View Full Version : WRFL Division 2

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

femalefootyfreak
1 Jun 2007, 14:05
Should add a bit of match fitness and loyalty to the club

And increase the profit for the canteen....
dont let them stand sideways, might lose them compared to all those "buff" blokes down there....

PS: buff is a polite way of saying FAT where i come from

typewriter
1 Jun 2007, 14:22
hey karim speaking to another 2s player lst night and he was telling me he has good sources to say ul be tagging mallia tomoro any truth in that rumour

Wombat44
1 Jun 2007, 14:35
hey karim speaking to another 2s player lst night and he was telling me he has good sources to say ul be tagging mallia tomoro any truth in that rumour

is mallia number 18 for heights? he is a pretty good player but he looks like an animal. perhaps if he shaved and showered once a week it mite help

Blueboy16
1 Jun 2007, 14:53

Not sure if I follow where you have gone with this comment BS?

w.weapons
1 Jun 2007, 14:56
Well, Folks, it looks like it's all been said with about 27 hours to spare. Albanvale are pumped, Heights are pumped, even the balls are pumped! Let's hope none of the three deflate between now and 2pm tomorrow.

Any final predictions? Anyone taking bets? First kick? First mark? First goal? First BF personality to let their identity slip? (My money's on Tats, Sniper28, Karim13 LOL)

already been done i am 1 and now of a few others but that is irrelevant at the moment..............

no 18 hieghts to get first kick.... big fais to drop a chest mark.....karim off a wing to knock the top off it when the cobras win:thumbsu:

footywife
1 Jun 2007, 15:16
already been done i am 1 and now of a few others but that is irrelevant at the moment..............

no 18 hieghts to get first kick.... big fais to drop a chest mark.....karim off a wing to knock the top off it when the cobras win:thumbsu:

I'm telling u now weapons albanvale have no chance in beating heights tomorrow as they have there best side in (minus a couple) and the albanvale team are all just fat anyway. And as for them picking up glen orden players they are probably the old fat ones that can't get a game there anymore

Guy Incognito III
1 Jun 2007, 15:19
I'm telling u now weapons albanvale have no chance in beating heights tomorrow as they have there best side in (minus a couple) and the albanvale team are all just fat anyway. And as for them picking up glen orden players they are probably the old fat ones that can't get a game there anymore

Sorry, FW, I think you might be confusing Albanvale with West Footscray. Albanvale are going to give Heights a very good match. West are fat. :D

footywife
1 Jun 2007, 15:22
Sorry, FW, I think you might be confusing Albanvale with West Footscray. Albanvale are going to give Heights a very good match. West are fat. :D

No i know what team is what and i have been around football long enough to know who is fat and who isn't.
And it may be a good match but we all know who is going to win it.

Guy Incognito III
1 Jun 2007, 15:37
No i know what team is what and i have been around football long enough to know who is fat and who isn't.
And it may be a good match but we all know who is going to win it.

Ok, I'll take your word for it.

There's still perhaps a small point of contention in your comment though. I believe that it was West who were rumoured to be recruiting new players from Glen Order (courtesy of Blueboy).

All the same, I won't presume to question your knowledge of the game, the teams or the league, since I can discern from your name that you are in fact married to a football. ;)

femalefootyfreak
1 Jun 2007, 17:27
glen orden west footscray, who cares they are all fat has beens who think the letters BOG are somthing you do in the toilet....

Really glenordinary have gone to div 1 where they are being taught how to come back down to earth & play against the big boys....
And west footscray well they've been raiding the lolly jar agin...

femalefootyfreak
1 Jun 2007, 17:29
All the same, I won't presume to question your knowledge of the game, the teams or the league, since I can discern from your name that you are in fact married to a football. ;)[/quote]

I wouldnt start on females if i were you...footy is no longer a male dominated pastime. We are entitled to our opinion, she cant help it if she makes mistakes, its not her fault all you guys do is talk S H I T half the time...

Wombat44
1 Jun 2007, 17:46
what club do you follow astro?

The Wombat is single and looking for some lovin:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

PM me if u r keen. I will also be at the heights v albanvale game this weekend

Guy Incognito III
1 Jun 2007, 18:27
I wouldnt start on females if i were you...footy is no longer a male dominated pastime. We are entitled to our opinion, she cant help it if she makes mistakes, its not her fault all you guys do is talk S H I T half the time...

I really don't think I was starting on females, but in future I'll try to be mindful that the women on this thread want to be given the same respect that the men are given... That is, just so long as they don't end up being the butt of any harmless jokes... which I wouldn't have hesitated to send to a male member... because I respect them enough to assume they can take a joke... but not if they're female because that would be a disrespectful slight on their right to be involved in the patriachal misogynistic world of football... Anyone else picking up the irony here? My head hurts. :(

Crazy Monkey
1 Jun 2007, 18:29
Interestingly enough I have noticed all the new people on this thread this week or should I say perhaps they are same people just alias's? Female footy freak, astrogirl and footy wife - you seem like your all 'blonde' and clueless... Maybe Wombat, you should have some luck in this department. LOL. As they probably wouldn't even know your a wombat! Harley the dog - you need a hobby too... Bobby Skilton - I must admit you have made me chuckle a few times... Good on you typewriter you seem to remain on the 'footy' subject in the 'footy' forum quite often... Blueboy, it seems your still not very popular...

