my tips for round 13 are;
braybrook v wyndhamvale
centrals v heights
coburg v western maggies
deer park v wests
glenorden v power
north footscray v albanvale
north sunshine v gladdy
Just wondering Unit 27 why you have selected north and west in your tips. Both Deer Park and Albanvale are travelling pretty well at the moment.
In my mind Wests are the real deal and are my premiership fav's they r running hot at the moment and i cant even c Glenorden stopping them the next time they meet
Nth Footscray on the other hand will be fighting to stay there and keep some respect i think the Devils will turn it on against Albanvale and only win by about 1 - 3 goals.
crappermd
14 Jul 2006, 21:03
Can you explain why west only beat Central Altona by two goals two weeks ago?
GoesBangFrom50
14 Jul 2006, 21:14
West will get found out... rely on lane, Cubella (when he plays) and Mcghie to kick 70 -80 % of there goals. If u cab hold them they can't score enough to win... Problem for most teams is they dont have 3 defenders good enough to hold them.
Can you explain why west only beat Central Altona by two goals two weeks ago?
Goesbangfrom50 said it for me ... Lane and Mcghie will kick bags of 5 each and that will be enough to just get Wests over the line but then sayin that if Deer park stop them then Deer Park will win , but i dont think they will be able too stop them and Wests r my tip.
crappermd
14 Jul 2006, 21:33
Brunswick Power, Western Magpies, North Sunshine and Gladdy Park. Can any followers see improvement next year and if or what are the positives out of this season?
GoesBangFrom50
14 Jul 2006, 21:37
Brunswick Power, Western Magpies, North Sunshine and Gladdy Park. Can any followers see improvement next year and if or what are the positives out of this season?
Power - NO positives at all!!
Gladstone Park... too old, too slow.. just recruit the same type every year... big slow and old.Once shepherd hangs em up it will only get worse for them.
Magpies have a decent U18's so could improve if they stick around.
N sunshine are at least competitive but there best players are almost all over 30.
What the hell is wrong with these Magpies? .. How can they lose by 195 points to Coburg who arent in the top 5 sides by a longshot , i wonder if the fellas down at Laverton even care , Brunswick v Laverton in a couple of weeks it will be interesting to see the result.
laverton will win......just!
Brunswick will win again! Go the POWER
If the fellas didn't care then no-one would've turned up.
Things aren't easy at the moment, the club is at its lowest point and everyone is trying very hard. Hopefully within 1-2 years this will change with the U18s coming up, hopefully they will stay at the club.
I was there and I admit there skill level isnt the best, but don't accuse the players of not caring.
A few of the players had to play both reserves and seniors because of a lack of players. The conditions yesterday were atrocious, most parts of the ground were 1/2 inch under water.
They will beat Brunswick in a couple of weeks and I believe quite comfortably!
The Club has to find some way to keep these under 18's there coz i know for a fact that most of the guys will be moving on ...
A few of the players had to play both reserves and seniors because of a lack of players.
It's disapointing when players have to do that, I hate seeing it and it's unfortunate. But that shows real character to those blokes willing to play 8 Qtrs of footy a week and cop a belting every game just for there club. That's why I respect the Magpies and Power players.
THE RED MAN
16 Jul 2006, 23:53
What's going on west Footscray???????????Spent a fair bit of coin and been convincingly beat by Deer Park & Glenorden and easily might l add. From the amount of money they have spent for a Division 2 club Bones McGhie would want to guarantee them a flag. the wheels have fallen off there twos as well. Can someone in the know advise?????
Can anyone challenge Glen Orden or Deer Park???????? seriously
GoesBangFrom50
17 Jul 2006, 18:33
[quote
Can anyone challenge Glen Orden or Deer Park???????? seriously[/quote]
Agree with your thoughts on West. Have u ever listened to Bones at 1/4 or 3/4 time..... gives the players nothing instructional... all RA RA RA!!! that went out 15 years ago.
Only 2 teams that may be able to challenge are Albanvale and Heights. Albanvale play Glenorden this week and then Deer Park and heights play N Foots then Glenorden followed by Deer Park.
IF Heights or Albanvale can win or push either D Park or Glenorden in those games it will give them some chance in the finals.... remember as good as Glenorden are they are still yet to prove that there game plan can really stand up in finals.
GoesBangFrom50
19 Jul 2006, 19:47
Can anyone confirm the whisper that the year is over for Central Altona. I have heard that nobody wants to play them in the last 4 rounds and that is it 4 the year???
Agree with your thoughts on West. Have u ever listened to Bones at 1/4 or 3/4 time..... gives the players nothing instructional... all RA RA RA!!! that went out 15 years ago.
Only 2 teams that may be able to challenge are Albanvale and Heights. Albanvale play Glenorden this week and then Deer Park and heights play N Foots then Glenorden followed by Deer Park.
