View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
SomeBodyStopMe
3 Sep 2007, 23:21
No credibility after that comment. How about someone from Div 1 that has seen any of these players play (maybe Obe1), tell us if they would get a game in a Div 1 side?
Mallia
Greto
M Nicolaides
N Caruana
M Roberson
could name more....
Here we go again, dude, i aint gonna ask any1 anything, ive watched enough divvy 2 games this year, believe me on that, how bout we ask me if they would get games in divvy 1....
Mallia = good footballer.......for DIVVY 2 and divvy 2 only
Greto = OK (at best) wouldnt get a kick against the 3rd or 4th best defender of each club in DIVVY 1
M Nicoladies = no clue who he is, every game of heights ive watched, he has been non existant (sorry i didnt watch the game against brunswick power to witness how good he actually is)
N Caruana = good tackler (TD's words, not mine) to me he is nuthing more than a midget who has a crack, no good to just have a crack in DIVVY 1
M Robrson = BIG CAT
and the "BIG CAT" comment goes for most of that squad u got going down there
any others u wanna add goesbang??
SomeBodyStopMe
3 Sep 2007, 23:27
All fair and reasonable comments.... backs up my point that SomebodyStopMe is a GOOSE. If you had seen N Caruana play I think you would also rate him a first division player. M Roberson was named in the VAFA B Grade team of the year last year so I am also sure he could play div 1:thumbsu:
B grade ametuers??? the A grade ametuers r half decent but r the biggest cats going around, wat does that tell u bout B grade, i wouldnt go bragging bout that dude, thats actually piss poor (unless he won the best in the comp, which i doubt he did)
Bobby Skilton
4 Sep 2007, 08:52
Here we go again, dude, i aint gonna ask any1 anything, ive watched enough divvy 2 games this year, believe me on that, how bout we ask me if they would get games in divvy 1....
Greto = OK (at best) wouldnt get a kick against the 3rd or 4th best defender of each club in DIVVY 1
M Nicoladies = no clue who he is, every game of heights ive watched, he has been non existant (sorry i didnt watch the game against brunswick power to witness how good he actually is)
N Caruana = good tackler (TD's words, not mine) to me he is nuthing more than a midget who has a crack, no good to just have a crack in DIVVY 1
M Robrson = BIG CAT
and the "BIG CAT" comment goes for most of that squad u got going down there
any others u wanna add goesbang??
You boast to have watched enough games of div 2 then back it up with rubbish.
Greto has kicked 100 goals and dishes off as many as he gives unlike most full forwards, but he is an ok players - your a clown.
Mallia is a gun and all of his opponents would agree too including West. He would dominate A1 as he does A2.
Matt Caruana is a great tackler not good and Nick Caruana is a good tackler also. You don't even know who is who.
Michael Nicholaides is a gun and was our second best player against West first time around so you didn't watch too closely. He had the flu first final but is raring to go this week. Come along and you will see the real Michael.
Matt Robbo a cat, your kidding. Maybe you meant he has sharp claws and is going to rip West apart.
As for others who could play A1's, Pante, S.Nicholaides, R Munn and many others but we will see more about that next year.
Somebodystopme you are just about in the same fool category as blue boy. Might see you at the football then it might be somebodystopme smacking you in the head in. I have a game to play though so little men like you drinking your beer wont interest me much on Sunday.
I have a game to play though so little men like you drinking your beer wont interest me much on Sunday.
If I can quote you from the Reserves forum that you posted last night
" you also put me under a lot of pressure with a terrible pass at one stage "
Unless your name is Boxy or Henderson or Damianou then you definently aint playing Seniors this week
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 09:41
B grade ametuers??? the A grade ametuers r half decent but r the biggest cats going around, wat does that tell u bout B grade, i wouldnt go bragging bout that dude, thats actually piss poor (unless he won the best in the comp, which i doubt he did)
Won't even bother with the other dribble on you preuvious post as the above quote is enough to prove that you don't have a clue about footy in general.... just curious as what level in the VAFA you think compares with Div 1 and Div 2?
SWANNEES
4 Sep 2007, 09:56
Greto has kicked 100 goals and dishes off as many as he gives unlike most full forwards, but he is an ok players - your a clown.
Mallia is a gun and all of his opponents would agree too including West. He would dominate A1 as he does A2.
Matt Caruana is a great tackler not good and Nick Caruana is a good tackler also. You don't even know who is who.
Michael Nicholaides is a gun and was our second best player against West first time around so you didn't watch too closely. He had the flu first final but is raring to go this week. Come along and you will see the real Michael.
Matt Robbo a cat, your kidding. Maybe you meant he has sharp claws and is going to rip West apart.
As for others who could play A1's, Pante, S.Nicholaides, R Munn and many others but we will see more about that next year.
Somebodystopme you are just about in the same fool category as blue boy. Might see you at the football then it might be somebodystopme smacking you in the head in. I have a game to play though so little men like you drinking your beer wont interest me much on Sunday.
munn tried years ago at hoppers unable to play a1 then but regardless of division played all of above should be tried at a1 before being bagged . good luck to both sides this weekend
RodneyEade
4 Sep 2007, 09:57
With that line there you have lost all creditability. You obviously have no idea about football and analyzing players. I didn't even bother to read what you said about the rest of the players. You are a dead set idiot.
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 10:08
Can't help myself.. have to have a crack back.... Facts are Greto was moved from on baller to full forward (changing on ball for about qtr a game) in 2004
2004 - 79 Goals
2005 - 82 Goals
2006 - 63 Goals (12 games)
2007 - 108 Goals (Not out)
He is still only 24 years old (although alot of people think he is 27 or 28)
In January if he walked in to ANY first Division club for pre season how many do you think would say NO THANKS???
I don't claim to be a MASTER recruiter but i would suggest that most DIV 1 teams would be fairly happy with that get
munn tried years ago at hoppers unable to play a1 then but regardless of division played all of above should be tried at a1 before being bagged . good luck to both sides this weekend
Munn was only 18/19 when he was at hoppers and i believe back then he was'nt strong enough or fit enough in the body to be playing ones but still played 6 or 7 games in the 1's.
