple of posts where people question whether he was good enough for Div 1. He played 2005 with a severe ankle injury that required a reconstruction at the end of the year. He didn't play at all in 2006, and contrary to popular opinion, is playing at West in 2007 due to a family connection - not money. He's in pretty good nick at the moment, so we expect good things from him.
al_smith07
28 Mar 2007, 14:57
no problems, how can you see the team coming together are there many ins and outs.Can you improve much on last year
13-CABS
28 Mar 2007, 15:21
From looking through the last few posts im gonna have a crack at this mystery full forward. It could very well be Damian Grainger from Sunshine, quality forward or back and would be more than handy in div 2. Tough, big, strong and moves around reasonably. Would be a loss if he left us.
Calls it as I see it
28 Mar 2007, 15:58
From looking through the last few posts im gonna have a crack at this mystery full forward. It could very well be Damian Grainger from Sunshine, quality forward or back and would be more than handy in div 2. Tough, big, strong and moves around reasonably. Would be a loss if he left us.
Would be a very tough oppenant in div 2. Not to sure there would be many backs in div 2 who would look forward to lining up against him. He played down back with you last year cabs. What was tghe reason behind that.
GoesBangFrom50
28 Mar 2007, 19:56
Everyone in Div 1 seems to think that as soon as a player drops back to Div 2 they will dominate... doesnt really happen that way. The good players are still good but they dont become champs by going back to Div 2.
any agree with that?
13-CABS
28 Mar 2007, 19:57
We were pretty capable up forward with Stenna and a few others. He also was a good match up for an opposition tall, because we had a small backline for most of the year. Kicked goals most times he went forward so handy at both ends. hopefully we keep him though.
Blueboy16
28 Mar 2007, 20:31
Hey boys I was a little busy today and didnt get on to post.
Replies to Q's
Chicky.....I think on the field a lot of blokes see him a great leader, sometimes maybe I think he needs that responsiblity taken away only for the fact it may step his game up another peg and help the club go further. But saying that i think he makes a great captain. Off field has made me feel very much at the club and loves a chat and beer. Very funny bloke too.
Innella....... Moving along very well and disagree with the overweight comments. Looks to be moving very well at training but taking it easy due to hard grounds and those knees. I think you may see a different Innella this season in attitude and disipline. I'm counting on Laney and Dave to combine about 170 goals this season which will make us unstoppable.
Bobby (FATGUTS) Evans..... I agree sleeps with way too many fat chicks. Claims to only be 5kgs over his St Albans days playing weight but i reckon thats a load of crap. Showed glimpses of "SPECIAL" things in the practice match against Bunniyong and I doubt he will be able to be matched up on this season.
Tony Delaney
28 Mar 2007, 21:56
Hey boys I was a little busy today and didnt get on to post.
Replies to Q's
Chicky.....I think on the field a lot of blokes see him a great leader, sometimes maybe I think he needs that responsiblity taken away only for the fact it may step his game up another peg and help the club go further. But saying that i think he makes a great captain. Off field has made me feel very much at the club and loves a chat and beer. Very funny bloke too.
Innella....... Moving along very well and disagree with the overweight comments. Looks to be moving very well at training but taking it easy due to hard grounds and those knees. I think you may see a different Innella this season in attitude and disipline. I'm counting on Laney and Dave to combine about 170 goals this season which will make us unstoppable.
Bobby (FATGUTS) Evans..... I agree sleeps with way too many fat chicks. Claims to only be 5kgs over his St Albans days playing weight but i reckon thats a load of crap. Showed glimpses of "SPECIAL" things in the practice match against Bunniyong and I doubt he will be able to be matched up on this season.
Unstoppable yeah right. Better hope Dave can score heavily against Heights because Laney can't get a kick against us let alone a goal. That is of course if Dave hasn't retaliated in an earler game and copped another week thus de registering him. How will he be a different player is he finally at home after five clubs in five years and cares about the club for once and not his back pocket.
Add in Bobby and get Barna back and you could be the fattest, oldest forward line of all time.
