View Full Version : WRFL Division 2

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

GoesBangFrom50
7 Jun 2007, 12:50
madigan-deer park

weston good call gets a lot of it and will get the attention as well so might be hard for him in a team full of young duds...........lol
just forget i said that lol

mallia hard to win it in the possie he plays id go for me mate gretto

Heres a good prediction on the Smith Medal by Weapons...

How many votes do u reckon Madigan has?

Changed ur mind on Mallia?

Greto not a bad call.

typewriter
7 Jun 2007, 12:51
he has been solid every week done his job without being spectacular thats how key backman usually are. they rarely get the accolades of forwards or midfielders but doing your job down back is limiting your opponents influence on the game and i dont recall him being beaten this year. i may be wrong but i dont think so

typewriter
7 Jun 2007, 13:00
hey guys lets start talkin footy again:

west and albanvale obviously match of the round n 2 weeks where do ppl think it will be won and lost and maybe some key match ups?

The truth hurts
7 Jun 2007, 13:02
U must be from Heights... so pull ur head in. Keep that crap off line

Does the truth hurts GoesBangFrom50 or are you the only person allowed to posts your thoughts. After all it's a public forum. So may I suggest you pull your head in you get around the big footy like you run the place.

Football sides are traditionaly made up of all sorts of people and not all have good attitudes so time you face facts.

The truth hurts
7 Jun 2007, 13:05

Greto not a bad call.

What is it with you today go back and find old posts to show people they were wrong to boost your own ailing self esteem. Get a life champ.

Tony Delaney
7 Jun 2007, 13:12
How could richo be supurb down back this year when he has had 1 good game against Coburg

Had some big stopping jobs eg Shepherd and been sucessfull every time. Has played consistently, attacked at the right times, puts 100 % into his football, is disciplined, puts the team/club first every time, is a great leader, is realistic about his strengths and weaknesses, can take critisism and is always wanting to improve his game.

He has been as superb as he can be down back with such large winning margins.

GoesBangFrom50
7 Jun 2007, 13:12
Read back a few posts GOOSE!!! Bob asked if anyone wanted to change any of their early predictions... so I posted a few

maybe u should pull your head in.... 4 posts all up and you have given nothing...

complete-package
7 Jun 2007, 13:44
Dont know where you're from buddy but i wouldnt put half that team in my under 9's....
Damo..cant kick
Camma...too small
Teddy Richards..only good to keep the bench warm for those coming off
Sniper...too inconsistent
Richo....brown nose (only reason hes in senior side)
Tats... not interested in senior footy.. knows hes better in the 2's
Tony Delaney...should be called Buckley (always doin a hammie)
Danny...all talk no action

Pante should be in the side,as well as mizzi, xuereb, K. Hrisikos...just to name a few.... better than some that are actually in the side.

Will be interesting come finals..how will they decide who gets dropped..i have my suspicions...

You have no idea. Pante will be in the side, Kon was offered to play doesnt feel right yet, Daniel himself wants to play 2's and could be a bit fitter and as for Mizzi lol has he got a kick all this year. Im sick of ppl having a sook when they get dropped cop it on the chin and get on with your footy. Its not the end of the world its only a game. If your playing for heights your obviously not playing for anything else but the love of the game, so just play in the 2's and enjoy yourself.

easy_champ
7 Jun 2007, 13:48
What is it with you today go back and find old posts to show people they were wrong to boost your own ailing self esteem. Get a life champ.

After that Williams from North Footscray won two A.S. medals because he had a BOG AFRO, does the medal have the credit it deserves? It is still a league medal but i reckon it lost some of its gloss, since then!! and as much as i'm not trying to bag out the medal b/c some real good players have won the medal!

complete-package
7 Jun 2007, 13:57

here we go listen to this dooshbag...how many big footy accounts do u have?? for u too no about all the past posts and then to make another new name u must be a very disliked person.. im gonna have to say ive been on big footy about 2 weeks now and there are very few who talk football and make sense and if u seriously dnt think GBF is 1 of them kill urself

Guy Incognito III
7 Jun 2007, 14:10

TD left one out. I apologise, FFF, if you honestly think that Danny isn't the real deal, you definitely weren't there on Saturday. He was absolutely superb down back, particularly in the first half when the game was still very much in the balance and a few goals from his tough match-up could have had a significant impact.
In fact, other than one specific passage of play when he forgot that he was meant to be playing football and not mountaineering, he looked like an experienced, disciplined team player with a lot of talent, skill (yes, they are two different things) and brains.
I'm sure that the coaching staff at Heights will be ecstatic if he keeps it up for the rest of the season.:thumbsu:

The truth hurts
7 Jun 2007, 15:12
[quote=complete-package;7766081] Im sick of ppl having a sook when they get dropped cop it on the chin and get on with your footy.

Could not agree with you more!!!!!

