View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
eyesontheprize
21 Jun 2007, 18:36
[quote=Guy Incognito III;7895168
North Sunshine in a nail-biter over Deep Park. When I say 'nail-biter', don't get me wrong - I don't mean it will be close, I'd just rather chew on a pile of rusty nails than be playing for Deer Park right now.:D
Finally, Wyndhamvale will beat Albanvale after Karim and his boys are all abducted by aliens on the way to the ground. In other news, frogs will fall from the sky, rivers will run back to the hills and all of Australia will sit glued to their televisions for Eviction night on Big Brother.
:cool:[/quote]
I dont know whats worse...watching deer park v nth sunshine....
or watching big brother...tough call
think big brother might have won in a close contest.....
w.weapons
21 Jun 2007, 19:18
w.weapon's who do u play 4 buddy????? i used 2 play 4 brooklyn in the 1's from 1997 to 2004
deer park.......follow.....dont play.........:thumbsu:
must have been lots of wins in them days............hahaha
GoesBangFrom50
21 Jun 2007, 21:43
cos the fees in div 1 as opposed to div 2 (ones you pay to the WRFL) are a significant amount higher.
Can anybody confirm that this is correct? First time i ever heard this. Why would a Div 1 team have to pay more than a Div 2 team?
ozdevil1978
21 Jun 2007, 22:02
deer park.......follow.....dont play.........:thumbsu:
must have been lots of wins in them days............hahaha
lots of fun , i won the b&f in 2000 and runner's up in 99 , still in contact with brizzi as well !!!!! his not playing anymore
w.weapons
21 Jun 2007, 22:45
lots of fun , i won the b&f in 2000 and runner's up in 99 , still in contact with brizzi as well !!!!! his not playing anymore
brizzie is a good bloke......disco ive herd is playing at sydnam hillside
Can anybody confirm that this is correct? First time i ever heard this. Why would a Div 1 team have to pay more than a Div 2 team?
Your thoughts are correct, the amount of fees paid to the WRFL are determined by the amount of teams you have affiliated within the WRFL.
Not sure if all first division clubs have more teams ( seniors and juniors ) than those in second division. Obviously , Hoppers, Spotswood , Altona and possibly St Albans have more teams than others, hence a higher charge. The other cost that may vary is that of the umpires. First Division more often than not have umpires in the reserves as well as the seniors. This also increases the fee structure and as I have noted above, if you have more junior teams this will also add to your bottom line.
Your thoughts are correct, the amount of fees paid to the WRFL are determined by the amount of teams you have affiliated within the WRFL.
Not sure if all first division clubs have more teams ( seniors and juniors ) than those in second division. Obviously , Hoppers, Spotswood , Altona and possibly St Albans have more teams than others, hence a higher charge. The other cost that may vary is that of the umpires. First Division more often than not have umpires in the reserves as well as the seniors. This also increases the fee structure and as I have noted above, if you have more junior teams this will also add to your bottom line.
With regards to Obe1's question about making the same decision. I can't see the point in looking at it retrospectively, but for the sake of the exercise. Yes, I personally would do it the same way.
Fees are different from D1 to D2. Only slightly, but there is a difference in that it is more expensive to play D1 footy.
CITO - we lost a couple. But the main reason that haven't made a real impact is simply for the fact that the gap between the two divisions is huge.
red devil1
22 Jun 2007, 08:50
DekkaRoo....I understand there may have been a new signing at North Footscray last night? Can you confirm or have I jumped the gun?:thumbsu:
Wombat44
22 Jun 2007, 09:26
Had my spies out at Heights last night (well not really a spy, it was my mate KOALA88 that lives in the Gum tree at Ainsworth on the Glengala rd side). Anyway he tells me that the big number 8 may have done an injury but he is not sure what it was and how it happened. Can any of the DRAGONS confirm which one of these is true:
A- He did a Hamstring bending over to pick up a cheeseburger that fell off the tray on the way from the BBQ to the Kitchen
B- He did a Calf running to the canteen to be first in line for the Mixed Grill?
DekkaRoo
22 Jun 2007, 10:02
DekkaRoo....I understand there may have been a new signing at North Footscray last night? Can you confirm or have I jumped the gun?:thumbsu:
Yes Red Devil 1,
I can confirm that Dean Derich has signed for the devils and will play this saturday.
This ends all speculation that he was headed to West Footscray.
GoesBangFrom50
22 Jun 2007, 10:06
Yes Red Devil 1,
I can confirm that Dean Derich has signed for the devils and will play this saturday.
This ends all speculation that he was headed to West Footscray.
Good get for the Devils... biggest issue has been scoring enough goals so this should help. Did u get the package deal with his mate Spider?
DekkaRoo
22 Jun 2007, 10:30
Good get for the Devils... biggest issue has been scoring enough goals so this should help. Did u get the package deal with his mate Spider?
His mate Zeb have been training with us, but not sure if his paper work has gone through.. time will tell on.
I think Dean will be great for us. He will not only kick a few goal, he will add some toughness which wont go a stray.
GoesBangFrom50
22 Jun 2007, 10:35
His mate Zeb have been training with us, but not sure if his paper work has gone through.. time will tell on.
I think Dean will be great for us. He will not only kick a few goal, he will add some toughness which wont go a stray.
Whats the policy at North... straight in the ones or does he have to have a run in the magoos?
DekkaRoo
22 Jun 2007, 10:41
Whats the policy at North... straight in the ones or does he have to have a run in the magoos?
He has trained for about 4 weeks, but he still must come through the twos.
I am sure he will be in the ones in no time.
GoesBangFrom50
22 Jun 2007, 10:49
Should be right for the Heights game then :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Tough policy... at Heights the ones pick the best team available regardless of any other criteria. If you sign on and you are in the best 22... straight in..The twos are picked on form, training, membership and a few other factors.
easy_champ
22 Jun 2007, 11:30
very interesting point.....they have yet to make an impact in div 1 after 2 seasons, but in hindsight nth sunshine were the same, and if all continues the way it is glenorden wont make an impact either....