Stop with the new to the club line because we all know thats a little false.
cougarman
28 Mar 2007, 22:08
Everyone in Div 1 seems to think that as soon as a player drops back to Div 2 they will dominate... doesnt really happen that way. The good players are still good but they dont become champs by going back to Div 2.
any agree with that?
i agree with you GBF50, it happens with players coming from stronger comps then coming to lesser grades of footy and sometimes struggle, i believe it happens coz these players believe themselves that they will dominate and probably don't apply themselves as they should
hammertigers07
28 Mar 2007, 22:34
typewriter i havent heard to much from the falcons as they probably have got computers or internet down there way yet lol:) . yeah ur probably safe saying ull be in the top 5 yet again but u guys really need to come thru 4 a change instead of being around the mark ever year it must get a bit frustrating:mad: r u guys on ur ground at present or training elsewhere do u have a game this weekend
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 02:14
t.d. was just wondering who you play for/coach/support
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 10:41
Unstoppable yeah right. Better hope Dave can score heavily against Heights because Laney can't get a kick against us let alone a goal. That is of course if Dave hasn't retaliated in an earler game and copped another week thus de registering him. How will he be a different player is he finally at home after five clubs in five years and cares about the club for once and not his back pocket.
Add in Bobby and get Barna back and you could be the fattest, oldest forward line of all time.
Stop with the new to the club line because we all know thats a little false.
Hey TD I think you may be thinking I'm someone else. My clearance was only approved a couple of weeks ago.
Gemini17
29 Mar 2007, 10:42
t.d. was just wondering who you play for/coach/support
Coaches Heights.
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 10:47
hey blue boy wondering your thoughts on west's preseason have you plated in the wrfl div 2 before from what i can gather from posts and gos around the place you guys have heavily recruited, i know experience is important but are the guys that you have picked up seem to be on there last legs
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 10:49
is he in the position to be bagging west then.
doubt it
gemini do you think they will make the finals
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 11:06
hey blue boy wondering your thoughts on west's preseason have you plated in the wrfl div 2 before from what i can gather from posts and gos around the place you guys have heavily recruited, i know experience is important but are the guys that you have picked up seem to be on there last legs
No Al i am yet to play in the WRFL. I have played in the RDFL for the last 9 or so years and looking forward to the change. I know a bit about West because my mate is one of the assistant coaches there. Pre-season has been difficult with numbers and ground access but all teams in that boat most pre-seasons. I dont think the guys we have recruited are on their last legs but they are experienced and know how to play. If these older guys are managed thru the start of the season with the ground hardness and modified training you will find they will peak at the rite times.
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 11:13
thanks for that blue boy, how do you think heights will go this year td seems pretty sure that they can stop your forwards so they must have something or maybe just over rating themselves
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 11:19
thanks for that blue boy, how do you think heights will go this year td seems pretty sure that they can stop your forwards so they must have something or maybe just over rating themselves
No chance of stopping Blueboy16. hahaha. I doubt TD recruited that well to handle the depth and talent of West. Might stop Laney, but then Dave, Chickey, Bobby & Ziggy pop up to take the weight. No chance in my opinion.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 11:28
No chance of stopping Blueboy16. hahaha. I doubt TD recruited that well to handle the depth and talent of West. Might stop Laney, but then Dave, Chickey, Bobby & Ziggy pop up to take the weight. No chance in my opinion.
Thats a pretty strong forward line but hard to fit them all in there... a good small forward would be handy... any of those at West?
I don't think any team has enough quality backs to cover all those talls but IMO Heights mid field will have it over wests... limiting supply..... could be a shoot out when the Dragons take on Wests and with the dragons forwards getting more supply they will get over the top
Gemini17
29 Mar 2007, 11:35
Just seen a copy of the revised draw. Those who think West get an easy run will be in for a bit of a shock, although it looks as though the league has tried to even out the draw.
Of the finals contenders
West play GP, Braybrook, Wyndamvale, DP, NF, and NS twice.
SH play Wyndamvale, BP,GP,CD, Braybrook, DP
NF play CD, GP, BP, Wyndamvale, West, Albanvale
DP play WM, Wyndamvale, Braybrook, West, Albanvale, SH
NS play Braybrook, CD, WM, BP, Wyndamvale, West
Albanvale play BP, WM, CD, Braybrook, DP, NF
Wyndamvale play SH, DP, West, NF, NS, WM
Braybrook play NS, West, DP, Albanvale, SH, GP
CD play NF, NS, Albanvale, SH, GP, BP
Can't see WM, BP, or GP challenging.