The truth hurts
7 Jun 2007, 15:18
Read back a few posts GOOSE!!! Bob asked if anyone wanted to change any of their early predictions... so I posted a few

maybe u should pull your head in.... 4 posts all up and you have given nothing...

Just getting started GOOSE!
Before it was time to sit back and read posts, now it's time to get started....
So yeah I will be giving something. You may not like it. But sometimes the truth hurts!

danielgoesbangtats
7 Jun 2007, 15:27
Just getting started GOOSE!
Before it was time to sit back and read posts, now it's time to get started....
So yeah I will be giving something. You may not like it. But sometimes the truth hurts!

r u normal or what mate talk about footy and leave it at that no one gives a f u c k about your shi t ty cliche's

Mundine
7 Jun 2007, 16:33
Heard west footscray picked up two guns from Glenorden, i am intersted to see if it was dean derrich, does anyone know who those 2 players are. Dasha is also going to play for West seniors against Sunny heights. What a game its going to be. Anyone got any news

easy_champ
7 Jun 2007, 17:00
Heard west footscray picked up two guns from Glenorden, i am intersted to see if it was dean derrich, does anyone know who those 2 players are. Dasha is also going to play for West seniors against Sunny heights. What a game its going to be. Anyone got any news

From a tip. Dasha played in the two's down at west on the weekend from what i've been told, and he went quiet well and is lookig forward on rovering in the fwd line, off the likes of the TWO laneys, Chicky, Innella and Evans, and i'll tell you now, if they have pulled Derich as well, pretty potent fwd line and definitely a hand full for the rest of the comp!!!! Where do you reckon they will put htese guys, surely that can't all play fwd! I know Chicky and Evans can be moved around but would you want too!!

easy_champ
7 Jun 2007, 17:05

from what i've heard is that dasha played in the west's second and played pretty well and that he's looking fwd to be rovering around the fwd line down at wests too. I wouldn't mind getting the job to rover to the TWO Laneys, McGee, Innella and Evans..... pretty potent fwd line and if they have picked up Derich as well, gee where will they all fit!!!! I know Magee and Evans they can play at both end and Evans could play on the ball (whether he could do it know, is another story!!)

How would you mix it, up especially on that tiny little toy ground at wests!!

Mr_Footy
7 Jun 2007, 17:21
From a tip. Dasha played in the two's down at west on the weekend from what i've been told, and he went quiet well and is lookig forward on rovering in the fwd line, off the likes of the TWO laneys, Chicky, Innella and Evans, and i'll tell you now, if they have pulled Derich as well, pretty potent fwd line and definitely a hand full for the rest of the comp!!!! Where do you reckon they will put htese guys, surely that can't all play fwd! I know Chicky and Evans can be moved around but would you want too!!

from what i've heard is that dasha played in the west's second and played pretty well and that he's looking fwd to be rovering around the fwd line down at wests too. I wouldn't mind getting the job to rover to the TWO Laneys, McGee, Innella and Evans..... pretty potent fwd line and if they have picked up Derich as well, gee where will they all fit!!!! I know Magee and Evans they can play at both end and Evans could play on the ball (whether he could do it know, is another story!!)

Are you a goldfish?

Guy Incognito III
7 Jun 2007, 17:22

Which would you like people to address, EC?

Next two weeks are going to tell everyone where West is really at. Up until now, it's been clear that there are three teams in the race and Heights now has the advantage over Albanvale, but how West will compare to either of the two is anyone's guess.
Exciting times ahead...

easy_champ
7 Jun 2007, 19:02
Are you a goldfish?

my computer froze, didn't think it went through b/c it went back to the original blank reply

easy_champ
7 Jun 2007, 19:07
Which would you like people to address, EC?

Next two weeks are going to tell everyone where West is really at. Up until now, it's been clear that there are three teams in the race and Heights now has the advantage over Albanvale, but how West will compare to either of the two is anyone's guess.
Exciting times ahead...

Yeah EC fine, it is going to be exciting, especially if west don't come up against Albanvale. seeing in the star its saying that heights and west are booked into the GF already!!!!!

w.weapons
7 Jun 2007, 19:46
Fais will be the first to admit he isnt the fittest bloke at heights but he has been working his but off in the last 5 or 6 weeks to get fitter and it is showing on the ground. he is a vital cog in our forward line he wont get 30 touches a game but he clears paths for those younger quicker smaller players ie hoblos caruanas nicolaides teddy demetreou farnfieldsetc to run into space and kick goals.

2 goals a week from your hf is more than acceptable thats about the 40 goal mark for the year and ud take that any day of the week. which deer park flanker is gonna get anywhere near that?

dooch already kicked 15 to 20 already.........i though he is your c/h/f

w.weapons
7 Jun 2007, 19:51
yeah ok put mizzi in for tats

Anyone else gonna have a crack at team of year weapons you've seen a fair bit of a couple teams.