Anyway it seems like the game for the monkey to watch this week is Sunshine Heights and Albanvale - without a doubt. Should be interesting after all the reading this week. I am looking forward to it.

Blueboy16
1 Jun 2007, 18:42
BB doesn't care about being popular. I just like to stir sh1t.

w.weapons
1 Jun 2007, 20:14
Interestingly enough I have noticed all the new people on this thread this week or should I say perhaps they are same people just alias's? Female footy freak, astrogirl and footy wife - you seem like your all 'blonde' and clueless... Maybe Wombat, you should have some luck in this department. LOL. As they probably wouldn't even know your a wombat! Harley the dog - you need a hobby too... Bobby Skilton - I must admit you have made me chuckle a few times... Good on you typewriter you seem to remain on the 'footy' subject in the 'footy' forum quite often... Blueboy, it seems your still not very popular...

Anyway it seems like the game for the monkey to watch this week is Sunshine Heights and Albanvale - without a doubt. Should be interesting after all the reading this week. I am looking forward to it.

and you missed the most decorated bigfooty div 2 poster ''weapons'' yes i havnt been on as my side isnt doing too well and have nothing to boast about..........maybe get down to the cricket net end of the ground behind the goals you will see the ''weapon''and we can discuss matters more and watch a cracker of a game..........:thumbsu:

w.weapons
1 Jun 2007, 20:22
far from it...............
id love to be blue boy with 6 mill
the match of the year will be the grand final it always is whoever plays in it....
agree with the 3 teams you mentioned and might sneak to keep lavo in as they have jnrs.......
nth sunshine have supprised every 1 and are right in the hunt for the finals....
money does get you some where if you use it ''properly''look at the strong a grade clubs.......

thats about right:thumbsu:

karim13
1 Jun 2007, 20:43
That pumped you had about 25 on the track training was fairly lacks, skills medium and enthusiasm medium at best. Keep up the good work.

I don't think anyone is writing you off, but we are flying and to beat us we would have to come down a hell of a lot when we haven't moved in the downward way in 7 games. Want to see pumped Heights training had 50 on the track including all of our full strength senior side and probably half the senior side stayed on the track once again for about 20 minutes after training doing competetive work. Bring on Saturday.

tony tony tony dont know where u get ur info from? did we only have 25 on the track more like 50 champ, listen i wont say anymore the games not far away now, ill let our boys do the talking 2morow...

karim13
1 Jun 2007, 20:53

yes daniel i heard u talking to lunny last nite and i told him to tell u i was on mallia, there is no truth in that champ i play at half back im not a fullback...

karim13
1 Jun 2007, 20:55
Henderson out... thats a shame for the Cobra's. Big SJM41 on the wing??? would be the biggest wingamn in the comp.

is hendo out is he???thats news to me, wats wrong with him?? hope sammy has a good 1 2morow....

Harley the dog
1 Jun 2007, 21:04
is hendo out is he???thats news to me, wats wrong with him?? hope sammy has a good 1 2morow....

woof woof injured knee, heights by 10 goals woof woof

GoesBangFrom50
1 Jun 2007, 21:06

ur website is usually pretty accurate..... cheers for that

easy_champ
1 Jun 2007, 21:12

Meaning? are these guys fit or something!!!!

easy_champ
1 Jun 2007, 21:16
And increase the profit for the canteen....
dont let them stand sideways, might lose them compared to all those "buff" blokes down there....

PS: buff is a polite way of saying FAT where i come from

U seem like u have a bit to say on this FFF? you follow who? or is that a lovely cheap shot at some old guys still trying to get a kick?

easy_champ
1 Jun 2007, 21:18
far from it...............
id love to be blue boy with 6 mill
the match of the year will be the grand final it always is whoever plays in it....
agree with the 3 teams you mentioned and might sneak to keep lavo in as they have jnrs.......
nth sunshine have supprised every 1 and are right in the hunt for the finals....
money does get you some where if you use it ''properly''look at the strong a grade clubs.......

thats about right:thumbsu:

Talking about the GF, what do you think of 2nd Div. WW? it may as well be a three to five team in the div. from looking at the regular scores of 90+ points wins every weekend?

Bobby Skilton
1 Jun 2007, 21:27
Talking about the GF, what do you think of @nd Div. WW? it may as well be a three to five team div. from looking at the regular scores of 90+ points wins every weekend?

Try speaking a bit of English it might help.

easy_champ
1 Jun 2007, 21:43
Try speaking a bit of English it might help.

Sorry about that bobby edited that into english, so who are you here to lag on tonight, b/c it seems that you don't mind paying out on the odd occasion!

Tony Delaney
1 Jun 2007, 21:44
tony tony tony dont know where u get ur info from? did we only have 25 on the track more like 50 champ, listen i wont say anymore the games not far away now, ill let our boys do the talking 2morow...