IF Heights or Albanvale can win or push either D Park or Glenorden in those games it will give them some chance in the finals.... remember as good as Glenorden are they are still yet to prove that there game plan can really stand up in finals.
Well Wests did nuthin for me on the weekend but i still feel if is going to come close to Glenorden and Deer Park its got to be Wests and Albanvale , I cant put Heights into that category because when they come up against the top 4 sides they usually dont win.
GoesBangFrom50
19 Jul 2006, 21:14
Well Wests did nuthin for me on the weekend but i still feel if is going to come close to Glenorden and Deer Park its got to be Wests and Albanvale , I cant put Heights into that category because when they come up against the top 4 sides they usually dont win.
fair call on heights... but west are the same.... lost 3 games this year, Glenorden, Deer Park and somehow Wyndhamvale. They rely on too few to do all the scoring.
glenorden has been the best team all year. at the start you would have said orden-w/foots Gf but now it looks like deer park. the players they got from taylors lakes recently has now made them the real danger for orden. cant see any other team challenging these two.
Travvy43
20 Jul 2006, 10:32
glenorden has been the best team all year. at the start you would have said orden-w/foots Gf but now it looks like deer park. the players they got from taylors lakes recently has now made them the real danger for orden. cant see any other team challenging these two.
Glenorden have probably been consistently the best team in the comp for the last 3-4 years, except maybe altonas second premiership year. Do they fall in a hole finals time? Is this their year to take it out and make the step to division one??
behen_666
20 Jul 2006, 17:11
I've seen GlenOrden all year, they always do enough to win when they have to, looks like they might lose one player late though.
Ricky Muscat (8) is heading to Sydney, not sure when. He has made the final 24 of Australian Idol. It's meant to start soon!!
Palace03
20 Jul 2006, 17:55
Can anyone confirm the whisper that the year is over for Central Altona. I have heard that nobody wants to play them in the last 4 rounds and that is it 4 the year???
Central Altona have been suspended for the rest of 2006, looks like Brunswick are gone too.
Palace03
20 Jul 2006, 17:58
Glenorden have probably been consistently the best team in the comp for the last 3-4 years, except maybe altonas second premiership year. Do they fall in a hole finals time? Is this their year to take it out and make the step to division one??
Glen Orden were the best side in the comp in 2003 and 2004, and failed to live up to expectations in both finals series, there is absolutly no excuse for them if they fail to win the flag and be promoted to Division 1 next season.
Would love to see a Glen Orden v Hoppers derby.
Central Altona have been suspended for the rest of 2006, looks like Brunswick are gone too.
geeez .. what happened?
kangaman06
20 Jul 2006, 23:28
Yes it's true, we (Coburg Districts) were meant to play them this week and Huffy told us tonight at training no Centrals, apparently kicked out. I thought there may have been an incident last week.
GoesBangFrom50
21 Jul 2006, 09:06
Yes it's true, we (Coburg Districts) were meant to play them this week and Huffy told us tonight at training no Centrals, apparently kicked out. I thought there may have been an incident last week.
Heights played them last week and there were no incidents... although the umpires were scared sensless all day. Although nothing happened you always sensed that they could go off at any time
sunline 11
21 Jul 2006, 09:47
Glen Orden were the best side in the comp in 2003 and 2004, and failed to live up to expectations in both finals series, there is absolutly no excuse for them if they fail to win the flag and be promoted to Division 1 next season.
Would love to see a Glen Orden v Hoppers derby.
What do you think a Glen Orden v Hoppers derby would end up like? do you think Glenorden would get within 20 goals?.
cold pies
21 Jul 2006, 11:39
how are glenorden travelling off the field can anyone elaborate on this
if they do win the flag, which it seems they probably should, will they be able to come up to division 1 and recruit players and be competitive
i for one hope they can, altona have shown promise this season and have something to build on and it's been a while since teams have been promoted from division 2 and been able to cope in a grade
if altona improve next year and glenorden come up and be competitive it will be a very good comp in 1st division
Palace03
21 Jul 2006, 12:05
What do you think a Glen Orden v Hoppers derby would end up like? do you think Glenorden would get within 20 goals?.
I would think Hoppers would win the game easily, especially at Hoppers, but there would be a bit in it, I don't think the two would like each other very much.
sunline 11
21 Jul 2006, 12:12
I would think Hoppers would win the game easily, especially at Hoppers, but there would be a bit in it, I don't think the two would like each other very much.