And anyone calling M Roberson a cat has no idea about footy one of the most talented players i have ever played with its lucky for the comp he cant train because of work and would easily command a spot at a divy one club and michael nicholades played divy 1 last year for st albans after doing pre season at werribee absolute gun.
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 11:11
Alleyes... seen ur longed on so Mad Monday must be done and dusted.... ur thoughts on Sundays game?
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 11:14
SomeBodyStopMe and WEST 07... just wondering which one of you is Cam Saliba....
Blueboy16
4 Sep 2007, 11:20
You might find Cam Saliba's Alias is camsaliba....... Why dont you send him a PM GBF?
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 11:34
You might find Cam Saliba's Alias is camsaliba....... Why dont you send him a PM GBF?
funny thing that is... camsaliba user name vanished about a week or 2 ago... same time that West 07 and SomeBodyStopMe arrived :thumbsu:
all-eyes-on-me
4 Sep 2007, 12:28
Alleyes... seen ur longed on so Mad Monday must be done and dusted.... ur thoughts on Sundays game?
yeah mate was large day started sunday nite really for most. finished uearly this morning, look at the end of the day sunshine hights was the better team! they out classed us!! played cleaner footy and got the rewards for it!! north didnt play that bad no excuses this time round and wish you boys all the best next week!! good tuff honest game and thats the way it goes, the turtle will have to harden up next year and am alredy looking forward to a big preseason after a huge footy trip ofcourse!! hahaha go cairns 07! k gotta go drown my self in another beer!!! look out devils 08!! lol
Bobby Skilton
4 Sep 2007, 14:24
Speaking of pea hearted CATS.
How about the other coward at West the selfish one with the cheap tatoos, the one who likes a good battle, oh thats if the other guy isn't looking. So glad he will play because I will make sure he is looking when I run through him. Anyway he always finds a way to the bench when things get a bit tough, just a trait that he has.
Blueboy16
4 Sep 2007, 14:37
Speaking of pea hearted CATS.
How about the other coward at West the selfish one with the cheap tatoos, the one who likes a good battle, oh thats if the other guy isn't looking. So glad he will play because I will make sure he is looking when I run through him. Anyway he always finds a way to the bench when things get a bit tough, just a trait that he has.
Are you talking about the same CAT that gave Greto a BATH both times this season? BS stop taking your own bad performances and non selection in the seniors out on other people. Saliba would kill you if he matched up on you.
Kaz Wilson
4 Sep 2007, 15:26
Jesus H Christ
Can you tell its grand final week. I think everyone on here are forgetting where they currently are @ work!
But thats the beatical vision the creators of this forum had in mind, they foresaw a hub of literature where attitudes determine the outlook one has against another's beloved club.
All this talk about who can walk staright into an A1's squad, merely eats up the hours between the now and 2:10 Sunday Afternoon. however i am not above any of this
All the names mentioned above from the dragons have been and will continuely be chased from A1 clubs
eg. S, Nicholaides had a visit from the Albion pres as he sat there after the loss to wests.
They all know though that they won't need to go anywhere else to play A1's after this sunday :D
mamamamarco
4 Sep 2007, 15:41
Honestly who cares about A1's next year we will worry about that when it comes up. we have this player use have that player its all a load of S H I T. To all the west ppl out there be ready for a big game and dont expect a walk over like the last time we meet.
brains01
4 Sep 2007, 15:46
Munn was only 18/19 when he was at hoppers and i believe back then he was'nt strong enough or fit enough in the body to be playing ones but still played 6 or 7 games in the 1's.
And anyone calling M Roberson a cat has no idea about footy one of the most talented players i have ever played with its lucky for the comp he cant train because of work and would easily command a spot at a divy one club and michael nicholades played divy 1 last year for st albans after doing pre season at werribee absolute gun.
michael nicholadies did play at st albans last year and i hope for his sake that he has learnt how to keep his feet he was just in the ones at st albans someone who comes off the bench and he is supposed to be a gun at divvy 2 level should i have to say anymore about the difference between the two standards
GoesBangFrom50
4 Sep 2007, 16:03
Honestly who cares about A1's next year we will worry about that when it comes up. we have this player use have that player its all a load of S H I T. To all the west ppl out there be ready for a big game and dont expect a walk over like the last time we meet.
Good call mamamamamamamamarco (and Kaz)... its all crap just to pass the time before Sunday...... Ive almost had enough of the stirring myself.. Bottom line is that the Dragons are in with a chance of winning a flag with a playing budget of $0 and a club made up of blokes that just want to be there. Nobody thought we could get this far but we have.
That may not win us a game in Div one next year but who gives a CRAP.... Look out We$t your in for a fair dinkum game on Sunday. Good luck raising $40 000 next year to get another shot at it:thumbsd:
SomeBodyStopMe
4 Sep 2007, 16:05
easy dude, y the hostility??? am i not allowed to give my opinions on the players that were named?? gees, chill pill dude.....
anyways, 1stly i just wanna say (as he wasnt mentioned in the earlier post) but PANTE is the biggest CAT of them all, and when i say big, i mean HUGE, he couldnt get a kick in a street fight, but when u hang out, i guess something is bound to come ur way......
i wont go on bout the others as ive given my honest opinions, i couldnt give 2 hoots if u agree with em, obviously u wont coz ur part of the team and fair enough, but ill tell u now, i aint part of either team, but i enjoy watching the footy, and from wat ive seen, Heights got no chance wat so ever for reasons i have already mentioned......
let me tell u something, if every player on the list u named (and u have named a fair portion of them) r so called "guns", believe me it would be a 10 goal walk over for u guys, but obviously they arnt, so the sooner u realise that and get ur head out of their asses, the better dude......
