View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
kangaman06
11 Aug 2006, 23:03
My opinion - the first two weeks of the finals will move the pretenders away from the contenders
Form isnt something u get as team by chance it takes hard work, last time u played parks u brought the game down to ur standard, g8 effort to do that though but were missing few players with pace plus u neva hit the front though so to say u were always in it is bit true but also false, neva really threatend remembering they kicked something like 2gls 6pts compared 2pts. Speaking 2 players they cant wait 2 shove it up a few distractors when the time comes. Their coach neva said surprised always confident they would finish top 4 rite from start of year, lookin fwd to finals next week
Regarding their coach on WRFL Fever - he did say even he was suprised at how well they have gone. He never said anything about playing above yourselves or anything like that, but he was suprised at how well everything was going and how well you were travelling.
By the way I said we were right in it - never said anything about being in front. And we were right in it, until the last quarter when you ran all over us.
But good job to Deer Park - i don't think this is your year, but if you can keep your list together next year you would be favourites then for sure. Still think Glenorden has more run in them than you guys. But hey thats just my opinion
lookout4lions
13 Aug 2006, 10:57
very interesting observer at nth foot & deer park last round, that person being none other than Commensolli himself, what makes this funny is apparently he doesnt rate parks or nth but instead of watching the team he meets next week in albanvale he watches a side his not concerned about (apparently)!!! Would like peoples opinion on this, do u think they think they r shoe ins for flag & maybe have got their heads to far up their ass!!!! Also want to vent anger at incident that happened in parks/nth game where an umpire got ran into and said player(nth) didnt have balls to own up to accident that allowed a parks player to be reported for striking an umpire, also nth pres told umpires after the game that parks player wasnt anywhere near incident yet umpires are to *****n stupid to listen to people who couldnt care wether opposistion players get weeks or not surely after even calls by club pres to head umpire to say this didnt help, dont the umpires have anything to do on a tuesday ngt othr than make players lifes hard!!!!!:mad: :confused:
GoesBangFrom50
13 Aug 2006, 18:09
very interesting observer at nth foot & deer park last round, that person being none other than Commensolli himself, what makes this funny is apparently he doesnt rate parks or nth but instead of watching the team he meets next week in albanvale he watches a side his not concerned about (apparently)!!!
He is actually co-coach with Adam Brookshaw, so its a fair chance that they went to one game each. As well as that probably better to watch 2 teams that will be in the finals rather than Albanvale taking on a bottom team.
How do u know he doesnt rate Deer Park... has he said that publicly...?
lookout4lions
13 Aug 2006, 19:48
Maybe so but unless parks faulter they wont meet until g/f so why not watch the sides u will meet b4 g/f or doesnt he rate them. It wouldnt matter to parks coach who their 1st finals team played they would watch them b4 glenordan they have 2 win to get 2 them & i no 4 fact that they did go watch west who only played w/magpies. Plus i do no 4 a fact he doesnt rate them cause spoke 2 leading media person who spoke 2 him at at junior game, that is gospel no word of a lie!! They have given all sides in finals an xtra incentive 2 beat them due to their aragance.
lookout4lions
13 Aug 2006, 19:53
Only just been parks supporter was listening to local radio with all results and was wondering if any1 could inform me of as 2 why heights have got what seems to be a major issue with parks, he basically said that they r only focusing on parks, they owed parks for 2yrs. After speaking to their coach his hoping they do meet cause he believes will b g8 game 2 watch. Any help on issue would be g8:confused:
GoesBangFrom50
13 Aug 2006, 21:48
not 100% sure but I a few guys at heights have mentioned that they are not happy with DP cos 2 years in a row not 1 player has cum in for a drink after the game..... which I agree is pretty poor form
Glenorden's finals record is pretty ordinary.
2003 - Flag fav's - beaten by Nth Sunshine.
2004 - Flag fav's - lost a prelim they should have won easily.
2005 - 2nd fav - beaten easily (Granted Altona were too good this time).
My point ? Well basically I wouldn't be counting my chickens before they hatch if I were them. The race for promotion is well and truely alive. Not that my opinion means much, but I think Albanvale will win it this year.
My North
14 Aug 2006, 15:47
Glenorden's finals record is pretty ordinary.
2003 - Flag fav's - beaten by Nth Sunshine.
2004 - Flag fav's - lost a prelim they should have won easily.
2005 - 2nd fav - beaten easily (Granted Altona were too good this time).
My point ? Well basically I wouldn't be counting my chickens before they hatch if I were them. The race for promotion is well and truely alive. Not that my opinion means much, but I think Albanvale will win it this year.
How would Glenorden go in divison 1
Travvy43
14 Aug 2006, 16:21
Anyone rate north footscray's chances in the finals. They pushed Deer Park on the weekend who many have put in the top three chances and have probably got the closest out of anyone to Glenorden this year. Very hot and cold side.
kangaman06
14 Aug 2006, 17:41
Anyone rate north footscray's chances in the finals. They pushed Deer Park on the weekend who many have put in the top three chances and have probably got the closest out of anyone to Glenorden this year. Very hot and cold side.
Played them 2 weeks ago - don't really think they are in Glenordens and Deer Parks league. They have 2 really good players - number 99 and the guy on the wing with a afro type haircut. But like a lot of others in this league, don't have the 18 players that can run all day like Glenorden.
