View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2007, 13:08
WHO ARE YOU TO TELL ME WHAT TO DO???
Just trying to help you out my friend.... I know it must be hard to use the keyboard correctly with those swollen fingers that you have from your knuckles dragging on the ground all day :p
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2007, 13:18
FROM ALL OF THE BANGING YOU COP FROM BEHIND IT MUST BE GETTING TO YOU HEAD!!!
Mr Goose.... I think there is a thread for U16's.... why don't you get on that one and leave this one for the Big Boys. :D :D
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2007, 13:28
DO YOU CALL YOURSELF A BIGBOY DO YOU!!
IM SURE YOU LOVE THE BIGBOYS!!!
How come all of your posts have a homosexual angle on them?
Feel free to make a positive contribution to the thread any time now!
IAMAGUN
14 Aug 2007, 13:34
LISTEN MATE I WATCH ALOT OF WRFL FOOTY AND I CALL IT AS I SEE IT, IF YOU DONT LIKE MY COMMENTS THEN DONT REPLY TO THEM
mamamamarco
14 Aug 2007, 14:04
If you hit his son with a hip and shoulder, nothing will come of it. But if someone throws a punch...........goodnight!!!! Just ask 3 of the West Footscray boys they were tough hitting kids from behind and starting fights, a couple of them thought they could go a bit but that wasn't the case.
The fight between in the Albanvale and North game was nothing!!![/quote]
where not west remember that. We dont think that where tough but we also dont take a backward step.
Guy Incognito III
14 Aug 2007, 14:04
WHY WHO PUT AS A COACH "GAY INCOGNITO III"
Wow, you're astounding us all with your quick witty, insightful commentary. Keep up the good work, IAMA...! :thumbsd:
Bobby Skilton
14 Aug 2007, 14:06
Will you two clowns just PM each other and stop your childish posts to each other.
And IMAGUN I would like you to apologise for your behaviour on here.
Bobby Skilton
14 Aug 2007, 14:10
Can't wait until Saturday to see lightening smiling Teddy Richards in action on the big ground. He has been in fantastic touch of late and is capable of putting in a best on ground performance.
Bobby Skilton
14 Aug 2007, 14:20
[quote=sivart;8403750]
If you hit his son with a hip and shoulder, nothing will come of it. But if someone throws a punch...........goodnight!!!! Just ask 3 of the West Footscray boys they were tough hitting kids from behind and starting fights, a couple of them thought they could go a bit but that wasn't the case.
Say goodnight are you joking. The president looks like he is running around having a constant fit. I will ask the 3 West Footscray players, the same ones that don't have a mark on them. Look out porky Lucas it's going to be a long day if we meet.
DekkaRoo
14 Aug 2007, 14:59
My sources tell me that Laney from West has a knee injury, not an ankle injury as a few people on here have stipulated. People at West have been quoted as saying "Laney will be right for when we make the GF and in his absence Innella will play at Full Forward".
This is coming from a very reliable source!!!!
easy_champ
14 Aug 2007, 15:09
Only going by info from within West, that all knew he was injured and shouldn't have played, but did. I didn't make it up. And the ankle is not plural it's the right ankle.
Thanks teach BUT i was talking about both his ankles!!! Just like most people in this league b/c of our s h i t hard grounds!!!
easy_champ
14 Aug 2007, 15:10
Hey React, I understand the point your trying to make, but you have to remember that not everyone has the same ambitions. Sure turning down an AFL club is quite astounding, although I think Robbie knows it's too late to make AFL and if he was to leave for a higher level he might not enjoy his football as much if he was playing for a division 1 club over Sunshine Heights. Money only talks to some people.
Thanks React!!! I'm with you on that one!!
easy_champ
14 Aug 2007, 15:11
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU GET OLD
ITS TIME TO GIVE IT UP LANEY, YOUR FINISHED MATE, GO HOME ITS PASSED YOU
mmmm still has kicked 90 odd goals!!!! not bad for someone who has passed it!!!
RodneyEade
14 Aug 2007, 15:23
Can't wait until Saturday to see lightening smiling Teddy Richards in action on the big ground. He has been in fantastic touch of late and is capable of putting in a best on ground performance.
I agree with you there Bobby. Teddy on a big ground will be a great sight for all spectators. Teddy has developed into a solid senior player and I think is crucial to the Heights team. At the moment I'd class him as a 2nd tier player in the team although he's attack on the ball this season at times is first-class. Once he starts applying that attack week-in week-out he will no doubt be in the top tier of players down at Glengala.
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2007, 15:29
I agree with you there Bobby. Teddy on a big ground will be a great sight for all spectators. Teddy has developed into a solid senior player and I think is crucial to the Heights team. At the moment I'd class him as a 2nd tier player in the team although he's attack on the ball this season at times is first-class. Once he starts applying that attack week-in week-out he will no doubt be in the top tier of players down at Glengala.