Has anyone changed their predictions from the statrt of the year.

i was close in last years team that i put up too early to tell but i would have 3 or 4 heights boys in atm..........17 out of 21 last year

nothing has changed in my predictions........

w.weapons
7 Jun 2007, 19:57

Greto not a bad call.

well i would think mallia would be in front of robbie atm.........

madigan is flying you should see him.........lol.....down at nth sunshine supers.........

w.weapons
7 Jun 2007, 20:01
Does the truth hurts GoesBangFrom50 or are you the only person allowed to posts your thoughts. After all it's a public forum. So may I suggest you pull your head in you get around the big footy like you run the place.

Football sides are traditionaly made up of all sorts of people and not all have good attitudes so time you face facts.

now now truth hurts gbfromfiddy has been an outstanding member of the bigfooty brigade.........he runs the bar and always has it stocked........lol

a real team member.........oh i forgot to add i run this place.........so keep it real.........:thumbsu:

TruBlues
7 Jun 2007, 21:37
Dont know where you're from buddy but i wouldnt put half that team in my under 9's....
Damo..cant kick
Camma...too small

Pante should be in the side,as well as mizzi, xuereb, K. Hrisikos...just to name a few.... better than some that are actually in the side.

Will be interesting come finals..how will they decide who gets dropped..i have my suspicions...

Damo is quick, hard at the ball and puts his body on the line.

camma for his size has a great overhead mark and does hes job week in week out. Its hard when you have a forward line with so many players capable of kicking a bag of goals.

teddy is still young and learning hes way in the senior side but
contributes well when give the opportunity

Sniper gives it his best, can let him self down sometimes with skill

Richo has done well with the jobs he has been given down back
Although i think it will be hard for him to find his place with so many quality backman at the club especially with danny proving himself as a valuable asset down back against albanvale

Pante is injured, kon is injured, daniel is a gun 2's player, and mizzi
should have gone about it the right way, played 2's and got BOG and proved everyone wrong.

You wouldnt put half the side who is undefeated 8-0 in you under 9 side, come on, get serious will you!

all-eyes-on-me
7 Jun 2007, 22:22
who from hights or albanvale will play on mague from west? albanvale have karim as there best defender and the boys gos alrite but lukas would get it over him pritty easy!! any idears on that match up? do ya think you are up to the job karim?

red devil1
7 Jun 2007, 22:39
who from hights or albanvale will play on mague from west? albanvale have karim as there best defender and the boys gos alrite but lukas would get it over him pritty easy!! any idears on that match up? do ya think you are up to the job karim?

Don't know about Heights as I don't know their new players. Wouldn't have thought there would be many candidates prior to this year.

Albanvale will struggle down back against the top 2 from what I saw against North Footscray. Their best defenders were Karim and old man Rainbow and neither are key position players. Perhaps they have others who didn't play? Also, Winmar (the fat one) is more a floater rather than a key defender.

Tony Delaney
7 Jun 2007, 23:34
Are you a goldfish?

Goldfish have a memory otherwise how do they know that it is food that has been thrown in the water, beacause they remember from last time.

Tony Delaney
7 Jun 2007, 23:43
Overheard Teddy Richards telling someone tonight at training that he is the quickest player in the competition. Don't know about quickest but good that he has this sort of confidence.

mamamamarco
7 Jun 2007, 23:45
Damo..cant kick
Camma...too small

you have no idea just another clown with an opinion.

complete-package
7 Jun 2007, 23:46
Goldfish have a memory otherwise how do they know that it is food that has been thrown in the water, beacause they remember from last time.

lol gold fish have a memory its a just a s h i t one.. they no wat food is td they just cant remember if they ate it or not.. big footy how good is it now we talk about goldfish tmrw its something else a little footy every now and then its good

Harley the dog
7 Jun 2007, 23:47
Good night at training hanging around all the boys. Wish Dom would give me the proper part of the pizza rather than just the crust. woof woof

TruBlues
7 Jun 2007, 23:50
lol gold fish have a memory its a just a s h i t one.. they no wat food is td they just cant remember if they ate it or not.. big footy how good is it now we talk about goldfish tmrw its something else a little footy every now and then its good

I think they have a memory of 5 seconds or something along those lines.

mamamamarco
7 Jun 2007, 23:50
Overheard Teddy Richards telling someone tonight at training that he is the quickest player in the competition. Don't know about quickest but good that he has this sort of confidence.

I think you miss heard he said he was the quikest bowler still he very well could be the fastest in the league. Oh yeh wiwiwin

complete-package
7 Jun 2007, 23:51
I think you miss heard he said he was the quikest bowler still he very well could be the fastest in the league. Oh yeh wiwiwin
i think we should give mamamamarco a leashe so he can take harley the dog for a wa wa wa walk and dnt forget woof woof

Crazy Monkey
8 Jun 2007, 07:33
Don't really know too much about North Footscray. Could anyone tell me how they think they will go against Deer Park next week?

typewriter
8 Jun 2007, 09:36
hey weapons fais is hf s nicolaides has been the chf for most of this year

Tony Delaney
8 Jun 2007, 09:42

Still curious FFF to know what your suspicions are.