Goesbang from 50 - Can you give any news on whether or not one of the injured forwards from Sunshine Heights is trying to come back for finals? Just a whisper heard on Saturday evening suggested he could try to come back.
kangaman06
14 Aug 2006, 18:00
very interesting observer at nth foot & deer park last round, that person being none other than Commensolli himself, what makes this funny is apparently he doesnt rate parks or nth but instead of watching the team he meets next week in albanvale he watches a side his not concerned about (apparently)!!! Would like peoples opinion on this, do u think they think they r shoe ins for flag & maybe have got their heads to far up their ass!!!! Also want to vent anger at incident that happened in parks/nth game where an umpire got ran into and said player(nth) didnt have balls to own up to accident that allowed a parks player to be reported for striking an umpire, also nth pres told umpires after the game that parks player wasnt anywhere near incident yet umpires are to *****n stupid to listen to people who couldnt care wether opposistion players get weeks or not surely after even calls by club pres to head umpire to say this didnt help, dont the umpires have anything to do on a tuesday ngt othr than make players lifes hard!!!!!:mad: :confused:
I agree with that one (regarding umpires) when we played Braybrook a mate of mine who plays for them staged it for a free kick, did it a little too well and one of our boys were reported! The player told the umpire himself he had staged it for the free kick and he still went ahead with the report. Umpires are becoming too mechanical these days, if they showed just a little bit of common sense it would make everyones lives easier
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2006, 18:41
Goesbang from 50 - Can you give any news on whether or not one of the injured forwards from Sunshine Heights is trying to come back for finals? Just a whisper heard on Saturday evening suggested he could try to come back.[/quote]
Can't give away secrets like that ...
Can tell you that Bugeja is definately gone for the year... needs a full knee reco. Greto is some chance to play again this year... but will depend on how far Heights go...
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2006, 18:43
NOTAT ALL. Too many below standard players. The bottom line is they can't score enough... occasionally they fire uo against a better side and hold them back, but you can't win when you only average 8 - 10 goals against the top teams.
lookout4lions
14 Aug 2006, 20:29
not 100% sure but I a few guys at heights have mentioned that they are not happy with DP cos 2 years in a row not 1 player has cum in for a drink after the game..... which I agree is pretty poor form
Being their on both occasions this year home & away both times especially away heights were filthy they got rolled and game got very heated 2 point where parks took player off to stop more blews. Later supporters started questioning how much they pay 2 get side on park, i no 4 certain they only have spent app $15k due to coach bringin players from previous club coached. I no coach rekons heights are g8 chance but believes they may have 2 one day spend $ to get up there.
lookout4lions
14 Aug 2006, 20:31
GET SMASHED VERY BADLY IN ALL AREAS OF THE GAME:) :p
I have to agree with lookout4lions. They will get smashed. But so would anyone else comming up. No-one in Div 2 has the infrastructure, nor the calibre of juniors comming through to be truely competitive in Div 1.
I can see the possibility of someone comming up and being competitive for a year or two (would have to have some serious financial backing), but without strong juniors they wouldn't be able to keep it up.
Have a look at the traditionally strong clubs in Div 1. Spotty - great juniors. St Albans - strong juniors (pokies help). Hoppers - juniors (again, pokies help).....anyways, you get my point.
So unless any of the top Div 2 clubs can establish a good group of junior teams, or get their hands on pokies, there isn't much hope of being competitive, let alone winning games.
kangaman06
15 Aug 2006, 12:44
I have to agree with lookout4lions. They will get smashed. But so would anyone else comming up. No-one in Div 2 has the infrastructure, nor the calibre of juniors comming through to be truely competitive in Div 1.
I can see the possibility of someone comming up and being competitive for a year or two (would have to have some serious financial backing), but without strong juniors they wouldn't be able to keep it up.
Have a look at the traditionally strong clubs in Div 1. Spotty - great juniors. St Albans - strong juniors (pokies help). Hoppers - juniors (again, pokies help).....anyways, you get my point.
So unless any of the top Div 2 clubs can establish a good group of junior teams, or get their hands on pokies, there isn't much hope of being competitive, let alone winning games.
I have to agree with both of the above posters which leads me to pose the following question.
Why even have a promotion/relegation system then? I can understand why it would work in the Amatuers because in theory no one is getting paid therefore there is a level playing field in that regard. But here that playing field doesn't exist so why bother with it. The surely could be another way of grading a side - I know in basketball (Big V) the league makes it choices based around recommendations, previous years results and the clubs submission on where it feels it would be best suited. That surely would have to be the go here.
Why not have 3 Divisions made up of
Div. 1 - Financially Strong Clubs
HOPPERS, P/M COLTS, SUNSHINE, PARKSIDE, SPOTSWOOD, ST. ALBANS, ALBION & YARRAVILLE
Div. 2 - Moderately Strong Clubs
GLENORDEN, DEER PARK, WEST FOOTSCRAY, ALBANVALE, SUNSHINE HEIGHTS, WYNDHAMVALE, NORTH FOOTSCRAY & ALTONA
Div. 3 - The rest (sides that are struggling)
COBURG DISTRICTS, GLADSTONE PARK, BRAYBROOK, NORTH SUNSHINE, CENTRAL ALTONA, WESTERN MAGPIES and a couple of new sides that may pop up next year maybe Point Cook and Westbourne, Tarneit or Truganina.
It would be up to the league to decide who goes in What Division maybe on Results, financial position of club, etc.
Anyway good luck to Div 2 clubs in the finals series.
Travvy43
15 Aug 2006, 15:00
Why not have 3 Divisions made up of
Div. 1 - Financially Strong Clubs
HOPPERS, P/M COLTS, SUNSHINE, PARKSIDE, SPOTSWOOD, ST. ALBANS, ALBION & YARRAVILLE
Div. 2 - Moderately Strong Clubs
GLENORDEN, DEER PARK, WEST FOOTSCRAY, ALBANVALE, SUNSHINE HEIGHTS, WYNDHAMVALE, NORTH FOOTSCRAY & ALTONA
Div. 3 - The rest (sides that are struggling)
COBURG DISTRICTS, GLADSTONE PARK, BRAYBROOK, NORTH SUNSHINE, CENTRAL ALTONA, WESTERN MAGPIES and a couple of new sides that may pop up next year maybe Point Cook and Westbourne, Tarneit or Truganina.