p.s its the net dude, learn not to get violent and act all tough on it ;)
bigdog08
4 Sep 2007, 16:06
Its all well and good to tell the wests people that they shouldnt expect a walk over like last time, but you need to be able to back a statement like that up. Why shouldnt they expect a walk over (not that i hope there is one mind you a one point victory either way would suit me!) the last time you played wasnt 6 months ago so its not like you have done a massive amount of recruiting, it was two weeks ago and you got flogged so that is what we go on and not the fact that you can spruk on here. To all west and heights fans all the very best for monday morning because whichever way the result falls there is going to be a lot of sore heads in the western suburbs come monday!!!!:D:D
typewriter
4 Sep 2007, 16:10
michael nicholadies did play at st albans last year and i hope for his sake that he has learnt how to keep his feet he was just in the ones at st albans someone who comes off the bench and he is supposed to be a gun at divvy 2 level should i have to say anymore about the difference between the two standards
was he given an oppurtunity down there? i came down and saw a few practise games last year and he was clearly one of the best along with that pisani hack in the few games i saw, come the regular season used as a bench player and mainly used as a hb if im not mistaken. its also difficult for a quiet kid who has played at 1 club since he was 7 or 8 and played with the same blokes for 10 years to go down to a new club especially like a close knit group like st albans and fit in just because werribee told him 2. he has come back and enjoyed his footy again hence his rich vein of form this year.
the bloke also won the 18A bnf in 2005 with only 1 person getting within about 10 votes of him.
brains01
4 Sep 2007, 16:41
was he given an oppurtunity down there? i came down and saw a few practise games last year and he was clearly one of the best along with that pisani hack in the few games i saw, come the regular season used as a bench player and mainly used as a hb if im not mistaken. its also difficult for a quiet kid who has played at 1 club since he was 7 or 8 and played with the same blokes for 10 years to go down to a new club especially like a close knit group like st albans and fit in just because werribee told him 2. he has come back and enjoyed his footy again hence his rich vein of form this year.
the bloke also won the 18A bnf in 2005 with only 1 person getting within about 10 votes of him.
yeah you make a fair point we know he can play he was given a fair opportunity but he did have an injury interrupted season so its good to see that he has been injury free this year and i wish him the best for the weekend
on my opinion Lucas Mcghie is clearly the best footballer going around in divvy 2 when he is interested in playing
Tony Delaney
4 Sep 2007, 16:42
He was an 18 yo kid going to a new club and a fair team at that played seniors. In 2005 he won the leaugue best and fairest and about his 11th club one. I can tell you now he keeps his feet very well, is twice the player he was in 2005 and is twice as fit as he was then. He would play A1's at any club rest assured.
He is also a new player this week as he was sick against West last time, Roberson is new and Greto, Munn and Pante also had the flu that day so expect a lot healthier team this time around.
Tony Delaney
4 Sep 2007, 16:50
Its all well and good to tell the wests people that they shouldnt expect a walk over like last time, but you need to be able to back a statement like that up. Why shouldnt they expect a walk over (not that i hope there is one mind you a one point victory either way would suit me!) the last time you played wasnt 6 months ago so its not like you have done a massive amount of recruiting, it was two weeks ago and you got flogged so that is what we go on and not the fact that you can spruk on here. To all west and heights fans all the very best for monday morning because whichever way the result falls there is going to be a lot of sore heads in the western suburbs come monday!!!!:D:D
I will tell you why, we had 4 with the flu, 1 injured in the first 5 minutes, many had a down day and we still had 29 shots at goal only 7 less than West. We all know scoreboard pressure is big, if we kicked straight in the first we could have been 3 or 4 goals up. If we kick straight in the 3rd instead of 9 points straight we could have pegged the difference and built a lead. Wasn't to be however.
On top of that we have a fair understanding of what West think of us, tactics etc as Cam Saliba tells everyone and his words were exact once we played.
West are favourites but football is a funny game, grand finals are different again to other finals, West don't have the grand final experience either so all is square and all in readiness. I understand West would have confidence having been undefeated but I think all at West know that either time we played with a bit of luck we could have knocked them off.
It's actually a great feeling at Heights at the moment going out to play with 100 % of the pressure on the other side. Everyone is as relaxed as can be and we know when people play sports at their best. When they just go out to enjoy it and do their best, not when they are up their waiting to be knocked off after being undefeated all year. I bet West are not as relaxed as us.
Tony Delaney
4 Sep 2007, 16:52
easy dude, y the hostility??? am i not allowed to give my opinions on the players that were named?? gees, chill pill dude.....
anyways, 1stly i just wanna say (as he wasnt mentioned in the earlier post) but PANTE is the biggest CAT of them all, and when i say big, i mean HUGE, he couldnt get a kick in a street fight, but when u hang out, i guess something is bound to come ur way......
i wont go on bout the others as ive given my honest opinions, i couldnt give 2 hoots if u agree with em, obviously u wont coz ur part of the team and fair enough, but ill tell u now, i aint part of either team, but i enjoy watching the footy, and from wat ive seen, Heights got no chance wat so ever for reasons i have already mentioned......
let me tell u something, if every player on the list u named (and u have named a fair portion of them) r so called "guns", believe me it would be a 10 goal walk over for u guys, but obviously they arnt, so the sooner u realise that and get ur head out of their asses, the better dude......
Stay tuned
Roosters_2007
4 Sep 2007, 17:01
Have heard even if Heights win this weekend that majority of the players want the coach gone.
Overheard many of the Sooky reserve players whinge about what a tosser the coach is.
Blueboy16
4 Sep 2007, 17:01
Excuses Excuses Excuses TD. Do you know why you didn't kick straight? It's called pressure. Your players couldn't perform under pressure in a big situation or when the game was up for the taking...... You can't teach that as a coach so unfortunely if the same pressure is applied, your players will react the same way.
Have heard even if Heights win this weekend that majority of the players want the coach gone.
Overheard many of the Sooky reserve players whinge about what a tosser the coach is.
Mr Saliba how you goin you havent changed mate still a shit stirrer i cant talk for the twos players but i can guarantee that we are all 100% behind Bomber and cant wait until Sunday night when we are holding that cup aloft after West have chocked.
Roosters_2007
4 Sep 2007, 17:30
Mr Saliba how you goin you havent changed mate still a shit stirrer i cant talk for the twos players but i can guarantee that we are all 100% behind Bomber and cant wait until Sunday night when we are holding that cup aloft after West have chocked.