From gossip around the traps it seems altona lost a number of players as they just didnt have the money to pay them, cos the fees in div 1 as opposed to div 2 (ones you pay to the WRFL) are a significant amount higher.
Just goes to show that money does not guarantee you a premiership....are the west footscray boys hearing this? (although it definitely helps..just ask hoppers)
Interesting to see how the 'match of the round goes this week' between the roosters & the dragons....
The roosters might be crowin early but the dragons will have fire in their bellies & run out winners.... (just my thoughts)
Good luck to both teams..it should be a ripsnorter of a game
Let's just remember though, the premiership isn't won in round 10!!! Let's hope neither of the coaches play any lose men in the back halves and have full strength list and let them GAME 1 of the heights v West season go nuts!!!
Should be right for the Heights game then :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Tough policy... at Heights the ones pick the best team available regardless of any other criteria. If you sign on and you are in the best 22... straight in..The twos are picked on form, training, membership and a few other factors.
Once again I reiterate..thats why the club is run so well..no favouritism..no big heads...they don't want a reputation for buying flags or having blokes blow in and take big $$ per game and then fly out end of year. From what I see, they steer clear of praising their own team every week on this forum also. This comp. is not made up of 3 sides as many would think...as I have said - they haven't won flags..but when the policies and investment in kids etc start to pay further dividends (it has already started paying back), it will be all the more sweeter for all concerned I would imagine. Yet another young débutante in the 1's this week I hear...
DekkaRoo
22 Jun 2007, 12:53
Once again I reiterate..thats why the club is run so well..no favouritism..no big heads...they don't want a reputation for buying flags or having blokes blow in and take big $$ per game and then fly out end of year. From what I see, they steer clear of praising their own team every week on this forum also. This comp. is not made up of 3 sides as many would think...as I have said - they haven't won flags..but when the policies and investment in kids etc start to pay further dividends (it has already started paying back), it will be all the more sweeter for all concerned I would imagine. Yet another young débutante in the 1's this week I hear...
Are you relating to The Devils or Heights?
you serious? North Footscray..
Sure Heights may have some similarities (now that I have read my post again) but for mine...far too cocky..along with West...I get the impression that they seriously think they will go unchallenged....
typewriter
22 Jun 2007, 13:30
who height go through unchallenged?
il tell u something we will not go through unchallenged we r confident in our own ability which is what u need to achieve anything in life.
dont we have the right to be confident wer undefeated although we could lose 2 in a row playing against 2 of the top 4 sides in the next fortnight.
we r realistic we know the flag is there for the taking this year its gonna come down to who wants it more on the day. anybody out of wests us albanvale and north foots could take it out. as bangers said u dont win a flag in round 10, 11 or 12 its won on the last day of the season
TruBlues
22 Jun 2007, 13:31
Sure Heights may have some similarities (now that I have read my post again) but for mine...far too cocky..along with West...I get the impression that they seriously think they will go unchallenged....
Confidence. Confidence in our ability to beat anyone on our day, What premiership winning side hasnt had that belief. If you take it as cocky, that is your porogative. So what if a lot of the comments on this forum are made by people who are associated with the sunshine heights football club, we are forever going over this and it is getting a bit repetitive and boring for mine. The FACT is that this years premiership is a four horse race with any of those teams (you all know who they are) in with a chance to take out the flag. Looking forward to this yrs finals series as i believe it will be a ripper.
typewriter
22 Jun 2007, 13:37
has derich signed for 2 years???? or will he be somewhere else next year?
i do agree tho he will be a great acquisition to ur team this year but u should really try and get him to stay for longer than 6 months and help the club build. uve got some talented younger players coming through the 18s over the past couple and the future is looking brighter 4 u guys hopefully he can help that along
easy_champ
22 Jun 2007, 15:49
i agree React! of course west are going to be cocky with recruits like evans the big head!
cork_in_the_ocean
22 Jun 2007, 16:12
how is the big number 8 from heights travelling this year havent seen the young man in a while............ has he finally let his coaching prowess take over his playing abilty??? or is he just focusing on playing now????
ozdevil1978
22 Jun 2007, 17:05
brizzie is a good bloke......disco ive herd is playing at sydnam hillside
disco is a very good player, yeah brizz is ok lol:rolleyes:
and is disco going alright there as well?
w.weapons
22 Jun 2007, 17:18
disco is a very good player, yeah brizz is ok lol:rolleyes:
and is disco going alright there as well?
dunno.....but i havnt seen him in the best there.......
w.weapons
22 Jun 2007, 17:49
any tips........
mine
heights 10 goals
north sunshine 3 goals
nth foots
albanvale
who cares about the rest..........
GoesBangFrom50
22 Jun 2007, 17:54
any tips........
mine
heights 10 goals
north sunshine 3 goals
nth foots
albanvale
who cares about the rest..........
I'm waiting for Harley the dogs tip on the Heights game :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
secure38
22 Jun 2007, 18:26
I agree with you in regard to your thoughts and passion about Nth react but if the club is so well run what happened to the previous VP and the Junior administrator and the treasurer on the same night?? Good on the great man Dekkaroo for stepping up. Great bloke. Nth WILL turn the tide once the cancer is removed from the club and people like Dekkaroo get the cudos they deserve. My mail is the cancer is nearly out anyway:thumbsu: Heading to the league at the end of the season. Bring back Bill Pride:)
red devil1
22 Jun 2007, 18:51
I agree with you in regard to your thoughts and passion about Nth react but if the club is so well run what happened to the previous VP and the Junior administrator and the treasurer on the same night?? Good on the great man Dekkaroo for stepping up. Great bloke. Nth WILL turn the tide once the cancer is removed from the club and people like Dekkaroo get the cudos they deserve. My mail is the cancer is nearly out anyway:thumbsu: Heading to the league at the end of the season. Bring back Bill Pride:)
I know your mail is not all correct there secure38, but you seem to know a little about the club. There is no cancer in the club. The Treasurer left to have a baby (husband is still playing) and the previous VP and junior administrator are still running Auskick. The league rumour is also incorrect.
w.weapons
22 Jun 2007, 23:00
I know your mail is not all correct there secure38, but you seem to know a little about the club. There is no cancer in the club. The Treasurer left to have a baby (husband is still playing) and the previous VP and junior administrator are still running Auskick. The league rumour is also incorrect.
so the other part about DEKAROO is true he is the president.......:thumbsu:thanks
Son of T'D
23 Jun 2007, 10:21
I'm waiting for Harley the dogs tip on the Heights game :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Rumour is Harley the dog didnt do his tips as he had big one on the town last night and was locked up at the pound
What about me?