Rocket, the young man in question used to be known as Teddy Richards.... back when he was only a battler. Now that he has established himself he has requested that he be referred to as FLAPPERMANIS from now on :thumbsu:
IAMAGUN
14 Aug 2007, 15:33
HE HAS KICKED 90 ODD GOALS AGAINST SHITE SIDES NOT GOOD ONES
AGAINST HEIGHTS HE KICKED 2
AGAINST COBRAS HE KICKED 3
DEVILS HE KICKED 3
AGAINST POWER 13 GOALS
MAGPIES 12 GOALS
GET MY POINT!!!
GoesBangFrom50
14 Aug 2007, 15:46
DEVILS HE KICKED 3
AGAINST POWER 13 GOALS
MAGPIES 12 GOALS
GET MY POINT!!!
Hey Goose Man
Try these out
North Foots 4 and 5
Albanvale 5
Heights 4
If ur gonna bag him at least get the facts right!!
IAMAGUN
14 Aug 2007, 15:54
Hey Goose Man
Try these out
North Foots 4 and 5
Albanvale 5
Heights 4
If ur gonna bag him at least get the facts right!!
ARE YOU STILL TALKING!!!
Tony Delaney
14 Aug 2007, 15:56
The guy is a legend of the wrfl 2nd division for good reason. IMAGUN how many times have you kicked 100 goals. Of course he gets more against crap teams it's only logical.
Is a huge loss to West if he is out until the grand final (if West make it). A player that has kicked the bulk of their goals for the last 3 years out is like ripping the heart out of the side. Other good players granted but a huge loss nonetheless.
RodneyEade
14 Aug 2007, 16:03
IMAGOOSE... I think ur Caps Lock is still stuck on....I'll give you a hand with that. It's the one that says "Caps Lock" on it. Why don't you try pressing it once :thumbsu:
Hey GoesBang, I don't think IAMAGOOSE got your lesson in turning the caps lock off. Do you think you could simplify it for him?
where not west remember that. We dont think that where tough but we also dont take a backward step.
Yeah thats a fair call. Sunshine Heights are always hard and not normally dirty. I don't think anyone has too much of a problem with as long as its fair and in the spirit of the game.
DekkaTwo
14 Aug 2007, 16:14
Seen my twin was on so a thought i would say hello to him.
Looking forward to training tonight, everyone grows an extra leg and gains a spring in there step this what we play footy for.
Hard night on thursday down here with the Devils got a full list to choose from, will be some disappointed guys who will be stiff to miss out.
As for the prez son doesnt ask for his old man to stick up for him, as someone said he gives and can take it. So whoever wants go after him, he wont care just play the ball and reap the rewards that comes his way.:)
DekkaRoo
14 Aug 2007, 16:31
Seen my twin was on so a thought i would say hello to him.
Looking forward to training tonight, everyone grows an extra leg and gains a spring in there step this what we play footy for.
Hard night on thursday down here with the Devils got a full list to choose from, will be some disappointed guys who will be stiff to miss out.
As for the prez son doesnt ask for his old man to stick up for him, as someone said he gives and can take it. So whoever wants go after him, he wont care just play the ball and reap the rewards that comes his way.:)
Who do you think is under the pump Dekkatwo??
PAUL3232
14 Aug 2007, 16:56
Who do you think is under the pump Dekkatwo??
Hey Rooboy Dekkatwo might after your spot, have youse found out who he is and Red Devil are yet.
And no its not me as Red Devil and React try to say it was.
Big Momma
14 Aug 2007, 19:43
Coburg District senior coach got on SEN tonight about 5.30 and had a big whinge about Deer Park making the finals due to the called off game between DP & West Footscray. Claimed CD were robbed of making finals and were a better team than Deer Park. SEN said they would contact the league asking for a response. Any thoughts?
BigD_Calhoon
14 Aug 2007, 20:31
Look the rule is indeed flawed and we have seen that in hindsight, but it had been put in place at the start of the season due to the predicted state of the ground and all teams played the season with the understanding that final positions could be decided by match ratio.
I do have sympathy for them as they did finish on the same points with a higher percentage which in any usual season would have them in the finals but my thoughts are they should accept the decision with some form of masculinity and use it as an incentive to go one better next season. Nothing can be changed now and to keep going on about it looks poor.
BTW: If they had beaten Deer Park (who they are better than apparently) in round 7 they would be playing finals. Bugger :o
Gallops
14 Aug 2007, 21:15
yep he is a champion.......1 thing though if u do win it and go up he wont be kicking many.........
yer 2 or 3 on him in the last but you guys let us in with a couple of easy ones in the end aswell..........
Settle down weapons, he is a very good division 2 player and would be a good A grade player but no champion.
No one running around in division 2 is a champion:confused:
Gallops
14 Aug 2007, 21:30
yep he is a champion.......1 thing though if u do win it and go up he wont be kicking many.........
yer 2 or 3 on him in the last but you guys let us in with a couple of easy ones in the end aswell..........