I like the idea and the work you have put into this however i think a league has to have more than 8 teams in it. Loosing seddon in Div one this year was bad enough. Get it back to ten so there are at least five games played each week.
Having another look at it, i would be keeping Altona in first division. After a mediocre start they have really ound their feet in first division. With the same list and a few recruits they could really make a run at the finals within the next couple of years.
Gobombers55
15 Aug 2006, 16:29
What teams coming up to first division have to reallize that it is not going to happen in the first couple of years and is a very long process over a 5 year period at least.
Not exactly sure what a top 2nd division club would be spending on coaches and players but I would be guessing anywhere between 20 to 30 thousand?
All you need once in first division is a continuation a 3 or 4 under 18's coming up every season just to top up your list from blokes moving on to other clubs or retiring. Also you will need to pick up 2-3 good players from other clubs each season and the retain them for a period of time. All this does come at a cost but once people can see where the club is heading they are happy to put money into the club.
Pokies do help but they don't make a club look at St Albans this year and tell me how they are going. If your club is anything like Altona then they can be more than competitive in first division as they have proven this season.
End of the day as long as your club keeps taking forwards steps it will do well in first division!
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2006, 21:23
Not exactly sure what a top 2nd division club would be spending on coaches and players but I would be guessing anywhere between 20 to 30 thousand?
Interested to hear what others think the going rate is for what clubs spend in Div 2.
I can tell you that Heights pay $0. Apart from the coach who gets paid a small amount not one player is paid. A fair effort considering that they are around the mark with the top teams. If heights got up for a flag (probably not this year, but in the nxt few years) they would play in Div 1 on $0.
Interested to hear what others think the going rate is for what clubs spend in Div 2.
I can tell you that Heights pay $0. Apart from the coach who gets paid a small amount not one player is paid. A fair effort considering that they are around the mark with the top teams. If heights got up for a flag (probably not this year, but in the nxt few years) they would play in Div 1 on $0.
I've heard Heights pay $0.00 to their players. Whilst admirable, it is also the reason they will NEVER play Division 1. And if they somehow got there, with the calibre of players they have, they would be just as competitive as Seddon was this year. I know it sounds harsh, but I am just going on what I know. Don't take this in anyway as a dig at Heights, its just the truth.
Getting back to it. I would think the better clubs of Division 2 would be paying in the vacinity of $45000 - $50000 in player payments. Working it out on the latter, it only equates to $140.00 per player per game. Including finals, this figure becomes $119.00 per player per game. Compare this to some Division 1 clubs and you are looking at $100.00 per game for an uncontracted player.
Gobombers55
16 Aug 2006, 11:13
I've heard Heights pay $0.00 to their players. Whilst admirable, it is also the reason they will NEVER play Division 1. And if they somehow got there, with the calibre of players they have, they would be just as competitive as Seddon was this year. I know it sounds harsh, but I am just going on what I know. Don't take this in anyway as a dig at Heights, its just the truth.
Getting back to it. I would think the better clubs of Division 2 would be paying in the vacinity of $45000 - $50000 in player payments. Working it out on the latter, it only equates to $140.00 per player per game. Including finals, this figure becomes $119.00 per player per game. Compare this to some Division 1 clubs and you are looking at $100.00 per game for an uncontracted player.
Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.
You would probably be very surprised what some first division clubs do and don't pay. I know Hoppers Crossing have been know to spend something around $120,000 in past years. But obvisouly as the teams move down the ladder the prices go down. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on how much each first division club pays their players.
interested to hear from people who have watched alot of glenorden this year,How do you think they will travel next year if they go up into divi 1 ?.
I heard a little whisper that if they go up next year that they have a bit of money saved to buy a few very decent players.(only a whisper)
Interested in peoples thoughts.
DekkaRoo
16 Aug 2006, 12:44
interested to hear from people who have watched alot of glenorden this year,How do you think they will travel next year if they go up into divi 1 ?.
I heard a little whisper that if they go up next year that they have a bit of money saved to buy a few very decent players.(only a whisper)
Interested in peoples thoughts.
I think they will need more than a FEW decent players to get close to any of the sides in Div 1 should they go up.
Altona where far more a dominant side last year to what Gelnorden are this year and they have only just found thier feet back in Div 1. They too pick up a few players pre season but are still at the lower and of the ladder. Glenorden are a good side, but will need at least 6 quality players to be competitive in Div 1.
Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.
You would probably be very surprised what some first division clubs do and don't pay. I know Hoppers Crossing have been know to spend something around $120,000 in past years. But obvisouly as the teams move down the ladder the prices go down. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on how much each first division club pays their players.
Let me have a think about this for a while. I'll get back to you with a considered opinion.
madpie.....out of interest, in your opinion, what would a decent player at Division 1 level be worth a game ?
