View Full Version : WRFL Division 2

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

red devil1
2 May 2007, 13:25
Dean derrich and Spida from glenorden might be comming down to Sunny heights, if so that will be a huge bonus and they will be firm favourites for the Cup.

Not sure about that. Derich would be very handy, but Heights already have a few ruckman and Spida is no superstar.

tats
2 May 2007, 13:37
Spida played last year at parkside seniors and did a pretty good job, which ruckmen in div 2 is a star

tats
2 May 2007, 13:40
[quote=caveman;7408386]GET HOME – RELAX & DO NOT FORGET TO TUNE INTO……..

ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL

7:30pm – 8:30pm on Channel 31. (visit ‘www.c31.org.au (http://www.c31.org.au) for tuning in details)

Matthew pillios CAMERON TREWIN KEVIN ‘KD’ DONNELLY

· GREAT MATCH FOOTAGE of last weekends matches

· Interviews with Brad Lloyd (brother of Matthew) and E.D.F.L President Ian Price.

· BIG PREVIEW OF UPCOMING GAMES

· And much more………..[No one gives a dam about essendon football league, talk to us about wrfl

obe1
2 May 2007, 14:25
Spida played last year at parkside seniors and did a pretty good job, which ruckmen in div 2 is a star

Have to agree with you Tats, the spida whilst at times is ordinary, has played a couple of usefull games against the colts. If playing in an eviroment he is comfortable with, he will be more than competitive in second division

livinglife
2 May 2007, 15:01
As far as I know their junior programe is still up and running, according to the WRFL website they have eight juinor teams ( u9's - u18's ). I am sure the majority of your era are still out and about and continuing on with the tradition.
Last time i was over i remember i lot of guys playin for deer park i think

KGB2007
2 May 2007, 15:04
Last time i was over i remember i lot of guys playin for deer park i think

living

check your private messages

roosters44
2 May 2007, 19:34
mmmmmmmm good luck its gonna be a cracker......... your team is basically the same and so is ours....... deer park by 4 goals:thumbsu:
Past players day down at West this weekend as well, i know there's quite a few going. Hopefully there will be a big crowd and a close game ( with West to win of course).

red devil1
2 May 2007, 19:54
Have to agree with you Tats, the spida whilst at times is ordinary, has played a couple of usefull games against the colts. If playing in an eviroment he is comfortable with, he will be more than competitive in second division

Not doubting he won't be competitive in division 2. Can't kick, but has a physical presence and is a good tap ruckman. I thought Heights had picked up Duncan (from Hoppers) and also have the Coburg Districts guy Kehagious on the way.

tats
3 May 2007, 11:08
Look if you get deano and spida comes with him i dont think any club is going to complain, i see a bit of jelousy happening, simple Deano and Spida are two excellent pick ups.

Crackatinny
3 May 2007, 11:26
Look if you get deano and spida comes with him i dont think any club is going to complain, i see a bit of jelousy happening, simple Deano and Spida are two excellent pick ups.

Tats, they would be two good picks.... but can you tell us about the walk out from one of the clubs recruits in Fasil.

I heard that he had a bit of a run in with Bomber.

tats
3 May 2007, 11:47
Just mates having a laugh, nothing in it at all. Fais will be training tonight so there isnt any dramas.

Crackatinny
3 May 2007, 13:36
Just mates having a laugh, nothing in it at all. Fais will be training tonight so there isnt any dramas.

Mates having a laugh... is thats what they call it these days???
My sources tell that he will no play for Hieghts this weekend and could possibly be looking to join another club!!

typewriter
3 May 2007, 15:24
i think u will find ur mistaken come past training tonght and c for yourself. tats is a close friend of Fais. Faisal has been a welcome addition to our side, ok he hasnt kicked a heap of goals, it takes a while to adjust to the style of play of a new team. he is very much an asset to the sunshine heights football club.

we wouldnt expect to be playing our best footy so early in the season with so many new players. it should take at least half way thru til we gel and play our best footy.

Crackatinny
3 May 2007, 16:00
i think u will find ur mistaken come past training tonght and c for yourself. tats is a close friend of Fais. Faisal has been a welcome addition to our side, ok he hasnt kicked a heap of goals, it takes a while to adjust to the style of play of a new team. he is very much an asset to the sunshine heights football club.

we wouldnt expect to be playing our best footy so early in the season with so many new players. it should take at least half way thru til we gel and play our best footy.

I never said once that he was not a good player or he was not welcome at your club or he has not kicked may goals... all I am saying and what you guys are hiding, is that he had a run in with your Bomber last saturday. Is this correct???? Now, word has it that he will no be playing for hieghts this weekend!!

typewriter
3 May 2007, 16:13
its news to me cracka, like tats said he should be at training tonight.

Travvy43
3 May 2007, 17:06
Hi Tinny

What team in the WRFL Div 2 do you follow. You seem to have views on a fair few teams??

Crackatinny
3 May 2007, 18:13
Hi Tinny

What team in the WRFL Div 2 do you follow. You seem to have views on a fair few teams??
Travvy,

I dont have to play for a team to be able to post do I???