Bottom line is Coburg have finished on the same wins with better % and better results against the finals teams, thus should be playing finals. We all know that but the league and their match ratio system is a joke. End of story.
When Deer Park played Coburg who won?
That's the question you need to ask and the answer is Deer Park.
Leave it at that lads, i know i'm a few days behind work has been busy.
w.weapons
14 Aug 2007, 22:17
Settle down weapons, he is a very good division 2 player and would be a good A grade player but no champion.
No one running around in division 2 is a champion:confused:
have you ever played first division?????i would think not.........
you have your opinion i have mine so you settle down........
how are you coming along????
Hey Rooboy Dekkatwo might after your spot, have youse found out who he is and Red Devil are yet.
And no its not me as Red Devil and React try to say it was.
React! has the answers boys.
Red Devil is...............................................Clive Tait
Dekkatwo is..............................................Roy Bailey
Onto more important matters to do with finals...is Yarraville still a Tooheys venue or can a man buy a real beer there these days?
w.weapons
14 Aug 2007, 22:22
Coburg District senior coach got on SEN tonight about 5.30 and had a big whinge about Deer Park making the finals due to the called off game between DP & West Footscray. Claimed CD were robbed of making finals and were a better team than Deer Park. SEN said they would contact the league asking for a response. Any thoughts?
should have herd him...........hahahahahahaha carying on like a 2 bob watch........its done and dusted now cant change what has happened lets look at the positives that come out of it...........finals for d/p,back to back finals series for d/p,got the middle of the ground fixed.....just i would say......west have a week off as do d/p......
bring on sunday..........
w.weapons
14 Aug 2007, 22:24
Look the rule is indeed flawed and we have seen that in hindsight, but it had been put in place at the start of the season due to the predicted state of the ground and all teams played the season with the understanding that final positions could be decided by match ratio.
I do have sympathy for them as they did finish on the same points with a higher percentage which in any usual season would have them in the finals but my thoughts are they should accept the decision with some form of masculinity and use it as an incentive to go one better next season. Nothing can be changed now and to keep going on about it looks poor.
BTW: If they had beaten Deer Park (who they are better than apparently) in round 7 they would be playing finals. Bugger :o
couldnt have said it better myself bigD;)
lets move on from this 1..........
thesilkmeister
14 Aug 2007, 22:56
Onto more important matters to do with finals...is Yarraville still a Tooheys venue or can a man buy a real beer there these days?[/quote]
sorry mate - i think it's still crap beer.
Unless you wanna stop by earlier in the week and bury a slab or two of crownies behind the scoreboard.:)
should have herd him...........hahahahahahaha carying on like a 2 bob watch........its done and dusted now cant change what has happened lets look at the positives that come out of it...........finals for d/p,back to back finals series for d/p,got the middle of the ground fixed.....just i would say......west have a week off as do d/p......
bring on sunday..........
BOY YOU D/P BOYS ARE EASILY PLEASED AND BIG ON FACTS BUT DONT ACTUALLY LISTEN TO THEM WELL....HERE ARE A COUPLE OF REAL FACTS FOR YOU TO DIGEST #1 THE COACH NEVER EVER SAID THAT DISTRICTS WERE BETTER THAN D/PARK ....#2 THE POINTS & PERCENTAGE ACTUALLY SAYS THEY ARE..... #3 PUT YOURSELF IN THIER SHOES AND TELL ME HOW YOU WOULD FEEL. NO MATTER HOW YOU LOOK AT IT THE FINAL 5 THIS YEAR IS A TOTAL FARCE AND HAD THE GAME BEEN CALLED OFF DIDNT AFFECT THE FINAL 5 WHO WOULD CARE BUT IT HAS CAUSED AN UNEVEN AND VERY UNSAVOURY END TO THE SEASON FACE THAT FACT AT LEAST
BigD_Calhoon
14 Aug 2007, 23:23
BOY YOU D/P BOYS ARE EASILY PLEASED AND BIG ON FACTS BUT DONT ACTUALLY LISTEN TO THEM WELL....HERE ARE A COUPLE OF REAL FACTS FOR YOU TO DIGEST #1 THE COACH NEVER EVER SAID THAT DISTRICTS WERE BETTER THAN D/PARK ....#2 THE POINTS & PERCENTAGE ACTUALLY SAYS THEY ARE..... #3 PUT YOURSELF IN THIER SHOES AND TELL ME HOW YOU WOULD FEEL. NO MATTER HOW YOU LOOK AT IT THE FINAL 5 THIS YEAR IS A TOTAL FARCE AND HAD THE GAME BEEN CALLED OFF DIDNT AFFECT THE FINAL 5 WHO WOULD CARE BUT IT HAS CAUSED AN UNEVEN AND VERY UNSAVOURY END TO THE SEASON FACE THAT FACT AT LEAST
HOW THE HELL DO YOU TYPE WITH CLENCHED FISTS I JUST TRIED AND IT CAME OUT LIKE THIS
HJBUZASJKIASDJKISZD ASZS SZADJKISZAD ADZJKIUSDAKJLSFRDEKLM SADZKJLSADFKMJLSDFRESDF?"~!!~@!!@
HOW THE HELL DO YOU TYPE WITH CLENCHED FISTS I JUST TRIED AND IT CAME OUT LIKE THIS
HJBUZASJKIASDJKISZD ASZS SZADJKISZAD ADZJKIUSDAKJLSFRDEKLM SADZKJLSADFKMJLSDFRESDF?"~!!~@!!@
WHY WOULD I BE TYPING WITH CLENCHED FISTS BIG D ???????