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 11:36
Thats a pretty strong forward line but hard to fit them all in there... a good small forward would be handy... any of those at West?
I don't think any team has enough quality backs to cover all those talls but IMO Heights mid field will have it over wests... limiting supply..... could be a shoot out when the Dragons take on Wests and with the dragons forwards getting more supply they will get over the top
GBF50 I think you may be underestimating Wests midfield. Webbie, Cam Saliba etc will get their hands on the ball more than enough times to supply the forwards.....
Hey TD I think you may be thinking I'm someone else. My clearance was only approved a couple of weeks ago.
Boys - All I am I am reading about is "has beens". Bobby Evans, Inella and the best of all - BARNA!!!! hahahaha - that is laughable. Surely there has gotta be some new talent in Div 2...didnt West Footscray have some decent kids coming through the ranks the last couple of years? I say do what clubs like Sunshine Kangaroos did. Blood some good talented kids by mixing them with some current talent like Trevaskis etc.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 11:41
GBF50 I think you may be underestimating Wests midfield. Webbie, Cam Saliba etc will get their hands on the ball more than enough times to supply the forwards.....
Fair enough... they are good players ... but my opinion (and I have seen all players from both teams play)... is that they won't match it with Mallia, Greto, Weston Nicolaides and the Caruanas
Anyone know who Western Magpies play on the weekend, when and where.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 12:04
Just seen a copy of the revised draw. Those who think West get an easy run will be in for a bit of a shock, although it looks as though the league has tried to even out the draw.
Of the finals contenders
When was this released?
If this is corrcet Heights draw has improved heaps.
Tony Delaney
29 Mar 2007, 12:48
Coaches Heights.
Wrong again, keep guessing Shane Geddes
Tony Delaney
29 Mar 2007, 12:54
Of the finals contenders
Yeah real hard run on last years results. Deer Park were good, Wyndhamvale fell into the finals and none of the other 4 made the finals. However it is slightly harder than you have had in the past as you usually get 3 out of the bottom 4 to double up against.
And Blueboy you have Webster and Saliba, one good tagging job leaves you with one gun on baller. As goes bang says you will need to stop Greto, Mallia, Caruana's, Nicholaides, Weston who are all guns, another difference besides the amount of gun midfielders is that the majority of our players actually go in and get the ball.
Gemini17
29 Mar 2007, 13:43
Yeah real hard run on last years results. Deer Park were good, Wyndhamvale fell into the finals and none of the other 4 made the finals. However it is slightly harder than you have had in the past as you usually get 3 out of the bottom 4 to double up against.
And Blueboy you have Webster and Saliba, one good tagging job leaves you with one gun on baller. As goes bang says you will need to stop Greto, Mallia, Caruana's, Nicholaides, Weston who are all guns, another difference besides the amount of gun midfielders is that the majority of our players actually go in and get the ball.
How does it go coach 'Wrong again'? North Footscray also played finals. Braybrook were knocking on the door and North Sunshine look to have improved.
Looks like premiership favourtism is with Heights. West cannot match their on ballers, and our forward line is too fat and slow. Hope the backline holds up or we are in for some floggings.:rolleyes:
Who's got games this weekend. West play Old Westbourne on Saturday in Werribee.
typewriter
29 Mar 2007, 14:08
typewriter i havent heard to much from the falcons as they probably have got computers or internet down there way yet lol:) . yeah ur probably safe saying ull be in the top 5 yet again but u guys really need to come thru 4 a change instead of being around the mark ever year it must get a bit frustrating:mad: r u guys on ur ground at present or training elsewhere do u have a game this weekend
i agree hammers heights have worked hard on that mental attitude near enuf is not good enuf. a few years ago we really struggled to overcome the big eg exodus of players that left/retired. a new coach Bomber came in and more recently asistant Michael grima have worked really hard to blood youngsters includeding the gretos westos and caruanas who r now our veterans at only 24 years of age, right up2 the likes of the nicolaides boys nick caruana Kapetanos' etc more recently. hopefully we have finally got that blend to push for more success, it is exciting times down at dragonland.