DekkaRoo
16 Aug 2006, 12:52
You would think a decent player in Div 1 would seek a minimum of $200... thats someone who doesnt chase the $$$'s... Someone who might and that has a good CV behind them may seek up and above $350.
lookout4lions
16 Aug 2006, 19:01
G8 question, have heard whisper that glenordan pa bout $60k, parks i no 4 a fact that they spent $15k i rekon thats bout the going rate these days for clubs. No couple of players that played seddon last year & they spent $45k last year and even more this year. Unless u can get top quality players who will play 4 min u have 2 spend 2 get where all div2 side want 2 b, a grade.
lookout4lions
16 Aug 2006, 19:09
Would like some genuine comments on all sides and how people think they will go in this years finals, dont b biased b honest about all teams
My honest opinion-orden: team 2 beat but can b beat have feeling will stunble at last hurdle. Parks: can win if they play close 2 best every week, no last time play orden 5 min were missing. West: quality neva underrate, good fwd line. Alb: play 2 their strengths very well, may lack class 2 finish beta sides. Heights: smokey good side question there hardness needed in finals. Vales: not yet, good draw helped. Nth: team of future g8 bunch of kids who will take step in couple. Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2006, 19:46
I've heard Heights pay $0.00 to their players. Whilst admirable, it is also the reason they will NEVER play Division 1. And if they somehow got there, with the calibre of players they have, they would be just as competitive as Seddon was this year. I know it sounds harsh, but I am just going on what I know. Don't take this in anyway as a dig at Heights, its just the truth..
Good points... but if you don't have it you can't spend it....
Never Div 1..... maybe... but all they need is the next batch of juniors to be ok and they might move up that few spots on the ladder. They are not that far away at the moment and they are young. Spoke to a bloke on Sat that told me that on Sat they only had 4 players over 25... 2 35 Y.o, 1 aged 26 and 1 27...
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2006, 19:48
Would like some genuine comments on all sides and how people think they will go in this years finals, dont b biased b honest about all teams
My honest opinion-orden: team 2 beat but can b beat have feeling will stunble at last hurdle. Parks: can win if they play close 2 best every week, no last time play orden 5 min were missing. West: quality neva underrate, good fwd line. Alb: play 2 their strengths very well, may lack class 2 finish beta sides. Heights: smokey good side question there hardness needed in finals. Vales: not yet, good draw helped. Nth: team of future g8 bunch of kids who will take step in couple. Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion
% chances of winning
Coburg 0%
Nth Foots 0%
Whydymvale 0%
Heights 5%
West 10%
Deer Park 15%
Albanvale 15%
that leaves Gleorden with 55%
Any comments???
It will be either a Deer Park v West Footscray or Deer Park v Albanvale grand final .... Glenorden are and forever will be chokers , although id like to c them win there finals record certainly is not good.
kangaman06
16 Aug 2006, 23:45
Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion
It's a final 8 is it not? We finished a CLEAR 8th, only missed out on 7th by percentage. Sure enough, maybe we do go out first round, but I do think we deserve to be there, especially after the past two weeks with two great wins. Nobody else won enough games to be 8th so your comment about us not deserving to be there is garbage. If we don't deserve it, change it to a final 6 or 5, then yeah i'll wear it. But it's a final 8 and we deserve to be there just as much as North Footscray do.
You have got to at least spell Wyndhamvale correct before writing us off just yet. The Falcons may not win it in 2006 but with the amount of injuries suffered this year and the great young kids coming through who show alot of potential at senior level, it may just be a few years before the 'Vales' become a major challenger.
Gobombers55
17 Aug 2006, 12:26
G8 question, have heard whisper that glenordan pa bout $60k, parks i no 4 a fact that they spent $15k i rekon thats bout the going rate these days for clubs. No couple of players that played seddon last year & they spent $45k last year and even more this year. Unless u can get top quality players who will play 4 min u have 2 spend 2 get where all div2 side want 2 b, a grade.
From all reports about some players that Seddon payed and splashed a couple hundred around to kids just out of under 18's who haven't proven anything in senior footy let alone first division.
Gobombers55
17 Aug 2006, 12:43
It's a final 8 is it not? We finished a CLEAR 8th, only missed out on 7th by percentage. Sure enough, maybe we do go out first round, but I do think we deserve to be there, especially after the past two weeks with two great wins. Nobody else won enough games to be 8th so your comment about us not deserving to be there is garbage. If we don't deserve it, change it to a final 6 or 5, then yeah i'll wear it. But it's a final 8 and we deserve to be there just as much as North Footscray do.
100% certain that no team can win it from 7th or 8th on the ladder as you are just making up numbers. It is a joke that the competition has a top 8 with only 14 teams in it.
Do the 7th and 8th teams who have with more losses (8-9) than wins think they should be in the finals ???
It must be changed to a final 6 where the teams who have won their fair share of games will make up the 6.
kangaman06
17 Aug 2006, 13:27
100% certain that no team can win it from 7th or 8th on the ladder as you are just making up numbers. It is a joke that the competition has a top 8 with only 14 teams in it.
Do the 7th and 8th teams who have with more losses (8-9) than wins think they should be in the finals ???
It must be changed to a final 6 where the teams who have won their fair share of games will make up the 6.
Can't win it from 7th or 8th - I will agree
Don't deserve to be there - not up to me at all - the league sets the finals - they have dictated it's a final 8 - we are there and thats that. So yeah - I think we should be there.
GoesBangFrom50
17 Aug 2006, 18:31
anyone gor a tip for the Smith Medal??
Henderson... Albanvale
Johns..... Orden
Smokey... Nick Caruana ... Heights
GoesBangFrom50
17 Aug 2006, 21:21
Can't win it from 7th or 8th - I will agree
Don't deserve to be there - not up to me at all - the league sets the finals - they have dictated it's a final 8 - we are there and thats that. So yeah - I think we should be there.