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

w.weapons
2 Jun 2007, 00:30
Talking about the GF, what do you think of 2nd Div. WW? it may as well be a three to five team in the div. from looking at the regular scores of 90+ points wins every weekend?

yer i dont understand either maybe what your trying to say is its a three horse race for the flag??????im only assuming is that about right??????

if it is at the end of the day who ever makes the finals is a chance for the g/f cause teams in the top half of the ladder have proven themselves over the year........top 3 are pretty much sewn up and there are another 3 teams who are fighting for the last 2 spots d/p nth foots and nth suns..........now i think nth foots are a head of the other 2 and d/p play them 2 after this weeks game so again all interesting contests coming up and will be the defining moment of the season...........

typewriter
2 Jun 2007, 00:33
yes daniel i heard u talking to lunny last nite and i told him to tell u i was on mallia, there is no truth in that champ i play at half back im not a fullback...

sorry jason its not Daniel he actually rang me last night and said he had just spoke to lunny and informed me of wot he said, so keep trying but wel have a beer at about 5:00 tomoro arvo just after heights sing their club song mate.

and by the way Mallia does not play FF so i guess ur wrong on both points. but we r only hours away now so all will be revealed very shortly. anyway i wish u the best of luck (injury wise not form wise) and im sure the game will be played hard/physical and a great standard with alot of fire in the bellies of both sides but once the final siren sounds it will all be forgotten and have a few drinks together.

karim13
2 Jun 2007, 02:46
sorry jason its not Daniel he actually rang me last night and said he had just spoke to lunny and informed me of wot he said, so keep trying but wel have a beer at about 5:00 tomoro arvo just after heights sing their club song mate.

and by the way Mallia does not play FF so i guess ur wrong on both points. but we r only hours away now so all will be revealed very shortly. anyway i wish u the best of luck (injury wise not form wise) and im sure the game will be played hard/physical and a great standard with alot of fire in the bellies of both sides but once the final siren sounds it will all be forgotten and have a few drinks together.

good stuff:thumbsu:

tats
2 Jun 2007, 18:39
Sunny heights smacked aubanvale by 65 points, bring on West Footscray. Aubanvale are too top heavy, Karim is easily their best player. We are just good at winning

w.weapons
2 Jun 2007, 19:03
Sunny heights smacked aubanvale by 65 points, bring on West Footscray. Aubanvale are too top heavy, Karim is easily their best player. We are just good at winning

yer was there as well good standard of hard physical footy.........

neck and neck for 2 and a bit quarters turning point of the game when the ball came over the back no 47 from the cobras went the soccer option insted of picking it up and having a shot....would have put the cobras up for the first time in the match but im sorry to say it all went down hill from there......well done heights over ran them in the end to a convincing win again.........i must say being an observer you have got a very strong following and the crowd when the boys kick a goal is electrifying the noise and i must say i am envious a little...........

and the female goal umpire needs glasses three goals sailed through the points at the pub end in the last.........got a few kicks myself today ..few strong grabs also........lol

TruBlues
2 Jun 2007, 19:30
Sunshine Heights will only improve from this performance. Everyone contributed to the win and the confidence in each others ability has never been higher. The feeling in the rooms before the game was awesome and our run through the midfield has never been better. The backline held its own very well and the forward line was unstoppable all day with nick mallia and robbie greto playing as good a footy you will ever see in the wrfl. GO HEIGHTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

karim13
2 Jun 2007, 20:18

ill tell u what after the bagging i coped 2day i mite just hang up the big footy boots =)

heights were just better on the day, see u in da finals boys, nick and greto absalut guns...

Harley the dog
2 Jun 2007, 20:49
woof woof , heights by 10 goals woof woof

Good boy .....woof woof

Tony Delaney
2 Jun 2007, 22:17
Good win today, never in doubt. Won without Pante (gun, 60 goal a yr player) playing. Farnfield (top 5 b and f last 2 yrs), Demetriou (gun from Altona) and Dean minor injuries and rested only to come back on if required and Soto played sick. Nicholaides (2nd best midfielder in comp.) and Weston (top 3 comp. b and f last 2 yrs) unusually quiet, so plenty of improvement to come. Best for heights Mallia took about 10 pack marks, must be about his 5th best on ground by a mile if not more, Nick Caruana in his 150th, Hoblos, Faisel tore it apart after half time as did Stewart, M. Caruana, S. Nicholaides, Robbie Greto 5 first half golas and Ricky Munn was solid down back. Myself who is nameless played a good first half but slowed down in the second due to a corky. As said before Heights will be better in the second half of the year as half the side are new and we are learning to play together. Nevertheless an 11 goal win against the second side was a good day.

Umpires terrible playing more free kicks than I have ever seen in a match blowing the whistle at every contest. Spoiled a good game never letting it flow at all. Umpires words at half time, "if I let the game go we will have world war three out there". Next comment is "if I don't play free kicks then the game will be out of control". All said with a quivering voice and hands shaking. The game was played in good spirit and was never going to get out of hand. The only frustration was the whistle. Honestly there would have been 80 to 100 free kicks played. Made a report for abusing an umpire. The player said, "thats ridiculos I tackled him around the waist". In my book I wouldn't call that abuse, then has the cheek to offer two weeks suspension when he has the option of offering one week. Enough on that. No a bit more , DISGRACEFUL display. Enough now.