No Idea who that is but keep dreaming. Again not what I heard
Tony Delaney
4 Sep 2007, 17:54
I will correct you, you overheard a couple of reserve players possibly disgruntled. I think Bomber could be called many things but tosser is not one of them so pull your head in.
I understand Bomber has an indefinite contract. Good coaches are hard to find especially ones that don't grunt and drag their knuckles on the ground.
Not sure of you being Saliba but he is on here. Tell us Cam 4 clubs in 4 years where to next. Says a lot about the individual I think. Not too popular at Centrals I understand too much partying before a game, couldn't even stay home before a final such is your intelligence. Make sure you play on Robbie again little man and some advice stop ringing up Heights players it makes you look like a scared little boy.
i love this keep it up boys makes great reading :thumbsu:
hard tip this week i want heights to win but after seeing west in the 1st final they looked pretty dam good... both side r pretty good but i think west r a class above the rest but hey it all comes at a cost 40k in fact lol
td i was impressed last week with munn the kid can play and my mate nazz was solid all day, i rekon leroy had a good game as well.. first time i really seen number 6 play and gota agree he goes alright theres just 1 player i dont rate in ur side and that number 47. good luck mate hope u knock west off just so i can bag the folki brothers lol
i rekon u play mallia on ziggy, not a tag just let em go head to head would b a good clash between 2 guns...
Albanvale 2nds r in the granny, hope they knock west off as well :thumbsu:
I will tell you why, we had 4 with the flu, 1 injured in the first 5 minutes, many had a down day and we still had 29 shots at goal only 7 less than West. We all know scoreboard pressure is big, if we kicked straight in the first we could have been 3 or 4 goals up. If we kick straight in the 3rd instead of 9 points straight we could have pegged the difference and built a lead. Wasn't to be however.
On top of that we have a fair understanding of what West think of us, tactics etc as Cam Saliba tells everyone and his words were exact once we played.
West are favourites but football is a funny game, grand finals are different again to other finals, West don't have the grand final experience either so all is square and all in readiness. I understand West would have confidence having been undefeated but I think all at West know that either time we played with a bit of luck we could have knocked them off.
It's actually a great feeling at Heights at the moment going out to play with 100 % of the pressure on the other side. Everyone is as relaxed as can be and we know when people play sports at their best. When they just go out to enjoy it and do their best, not when they are up their waiting to be knocked off after being undefeated all year. I bet West are not as relaxed as us.
West are actually VERY relaxed and pumped and ready to go in the big 1..... I was at the club last night watching training and the mood is very possitive (as you would expect). We realise that even tho its the GF at the end of the day its just another game of footy..... and they'll be playing the same way they've played ALL season and I expect we'll have the same result we've had ALL year.
All your talk about 29 shots on goal is't something I would be saying out load because 20 of those 29 shots were behinds.... West also kicked 20 behinds in that game but U know what the biggest difference was? West had 16 goals (without Lane)to go along with those 20 behinds where Heights only managed 9 and only 1 of those from Greto.
Honestly I give you guys a lot of credit for being so confident however I also think you should be alittle carefull how much you do say so you dont look so idiotic after West win the game.
"Go Roosters"
red devil1
4 Sep 2007, 19:49
Relax. No need to have defend yourself.
red devil1
4 Sep 2007, 19:53
i love this keep it up boys makes great reading :thumbsu:
hard tip this week i want heights to win but after seeing west in the 1st final they looked pretty dam good... both side r pretty good but i think west r a class above the rest but hey it all comes at a cost 40k in fact lol
td i was impressed last week with munn the kid can play and my mate nazz was solid all day, i rekon leroy had a good game as well.. first time i really seen number 6 play and gota agree he goes alright theres just 1 player i dont rate in ur side and that number 47. good luck mate hope u knock west off just so i can bag the folki brothers lol
i rekon u play mallia on ziggy, not a tag just let em go head to head would b a good clash between 2 guns...
Albanvale 2nds r in the granny, hope they knock west off as well :thumbsu:
I agree Karim. Mallia V Ziggy would be a fantastic duel but Heights won't risk it.
Good call on 47. He runs like he has a stick up his arse.
So any changes this week Heights' boys? Who is out for S.Nicholaides? Top bloke Faisel but I reckon he might be in trouble....
What is the latest on Steve Lane? I spotted him up close on Sunday and he was definitely limping.
al_smith07
4 Sep 2007, 20:06
bumped into bobby evans in altona today he was walking with a limp, said he tweaked a hammy and wont know if he will be playing this week, if he doesnt train thursday will not play
w.weapons
4 Sep 2007, 21:12
i wanna see mallia on mghee..........as heights dont have the talls to cover him.......mallia has the leap to go with him.........
west by 60 points still......cant see heights beating them......
cam if you are on here send me a p.m you will be suprised who i am buddy.....
w.weapons
4 Sep 2007, 21:17
its gonna be a small crowd on the week end with the equine flu going around all the trainers have to stay at home........
long and direct
4 Sep 2007, 22:33
have you considered being a comedian? Your Coaching is terrible.
And it will show again this week when you have no answers to the onslaught
are you joking, bomber is the best coach i have played under. you have no clue buddy. heights all the way this week. go dragons.
Tony Delaney
4 Sep 2007, 22:48
Hey SomeBodyStopMe I am curious how you saw a lot of division two football when your skinny little frame was running around getting thumped every week with Parkside. Your credibility is non existant now not that you had any.
Pity we won't meet in division 2 next year but at least you will get to play against your friend Ziggy. If you wonder who gave you up speak to Cam Saliba. I wouldn't give him any game plans before Sunday as he tells everyone everything.
w.weapons
4 Sep 2007, 22:58
HERD SCORDO WILL BE UMPIRING THE GRANNY.........LOOKOUT HEIGHTS....
na goodluck to bomber and bones should be an enthrawling contest wouldnt miss it even if it was the missus b,day id sneak out for a couple of hours.......lol
may the best team win and who wins i dont care i know 1 of them will...
w.weapons
4 Sep 2007, 23:04
you come on here in the last week of footy speaking like your an afl star............................DUDE.........