Crazy Monkey
3 May 2007, 21:35
I don't know which game to go and see this week.
Tossing up between the following Braybrook V's Albanvale, West Footscray V's Deer Park, and Coburg Districts V's Sunshine Heights (this one is a little too far for my liking).

Does anyone have any opinions on this and could you please share them with me.

Mundine
3 May 2007, 23:41
U can come watch sunny heights and see big faisal playing in the ressies, herard from a mate he will be playing ressesies and then watch the seniors.

kangaman06
4 May 2007, 00:09
Tossing up between the following Braybrook V's Albanvale, West Footscray V's Deer Park, and Coburg Districts V's Sunshine Heights (this one is a little too far for my liking).

Has to be West Footscray vs Deer Park - Last years 2 vs 3, potentially this years grand final. Albanvale should account for Braybrook and Sunshine Heights should beat Coburg on form this year, although Coburg did beat them in the first elimination final (5 vs 8) last year - however too many players from that Coburg team are now elsewhere so Sunshine should take that one out.

Some harder games to pick - Western Magpies vs Gladstone Park - No Sheppard - have to go with Western here
North Sunshine to have their turn for goalkicking practice against Brunswick

The Falcons haven't been as strong as I expected them to be so far - have to go with Nth Footscray in this one.

typewriter
4 May 2007, 09:48
wests and deer park is definitly the game to watch,

albanvale/heights should account for braybrook/coburg, although coburg v heights willbe physical as i know personally the heights boys r pumped 4 revenge after last years shock loss in the final.

i think western magpies should beat gladdy in a close 1 - 10 ponts
north sunshine by 25 goals
north foots in a very close 1 by 15 but dont be surprised if the falcons get up they will be looking 4 their first win and theyr better than that

Blueboy16
4 May 2007, 10:45
U can come watch sunny heights and see big faisal playing in the ressies, herard from a mate he will be playing ressesies and then watch the seniors.

Was it a couple of weeks TD that I stated that Faisel was an ordinary player and you bit back and stated that he has not and never would play 2's footy and was a gun. Obviously lost paitence with his lack of goal kicking and pace.......... You will save a little cash too cause I'm sure you wouldn't pay him for playing 2's.

Travvy43
4 May 2007, 11:40
Travvy,

I dont have to play for a team to be able to post do I???

Read my post tinny, i did not assume you played for a team, I just asked which team you follow. I am assuming it is someone in WRFL Div 2 as i have not seen your name on any other thread in big footy.

typewriter
4 May 2007, 11:56
blueboy once again u dont listen.

THERE IS NOT ONE PLAYER AT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS FOOTBALL CLUB THAT IS GETTING PAID.

Blueboy16
4 May 2007, 13:03
blueboy once again u dont listen.

THERE IS NOT ONE PLAYER AT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS FOOTBALL CLUB THAT IS GETTING PAID.

OK typewriter I believe ya! :rolleyes: :thumbsd:

Son of T'D
4 May 2007, 13:20
OK typewriter I believe ya! :rolleyes: :thumbsd:

Blueboy you can believe what you want about sunshine heights players getting paid.Unlike wests were they pay big dollars for all these players so they can win a premiership.Just tell me if west were to win it this year where will the likes of evans and innella be in 3 years time.Will they be at wests play div 1 footy or will they go back to a div 2 club and big dollars again??All you have to do is look at Glenorden over the years what they spent and where there players are this year

React!
4 May 2007, 13:24
Read my post tinny, i did not assume you played for a team, I just asked which team you follow. I am assuming it is someone in WRFL Div 2 as i have not seen your name on any other thread in big footy.

I must agree Travvy. I dont often post but I can tell you this, Ive sat back and read some of the rubbish that is sent from a few in particular. I'm interested to see who Crackatinny follows also.

On big Fais...he made a decent pizza in that shop he used to have...and is a good bloke. I think some of the blokes on this thread should realsie what I have said before though. You are talking about has-beens. Div 2 will never get any betetr if you keep talking up Fais etc...as I said, great bloke but even if you ask him he will tell you he's nothing special.

typewriter
4 May 2007, 13:48
y is it so hard to believe that we dont pay anybody, the only payments made is $25 beston ground $15 second best $10 third best. if you dont believe have a look at our list we hardly recruit any1 (other this year) the only players we get r who we blood through juniors e.g. westo/greto/mallia/caruanas/nicolaides'/camalleri/ etc. or r mates of ppl at the club.

i was speaking to a couple of under 18s through the week who have left the club this year to play 18s and they hate it there and cant wait to get back playing for heights.

this just speaks volumes about the quality of people at Sunshine Heights.

maybe wests should take a leaf out of heights book and promote juniors rather than going to buy players left right and centre

old timer
4 May 2007, 13:57
Was it a couple of weeks TD that I stated that Faisel was an ordinary player and you bit back and stated that he has not and never would play 2's footy and was a gun. Obviously lost paitence with his lack of goal kicking and pace.......... You will save a little cash too cause I'm sure you wouldn't pay him for playing 2's.
blue boy sunny heights players dont get paid mate, doesnt matter what hear, they pride themselves on that.