Albanvale played a fair game but run out of legs at the end of every quarter and especially the last. Grainger is a gun and they look for him heaps, Karim was best for them, only of the few gutsy players they have and a top bloke too. Signed Nicky Winmar today apparently hopefully more reliable than his cousin who decided to turn up after the game started forcing Curmi to double up.

Go Dragons

tats
2 Jun 2007, 22:54
I seen that corky tony Delaney and from where i was sitting *** it looked bad, hopefully you should be available for West, dont bother coming back for magpies as you need the rest. Any way it was a very good win

Bobby Skilton
2 Jun 2007, 23:57
Missed the second half as I had to leave to go into work today. Could someone from Heights pm me with a run down of the second half.

Watching first half Jetta's dad is a jib and fits in well with the other 15 jibs. Lightening Teddy Richards was on and off the bench. Whats the coach doing there, the guys a gun. Big Danny Haracca almost took mark of the year except the umpire had the ball in the middle about to bounce it about 50 metres away. Saw the reserves and Rob 'melon head' Glowacki looked to be playing well. Good win by the reserves with Mushi 'can't wait to get to training' El Hassan showing everyone how good he can play taking about 15 marks and kicked the winning goal. Saw the typewriter do the typewriter when there was no one there and young Tats destoyed it again.

Crazy Monkey
3 Jun 2007, 09:21
heights by 10 goals woof woof

Harley the psychic dog woof woof!

Crazy Monkey
3 Jun 2007, 10:04
Well done Sunshine Heights a very good win today. And it seems as though some players were flat and are also waiting on some injuries to return. The team can only get stronger.

Would have to agree with you Tony, the umpires were absolutely terrible. Which made it a very difficult game to watch. Stop, start, stop, start. I would have to say that that's one of the worst umpired games I have seen in a while. And it sounded like everyone thought the same, judging by the crowds response. It was very frustrating for us. Can only imagine how uptight and frustrated the players were feeling. No good!

Albanvale had some descent skill and were hard at the ball. However, they got tired and this showed as they ran out of puff in the second half.

Sunshine has some real champion players. That number 18 is an absolute champion. So good to watch. Saw him take some cracker marks. Number 7 seems to escape anyone and everyone with his twists and turns, ducks and weaves. Very quick. Not to mention all the others. There are so many quick and fit players in the side and it shows. They seem to never run out of puff. (Must be all non smokers! LOL)

Great effort Sunshine Heights. I am still looking forward to watching the boys play hard in the rain. Maybe against West Footscray?

complete-package
3 Jun 2007, 19:14
Nick Mallia championnnnnn
Is there any other word to describe him???
honestly so far how is he looking for the league b and f???

GoesBangFrom50
3 Jun 2007, 21:12
Weapons... U have seen Heights twice now and West once... Can you line up the form?

w.weapons
3 Jun 2007, 21:18
Well done Sunshine Heights a very good win today. And it seems as though some players were flat and are also waiting on some injuries to return. The team can only get stronger.

Would have to agree with you Tony, the umpires were absolutely terrible. Which made it a very difficult game to watch. Stop, start, stop, start. I would have to say that that's one of the worst umpired games I have seen in a while. And it sounded like everyone thought the same, judging by the crowds response. It was very frustrating for us. Can only imagine how uptight and frustrated the players were feeling. No good!

Albanvale had some descent skill and were hard at the ball. However, they got tired and this showed as they ran out of puff in the second half.

Sunshine has some real champion players. That number 18 is an absolute champion. So good to watch. Saw him take some cracker marks. Number 7 seems to escape anyone and everyone with his twists and turns, ducks and weaves. Very quick. Not to mention all the others. There are so many quick and fit players in the side and it shows. They seem to never run out of puff. (Must be all non smokers! LOL)

Great effort Sunshine Heights. I am still looking forward to watching the boys play hard in the rain. Maybe against West Footscray?

to be honest they were bad both ways............
and heights look like a pack of whingers the way they carry on all the time get over it boys its just a free kick...........and when you get 50's as well that costs them goals looks real bad from the boundry line.........and im sure if i were coach i would be filthy....................big fais back to the 2's this week got a couple of cheap 1's in the last and looked out of his league........

GoesBangFrom50
3 Jun 2007, 21:26
Unit... what happened to the Magpies... looked competitive for a few weeks and then a 280 point flogging?

w.weapons
3 Jun 2007, 21:30
Weapons... U have seen Heights twice now and West once... Can you line up the form?

mmmmmmmm interesting its gonna be won in the midfield......the reason i say that is that both f/ward lines have loads of talent and easily kick a winning score.......both grounds are small and a quick clearence.... its a shot on goal so the midfield who stands up will win the game.......certianly heights have more run and carry type players around the ground so the midfield for west need to make the heights midfield acountable......also west have the i would say stronger/taller type f/wards in mcghie and the new recruit which his name has passed me atm so keep them quiet as well as lane which i dont know if your backline will be able to hold them........if they do heights will win.............where is it being played????

GoesBangFrom50
3 Jun 2007, 21:38
mmmmmmmm interesting its gonna be won in the midfield......the reason i say that is that both f/ward lines have loads of talent and easily kick a winning score.......both grounds are small and a quick clearence.... its a shot on goal so the midfield who stands up will win the game.......certianly heights have more run and carry type players around the ground so the midfield for west need to make the heights midfield acountable......also west have the i would say stronger/taller type f/wards in mcghie and the new recruit which his name has passed me atm so keep them quiet as well as lane which i dont know if your backline will be able to hold them........if they do heights will win.............where is it being played????