When was the last time these two clubs played each other? Why is there no love lost between these two clubs?, Do you think it would be good for the comp with a local derby, I'm sure it would attract a big crowd.
beefeater1000
21 Jul 2006, 12:14
hey palace, do u know if brunswick got suspended or folded??
beefeater1000
21 Jul 2006, 12:16
When was the last time these two clubs played each other? Why is there no love lost between these two clubs?, Do you think it would be good for the comp with a local derby, I'm sure it would attract a big crowd.
yeah for sure, would there be a bit of a jumper clash tho? didnt glenorden had hawthorn jumpers back in the day? seddon have gone, so they might go back to the old strip against hoppers
bush_tucker77
21 Jul 2006, 13:15
and Hoppers used to wear geelong strip until they met albion one day and were forced to change.
cold pies
21 Jul 2006, 16:28
i don't think the hoppers crossing footy club could give two hoots about glenorden
beefeater1000
21 Jul 2006, 17:22
can anyone shed some light on the central altona and brunswick power situation (leaving the wrfl for 06) - can anyone confirm this?? thatd be great, cheers :thumbsu:
Palace03
21 Jul 2006, 18:22
Central Altona have been suspended for the remainder of this season, hopefully they will be back next year. Brunswick have basically been shown the door after several irresponsible decisions made by club officals this year, from what I've heard their club president has basically indicated they won't be back next season even if they were welcome.
I'm sure Hoppers wouldnt care if they played Glen Orden or not, but Orden would love to have a shot at Hoppers and another local derby would be good for the competition, there would probably be a few Orden boys who didn't quite cut it at Hoppers that would love to put one over them.
behen_666
21 Jul 2006, 19:07
I heard a small rumour Deer Park are in a little trouble by the league for submitting a player so this player could make finals, and he didn't play and they got busted, points could be lost maybe??? I think it was for their reserves side though.
GoesBangFrom50
21 Jul 2006, 19:16
Central Altona was just on the news complaining about being kicked out... all revolves around 1 player who was suspended for 38 weeks earlier in the year... he got his suspension reduced to 8 weeks and is due back this week. Thats what all the crap is about!!
He was on the news saying he has been racially discriminated against.... What crap. The bloke is a meat head, plays footy just to start trouble
GoesBangFrom50
21 Jul 2006, 19:17
I heard a small rumour Deer Park are in a little trouble by the league for submitting a player so this player could make finals, and he didn't play and they got busted, points could be lost maybe??? I think it was for their reserves side though.
who was the player?
behen_666
22 Jul 2006, 11:23
I don't want to incriminate anyone, it was just a rumour, he changed clubs during season, and needed to qualify.
crappermd
23 Jul 2006, 16:36
Should be an interesting round next week with
Albanvale Vs Glenordan
Heights Vs Deer Park
West Vs Braybrook.
Deer Park and Glenordan secure in the four. Who will fill the other two spots and secure double chance with three rounds to go??? Any thoughts???
What happened to games between Central Altona and Coburg districts and Brunswick Power and braybrook in the firsts where results just missed in the paper or were games in the firsts forfeited and if so why.
I can understand forfeits in the seconds thru lack of players etc.
kangaman06
23 Jul 2006, 18:15
What happened to games between Central Altona and Coburg districts and Brunswick Power and Braybrook in the firsts where results just missed in the paper or were games in the firsts forfeited and if so why.
I can understand forfeits in the seconds thru lack of players etc.
I play for Districts; all I know is I got a text message from our coach saying this weeks game was off. From what I can gather, allegedly the league kicked Central Altona out. But I'm still waiting for the league to make some sort of announcement. With Brunswick, it wouldn't suprise me if they couldn't get enough players - for a while quite a few have been playing both games on a Saturday.
Lol not good for the Magpies with Brunswick Power gone ... probly forever the laughing stock now unless they keep the juniors from moving to other clubs.
kangaman06
24 Jul 2006, 13:26
Initially I must agree with you, from what I saw Brunswick were the much better side, both in terms of skill and heart. But now with Brunswick dropping out altogether, I must say at least Western Magpies have the ticker to stay in the comp, even after getting beaten senseless every week.
But they must keep their juniors together, hell i'd even be playing some of the 18's and even 16's so they can get a taste of senior level footy and it'll show the juniors that the club is keen to have them around longer than just junior footy.
Initially I must agree with you, from what I saw Brunswick were the much better side, both in terms of skill and heart. But now with Brunswick dropping out altogether, I must say at least Western Magpies have the ticker to stay in the comp, even after getting beaten senseless every week.
But they must keep their juniors together, hell i'd even be playing some of the 18's and even 16's so they can get a taste of senior level footy and it'll show the juniors that the club is keen to have them around longer than just junior footy.
Some of the 18's have been playing in the seniors at different points during the year, not in the last few weeks though. Youre right they do have the ticker to stay in the comp and survive. Next year (Hoping the 18s stay on with the club) they will be on the rise up the ladder, the 18s beat Werribee Juniors (who are the top side) on the weekend and are looking good for the premiership. They're getting beaten senseless most weeks, its not good, but they're looking towards the future. Hopefully its the Western Magpies on the rise for next year.
