View Full Version : WRFL Division 2
DekkaRoo
29 Aug 2006, 14:44
Tips for this weekend..
Seniors - Gelnorden in a close one over West by 14 points.
Deer Park by 26 over Albanvale.
Reserves - West Footscray by 34 over Glenorden.
North Footscray over Albanvale by 25.
albanvale may get there pay back from 2 years ago, looks will be same condions cold windy ****ful day.
GoesBangFrom50
29 Aug 2006, 18:33
[quote=w.weapons]we have had a great year considering the last couple of years we are re-building and all people who have come this year are staying....:thumbsu:
Weapons.. heres a legitimate question. R Parks re building or RE-BUYING
Ur 2 rucks are old enough to play super rules.
All ur new players this year are from other clubs (not former players returning)
You dont have any senior players under 21
I stand to be corrected on any of those comments...
To me re-building is promoting juniors from within ur own club.....
GoesBangFrom50
29 Aug 2006, 18:35
as for catteral i dont think so mate,both coach n assistant wouldnt bother talking s**t on computer they would say it to peoples faces....
Weapons, it's now known that Lookout4 lions is May... does that mean u are his assistant? I never mention him yet you added assistant to ur reply???
w.weapons
29 Aug 2006, 21:54
Weapons, it's now known that Lookout4 lions is May... does that mean u are his assistant? I never mention him yet you added assistant to ur reply???
u said "boyfriend" in ur quote to me that means his right hand man "assistant" na not assistant.involved in the junior side of things and very passionate about that.
re building yes we will have 18's next year 12 or 13 boys from the premiership winning u 16 side are going up.
the guys from other clubs are staying dont know what we are paying but they are doin a great job......
we had 5 players return from 04
as for the ruck men yes they have been around a bit they are solid ruckmen probably in the best 5 in the comp
average age in the 1st is about 25 so what they are experianced.....:thumbsu:
w.weapons
29 Aug 2006, 22:11
albanvale may get there pay back from 2 years ago, looks will be same condions cold windy ****ful day.
jim, last time we played albanvale in the pre lim it was a sunny august day
dont know about the same conditions....:D
w.weapons
29 Aug 2006, 22:37
did u go for a look jimmy? the young boys did very well if u didnt young bluey did ok but didnt star kicked a couple in the last......:)
w.weapons
29 Aug 2006, 22:46
so u think im norm heath hahaha the old bloke would be too worried about PREPARATION than talkin on here, LOL.
I REKON U COACH HEIGHTS CAUSE U ARE ALWAYS VERY DEFENCIVE OF THEM. WHY WOULD SOME 1 WHO LIVES NEARBY AND GOES N WHATCHES THEM WORRY ABOUT WHAT OTHER TEAMS ARE DOING AND WHAT THEY ARE PAYING WHO GIVES A STUFF WHO WON THE B&F AT HIEGHTS. I HOPE WE DONT WIN THE GRANNY AND WE COULD PLAY HIEGHTS AGAIN. GIVE USE ANOTHER TOUCH UP....
SOOKY LA LA WORRY ABOUT GETTING YOUR SIDE INTO DIV 1 SPEND A BIT OF COIN......
OOOP'S IM SORRY WE DONT COME IN FOR A DRINK, SO HOW DO YOU MAKE MONEY?
FROM THE GREY HOUNDS?LOL
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 10:02
I REKON U COACH HEIGHTS
Keep guessing champ. It must have been hard to work out that I follow Heights more closely than I let on.
Just cos Parks coach is on here doesn't mean Heights coach is.
In case you didnt realise this is a discussion board about Div 2...that could be a reason why I posted Heights B&F and was talking about who pays what....
By the way, the tone of your messages seems to have changed... did u type that last response or did u give ur boyfriend your password?
Tony Delaney
30 Aug 2006, 12:33
so u think im norm heath hahaha the old bloke would be too worried about PREPARATION than talkin on here, LOL.