Being played at their Rat Hole... the boys will be prepared for the standard barrage of racial abuse that they always dish out!! They should really get some new material. Also hoping that they may have left enough money in the budget to add a toilet door to the visitors rooms:thumbsu:

Agree that the midfield is the key... would think that we may have the edge at the end of qtrs and late in the game.. when their fat players are blowing pretty hard and we are rotaing in midfielder 8 9 and 10!!.

Still have to give the magpies a flogging before th big Showdown.

w.weapons
3 Jun 2007, 21:51
Being played at their Rat Hole... the boys will be prepared for the standard barrage of racial abuse that they always dish out!! They should really get some new material. Also hoping that they may have left enough money in the budget to add a toilet door to the visitors rooms:thumbsu:

Agree that the midfield is the key... would think that we may have the edge at the end of qtrs and late in the game.. when their fat players are blowing pretty hard and we are rotaing in midfielder 8 9 and 10!!.

Still have to give the magpies a flogging before th big Showdown.

and what about the sh.it pergola that protudes over the boundry line near the rooms.........?....great........

if you are gonna beat west youd want to prove yourselves and beat the maggies by over 220

another thing season on the line stuff for the parkers the next 2 weeks both the nth's..........go the parkers

GoesBangFrom50
3 Jun 2007, 21:56
and what about the sh.it pergola that protudes over the boundry line near the rooms.........?....great........

if you are gonna beat west youd want to prove yourselves and beat the maggies by over 220

another thing season on the line stuff for the parkers the next 2 weeks both the nth's..........go the parkers

and the clowns that stand just outside the rooms seem to grow to 10ft tall by the last qtr.... with 10 cans under their FAT belts!!

If u can't get one win out of those 2 games start planning for 08...

Anyone think Albanvale can come back from that flogging and have a serious crack at it?

w.weapons
3 Jun 2007, 22:04
and the clowns that stand just outside the rooms seem to grow to 10ft tall by the last qtr.... with 10 cans under their FAT belts!!

If u can't get one win out of those 2 games start planning for 08...

Anyone think Albanvale can come back from that flogging and have a serious crack at it?

yer i think the cobra's can but got to change the kick in set up.........maybe once or twice but all the time i dont think so........

we are in the top 5 here we come..........:thumbsu:

GoesBangFrom50
3 Jun 2007, 22:06
yer i think the cobra's can but got to change the kick in set up.........maybe once or twice but all the time i dont think so........

I've seen that set up in a Junior coaching manual 10 years ago.... and dont think it worked once on the weekend.... sometimes people can over coach... it is DIV 2 WRFL after all

unit27
3 Jun 2007, 22:27
Unit... what happened to the Magpies... looked competitive for a few weeks and then a 280 point flogging?

Cant say much mate. Watched the game West Footscray looked very good but then again we looked very bad and we are still struggling.

Guy Incognito III
3 Jun 2007, 23:29
Here's my predictions for the week:

West Footscray to beat the magpies comfortably, but again fail to match the effectiveness of Albanvale and Heights at keeping lesser opponents to negligible scores at one end whilst piling on the goals at the other. (Is this due to an element of complacency through round after round of predictable results or a sign of things to come when the top three meet each other?)

Deer Park to enjoy the bye against Gladstone Park.

Big Footy match of the round: Albanvale vs Sunshine Heights. Big Footy personalities will meet on the sidelines and discuss BS’s mother while on the field, Heights lead by a kick at ¾ time and go on to win by 2 more. In the post match, TD, BS, TW et al will be forced to drink the slab in the carpark, as their BF egos won’t fit through the doors. LOL

Wyndhamvale to beat an improving Brunswick by less than 4 goals – forcing the league to finally implement the little known “Minnow Rule” whereby any top 9 side that beats BP, WM or GP by less than 24 points will forfeit the four points, receive a large fine and be ordered to go door to door apologising to local residents for bringing the area into disrepute.

North to beat North. Can’t lose! Ok, I’ll make a call and say NF by 3 goals, 2 reports and a send-off.

Finally, the Braybrook and Districts will have a draw. Yes, that’s right a draw. That’s how much I care.

Well, you could say I was close...

Did I underestimate West or overestimate the Magpies? Hmm...

As predicted, Deer Park will be well rested after two consecutive weekends without an opponent.

Well done Heights, but nobody needs my impressions of the game. I agree with pretty much everything that everyone has said up until now about it. I'm picking that as the GF preview, so it will be interesting to see what transpires between now and August/September given that Heights won't see another contender between round 10 and the finals. Is that good or bad for such a rapidly evolving side? TD? GBF? BS? TW? Harley? What are your impressions?

No bended-knee apologies for the people of Wyndhamvale, but still positive signs for Brunswick (at least they kept the goal umpire awake for most of the game).

I fairly well picked the margin in North vs North, although I haven't seen a full match report, so I'm not sure how I did in the conduct department, but I'll claim it.

Coburg over Braybrook: well, I missed by 10 points.. and I still don't care.