23 Jun 2007, 10:34
west will smash heights thats all i have to say.
Harley the dog
23 Jun 2007, 11:33
Sorry about the late tip. Had worm tablets yesterday and they gave me a sore belly.
Heights by 5 to 8 goals. woof woof
Agree with Red Devil.
Secure - if you shared my passion you'd never refer to anyone at the club as a cancer. The person I think you are referring has put in a truck load of work over a long period of time of time. I dont always agree with the action that person undertakes at times but hey - not everyone in footy clubs are agreable on everything. The VP and Treasurer are still at the club and still put in time without a formal title. Your mail on this is completely wrong. As for the great D-Roo...he has stepped up with the full backing of all those you mentioned, VP and treasurer included. The club is safe with excellent people running the place. Full credit to the president too. The great Bill Pride...legend..but hey..poeple move on and so too do clubs. Seeya at the DEvils den today for a can whoever you are..
As for the heights boys...confidence is everything..I agree with you. Just dont put the cart before the horse boys...
Dancing Dougie
23 Jun 2007, 14:08
Had my spies out at Heights last night (well not really a spy, it was my mate KOALA88 that lives in the Gum tree at Ainsworth on the Glengala rd side). Anyway he tells me that the big number 8 may have done an injury but he is not sure what it was and how it happened. Can any of the DRAGONS confirm which one of these is true:
A- He did a Hamstring bending over to pick up a cheeseburger that fell off the tray on the way from the BBQ to the Kitchen
B- He did a Calf running to the canteen to be first in line for the Mixed Grill?
yes big out for today:( the number 8 superstar
spoke to him thursday night, so the answer to the question is B, but a bit of A to the cheesbuger did hit the ground, but he did invoke the 30second rule:eek: to eat and thats when he done it.:thumbsd:
but he has asured me he`ll be back soon:p so i`ll catch up with him today and have a couple of pies with him.....
Blueboy16
23 Jun 2007, 18:19
West winners over Heights today? 12 points I think. Looks like it's going to be a quiet week on this thread! No doubt umpiring will come up as an excuse. All reports was a massive crowd and enjoyable day.
Anyone at the game with a match report?
Wyndanvale beat Albanvale by a point too. Big result after the coach was sacked.
GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2007, 20:22
No doubt umpiring will come up as an excuse. All reports was a massive crowd and enjoyable day.
Anyone who says that the umpires had a say in the result of this game is kidding... they let the game go as they should and I am sure all spectators enjoyed the game.
West was the best team on the day as they were able to play the game on their terms... slowed down and kick and mark.
Ziggy got battered (fairly ) every time he got the ball but just kept finding in... GUN!!
There are a number of reasons why I reckon Heights will have the better of West come finals time but I'll save that for later... let West have their glory they deserve it.
Bit of a shame that a few redneck supporters and the West president spoiled things for everybody by hurling abuse at the Heights players as they left the field... was a good hard contest that didn't need that at the end.
Gemini17
23 Jun 2007, 20:25
West winners over Heights today? 12 points I think. Looks like it's going to be a quiet week on this thread! No doubt umpiring will come up as an excuse. All reports was a massive crowd and enjoyable day.
Wyndanvale beat Albanvale by a point too. Big result after the coach was sacked.
Good form showed by Heights after the game today with the players told anyone who goes in for a drink after the game will not be playing next week!
I guess all that crap you boys went on about a few weeks ago is only valid if you win?
And before you all start crapping on about West Footscray supporters, who are the 4 hereos that bashed our timekeeper, who by the way has a brain injury from a previous car accident?
CLASS ACT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS :thumbsd:
To West Footscray Reserves who got beaten by 2 points - keep your chin up boys as there will be real umpires come finals.
GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2007, 20:28
And before you all start crapping on about West Footscray supporters, who are the 4 hereos that bashed our timekeeper, who by the way has a brain injury from a previous car accident?
Bit hard to go in for a drink when ur pres is standing at the front door yelling **** off Dogs after the game.
And if you want to know what happened to the time keeper just ask Ziggy... from all reports it was his cousin that punched him.
Anyway Gemini where have u been..... havn't heard a peep from u until u beat heights?
Gemini17
23 Jun 2007, 20:43
Bit hard to go in for a drink when ur pres is standing at the front door yelling F#$K off Dogs after the game.
And if you want to know what happened to the time keeper just ask Ziggy... from all reports it was his cousin that punched him.
Anyway Gemini where have u been..... havn't heard a peep from u until u beat heights?
If that was what was said, I don't agree with it. Without making excuses the Pres has had a tough week with a family issue, and the bashing of our timekeeper may have sent him over the edge.
However, I have never let the words of a spectator detur me from going in the rooms after the game for a drink. Believe me I have heard much worse.
As for me not giving a peep - my job does not allow me enough time to sit on the internet all day. If I have something worthwhile to say, I'll post if I get time (or if the kids let me on the net). It just so happens I have 30 mins before going out again, and felt the need to say something.
GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2007, 20:46
If that was what was said, I don't agree with it. Without making excuses the Pres has had a tough week with a family issue, and the bashing of our timekeeper may have sent him over the edge.
However, I have never let the words of a spectator detur me from going in the rooms after the game for a drink. Believe me I have heard much worse.