I REKON U COACH HEIGHTS CAUSE U ARE ALWAYS VERY DEFENCIVE OF THEM. WHY WOULD SOME 1 WHO LIVES NEARBY AND GOES N WHATCHES THEM WORRY ABOUT WHAT OTHER TEAMS ARE DOING AND WHAT THEY ARE PAYING WHO GIVES A STUFF WHO WON THE B&F AT HIEGHTS. I HOPE WE DONT WIN THE GRANNY AND WE COULD PLAY HIEGHTS AGAIN. GIVE USE ANOTHER TOUCH UP....
SOOKY LA LA WORRY ABOUT GETTING YOUR SIDE INTO DIV 1 SPEND A BIT OF COIN......
OOOP'S IM SORRY WE DONT COME IN FOR A DRINK, SO HOW DO YOU MAKE MONEY?
FROM THE GREY HOUNDS?LOL
Just logged on and read the last 10 pages. Your literacy has taken a big dive eg. defencive and whatch. Were they a joke. It's a good thing that you are anonymous as they are hard words to spell. I think it more likely that another Deer Park goose typed it and you were giggling over his shoulder like a little boy.
Anyway I agree with goes bang from 50 that 2 fat old ruckmen won't be up to it on the big grounds. Deer Park don't have a running game in the slightest and rebuilding means developing youth mixed in with a bit of recruiting, not running after every player that becomes available like desperado's. Also Skippy and the late coming Taylors Lakes players that started playing because the team looked strong are not the sort of people to build a club around. They will show the same loyalty as your coach has shown to the last 4 clubs he has been with. I don't think I would be too proud if every club I have been to thought I was a pr... The coach will have a reason why it is always the clubs fault and never his own fault why relationships soured. It's easier that way but hey time and again must mean something.
I have no fear playing Deer Park should they make the grand final.
Deer Park also now have a reputation among many clubs regarding not going in for a drink. Not what local football is all about.
the_jib
30 Aug 2006, 14:43
Have you written off North Footscray in the Ressy's??? I think they are a huge chance aginst Albanvale.
Nah not writting them off by any stretch i just think that Albanvale are a very good team in the ressy's and i believe they have a great opportunity to knock North off...i watched North play against Deer Park's reserves a few weeks back and they looked good they were up by a fair bit when i left then only just got over the line...i think they tappered off near the end of the year and they're not the squad they were at the start of the year!
g'day jib. interesting to here you play for GO in the magoos. whats the talk been like down at the club. looking forward to a big one? and what position do you think you will play this week?
the_jib
30 Aug 2006, 14:54
g'day jib. interesting to here you play for GO in the magoos. whats the talk been like down at the club. looking forward to a big one? and what position do you think you will play this week?
the talks been positive...extremely positive as it has all year...i won't go into detail too much and as far as i'm concerned if you come down on saturday and hear the nickname jib being floated around you might know where to find me on the field ;)
twodogs13
30 Aug 2006, 15:53
Hey Tony, I'm just trying to work out if you are who I think you are. Do you work for the AEU?
DekkaRoo
30 Aug 2006, 15:56
They have got a few players back since then.. and with their seniors out I think they have a few that qualify to play.
North lost to Coburg only two weeks before the season end and then came out and flogged them in the first week of finals. North also beat Albanvale during the year when they where traveling well. It should be a good contest and should only be a few goals in it towards the end.
the_jib
30 Aug 2006, 16:00
They have got a few players back since then.. and with their seniors out I think they have a few that qualify to play.
North lost to Coburg only two weeks before the season end and then came out and flogged them in the first week of finals. North also beat Albanvale during the year when they where traveling well. It should be a good contest and should only be a few goals in it towards the end.
Well Albanvale are a different team when finals arrive they looked real good when the last quater came around in the first final started to play some good footy against us...they may have beaten them during the year but we beat North and stopped that unbeaten run they had during the season at they're home ground too but it doesn't guaruntee a win if we face off again so...it'll be interesting to see what happens
DekkaRoo
30 Aug 2006, 16:09
Many players have come and gone since round 5 Jib..... and the Hawks only got over the line by a point with North actually having 4 more scoring shots.
I think that the final 4 teams in the Ressies have been the form teams all year... so this weekend wil be very interesting.
I saw West play last week and they have hit some really good form... I think Glenorden will have their hand full containing them.