Just looked on the Western Magpies site and it has been updated a bit, the plans for the new clubrooms (Stage 1) are on the website
http://www.westernmagpies.com.au/images/stage%201%20plans.JPG
My North
24 Jul 2006, 17:17
will Brunswick Power turn up and play this week or they have forefit the season???
Just looked on the Western Magpies site and it has been updated a bit, the plans for the new clubrooms (Stage 1) are on the website
http://www.westernmagpies.com.au/images/stage%201%20plans.JPG
Is there definitely going to be new clubrooms or are they just talking about it at the moment?
kangaman06
25 Jul 2006, 12:36
Some interesting games this week.
ALBANVALE vs GLENORDEN
GLADSTONE PARK vs COBURG DISTRICTS
SUNSHINE HEIGHTS vs DEER PARK
WEST FOOTSCRAY vs BRAYBROOK
WYND'VALE FALCS vs WESTERN MAGPIES
Top 4 playing off against each other and some games that could decide the second half of the 8 - 8th spot in particular. Any thoughts?
Is there definitely going to be new clubrooms or are they just talking about it at the moment?
I think they have the grant 4 it and i think its going ahead.
will Brunswick Power turn up and play this week or they have forefit the season???
I think they r out 4 the season as well as Central Altona.
North Sunshine, Western Magpies, Gladstone Park, North Footscray, Deer Park, Glenorden, Braybrook and Coburg Districts will get wins as Central Altona and Brunswick are allegedly suspended from competition.
Well the Western Magpies will get a win and they don't even have to turn up.
kangaman06
25 Jul 2006, 19:25
Can anyone confirm whether or not Deer Park picked up any players from Seddon. They seem to have gone from a good team to a very good team or are they just having a purple patch??
What are people's thoughts on the top 4 this year? Glenorden impressed me, they just run relentlessly and have earned the right to be flag favourites.
Deer Park were a good side, but I didn't think they were in the running although recent results could prove otherwise. Sunshine Heights were super-quick - from what I remember - but no a lack of talls should be their downfall.
Albanvale - kind of like Deer Park - pretty solid but didn't have the pace or the ability to run at pace all day like Glenorden.
I think they r out 4 the season as well as Central Altona.
North Sunshine, Western Magpies, Gladstone Park, North Footscray, Deer Park, Glenorden, Braybrook and Coburg Districts will get wins as Central Altona and Brunswick are allegedly suspended from competition.
Well the Western Magpies will get a win and they don't even have to turn up.
I heard Brunswick were suspended for one game , could be Bull$H[i]T though as one of my mates told me.
GoesBangFrom50
26 Jul 2006, 18:40
Can anyone confirm whether or not Deer Park picked up any players from Seddon. They seem to have gone from a good team to a very good team or are they just having a purple patch??
They are not a bad team in a pretty ordinary season. I think Robertson is finished for the season (Can anyone confirm this?) and a few of there players won't get any quicker as the season goes on... so may drop off leaving Glenorden to take the bikkies
crappermd
27 Jul 2006, 16:37
They are not a bad team in a pretty ordinary season. I think Robertson is finished for the season (Can anyone confirm this?) and a few of there players won't get any quicker as the season goes on... so may drop off leaving Glenorden to take the bikkies
Haven't heard that about robbo, can anyone confirm? Some good games this week. Any one want to put their tips up or are we just biding our time til Glenordan gets the flag!!
crappermd
27 Jul 2006, 16:52
Glenordan and Deer Park safe in top 2 with double chance. 4 clubs eyeing off spots three and four for double chance.
Albanvale - next three Glenordan/Braybrook/Nth Sunsh (Would poss 2/3)
West Footscray - Braybrook/North Sunsh/West Magpies (Would poss 3/3)
Heights - Deer Park/ Glenordan / Braybrook (tough draw maybe 1/3 or 2/3)
Wyndhamvale - W/Magpies/ Gladdy Park / Coburg (Might drop one 2/3)
My predictions -
Glenordan
Deer Park
West Footscray
Albanvale (on percentage over Heights and Wyndhamvale) (I expect Wyndhamvale to drop one of those gimme games) If any team drops a game against a lower ranked team then 3rd and 4th spot becomes wide open.
beefeater1000
27 Jul 2006, 16:59
brunswick power will NOT be playing this week v nth sunshine l
kanga fan man
27 Jul 2006, 17:07
Heard on grapevine that some of brunswick Power players have been givin permision to play at Braybrook for the rest of season
kangaman06
27 Jul 2006, 19:40
As a former Ammo's player, I was having a look at their website today - killing time at work - and noticed they have team of the year. As this is only my first year in the WRFL do they have that? Who from your club would have to be candidates?
From Coburg Districts - for me maybe Andrew Monteleone, Joe Cali, Craig Hough Justin Gomez and Chris T I would put up as candidates.