As for me not giving a peep - my job does not allow me enough time to sit on the internet all day. If I have something worthwhile to say, I'll post if I get time (or if the kids let me on the net). It just so happens I have 30 mins before going out again, and felt the need to say something.
Fair enough... but I can assure u that ur pres as well as supporters standing in fromt of the rooms hurling abuse and threatening meant that the only thing that was going to happen if Heights came in was a brawl...
Again best team on the day got the points.
Gemini17
23 Jun 2007, 20:56
Fair enough... but I can assure u that ur pres as well as supporters standing in fromt of the rooms hurling abuse and threatening meant that the only thing that was going to happen if Heights came in was a brawl...
Again best team on the day got the points.
GBF, please don't insult my intelligence by saying that WF are the only supporters that hurl abuse. Most of the abuse is hurled at the umpires, and they came back in for a drink! If any player is too precious where they can't handle a little heckling, go play golf where all you're allowed to do is clap. Believe me, WF players cop their fair share of abuse, maybe we are a little louder because there is so many of us?
GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2007, 21:16
GBF, please don't insult my intelligence by saying that WF are the only supporters that hurl abuse. Most of the abuse is hurled at the umpires, and they came back in for a drink! If any player is too precious where they can't handle a little heckling, go play golf where all you're allowed to do is clap. Believe me, WF players cop their fair share of abuse, maybe we are a little louder because there is so many of us?
Copping a bit of stick during the game is one thing... but after the players shook hands and the Heights boys were walking to the rooms it was all done and dusted.. no need to have 10 blokes (all 10 foot tall full of cans) carry on like that. We were not welcome... didnt come in and if we did the only result would have been the biggest brawl of all time.
Also., even though it was one if ur own that belted the time keeper.. if crackers stayed in the time keepers box instead of coming down to pick a fight he wouldnt have got belted.
w.weapons
23 Jun 2007, 22:03
well well well........and i couldnt wait for this day.........
talk about being contradictive looks like heights have got a bit of deer park in them...................(not going in for a beer after a game)=SOFT...... just goes to show about what type of blokes they are............even with a bit of verbal on the way in.....the best thing they could have done is showed some balls and gone in for 1 at least........
and why bash the time keeper(cowards)that all i can put it down to........i was listening on radio for scores of the game couldnt get there due to whatching deer park beat a decent nth sunshine by 54 points......its hard to know what deer park team shows up week in week out and the 1 i saw today totaly out run, out played nth sunshine on their big ground.......and there was some feeling that i havnt seen this year which was good to see.............hopefully they have turned the corner.............
well done west as teddy whitten would say'''you stuck it right up em'''
i wonder if ''BORGY'' the umpire will see this..........spoke to you after the game........????
9 out of ten but the other umpire to be honest hasnt got a clue i know he is learning but he has been learning for 4 or 5 years now and hasnt got any better.....and all the trouble last week ive herd was started by the same umpire and we got him again.........please explain.............
Tony Delaney
23 Jun 2007, 22:06
Good form showed by Heights after the game today with the players told anyone who goes in for a drink after the game will not be playing next week!
I guess all that crap you boys went on about a few weeks ago is only valid if you win?
CLASS ACT SUNSHINE HEIGHTS :thumbsd:
To West Footscray Reserves who got beaten by 2 points - keep your chin up boys as there will be real umpires come finals.
The brain injury might explain why he was stupid enough to come out of his box poke his finger in someones face then throw a drink on him. Sunshine Heights don't condone violence but if he stayed where he was supposed to and didn't carry on like a typically West Foorscray hero then he might be less sore tonight. Guess he will remember his job in future and just do it. As GB50 said he was hit by someone more closely associated with west not a Heights person.
Also no one at Heights was told anything about not getting a game so get your facts right old man. Heights are better than most at going in for a drink win lose or draw.
Who cares about your nuffy presidents private crap. That doesn't give him excuse to abuse our female officials like a pig. Also he is an a r s e every time we see him so don't make excuses for him, he is always a dill.
Tony Delaney
23 Jun 2007, 22:09
well well well........and i couldnt wait for this day.........
talk about being contradictive looks like heights have got a bit of deer park in them...................(not going in for a beer after a game)=SOFT...... just goes to show about what type of blokes they are............even with a bit of verbal on the way in.....the best thing they could have done is showed some balls and gone in for 1 at least........
and why bash the time keeper(cowards)that all i can put it down to........i was listening on radio for scores of the game couldnt get there due to whatching deer park beat a decent nth sunshine by 54 points......its hard to know what deer park team shows up week in week out and the 1 i saw today totaly out run, out played nth sunshine on their big ground.......and there was some feeling that i havnt seen this year which was good to see.............hopefully they have turned the corner.............
well done west as teddy whitten would say'''you stuck it right up em'''
Don't be a smart a.... weapons, as my previous post says the time keeper was hit by a non Heights person and don't question what type of blokes Heights are. You were not there so don't know the volatility caused by drunk supporters and a nuffy president so keep your mouth shut.
Guy Incognito III
23 Jun 2007, 22:19
Finally, Wyndhamvale will beat Albanvale after Karim and his boys are all abducted by aliens on the way to the ground. In other news, frogs will fall from the sky, rivers will run back to the hills and all of Australia will sit glued to their televisions for Eviction night on Big Brother.
:cool:
Oh no, what have I done? Get the umbrellas out, ladies and gents. I'm thinking things might get a little biblical.
I'm thrilled to hear that my favourite underdogs the Power finally got up to win, albeit against the Gladstone Park Ladies Bowls Club, who took the field after a tragic venue mix-up.:D
After the Heights game today, I logged on thinking I might finally see what the smiley icon for tumbleweeds looks like, but it's good to see that you aren't deterred by the result GBF. I'll join you in a slice of humble pie later if you've got time, but I agree that today's result doesn't close the book on season 2007.