BigD_Calhoon
14 Aug 2007, 23:48
You don't seem to be very happy.
ColeReserve
15 Aug 2007, 08:47
lets move on from this 1..........[/quote]
Agree....from District's point of view it left a bad taste to the end of the season - something any other team in the same position would be feeling -but whats done is done.
Good luck to all the teams in the finals may the best team prevail and more inportantly may the team that does prevail be in a position to go to 1st Division and survive.
easy_champ
15 Aug 2007, 10:46
DEVILS HE KICKED 3
AGAINST POWER 13 GOALS
MAGPIES 12 GOALS
GET MY POINT!!!
mmm i think you have you stats incorrect buddy, let me guess you looked at the WRFL website??? i whole world knows that is incorrect
easy_champ
15 Aug 2007, 11:03
I've got a thought, GET OVER IT!!!! the ground wasn't safe, simple as that, it was a major stuff up, simple as that. The DP and Braybrook game got moved, so maybe the league should have had a look at it in the morning or even the friday before the game, so a more suitable venue could have been found!!!! End of the day CD had a poor start to the year, which cost them in the long run! So know one should just blame one incident!
Tony Delaney
15 Aug 2007, 13:44
mmm i think you have you stats incorrect buddy, let me guess you looked at the WRFL website??? i whole world knows that is incorrect
Easy Champ
How devastated are West to Lose your number 1 goal kicker coming into finals. You can replace with Innella but he is no Steve Lane, he leads differently, isn't as quick, isn't as strong. It really must have knocked the wind out of your sails as I know it did for us last year when we lost Robbie and Budge. No one likes to see players go down and personally if we are going to beat you I would rather do it with him playing.
I think it's the biggest news of the year so far. I know he is saying he might get back for the grand final but the reality is his season could be over and West have to get there without him.
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2007, 14:00
Delaney... Heard a whisper that you and Harley the Dog are both in the senior squad for the finals series... can you confirm this?
easy_champ
15 Aug 2007, 16:17
Easy Champ
How devastated are West to Lose your number 1 goal kicker coming into finals. You can replace with Innella but he is no Steve Lane, he leads differently, isn't as quick, isn't as strong. It really must have knocked the wind out of your sails as I know it did for us last year when we lost Robbie and Budge. No one likes to see players go down and personally if we are going to beat you I would rather do it with him playing.
I think it's the biggest news of the year so far. I know he is saying he might get back for the grand final but the reality is his season could be over and West have to get there without him.
That could be reality and west may have to go on without him but let's hope he can get back and hopefully play in the GF (and hopefully a premiership!!!!) with his son Jamie, that would be a great way for a champ like laney to go out.
The thing for west they do have other options as you said with innella, west still have jamie lane, chicky and evans who can do some damage in the forward line.
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2007, 16:51
Not much action on here today... RedDevil are you hiding?
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 17:18
Now that the round by round season is over and is down to the business end,its time for the umpires to hand over the votes and to be all tallyed up for the comp b/f ,and what better bloke to start the predictions than yours truly 3 votes============it will be interesting to see who will actually win this,with so much talent running around in this divy 2 comp, i believe it wont come from the sides with the most talent but a side from either coburg or the falcons===========im tipping bunsworth might get up and take it out(but not by much) seen him in the best quite a few times and only missed a few games to tell.another which i found in the best a bit was jason diab from coburg,who could poll quite high.anyway thats my thoughts.does anyone have an insight on this subject,and please dont be too bias.(especially u heights and parkers guys,)
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2007, 17:23
1st Mallia 10 votes clear.... end of story
then....
Nicolaides, Mcghie, Hardaway
Guy Incognito III
15 Aug 2007, 17:25
...anyway thats my thoughts.does anyone have an insight on this subject,and please dont be too bias.(especially u heights and parkers guys,)
Only slightly biased because I've seen him play almost every week, but my money is still on M. Nicolaides (Heights). He's consistently impressive, plays in the middle so he's in the umpires' field of vision all day and has just the kind of disciplined, respectful attitude that the umps love. All he's missing is an afro or bleach job.:D
I rate him as a strong chance to win, but if he doesn't finish in the top ten, I'll be staggered. :cool:
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 17:31
I cant see any heights guys winning it due to the fact they have afew talented players but u will have a couple in the top ten, i see gb50 being a bit bias as him usual self====keep up the good work.