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 14:17
gemini do you rate heights or is td a little over confident
is your midfield that bad has west signed any onballers at all
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 14:42
Wests midfield isnt that bad.... just not AS good as Heights... still better than alot of others in the comp
There are more than two sides in the comp..sure Heights and West will be tough but what about the finals contenders from 07 that have recruited over summer. Deer Park will be thereabouts again under Robbie May and if that Dipper etc stick around then they'll be tough. North Footscray..I bumped into a bloke on their committee the other day and he was quietly confident they were on track for a real tilt at it it this year given their recruiting over summer.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 15:06
There are more than two sides in the comp..sure Heights and West will be tough but what about the finals contenders from 07 that have recruited over summer. Deer Park will be thereabouts again under Robbie May and if that Dipper etc stick around then they'll be tough. North Footscray..I bumped into a bloke on their committee the other day and he was quietly confident they were on track for a real tilt at it it this year given their recruiting over summer.
Fair points but the only teams posting positive stuff on here are heights, west and North....
Karim Posts for Albanvale but he just makes them look silly
Mithman/Crazyhouse made people think that Coburg are no good.
Weapons has given up on the Deer Park Pensioners
Don't hear much about the others....
It's all just crap talk anyway.... bring on Round 1!!!!
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 15:20
Deer Park have no chance. They will make finals but are just making up numbers.
bob7965
29 Mar 2007, 15:29
Saliba will get plenty of it and he is a quality player but his opponent will get just as much so a shootout is def on the cards but heights have at least 10 quality on ballers they can put in there for rotation so fresher legs may be the difference.
Innella will struggle this year he is def on his last legs.Mark my words 75-80% of his goals will come against the minnows Brunswick,western magpies etc.
typewriter
29 Mar 2007, 15:29
i agree bangers bring on round 1.
then teams can do their talking on the field.
i still think wests and deer park r clear favourites their recruits have results in our comp prior to this season, although both teams r older than normal u cant substitute quality. we have recruited well but a few still havnt played div2 wrfl footy so r a bit unknown.
hey gem/ blue boy i am still intrigued as r many on this website how ur gona fit lane,inella,barna in 1 forward line especially in those open spaces of Essex st????
karim13
29 Mar 2007, 16:07
Fair points but the only teams posting positive stuff on here are heights, west and North....
Karim Posts for Albanvale but he just makes them look silly
Mithman/Crazyhouse made people think that Coburg are no good.
Weapons has given up on the Deer Park Pensioners
Don't hear much about the others....
It's all just crap talk anyway.... bring on Round 1!!!!
goesbang i just want the season to start, theres so muh s h i t said on this site its not funny, i agree dude bring on rd 1
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 16:09
i still think wests and deer park r clear favourites their recruits have results in our comp prior to this season, although both teams r older than normal u cant substitute quality. we have recruited well but a few still havnt played div2 wrfl footy so r a bit unknown.
hey gem/ blue boy i am still intrigued as r many on this website how ur gona fit lane,inella,barna in 1 forward line especially in those open spaces of Essex st????
i think Gem17 will be better suited to answer that question.
Tony Delaney
29 Mar 2007, 16:30
Your posts all seem very similar. TD is not over confidant at all about the seasons outcomes. Am confidant that we are going to be competetive as we have recruited well and trained hard and the established players have all had their best season in years. However as I have posted many times anything can happen in football and a bit of luck with injuries, form etc at the right end of the season is always a factor on how far sides go. eg in the AFL the side that wins the premiership has used the least or close to the least players for the season. Sydney played their premiership year with about 15 players playing close to every game.
I still think West and Deer Park are favourites and Heights comes in the next bracket.
And Gemini yes I was wrong about Nth but they also fell into the finals so on last years results you have Deer Park who were very good and 2 other sides that fell into finals. Yes others look to have improved but hasn't everyone improved at this time of year. So enjoy your slightly harder draw as you usually have the 3 or 4 bottom teams twice.
Tony Delaney
29 Mar 2007, 16:33
i think Gem17 will be better suited to answer that question.
What all of a sudden you don't know. You know the ins and outs of West Footscray unbelievably so for someone new to the club. Yes you should be unstoppable with the forward line you have only problem being it would be in a tug of war.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Mar 2007, 16:35
eg in the AFL the side that wins the premiership has used the least or close to the least players for the season. Sydney played their premiership year with about 15 players playing close to every game.