Kanga... I noticed that ur big forward McCluskey has only played 5 games and hasn't qualified for finals..... bit of a shame for u guys
kangaman06
18 Aug 2006, 10:49
Kanga... I noticed that ur big forward McCluskey has only played 5 games and hasn't qualified for finals..... bit of a shame for u guys
Yeah it is a shame as he also brings some experience to the club and is almost like a second coach on the field. Has been battling an injury for the past three weeks and aggrivated it on Saturday so I don't know how effective he would have been this week - but is a loss. However we do get another tall forward back last week who missed last week so we still do have a bit of tall timber in the forward line.
beefeater1000
18 Aug 2006, 11:31
anyone gor a tip for the Smith Medal??
Henderson... Albanvale
Johns..... Orden
Smokey... Nick Caruana ... Heights
Baines from West Footscray
Henderson from albanvale
This is only what I think. I may very well be way, way off the mark.
Firstly I'd say every club would have their contracted players on a win/loss per game type deal. The first thing that makes this task hard is the fact that you have to have some rough idea of how many players are on contracts at each club. The second thing is you need to have a rough idea of what an uncontracted player receives.
Having said this, I'll have a crack.
Hoppers Crossing - $75,000 +
Port Colts - $45,000 - $65,000
Sunshine - $45,000 - 65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $70,000
Spotswood - $40,000 (explain below)
I worked this out roughly on what I would pay players on each of the above playing lists, as well as some of the information I have gathered from various contacts I have at other clubs. Also factored in is MY perception on the culture of each club (ie. the quality of people on the committee and the playing group [commradery etc...] etc...)
RE: Spotty.
I am told that a large percentage of match payments at Spotty is covered by the supporter group. Therefore I have only included what I think the club itself pays.
This estimate does not include bonuses etc... and special circumstances. In no way is this estimate fact. I really must stress to you that this is only my opinion.
Cheers
Travvy43
18 Aug 2006, 13:57
I worked this out roughly on what I would pay players on each of the above playing lists, as well as some of the information I have gathered from various contacts I have at other clubs. Also factored in is MY perception on the culture of each club (ie. the quality of people on the committee and the playing group [commradery etc...] etc...)
I take my hat off to you cmat, it must have took you quite some time to compile this information. That is if you have estimated what you would pay each player on each of the above lists. Out of curiosity how much did you estimate #43 for sunshine was receiving a game??
Gobombers55
18 Aug 2006, 15:00
[quote=cmat26]This is only what I think. I may very well be way, way off the mark.
Cmat a incrediable effort to come up with all of these figures and to have a stab at the un known. Just to see how opinions differ I will have a go at it now but also to see other people's veiw. Especially Travvy43.
Note these prices do include supporters groups and whatever. This is a total figure in which gets paid out to all the players and coaches.
Hoppers - $95,000 - $105,000
Port Colts - $80,000 - $90,000
Sunshine - $55,000 - $65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $65,000
Spotswood - $60,000 - $70,000
St Albans - $50,000 - $60,000
Albion - $60,000 - $70,000
Altona - $35,000 - $45,000
Yarraville - $35,000 - $45,000
Very tough !!!
GoesBangFrom50
18 Aug 2006, 15:13
Back to the Div 1 thread boys!!!
13-CABS
18 Aug 2006, 15:14
From having a look at Sunshine i reckon we would spend around about the $40,000 mark, most probably under. Thats by having a guess at what guys are on, so it would be somewhere around that mark. We will never know. Hoppers would have to be spending the most, along with Spotty and Colts would be a close third. The names running around for Parkside would also demand a bit of cash, guys like Juegan, Zavalas, Davis, Condos, Taleb, Sir, Dorewood, Pinkney, Cook. St Albans probably spent a bit this year as well, guys like Fitzy, Zantuck, Pagan, O Keefe. Albion would have been a big spender too, with James, Brown, Barker, Dell, Richards, Assard, Haldane all worth a bit of coin. Yarraville and Altona would be the least able to spend money at this stage, and it would be a pointless exercise unless they have genuine hopes of playing finals.
I take my hat off to you cmat, it must have took you quite some time to compile this information. That is if you have estimated what you would pay each player on each of the above lists. Out of curiosity how much did you estimate #43 for sunshine was receiving a game??
Thanks for that guys. I had a fair bit of help with it. Went to see alot of footy that didn't involve Altona this year. Infact, saw Sunshine play every week I think.....
In regards to what I would value at;
I'll let you know after finals mate.
[quote=cmat26]This is only what I think. I may very well be way, way off the mark.
Hoppers Crossing - $95,000 - $105,000
Port Colts - $80,000 - $90,000
Sunshine - $55,000 - $65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $65,000
Spotswood - $60,000 - $70,000
St Albans - $50,000 - $60,000
Albion - $60,000 - $70,000
Altona - $35,000 - $45,000
Yarraville - $35,000 - $45,000
Very tough !!!
Another opinion for the record,
Hoppers have more money than they can spend.
Player budget 100k Coaches - 30k (match comm included)
Port Colts - Payers 60k Coaches - 0k
Sunshine - Players 50k Coaches 15k
Parkside - Players 70k Coaches 15k
Spotswood - Players 70 k Coaches 25k
Albion - Players 75k Coaches 25k
St Albans - Players 65k Coaches 30k (player payments 20k under previous year,due to lack of contracted players)
Yarraville - Players 50k Coaches 8k
Altona - Players 45k Coaches 15k
Seddon - Players 45k Coaches 10k
Note - most first div clubs employ at least two quality trainers at a further cost of 10k.
My North
18 Aug 2006, 19:43
Anybody want to do what the Division 2 clubs pay if any at all.
Off the top of my head the top few would be...
Glenorden 50k, Deer Park, North Footscray, Albanvale, Wyndamvale and West Footscray around the 35k mark, Coburg Districts and Gladstone Park 30k, North Sunshine 25k and beleave it or not even Sunny Heights have been known to spend a little.