I would be curious to see what would happen if the same two teams had played with eighteen players each for four quarters. For those who weren't there, I'm referring to two send-offs against Heights, not accusing West or the umpires of any kind of misconduct. (Although, on that subject, if anyone can enlighten me as to what "attempted eye-gouging" is... can you get reported for attempting to abuse the umpire?):confused:
I'll leave it there and restrict my comments to the events that occured between the first and final sirens - all in all a very tough game played fairly and in the spirit of competition. Well done West, but I wouldn't break out the champagne yet. :cool:
w.weapons
23 Jun 2007, 22:22
Don't be a smart a.... weapons, as my previous post says the time keeper was hit by a non Heights person and don't question what type of blokes Heights are. You were not there so don't know the volatility caused by drunk supporters and a nuffy president so keep your mouth shut.
mate they are all the same (you know what i mean)
so your telling me wests(timekeeper)got hit by west people.........cmon its a little hard to believe......and your supporters wouldnt know what a loss was this year untill today........:thumbsu:
its all tounge and cheek just like you last week if you can remember.......
just like in footy take it on the chin and move on to next week.........
w.weapons
23 Jun 2007, 22:25
Oh no, what have I done? Get the umbrellas out, ladies and gents. I'm thinking things might get a little biblical.
I'm thrilled to hear that my favourite underdogs the Power finally got up to win, albeit against the Gladstone Park Ladies Bowls Club, who took the field after a tragic venue mix-up.:D
After the Heights game today, I logged on thinking I might finally see what the smiley icon for tumbleweeds looks like, but it's good to see that you aren't deterred by the result GBF. I'll join you in a slice of humble pie later if you've got time, but I agree that today's result doesn't close the book on season 2007.
I would be curious to see what would happen if the same two teams had played with eighteen players each for four quarters. For those who weren't there, I'm referring to two send-offs against Heights, not accusing West or the umpires of any kind of misconduat. (Although, on that subject, if anyone can enlighten me as to what "attempted eye-gouging" is... can you get reported for attempting to abuse the umpire?):confused:
I'll leave it there and restrict my comments to the events that occured between the first and final sirens - all in all a very tough game played fairly and in the spirit of competition. Well done West, but I wouldn't break out the champagne yet. :cool:
would you call it undicipline?????
Tony Delaney
23 Jun 2007, 22:34
Now to the football.
No blueboy the umpires were very good today. I think probably the best we have had all year. They made a few mistakes
West were better on the day and Heights didn't get our running game going. We had about 10 players well below their best and overall played at about 60 % of our potential. I think the odds of that happening again would be slim.
Discipline with 2 send offs cost Heights. During the 30 minutes of the send offs West scored 6 goals then for the other 90 minutes of football scored only 7 goals.
Until today Heights have only played away from home twice in 4 months so the more we play away til finals the better.
Remember sides learn heaps more from a loss than a win. To have so many players down and to lose by a small margin is encouraging. Also better to lose now than finals as to win would have meant a good chance of going through undefeated which with such a young side might not be too healthy for big heads and complacency.
Well done to West Footscray enjoy your time in the sun. We will look forward to meeting again in the finals.
GoesBangFrom50
23 Jun 2007, 22:35
so your telling me wests(timekeeper)got hit by west people.........cmon its a little hard to believe...............
Not saying it was a West person. It was a person who was there to watch his cousin who plays for West.... that doesnt make him a West person but certainly means that he has nothing to do with Heights.
Tony Delaney
23 Jun 2007, 22:50
would you call it undicipline?????
Read some posts IT WASN'T A HEIGHTS PERSON who hit the timekeeper full stop. That is fact, he was watching both sides and has not been at any of our prior games.
The first send off was a joke and the second poor discipline which cost us badly.
Mundine
23 Jun 2007, 22:51
That bloke was not a heights person, the man came down poking his finger in the guys face and chucked a can of grog on the bloke and the bloke just gave him a sam newman punch in the shnoz.
kangaman06
23 Jun 2007, 22:57
Read some posts IT WASN'T A HEIGHTS PERSON who hit the timekeeper full stop. That is fact, he was watching both sides and has not been at any of our prior games.
The first send off was a joke and the second poor discipline which cost us badly.
Who were the two send offs??
w.weapons
23 Jun 2007, 23:07
Now to the football.
No blueboy the umpires were very good today. I think probably the best we have had all year. They made a few mistakes
West were better on the day and Heights didn't get our running game going. We had about 10 players well below their best and overall played at about 60 % of our potential. I think the odds of that happening again would be slim.
Discipline with 2 send offs cost Heights. During the 30 minutes of the send offs West scored 6 goals then for the other 90 minutes of football scored only 7 goals.
Until today Heights have only played away from home twice in 4 months so the more we play away til finals the better.
[Remember sides learn heaps more from a loss than a win. To have so many players down and to lose by a small margin is encouraging. Also better to lose now than finals as to win would have meant a good chance of going through undefeated which with such a young side might not be too healthy for big heads and complacency.]
Well done to West Footscray enjoy your time in the sun. We will look forward to meeting again in the finals.
your second last part to your post is interesting........
so albanvale have lernt heaps since they lost to you guys.........3 on the trot.......:thumbsu: i dont think so.......in 1 way or another you are right though........hopefully....
you say 60% gee must have been frustrating to watch;)
al_smith07
23 Jun 2007, 23:07
The brain injury might explain why he was stupid enough to come out of his box poke his finger in someones face then throw a drink on him. Sunshine Heights don't condone violence but if he stayed where he was supposed to and didn't carry on like a typically West Foorscray hero then he might be less sore tonight. Guess he will remember his job in future and just do it. As GB50 said he was hit by someone more closely associated with west not a Heights person.
Also no one at Heights was told anything about not getting a game so get your facts right old man. Heights are better than most at going in for a drink win lose or draw.
Who cares about your nuffy presidents private crap. That doesn't give him excuse to abuse our female officials like a pig. Also he is an a r s e every time we see him so don't make excuses for him, he is always a dill.