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2007, 17:35
I cant see any heights guys winning it due to the fact they have afew talented players but u will have a couple in the top ten, i see gb50 being a bit bias as him usual self====keep up the good work.
:thumbsu::thumbsu: Just calling it how I see it.
Why don't we just discuss who might come 2nd :D
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 17:43
Gb50 your a funny witty man u are=======must buy u a beer or two if he does actually win it. no point discussing 2nd place, u get no prizes for it and no one will remember who did after the vote count nite, due to being too intoxicated,but i do like the bunny`s chances anyway.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
15 Aug 2007, 17:51
Cam Saliba has signed along with dave innella bobby evans and a few other blokes from central altona and anakie in the GDFL Dave Innella and Stevie Lane are going to be hard to stop next year.
They would have to be favourites for next year without doubt.
My Ladder
West Footscray
Sunny Heights
Albanvale
Deer Park
North Footscray
Wyndham Vale
Braybrook
Coburg
Nth Sunshine
Gladstone Park
Western Magpies
Central Altona?????
Brunswick Power?????
Also can anyone confirm if its going to be top 5 or 8 this year?
I reckon thats about the best pre season prediction on here.... Ur the man Bob:thumbsu:
DekkaRoo
15 Aug 2007, 18:00
For an outside of a club, its very hard to nominate who might win. For spectators and players, you might only get to see the talent of opposition players once or twice a season. I guess thats why we always throw up name of people who are at the clubs we follow, as we see them play week in week out.
I think the question that needed to be asked is... "From your club, name a few of your better players who you believe may be in with a chance to take out this years league medal??".
That way we will end up with a list of better players from each club and I am sure a lot more discussion will come out of a few name that are put forward.
I'll begin with a few from North.
Ian "Scratcher" Allen... always in the play and stands out like dogs knacker. Racks up the possessions like no tomorrow.
A smokey might be Ross Hedley.... Old fella that may catch the eye of the umps and never misses a target.
Lastly Scott Elderidge.... has been our Best Forward all year and wil get a few votes, however I only think he is a chance for a top 10 finish.
I would have thrown Phillips in there for sure, but he missed plenty of footy early.
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 18:16
For an outside of a club, its very hard to nominate who might win. For spectator (and players), you might only get to see the talent of opposition players one or twice a season. I guess that why we always throw up name of people who are at the clubs we follow, as we see them play week in week out.
I think the question that needed to be asked is... "from your club, name a few of your better players who you believe may be in with a chance to take out this years league medal".
That way we will end up with a list of better players from each club and I am sure a lot more discussion will come out of a few name that are put forward.
Ian "Scratcher" Allen... always in the play and stands out like dogs knacker. Racks up the possessions like no tomorrow.
A smokey might be Ross Hedley.... Old fella that may catch the eye of the umps and never misses a target.
Lastly Scott Elderidge.... has been our Best Forward all year and wil get a few votes, however I only think he is a chance for a top 10 finish.
I would have thrown Phillips in there for sure, but he missed plenty of footy early.
thought in mind as well, that stuart devlin will be up there as well========has plenty of touch and the disposal is second to none (like in his hayday ways)...scotty eldridge just improves everyweek and could become a superstar, just like these heights players in years to come========lets here from these other clubs.
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 18:21
lets move on from this 1..........
Agree....from District's point of view it left a bad taste to the end of the season - something any other team in the same position would be feeling -but whats done is done.
Good luck to all the teams in the finals may the best team prevail and more inportantly may the team that does prevail be in a position to go to 1st Division and survive.[/quote]
well said i spose we will see you next year:thumbsu:
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 18:26
are you the coach????
i never said deer park were better than the districts.........
ive said before i would be shattered BUT i wouldnt have started all this mumble jumble that doesnt really matter.........
now if it was a top 8 youd be happy and looking to go into the second week........maybe it should have stayed the same.....after all it is div 2...
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 18:33
the sen thing was played again tonight with kevin hellier speaking out for the WRFL........he said the ground was unsafe to play and it was an agreement between west coach the deer park coach and the umpire's not to play........
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 18:36
the medal.........
bunworth from wyndamvale is always in the best........
mallia and greto will poll well maybe might take votes away from each other.....
i believe some 1 from the bottom 1/2 of the ladder will win it ...........who i couldnt tell you....
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 18:37
the sen thing was played again tonight with kevin hellier speaking out for the WRFL........he said the ground was unsafe to play and it was an agreement between west coach the deer park coach and the umpire's not to play........
crap=====it all just fitted all into place for both teams:confused:
3 votes
15 Aug 2007, 18:45
the medal.........
mallia and greto will poll well maybe might take votes away from each other.....
i believe some 1 from the bottom 1/2 of the ladder will win it ...........who i couldnt tell you....
might be on the money there weapons:thumbsu:======but teams need to win a couple of games to actually attract the votes,wont be good if u get beat by a fair margin.wont be getting votes on those games.
all-eyes-on-me
15 Aug 2007, 18:55
For an outside of a club, its very hard to nominate who might win. For spectators and players, you might only get to see the talent of opposition players once or twice a season. I guess thats why we always throw up name of people who are at the clubs we follow, as we see them play week in week out.
I think the question that needed to be asked is... "From your club, name a few of your better players who you believe may be in with a chance to take out this years league medal??".
come on mate you forgot the turtle!! not happy hahahaha
ColeReserve
15 Aug 2007, 19:02
the medal.........
Disagree there Weapons - believe you need to win your fair share of games to poll so I think the winner will come from a finals side. The guys I thought who played well against Districts and will poll well include:
Mallia from Heights
Blyth from Deer Park
Karim from Albanvale
Kadour & McGhee from West - though having played 2 less games won't help
Districts best hope for a top ten finish would be Joe Cali
Gallops
15 Aug 2007, 19:32
have you ever played first division?????i would think not.........
you have your opinion i have mine so you settle down........
how are you coming along????
Spent last night at the pools, hoping to train thursday and if i get through that i will play sunday. chances are i will be at an a grade club next year and look foward to it.
are you the coach????
i never said deer park were better than the districts.........
ive said before i would be shattered BUT i wouldnt have started all this mumble jumble that doesnt really matter.........
now if it was a top 8 youd be happy and looking to go into the second week........maybe it should have stayed the same.....after all it is div 2...
Weapons let me try to explain this one more time. On the day D/Park & W/Foots did not play because of the ground being unsafe these unusual things happened.....#1 reserves & u/18s both played on said unsafe ground......#2 that game is the only game in the state of victoria that was not played.....#3 only 2 teams in the comp benefit out of the outcome guess who.???.....and last but most importantly the comp officials would have known that the outcome of this farce was going to shape the finals 3 weeks before the end of the season so THEY really need to have a good look at themselves.Mate i hope u beat albanvale for brownie he's a great bloke.Last time you will hear a whinge from me about it but mate as you could imagine still really pissed off at districts. GOOD LUCK:thumbsu:
Tony Delaney
15 Aug 2007, 21:21
Delaney... Heard a whisper that you and Harley the Dog are both in the senior squad for the finals series... can you confirm this?
Yes TD is amongst the mix for finals football.
Comp b and f Mallia by 10 votes. On past years I think around 15 to 20 wins it Mallia should conservatively get 30.
Tony Delaney
15 Aug 2007, 21:25
That could be reality and west may have to go on without him but let's hope he can get back and hopefully play in the GF (and hopefully a premiership!!!!) with his son Jamie, that would be a great way for a champ like laney to go out.
The thing for west they do have other options as you said with innella, west still have jamie lane, chicky and evans who can do some damage in the forward line.
Don't tell me he is going to retire again. He started retiring in 2001.
Yes you do have good players but they are not the same as the number 1 forward in the comp over the last 3 years. They were playing anyway so without Laney they can't cover because they were already there. Like I said play it down all you like but it's a devastating blow to West as he kicks around 25 % of your goals and the structure is built around him and the way he plays.
red devil1
15 Aug 2007, 21:31
Not much action on here today... RedDevil are you hiding?
Just been busy at work GB50.
Couple of issues;
Laney won't be missed if Innella can kick his 3-4 goals per final and provide somewhat of a contest. Laney provides nothing other than goals. Realise that sounds silly but if Innella is in reasonable shape, then with a decent team he can still kick the necessary goals. It is not like Laney takes contested marks, tackles or gives goals off.
Mallia looks likely to be a hot favourite for the medal. McGhie would have to close from West.
Bit more even down at the Devils. We don't really have that many stars of note.
speculator
15 Aug 2007, 21:45
[quote=Tony Delaney;8420116]Don't tell me he is going to retire again. He started retiring in 2001.
My mail tells me that Mr Lane is preparing himself for next season.
I can guarentee that he will play for either Heights or West , which ever of the two that do not win the flag.
My tip for the medal what ever the name is is N Mallia or ......a hang out from North footscay.
Bomber to be named coach of the league by the WRFL, Heights to win the flag and merge with Deer Park and enter Div I.
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 23:10
[quote=Tony Delaney;8420116]Don't tell me he is going to retire again. He started retiring in 2001.
I can guarentee that he will play for either Heights or West , which ever of the two that do not win the flag.
My tip for the medal what ever the name is is N Mallia or ......a hang out from North footscay.