I hope you're all enjoying the week off (Braybrook, Nth Sunshine and Heights will enjoy two) and no doubt there's plenty to talk about in the weeks to come.

Oh and Karim, please don't give up on Big Footy. I'd hate to see it become one-sided in here! There seems to be far too little representation from outside of the Sunny Heights inner sanctum already. Be we neutral(ish) observers or the tenacious combatants, we owe it to the football public to present the story from every point of view without prejudice of any kind. (Can you tell that the camera just zoomed in and there's suddenly a flag flying inexplicably behind my back?) Yes, call me a softy, even Blueboy has a place in this egalitarian heart of mine... plus this thread wouldn't be half as much fun to read if the Heights boys didn't have someone to hang sh!t on all the time.

For this week, I believe my work here is done, so it's back to the Bourbon...

;)

complete-package
3 Jun 2007, 23:29

al_smith07
3 Jun 2007, 23:33

"stronger/taller type f/wards in mcghie and the new recruit " I would be assuming your talking about Bobby Evans, the other forward recruit was inella and i wouldn't call him tall

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 11:05
hey weapons i told u at half time the 1s would end up winning by 10 goals

GoesBangFrom50
4 Jun 2007, 11:26

Package u posted that twice... If u like him so much PM me and I'll arrange to get an autograph for you!!

and yes... should have 15 votes in the bank already if the umpires are fair dinkum!!

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 11:39
Package u posted that twice... If u like him so much PM me and I'll arrange to get an autograph for you!!

and yes... should have 15 votes in the bank already if the umpires are fair dinkum!!

You can never judge what the umpire thinks. Not saying he shouldn't have that many but you watch you say 15 and and will have about 5. Consistant players never poll every game.

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 11:49
yeah i agree bluey, last year westo couldnt believe he polled in the top 3 in the comp, and mallia isnt the type of player who gets alot of votes from umpires, i dont think like him out on the field.

however i agree with package he is a gun and i think is the best player in the comp along with a couple of wests boys and greto. who do ppl think the best players r from other clubs in the division.

i was always a wrap for that sammy from gladdy park, i thought he was a very consistent player but he wasnt playing this year.

Tony Delaney
4 Jun 2007, 11:49
You can never judge what the umpire thinks. Not saying he shouldn't have that many but you watch you say 15 and and will have about 5. Consistant players never poll every game.

Hate to say I agree with you but yes you never know what they are thinking. They played 80 plus free kicks Saturday because they thought if they didn't the game would get out of hand. Only thing was they spoiled a good game.

I think goesbang was conservative with 15 votes for Mallia. On Sat he took about 20 marks, 10 of them pack marks, kicked 5 and had 40 plus possessions, time will tell though if he gets the 3 votes. Karim will tell that Nick was best on ground by a country mile.

Tony Delaney
4 Jun 2007, 11:55
yeah i agree bluey, last year westo couldnt believe he polled in the top 3 in the comp, and mallia isnt the type of player who gets alot of votes from umpires, i dont think like him out on the field.

however i agree with package he is a gun and i think is the best player in the comp along with a couple of wests boys and greto. who do ppl think the best players r from other clubs in the division.

i was always a wrap for that sammy from gladdy park, i thought he was a very consistent player but he wasnt playing this year.

Best players in comp. my view are, Mallia, Greto, M. Nicholaides, N. Caruana, McGhee, Saliba, Kaddour, Henderson, Pearce, Hardaway. Any others care to add to the list or discuss it feel free.

GoesBangFrom50
4 Jun 2007, 12:10
Best players in comp. my view are, Mallia, Greto, M. Nicholaides, N. Caruana, McGhee, Saliba, Kaddour, Henderson, Pearce, Hardaway. Any others care to add to the list or discuss it feel free.

I'll nominate Tony Delaney... when he is fit there are not many that can match it with him at this level.

cougarman
4 Jun 2007, 12:11

is that the guy from brunswick power, good effort from that guy each week considering the team he represents really struggle

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 12:18
yeah he is a gun if only he played at a decent club

red devil1
4 Jun 2007, 12:44

I think Devlin from North Footscray would be top 10. Also, Hayden Phillips when fit.

Frank Staffieri from North Sunshine is not fit at the moment but would be up there. Neicho (6) and Nadeiezki (17...not sure of spelling) from North Sunshine are also very handy.

McGee or Mallia are no.1.

Bobby Skilton
4 Jun 2007, 12:51

Yeah right Sammy from Galdstone Park. I think you have been hit in the head with a typewriter and your judgement is clouded.

Harley the dog tipped the 10 goal win you are simply trying to ride along on his tail claiming it for yourself.

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 13:04
i dont know who this devlin is what number does he wear devil il have to wacth out 4 him in about 3 weeks time. is he tall or small???

definitly agree with stafferi him and mcgee the best chf in the comp, i think mcgee would just shade him as he can go back as well

besides henderson i think albanvale r a very even side not 2 many standouts performance wise maybe grainger being the exception

North Sunshine have stafferi and stone is very underrated i think he always bobs up for 4 or so.