Fair point TD
I stand to be corrected on this but I beleive that Glenorden used on 27 or 28 players in their senior team last year... and Deer Park were around 32 -33... Most other teams were way higher than that.... Heights used 49 different players in the seniors..
billylid
29 Mar 2007, 16:53
What all of a sudden you don't know. You know the ins and outs of West Footscray unbelievably so for someone new to the club. Yes you should be unstoppable with the forward line you have only problem being it would be in a tug of war.
sorry blueboy16 but you have been well and trully stitch up on this occassion
al_smith07
29 Mar 2007, 17:09
not sure how good your reading ability is td but the question was directed to gemini if i wished to hear your response i would have addressed it to you
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 17:11
TD your police work isn't great, maybe time to go back to the academy, but with me being a player i am unaware of what structure the coaches have in place to use those 3 so that they dont get in each others ways. Gem17 is a coach of the club, thats why I put it over to him. Thats what i meant to being better suited to answer?
Blueboy16
29 Mar 2007, 17:14
sorry blueboy16 but you have been well and trully stitch up on this occassion
Well Billy who pulled your chain. back to the RDFL thread for you. Oh while your here would you kindly advise Mr TD that I played in the RDFL last season with you!
billylid
30 Mar 2007, 09:45
Well Billy who pulled your chain. back to the RDFL thread for you. Oh while your here would you kindly advise Mr TD that I played in the RDFL last season with you!
that is correct you have been playing in the RDFL for at least the past 5-6 years if not more
Gemini17
30 Mar 2007, 10:53
Won't be a problem to fit them in. Barna not playing this year due to work. Our problem is Heights backline obviously has our measure - so we need to work around that.
typewriter
30 Mar 2007, 13:59
hey any1 played glenroy yet this year?
Tony Delaney
30 Mar 2007, 15:21
not sure how good your reading ability is td but the question was directed to gemini if i wished to hear your response i would have addressed it to you
Perhaps you should have sent a private message, I thought I read it on the public forum. Silly me.
Also do you think everyone is that silly to think that you are only known as al smith. Two log ons. Very classy.
Blueboy16
30 Mar 2007, 15:56
Perhaps you should have sent a private message, I thought I read it on the public forum. Silly me.
Also do you think everyone is that silly to think that you are only known as al smith. Two log ons. Very classy.
TD you are making quite a few assumtions the last few days. Both Gem17 & Al Smith are different people.
Gemini17
30 Mar 2007, 16:41
Are you insinuating that I am Al Smith? If I was that full of it I would have called myself DougMac94 or Ollie99. People on here know who I am. Care to drop a 'Bomb' on us and reveal your identity.
Tony Delaney
30 Mar 2007, 19:04
Are you insinuating that I am Al Smith? If I was that full of it I would have called myself DougMac94 or Ollie99. People on here know who I am. Care to drop a 'Bomb' on us and reveal your identity.
Who said anything about you being al smith all I said is al smith is not just al smith. Why did you pipe up.
al_smith07
30 Mar 2007, 19:22
please dt may i ask what the hell you know about class come on bomber you can do better than that
red devil1
30 Mar 2007, 19:36
Won't be a problem to fit them in. Barna not playing this year due to work. Our problem is Heights backline obviously has our measure - so we need to work around that.
That is disappointing that Dan Connor won't be playing. He is a character of the WRFL.
Tony Delaney
30 Mar 2007, 21:34
Your post is sooooo witty and intelligent. Keep up the good work. Also keep guessing who you think I am. Might introduce myself in the middle of a pack when we play but unlikely to see any West players in the middle.