Valid point on faisil, but i think its the way you go about it mate, that people dont like.

Calls it as I see it
4 May 2007, 13:59

I might go watch Albanvale Vs Braybrook. Think this may be a cracker. Of an interesting note, Pearce and Grainger from Sunshine at opposite ends of the ground. Played with these guys a while ago and will be interesting to see how they are going.

Son of T'D
4 May 2007, 14:01
I agree typewriter if u dont blood the kids when they are young they go 2 other clubs and then u loose ur junior part of ur club and thats where ur senior teams are in the future with the juniors.And wouldnt you want to pay a junior player thats played juniors at ur club instead of getting all these money chasers.

old timer
4 May 2007, 14:37
I agree typewriter if u dont blood the kids when they are young they go 2 other clubs and then u loose ur junior part of ur club and thats where ur senior teams are in the future with the juniors.And wouldnt you want to pay a junior player thats played juniors at ur club instead of getting all these money chasers.
all west have done is blood new players since bones has taken over, have you not seen the sides in the past 5 years.
people might not like bones but he has aleast given the kids every chance to prove themselves, you might even see 3 or so more this year from the 18s

Son of T'D
4 May 2007, 19:44
all west have done is blood new players since bones has taken over, have you not seen the sides in the past 5 years.
people might not like bones but he has aleast given the kids every chance to prove themselves, you might even see 3 or so more this year from the 18s

I didnt say he hasnt blooded any kids i was just saying wouldnt u rather blood these kids and pay them 2 be successful and not pay all these money chasers and leave u after 3 years

al_smith07
4 May 2007, 22:27
Well, if west do win div. 2, i'm sure the likes of evans and innella will have a crack if west go up BUT i guest if their bodies aren't up to it...... they can always go to a club like heights and PLAY FOR THE LOVE OF IT!!!!!!!!!!

unit27
5 May 2007, 19:55
Laverton fell 15 pts short today

colbol35
5 May 2007, 20:23
Well, if west do win div. 2, i'm sure the likes of evans and innella will have a crack if west go up BUT i guest if their bodies aren't up to it...... they can always go to a club like heights and PLAY FOR THE LOVE OF IT!!!!!!!!!!

mate seriously if ur side is going to go anywhere u have to pay quality players to come to ur side...i think west are doin the right thing, if the do come up, they have a little bit of a base to build around. if sunny heights win it and come up, they will get punished every week if they only have blokes to play for the love it of the club. u need to recruit quality players

Blueboy16
5 May 2007, 21:56
mate seriously if ur side is going to go anywhere u have to pay quality players to come to ur side...i think west are doin the right thing, if the do come up, they have a little bit of a base to build around. if sunny heights win it and come up, they will get punished every week if they only have blokes to play for the love it of the club. u need to recruit quality players

Well said colbol35

Blueboy16
5 May 2007, 22:06
Deer Park not even close to being finals contenders after today's effort. Lacked leadership and direction. West were outstanding on all areas of the ground. West 99 point winners.

THE RED MAN
5 May 2007, 22:43

west (and any other div2 club for that matter) can recruit whoever they want but none of them have the cattle or finances to come up and be competitive in div1. Winning the div 2 flag gives them the opportunity to come up and play div 1 and take there club to the brink the following year getting their bums beaten week in, week out.

When l watched the div 2 GF last year, all l said to myself was "hope you Glen orden boys get a kick today cos you are not going to get one next year" and how right have l been proven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope west do win it. Bobbie Evans WILL be back at St.Albans next year and Bones can be on the end of another ill-fated div 1 stint at West Footscray!!!!!!!1111

go the roosters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Bobby Skilton
6 May 2007, 00:39
[quote=THE RED MAN;7440682]west (and any other div2 club for that matter) can recruit whoever they want but none of them have the cattle or finances to come up and be competitive in div1. Winning the div 2 flag gives them the opportunity to come up and play div 1 and take there club to the brink the following year getting their bums beaten week in, week out.

What cattle do you speak of (goats) as you would be well versed on.

And I think Albion, Sunshine and Hoppers might disagree that sides coming from A2 division can't be competetive given time and recruiting.

Bobby Skilton
6 May 2007, 00:50

Are you saying a player that doesn't get paid and plays because he loves a club can't be as good a footballer as one playing for money.

all-eyes-on-me
6 May 2007, 10:33
north got over the falcons by 40 odd points but should have been a lot more with us kick something like 8 17. we missed some easy shots infront of goal so positive times down at the devils!! big game with west next week will be a real measuring stick for the boys as we havent played any real teams yet!! hahahaha

colbol35
6 May 2007, 12:32
Are you saying a player that doesn't get paid and plays because he loves a club can't be as good a footballer as one playing for money.

im saying a team full of ppl who just play for the love of the club cant be competitive, every quality team in division one have recruited and paid quaility players thats why they are up there come finals time, they all do also have players who play for the love of the club as well. but ur kidding urself if u believe that u can be succsessful in divy1 without goin out and buying some talent, it might be nice to say that "we all play cause we love the club" but u will never be A grade premiers that way will u? and isnt that what we all aim for?