Harley the dog
4 Jun 2007, 13:18
Missed the game Saturday Dom booked a doggy wash for me. Good win woof woof

inka
4 Jun 2007, 13:34
Went and watched the Cobras/Heights game on Sat, first Div 2 game i've seen. Impressed by Heights running and intimidation should go along way this season if it was the second best side in the comp they played!
Albanvale seemed to be scared, hopefully it was just for the one day!
How do Heights go on big grounds?

GoesBangFrom50
4 Jun 2007, 13:38
Went and watched the Cobras/Heights game on Sat, first Div 2 game i've seen. Impressed by Heights running and intimidation should go along way this season if it was the second best side in the comp they played!
Albanvale seemed to be scared, hopefully it was just for the one day!
How do Heights go on big grounds?

Do u usually follow Div 1? How far behind do u reckon the standard is?

red devil1
4 Jun 2007, 13:51

GB50 that is a loaded question. Let's not go down the path of comparing the standards of the two divisions again. I still have a headache from the last time this happened.

Scrappy game between the 2 Norths on the weekend. NSunshine were about 4 goals up at 1/4 time. Devils had the better of the remaining 3 quarters but still struggling with ball handling and shooting for goal.

NSunshine have some quality topliners but the depth of talent seems to run a bit dry after the top 6 or 7 players.

Bit disappointing that after they were down a few goals in the last quarter that they still resorted to having 1 or 2 loose players in the backline. Sometimes better to have a respectable loss then have a crack?

all-eyes-on-me
4 Jun 2007, 14:09
i would have to say stuart devlin would have to be up there for best in the comp!! is norths best in my eyes hands down!!

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 14:15
Is everyone forgetting Ziggy. By far West's best player.

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 14:17
i dont think ppl have seen enough of him as yet did he play on the weekend?

all-eyes-on-me
4 Jun 2007, 14:22

he hardly got a kick against north footscray!! magee was ya best that day

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 14:40
he hardly got a kick against north footscray!! magee was ya best that day

I forgot that a players performance in one match means he is no good! YOU DILL!

He did play on the weekend typewriter.

chest
4 Jun 2007, 15:03
GB50 that is a loaded question. Let's not go down the path of comparing the standards of the two divisions again. I still have a headache from the last time this happened.

Scrappy game between the 2 Norths on the weekend. NSunshine were about 4 goals up at 1/4 time. Devils had the better of the remaining 3 quarters but still struggling with ball handling and shooting for goal.

NSunshine have some quality topliners but the depth of talent seems to run a bit dry after the top 6 or 7 players.

Bit disappointing that after they were down a few goals in the last quarter that they still resorted to having 1 or 2 loose players in the backline. Sometimes better to have a respectable loss then have a crack?

How did frank stafferi go and Phil Anastaviouv for Nth. Very good footballers but not sure if they really give a hoot.

Nth Foots look good and maybe need to pick up one or two more experienced players for nxt year and will give the finals a real shake.
Devlin is good and maybe lure back Jake Trevaskis and one or two others and they will help....

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 15:16
i dont know if stafferi is actually playin at the moment his knee isnt the greatest. anastasov is very quick

astro_girl
4 Jun 2007, 15:20
what club do you follow astro?

The Wombat is single and looking for some lovin:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

PM me if u r keen. I will also be at the heights v albanvale game this weekend

Lets just say my club will win div 2 GF hands down...
I dont think im interested in a wombat...a fat,short legged burrowing animal with rodent like teeth. Why dont you burrow yourslef a hole & crawl into it?

Who cares what game you were at....im not interested

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 15:22
I dont think im interested in a wombat...a fat,short legged burrowing animal with rodent like teeth. Why dont you burrow yourslef a hole & crawl into it?

Go find a netball thread astro_girl.

astro_girl
4 Jun 2007, 15:23
[quote=Crazy Monkey;7708185]Interestingly enough I have noticed all the new people on this thread this week or should I say perhaps they are same people just alias's? Female footy freak, astrogirl and footy wife - you seem like your all 'blonde' and clueless... Maybe Wombat, you should have some luck in this department. LOL. As they probably wouldn't even know your a wombat! Harley the dog - you need a hobby too... Bobby Skilton - I must admit you have made me chuckle a few times... Good on you typewriter you seem to remain on the 'footy' subject in the 'footy' forum quite often... Blueboy, it seems your still not very popular...

I can tell you now..im all woman, but i probably still have more balls than you...not clueless buddy, been around footy my whole life including relatives in AFL so i am in fact a born & bred footy girl. I think your starting to win my vote as biggest loser....just when blueboy had the title...

astro_girl
4 Jun 2007, 15:25
Go find a netball thread astro_girl.

Oh am in the wrong thread.... I thought cos you were here I was in the netball thread, youd know more about playing a sheila's sport than me...
grow up blueboy & get a kick

Bobby Skilton
4 Jun 2007, 15:25

He is up there but not right up there because he doesn't go and get his own football. Very good, quick, skilful but a receiver. Nothing wrong with that, not a slur just a fact. McGhee is ahead of him because he goes and gets the ball.

Wombat44
4 Jun 2007, 15:26

You would luv it if i BURROWED down on you ASTRO:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

femalefootyfreak
4 Jun 2007, 15:28
hey wombat quit tryin it on all the females here, you are a desperate loser & none of the girls here are interested. p^$s off & try RSVP.com.au
This is a footy forum stupid try talkin bout that every now & then..