Tony Delaney
30 Mar 2007, 21:46
please dt may i ask what the hell you know about class come on bomber you can do better than that
It's TD not dt . Also 6 posts out of 11 mention TD, must be fascinated or something. Might have a Heights player inside you trying to break out. Just put yourself out of your misery and come down to Heights you can't get us out of your head.
al_smith07
30 Mar 2007, 22:03
hey dt just wondering how much time you have on your hands to go through all of my posts count them your a winner :thumbsu:
any way im getting on deer parks band wagon its early and between injurys and form unknown at this stage i think top two.
any early calls on the alan smith medal and the goal kicking awards.
and no dt i dont have anything for your club its just you keep talking them up so much(wishful thinking)that i could not help myself
Tony Delaney
30 Mar 2007, 22:23
hey dt just wondering how much time you have on your hands to go through all of my posts count them your a winner :thumbsu:
any way im getting on deer parks band wagon its early and between injurys and form unknown at this stage i think top two.
any early calls on the alan smith medal and the goal kicking awards.
and no dt i dont have anything for your club its just you keep talking them up so much(wishful thinking)that i could not help myself
I sensed a familiar pattern and took a whole 30 seconds to open one page and see td this td that etc etc. The reason for this only you will know little man. By the way you only have 11 posts so don't flatter yourself that I spent time going through them. Remember your the one with the fascination not me.
Yes wishful thinking is the way to go at this time of year. Do you think it's best that sides do a pre season and say we might win a game or two. I call it being positive and knowing that Heights will be competetive.
'Your getting on Deer Parks band wagon between injuries and form unknown at this stage I think top two' That makes a lot of sense, had a few drinks on a Friday night have we.
You asked about goal kicking Al. Theres a guy at West Steve Lane he wins it a fair bit. Won an Al Smith medal too.
al_smith07
30 Mar 2007, 23:32
now come on bomber being a smart ass will get you know where.
you have 200 posts rather than 11 that makes you much more of a man,doesnt it you peckerhead.
i saw deer park during preseason and i think they look the goods i also seen heights run around and didnt think much just my opinion you dont have to like i couldnt care less
i thought you said lane was too old and now your talking him up make up your mind champ.
question, do you get a funny feeling after the game when you see naked guys walking around its ok to feel like that its accepted now days
Gemini17
30 Mar 2007, 23:52
Your post is sooooo witty and intelligent. Keep up the good work. Also keep guessing who you think I am. Might introduce myself in the middle of a pack when we play but unlikely to see any West players in the middle.
Feel free champ. You talk the talk, hope you can walk the walk. Missed out on playing Heights last year, definitely looking forward to it this year.
Gemini17
30 Mar 2007, 23:56
That is disappointing that Dan Connor won't be playing. He is a character of the WRFL.
Who's Dan Connor? Is that an in joke?
red devil1
31 Mar 2007, 09:58
Who's Dan Connor? Is that an in joke?
Dan Connor is the actor John Goodman from the sitcom Roseanne. Barna looks like him. Won't mention it again as I think I am the only one who finds it funny!
Tony Delaney
31 Mar 2007, 12:03
now come on bomber being a smart ass will get you know where.
you have 200 posts rather than 11 that makes you much more of a man,doesnt it you peckerhead.
i saw deer park during preseason and i think they look the goods i also seen heights run around and didnt think much just my opinion you dont have to like i couldnt care less
i thought you said lane was too old and now your talking him up make up your mind champ.
question, do you get a funny feeling after the game when you see naked guys walking around its ok to feel like that its accepted now days
I mentioned Laney is as old as the hills never said too old dill so don't mis quote me.
Couldn't care what you think of Heights I know we will be competetive end of story.
Who are you anyway a West supporter or one of their overweight overpaid recruits trying to be a big fish in a little pond.
Good assessments of Deer Park and Heights by driving past a training run that should be a very accurate guide sounds nearly sounds as pathetic as your reasoning why Deer Park will be top two.
I also think Deer Park will be top two but my reasoning actually has substance beingis they made the grand final last year and only lost to the premiers and havn't lost many players. I think West will be top two as well having picked up Kaddour, Saliba and a couple of other big fish.
al_smith07
31 Mar 2007, 13:07
dill did i say i drove past, no i didnt i saw training and a scratch match much the same as with heights so dont mis quote me hipocrite
how am i trying to be a big fish in a little pond by having an opinion, can know one in here have an opinion apart from you pull your head in
all-eyes-on-me
31 Mar 2007, 18:19
went down to wath hights today and wasnt impressed!! central players stood out snipering and be undisapline along with most of there team!! 3 send off i think for the snr game and herd there was a fair punch up in the 2s aswell? can u fill us in tony. thought greto looked good always had plenty of time and looked classy. was the guy rucking ya new star ruckman ive herd about or did he not play?
red devil1
31 Mar 2007, 18:36
went down to wath hights today and wasnt impressed!! central players stood out snipering and be undisapline along with most of there team!! 3 send off i think for the snr game and herd there was a fair punch up in the 2s aswell? can u fill us in tony. thought greto looked good always had plenty of time and looked classy. was the guy rucking ya new star ruckman ive herd about or did he not play?