Crazy Monkey
6 May 2007, 14:27
I went to watch Deer Park vs West Footscray yesterday. I Left half way through the third quarter with west well in front. I believe they should have been further in front than they were.

Deer Park look to be a very slow and old team with a lot of players that don't look up to it. West on the other hand were young except for a tattoeed forward who looked like he was on day release from jail (lol) and they were quick and fit. Along with Sunshine Heights, they look to be the best teams I have seen so far this year but to be honest I don't think I got much of a real guage as Deer Park were terrible. They wont make finals on that performance.

red devil1
6 May 2007, 22:30
north got over the falcons by 40 odd points but should have been a lot more with us kick something like 8 17. we missed some easy shots infront of goal so positive times down at the devils!! big game with west next week will be a real measuring stick for the boys as we havent played any real teams yet!! hahahaha

44 points in the end. Still a bit scratchy and we will need to improve to challenge West Footscray this Saturday. Disposal and goakicking was dodgey. That said, we had triple the amount of scoring shots and should have won by more.

Apparently Wyndhdamvale are decimated by injury at the moment. Coach Cook (arm in a sling) and Saggers didn't play and I reckon they had a stronger team last year. They played a bit negative at times with a loose man in defence.

Devils still have about 3 or 4 to come back in, but I guess you never have your full side. Reserves won by 100 points so there is a bit of pressure for spots.

Our 18's are playing in A grade and have lost by under a kick to Hoppers Crossing and St Albans in the past two games. We have currently two under 18's in the seniors and you may see more in the second half of the year (especially if our 18's are not looking likely to make the finals). I reckon there is another 4 who could play ones, but you can't have 6 kids in the seniors, so we will see what happens. The kids also like to play with their mates and it is important for the club that our juniors do well.

red devil1
6 May 2007, 22:41
im saying a team full of ppl who just play for the love of the club cant be competitive, every quality team in division one have recruited and paid quaility players thats why they are up there come finals time, they all do also have players who play for the love of the club as well. but ur kidding urself if u believe that u can be succsessful in divy1 without goin out and buying some talent, it might be nice to say that "we all play cause we love the club" but u will never be A grade premiers that way will u? and isnt that what we all aim for?

Snooooze....we had this debate a week ago colbol35.

Spotswood are a fantastic club and yes we would all like to emulate your sustainability in A grade. Of course you have to recruit topliners such as a Molan, but it really is the chicken and the egg argument. You need to work hard as a club to raise funds through different avenues, to be able to afford top players to achieve success. Everybody knows that.

Unfortunately, without contradicting myself, Glenorden are an exception to this rule. They have plenty of $$$, but struggled to attract players for season 07'.

We do work hard to attract sponsors and on our fundraising. Hopefully we will be in your position one day where we have a company such as Converse tipping in $80K. That is not meant to be a sarcastic remark. I know how hard Spotswood work and they deserve everything they get.

THE RED MAN
6 May 2007, 23:06
[quote=THE RED MAN;7440682]west (and any other div2 club for that matter) can recruit whoever they want but none of them have the cattle or finances to come up and be competitive in div1. Winning the div 2 flag gives them the opportunity to come up and play div 1 and take there club to the brink the following year getting their bums beaten week in, week out.

What cattle do you speak of (goats) as you would be well versed on.

And I think Albion, Sunshine and Hoppers might disagree that sides coming from A2 division can't be competetive given time and recruiting.

Cmon lets get real, West Footscray will never be a force in Division 1. Facilities are ordinary(at best) to attract quality players. It is an older area. Junior program is limited at best.

Bones will walk away if they win the flag this year. I dont deny any club aspiring to Div 1, but they need to be realistic. The gap between Div 1 and 2 is only getting wider making it almost impossible to come up and be competitive against the stronger and more professional clubs. Just ask Glen Orden and North Sunshine. remeber you have to finish 9th or you drop straight back down again and you have to start again in Divvy 2 with a depleted list cos players have walked away cos they can not complete in Div 1

I love your passion for the club but l am just being a realist.

typewriter
7 May 2007, 09:37
guys guys guys we dont play 4 money and if we did go up and play division 1 next year we would get our pants pulled down and spanked however, i dont know how that is any different to glenorden this year/north sunshine in the past couple. we would at least be back in division 2 in 2 years time saving 150,000 or whatever it has cost glenorden last year and this year.

typewriter
7 May 2007, 09:44
i to saw the first half of wests and deer park. and agree with all the posts so far, deer park was very disapointing and wests impressive. as has been said quite often wests forward line and midfield very dangerous with evans still to come in. defense a little suspect especially with young mccabe i think it is finding himself at full back at times.

i think bangers gripes about deer park being the pensioners could be closer to the mark then we all thought. i think a lack of running (due to training at the indoor centre) showed big time. overweight and slow

was impressed with ziggy he dominated and is in the top2 or 3 if not the best in the comp, tall mobile and can play midfield or forward.

where do u c evans fitting in midfield? forward?

colbol35
7 May 2007, 11:22
guys guys guys we dont play 4 money and if we did go up and play division 1 next year we would get our pants pulled down and spanked however, i dont know how that is any different to glenorden this year/north sunshine in the past couple. we would at least be back in division 2 in 2 years time saving 150,000 or whatever it has cost glenorden last year and this year.

so ur club is happy to stay in division2 forever? when will the time come when u want ur club to become a force?

whos gonna be the club to bridge that gap between divy 1 and 2? i hope it happens because at the moment there is only really 5 or 6 teams in the whole wrfl that are of a decent quality, and compared to other comps we are a joke i believe.

sick of clubs saying we just play for the love, why dont u go out work hard raise some dollars and pay quality players to come play for u. 1 or 2 stars can make a huge difference to any divy 2 side, then u can build around them.

Bobby Skilton
7 May 2007, 11:33
so ur club is happy to stay in division2 forever? when will the time come when u want ur club to become a force?

whos gonna be the club to bridge that gap between divy 1 and 2? i hope it happens because at the moment there is only really 5 or 6 teams in the whole wrfl that are of a decent quality, and compared to other comps we are a joke i believe.

sick of clubs saying we just play for the love, why dont u go out work hard raise some dollars and pay quality players to come play for u. 1 or 2 stars can make a huge difference to any divy 2 side, then u can build around them.

Who cares what your sick of. Your the one going on about it all the time. Worry about your own club and the reason you haven't won a flag for a very long time even though you are always strong due to your 'fantastic junior program', 'sponsorships' and 'endless finances'. If you think the wrfl is a joke why don't you p... off and play in a stronger comp where you perhaps wont feel like a big fish in a little pond.

typewriter
7 May 2007, 13:10
i didnt say we were content to stay in div 2 at all. if we had the chance we would go up and compete as best we can were no altona mate who choose to stay down and dominate. we have probably got 5 players who would be regular contributors to division 1 football, and who should be on a few hundred a game like greto, weston, mallia, and a few more like the nicolaides boys and N.Caruana who r 19 and will be a force in a few years time at any level. they could all be asking for a few dollars and have all been offered in the past but chose to play with mates rather than chase money.

so wot i am trying to say just because we dont pay doesnt mean we have any less quality than anybody else in div 2

typewriter
7 May 2007, 13:12
i also think glenorden who have money have proven this year that just because u have money doesnt equate to attracting players to your club. some ppl r content to stay in an easier comp others who want to play div 1 would rather go to a more established div 1 side rather struggle at the bottom of the ladder 4 12 months.

K-NACKS
7 May 2007, 13:43
Would anyone who went to heights vs districts give me some info on who played well . And by the looks of the score it seems heights got their revenge after last years finals !

typewriter
7 May 2007, 15:24
yeah heights played ok still havnt hit our straps yet though.

best players for heights were smith who did a fine job on a very unfit shep
new recruits M Nicolaides, demetriou, Soto and Dean played great games.

mallia and greto were as per usual superb.

not 2 sure who is who for coburg looked like a completely different team to last years, i only recognised about 6 or 7

K-NACKS
7 May 2007, 15:34
Is that lee demitriou that played for altona and went to school at essendon keilor college if so seen him play school footy he goes alright would only be about 19-20 to i think !

typewriter
7 May 2007, 15:42
thats the 1 very talented left footer

Calls it as I see it
7 May 2007, 15:53
Ventured down to watch Braybrrok and Albanvale on the weekend, Braybrook started like a house on fire kicking the first 4 or 5 goals. I thought geez the cobras are in for a bad day, but to their credit were in front at quarter time. After the inital on slaught Albanvale's running power took over, were very impressive, with both sides playing a very physical game.

Only stayed to half time before I headed over to watch Sunshine and Port.

Good lady at home was none to impressed by the time I got home, golf in the morning, footy all afternoon, then work had invited me to the box on Saturday night, was not in my most impressive state by the time I had arrived home it is safe to say.

thesilkmeister
7 May 2007, 15:57
Good lady at home was none to impressed by the time I got home, golf in the morning, footy all afternoon, then work had invited me to the box on Saturday night, was not in my most impressive state by the time I had arrived home it is safe to say.[/quote]

Not in a good state, but I bet you had a good day!

colbol35
7 May 2007, 17:39
Who cares what your sick of. Your the one going on about it all the time. Worry about your own club and the reason you haven't won a flag for a very long time even though you are always strong due to your 'fantastic junior program', 'sponsorships' and 'endless finances'. If you think the wrfl is a joke why don't you p... off and play in a stronger comp where you perhaps wont feel like a big fish in a little pond.

how do u think our club acheived a "fantastic juniour program", "sponserships" and "finances", they have lots of ppl there who work very very hard to get where they are....

i just believe that most divy 2 clubs are content where they are and wont put in the work to become a stong playing club, and that means our comp wont get stronger. i think the wrfl has the potential to be the best metro comp only if some clubs pride themselves more on succsess rather than the mateship they have at the club. and i really dont think im a big fish in a little pond mate i had a crack at higher level and got found out straight away.

Wombat44
7 May 2007, 20:28
Who was out 4 Deer Park this week. Thats a big loss for a team that was supposed to be one of the best in the comp. They must have had a few out.

w.weapons
7 May 2007, 20:49
Who was out 4 Deer Park this week. Thats a big loss for a team that was supposed to be one of the best in the comp. They must have had a few out.

dont know:confused:maybe the cockroach could answer?????deer park v albanvale another big 1 for the boys

old timer
7 May 2007, 21:12
dont know:confused:maybe the cockroach could answer?????deer park v albanvale another big 1 for the boys
weapons, how come you didnt watch the game?, what happened to your centre line? apart from i think dippa who was your key forwads?
deer park had nothing on the team from last year, whats going on?
very disapointed

Cobber21
7 May 2007, 21:21

I'll think you'll find that we at West's are just on top of our game... Will go all the way this year!

old timer
7 May 2007, 21:57
typewriter, its good that your passionate towards your club, that doesnt give you the right to bag other clubs or players.
you say clubs should promote younger players within the club, why would you bag a young kid thats played 5 senior games then?
josh didnt get a goal scored on him and had 10 - 15 touches for the day, not to bad for a back pocket id say
im glade you mentioned his name cos you will hear it for a long time to come, he will be a ledgend at west by the time his finished.
he is also one of the young players that west dont pay or promote through seniors acording to you

hammertigers07
7 May 2007, 22:16
Would anyone who went to heights vs districts give me some info on who played well . And by the looks of the score it seems heights got their revenge after last years finals !
not much to report form the coburg heights game besides heights smashed us yes coburg have a heap out but still no reason for the a defeat like that heights by far the best side we have played so far very fast and there ground suits there style of play no18 had a blinder gun footballer dont think they got revenge from last years finals as this was not a final and only counts for 4 points

w.weapons
7 May 2007, 22:42
weapons, how come you didnt watch the game?, what happened to your centre line? apart from i think dippa who was your key forwads?
deer park had nothing on the team from last year, whats going on?
very disapointed

why didnt i go watch must have been the 25 v.b's i inhailed on the friday night at the hilton on the park..............:confused: the cricket comp i play for night of nights(hatch medal)where some of my teamates were up there for it....... didnt get home till 5 after being kicked out of crown parrrro.....hahaha.......

do u know me???
dunno havnt been around as much so not much to talk about from me.........i was listening to the wrfl match of the day during the afternoon and it didnt sound good...........:confused:

1 thing it might be havnt played a game at home,maybe a bit home sick:rolleyes:

old timer
7 May 2007, 23:44
why didnt i go watch must have been the 25 v.b's i inhailed on the friday night at the hilton on the park..............:confused: the cricket comp i play for night of nights(hatch medal)where some of my teamates were up there for it....... didnt get home till 5 after being kicked out of crown parrrro.....hahaha.......

do u know me???
dunno havnt been around as much so not much to talk about from me.........i was listening to the wrfl match of the day during the afternoon and it didnt sound good...........:confused:

1 thing it might be havnt played a game at home,maybe a bit home sick:rolleyes:
do i no you, i dont personaly no you, but when i asked phippsy about you after your name was dropped on saturday, he said you were a pretty good bloke, you played footy with his brother, very smart backliner but was never built the best for a key position, you love football. he also said you were a joker and didnt mind a beer, a great clubman.
make sure your there for the last round, so we can have a beer and bring the real deer park out to play aswell

al_smith07
8 May 2007, 00:35
old timer who do you think will be top three and which team do you think will give west a good run for there money

Calls it as I see it
8 May 2007, 09:13
Not in a good state, but I bet you had a good day![/quote]

Very good day, put it this way, still not talking to me and believe she won't until at least Thursday. Looks like Take Away for the next couple of nights.

typewriter
8 May 2007, 10:33
typewriter, its good that your passionate towards your club, that doesnt give you the right to bag other clubs or players.
you say clubs should promote younger players within the club, why would you bag a young kid thats played 5 senior games then?
josh didnt get a goal scored on him and had 10 - 15 touches for the day, not to bad for a back pocket id say
im glade you mentioned his name cos you will hear it for a long time to come, he will be a ledgend at west by the time his finished.
he is also one of the young players that west dont pay or promote through seniors acording to you

not bagging think he is a good player and will only get better and i am rapt u r playing some kids probably should play more, rather than go out and buy players all the time. all i said to have him isolated to full back might see him a bit susceptable at this time in his career back pocket or half back might be better for a 17 or 18 year old in his first year of senior footy. definitly got a lot of promise
i see you lost batty this year that would be a blow, but good luc to the kid trying out in div 1. hopefully he will come back if things dont work out.

unit27
8 May 2007, 12:03
Match of the Century this week ...
Western Magpies v Brunswick Power

w.weapons
8 May 2007, 17:59
do i no you, i dont personaly no you, but when i asked phippsy about you after your name was dropped on saturday, he said you were a pretty good bloke, you played footy with his brother, very smart backliner but was never built the best for a key position, you love football. he also said you were a joker and didnt mind a beer, a great clubman.
make sure your there for the last round, so we can have a beer and bring the real deer park out to play aswell

many compliments from bomber.........why was my name dropped?

with your last part of the post i wish i could.....

old timer
8 May 2007, 20:02
old timer who do you think will be top three and which team do you think will give west a good run for there money
not sure, after watching west against the falcons and deer park.
hopefully heights, nth foots and albanvale in no order
i havent seen many of the teams play this year, so i can only go of what i hear

old timer
8 May 2007, 20:19
many compliments from bomber.........why was my name dropped?

with your last part of the post i wish i could.....
i over heard phippsy talking to a bunch of deer park boys after the game, he said a few names that wernt there and weapons was mentioned, so i asked him about you, thats all.

old timer
8 May 2007, 20:31
red devil, do you think you can match west on sat? what are nth foots strengths?

all-eyes-on-me
8 May 2007, 21:00
red devil, do you think you can match west on sat? what are nth foots strengths?

think nth strenghts would be there run, they have alot of young guys that are fit!! only time will tell if they can run with the top teams as they havnt played a team that will play finals this year!

w.weapons
8 May 2007, 23:16

wombat to answer your question,did a bit of homeworkd/p had 5 or 6 out of their best line up and played 2 kids from the 18's and also a reserve player who doubled up........the twos had 14 with 1/2 an hour to go before the game a few phone calls and they just had enough in the end....

its looking like the two's might be short again this week and if they are the big fella's making a comback for the arch rivals....bring em on.........lol

hey karim our ground is ready to play on and by all reports is looking fine with some new seed sown and soil put down so should be good.........ps..tell grima im tagging him again this week its gonna be another good battle, ill give him 3 goals........hahaha:thumbsu:

sivart
9 May 2007, 09:20
North Footscray are not as strong a running side as they have been in the last few years. They have some new big blokes who can play. They haven't had that for a while now. Big Ash in the ruck is from Port Colts and can play. Saunders from Parkside down back is going well and Shane Blair up forward is an absolute gun, he just needs to get rid of the Superman tat on his arm. Plus they have their B&F back for his first game this week Hayden Phillips and Stuart Devlin will make his debut. He was a top 10 draft pick a while back and is an absolute champion.

red devil1
9 May 2007, 11:16
North Footscray are not as strong a running side as they have been in the last few years. They have some new big blokes who can play. They haven't had that for a while now. Big Ash in the ruck is from Port Colts and can play. Saunders from Parkside down back is going well and Shane Blair up forward is an absolute gun, he just needs to get rid of the Superman tat on his arm. Plus they have their B&F back for his first game this week Hayden Phillips and Stuart Devlin will make his debut. He was a top 10 draft pick a while back and is an absolute champion.

Devlin played last year and not a certainty for this week, while Phillips is also an unlikely starter.

Scott Eldridge has probably been our best player this year, but we are going to have to play really well to get near West. McGee always plays well against us and so does Webster. Don't know their new blokes but they appear stronger than last year where they easily accounted for us in the finals..

typewriter
9 May 2007, 11:31
y dont u play eldridge on mcgee then eldridsge has height good player and can play at both ends?????

red devil1
9 May 2007, 11:37
y dont u play eldridge on mcgee then eldridsge has height good player and can play at both ends?????

Yeah I think that would be a possibility, but Eldridge usually plays in the midfield or up forward...

Will be an interesting game as their smally, skinny midfielders have chopped us up the past couple of years.

typewriter
9 May 2007, 12:48
id make sure u get some1 on ziggy 2 he is one of the best players in the comp better than mcgee he plays midfield

saints
9 May 2007, 16:45
Hows Ashleigh Lewis going at North Footscray? Have not seen his name around. He thought he should of been the number 1 ruckmen for the Port Colts last 2 years and heard was on massive coin at North.
Is he getting anywhere near it or still just riding the coat tails of all the good players.

red devil1
9 May 2007, 17:00
Hows Ashleigh Lewis going at North Footscray? Have not seen his name around. He thought he should of been the number 1 ruckmen for the Port Colts last 2 years and heard was on massive coin at North.
Is he getting anywhere near it or still just riding the coat tails of all the good players.

Has settled in very nicely. Missed a couple of games due to being away (cricket trip I think) but has been very solid. Big leap, huge engine and goes hard at it. Also, sort of bloke you want to attract to your club. Great character.

I think you might be trying to stir the pot a little with your last two comments. Not on massive coin, as we are North Footscray not Port Colts or Spotty. We finished 6th last year, so don't have that many good players!

Thanks for your interest Sainter!

karim13
9 May 2007, 17:41
wombat to answer your question,did a bit of homeworkd/p had 5 or 6 out of their best line up and played 2 kids from the 18's and also a reserve player who doubled up........the twos had 14 with 1/2 an hour to go before the game a few phone calls and they just had enough in the end....

its looking like the two's might be short again this week and if they are the big fella's making a comback for the arch rivals....bring em on.........lol

hey karim our ground is ready to play on and by all reports is looking fine with some new seed sown and soil put down so should be good.........ps..tell grima im tagging him again this week its gonna be another good battle, ill give him 3 goals........hahaha:thumbsu:

dont know if grimas playing mate, hasnt played for 2weeks his got a bad back...
good to hear about ur ground i dont mind playing there at all, should b a cracker of a game it always is no matter where we both r on the ladder, im tipping its gona b hard all day( rdo monday i rekon lol) theres gonna b some sore bodies...

sivart
9 May 2007, 21:50
ash lewis is a solid ruckman, but very average around the ground and Devlin played one game last year. So hes pretty much new. Eldridge would be a great match up on McGee if he wasnt so soft.
I heard North Footscray had some players from last years finals in the ressies. Are any likely to get a run in the 1s at all???

My North
9 May 2007, 23:51
Match of the Century this week ...
Western Magpies v Brunswick Power

who going to win? Both teams won last year against each other. I am tipping Brunswick Power by 1 point!

typewriter
10 May 2007, 10:15
tips for this week???

Western Magpies by 5 goals over brunswick
sunshine heights by 10+ goals against Braybrook
wests by 5 goals over a dangerous north foot
coburg by 5 goals over an angry gladdy (over the shep clearence my sources tell me they r bitterly disapointed)
Albanvale by 10 goals over an undermanned deer park in the local derby
North Sunshine to surprise the flacons at home by 10 points in the close one of the round i think stafferi on franklin will be a great tussle all day and whoever takes honours in that will get over the line

K-NACKS
10 May 2007, 11:10
tips for this week???

coburg by 5 goals over an angry gladdy (over the shep clearence my sources tell me they r bitterly disapointed)
North Sunshine to surprise the flacons at home by 10 points in the close one of the round i think stafferi on franklin will be a great tussle all day and whoever takes honours in that will get over the line

I agree with this but i'll back districts by about 15 goals gladdy have nothing !

unit27
10 May 2007, 13:28
I watched Gladdy last week , Western Magpies should have beaten them if it wasnt for some stupid umpiring decisions in the last quarter.

DekkaRoo
10 May 2007, 14:30
tips for this week???

North and West are playing in a Local Derby contest as well. They play for a perpetual shield every year. West have had the wood over North the past few years, but I sure the Devils will endeavour to take it rigth up to West this year and hopefully bring home the trophy.

red devil1
10 May 2007, 17:21
ash lewis is a solid ruckman, but very average around the ground and Devlin played one game last year. So hes pretty much new. Eldridge would be a great match up on McGee if he wasnt so soft.
I heard North Footscray had some players from last years finals in the ressies. Are any likely to get a run in the 1s at all???

Soft is a very harsh call. Who are you Glen Archer?

Not sure about changes this week as yet. Selection tonight so will be interesting to see. Don't think much will change.

all-eyes-on-me
10 May 2007, 23:00

hay saints, herd you havnt got a kick at ya new club and could be playing 2s in no time. maybe get out in the park and do a few extra laps to run the fat ass and guts off instead of taking cheap shots!! you hang out dog!! hahahaha

all-eyes-on-me
10 May 2007, 23:01

would say ash gets the ball more around the ground then a solid ruckman!!

hammertigers07
10 May 2007, 23:43
both teams didnt win last year magpies won cause power got kicked out of comp so power have the edge power to have a win hardaway to kick 10
west footscray to smash north by 50+
dpark to beat albanvale by 20
flacons to beat nsunshine by 28
heights to beat braybrook by 98
districts to beat gladdy by ????

K-NACKS
11 May 2007, 09:37
Hey i was just lookin thru the gladdy park transfer list and i came acroos this name it is who i think ?

Essendon District Football League (East Keilor)GLADSTONE PARKBarnes, JohnApproved10/05/0710/05/07

My North
11 May 2007, 17:51
Hey i was just lookin thru the gladdy park transfer list and i came acroos this name it is who i think ?

Essendon District Football League (East Keilor)GLADSTONE PARKBarnes, JohnApproved10/05/0710/05/07

Will hardly play if it is John Barners of ex Geelong/Essendon and East Keilor because of responsbilities has the Essendon runnerfor Essendon. Has Barnes gone from one poor club (East Keilor) to another in 2007??

Lenny*
11 May 2007, 19:09

Yes it is.

His brother plays there already.

Think Big
11 May 2007, 20:19
Will hardly play if it is John Barners of ex Geelong/Essendon and East Keilor because of responsbilities has the Essendon runnerfor Essendon. Has Barnes gone from one poor club (East Keilor) to another in 2007??

Yep, Gladdy going all out tomorrow recruiting John Barnes for one game to play with his brother and also to give Shephard something to think about.