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 15:30
He is up there but not right up there because he doesn't go and get his own football. Very good, quick, skilful but a receiver. Nothing wrong with that, not a slur just a fact. McGhee is ahead of him because he goes and gets the ball.

Have you seen Ziggy play yet this season BS? Just not sure your observation is correct. He is a smart footballer and positions himself in the rite places because he reads the play so well. No doubt Lucas is a fantastic player and I have said this here before, they are different players with different roles in side.

Blueboy16
4 Jun 2007, 15:31
Oh am in the wrong thread.... I thought cos you were here I was in the netball thread, youd know more about playing a sheila's sport than me...
grow up blueboy & get a kick

Yeah that makes sense!

Wombat44
4 Jun 2007, 15:32
hey wombat quit tryin it on all the females here, you are a desperate loser & none of the girls here are interested. p^$s off & try RSVP.com.au
This is a footy forum stupid try talkin bout that every now & then..

Admit it. u r just jealous cos i turned u down:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

No wombat luv for u:p :p

Guy Incognito III
4 Jun 2007, 15:33
I dont think im interested in a wombat...a fat,short legged burrowing animal with rodent like teeth.

I don't know, Astro Girl, you might be missing out on a good thing. A wombat represents everything you could ask for in a man. After all, he eats roots and leaves.
:D

femalefootyfreak
4 Jun 2007, 15:33

puh..lease
seriously stop annoying us & talk footy

femalefootyfreak
4 Jun 2007, 15:41
I don't know, Astro Girl, you might be missing out on a good thing. A wombat represents everything you could ask for in a man. After all, he eats roots and leaves.
:D

she might be but imagine his breath after all that...lol

Bobby Skilton
4 Jun 2007, 15:41

Your a wombat. Take your sexual overtones somewhere else, this isn't a pervert wombat thread.

Bobby Skilton
4 Jun 2007, 15:45
Have you seen Ziggy play yet this season BS? Just not sure your observation is correct. He is a smart footballer and positions himself in the rite places because he reads the play so well. No doubt Lucas is a fantastic player and I have said this here before, they are different players with different roles in side.

Fair enough, wasn't a critisism he is obviously a gun, just look a little higher at those that go and get it.

Guy Incognito III
4 Jun 2007, 15:51

she might be but imagine his breath after all that...lol

I'm afraid that's out on the full, FFF. As low-brow and corny as my joke was, you've totally missed the point.:thumbsd:

TruBlues
4 Jun 2007, 16:38

Division 1 is miles ahead of division 2 for a couple of reasons.
The main reason being the ability of the 2nd tear players.
If you take The Sunshine Heights and the abanvales and the wests from div 2 there top 8 players could easily fit into the division 1 competition, however, these clubs lack the quality 2nd tear players that would make them a threat in the division 1 competition. They would, however, be competitive against glenorden/altona/parkside, and definately (sunshine heights and wests in particular) have a core group of players to build on if the opportunity to play division 1 came there way.

red devil1
4 Jun 2007, 16:53

I agree with you BB. Ziggy is a fantastic player and while tagged against NFootscray still had a major input on the game. No way is he a receiver. He actually initiates body contact, rather than staying out on his pat malone.

red devil1
4 Jun 2007, 16:56
How did frank stafferi go and Phil Anastaviouv for Nth. Very good footballers but not sure if they really give a hoot.

Nth Foots look good and maybe need to pick up one or two more experienced players for nxt year and will give the finals a real shake.
Devlin is good and maybe lure back Jake Trevaskis and one or two others and they will help....

What number is Phil Anast...? Stafferi was very quiet. Few touches in the first quarter and that was about it. Seems restricted by a dodgey knee. Hoping to get Jake back next year.

typewriter
4 Jun 2007, 16:58
i think he wears 13 blonde skinny sort of bloke plays in the middle or wing

easy_champ
4 Jun 2007, 19:01
Division 1 is miles ahead of division 2 for a couple of reasons.
The main reason being the ability of the 2nd tear players.
If you take The Sunshine Heights and the abanvales and the wests from div 2 there top 8 players could easily fit into the division 1 competition, however, these clubs lack the quality 2nd tear players that would make them a threat in the division 1 competition. They would, however, be competitive against glenorden/altona/parkside, and definately (sunshine heights and wests in particular) have a core group of players to build on if the opportunity to play division 1 came there way.

You've hit the nail on the head with that trublue. If you really have a good look at the top three, all need to recruit heavily, if they don't want to be just another club making up the numbers in Div 1.

West, heights, even albanvale (even after the weekend result) have a lot of talent but will loose players if they go up re: retirement, player prefer 2nd, or just want to move on but what do you do.

There will always be a pecking order, @ the moment in Div 1 the top teams like spotty, hoppers, colts, st. albans will always be there b/c they don't have to look for $$$$$$$ How can any team in Div 2, be competitive in Div 1 when west reckon they $40, 000 (being alot of cash for Div 2), with this is a budget that these Div 1 teams would laugh at!!

w.weapons
4 Jun 2007, 19:32
You would luv it if i BURROWED down on you ASTRO:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

i was waiting for that ..........gold:thumbsu: