View Full Version : WRFL Division 2

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

easy_champ
18 Jun 2007, 11:33
we should have won the game just stoped for about 10min in the 3rd, west ended up kicking 8 goals...
as for west vs heights i rekon heights mite just have west covered.... should b a very close game...

The old premiership quarter!!!!

Dancing Dougie
18 Jun 2007, 11:33
BB not playing for West anymore but I still think that they may be a 5-6 goal better team than Heights.

Do Heights have match ups for

McGhie
Lane
Innella
Evans
Webster
Saliba
Ziggy
Guerrera

looking forward to seeing "THE WHOLE" game this week heigths v wests :D
and of course free feed:p
but who do wests have match up for

Caruana x 2
Big Fais
Greto (brad johnson)
Nicolades x 2
Malia
Roberson
Munn

i think wests might struggle to match up all these...!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

but bring it on for this weekend game will be a cracker...:eek:

Dancing Dougie
18 Jun 2007, 11:35
looking forward to seeing "THE WHOLE" game this week heigths v wests :D
and of course free feed:p
but who do wests have match up for

Caruana x 2
Big Fais
Greto (brad johnson)
Nicolades x 2
Malia
Roberson
Munn

i think wests might struggle to match up all these...!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

but bring it on for this weekend game will be a cracker...:eek:

geez i forgot about our number 8 superstar in the 2`s :) another great game 1`s aren`t far away for him :D

Harley the dog
18 Jun 2007, 12:11
geez i forgot about our number 8 superstar in the 2`s :) another great game 1`s aren`t far away for him :D

He wont play seniors woof . Enjoyed the game Saturday, felt a lot warmer Dom bought me a new top but it had security on it so everyone was looking at me for help all day. Thats why I put my sunglasses on hoping that people wouldn't recognise me. I have a sore throat from barking all day everytime Dom came near me. I was a bit lonely but all the boys looked after me. Not sure about that Matt Caruana I think he is jealous of me, being a bulldog himself he doesn't like another dog getting any attention.

Bobby Skilton
18 Jun 2007, 12:39
[quote=Tony Delaney;7863018]

hahaha nothing suprises me with your post.........where do u get your info from..........?????
there is off the top of my head 8 or 9 senior players that arnt playing that played in the last game of the year last year.......which is a pretty big hole to fill for any team...youth...the jnr commitee has worked very hard to keep the young fellas coming through the ranks.....and this year to have 18's show's we are going in the right direction finally.....new clubrooms starting september so things in the bigger picture/foundations are looking good......and this stuff about coach and commitee why dont you just worry about your own backyard instead of making stupid comments about ''MY'' club..........and thats all i have to say......

Get off the sinking ship son. Get on board the Dragon express.

typewriter
18 Jun 2007, 12:53
how about some tips from the huge game this week from non heights or wests ppl

Wombat44
18 Jun 2007, 13:03

After sat game i reckon Heights. West were no good until chopper read got all those softies in the second half after not getting near it in the 1st half. The coach is a dinosaur too. 3 qtr time speech was terrible. I'm still a little confused.

easy_champ
18 Jun 2007, 14:16

Coming from a TD quote earlier, stating heights have a "full strength squad", that may get them over the line, where as for west, i think there will be some outs for the game but are still missing players!!! So from that you'd think heights just BUT everytime West have been challenged this year, they've done enough to get over the line!!

footywife
18 Jun 2007, 14:43
Rumour confimed about Wyndhamvale coach going back to his old club. He has got his clearance signed already.

Bobby Skilton
18 Jun 2007, 15:42
Coming from a TD quote earlier, stating heights have a "full strength squad", that may get them over the line, where as for west, i think there will be some outs for the game but are still missing players!!! So from that you'd think heights just BUT everytime West have been challenged this year, they've done enough to get over the line!!

I think the typewriter asked for tips from non West or Heights people. You are obviously from West so it would be appreciated if you could read the post properly in future and act accordingly.

For the record I understand that Karl 'the dartboard' Hoblos is ready for a big game next week as is Faisel ' the Turkish rug' Taleb. Steven 'the finch' Nicholaides hit some good form kicking 7 goals on the weekend. James 'the lion tamer' Weston continued his recent good form also. Should be a good game at the s h i t hole that is West Footscray. Wonder if the racist drunks will be at their usual this week.

Bobby Skilton
18 Jun 2007, 15:46

Yes every time you have been challenged this year you have responded the whole one time.

typewriter
18 Jun 2007, 16:01
hey karim wot was ur role on the weekend i understand that a younger bloke picked up laney and besides the 4 free kicks he got would not have had a sniff is that true?

i heard u were 4 goals down with 5 min 2 go u must have come back well or was it game over ala port and essendon yesterday?

React!
18 Jun 2007, 16:47
cheers for that rundown.......

i know williams was out(year) didnt know about rizzo........

just going on what you have said i have watched the snrs twice and their discipline was terrible also..... as in back chating and giving 50's away.....and when your team gets pumped maybe its the esiest way out to blame the umpires.......

and i must admit the umpiring what i have seen this year is not flash.....but thats no excuse is it........

hmmmm have heard a few different reports that the blokes from DP are playing like 2bob hitmen this year......what surprised me most was that coach May was alleged to be acting like a bit of a dill as well on the weekend...threatening not to come out after 3/4 time?!?!?! doesn't really look credible given your side is being spanked all season coming off a grand final berth the year before.

C'mon Rob....you must be getting a bit cranky in your old age...back to the basics of discipline mate...you are not belting blokes with me in school footy any more...

karim13
18 Jun 2007, 17:11
hey karim wot was ur role on the weekend i understand that a younger bloke picked up laney and besides the 4 free kicks he got would not have had a sniff is that true?

i heard u were 4 goals down with 5 min 2 go u must have come back well or was it game over ala port and essendon yesterday?

nah wasnt game over at all, we were still attacking when the siren went really should have won.. dean fermousa played on lanny and done a great job lanny did get 3 very soft free kicks but thats just div2...
i played on bobby evens in the first half, didnt really have a match up every1 was 2 tall 4 me, there a big side

i hear u pushing frr 1ns selection big fella is this true?

typewriter
18 Jun 2007, 17:17
na no way if i was pushing 4 1s selection wed be around the coburg gladdy park range on the ladder not sitting on top. wev got a lot better talent in our 2s pushing than me i garuntee u of that

Wombat44
18 Jun 2007, 17:20
i hear u pushing frr 1ns selection big fella is this true?

Only if Heights start up a PIE EATING club.

w.weapons
18 Jun 2007, 17:51
hmmmm have heard a few different reports that the blokes from DP are playing like 2bob hitmen this year......what surprised me most was that coach May was alleged to be acting like a bit of a dill as well on the weekend...threatening not to come out after 3/4 time?!?!?! doesn't really look credible given your side is being spanked all season coming off a grand final berth the year before.

C'mon Rob....you must be getting a bit cranky in your old age...back to the basics of discipline mate...you are not belting blokes with me in school footy any more...

get 1 thing straight with you i aint rob.......if that post was towards me..... not being nasty....ok

if you read peoples posts on here about d/p acting like hitmen its probably a bit over the top.......

i wasnt there on weekend so i cant comment and if it did look bad i would certianly post it........

getting spanked yes by the top 4 sides but beaten every 1 else......they dont look hungry.........

w.weapons
18 Jun 2007, 18:03
yes 18s u have but wot sort of talent is in that team i know u have 4 huys from us probably 3 could contribute extensively 2 ur senior team but all r coming back to heights next year so im not sure wot other talent is coming thru. u also mentioned another team hasnt won a game this season so where is your talent going to come from?

yes a couple of the ex-heights boys go alright only seen them once and they won and all did well.....

its not about the talent but at least we got them.........
there are 2 teams who havnt won a game......14/a's way out of their league......thats all i can say....16'c's as well i tell you what on the weekend got beaten by 140 with 15 players with 2 u'14's in the 15.... 2 got injured and couldnt take any further part after half time but still had a crack with 13 and all i could do is praise them way undermanned and they had a dip and to me that shows a bit of talent not to give up........and getting beaten every week doesnt help either........i know they will get better..........its all about development and i can count on 2 hands how many defeats these boys have had in the last 3 years.....so there is talent there just need the right way of how to go about it.......

Tony Delaney
18 Jun 2007, 18:04
[quote=React!;7868421]hmmmm have heard a few different reports that the blokes from DP are playing like 2bob hitmen this year......what surprised me most was that coach May was alleged to be acting like a bit of a dill as well on the weekend...threatening not to come out after 3/4 time?!?!?! doesn't really look credible given your side is being spanked all season coming off a grand final berth the year before.

Yes your right the only trouble is that they don't have anyone that can do it. They actually look embarrassing giving cheap shots all day.

Hard to believe the 3/4 time thing. I'm taking my bat and going home routine.

Now weapons stop sticking up for Deer Park your a Heights boy now. I have your hood top when you can pick it up.

w.weapons
18 Jun 2007, 18:09
[quote=React!;7868421]hmmmm have heard a few different reports that the blokes from DP are playing like 2bob hitmen this year......what surprised me most was that coach May was alleged to be acting like a bit of a dill as well on the weekend...threatening not to come out after 3/4 time?!?!?! doesn't really look credible given your side is being spanked all season coming off a grand final berth the year before.

Yes your right the only trouble is that they don't have anyone that can do it. They actually look embarrassing giving cheap shots all day.

Hard to believe the 3/4 time thing. I'm taking my bat and going home routine.

Now weapons stop sticking up for Deer Park your a Heights boy now. I have your hood top when you can pick it up.

hahaha is it blue and gold????with a lion on the front.....?

easy_champ
18 Jun 2007, 18:11
Yes every time you have been challenged this year you have responded the whole one time.

Hey, i'm not a "you"!!! but i do hope west has a real crack, seeing at times this can be a bit of a heights forum.......... and i reckon if west do get up, there will be some interesting reading next week on Big Footy. So BS and to any1 else, what do you think of the WRFL not making the Heights v West game match of the round? The only 2 senior teams undefeated in the whole comp and from what i've seen on the WRFL website, altona, parkside and glen-ordinary have all had matches!! poor form by the league!!

not quite rite
18 Jun 2007, 18:26
north got up by about 10 goals mate!! deer park where never in it!
how did you go on the weekend mate ???

all-eyes-on-me
18 Jun 2007, 18:38
how did you go on the weekend mate ???
na struggled a bit mate after having a really good last game against north sunshine i was only given just over 2 qtrs for the game!! back to the 2's for me lol

not quite rite
18 Jun 2007, 18:42
na struggled a bit mate after having a really good last game against north sunshine i was only given just over 2 qtrs for the game!! back to the 2's for me lol
im sure yoou will be rite mate if not we will take you back lol

w.weapons
18 Jun 2007, 18:48
Hey, i'm not a "you"!!! but i do hope west has a real crack, seeing at times this can be a bit of a heights forum.......... and i reckon if west do get up, there will be some interesting reading next week on Big Footy. So BS and to any1 else, what do you think of the WRFL not making the Heights v West game match of the round? The only 2 senior teams undefeated in the whole comp and from what i've seen on the WRFL website, altona, parkside and glen-ordinary have all had matches!! poor form by the league!!

i like your idea......sounds good

and if west do get up you will read a lot of ifs and buts.........go west.....lol hahaha

na its gonna be a cracker and a high scoring match going by results of the 2 teams.......

GoesBangFrom50
18 Jun 2007, 19:00

Good idea to make the Heights v West game match of the day. Maybe K Hillier will read this and tee it up. I know the league looks after Div one first as it should but to slip one Div 2 match in would be ok.

Hoppers V Colts will probably be a cracker to.

all-eyes-on-me
18 Jun 2007, 19:05
im sure yoou will be rite mate if not we will take you back lol

lol cheers mate!! went down and seen a few of the boys on sat day as north played the colts in the 18's think you could have been 1 of them lol

Tony Delaney
18 Jun 2007, 20:30

You would think that round 10, 2 undefeated sides should be match of the round. However the league and most in the A1's don't really care about A2 football. It's just the way it is and similar to reserves at most clubs. The only ones that really care too much about the reserves is the reserves themselves.

colbol35
18 Jun 2007, 20:55
You would think that round 10, 2 undefeated sides should be match of the round. However the league and most in the A1's don't really care about A2 football. It's just the way it is and similar to reserves at most clubs. The only ones that really care too much about the reserves is the reserves themselves.\

if west vs heights is a bigger game than hoppers vs colts ill give it away now, any divy 1 game is better than a divy 2 game. and whoever wins it in the magoos this year can come up and get there names said on the radio too.

Bobby Skilton
18 Jun 2007, 21:16
\

if west vs heights is a bigger game than hoppers vs colts ill give it away now, any divy 1 game is better than a divy 2 game. and whoever wins it in the magoos this year can come up and get there names said on the radio too.

For your info 'hero' there would be no A1's without A2 and yes out of the WRFL senior competition 2 undefeated sides at round 10 should be WRFL match of the round. It's not called A1 match of the round and if the set up of this game isn't match of the round then there never will be and it should be re named A1 match of the round .

By the way almighty 'tool of the week run around pointing after a goal when you are 10 goals down' (how individual is that) what do you think the VFL and AFL think of the standard of yourself and your football. Not much I would imagine so you are not all that high and mighty we are all paddock footballers.

Anyway maybe you can tell me how crackers 'doesn't matter about the team as long as I play well' Keenan is going.

The truth hurts
18 Jun 2007, 21:22
Rumour confimed about Wyndhamvale coach going back to his old club. He has got his clearance signed already.

Shame Shame yellow card footywife. No gutter mouth Barcardi Breezer drinking hang around the footy club girls on big footy thanks!

The truth hurts
18 Jun 2007, 21:30
You would think that round 10, 2 undefeated sides should be match of the round. However the league and most in the A1's don't really care about A2 football. It's just the way it is and similar to reserves at most clubs. The only ones that really care too much about the reserves is the reserves themselves.

Hey TD, how do you think your going to fit your big head into the clubrooms on Saturday?

GoesBangFrom50
18 Jun 2007, 21:33
Hey TD, how do you think your going to fit your big head into the clubrooms on Saturday?

Probably easy... will be plenty of room cos all the hangers on at West won't be there after their first loss:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Dancing Dougie
18 Jun 2007, 21:40
He wont play seniors woof . Enjoyed the game Saturday, felt a lot warmer Dom bought me a new top but it had security on it so everyone was looking at me for help all day. Thats why I put my sunglasses on hoping that people wouldn't recognise me. I have a sore throat from barking all day everytime Dom came near me. I was a bit lonely but all the boys looked after me. Not sure about that Matt Caruana I think he is jealous of me, being a bulldog himself he doesn't like another dog getting any attention.

so harley the dog wests ground has a lot of space will you be let off the leash for a run around :) or will you be tied up to the fench this week..??

Tony Delaney
18 Jun 2007, 21:45

Hey truth hurts do you think there is a chance you might post something even remotely football related soon.

In answer to your question I think with all the knowledge in my head it will be hard to fit into the rooms.

The truth hurts
18 Jun 2007, 21:48
[quote=Tony Delaney;7871835]Hey truth hurts do you think there is a chance you might post something even remotely football related soon.

NO CHANCE!!!

Dancing Dougie
18 Jun 2007, 21:50
Only if Heights start up a PIE EATING club.

if we did do that, our number 8 superstar :p would bang one in from 50
with a pie in his mouth:thumbsu::thumbsu:

not quite rite
18 Jun 2007, 22:47
lol cheers mate!! went down and seen a few of the boys on sat day as north played the colts in the 18's think you could have been 1 of them lol

more than likely...... wouldve been a better standard then the last game i seen you at lol

easy_champ
19 Jun 2007, 11:00
Good idea to make the Heights v West game match of the day. Maybe K Hillier will read this and tee it up. I know the league looks after Div one first as it should but to slip one Div 2 match in would be ok.

Hoppers V Colts will probably be a cracker to.

hoppers and colts will be a cracker, and the problem with the west/heights game, is it at the shit whole!!!!

easy_champ
19 Jun 2007, 11:04

Your right there, sure the reserves can never win the seniors premiership and take them to the next level BUT without them you lost characters, support, leadership, depth obviously and clubmen, b/c if you notice at most of the best club play in the reserves too!!! not saying that there isn't any excellent senior clubmen!!!

typewriter
19 Jun 2007, 11:17
i agree that hoppers v colts will be a cracker as well however hoppers will play colts twice in a year we wont meet wests again til finals. on the other hand i do agree that wests ground is in the bottom 3 in the comp div 1 and 2

TruBlues
19 Jun 2007, 13:54
\

So port colts vs parkside (last week port kicked 42 goals) would be a better game than heights vs west. That is a joke of a comment.

DekkaRoo
19 Jun 2007, 13:59
Nice little snippet Sunny Heights got in the Herald Sun today.
For those who have not seen it, check out page 79 in the Pulse section.

Blueboy16
19 Jun 2007, 14:09
Nice little snippet Sunny Heights got in the Herald Sun today.
For those who have not seen it, check out page 79 in the Pulse section.

Not really interesting information though. Who cares?

footywife
19 Jun 2007, 14:13

Don't see a write up about ur team in there blueboy

GoesBangFrom50
19 Jun 2007, 14:28

I'll tell ya something else thats not interesting.... UR OPINION!!!

You have left WE$T FOOT$CRAY now get off the DIV 2 thread GOOSE!!

DekkaRoo
19 Jun 2007, 14:46

Well I thought it was more interesting than you posting on Bigfooty that you had left West!

Tony Delaney
19 Jun 2007, 15:15
Your right there, sure the reserves can never win the seniors premiership and take them to the next level BUT without them you lost characters, support, leadership, depth obviously and clubmen, b/c if you notice at most of the best club play in the reserves too!!! not saying that there isn't any excellent senior clubmen!!!

Agree with that, don't get me wrong I have played my share of reserves. Clubs wouldn't survive without reserves. It's just a sad fact that clubs are geared around the seniors. At Heights we have the same amount of good clubmen in seniors and reserves but many clubs don't.

easy_champ
19 Jun 2007, 15:50

i like the use of the $$$$$$ very creative!!!

Blueboy16
19 Jun 2007, 16:18

Your going to miss me GBF, I know it.

cougarman
19 Jun 2007, 16:21
i agree that hoppers v colts will be a cracker as well however hoppers will play colts twice in a year we wont meet wests again til finals. on the other hand i do agree that wests ground is in the bottom 3 in the comp div 1 and 2

your not looking at the big picture here fellas, everyone will go and watch heights v west and will listen to hoppers v colts on the radio

Crazy Monkey
19 Jun 2007, 16:35
Will the two teams (Sunshine Heights) and (West Footscray) have their full strength teams in this week?

cougarman
19 Jun 2007, 16:47
Will the two teams (Sunshine Heights) and (West Footscray) have their full strength teams in this week?

just to start up a new topic, west footscray and sunshine heights are the 2 stand out sides at the moment how would these 2 teams compare to glenorden's side last season or altona the year before

GoesBangFrom50
19 Jun 2007, 16:54
just to start up a new topic, west footscray and sunshine heights are the 2 stand out sides at the moment how would these 2 teams compare to glenorden's side last season or altona the year before

Good Question.

Heights have certainly smacked teams by big margins but it is hard to say if it is because they are better than Glenorden and Altona or that the rest of the comp is worse.

If you are getting at how they would both go in Div 1 i think that Heights are in a better position because if West was to go up there would be at least 6 or 7 players that couldn't/wouldn't play div 1 (retirements) where as Heights may only lose 1 or 2.

I think that was Glenordens problem... there first 5 recruits this year were only replacing players they had lost rather than improving the list.

Tony Delaney
19 Jun 2007, 17:10

Full strength for Heights minus perhaps one but he at the moment is 50/50.

Tony Delaney
19 Jun 2007, 17:14

Good question cougarman. Someone mentioned just that recently and we look as though we are just as good if not better but those sides performed continually in big games so until we do the same it's hard to say. Altona of 2005 were a very good sode. We were competetive several times against those teams with a far less strong team. Will be able to comment on West after the weekend.

cougarman
19 Jun 2007, 17:34
Good Question.

Heights have certainly smacked teams by big margins but it is hard to say if it is because they are better than Glenorden and Altona or that the rest of the comp is worse.

If you are getting at how they would both go in Div 1 i think that Heights are in a better position because if West was to go up there would be at least 6 or 7 players that couldn't/wouldn't play div 1 (retirements) where as Heights may only lose 1 or 2.

I think that was Glenordens problem... there first 5 recruits this year were only replacing players they had lost rather than improving the list.

just curious that's all, no point asking how they will go in A grade because chances are it will be a different team anyway

the last 2 years in division 2 the premiers have been undefeated so i was just interested if with those 2 gone to A grade has it evened out or have heights and west just recruited well:thumbsu:

Blueboy16
19 Jun 2007, 17:34

S Lane, J Lane, Evans, Kadour, Webber, Saliba struggling with the flu I am told. All less than 50% chance to play

GoesBangFrom50
19 Jun 2007, 17:38
Lane, Lane, Evans, Kadour, Webber, Saliba struggling with the flu I am told. All less than 50% chance to play

Same at Heights... Mallia. Greto. N Caruana, M Caruana, M Nicolaides, S Nicolaides, R Munn, L Demetriou, T Delaney, B Skilton and Harley the Dog are all struggling with the flu and may not get up :(:(:(

Starting with the excuses already Bluballs?

At the end of the day it's Heights best available 21 against Wests best available 21... may the best team win!!

Bobby Skilton
19 Jun 2007, 17:41

Is that injured player Steven 'the bower bird' Nicholaides or Faisel 'the gorilla' Taleb. I heard an opponent tore out a big tuft of hair from the palm of his hand

Blueboy16
19 Jun 2007, 17:45
[quote=GoesBangFrom50;7878791]

Starting with the excuses already Bluballs?

[quote]

Why would I need an excuse GBF50?

Bound_4_Glory
19 Jun 2007, 17:47
I see Albanvale have put in for a clearance for Jerome Jetta to come over from WA, be interesting to see how he goes I believe he is the brother of Leeroy. West also have a couple of clearances pending, not sure whether seniors or juniors but will still be interesting to see. Any other clubs have new signings or possible new signings for 2nd half of season?

GoesBangFrom50
19 Jun 2007, 17:52
I see Albanvale have put in for a clearance for Jerome Jetta to come over from WA, be interesting to see how he goes I believe he is the brother of Leeroy. West also have a couple of clearances pending, not sure whether seniors or juniors but will still be interesting to see. Any other clubs have new signings or possible new signings for 2nd half of season?

Have heard that Heights are chasing Grant Spencer... apparently the canteen takings are down and they have offered him $100 a game in the hope that this will be off set by the $300 worth of pies he eats each week:thumbsu::thumbsu:

easy_champ
19 Jun 2007, 20:15
Your going to miss me GBF, I know it.

so where have u gone BB? left west and now where? why did you leave?

easy_champ
19 Jun 2007, 20:19
S Lane, J Lane, Evans, Kadour, Webber, Saliba struggling with the flu I am told. All less than 50% chance to play

i heard from a cobras player, that evans did his groin again? true blueboy? bad luck seeing this game is pretty much for top spot............. u'd think!

Bobby Skilton
19 Jun 2007, 20:57

If you had of said amongst the injuries a groin, broken toe and alzheimers for that group we might have believed you

ozdevil1978
19 Jun 2007, 21:27
hi im just wondering if any1 know if there is any brooklyn players still playing in wrfl still if so plz let me know ty

rev

Harley the dog
19 Jun 2007, 22:23
Seemed a good night tonight at training. Lots of numbers and skills looked good. Even though I like to see all the boys I wish he would leave me at home sometimes because I was freezing. woof woof

w.weapons
19 Jun 2007, 22:30
hi im just wondering if any1 know if there is any brooklyn players still playing in wrfl still if so plz let me know ty

rev

YER clint and his brother damien downing
i think trev urlich is playing for whyndamvale
brizzie was at albanvale

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 10:15
Have heard that Heights are chasing Grant Spencer... apparently the canteen takings are down and they have offered him $100 a game in the hope that this will be off set by the $300 worth of pies he eats each week:thumbsu::thumbsu:

You would never get me over to Heights. I'm scared of Harley the Dog plus the organisation of the Heights Canteen is a disgrace. Last time I was there I had to settle with a hot dog in bread because they had no rolls. :thumbsd:

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 10:18
so where have u gone BB? left west and now where? why did you leave?

Had no problem with anything at West just hated the league and the standard of footy. Hope to get to a few of the upcoming West functions in the future.

GoesBangFrom50
20 Jun 2007, 10:36
Had no problem with anything at West just hated the league and the standard of footy. Hope to get to a few of the upcoming West functions in the future.

Don't understand that.... u were playing reserves.. how could you be unhappy with the standard? was it too good for you?

Crazy Monkey
20 Jun 2007, 11:09

What about West Footscray? Do they have full strength? Anyone from West Footscray?

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 11:11

Dont believe me then......

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 11:16
Don't understand that.... u were playing reserves.. how could you be unhappy with the standard? was it too good for you?

RDFL 2's footy is much better footy than WRFL Div 2 Reserves.
I wouldn't expect someone who has played in/watched the league all their life to understand. Maybe get to another league's 2's footy to compare the two.
Silky I bet was in the same boat leaving Div 1 to play Div 2 then returning.

Crazy Monkey
20 Jun 2007, 11:17
Brunswick Power and Gladstone Park look to be a good game this week lol... Perhaps if West Footscray and Sunshine Heights weren't playing against each other, it might have been match of the round lol... These poor pityful clubs. It's sad really... Isn't it?

Crazy Monkey
20 Jun 2007, 11:20
Dont believe me then......

Oh I believe you, but it sounds to me me like you have wiped half the team out with the flu. Maybe West Footscray should just forfit the round then because it won't be much of a game anyway then?

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 11:27
Oh I believe you, but it sounds to me me like you have wiped half the team out with the flu. Maybe West Footscray should just forfit the round then because it won't be much of a game anyway then?

You only need a couple of water bottles to get contaminated and the whole club will get the flu. I remember 1 year at my old club where 3/4 of the club got sick within a couple days from the water bottles.

Crazy Monkey
20 Jun 2007, 11:34
You only need a couple of water bottles to get contaminated and the whole club will get the flu. I remember 1 year at my old club where 3/4 of the club got sick within a couple days from the water bottles.

Maybe the runner could carry round the vicks vapour steam bowl lol...

thesilkmeister
20 Jun 2007, 11:34
RDFL 2's footy is much better footy than WRFL Div 2 Reserves.
I wouldn't expect someone who has played in/watched the league all their life to understand. Maybe get to another league's 2's footy to compare the two.
Silky I bet was in the same boat leaving Div 1 to play Div 2 then returning.

You are partially right Bluey. The standard of footy is different to Div 1, but a decent footballer should be able to adapt and play at any level. The main reaons i left were the fact that my wife hated going down and watching me play as the crowd are a tad....ummm, how shall i put this..........agressive. Plus i missed playing footy with the guys and a club i've played with for the past 10 years. And one or two other reasons i won't go into.

but surely if the standard of footy is the only reason for leaving then your loyalty to west would keep you there??? That can't be the only reason. It was you who was going on about West 2's being flag favourites a few rounds into the season.

Tony Delaney
20 Jun 2007, 11:53
You would never get me over to Heights. I'm scared of Harley the Dog plus the organisation of the Heights Canteen is a disgrace. Last time I was there I had to settle with a hot dog in bread because they had no rolls. :thumbsd:

No come down to Heights. There is a role for you. We could use you as a tackling bag, then we could practice high marks on your back then the ruckmen can practice ruckwork jumping on you.

And whats it matter what the hot dog is in, you put them down your throat without chewing them anyway like an oyster.

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 11:54
but surely if the standard of footy is the only reason for leaving then your loyalty to west would keep you there??? That can't be the only reason. It was you who was going on about West 2's being flag favourites a few rounds into the season.

Loyality? No I dont think after 5 games with a club you have loyality. Did you have a second thought about leaving silky? I know I thought about it for a few weeks. I had also lost interest, I missed 2 weeks of training because I couldn't be bothered playing and knew I wouldn't be picked if I didn't train. People close to me know I'm not like that and never miss a game.
I still think that if West 2's can be consistent and play like they must of against Albanvale then they can win the 2's flag. This weeks matchup will also give everyone another opinion on the topic.

Blueboy16
20 Jun 2007, 11:58
No come down to Heights. There is a role for you. We could use you as a tackling bag, then we could practice high marks on your back then the ruckmen can practice ruckwork jumping on you.

I thought Harley the Dog had applied for that job. No worries see ya thursday. :)

thesilkmeister
20 Jun 2007, 12:05
Did you have a second thought about leaving silky?

A bit.......as i didn't really want to be seen as jumping ship just bcause they were not playing well and getting wins on the board. That was the least of my concerns. They are a good bunch of guys too so it was dissapointing to be leaving them in the lurch a bit.

It's a tuff call mate.

Harley the dog
20 Jun 2007, 12:38
I thought Harley the Dog had applied for that job. No worries see ya thursday. :)

Great I will have someone to lift my leg on and someone I am better looking than. Just keep away from my schmakos, not all the foods yours. Also there is no flees at the club at the moment so if they suddenly appear we know where they are from. woof woof

cork_in_the_ocean
20 Jun 2007, 17:27
Just wondering about anyones thoughts on the div 2 premiers (whoever it may be) whether that club will or wont go up to div 1 and if they should or shouldn't go up....... Do they even have a choice in the matter?????

Also, TruBlues good to see you kick a bag on the weekend mate lets hope this is the beggining of many more to come.

TruBlues
20 Jun 2007, 18:53
Just wondering about anyones thoughts on the div 2 premiers (whoever it may be) whether that club will or wont go up to div 1 and if they should or shouldn't go up....... Do they even have a choice in the matter?????

Also, TruBlues good to see you kick a bag on the weekend mate lets hope this is the beggining of many more to come.

I think they should go up. What is the point of being in the competition if you are not striving to reach the top. Plus the division 2 competition at the moment is non-competitive apart from the top 4.

I wont hide the fact that i am from heights, and i believe that the position we are in on the field is giving the club the best opportunity to seek sponsorship and should be taken advantage of. There should be no reason for us to stay in division 2 should we win the flag.

However, we still have a job to do, and that is to win the division 2 premiership which is priority number 1, and there is still half a season of hard work on the field to go.

cork_in_the_ocean
20 Jun 2007, 19:02
I think they should go up. What is the point of being in the competition if you are not striving to reach the top. Plus the division 2 competition at the moment is non-competitive apart from the top 4.

I wont hide the fact that i am from heights, and i believe that the position we are in on the field is giving the club the best opportunity to seek sponsorship and should be taken advantage of. There should be no reason for us to stay in division 2 should we win the flag.

However, we still have a job to do, and that is to win the division 2 premiership which is priority number 1, and there is still half a season of hard work on the field to go.

I hope that is the case because atm parkside would struggle to win in div 2 let alone stay up.........

The question i reckon that will determine your success for years to come is whether you can keep the list you have now without losing any players???? and perhaps enticing a few more that maybe struggle to play seniors at the bigger clubs.....

w.weapons
20 Jun 2007, 21:39

yer your number 1 priority is to win the flag and yes there is a lot of hard work to do..................you have to still get there yet.........good luck and i spose it would be unchartered waters if you do go up.......

dont be like altona and not go up...............do you have the infustructure(s hit thats a long word for me) to go up at the moment???/??

GoesBangFrom50
20 Jun 2007, 22:18
yer your number 1 priority is to win the flag and yes there is a lot of hard work to do..................you have to still get there yet.........good luck and i spose it would be unchartered waters if you do go up.......

dont be like altona and not go up...............do you have the infustructure(s hit thats a long word for me) to go up at the moment???/??

lets save the Div 1 talk to after the Grand Final is run and won..

on another note WEAPONS did u see the little piece on Heights in the paper yesterday?? Deer Park got a mention to. Kept the Dragons to their lowest score of the year 20. 29. 149 ... at least u can take something out of the year now :thumbsu::thumbsu:

cmat26
20 Jun 2007, 23:09

This hang it on Altona stuff is getting a bit old. There were numerous reasons for Altona not taking promotion after 2004. I refuse to get into it here, but I can unequivocally state that it had nothing to do with being; soft, scared or any other derogatory remark that has been bandied around this thread.

Don’t bother responding to this post via the public forum, if you want to discuss this further, feel free to PM me.

w.weapons
21 Jun 2007, 00:08
lets save the Div 1 talk to after the Grand Final is run and won..

on another note WEAPONS did u see the little piece on Heights in the paper yesterday?? Deer Park got a mention to. Kept the Dragons to their lowest score of the year 20. 29. 149 ... at least u can take something out of the year now :thumbsu::thumbsu:

na didnt see it........tru long way to go.....

20.29 fiddy scoring shots should have been more........

maybe this week it will be beaten im sure the winners wont score over 15 goals......

whats the tacticts for this week???run run run i bet......and hope the ball doesnt hit the roof of the crap pergola they got there.........

GoesBangFrom50
21 Jun 2007, 10:04
This hang it on Altona stuff is getting a bit old. There were numerous reasons for Altona not taking promotion after 2004. I refuse to get into it here, but I can unequivocally state that it had nothing to do with being; soft, scared or any other derogatory remark that has been bandied around this thread.

Don’t bother responding to this post via the public forum, if you want to discuss this further, feel free to PM me.

Nobody actually considered the players soft or scared... but that is what people thought of Altona as a club for making the decision.

You posted the comments above on a public forum. If you want to defend the club post the reasons why they made the decision on here for everyone to see.... otherwise don't comment at all!!

GoesBangFrom50
21 Jun 2007, 10:07
maybe this week it will be beaten im sure the winners wont score over 15 goals.......

20 Goals + to the winner... expect a shoot out :thumbsu:

typewriter
21 Jun 2007, 10:21
20 Goals + to the winner... expect a shoot out :thumbsu:
agree with u bangers small ground both attacking teams and im sure both teams will b too confident in their own ability to become defensive shoot out on the cards.

obe1
21 Jun 2007, 17:18

Not taking sides one way or another but with hindsight in mind,would the same decision be made now.

Do you think you have benefitted from the original decision?

ozdevil1978
21 Jun 2007, 18:09
YER clint and his brother damien downing
i think trev urlich is playing for whyndamvale
brizzie was at albanvale

w.weapon's who do u play 4 buddy????? i used 2 play 4 brooklyn in the 1's from 1997 to 2004

cork_in_the_ocean
21 Jun 2007, 18:13
Do you think you have benefitted from the original decision?

Its hard to say as altona are still yet to make any impact on div 1 (only one win this year)...

just wondering as i dont know but did altona keep the players they played with in div 2 when they won the flags or did some jump ship when they went up????? its hard to believe a side that wins 2 flags can come up and just have no impact to speak of just thought maybe they lost a few.

Guy Incognito III
21 Jun 2007, 18:33
... getting back to current division 2 teams, here's my two cents for the week. (I know you've been dying to read it.:thumbsu::thumbsu:)

Predictions:

First and foremost, in the match of the day, week and regular season...

...Brunswick Power will beat Gladstone Park. :D

Oh, yes, and in another fairly interesting contest to watch, Heights will try to put their money where their mouths have been all season, realise that nobody gets paid at Heights so there's no money to put anywhere, but still come away with a hard-fought win. Big name forwards will be too good for their match-ups at times at both ends, but the supply out of the centre will be a 60:40 split in favour of Heights. That all adds up to a win for Heights, the final scoreboard reading 32 goals to 26.

Districts over Magpies (yawn)

North to beat Braybrook convincingly and remind the top three that this comp actually has a top four.

North Sunshine in a nail-biter over Deer Park. When I say 'nail-biter', don't get me wrong - I don't mean it will be close, I'd just rather chew on a pile of rusty nails than be playing for Deer Park right now.:D

Finally, Wyndhamvale will beat Albanvale after Karim and his boys are all abducted by aliens on the way to the ground. In other news, frogs will fall from the sky, rivers will run back to the hills and all of Australia will sit glued to their televisions for Eviction night on Big Brother.

:cool:

eyesontheprize
21 Jun 2007, 18:33
Its hard to say as altona are still yet to make any impact on div 1 (only one win this year)...

just wondering as i dont know but did altona keep the players they played with in div 2 when they won the flags or did some jump ship when they went up????? its hard to believe a side that wins 2 flags can come up and just have no impact to speak of just thought maybe they lost a few.

very interesting point.....they have yet to make an impact in div 1 after 2 seasons, but in hindsight nth sunshine were the same, and if all continues the way it is glenorden wont make an impact either....

From gossip around the traps it seems altona lost a number of players as they just didnt have the money to pay them, cos the fees in div 1 as opposed to div 2 (ones you pay to the WRFL) are a significant amount higher.

Just goes to show that money does not guarantee you a premiership....are the west footscray boys hearing this? (although it definitely helps..just ask hoppers)

Interesting to see how the 'match of the round goes this week' between the roosters & the dragons....
The roosters might be crowin early but the dragons will have fire in their bellies & run out winners.... (just my thoughts)
Good luck to both teams..it should be a ripsnorter of a game