DUDE....DUDE...DUDE....DUDE....get a word thats not from the 80's dude...you can tell you were a follower of the teenage mutant ninja turtles DUDE........no 1 on here gives a rats arse about honest opinions its grand final week and its on for young and old..........thats how we like it....if u dont ......dont post.........believe that........;)
Bobby Skilton
4 Sep 2007, 23:11
I agree Karim. Mallia V Ziggy would be a fantastic duel but Heights won't risk it.
Good call on 47. He runs like he has a stick up his arse.
So any changes this week Heights' boys? Who is out for S.Nicholaides? Top bloke Faisel but I reckon he might be in trouble....
What is the latest on Steve Lane? I spotted him up close on Sunday and he was definitely limping.
Hey red devil don't get brave all of a sudden. My boy 47 is a yound kid who has had an amazing year. He is super quick and evasive. Have a look at him Sunday when you are on the other side of the fence. How do you run red devil because in football circles you are known as 'the penguin' for the way you walk/waddle.
Tony Delaney
5 Sep 2007, 00:14
[quote=West_07;8639269]West are actually VERY relaxed and pumped and ready to go in the big 1..... I was at the club last night watching training and the mood is very possitive (as you would expect). We realise that even tho its the GF at the end of the day its just another game of footy..... and they'll be playing the same way they've played ALL season and I expect we'll have the same result we've had ALL year.
All your talk about 29 shots on goal is't something I would be saying out load because 20 of those 29 shots were behinds.... West also kicked 20 behinds in that game but U know what the biggest difference was? West had 16 goals (without Lane)to go along with those 20 behinds where Heights only managed 9 and only 1 of those from Greto.
Go ahead and play like it's another game because it is not it's a grand final.
Have you considered that if we had have kicked as accurately as we have all year then we would have won the game. West missed goals too but not as many easy ones as Heights. Our forwards have practiced flat out since then so it doesn't happen again but we all know those days sometimes happen.
Do you think an unfit Lane will be an improvment. I know he won't but good work putting a fit player out for him.
Do you think you will be able to keep Robbie minus the flu to 1 goal again, good luck.
hustle and ball
5 Sep 2007, 00:38
the last couple of years glenorden n altona have gone underfeated n won so havin a couple of weeks off seems to be a good preparation not bad like some are suggestin, n the difference is if u keep mallia n greto quiet hts r finished but west have too many u have to keep quiet 2 beat
GoesBangFrom50
5 Sep 2007, 09:39
the difference is if u keep mallia n greto quiet hts r finished but west have too many u have to keep quiet 2 beat
I disagree with Heights only having 2 good players but I have argued that point a number of times and I guess that every one has different views.
I am interested to know who are the "too many" players that WE$T have that need to be stopped. Sure they have an EVEN team but in reality how many GUNS do they have. I would say 2. Ziggy and Mcghie. Who are the other players that need to be stopped?
You might put Lane in as well but on one leg he will hardly be a force. Evan Henry is a quality player as well. Happy to hear others thoughts on who We$t$ other star players are??
bigdog08
5 Sep 2007, 10:32
Just wondering from any wests blokes out there, how will webby go in the club b n f, three in a row would be quite a feat. Or will chickie finally get up and snatch one. Finished runner up the 3 years i was there and as much as people call him a muppet on here you could not have found a more humble runner up. First bloke to buy the winner a beer.:thumbsu:
Blueboy16
5 Sep 2007, 10:48
Just wondering from any wests blokes out there, how will webby go in the club b n f, three in a row would be quite a feat. Or will chickie finally get up and snatch one. Finished runner up the 3 years i was there and as much as people call him a muppet on here you could not have found a more humble runner up. First bloke to buy the winner a beer.:thumbsu:
Club B&F done weeks ago. McGhie won by a country mile.....
bigdog08
5 Sep 2007, 10:57
Club B&F done weeks ago. McGhie won by a country mile.....
cheers mate. Howd was webby's year didnt get down to watch many games this year as i was playing aswell. Ill be there sunday though as we were knocked out last sunday.
Blueboy16
5 Sep 2007, 11:35
cheers mate. Howd was webby's year didnt get down to watch many games this year as i was playing aswell. Ill be there sunday though as we were knocked out last sunday.
Played some very good footy. Chickey had a stand out year though.
West will criuse to victory on Sunday Chicky will be BOG. Should never have gone down to 2nd Division held back his footy. But showed great loyality to his Dad. Is it possible that Bobby Evans who was once a good Div 1 player can actually get through a game without getting injured. I remember him at Altona and Seddon, then showed nothing once he went into a quality team at St Albans!
easy_champ
5 Sep 2007, 13:58
West will criuse to victory on Sunday Chicky will be BOG. Should never have gone down to 2nd Division held back his footy. But showed great loyality to his Dad. Is it possible that Bobby Evans who was once a good Div 1 player can actually get through a game without getting injured. I remember him at Altona and Seddon, then showed nothing once he went into a quality team at St Albans!
I think the old "injuries" have finished bobby off, but will he even get up. Al_Smith said that he seen him limping around altona, so he may already be done! :(
GoesBangFrom50
5 Sep 2007, 15:02
Colereserve.. .u have been on here all week but have not thrown in your 2 cents yet... any contributions?
ColeReserve
5 Sep 2007, 15:13
Colereserve.. .u have been on here all week but have not thrown in your 2 cents yet... any contributions?
a few people should take note of Div 1 threads by Rock - he talks up his side without neccesarily disrespecting or giving his opponents any ammunition.
The 2 best sides in Division 2 have made it through to the main dance - good luck to them both ....... I gotta a feeling the side that does win will be the side that respects their opponents more........after all anybody can run off at the mouth....actions speak louder.
GoesBangFrom50
5 Sep 2007, 15:17
a few people should take note of Div 1 threads by Rock - he talks up his side without neccesarily disrespecting or giving his opponents any ammunition.
The 2 best sides in Division 2 have made it through to the main dance - good luck to them both ....... I gotta a feeling the side that does win will be the side that respects their opponents more........after all anybody can run off at the mouth....actions speak louder.
Very fair and thoughtful comments.... but respecting opponents on match day is different to respecting them on Big Footy. If opposition are using stuff written on here to fire them up they are in a bit of strife
Big Footy is just to pass the time and stir up some crap :thumbsu:
ColeReserve
5 Sep 2007, 15:18
Very fair and thoughtful comments.... but respecting opponents on match day is different to respecting them on Big Footy. If opposition are using stuff written on here to fire them up they are in a bit of strife
Big Footy is just to pass the time and stir up some crap :thumbsu:
Very true ....it does make for good reading at work
ColeReserve
5 Sep 2007, 15:22
Anyways back to footy......... seems I was under the impression the Div 2 team of the year was generally named without much feedback from Clubs but Mr Thoms & Hillier have been doing a ring around to gauge support/identify who should be in it.
Tony Delaney
5 Sep 2007, 15:25
[Are heights the new collingwood of finals footy every year they get the woobels yet again on satday i reckon the roosters wil win on the weekend red devil im on boared its taken me 20 weeks but uve got there well done dealt u would have beaten coburg if we werent in a league of cheates. Hopefuly the heights boys will have some excuses on y they didnt win on the weekend cause its great reading well worth a laugh TD:thumbsu:
Anything to add now big mouth hammertigers. We are playing our fourth final this year on Sunday after winning twice against a side that beat us during the year. Hardly call that the wobbles. You have played 2 finals in about 10 years. Anything to say. Come along Sunday closest you will ever get to a good side and even if you ever ended up with a good side there wouldn't be much chance of getting a game from what I have seen of you.
Guy Incognito III
5 Sep 2007, 15:46
Getting back to the game at hand, gentlemen, has anyone else had a look at the weather reports? What effect do you think afternoon showers would have on each of these sides. At first glance, I'd have thought that it would bring the game back down to ground level, largely negating West's advantage in the height department.
It's pretty hard to take a tall pack mark with a soapy, slippery ball. The question: if we find ourselves in a shower, who's going to drop the soap first? :cool:
bigdog08
5 Sep 2007, 16:16
Getting back to the game at hand, gentlemen, has anyone else had a look at the weather reports? What effect do you think afternoon showers would have on each of these sides. At first glance, I'd have thought that it would bring the game back down to ground level, largely negating West's advantage in the height department.
It's pretty hard to take a tall pack mark with a soapy, slippery ball. The question: if we find ourselves in a shower, who's going to drop the soap first? :cool:
I think they just say "chance of showers" to get everybodies hopes up cant see it raining.:) Would make for interesting viewing though. Wouldnt be many teams this year that have played in wet wheather footy, i mean really wet, raining cats and dogs wet. Ive come away with more grass burns than frostbite:thumbsu:
Roosters_2007
5 Sep 2007, 16:20
Last nights training at Heights was practicing their Rain dance
They know this is the only way they might have a chance.
SomeBodyStopMe
5 Sep 2007, 16:56
Yeah must have got you wrong - NOT.
Anyway how is Ziggys best mate Mohammed Abou Zeid going at Parkside (sorry if the spelling is wrong). Tell us a little about him SomeBodyStopMe. What do you think of him. Is he a good player. Is he good on a computer. Never said you were friends with Saliba as far as I understand he would struggle to have a friend . I said that he talks a lot as everyone knows. eg how is Dasha's ribs going, the guy can't shut up.
You were right about the kids part, reading your posts you sound like a 15 yo kid trying to be cool. Your police jokes are hilarious keep them up.
Bring on Sunday.
hahahaha, u seem to be a bit of a name dropper there TD, learn that from ur line of work did u???
not a good idea to start dropping names though TD, as thats the 4th person uve have thought me to be, but let me assure u, u r rong on all of them, and im sure some ppl dont like their name being used on the net for no reason so u should realli stop with the investigative crap ;)
well im glad that a 15 yr olds replies is attracting so much attention from u TD, i feel priverliged, but let me tell u, u got more important things to worry bout, like TRY to win a premiership on the weekend.......
brains01
5 Sep 2007, 17:03
Last nights training at Heights was practicing their Rain dance
They know this is the only way they might have a chance.
i hope it doesn't rain on sunday from a supporters point of view because there isn't much shelter at chirnside park.
also Bobby Evans will not play on the weekend and they havnt made a decision on Stevie Lane as of yet
GoesBangFrom50
5 Sep 2007, 17:13
i hope it doesn't rain on sunday from a supporters point of view because there isn't much shelter at chirnside park.
also Bobby Evans will not play on the weekend and they havnt made a decision on Stevie Lane as of yet
Lane will Roll onto the ground in a wheel chair if he has to... expect Lane, Evans and Evan Henry all to play!!! as well as Dasher with his bruised (and soon to be broken ) Ribs:thumbsu:
Father of TD
5 Sep 2007, 18:04
Your super tough GBF. Are you going to get out there and break the ribs are you?
Lane & Evans wont play, Henry IN, Pinney IN
I hope all these has beens play on Sunday
RodneyEade
5 Sep 2007, 19:25
If you actually spent more time coaching your team then worrying about peoples opinions on BigFooty your team might actually get within 5 goals.
Sorry I forgot TD and GBF50 run this forum, Any minute now I'll be called a
Goose or Chump or something else to bignote themselves
GO WESTS!
TD, GoesBang I have a sneaky suspicion that all these West supporters (who have just appeared out of no where) won't be seen from sunday onwards.
Not that we would even realise as I'm sure we'll be to busy celebrating at Ainsworth Res.
GO HEIGHTS
just a random fact.. james hird and stewart devlin were drafted the same year stewart devlin went at number 5 to geelong hird at 79 to the bombers.. f#@k he must have been a gun, thats a fair effort..
GoesBangFrom50
5 Sep 2007, 19:53
just a random fact.. james hird and stewart devlin were drafted the same year stewart devlin went at number 5 to geelong hird at 79 to the bombers.. f#@k he must have been a gun, thats a fair effort..
Still a good outside player now:thumbsu:
Crazy Monkey
5 Sep 2007, 20:14
Interesting how all these half wits come out of hiding in the lead up to the grand final. Where have you been all season? Pretty shameful to sign up to big footy in September. Isn't it? Obviously concentraing on your football prior to that!
Roosters_2007
5 Sep 2007, 20:59
Heres a tip. Heights wont lose to West again. Remember this post because I can guarantee it.
Hmmmmm!!!!!!
WDCAcricketer
5 Sep 2007, 21:18
Good luck to West Footscray in the granny, a big group of us will be heading to the ground after preseason cricket training in the morning.
Should be a cracker of a game.
Well done to both teams making it to the granny. Best of luck!
w.weapons
5 Sep 2007, 21:35
yup a big group of us will be there too........
lets hope it doesnt rain cause the froffies dont go down as well when its wet.......bring on the sunshine and the froffies...........
red devil1
5 Sep 2007, 21:44
Still a good outside player now:thumbsu:
Not that I should have to defend him GB50 but that is the second time you have either stated or intimated that Devlin is a sheep dog. He has had no mobility for the past 4-5 weeks due a bad hamstring. That is why he missed the final H&A game against Albanvale. He tried to play on the ball in the first final, but had no mobility.
He started on the bench on Sunday and then came on and played forward. If we were on top for longer periods he would have kicked more than four. He doesn't get beaten one on one and was probably the main reason we kicked clear in the 2nd quarter.
When you are in your 30's and injured, you need the ball to be kicked to you. A bit like Steve Lane.
He played on the ball for most of the year and had a top season. He is not purely an 'outside' player but sometimes you have to adapt to your circumstances. He had a great game (playing on the ball) when we knocked you off at your ground.
You obviously rate him or you wouldn't have tagged him with the M.Caruana in the first final (who for the record would be embarassed if Devlin was fit).
Bobby Skilton
5 Sep 2007, 21:58
Not that I should have to defend him GB50 but that is the second time you have either stated or intimated that Devlin is a sheep dog. He has had no mobility for the past 4-5 weeks due a bad hamstring. That is why he missed the final H&A game against Albanvale. He tried to play on the ball in the first final, but had no mobility.
He started on the bench on Sunday and then came on and played forward. If we were on top for longer periods he would have kicked more than four. He doesn't get beaten one on one and was probably the main reason we kicked clear in the 2nd quarter.
When you are in your 30's and injured, you need the ball to be kicked to you. A bit like Steve Lane.
He played on the ball for most of the year and had a top season. He is not purely an 'outside' player but sometimes you have to adapt to your circumstances. He had a great game (playing on the ball) when we knocked you off at your ground.
You obviously rate him or you wouldn't have tagged him with the M.Caruana in the first final (who for the record would be embarassed if Devlin was fit).
Devlin is a good player just disappears when he has a man. I agree in the air he would have beaten Matty Caruana. He was very good Saturday with his injury until manned up then his injury flared up surprisingly. He went from a 10 possession quarter to about 3 for the rest of the game. Silly statement to say he would have embarassed Matt as more than half a game is played on the ground and Matt would have torn him apart there.
Hows the newsagency going.
Tony Delaney
5 Sep 2007, 23:03
hahahaha, u seem to be a bit of a name dropper there TD, learn that from ur line of work did u???
not a good idea to start dropping names though TD, as thats the 4th person uve have thought me to be, but let me assure u, u r rong on all of them, and im sure some ppl dont like their name being used on the net for no reason so u should realli stop with the investigative crap ;)
well im glad that a 15 yr olds replies is attracting so much attention from u TD, i feel priverliged, but let me tell u, u got more important things to worry bout, like TRY to win a premiership on the weekend.......
Didn't name you just asked how a person was going at Parkside that I thought you might know about.
Also roosters 2007 is now busted too. Didn't take too long. Clue -not a male, and fits in well at West as she would at Braybrook.
w.weapons
5 Sep 2007, 23:55
gee your good td..........
must be all the johnny hopper work you do.......suposedly what some people seem to think on bigfooty.........
getting nervous yet????putting that no 22 on your back on sunday i recon youll sh1t your pants and wont be able to play.........
borgsta2006
6 Sep 2007, 00:02
To all and sundry,
The Grand Final Umpires for this Year DIVISON TWO SENIOR GRAND FINAL are:
Ashley Borg and Peter Brennan.
Good luck to all on Sunday, I am looking forward to it.
Regards
Borgy
To all and sundry,
Regards
Borgy
Well done
Bobby Skilton
6 Sep 2007, 00:16
Well done
Agree, well done a fine achievement to you both.
GoesBangFrom50
6 Sep 2007, 10:11
Firstly... no question that the bloke is still a better player than I ever was
I have seen the guy play 4 times now.
1- Last year at your ground - 10 to 15 touches in the first qtr. tagged in the second and got maybe one. Secod half on the bench. Injured?
2- Round 11 this year. No tag and had about 30 touches. Top 3 on ground.
3- First final. Tagged by Caruana. 7 or 8 touches at best. Spent time on the bench. Injured?
4- Second final. No tag in the first qtr and a half . About 15 touches and 3 goals. Tagged from halfway through the second... maybe 3 toches after that and spent time on the bench... injured?
Getting tagged and being injured seem to go hand in hand... Just my opinion
GoesBangFrom50
6 Sep 2007, 10:14
To all and sundry,
Regards
Borgy
Borgy do you know the dog policy ar Chirnside..... Harley has just been fitted with his new number 39 jumper but he is not sure if he is allowed in?
borgsta2006
6 Sep 2007, 10:17
Borgy do you know the dog policy ar Chirnside..... Harley has just been fitted with his new number 39 jumper but he is not sure if he is allowed in?
GBF50,
Dunno mate, guess I will try to talk the people at the gate into the letting the little critter in :)
All the best to West and Heights. I can't wait!
Borgy
Roosters_2007
6 Sep 2007, 11:43
Also roosters 2007 is now busted too.
No Idea. I'll give you a Clue, Ziggy, Bones or Simmo for BOG.
Calls it as I see it
6 Sep 2007, 12:48
Have not been on this site lately, but have read with interested about players who could play in Div 1 from Div 2. Most clubs would have 3 - 4 players who could quite easily get a game and I believe there is no disputing that. The bigger picture is it will be the club that goes up at the end of the year and it is then when you will notice that these 3-4 players will not get the supply of the ball and time to dispose of it that they are used to.
Agree that Greto would get a game in Div 1, but to bring up his goal kicking totals of the last 3 years, when playing against sides like Brunswick and Laverton would have given these figures a bias in his favour. Believe he would be around the 40 mark ( still would be a good year though ).
typewriter
6 Sep 2007, 13:16
surprisingly greto hasnt kicked massive bags against those teams he kicked 10-12 yeah but not hauls of 15+. against brunswick last year he didnt play and im pretty sure only played a quarter or 2 this year
Crazy Monkey
6 Sep 2007, 14:20
Not much going on in here today...
red devil1
6 Sep 2007, 14:20
Firstly... no question that the bloke is still a better player than I ever was
I have seen the guy play 4 times now.
1- Last year at your ground - 10 to 15 touches in the first qtr. tagged in the second and got maybe one. Secod half on the bench. Injured?
2- Round 11 this year. No tag and had about 30 touches. Top 3 on ground.
3- First final. Tagged by Caruana. 7 or 8 touches at best. Spent time on the bench. Injured?
4- Second final. No tag in the first qtr and a half . About 15 touches and 3 goals. Tagged from halfway through the second... maybe 3 toches after that and spent time on the bench... injured?
Getting tagged and being injured seem to go hand in hand... Just my opinion
1. Last year Devlin hurt his knee mid way through the second (Heights were slaughtering us anyway). I think Damo was tagging him for memory. You have to give him something to do!:)
He did stay off for the second half and didn't play again for the remainder of the year (including the 2 finals appearances)
3. Went off in the first quarter against Caruana. Didn't play much on the ball after that.
4. What do you mean no tag? He was playing as a forward so why tag him. Obviously the half back (Hoblos?) wasn't doing his job.
He actually had a limited impact against Albanvale in the finals as well. Stood up in the last to take apart their best defender (54) and help get us over the line. He hurt his hammy in the 2nd quarter against West and hasn't been 100% since.
I would never have mentioned it on here, but felt there has been extenuating circumstances. This year he was our best midfielder when fit. As he showed when we beat Heights.
What a week it has been on big footy, to be honest i have not heard so much shit in ages, good to see new comers having their say in september, bag of rats. To the game it will be a ripper, the two most talented sides in div 2 head to head. Cant wait for sunday to see who has the bragging rights, Go the heighters.:cool::D:rolleyes:
Kaz Wilson
6 Sep 2007, 15:19
Its Thursday
The final training sessions take place before the big show, and i can assure those interested that the feeling down at greyhound training track is one of pure excitement.
Tactics are to be discussed, elusive training skills will be run, then the basic skills which make up this beautiful game we love, will be put through the ringer.
The Roosters come off a 2 week break, injuries would 've healed, they would be fresh & not playing in the pass fortnight would suggest they would be raring to go, like a virgin on his first night with a willing female.
The Dragons tails are finally up, a morale boosting victory over a galant north. Players that have been dormant over the last few weeks burst back onto the scene giving Bomber & "QC" Grima with a few welcomed headaches for selection this weekend.
In summation its like a toey virgin versus a rejuvinated 22, does it get any better than this
Can you smell it................. So close
Tony Delaney
6 Sep 2007, 15:28
1. Last year Devlin hurt his knee mid way through the second (Heights were slaughtering us anyway). I think Damo was tagging him for memory. You have to give him something to do!:)
He did stay off for the second half and didn't play again for the remainder of the year (including the 2 finals appearances)
3. Went off in the first quarter against Caruana. Didn't play much on the ball after that.
4. What do you mean no tag? He was playing as a forward so why tag him. Obviously the half back (Hoblos?) wasn't doing his job.
He actually had a limited impact against Albanvale in the finals as well. Stood up in the last to take apart their best defender (54) and help get us over the line. He hurt his hammy in the 2nd quarter against West and hasn't been 100% since.
I would never have mentioned it on here, but felt there has been extenuating circumstances. This year he was our best midfielder when fit. As he showed when we beat Heights.
Funny you mentioned Hoblos, he wasn't on him but as soon as he did the injury flared up.
Hey Red Devil how is Gary Manton going in the reserves. Is he a good player. What do you think of him. Very knowledgeable about his football.
Could any west blokes clarify is Chris Mathews Running around in West's 2's? If so how is he going. Used to play with and against him back in the day?
secure38
6 Sep 2007, 16:37
Funny you mentioned Hoblos, he wasn't on him but as soon as he did the injury flared up.
Hey Red Devil how is Gary Manton going in the reserves. Is he a good player. What do you think of him. Very knowledgeable about his football.
Ah ha ha ha Gold:thumbsu:
ColeReserve
6 Sep 2007, 16:49
Clubs have been issued with player invitations ( top 10 vote finishes each grade) for League presentation night.........who has been invited from your club?
Joe Cali from Coburg Districts
GoesBangFrom50
6 Sep 2007, 17:07
Clubs have been issued with player invitations ( top 10 vote finishes each grade) for League presentation night.........who has been invited from your club?
Tony Delaney and Harley Dogwoof from Heights :thumbsu:
Tony Delaney
6 Sep 2007, 17:15
very good player should be on the ball not half back
red devil1
6 Sep 2007, 18:21
Bomber - Gazza Manton goes OK in the reserves (getting on a bit though like a lot of our magoos players). I am not him though or Mulla, Wokka or Thommo.
w.weapons
6 Sep 2007, 23:04
yup yellow for me and my posts have mysteriosly dissapeared.......any way
for a mid range offence..........lol
how does that song go............THE HEAT IS ON...........
hustle and ball
6 Sep 2007, 23:28
can any hts people tell me if sunny hts were to win the granny would they then pay players or buy players for divy 1 and yes i know the have to win first but what are your thoughts
hustle and ball
6 Sep 2007, 23:53
I think the old "injuries" have finished bobby off, but will he even get up. Al_Smith said that he seen him limping around altona, so he may already be done! :(
i think bobby will get up, evry one seems to be ok for a granny and if laney plays then bobby will deffinetly play, hope to see a few more good bumps from bobby like in the pre lim