GoesBangFrom50
27 Jul 2006, 22:04
As a former Ammo's player, I was having a look at their website today - killing time at work - and noticed they have team of the year. As this is only my first year in the WRFL do they have that? Who from your club would have to be candidates?
From Coburg Districts - for me maybe Andrew Monteleone, Joe Cali, Craig Hough Justin Gomez and Chris T I would put up as candidates.
Good idea... I'll have a crack at a full team when I have some time..
Anyone havin a go at it, dont just trot out the name players.... like the media does..... be fair dinkum.
billylid
28 Jul 2006, 09:43
Good idea... I'll have a crack at a full team when I have some time..
Anyone havin a go at it, dont just trot out the name players.... like the media does..... be fair dinkum.
allan burrdige CHB from braybrook , and shane geddes HBF from West Footscray would be 2 blokes that would be in my 22 for team of the year
Next week we woulda seen Match of the Year , that being Western Magpies v Brunswick Power ... now that Brunswick have gone there will be no match, Who would u have tipped?
d-mac3276
29 Jul 2006, 23:26
Heard on grapevine that some of brunswick Power players have been givin permision to play at Braybrook for the rest of season And where would the absolute gun in Hardaway b playing now as he would b more than a handy pick up
roosters44
30 Jul 2006, 10:45
Don't mean to be rude but i can't see any side wanting Brunswick Power players, not even Western Magpies, none of them are any good.
GoesBangFrom50
30 Jul 2006, 16:54
Don't mean to be rude but i can't see any side wanting Brunswick Power players, not even Western Magpies, none of them are any good.
except Hardaway... every team in the comp would have him. Theres no way the league would let them play for other teams this year. Does that mean Centrals players can go to other clubs 2?
Sounds like crap to me
What ever happened to West Newport F.C , i went past there old home ground (Loft Park) the other day and i see its been takin over by Rugby ..
GoesBangFrom50
2 Aug 2006, 20:15
Guy's start planning for next year the flag has been won. No one will get near Glenorden. Ive seen enough. You could only say that there are 3 challengers.
West Footscray - Flogged by Glenorden twice this year... NO CHANCE
Albanvale - Beaten by Glenorden twice. I'll be generous and give them a 5% chance.
Deer Park - Beaten by Glenrden once.... but i watched them on the weekend and i kill tell you they won't win the big one because...
Catteral, Radford and Balshaw are too soft and won't get near it in a tough finals game.
Buhajar and King are Hot Heads and will cost them in the big games when the heat is on. Guranteed to explode.
2 big ruckmen playing behind the ball won't work on a big ground. If they are both on the field at the same time it's like playing 2 short... NO CHANCE.
To all the other teams... Start playin the kids now.
kangaman06
4 Aug 2006, 14:53
Guy's start planning for next year the flag has been won. No one will get near Glenorden. Ive seen enough. You could only say that there are 3 challengers.
West Footscray - Flogged by Glenorden twice this year... NO CHANCE
Albanvale - Beaten by Glenorden twice. I'll be generous and give them a 5% chance.
Deer Park - Beaten by Glenrden once.... but i watched them on the weekend and i kill tell you they won't win the big one because...
Catteral, Radford and Balshaw are too soft and won't get near it in a tough finals game.
Buhajar and King are Hot Heads and will cost them in the big games when the heat is on. Guranteed to explode.
2 big ruckmen playing behind the ball won't work on a big ground. If they are both on the field at the same time it's like playing 2 short... NO CHANCE.
To all the other teams... Start playin the kids now.
A fair assessment
Start playing the kids - we don't have any! Which is a shame cause some of us (i.e ME) are just hanging in there!
Big couple of weeks coming up for the final 8 - not disputing that Glenorden should win it all - if they don't biggest choke ever - but for some of the clubs battling for a finals spot this is definatley crunch time.
[quote=DekkaRoo]
gday dekka log on mate i sent you a private message
GoesBangFrom50
4 Aug 2006, 20:19
Start playing the kids - we don't have any!quote]
Unfortunately thats a huge problem for coburg!!
Whats the chance of Hough getting the job again... I really can't understand how he is still there. I think he has had the job for 5 years and I not 100% sure but I don't think coburg have played finals. In a 14 team comp with a final 8 thats a shocker.
He doesn't seem to have any tactics besides playin himself loose man in defence so he can rack up the touches!!
can someone please tell me where coburg districts ground is located?
kangaman06
4 Aug 2006, 21:51
can someone please tell me where coburg districts ground is located?
Corner of Cumberland and Kent - Cumberland is off Bell Street
As for Huffy - has suggested this could be his last year playing - has been playing hurt for 2 or more years now - will need one or maybe two op's post season.
As a coach - he's up there for me. I would like him to stay on, but if he chooses not to Gary Cutler is a more than adequate replacement.
I feel for Huffy as he shouldn't be held responsible for a few players losing their minds at oppurtune times. In at least 3 games we have been within striking distance only to lose it to poor discipline, which I must admit ****es me and a lot of people off.