Anyone who was of the mis-conception there was no money in second Division...think again....
lookout4lions
18 Aug 2006, 23:07
[quote=GoesBangFrom50]anyone gor a tip for the Smith Medal??
Blyth from Deer Park, Robinson would go close but has been susp.
Johms will go close but they (Orden) may take votes from each other & regardless what people think of Lane he must get votes when kicking 100 for season.
GoesBangFrom50
19 Aug 2006, 09:20
and beleave it or not even Sunny Heights have been known to spend a little..
Heights have not paid 1 cent to a player since 1996 or 1997 when players were on $30 a win across the board.
GoesBangFrom50
19 Aug 2006, 09:23
[quote& regardless what people think of Lane he must get votes when kicking 100 for season.[/quote]
I would hate to see Lane win it... the ultimate FLAT TRACK BULLY. he kicked 100 goals but 55 of them came in 5 games against Magpies (2 games) N Sunshine (2 games) and Power (1 game).
Unfortunately that might get him 15 votes and 13 - 18 might be enough to win it.
Heights have not paid 1 cent to a player since 1996 or 1997 when players were on $30 a win across the board.
Have to agree to disagree pal, I know better than that, maybe the money doesn't come from the club? Throughout the "Dib" era players were on plenty. Like I said the money came from somewhere.....enough said.
Dont hide behind the "we play for the love of the game" ploy....
Good luck to the Dragons
bush_tucker77
19 Aug 2006, 13:49
no way did nth sunshine spend 25k this season
I would hate to see Lane win it... the ultimate FLAT TRACK BULLY. he kicked 100 goals but 55 of them came in 5 games against Magpies (2 games) N Sunshine (2 games) and Power (1 game).
Unfortunately that might get him 15 votes and 13 - 18 might be enough to win it.
Yeah true, but you can only play what's in front of you
Off the top of my head the top few would be...
Glenorden 50k, Deer Park, North Footscray, Albanvale, Wyndamvale and West Footscray around the 35k mark, Coburg Districts and Gladstone Park 30k, North Sunshine 25k and beleave it or not even Sunny Heights have been known to spend a little.
Anyone who was of the mis-conception there was no money in second Division...think again....
Also, no chance Wyndhamvale are paying anywhere near 35K
kangaman06
19 Aug 2006, 19:22
Thought I'd post just quickly before I go to the club
GREAT WIN BY THE BOYS TODAY
Take nothing away from Sunshine, they were fantastic and I do really feel for them - but just goes to show what a little self belief can do for a team.
Alive for one more week!
Good luck to our 2's tomorrow as well.
Also, no chance Wyndhamvale are paying anywhere near 35K
Sorry to burst your bubble, know Daryl Craig and Cookie fairly well, both have confirmed to be around the posted mark.
lookout4lions
19 Aug 2006, 21:41
Just a quik note to all those people at heights, maybe if u worried bout the sides you were playing rather than the one (deer park) u might've met in 3 weeks u mite have got over the line against coburg. Heard a whisper u asked them 2 wear parks jumpers 2 try and get bit more motivation for the game. Just remember u had 2 cracks at parks and u didnt come close then so wake up 2 urselves a bit and give credit where its due, no there coach rated u regardless of your sooky attitude ova b*****it!!!!!!!!!:p :D
GoesBangFrom50
19 Aug 2006, 23:07
Have to agree to disagree pal, I know better than that, maybe the money doesn't come from the club? Throughout the "Dib" era players were on plenty. Like I said the money came from somewhere.....enough said.
Dont hide behind the "we play for the love of the game" ploy....
Good luck to the Dragons
Could be true.... I did hear that Gily had a few mates dishing out some $$.... never was verified...
Definatelty hasnt happened since he left
GoesBangFrom50
19 Aug 2006, 23:09
in response to a few of the last posts..
Kangas... well done to Coburg... Too goood on the day.
Lions..... Fair call. I reckon the Heights guys did get a bit ahead of themselves
Sorry to burst your bubble, know Daryl Craig and Cookie fairly well, both have confirmed to be around the posted mark.
Well I'm good mates with Scott Crawford, president of the club and this figure sounds wrong. But not a big issue anyway.
Big Scotty as the pres, just goes to show people can mature, Triggy still looking after the "purse strings"?
haha u betcha
And Scotty "The Animal" Crawford, yeah has calmed and matured down heaps now. Doing a good job.
Too bad the Vales got rolled today in the finals. Missed the bloody game because of work. Dissapointing it was on a sunday, well for me anyway.....meh!
THE RED MAN
21 Aug 2006, 13:12
Are West Footscray gone.?????? Don't think they can win 3 in a row. They haven't beat anyone above them this year ie Glen Orden or Deer park. Saw Bones said in the paper he always had a few tricks up his sleeve come finals time well l reckon he needs clowns and a circus to pull off the flag. Has anyone heard whether he is coaching them next year????
Not sure how reliable this is. But have heard along the grapevine that Bones will not be coaching next year.
lookout4lions
21 Aug 2006, 17:10
Are West Footscray gone.?????? Don't think they can win 3 in a row.
Having watched game sunday dont discount them, they were extremely hard at ball and never let parks get to much in front, if they make it 2 prelim & play like that against orden they will give them a big fright. Watched orden & albv satday also and thought both teams played pretty ordinary all day. With orden having played only 2 games in 4 weeks this may count against them come g/f if they make it. Reckon would be g8 g/f if orden & parks play off, just mite b the game people have been waiting for.