Bomber stop talking s h i t, it's pretty bad when a coach doesn't even wear his club colours when he's coaching but shameful to tell your players not come in for a drink after the game, coaches attitude reflects on the players attitude, that's why you didn't get the job done. Your a coach on a saturday afternoon NOT a copper!
And finally for your poor excuse for a guy getting sticks and rocks thrown at him, you too would leave the box to stick up for himself, and if you didn't your a weak dog.
One last question where were all your guns today? and on honest point i picked heights to win by goals today GUESS i was wrong!!
borgsta2006
23 Jun 2007, 23:14
i wonder if ''BORGY'' the umpire will see this..........spoke to you after the game........????
9 out of ten but the other umpire to be honest hasnt got a clue i know he is learning but he has been learning for 4 or 5 years now and hasnt got any better.....and all the trouble last week ive herd was started by the same umpire and we got him again.........please explain.............
Weapons good to have a brief word with you after the game. The footy was good and all credit to both sides for a good hard physical game of clean footy.
I enjoyed the game. Thanks to both sides for their hospitality and to the Roadrunners for the drink afterwards. All the best for the season boys.
Borgy
w.weapons
23 Jun 2007, 23:19
Weapons good to have a brief word with you after the game. The footy was good and all credit to both sides for a good hard physical game of clean footy.
I enjoyed the game. Thanks to both sides for their hospitality and to the Roadrunners for the drink afterwards. All the best for the season boys.
Borgy
did you get dropped.........?
1st division umpire in div 2.......ive never seen 1 except for finals......
What about me?
23 Jun 2007, 23:41
good to see the WRFL executive at the west game today but noticed that when things got heated on the ground and in the crowd they did the phanton, vanished into thin air.
it was a tough game of football which is what you get with the two top teams, west seemed to be tougher at the ball and held their structure better.
in all cant wait come finals.
Albanvale 3 losses on the trot have the wheels come off.
borgsta2006
23 Jun 2007, 23:46
did you get dropped.........?
1st division umpire in div 2.......ive never seen 1 except for finals......
In a word no. 1st Division umpires have been coming into Div 2 all season mate. We all get our turn so we take the opportunity to hone our skills in I guess.
What about me?
23 Jun 2007, 23:47
We wont lose again to West thats 100%
why wont you lose to them again?
Bobby Skilton
23 Jun 2007, 23:53
[/i][/b]
why wont you lose to them again?
Because Harley the psychic dog told me we wont.
What about me?
24 Jun 2007, 00:00
did Dean "I've been everywhere man" Derich play for the Devils today can any one tell me as their are no scores or best players on the WRFL website
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 00:03
here's a tip
west...... premiers
heights .........r/u
just like last year d/p and glenorden.......
Bobby Skilton
24 Jun 2007, 00:09
here's a tip
west...... premiers
heights .........r/u
just like last year d/p and glenorden.......
Heres a tip. Heights wont lose to West again. Remember this post because I can guarantee it.
Crazy Monkey
24 Jun 2007, 00:25
The monkey watched Sunshine Heights and West Footscray today, along with every other man and his dog - dodging all the dog s h i t on the ground...
Must admit I have seen heights play a few times and it seemed that the heights players were a little flat today. Although when I say this, they did well to remain in the contest for most of the game.
I believe if they played anything like they have played in other weeks they would have beaten them quite easily. If West are that good then they should have beaten Heights by atleast 10 goals not 2 and a half.
Anyway, well done to West Footscray as you remain undefeated - but there is a lot of footy to be played yet!
Crazy Monkey
24 Jun 2007, 00:29
You obviously can't read very well because if you could you would see that the last two pages on here have been about all that.
I am a neutral supporter and I have been to the same amount of West games as Sunshine Heights and I can tell you that Sunshine Heights are a way better team than West!
Crazy Monkey
24 Jun 2007, 00:35
[quote=Bobby Skilton;7911592]
The ground is a disgrace as are the rooms as are the supporters.
I have to agree with you. The ground is a disgrace. Unfortunately I didn't have the priviledge of going into the rooms to check those out. As for the supporters.... they leave a little to be desired!
borntigerfan
24 Jun 2007, 00:51
How is Cam Saliba and Dave Innella going this year?
roosters44
24 Jun 2007, 00:53
Maybe you should have come in for a beer then, the last time i was at Heights there was 2 people in front of me at the bar and they made me line up on Glengala Road.....
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 01:13
That makes a lot of sense. I'l tell you what if you can't post something that makes any sense don't post at all peasant.
none of the heights people who have posted today have made sence......you included.........just face it.......you got beat by the better team..........and for them not to go in for a froffy..........thats terrible....and all the heights boys bagging my club for not going in for a froffy.....what a discrace...and all this stuff about heights not loosing to west again how do you know are you the 21 players that run out on a saturday......i think not......
how the wheel turns on big footy...........
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 01:18
[quote=Crazy Monkey;7912082]
Will agree with you about being a little flat. I think the big build up during the week might have zapped us a bit but we will be better for it.
I can tell you about the rooms, they are a disgrace small, grotty, a toilet with no door. Seriously a toilet with no door what sort of grotty pig of a club is this. Oh yeah just remembered a president standing at the door of his rooms surrounded by drunken yobbos yelling at the opposition as they walked off "f... off' Have a drink there are you joking. Where does their money go, not a cent on the rooms. Can't tell you much about the social rooms as the bar at Ainsworth was calling and we thought it best not to catch flees.
come on now td its a little petty bagging a club about their rooms/supporters when your rooms arnt much chop either like all in div 2.....and all supporters are passionate.......get over it........
and copping abuse comon are we grown men or just boys...... get fairdinkum.......
Guy Incognito III
24 Jun 2007, 01:20
none of the heights people who have posted today have made sence
Guy Incognito always makes sense to Guy Incognito.:cool:
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 01:37
yer yer yer
yes my club has been dissapointing and i havnt denied that but what i saw today hope we do make the finals and ruffle a few feathers.........:thumbsu:
complacency is already there you just cant see it yet........:thumbsu:
yer west are a good club and i like going for a beer there when im there and for people to bag their change rooms is terrible.........when their own arnt much chop.........players getting changed in the clubrooms proves that.....