A couple of big games this round - Glenorden vs Sunshine Heights, Falcons vs Gladstone Park, Districts vs Nth Footscray and Braybrook vs Albanvale.
Would love to see how the heights go against Glenorden.
GoesBangFrom50
5 Aug 2006, 10:56
As for Huffy - has suggested this could be his last year playing - has been playing hurt for 2 or more years now - will need one or maybe two op's post season.
As a coach - he's up there for me. I would like him to stay on, but if he chooses not to Gary Cutler is a more than adequate replacement.
I feel for Huffy as he shouldn't be held responsible for a few players losing their minds at oppurtune times. In at least 3 games we have been within striking distance only to lose it to poor discipline, which I must admit ****es me and a lot of people off.
That bad discipline is his fault. If it was his first year you could say he needs more time, but after 5 years if he can't change the discipline at the place he is no good. Was a gun player when fit but obviously can't put his stamp on a team as coach.
Heights usually take it up to Glenorden, but can't seem to get the win. Will be a tough ask today as Greto and Bugeja are out for the year but the boys from heights don't roll over for teams. Slight chance of an upset here
kangaman06
7 Aug 2006, 12:02
I typed up a huge reply on Sunday only to have my computer crash on me. So i'll see what I can remember here now.
Speaking with a few of the older lads down at Districts over the weekend - seems to be the general feeling that Huffy has been well taken advantage of by mates. They seemed to think that he hadn't drawn the line between friend and coach and that had affected his ability to come down hard on players who broke team rules.
In his speech before the game and speaking with a few others it seemed and looked like he's tired - he has worked his backside off for the club, both on field and off field and he looked spent.
But in saying that, the boys finally did rally around him, there was no mouthing off, only one 50 given away for the day which was great and when North Footscray surged we were able to finally stand up. But gee i'm so sore today.
Just having a quick squizz over the results, will Sunshine Heights be able to kick a winning score now with Greto and Bugeja gone?
And I think Districts vs WYND'VALE FALCS will be alot closer than most think. They did only beat us by 5 last time and we lost our ruckman early in that game. With Deer Park playing North Footscray, we have the chance to maybe sneak up a spot in time for finals if we play like we did last Saturday.
But in saying that, nobody's going to get close to Glenorden.
Thats the other thing, what is going to happen in regards to relegation and promotion? With Brunswick Power, Seddon and Centrals all pulling the pin early and whispers of new teams, will there be changes and promotions next year?
cold pies
7 Aug 2006, 14:05
I typed up a huge reply on Sunday only to have my computer crash on me. So i'll see what I can remember here now.
Speaking with a few of the older lads down at Districts over the weekend - seems to be the general feeling that Huffy has been well taken advantage of by mates. They seemed to think that he hadn't drawn the line between friend and coach and that had affected his ability to come down hard on players who broke team rules.
In his speech before the game and speaking with a few others it seemed and looked like he's tired - he has worked his backside off for the club, both on field and off field and he looked spent.
But in saying that, the boys finally did rally around him, there was no mouthing off, only one 50 given away for the day which was great and when North Footscray surged we were able to finally stand up. But gee i'm so sore today.
Just having a quick squizz over the results, will Sunshine Heights be able to kick a winning score now with Greto and Bugeja gone?
And I think Districts vs WYND'VALE FALCS will be alot closer than most think. They did only beat us by 5 last time and we lost our ruckman early in that game. With Deer Park playing North Footscray, we have the chance to maybe sneak up a spot in time for finals if we play like we did last Saturday.
But in saying that, nobody's going to get close to Glenorden.
Thats the other thing, what is going to happen in regards to relegation and promotion? With Brunswick Power, Seddon and Centrals all pulling the pin early and whispers of new teams, will there be changes and promotions next year?
the premier team will come up to division 1 because there are only 9 sides at the moment due to seddon folding, no-one will be relegated from division 1
lookout4lions
7 Aug 2006, 21:13
M not sure were u get ur info from but Robbo not finished, will go close 2 winning medal, they are a very good side & have heard from 1 of glenordans own that they are the 1 side they dont want 2 meet. Would like ur opinion on match-ups that could occur. Rizzo,Blyth,Dippa,Skinny etc. Do u think they rely on Rosenwieg too much.
lookout4lions
7 Aug 2006, 21:16
Start playing the kids - we don't have any!quote]
Unfortunately thats a huge problem for coburg!!
Whats the chance of Hough getting the job again... I really can't understand how he is still there. I think he has had the job for 5 years and I not 100% sure but I don't think coburg have played finals. In a 14 team comp with a final 8 thats a shocker.
He doesn't seem to have any tactics besides playin himself loose man in defence so he can rack up the touches!!