GoesBangFrom50
21 Aug 2006, 19:11
Having watched game sunday dont discount them, they were extremely hard at ball and never let parks get to much in front, if they make it 2 prelim & play like that against orden they will give them a big fright. Watched orden & albv satday also and thought both teams played pretty ordinary all day. With orden having played only 2 games in 4 weeks this may count against them come g/f if they make it. Reckon would be g8 g/f if orden & parks play off, just mite b the game people have been waiting for.
There is a rumour goin round that there were a few fights in the game and that a few reports were lais against Glenorden players. Any truth to this?
Just wondering if any glen orden people can tell me how ricky(austalian idol)muscat goes on the football field?.
Does he have go?
lookout4lions
21 Aug 2006, 22:06
There is a rumour goin round that there were a few fights in the game and that a few reports were lais against Glenorden players. Any truth to this?
Have been told there were 3 reports out of game: ORDEN- Rosenweig & coach, apparently he now has 2 coach from ove fence. ALBANVALE- Kavanagh. Thats what i know about the game.
crappermd
22 Aug 2006, 13:21
Have been told there were 3 reports out of game: ORDEN- Rosenweig & coach, apparently he now has 2 coach from ove fence. ALBANVALE- Kavanagh. Thats what i know about the game.
Rosenweig was offered rwo weeks as was Comensoli. One would think that they would be fighting it as that would mean missing the prelim and the G/F. Cavanagh was offered 1.
NO ROSENWIG NO GLENORDEN
lookout4lions
22 Aug 2006, 17:37
NO ROSENWIG NO GLENORDEN
Heard also that Johns was reported as well. U would rekon that they would get 1 at least but who knows with the way this league works.
HOW is the deer park captain going will he keep his spot for the finals and if guys win the flag will he play on ?
I doubt if he will although his body would be sound after not having physical contact for over ten years.
lookout4lions
22 Aug 2006, 17:52
HOW is the deer park captain going will he keep his spot for the finals and if guys win the flag will he play on ?
I doubt if he will although his body would be sound after not having physical contact for over ten years.
Yeah will hold his spot easy has been pretty solid, started slowly on wing but has come to the fore when moved hff, was very good on w/end against west, there was no sign of anything relating to ur last part of question. Whats ur chances of knocking off those pricks from hoppers, m past player from few years back now. Hope u do!
How many glenorden & Deer park players will make the grade in A1 ?
beefeater1000
23 Aug 2006, 10:02
bull**** comment
bangitlong
23 Aug 2006, 11:12
does anyone know if monteleone from coburg got reported on the weekend ? i heard he was given a yellow card ??? big loss if he gets rubbed out i heard he has had a good year
DekkaRoo
23 Aug 2006, 11:26
does anyone know if monteleone from coburg got reported on the weekend ? i heard he was given a yellow card ??? big loss if he gets rubbed out i heard he has had a good year
I was not at the game so cant comment to much, but if it was just a Yellow card, its no report. If it was a Red he would have gone in the book. A Yellow card is just send off for 15 minutes.
Coburg have hit some form of late.... do you think that can get over the line against the Cobras.. I think they are a big show. Kavanagh is a big loss for Albanvale if the romour is true that he has been rubbed out for a week.
bangitlong
23 Aug 2006, 12:54
yeah i know that about the yellow card but i think he has had a couple this year.. i had a look on the wrfl site and he is the leading goalkicker and in the best 3 at the club with collins and kehagis so i am tipping they wouldnt want to loose him.
well i know Coburg were rated very high at the start of the year. home and away season coburg didnt do too well but if you look at there results they were rarely beaten by huge scores by the top teams.. they have hit some great form of late and beat W/V - North Footscray & sunshine hieght in there last 3 games.. i think i am going to tip them this week !
is it confirmed that Kavenagh got 1 week ?
i was also at the game aswell and if johns or rosenwig get suspended its a joke. for a start johns had 3 players trying to wrestle him and take him down and all 3 could not get him down. it was 3 against 1. then rosenwig came over to pull players of him and was also sent of aswell. there were no punches thrown in that incident just wrestling so if they get suspended thats crap. as for the coach he only got a yellow card for abusive language thats all. not like it mattered as GO was smashing them. They were still dominating the game in the 2nd quater with 16 players.
Palace03
23 Aug 2006, 15:32
I was not at the game so cant comment to much, but if it was just a Yellow card, its no report. If it was a Red he would have gone in the book. A Yellow card is just send off for 15 minutes.
Not in senior footy, a player can only be sent off with a yellow card for a reportable offence, a red card is if the player is reported for the 2nd time in the same match.
DekkaRoo
23 Aug 2006, 16:08
Not in senior footy, a player can only be sent off with a yellow card for a reportable offence, a red card is if the player is reported for the 2nd time in the same match.
I disagree... I have seen players given a yellow card for swearing to an umpire and have not been reported for it. A red card is given when a player is reported on the spot or is he has received two yellows on the same day, he will be shown the second yellow, followed by the red. Not all yellows card are reports.
Can anyone else out there confim this.
kangaman06
23 Aug 2006, 16:12
Nope Minty just got a yellow card - not reported at all - was his usual quiet self at training last night (I only say that because I know he looks at this site now - g'day FIGJAM if you're reading!)
He has been fantastic all season and is a real leader - can lose his cool at times but has really stepped up as skipper this year.