Please explain TD or goesbang. I am fascinated by this. The Devils (along with many other clubs) have had the difficulties with these types of players in the past.
GoesBangFrom50
31 Mar 2007, 18:54
central players stood out snipering and be undisapline along with most of there team!! 3 send off i think for the snr game and herd there was a fair punch up in the 2s aswell? ?
All eyes ur posts are usually pretty good... and fair and reasonable but this is an absolute joke!!!!
I'll give u this... Heights were not that impressive today (with 5 or 6 out) and there were 2 send offs (2 from each team I might add)... but
1- There were NO fights in the reserves at all.
2- Who were the centrals players that wer sniping??... absolute crap... 1 was off after half time injured...and the other 2 were nowhere near the 2 scuffles that took place... I might add that there was not even 1 punch thrown in either of the scuffles
Posts like yours make me sick... those blokes did nothing wrong at all today and just played footy....yet crap like this gives them a bad reputation because people who were not there beleive it..
Do the right thing and admit that you were wrong to post that!!!
GoesBangFrom50
31 Mar 2007, 19:03
Should add that Heights still won the game
all-eyes-on-me
31 Mar 2007, 19:06
All eyes ur posts are usually pretty good... and fair and reasonable but this is an absolute joke!!!!
I'll give u this... Heights were not that impressive today (with 5 or 6 out) and there were 2 send offs (2 from each team I might add)... but
1- There were NO fights in the reserves at all.
2- Who were the centrals players that wer sniping??... absolute crap... 1 was off after half time injured...and the other 2 were nowhere near the 2 scuffles that took place... I might add that there was not even 1 punch thrown in either of the scuffles
Posts like yours make me sick... those blokes did nothing wrong at all today and just played footy....yet crap like this gives them a bad reputation because people who were not there beleive it..
Do the right thing and admit that you were wrong to post that!!!
didnt see the ressies mate as i said herd there was a fight in the 2's but may have been told rubbish. ill give u that 1, seen with my own eyes a scuffle up the car park end where there was at least one or two central players there where involved!! also no clean punches thrown but pleanty in the packs please admit thats crap along with a huge elbows right in front of a bench? your own coach was very disapoinyed with the disapline? is this true bangs? not having a go mate just saying what i seen!!
GoesBangFrom50
31 Mar 2007, 19:09
didnt see the ressies mate as i said herd there was a fight in the 2's but may have been told rubbish. ill give u that 1, seen with my own eyes a scuffle up the car park end where there was at least one or two central players there where involved!! also no clean punches thrown but pleanty in the packs please admit thats crap along with a huge elbows right in front of a bench? your own coach was very disapoinyed with the disapline? is this true bangs? not having a go mate just saying what i seen!!
Spoke to coach and captain after the game and they were both unhappy about the discipline... thats more send offs than the whole of last year..
Still say crap about Faisal or Ahmed being involved in the fight... by the way they are Heights players and not CENTRALS players...
Hope u enjoyed ur light ice... or was it a Carlton Cold??
all-eyes-on-me
31 Mar 2007, 19:17
Spoke to coach and captain after the game and they were both unhappy about the discipline... thats more send offs than the whole of last year..
Still say crap about Faisal or Ahmed being involved in the fight... by the way they are Heights players and not CENTRALS players...
Hope u enjoyed ur light ice... or was it a Carlton Cold??
hhahahahahahaha yeah a carlton cold!! i got nothink to hide mate. they are hights players and hope they can prove me and everyone else wrong and play good disapline footy come round 1!!
Tony Delaney
31 Mar 2007, 21:16
dill did i say i drove past, no i didnt i saw training and a scratch match much the same as with heights so dont mis quote me hipocrite
how am i trying to be a big fish in a little pond by having an opinion, can know one in here have an opinion apart from you pull your head in
I didn't say you were a big fish for having an opinion and yes I was wrong about driving past.
Anyway little man don't be grumpy because it was mentioned on big footy that players that run from clubs when they are in a bit of trouble are not the players that Heights want. Hopefully if things get tough at West you show them some loyalty and hang around. When the going gets tough the weak get going.
The big fish comment was for the recruits that actually have a name not a guy who played A 1 reserves.
How weak are you little man coming back as al smith because I knew Parksider was one on the players that left Parkside "because it's **** down there this year"
Guess what speaking to two very good friends at West they are not impressed by you in the slightest actually you have made no impression so maybe hunt around for another club. Run along now Mr. Falcke and stop trying to puff your chest out behind al smith because we all know who you are now. Not the brightest boy around are you.
Tony Delaney
31 Mar 2007, 21:32
Agree with all goes bang says in his reply. I know you are a good kid and mean well but your post is way off the mark and honestly very poor. There was no snipering, our players from Centrals all played well and FAIR so don't bad mouth and individualise when it's bull .....
No one said the Ruckman was a star but he is 6 ft 5 and can play football. Didn't play last year so will take a while to get firing. No doubt by 5 or 6 games in he will be capable of a best on ground. When your Ruckman have been 6 ft 1 someone with height who can play is something to get a bit excited about. Hope that wasn't sarcasm in your post with the star ruckman comment as we havn't seen you play yet and I am very very confidant that our ruckman is going to be very influencial as the season goes on.
The 3 best were Farnfield, Nicholaides and Munn. Westo played well got better as the game went on, Greto, Mallia and S. Nicholaides played well as did Faisel with 5 goals. Still to come in are Pante, M. Caruana, Stewart, Soto, Mizzi and G. Hills. All very good players.
Heights played well and won in a fast game. Discipline was not the best with 2 send offs where the opposition had 2 as well and about 5 50 metre penalties. However with the umpires that are dished up to A2's the whistle never goes away and 50's are as common as ball ups.
red devil1
31 Mar 2007, 22:32
Agree with all goes bang says in his reply. I know you are a good kid and mean well but your post is way off the mark.
No one said the Ruckman was a star but he is 6 ft 5 and can play football. Didn't play last year so will take a while to get firing. No doubt by 5 or 6 games in he will be capable of a best on ground. When your Ruckman have been 6 ft 1 someone with height who can play is something to get a bit excited about.
The 3 best were Farnfield, Nicholaides and Munn. Westo played well got better as the game went on, Greto, Mallia and S. Nicholaides played well as did Faisel with 5 goals. Still to come in are Pante, M. Caruana, Stewart, Soto, Mizzi and G. Hills. All very good players.
Heights played well and won in a fast game. Discipline was not the best with 2 send offs where the opposition had 2 as well and about 5 50 metre penalties. However with the umpires that are dished up to A2's the whistle never goes away and 50's are as common as ball ups.
Anyone reported? Who was sent off?
karim13
31 Mar 2007, 23:24
we all looking foward to the season boys? not long now..
td u know how i love u yeah hehe well ive got somthing 4 u champ allan william anounced 2day that he will b playing, never seen him play but i hear he goes alrite, and the mystry ff has been guessed good work boys, grainger is a top bloke and what i hear can play footy, i think will b a very handy pick up..
bring on round 1 oh i can smell it wohoooo
ALGY VOSILITIS
31 Mar 2007, 23:34
:eek: I was down at THOMAS CAR SCHOOL watching WEST FOOTSCRAY VRS OLD WESTBOURNE practice match,\ i would have thought a Western region team would defeat a c grade ammo team but it wasn't the case .
The roosters looked terrible and had some blokes play both 2nd and 1st;s
being an ex west footscray old boy can any one tell me about the club this year? I couldn;t see BONES MCGHIE is he still coaching.
:eek: I was down at THOMAS CAR SCHOOL watching WEST FOOTSCRAY VRS OLD WESTBOURNE practice match,\ i would have thought a Western region team would defeat a c grade ammo team but it wasn't the case .
The roosters looked terrible and had some blokes play both 2nd and 1st;s
being an ex west footscray old boy can any one tell me about the club this year? I couldn;t see BONES MCGHIE is he still coaching.
Heights beat them by 15pts doesnt sound like West are travelling very well.