Speaking bout coaches whats ur opinion 4 coach of year, is Commensolli good or is he just coaching a g8 team:rolleyes:
GoesBangFrom50
7 Aug 2006, 22:25
M not sure were u get ur info from but Robbo not finished, will go close 2 winning medal, they are a very good side & have heard from 1 of glenordans own that they are the 1 side they dont want 2 meet. Would like ur opinion on match-ups that could occur. Rizzo,Blyth,Dippa,Skinny etc. Do u think they rely on Rosenwieg too much.
Don't think they rely on Rosenzweig too much. They also have johns, lovell derrich and even zangari is lively.
Dippa could expose them as they dont have any real great defenders... but there back 6 do work well together.
I still say Glenorden because there players from 15 - 23 are better than Deer Parks.
GoesBangFrom50
7 Aug 2006, 22:28
Speaking bout coaches whats ur opinion 4 coach of year, is Commensolli good or is he just coaching a g8 team:rolleyes:
Hard to line up how much the coaches actually contribute... what about Cook from the falcons.... got his team of girls and retards to finish 5th (even with the soft draw)..... that has to be woth something. Maybe Curmi because he got the best out of his team.
Doriemus Down The Outside
8 Aug 2006, 09:06
Hey gents, anybody on here from coburg districts or know a bit about the club. I'm thinking about playing there next year and would like to hear some info on the club and the league.
kangaman06
8 Aug 2006, 16:47
Hey gents, anybody on here from coburg districts or know a bit about the club. I'm thinking about playing there next year and would like to hear some info on the club and the league.
Yeah I play down there.
Being totally honest I love playing down there. I'm 25 and will play there until it turns crap or I finish playing altogether.
There could be some changes to key areas in the club next year, but I really don't see that affecting how the club runs at the moment.
Seriously a good bunch of guys who make you feel welcome straight away.
I recommend the club very highly and it's also really well run off the ground as well. What possie do you play Doriemus Down The Outside?
lookout4lions
8 Aug 2006, 22:00
Don't think they rely on Rosenzweig too much. They also have johns, lovell derrich and even zangari is lively.
Dippa could expose them as they dont have any real great defenders... but there back 6 do work well together.
I still say Glenorden because there players from 15 - 23 are better than Deer Parks.
I think they r the team 2 beat but they can be beatin, i reckon lovell will find it hard against parks rucks, may be slower but parks rucks definitly smarter. Derich by all reports got under their gaurd last time so must be watched, but dont discount west.
GoesBangFrom50
8 Aug 2006, 22:08
but dont discount west.
Not enough good players. Although there best players are top class, they rely on 3 or 4 guys to kick all of there score... and Lane is a flat track bully... scores all his goals against the bottom teams.
what about Cook from the falcons.... got his team of girls and retards to finish 5th
Team of girls and retards???
Considering the Falcons are playing with 12 senior players out at the moment and half there reserves team in the firsts, to still finish 5th. A pretty good effort from 'girls and retards'.
kangaman06
9 Aug 2006, 11:22
I think they r the team 2 beat but they can be beatin, i reckon lovell will find it hard against parks rucks, may be slower but parks rucks definitly smarter. Derich by all reports got under their gaurd last time so must be watched, but dont discount west.
To be honest the Deer Park rucks aren't the best going around. Glenordens ruck division are athletic and mobile and are definatley better movers around the ground. Don't care how smart you are - you still need to get to the contest.
GoesBangFrom50
9 Aug 2006, 19:17
Team of girls and retards???
Considering the Falcons are playing with 12 senior players out at the moment and half there reserves team in the firsts, to still finish 5th. A pretty good effort from 'girls and retards'.
Mate they get to play North Sunshine, Magpies, Gladstone Park and Coburg twice... Theres 8 wins straight away... Not hard to finish 5th with a draw like that. They will get either Coburg or Nthh Foots first week of the finals and will be a chance... Week 2 they will get SMACKED!!!!!!
lookout4lions
9 Aug 2006, 19:19
Not enough good players. Although there best players are top class, they rely on 3 or 4 guys to kick all of there score... and Lane is a flat track bully... scores all his goals against the bottom teams.
Maybe so but if gets enough chances can kick few still, whats ur idea for the grand final then? What would be your prediction for win margin?
lookout4lions
9 Aug 2006, 19:23
Totally agree considering the draw is based on where u finish previous yr west also got g8 draw finishin with magpies,braybrook and another bottom 4 side
lookout4lions
9 Aug 2006, 19:26
Have heard that spider from glenordan has gone back 2 parkside can any1 confirm this as this will be a blow to their chances as lovell will then have to do majority of work that will then take away from there fwd line
GoesBangFrom50
9 Aug 2006, 19:47
Maybe so but if gets enough chances can kick few still, whats ur idea for the grand final then? What would be your prediction for win margin?
Im tipping Glenorden... with either Albanvale, Deer Park or Heights. Once your in there who knows but should be Glenorden by at least 5 goals.
BangFrom75not50
10 Aug 2006, 07:01
Im suprised Magpies were able to get so close after that got flogged by 40+ goals the week before.... did they pick up some new players during the week?
To Goesbangfrom50,
I also was at the game, I also have coached and that game was played at tiny height's ground. Finals you zonk are played at Werribee big ground. Know football before you Comment, because your comments regards Deer Park have been stupid, there are Football & Coaching Manuals you can purchase to help you in your quest to become a Coach. Because at the moment you have BIG problems ?
You hide your Comments behind a Screen, come out and Front those Demons you comment on.
GoesBangFrom50
10 Aug 2006, 09:18
To Goesbangfrom50,
I also was at the game, I also have coached and that game was played at tiny height's ground. Finals you zonk are played at Werribee big ground. Know football before you Comment, because your comments regards Deer Park have been stupid, there are Football & Coaching Manuals you can purchase to help you in your quest to become a Coach. Because at the moment you have BIG problems ?
You hide your Comments behind a Screen, come out and Front those Demons you comment on.
Yeah good name CLOWN!! Be specific mate. what comments are you talking about? You used a quote from ages ago that had nothing to do with Deer Park.... Goose.
Don't know what you comments about the small ground are supposed to mean. Heights are a running team and when they get on the bigger grounds in finals they will run teams into the ground. The smaller ground suits the old slow deer park players.
lookout4lions
10 Aug 2006, 17:46
Why u rate heights so highly i dont undastand, not all games they have played r on small grounds, Parks, Cobras, Vales etc not small grounds. In saying what u r does that mean they dont like hard inclose footy cause unless they hit target 100% of time they r going to have 2 get used to coping some body contact & from what ive seen this year they have very few who like the hard ball.
lookout4lions
10 Aug 2006, 17:55
They picked up no players at all from seddon they just got few back from 04, they r definitely in with a g8 chance of winning the flag despite peoples opinion. Where does all the talk of pace bout orden cause when i watched them last bar couple they were no where near as quik as people think.It seems all r bit overawed by them, no where near as good as they think they r!!!!!!!!
GoesBangFrom50
10 Aug 2006, 21:27
Why u rate heights so highly i dont undastand, not all games they have played r on small grounds, Parks, Cobras, Vales etc not small grounds. In saying what u r does that mean they dont like hard inclose footy cause unless they hit target 100% of time they r going to have 2 get used to coping some body contact & from what ive seen this year they have very few who like the hard ball.
Just live near the ground so i see them more and know more about them.
Just saying that heights will improve 5% on a bigger ground and Deer Park will lose about 10% because they are slow,
kangaman06
11 Aug 2006, 12:27
Just live near the ground so i see them more and know more about them.
Just saying that heights will improve 5% on a bigger ground and Deer Park will lose about 10% because they are slow,
The only concearn you would have to have about Sunshine Heights is there lack of height. They are probably the second best running side in the comp, no doubt about it. But they have no height and now their foward line has been cut down with injury. GoesBangFrom50, I can see why you rate them, but they have two big question marks in height and forwards.
Lookout4lions - I've asked this before, but have Deer Park been playing above themselves? When we played them we were right with him till we had 2 players sort of lose it mentally. They were good but not as impressive as other results have shown. Even their coach on channel 31 said he was suprised at how good they were travelling - can you maintain this run over the finals, or will this run of good form continue over the finals?
My opinion - the first two weeks of the finals will move the pretenders away from the contenders.
lookout4lions
11 Aug 2006, 17:54
Even if they do improve 5% will not b enough 2 match it with beta sides, remember they got smacked by 10gls last time they played parks & orden & losing main players thats going to make it harder still
lookout4lions
11 Aug 2006, 18:03
My opinion - the first two weeks of the finals will move the pretenders away from the contenders.[/quote]
Form isnt something u get as team by chance it takes hard work, last time u played parks u brought the game down to ur standard, g8 effort to do that though but were missing few players with pace plus u neva hit the front though so to say u were always in it is bit true but also false, neva really threatend remembering they kicked something like 2gls 6pts compared 2pts. Speaking 2 players they cant wait 2 shove it up a few distractors when the time comes. Their coach neva said surprised always confident they would finish top 4 rite from start of year, lookin fwd to finals next week
GoesBangFrom50
11 Aug 2006, 18:51
The only concearn you would have to have about Sunshine Heights is there lack of height. They are probably the second best running side in the comp, no doubt about it. But they have no height and now their foward line has been cut down with injury. GoesBangFrom50, I can see why you rate them, but they have two big question marks in height and forwards.
Agree 100%. Heights basically have 2 guys they use in the ruck that are about 6ft 1... 3 others just on 6ft and thats it..Probably the smallest team across the board anywhere. The bottom line is good big men are hard to find and because none of the heights players get paid they cant recruit one.