As a club, it will be a hard slog this Saturday - but if we're going to continue in this finals series we need to keep bringing our game up to a higher level. We did it last week, nothing to say we can't do it again this week. During the season we didn't gel as well as we would have liked, and in the majority of games we lost we were usually with them for most of the game. Since the win against North Footscray we have really come together, so I think we can give Albanvale a run for the money for sure.
bangitlong
23 Aug 2006, 16:19
A yellow card can be a reportable offence or it may not. it is the umpires decision. either way you are penalized for 15 mins. A yellow card without report may be something like .. leaving body jewellery in - offencive language - offensive conduct (ie:sticking your finger up) a reportable yellow card offence can be striking - attempted striking - swearing directly at an umpire etc etc
An umpire can not issue a RED card without previously issueing a yellow card previously in the same game.
so to answer your question - a YELLOW card can be a reportable offence or it may only be a send off. 3 yellow cards in a season no matter what the charge is an automatic week suspension UNLESS the matter has gone to the tribunal and the player has been found NOT GUILTY - in that case the yellow card from that game is removed from that players name..
sunline 11
23 Aug 2006, 16:31
I disagree... I have seen players given a yellow card for swearing to an umpire and have not been reported for it. A red card is given when a player is reported on the spot or is he has received two yellows on the same day, he will be shown the second yellow, followed by the red. Not all yellows card are reports.
Can anyone else out there confim this.
You can be given a yellow card and not be reported, this just means you are given a 15minute rest. If you are given a yellow card and are told by the umpire you have been reported, this means you will have a rest for 15minutes and will face the tribunal, or take what the umpire offers to you after the game. If you receive 2 yellow cards in the same game, you will then receive a red card and will be forced to sit out the rest of the game, without being replaced. If you receive a red card straight away without receiving a yellow, this means you will sit out the remainder of the game, also you are reported and you are in a fair bit of sh1t.
DekkaRoo
23 Aug 2006, 16:35
Well said Sunline11,
I think we are all clear on this now.
rightfoot_sloth
23 Aug 2006, 16:49
If North wins again this weekend would they reappoint Batts ?
your a long way from home sloth, didn't expect to see you on this thread!!!:thumbsu:
Travvy43
23 Aug 2006, 17:11
I think batts would be safe regardless of the outcome this week, well i think he should be anyway. The one thing north have not had in their coaching over the last 6-8 years is stability, no coach stuck around for more than two years. Batts from what i hear does an ok job and should be good in bringing a few of the young blokes through the ranks.
DekkaRoo
23 Aug 2006, 17:14
I think he will be reappointed even if they dont get up this week...
North have shown in matches this year that they can match it with the better sides, going down to Gelnorden by only 6 points and Deer park by 29. But when you have a young group of kids to work with, you are going to get a mixed back every week.. so good games and some not so good. If batts can get the side to play consistant footy next season, and have a side where he is not making 5 or so changes each week (due to work and injuries), I think North will be up in the top 4 next season.
yeah i know that about the yellow card but i think he has had a couple this year.. i had a look on the wrfl site and he is the leading goalkicker and in the best 3 at the club with collins and kehagis so i am tipping they wouldnt want to loose him.
well i know Coburg were rated very high at the start of the year. home and away season coburg didnt do too well but if you look at there results they were rarely beaten by huge scores by the top teams.. they have hit some great form of late and beat W/V - North Footscray & sunshine hieght in there last 3 games.. i think i am going to tip them this week !
is it confirmed that Kavenagh got 1 week ?
kavenagh dot one because he didnt turn up at tribunral
all glenorden cases were thrown out
so ive heard!!!!!
all glenorden cases were thrown out
so they should have. it was just a wrestle and thats all they probably should have got was a send. i dont even think a send off was needed. if they were to send players off for what happened every player will be sent off by the end of the season.
but i think the umpires just did it as it was the only way they could keep control of the game and not let it get inot something much worse.
roosters44
23 Aug 2006, 19:07
Just heard the reason why West seconds got 3 games taken off them at the end of the year was because they had a player on the team sheet who didn't play and they played a man short so Deer Park put in a complaint. Whoever gets to play Deer Park i hope they win, no-one likes a dobber....
lookout4lions
23 Aug 2006, 19:48
Just heard the reason why West seconds got 3 games taken off them at the end of the year was because they had a player on the team sheet who didn't play and they played a man short so Deer Park put in a complaint. Whoever gets to play Deer Park i hope they win, no-one likes a dobber.... Would love 2 no where u get ur bull**** info from mate thats utter crap they couldnt give a rats arse who u try 2 qualify mate, if u want the truth pal west dobbed parks in after they played each other 4 that reason & it went 2 tribunal & parks were found not guilty of that. So get ur facts right pal b4 u have a crack at them, sour grapes obviously form w/end. Maybe next time u will rate us d***head. Plus u dont get games rubbed 4 adding playing on list & playing 1 short cause thats the exact reason why parks got off, so obviously they play full lists but had his name on sheet when he didnt play.
roosters44
23 Aug 2006, 20:21
So they went from 13-4 to 10-7 because the Lions played a player less, now it all makes sense.
GoesBangFrom50
23 Aug 2006, 21:13
So they went from 13-4 to 10-7 because the Lions played a player less, now it all makes sense.
Rooster.. Can u confirm that the reason West lost the points was because they put Mcghie's name on the reserves team sheets when he didnt play?
If so... you cheated... got caught... BAD LUCK!!!!
well the story has that mahgie, was on west team sheet but at the same time was runnining around in williamstown jumper.
i think u gave yourself up!!!!
not to smart down at West
rightfoot_sloth
24 Aug 2006, 09:12
your a long way from home sloth, didn't expect to see you on this thread!!!:thumbsu:
hahaha ! I have few guys I used to play with at North this season. So I have a vested interest in how they are going. I didn't expect the ones to win in the first week but a good effort nonetheless. The 2's are pretty strong and are always thereabouts come the business time of the season.