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 01:40
dont rate deer park.......:confused:
thats good:thumbsu:
karim13
24 Jun 2007, 01:54
Albanvale 3 losses on the trot have the wheels come off.
we will come good champ just played a really really ordinary game our kicking at goal killed us, and to the falcons credit they played some good footy....
having played against west and heights i really didnt pick west to win but by the sounds of it they played pretty good, would have thought height hardness would of got the better of west.. ah footy is a great game gota love it any1 can win on the day....
just a lil tip lets all stop thinking theres only 3 teams in the comp, looks like deerpark have come good and u cant ride of nth footscray its really gona come down to wich team wonts it most not whos got the better team...
thats enough of me =)
Bobby Skilton
24 Jun 2007, 01:55
[quote=roosters44;7912448]
dont rate deer park.......:confused:
thats good:thumbsu:
Yes Deer Park are flying home from nowhere. You beat Nth Sunshine wow. You will end up 5th by default because there is no one else. Td don't think so champ. I know who you are and you would be no mate of mine I can guarantee it. Td has lower standards than me.
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 02:16
[quote=w.weapons;7912483]
Yes Deer Park are flying home from nowhere. You beat Nth Sunshine wow. You will end up 5th by default because there is no one else. Td don't think so champ. I know who you are and you would be no mate of mine I can guarantee it. Td has lower standards than me.
hard run home champ so im not counting the chickens before they hatch........and have said that from the start...........all the pressure is on heights now and we will see how they go..............and dont forget it......
im a good bloke but you just dont know it............
its good that you get all defencive of your club........cause it hurts when you LOOSE...........
Gemini17
24 Jun 2007, 04:50
Fact - WEST won this week
Fact - West have very good players to come back in but I'm not telling you who
Fact - West will go in and drink beer RAIN, HAIL OR SHINE. ABUSE OR NO ABUSE!
GoesBangFrom50
24 Jun 2007, 10:12
And forgot...
FACT - We$t Foot$cray were the better team on the day
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 12:21
FACT......west have more money
w.weapons
24 Jun 2007, 12:39
something to think about
the run home for some teams.......
heights,albanvale,nth sunshine have the eisiest run home
west has got a couple of what i call hard ones
deer park with west albanvale and heights in the last 3 games gonna be difficult to make it..........
easy_champ
24 Jun 2007, 13:55
Heres a tip. Heights wont lose to West again. Remember this post because I can guarantee it.
Come on mate, heights couldn't match up with them yesterday, wait till Evans and Innella come back, who is going to pick them up!! I know bomber said that your guns didn't fire but come on mate & on the grape vine I got the whisper that Cooky is signing with West on Monday night? any truth to that?
Bobby Skilton
24 Jun 2007, 14:49
Anyway Gemini, forgot to say hello to a guy I know at West. I think his nick name is mr potatoe head or elephant man and he usually watches the game from the box near the playground. Say hello for me.
red devil1
24 Jun 2007, 14:57
[quote=Gemini17;7912909]
You are so sneaky. You would make a great poker player. Oh sorry I forgot the wrfl website lists players that play each week so maybe I'll just log on and see Evans, Webster, and Innella didn't play. Why didn't you play Mil.
Before you reply to any posts grab a few drinks and skull them down. It will do you wonders as you already know.
Yeah Gemini fill us in on all the player movement news. I see Orchard has rejoined you from Avondale Heights. He is a handy, agressive little player. Did he play yesterday?
Congrats on the win. You are very tough to beat at home.
How about rating some of the match ups guys? Would have liked to have been there.
Who played on Ziggy, McGee and Laney?
What about Greto and Mallia? Was Mallia tagged? I wouldn't think so as am tipping West would back themselves to win.
red devil1
24 Jun 2007, 15:02
did Dean "I've been everywhere man" Derich play for the Devils today can any one tell me as their are no scores or best players on the WRFL website
Yeah Dean played in the magoos. He played well. Split a few packs and I think kicked 4. Braybrook reserves were very poor, but nevertheless he was impressive. Be interesting to see if he is selected for the Heights game. He has been training with the Devils for a few weeks so is likely to come under consideration.
We didn't play that well against Braybrook, but they have some impressive young runners. Stephen Pearce gave us some problems early and the ruckman plonked himself in the hole and we keep kicking it to him. You would think we would learn after making Skippy at Deer Park look good for the past few years....
Old man Craig Thompson was BOG and is hitting his straps nicely for the run home.
What about me?
24 Jun 2007, 15:41
[quote=red devil1;7914689]Yeah Dean played in the magoos. He played well. Split a few packs and I think kicked 4.
Thats good see, but from what I understand and by looking at the WRFL website he is yet to be cleared, does that mean you lose the points.
red devil1
24 Jun 2007, 15:46
[quote=red devil1;7914689]Yeah Dean played in the magoos. He played well. Split a few packs and I think kicked 4.
Thats good see, but from what I understand and by looking at the WRFL website he is yet to be cleared, does that mean you lose the points.
He wouldn't have played if he wasn't cleared brother. And unlike some clubs we don't play people under a pseudonym. Since when can you rely on the WRFL website for providing an up to date information service!
GoesBangFrom50
24 Jun 2007, 17:53
[quote=Tony Delaney;7914553]
I wouldn't think so as am tipping West would back themselves to win.
That's what u would think.... but they played a permanent loose man in the hole all day as well as another forward around the ball. Certainly tried to stop the run and closed the game down. worked well for them on that ground. The fact the Heights kicked to the loose man didn't help.
Maybe the Devils can try them tactics this week as they are the only tactics to have any success against the Dragons this year.
What about me?
25 Jun 2007, 10:15
[quote=red devil1;7914652]
Maybe the Devils can try them tactics this week as they are the only tactics to have any success against the Dragons this year.
at least the devils will go into the game with tactics, unlike heights from what i sore they have no tactics or structure on game day, how predictable were the heights kick ins same spot 90% of the time.