Bomber to be named coach of the league by the WRFL, Heights to win the flag and merge with Deer Park and enter Div I.
your right about about a merger but not with heights.....they wish.......will be interesting to hear the 5 year buisness plan put together by the incoming president...........had a little chat with him on sat and it sounds great..........we will have to wait n see..........
go the parkers...........
w.weapons
15 Aug 2007, 23:12
Weapons let me try to explain this one more time. On the day D/Park & W/Foots did not play because of the ground being unsafe these unusual things happened.....#1 reserves & u/18s both played on said unsafe ground......#2 that game is the only game in the state of victoria that was not played.....#3 only 2 teams in the comp benefit out of the outcome guess who.???.....and last but most importantly the comp officials would have known that the outcome of this farce was going to shape the finals 3 weeks before the end of the season so THEY really need to have a good look at themselves.Mate i hope u beat albanvale for brownie he's a great bloke.Last time you will hear a whinge from me about it but mate as you could imagine still really pissed off at districts. GOOD LUCK:thumbsu:
yes BROWNIE is a good bloke and if his body is right could be 1 of the differences on the week end.........
Tony Delaney
16 Aug 2007, 00:25
[quote=speculator;8420264]
your right about about a merger but not with heights.....they wish.......will be interesting to hear the 5 year buisness plan put together by the incoming president...........had a little chat with him on sat and it sounds great..........we will have to wait n see..........
go the parkers...........
McGoldrick would make a good President and Jamie Madigan coach, what do you think? Don't think you will merge with anyone.
By the way weapons when did UDL's come back in fashion. Probably have chico rolls in the canteen. lol
Tony Delaney
16 Aug 2007, 00:26
I was reading your post thinking how smarts this guy til I read the bit about the merger.
1st Mallia 10 votes clear.... end of story
then....
Nicolaides, Mcghie, Hardaway
And the winner is..........Stuart Devlin from North Footscray.
He is 5 times the player that McGhee, Mallia, Nicholidis or Gretto.
He has had an outstanding year and while all you Heights guys talk about your starts how many of them were drafted to the AFL??? none, they didnt even get a sniff. This guy was a top 10 AFL draft pick in the day kinda makes your guys look like very average players indeed.
DekkaRoo what about Stuart Devlin.............hes had a heap better season than the others mentioned
red devil1
16 Aug 2007, 08:40
DekkaRoo what about Stuart Devlin.............hes had a heap better season than the others mentioned
Devlin has had a top season but his first game wasn't until West Footscray. Is now in his 30's so not sure if he is at the level of the likes of Mallia, Gretto, Nicholaides cousins etc....or Bomber, the Jesus lookalike with the pony tail, Camma, Faisel etc...:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 10:09
Devlin has had a top season but his first game wasn't until West Footscray. Is now in his 30's so not sure if he is at the level of the likes of Mallia, Gretto, Nicholaides cousins etc....or Bomber, the Jesus lookalike with the pony tail, Camma, Faisel etc...:thumbsu:
He would probably squeeze into a back pocket at Heights :thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 10:17
And the winner is..........Stuart Devlin from North Footscray.
He is 5 times the player that McGhee, Mallia, Nicholidis or Gretto.
Stupid comment.... He may have been 10 years ago. On current form he is definatley in the top 10 or 15 players in the comp but to say he is 5 times better than the rest is just silly.
Yeah sorry guys I forgot that if you don't play @ Sunshine Heights in this league then your already judged to be 5 times less the player on BigFooty.
Question if Sunshine Heights are as good as everyone says on this site then why aren't you like Altona and Glenorden of previous years or West Footscray this year who have gone through the season undefeated???
Arrogance.........maybe???
DekkaRoo
16 Aug 2007, 11:12
Devlin is a great player and in my opinion if he was playing Div 1, he would be very handy. I am not saying that he is th best going around in Div 2, but he would surely be in my top 10.
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 11:18
Devlin is a great player and in my opinion if he was playing Div 1, he would be very handy. I am not saying that he is th best going around in Div 2, but he would surely be in my top 10.
Read Dekkaroos comments TRAVIS.... very similar to mine. Agred that he is ONE of the better players in the comp but no way is he 5 times better than the next best.
Why don't you get to the gmae on the weekend... u might see him and Mallia go head to head if Nth Foots have enough confidence in his ability :p
they play different positions
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 11:25
Has Devlin moved positions??? He seemed like a centremen to me?
Tony Delaney
16 Aug 2007, 11:28
Travis we all agree Devlin is a very good player. We see Mallia week in week out collect close to 50 possessions and take 20 marks. This is not an exaggeration. If Devlin has collected similar stats for 14 out of 17 games then he too may be a chance at the comp medal.
TruBlues
16 Aug 2007, 12:53
You obviously havnt been watching the top sides if you are calling the Top 5 a farce.
TruBlues
16 Aug 2007, 13:00
I've got a thought, GET OVER IT!!!! the ground wasn't safe, simple as that, it was a major stuff up, simple as that. The DP and Braybrook game got moved, so maybe the league should have had a look at it in the morning or even the friday before the game, so a more suitable venue could have been found!!!! End of the day CD had a poor start to the year, which cost them in the long run! So know one should just blame one incident!
I know everyone is probably over this issue, BUT, surely on the thursday night at training before deer parks game with west, they would have had a good idea the ground was going to be unsafe. So, why wasnt the league contacted to arrange the game be moved? Surely in this scenario (and its only a hypothetical question), deer park is at fault for not informing the league earlier of the grounds conditions. Im not saying they didnt inform the league, im asking the question.