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 10:53
Damo..cant kick
Camma...too small

You amuse me female footy freak, reading back through your earlier posts you sounded like you were a one-eyed Sunshine Heights supporter. But it really amazes me that you would bag your own club like this. Afterall arent you supposed to be their number one supporter? You definetly know your football. Maybe you should take up a coaching position in the under 9's!
Female footy freak, you should do your research a little better and perhaps actually watch a game or two.

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 10:55
[quote=Guy Incognito III;7765034]Oh for crying out loud, FFF! Wake up! If you weren't at the game on Saturday, I'd excuse you for totally missing the joke, but you were so frankly, you're a complete spanner!

Yeah wake up female footy freak!

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 10:59
here we go listen to this dooshbag...how many big footy accounts do u have?? for u too no about all the past posts and then to make another new name u must be a very disliked person.. im gonna have to say ive been on big footy about 2 weeks now and there are very few who talk football and make sense and if u seriously dnt think GBF is 1 of them kill urself

Complete package, would you mind explaining to me what you mean by 'Dooshbag'? I notice you use it quite regularly. You sound so highly intelligent. Afterall you are telling me to kill myself. No wonder you consider yourself as the 'complete package'. You have it all!!!

Dancing Dougie
8 Jun 2007, 11:14
you have no idea just another clown with an opinion.
hey what about westo...!!!!:eek: struggling i think... time to get the real one in:)

Dancing Dougie
8 Jun 2007, 11:17

heights wont have to worry about them when they get the ball out of the centre and bang it into greto and co....:thumbsu::thumbsu:

footywife
8 Jun 2007, 11:27
Damo..cant kick
Camma...too small

I agree with you FFF

Guy Incognito III
8 Jun 2007, 11:43
I agree with you FFF

Of course you do, FW. You two always agree with one another. You even answer for each other sometimes. And you always seem to be logged on at the same time of day (but never both at once). It's remarkable! It's like your minds are as one. You must be kindred spirits. Good for you.

footywife
8 Jun 2007, 11:58
Of course you do, FW. You two always agree with one another. You even answer for each other sometimes. And you always seem to be logged on at the same time of day (but never both at once). It's remarkable! It's like your minds are as one. You must be kindred spirits. Good for you.

So what u saying is that u think fw and fff are the same person. Don't think so mate.

long and direct
8 Jun 2007, 12:42

i think the thing you detect that is similar about these two are sour grapes and looking stupid.

mamamamarco
8 Jun 2007, 12:52
I agree with you FFF

i concur

mamamamarco
8 Jun 2007, 12:52
i concur

i ment with long and direct

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 13:21
I agree with you FFF

I spy with my little eye, someone beginning with 'E'

Guy Incognito III
8 Jun 2007, 13:27
So what u saying is that u think fw and fff are the same person. Don't think so mate.

It's either that or you're just very close friends. Almost sisters, one might say. Either way, you've both clearly got the same bee in your respective bonnets and should keep your gripes about player selection in-house. If a player gets dropped from the senior side and doesn't have enough heart to just train hard, play at his best and make his way back into the side the old-fashioned way, then he's not the kind of player that any coach is going to want on his or her side. Well, perhaps FFF would pick that player in her Under 9s, but by Under 12s you would expect a lot better.

typewriter
8 Jun 2007, 13:45
if a player gets dropped and he is disapointed in the outcome (ive been there plenty of times) the only way to stick it up the coaches backside is to play 2s and destroy it train harder than normal and prove the selction commitee wrong.

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 14:03
if a player gets dropped and he is disapointed in the outcome (ive been there plenty of times) the only way to stick it up the coaches backside is to play 2s and destroy it train harder than normal and prove the selction commitee wrong.

Too true mate. And given the quality of the Heights team this year, you can't just rock up and expect to be in the senior side. Almost every single player right now, is fighting to keep his spot. Bomber wants a team that is going to bring home the flag. If you want to be in that team, you have to work hard. If you get dropped from that team, work harder.

Guy Incognito III
8 Jun 2007, 14:42
Too true mate. And given the quality of the Heights team this year, you can't just rock up and expect to be in the senior side. Almost every single player right now, is fighting to keep his spot. Bomber wants a team that is going to bring home the flag. If you want to be in that team, you have to work hard. If you get dropped from that team, work harder.

And that's that for that!

Now, let's call the subject moot and move on.

Devil, Karim, Weapons, Blueboy ANYONE FROM OUTSIDE HEIGHTS, PLEASE COME BACK AND HELP US START A DISCUSSION ABOUT DIVISION 2 WRFL THAT ISN'T ABOUT PLAYER SELECTION AT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS!