Even more predictable were the Roosters kick ins, short 20 mtr chip each time and no players picked up on that.
make note all who come against these two sides of the kickins in the first qtr as they will be the same for the rest of the game.
just plonk some one infront of Lane to cut off supply.
Play two on greto as their is no vision from players delivering the ball forward.
Albanvale drped 3 in a row both teams whats going on.
Brunswick power big win.
Western Magpies holding the ladder up
Deer Park watch out top 4 as I think they are the dark horse.
North Sunshine will stay just outside and miss out.
Wyndhamvale ?????
gladdy park, coburg districs, braybrook go on holidays.
west, heights, devils, albanvale thats how they will finish.
it will be a cracker of a finals series
enjoy the rest of the week im off on holidays look forward to the rubbish being posted about my comments.
good luck to all that are in the race.
GoesBangFrom50
25 Jun 2007, 10:29
[quote=GoesBangFrom50;7915862]
at least the devils will go into the game with tactics, unlike heights from what i sore they have no tactics or structure on game day, how predictable were the heights kick ins same spot 90% of the time.
Even more predictable were the Roosters kick ins, short 20 mtr chip each time and no players picked up on that.
make note all who come against these two sides of the kickins in the first qtr as they will be the same for the rest of the game.
just plonk some one infront of Lane to cut off supply.
Play two on greto as their is no vision from players delivering the ball forward.
Albanvale drped 3 in a row both teams whats going on.
Brunswick power big win.
Western Magpies holding the ladder up
Deer Park watch out top 4 as I think they are the dark horse.
North Sunshine will stay just outside and miss out.
Wyndhamvale ?????
gladdy park, coburg districs, braybrook go on holidays.
west, heights, devils, albanvale thats how they will finish.
it will be a cracker of a finals series
enjoy the rest of the week im off on holidays look forward to the rubbish being posted about my comments.
good luck to all that are in the race.
put 2 players on Greto :thumbsu:
put someone in the hole in front of Lane :thumbsu:
What an absolute visionary...You should apply for a job next year... with such forward thinking you're a cerainty. I'msure all coaches around the country will be employing tactics like this now that you have thought of them.:thumbsu:
footywife
25 Jun 2007, 11:23
You may be talking about the seniors but obviously not ur under 12 side down at west as they couldn't even shake hands after the game yesterday, i think that is discraful teaching your kids not to be good sports.
Tony Delaney
25 Jun 2007, 11:38
[quote=GoesBangFrom50;7915862]
[QUOTE]
unlike heights from what i sore they have no tactics or structure on game day, how predictable were the heights kick ins same spot 90% of the time.
Where exactly were you sore.
How many kick ins did you turn over. Stuff all so if it was so predictable why not.
Never seen that work on a big ground and always works better with send offs as well. And you are right vision was poor but this happens when you play in a comp with no pressure 9 weeks in a row players tended to rush more than we had to..
You must feel good West are 4 or 5 goals better off at home and you beat a side by 2 and a bit goals who had 2 send offs. How was the tide when numbers were even. Bring on September.
Son of T'D
25 Jun 2007, 12:48
You may be talking about the seniors but obviously not ur under 12 side down at west as they couldn't even shake hands after the game yesterday, i think that is discraful teaching your kids not to be good sports.
Is it true down at wests that you have spent too much dollars on your seniors this year and made the juniors suffer as on the weekend Wests under 10s turned up to the game and didnt have club jumpers so they ran around in the tops they already had on.What a DISGRACE To wests those children deserve better.And then you call Heights seniors a bunch of sooks and losers Have a look at your under 12s team they lost by a point to Heights under 12s that have scored a total of 25 points in 9 games then didnt want to shake hands.Thats what a call a sooks
easy_champ
25 Jun 2007, 13:16
FACT......west have more money
Good fact & if you look at first div, who are the teams that dominant? $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ yes, the cashed up ones!!
easy_champ
25 Jun 2007, 13:25
Not sure what game you were at, but i even seen injured players shaking hands and talking after the game!! The only thing i thought, was s h i t, was the behaviuour of both teams supporters!! Maybe, you were to shattered that you lost and didn't notice!! the players on both sides should hold there heads up!!
easy_champ
25 Jun 2007, 13:26
[quote=What about me?;7921509][quote=GoesBangFrom50;7915862]
Where exactly were you sore.
How many kick ins did you turn over. Stuff all so if it was so predictable why not.
Never seen that work on a big ground and always works better with send offs as well. And you are right vision was poor but this happens when you play in a comp with no pressure 9 weeks in a row players tended to rush more than we had to..
You must feel good West are 4 or 5 goals better off at home and you beat a side by 2 and a bit goals who had 2 send offs. How was the tide when numbers were even. Bring on September.
TD, any players missing from saturday?
footywife
25 Jun 2007, 13:44
[quote=footywife;7921815]
Not sure what game you were at, but i even seen injured players shaking hands and talking after the game!! The only thing i thought, was s h i t, was the behaviuour of both teams supporters!! Maybe, you were to shattered that you lost and didn't notice!! the players on both sides should hold there heads up!!
I don't think you read that post properly. I was talking about your under 12s not shaking hands and it was disgraful on west footscrays behalf.
typewriter
25 Jun 2007, 13:53
look i was an observer on saturday and what a great spectacle it was yes we were on the losing side but i thought it was fantastic to c 2 great teams battling it out. the game was played in great spirit and im sure if u ask the players theyr probably the sorest theyv been this year.
however it was ashame what happened to wests timekeeper but the guy that was ranting and raving at our female supporters demanding a name be mentioned was disgraceful i asked around the club what had happened and it was not a heights supporter.
also the gooses that were yelling abuse and booing our team off the ground was disgraceful once the final siren sounds everything should be forgotten and let go. i take the side of td and bangers here and not because we r all from heights but because if we did come into the rooms we would certanly have copped continued abuse ending in an ugly situation for both clubs to be in