I know this issue has dragged on, but sometimes curiosity can get the better of you.
typewriter
16 Aug 2007, 13:10
Yeah sorry guys I forgot that if you don't play @ Sunshine Heights in this league then your already judged to be 5 times less the player on BigFooty.
Question if Sunshine Heights are as good as everyone says on this site then why aren't you like Altona and Glenorden of previous years or West Footscray this year who have gone through the season undefeated???
Arrogance.........maybe???
being undefeated means jack s**t its over now a new season is about to begin and the team who wins on that sunday in 4 weeks time will be the ultimate bragger.
IAMAGUN
16 Aug 2007, 13:18
being undefeated means jack s**t its over now a new season is about to begin and the team who wins on that sunday in 4 weeks time will be the ultimate bragger.
THE BEST COMMENT IVE HEARD ON BIG FOOTY
RodneyEade
16 Aug 2007, 14:05
THE BEST COMMENT IVE HEARD ON BIG FOOTY
Good on you. Now please leave.
red devil1
16 Aug 2007, 14:09
Travis we all agree Devlin is a very good player. We see Mallia week in week out collect close to 50 possessions and take 20 marks. This is not an exaggeration. If Devlin has collected similar stats for 14 out of 17 games then he too may be a chance at the comp medal.
How do you know his name is Travis?
Devlin does not get anywhere near those stats and despite not being at his peak is a class act.
Who knows? Maybe they will go head to head?
Anyone else got an idea of likely match ups? Jamie Hallet to play on Greto.
IAMAGUN
16 Aug 2007, 14:10
Good on you. Now please leave.
LISTEN IF YOU HAVNT GOT ANYTHING GOOD TO SAY, THEN DONT SAY ANYTHING
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 14:12
Get real Devil.... Maczohan keeps him to no goals last time out and ur gonna play Jamie WHO on him?? :rolleyes::rolleyes:
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 14:13
Good advice... take it yourself :thumbsu:
Caps Lock is still on FOOL!!!
GoesBangFrom50
16 Aug 2007, 14:15
Harley the Dog to play on Williams ... Harley should have a fair idea about the style of play the Williams goes with (SHEEP DOG).
easy_champ
16 Aug 2007, 14:21
I know everyone is probably over this issue, BUT, surely on the thursday night at training before deer parks game with west, they would have had a good idea the ground was going to be unsafe. So, why wasnt the league contacted to arrange the game be moved? Surely in this scenario (and its only a hypothetical question), deer park is at fault for not informing the league earlier of the grounds conditions. Im not saying they didnt inform the league, im asking the question.
I know this issue has dragged on, but sometimes curiosity can get the better of you.
i know, but look at it this way, even if they did make it, and got past the mighty cobras, i couldn't see them getting any further into the finals and like DP, they would just be making up the numbers
typewriter
16 Aug 2007, 14:30
i would love to see two of the guns of the competetion play on eachtother in devlin and mallia as well as the veteran against the youngster scratcher on nicolaides in the middle would be awesome and eldridge and jumping jimmy weston battle it out on a flank if these were to eventuate it would make for an exciting afternoon.
IAMAGUN
16 Aug 2007, 14:32
Harley the Dog to play on Williams ... Harley should have a fair idea about the style of play the Williams goes with (SHEEP DOG).
SHUT UP MATE ALL YOU TALK ABOUT IS HEIGHTS
JUST WATCH THEM GET DONE THIS WEEK
RodneyEade
16 Aug 2007, 14:33
Going on that theory, what are you still doing here?
talk_of_the_town
16 Aug 2007, 14:45
SHUT UP MATE ALL YOU TALK ABOUT IS HEIGHTS
JUST WATCH THEM GET DONE THIS WEEK
of course you going to talk about his own side, what do you expect him to do talk up north and their chances this week.
im sure it is you who will be eating your words this weekend, so what will you be doing with your spare time on saturday buddy
[quote=DekkaRoo;8423053]Devlin is a great player and in my opinion if he was playing Div 1, he would be very handy.
If you are talking about the former Seddon Devlin, he was in thier best five or so when they were in Div one. Having said that they were way off the mark in relation to the rest of the comp. No doubt he was a good player at a higher levels years ago but age catches up with every one and at this stage of he's career I think he would struggle to be a "handy" player in Div one.
IAMAGUN
16 Aug 2007, 14:55
of course you going to talk about his own side, what do you expect him to do talk up north and their chances this week.
im sure it is you who will be eating your words this weekend, so what will you be doing with your spare time on saturday buddy
TALKING UP YOUR CHANCES IS ONE THING AND BEING ARROGANT IS ABOUT IT IS ANOTHER!!!
AND THATS EXACTLY WHAT HE IS ARROGANT
typewriter
16 Aug 2007, 14:57
who and when was devlin drafted to?
did he play any games there?