I know it's quiet weekend for us all, but that doesn't mean that there's not a lot going on around the league. I bet there's a few older players who are going to look pretty good next weekend after giving their body a break. I wager there's some players coming back from injury who have been missed. Tell us, people, what are the things that everyone is looking forward to in round 9? Who thinks Albanvale have a chance of ending West's run?

Dancing Dougie
8 Jun 2007, 14:46

Devil, Karim, Weapons, Blueboy ANYONE FROM OUTSIDE HEIGHTS, PLEASE COME BACK AND HELP US START A DISCUSSION ABOUT DIVISION 2 WRFL THAT ISN'T ABOUT PLAYER SELECTION AT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS!

I know it's quiet weekend for us all, but that doesn't mean that there's not a lot going on around the league. I bet there's a few older players who are going to look pretty good next weekend after giving their body a break. I wager there's some players coming back from injury who have been missed. Tell us, people, what are the things that everyone is looking forward to in round 9? Who thinks Albanvale have a chance of ending West's run?

albanvale will struggle to match it with west, downs & krim need more help to be some sort of a chance

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 14:47
It's either that or you're just very close friends. Almost sisters, one might say. Either way, you've both clearly got the same bee in your respective bonnets and should keep your gripes about player selection in-house. If a player gets dropped from the senior side and doesn't have enough heart to just train hard, play at his best and make his way back into the side the old-fashioned way, then he's not the kind of player that any coach is going to want on his or her side. Well, perhaps FFF would pick that player in her Under 9s, but by Under 12s you would expect a lot better.

Well said.:thumbsu:

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 14:51
I agree with you FFF

Yes ofcourse you do. Maybe it's because you both share the one very tiny brain!!!

The truth hurts
8 Jun 2007, 14:53
Tell us, people, what are the things that everyone is looking forward to in round 9? Who thinks Albanvale have a chance of ending West's run?

I think Albanvale might have a chance.

Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 14:55

BB not playing for West anymore but I still think that they may be a 5-6 goal better team than Heights.

Do Heights have match ups for

McGhie
Lane
Innella
Evans
Webster
Saliba
Ziggy
Guerrera

tats
8 Jun 2007, 15:07
ill chuck that right back at ya, does west have players to stop Greto, malia, fais, smiley, mickaladi, caruana, le roy, flappers and the new gun recruit.

Tony Delaney
8 Jun 2007, 15:13
BB not playing for West anymore but I still think that they may be a 5-6 goal better team than Heights.

McGhie
Lane
Innella
Evans
Webster
Saliba
Ziggy
Guerrera

Yes, very confidant of that. Deleting Guerrera the reality is if we have a win with 3 or 4 match ups out of the 7 it would be a good result. Saying that we will have confidance in all the match ups. Saying a bit further we wont be worrying about matching up the whole 7 anyway, West can worry about us.

Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 15:14
ill chuck that right back at ya, does west have players to stop Greto, malia, fais, smiley, mickaladi, caruana, le roy, flappers and the new gun recruit.

I'm not the person to ask that question. I wouldn't have a clue.

Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 15:16
Yes, very confidant of that. Deleting Guerrera the reality is if we have a win with 3 or 4 match ups out of the 7 it would be a good result. Saying that we will have confidance in all the match ups. Saying a bit further we wont be worrying about matching up the whole 7 anyway, West can worry about us.

Do you not think that Charlie can carve up the game? That is what I think the problem will be in the game. The second string players at Heights not having the depth of West. West always have different players in the best each week but Heights it's always the same few.

DekkaRoo
8 Jun 2007, 15:16

McGhie
Lane
Innella
Evans
Webster
Saliba
Ziggy
Guerrera

I think it has more to do with stopping to the supply to the forwards and I think Heights have the players to do that.

Will be a great contest, but I truley think Heights have been the stand out team so far this season and will get over the line against West.

kangaman06
8 Jun 2007, 15:23

Ok here's one for you - What do the next rung of teams need to do or what type of players do they need to pick up to have a crack in 2008. This year obviously Albanvale, Wests, Heights are the frontrunners nobody can deny that, but what do Braybrook, Districts, North Sunshine, Wydhamvale and North Footscray need to push into that top rung next year.
Having spent time at Districts last year I know that numbers at training would be one thing for them to work on (Me included in that - not the best trainer around I'll testify to that!!) - they do have some quality players and could do with a few more pacy flankers, but they need to develop their fitness without doubt.
Sorry Unit for not including Western but what they need will take more than 1 year and Brunswick shouldn't be here (Did I hear somebody say Club 18's in the Ammo's???)

typewriter
8 Jun 2007, 15:31
at the mid season break i know ppl still havent played ervybody yet but lets have an update of end of season predictions?

Premiers: Sunhine Heights
Runners Up: West Footscray
Comp BnF: Greto/ Kadour tie
Leading Goalkicker: Greto
Wooden Spoon: Western Magpies

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 15:45
come on typewriter magpies for the wooden spoon we arnt talking AFL here. Div 2 wooden Spooners will be Brunswick Power.

typewriter
8 Jun 2007, 15:45
Ok here's one for you - What do the next rung of teams need to do or what type of players do they need to pick up to have a crack in 2008. This year obviously Albanvale, Wests, Heights are the frontrunners nobody can deny that, but what do Braybrook, Districts, North Sunshine, Wydhamvale and North Footscray need to push into that top rung next year.
Having spent time at Districts last year I know that numbers at training would be one thing for them to work on (Me included in that - not the best trainer around I'll testify to that!!) - they do have some quality players and could do with a few more pacy flankers, but they need to develop their fitness without doubt.
Sorry Unit for not including Western but what they need will take more than 1 year and Brunswick shouldn't be here (Did I hear somebody say Club 18's in the Ammo's???)

i think what they might need is depth and not the over 30 type depth they need qualit 19-25 year olds that have at least 3 of the following:
stong mark
great skills
pace (break the lines)
Fit
height

if you dont have those attributes across the board then your going to struggle. you also need about 5 in the 2s that fit into this category in case of unavailabilty or form.

you could go out and spend a heap of cash trying to build this up but the best way would be to have a good junior program in place with good coaches to nurture the young talent through the ranks and a senior coach who will take a risk and blood young 17-19 year olds to build a solid base in the coming years. it cant happen overnight.
look at heights (for example only because i have been there and i no their players) a strong core of the senior team have grown up playing together.

Greto westo mallia m caruana n caruana m nicolaides s nicolaides farnfield mizzi haracca cammaleri Kapetanios
all played under 18 or below at the club

typewriter
8 Jun 2007, 15:49
come on typewriter magpies for the wooden spoon we arnt talking AFL here. Div 2 wooden Spooners will be Brunswick Power.

i thought i would mix it up a bit brunswick have offesively been imprressive the last fortnight scoring over 100 against west was very good, i think they might surprise a couple in the second half of the season is there another magpies v power?

on the other hand i wouldnt be surprised if im wrong on that 1, id rather get that 1 wrong than the premiership 1 wrong

GoesBangFrom50
8 Jun 2007, 16:00
i think what they might need is depth and not the over 30 type depth they need qualit 19-25 year olds that have at least 3 of the following:
stong mark
great skills
pace (break the lines)
Fit
height

if you dont have those attributes across the board then your going to struggle. you also need about 5 in the 2s that fit into this category in case of unavailabilty or form.

you could go out and spend a heap of cash trying to build this up but the best way would be to have a good junior program in place with good coaches to nurture the young talent through the ranks and a senior coach who will take a risk and blood young 17-19 year olds to build a solid base in the coming years. it cant happen overnight.
look at heights (for example only because i have been there and i no their players) a strong core of the senior team have grown up playing together.

Greto westo mallia m caruana n caruana m nicolaides s nicolaides farnfield mizzi haracca cammaleri Kapetanios
all played under 18 or below at the club

Some good points but a simpler way of looking at it is:

1- Make sure your Juniors know that senior footy is within reach and they will be given senior game time.

2-Make sure that you create an atmosphere at your club that the players enjoy being there (both training, games and Sat nights). If they like being there they will never leave regardless of what offers they get. I'm sure the Magpies have produced plenty of good footballers over the last 10 years but they have all left... why? cos the place is a sad dingy joint.

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 16:08
maybe a sad dingy joint like that needs CROWN & ANCOR just like they do in your corner GBF50

Sniper28
8 Jun 2007, 16:17
Some good points but a simpler way of looking at it is:

1- Make sure your Juniors know that senior footy is within reach and they will be given senior game time.

2-Make sure that you create an atmosphere at your club that the players enjoy being there (both training, games and Sat nights). If they like being there they will never leave regardless of what offers they get. I'm sure the Magpies have produced plenty of good footballers over the last 10 years but they have all left... why? cos the place is a sad dingy joint.

I think GBF hit the nail on the head. Obviously I'm another Heights player, so I might be missing some perspective but from what I have seen this years success has (so far - touch wood) has been all about atmosphere and desire. Guys who were there in the finals last year have all trained our asses off and are taking everything that little bit more seriously this year. The rest of the guys who weren't have either come to play with old friends or are guys like Nicolaides who played juniors at Height and have come back from other teams that obviously weren't as much fun to play for. I can't imagine how it looks from West's point of view, because I haven't been there and trained or played with them or anyone else around the league, but if Heights wins a flag this year, it will be because a bunch of good players and good mates have come together and worked hard for it. (Sounds a bit like a bad mid-day movie, but it's the truth)

GoesBangFrom50
8 Jun 2007, 16:37
maybe a sad dingy joint like that needs CROWN & ANCOR just like they do in your corner GBF50

Illegal gambling.... not at SHFC!!!

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 16:40
it's about time we started to talk positive footy talk, and have you noticed that Female footy freak and wife have not been seen for a while, thats rite today Kmart have 30% of all shoes maybe they are there were they belong insted of waisting time on big footy forum with their negative coments.

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 16:46
it's about time we started to talk positive footy talk, and have you noticed that Female footy freak and wife have not been seen for a while, thats rite today Kmart have 30% of all shoes maybe they are there were they belong insted of waisting time on big footy forum with their negative coments.

:D:D:D:D:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

GoesBangFrom50
8 Jun 2007, 16:47
This.....

it's about time we started to talk positive footy talk,

then this.....

and have you noticed that Female footy freak and wife have not been seen for a while, thats rite today Kmart have 30% of all shoes maybe they are there were they belong insted of waisting time on big footy forum with their negative coments.

hmmm:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Guy Incognito III
8 Jun 2007, 16:55

Yes, I'm not sure you've followed your own advice here...

...but I'm laughing anyway. :D

footywife
8 Jun 2007, 16:55

Nah sorry i am not at Kmart i am actually at work unlike some bum that just sits on the computer all day speaking shit

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 16:57
NEXT WEEK
WEST FOOTSCRAY V SUNSHINE HEIGHTS

hopefully not as disapointing as the Heights Albanvale game.
who will it be West with the BIG marking forwards or heights with the hard run and carry only time will tell. only downer is that its being played on the smallest ground going in the comp.
Have seen both clubs and will be a tough game won in the middle, as who even gets that ball inside 50 the quickest will win.

Blueboy16
8 Jun 2007, 16:59
Nah sorry i am not at Kmart i am actually at work unlike some bum that just sits on the computer all day speaking shit

Kmart has on-line shopping FW. Dont forget the stocktake sale coming in a couple of weeks. I know for a fact Kmart & Big W are have a 40% off store wide in the last week of June.

unit27
8 Jun 2007, 17:03
What about Gladdy for the spoon theyve beeen consistently putting in bad performances and at the moment Brunswick and the Magpies would beat them. The Magpies were losing by 10 goals rather than 280 points up until last week when last year they were losing by 280 every game so obviously there is a bit of improvement and Kelso i would rate as one of the best full forwards in the comp!!.

Wombat44
8 Jun 2007, 17:05

Shut up. and go cook me some eggs woman!

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 17:06
NEXT WEEK
WEST FOOTSCRAY V SUNSHINE HEIGHTS

hopefully not as disapointing as the Heights Albanvale game.
who will it be West with the BIG marking forwards or heights with the hard run and carry only time will tell. only downer is that its being played on the smallest ground going in the comp.
Have seen both clubs and will be a tough game won in the middle, as who even gets that ball inside 50 the quickest will win.

I didn't find us thrashing Albanvale disappointing at all. Anyone else agree? Height's will do the same to West. Heights by 6 goals at least.

GoesBangFrom50
8 Jun 2007, 17:08
What about Gladdy for the spoon theyve beeen consistently putting in bad performances and at the moment Brunswick and the Magpies would beat them. The Magpies were losing by 10 goals rather than 280 points up until last week when last year they were losing by 280 every game so obviously there is a bit of improvement and Kelso i would rate as one of the best full forwards in the comp!!.

Magpies have improved... i'll give u that (apart from last week).

Kelso... yeah. He would be in the top 25 Full Forwards in the comp... probably ranked about 25!! 9 goals for the year doesn't give your argument much leverage

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 17:09

LOL:thumbsu:

footywife
8 Jun 2007, 17:10

How bout u get ur mum to go cook u some eggs smartarse.

unit27
8 Jun 2007, 17:12
Magpies have improved... i'll give u that (apart from last week).

Kelso... yeah. He would be in the top 25 Full Forwards in the comp... probably ranked about 25!! 9 goals for the year doesn't give your argument much leverage

Hes kicked more than that the website hasnt pulled up has kicked about 3 baggs of 4 and a 7 plus the rest in a stuggling side

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 17:13
:thumbsu:Shut up. and go cook me some eggs woman!

:thumbsu::thumbsu::):)

Wombat44
8 Jun 2007, 17:17
How bout u get ur mum to go cook u some eggs smartarse.

Unfortunately old lady Wombat didnt make it through the great Westgate Freeway crossing of 1997. I shiver every time I see a Torana. :(:(:(

React!
8 Jun 2007, 17:17
I think GBF hit the nail on the head. Obviously I'm another Heights player, so I might be missing some perspective but from what I have seen this years success has (so far - touch wood) has been all about atmosphere and desire. Guys who were there in the finals last year have all trained our asses off and are taking everything that little bit more seriously this year. The rest of the guys who weren't have either come to play with old friends or are guys like Nicolaides who played juniors at Height and have come back from other teams that obviously weren't as much fun to play for. I can't imagine how it looks from West's point of view, because I haven't been there and trained or played with them or anyone else around the league, but if Heights wins a flag this year, it will be because a bunch of good players and good mates have come together and worked hard for it. (Sounds a bit like a bad mid-day movie, but it's the truth)

Have to say..I was getting over all the heights talk and was hoping that you get belted in the finals and go out in straight sets cos some of you are getting really really cocky. BUT. I then read the last line of this post from Sniper and I have settled down a bit. Mates and working hard, to me,typifies what local footy is about and I cant argue with that - its what I personally love about playing.. Can I just suggest you go easy on continually posting your player names and how good they are. By all means do that when you have the main WIN on the board...but til then, with all due respect, you've done stuff all.

Mr_Footy
8 Jun 2007, 17:23
Have to say..I was getting over all the heights talk and was hoping that you get belted in the finals and go out in straight sets cos some of you are getting really really cocky. BUT. I then read the last line of this post from Sniper and I have settled down a bit. Mates and working hard, to me,typifies what local footy is about and I cant argue with that - its what I personally love about playing.. Can I just suggest you go easy on continually posting your player names and how good they are. By all means do that when you have the main WIN on the board...but til then, with all due respect, you've done stuff all.

Sure you can suggest it.

I just doubt anyone will listen.

What about me?
8 Jun 2007, 17:24
I didn't find us thrashing Albanvale disappointing at all. Anyone else agree? Height's will do the same to West. Heights by 6 goals at least.

Mr. Footy I was expecting a closser game than that 2 - 3 goals, the result would have been more if the heights players would just keep their mouth shut i recon Albanvale got 6 goals from 50mtr penalties and the same the week before against North Sunshine.

all-eyes-on-me
8 Jun 2007, 17:25
Don't really know too much about North Footscray. Could anyone tell me how they think they will go against Deer Park next week?

yeah think it should be a good game mate 4th vs 5th. but would think from how the season has been panning out so far noth will get up!! they have been playing some good footy but just in stages and are still winning games!! dont think they have lost a 3ed or 4th qtr even when they lost to west and albanvale i think they won the all of the second half. shows we r at fit side just have to get on top of our first half, in not letting teams get the jump on us

React!
8 Jun 2007, 17:38
Sure you can suggest it.

I just doubt anyone will listen.

And that's cool.

I Just hope those who keep posting it enjoy living in the world of pain they'll be in if they dont win it!

React!
8 Jun 2007, 17:41
yeah think it should be a good game mate 4th vs 5th. but would think from how the season has been panning out so far noth will get up!! they have been playing some good footy but just in stages and are still winning games!! dont think they have lost a 3ed or 4th qtr even when they lost to west and albanvale i think they won the all of the second half. shows we r at fit side just have to get on top of our first half, in not letting teams get the jump on us

Agree. From what I hear, they are just getting their best team on the park and still have some finalising of recruits. By the end of the year they'll play their best footy. One thing I can say about North footscray, they are a very well run club with good people. Everyone that I talk to talks about the place in a positive light.

all-eyes-on-me
8 Jun 2007, 17:48
Agree. From what I hear, they are just getting their best team on the park and still have some finalising of recruits. By the end of the year they'll play their best footy. One thing I can say about North footscray, they are a very well run club with good people. Everyone that I talk to talks about the place in a positive light.

yeah if we can get this last signing the devils den will be very happy. but ill keep a rap on that till we do!!

TruBlues
8 Jun 2007, 19:04

McGhie
Lane
Innella
Evans
Webster
Saliba
Ziggy
Guerrera

The question can be reversed and it could be asked do west have match ups for.

Greto
Mallia
Caruana boys
Nicolaides boys
Matt roberson

It will be a great match.

TruBlues
8 Jun 2007, 19:10
Do you not think that Charlie can carve up the game? That is what I think the problem will be in the game. The second string players at Heights not having the depth of West. West always have different players in the best each week but Heights it's always the same few.

You obviously have not watched enough heights games to gauge the quality of our 2nd tear players. It is because of the second tear players that heights have become the dominant side they are this year. True, mallia and greto have been in heights best nearly every week, but when you are the best players in the competition what is wrong with that, that doesnt tell you the other players arent playing well. You talk about depth, look at the ladder of the reserves sides, last time i checked heights were on top of west.

easy_champ
8 Jun 2007, 20:31
I think it has more to do with stopping to the supply to the forwards and I think Heights have the players to do that.

Will be a great contest, but I truley think Heights have been the stand out team so far this season and will get over the line against West.

Yeah, your right if you can't stop the inside 50's, it's game over as confident as heights are!!!! Sorry but with a fwd line like that you can't keep all of them quiet, it just won't happen!!!