Gibbsrightboot
30 Aug 2006, 16:19
Just logged on and read the last 10 pages. Your literacy has taken a big dive eg. defencive and whatch. Were they a joke. It's a good thing that you are anonymous as they are hard words to spell. I think it more likely that another Deer Park goose typed it and you were giggling over his shoulder like a little boy.
Anyway I agree with goes bang from 50 that 2 fat old ruckmen won't be up to it on the big grounds. Deer Park don't have a running game in the slightest and rebuilding means developing youth mixed in with a bit of recruiting, not running after every player that becomes available like desperado's. Also Skippy and the late coming Taylors Lakes players that started playing because the team looked strong are not the sort of people to build a club around. They will show the same loyalty as your coach has shown to the last 4 clubs he has been with. I don't think I would be too proud if every club I have been to thought I was a pr... The coach will have a reason why it is always the clubs fault and never his own fault why relationships soured. It's easier that way but hey time and again must mean something.
Deer Park also now have a reputation among many clubs regarding not going in for a drink. Not what local football is all about.
All I know is those Taylor lakes boys have been the pickups of the year. Over 200 goals between 5 of them- get over to these kids...........
And yes they will all be there next year so get your facts right buddy. You comments are laughable......
Matthew Pillios
30 Aug 2006, 16:23
TUNE INTO "ESSENDON DISTRICT KNOWS FOOTBALL" :thumbsu:
Every WEDNESDAY night @ 6:30pm to 7:30pm on CHANNEL 31.
MASSIVE SHOW -
* GREAT MATCH COVERAGE SHOWN FROM ALL 4 WEEKENDS FINALS GAMES
* E.D.F.L STREET CAM with MOCCA O'CONNER
* IN- DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH STEVEN KOLYNUICK
* AFTER MATCH INTERVIEW WITH CRAIG HILLE
* TOP BAGGING TO KEVIN "KD" DONNELLY
Plus much more................
Matthew Pillios Sam Tankard Jarrad Morrison
kangaman06
30 Aug 2006, 17:12
Just wondering what everyone's thoughts were on why Div 2 has to play their finals down at Werribee (which to be honest is the worst surface i've played on all year - looks like hay, with a nice little bit of green in the center which is actually a bog) when grounds like Yarraville, Williamstown and even the Whitten are free? (Yes I know the Whitten is being used - but surely they could play 2 games - ressies and ones G.Finals - on it)
Peoples tips for the weekend
Glenorden over West Footscray
Deer Park over Albanvale
Both games to be extremely close.
lookout4lions
30 Aug 2006, 17:42
Just logged
Well done superstars just worked it out did we? Dont know where u get ur info from but neva said clubs were at fault only 1 being seddon who werent prepared 2 give a go, should have known that myself. As for being disloyal 2 clubs have always asked 2 b reappointed but they thought that was wrong choice, thats their opinion. Record stands for itself 4yrs coach senior footy, 2 prelims with 1 yr being at seddon who wouldnt win game in div2. Hope we do play in g/f next week by then u mite grow some balls & identify urself so then we can c just how soft u really r. No ur facts b4 u start accusing me of being disloyal. When time comes c if u can stop the lakes u muppet.Plus no late lakes boys came eitha would love to no who feeds ur head mate cause making u look like a fool.
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 18:43
another parks hater... i luv it.
U West or Glenorden?
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 18:58
Hey lions... might let a few of the heights boys know how weak you think they are next time I pop into the Glengala for a beer..
Now i know who u are its no fun givin u crap anymore... might have to start talking some actual footy now
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 19:31
Peoples tips for the weekend
Glenorden over West Footscray
Deer Park over Albanvale
Both games to be extremely close.
Albanvale over parks... 10 points
Glenorden by 70 points.
Werribee surface is crap but it is better than playing at Altona. Worst ground for finlals ever. The conditions dont allow good footy and there is no atmosphere. They shoould never be allowed to play finals there.
w.weapons
30 Aug 2006, 20:31
Hey lions... might let a few of the heights boys know how weak you think they are next time I pop into the Glengala for a beer..
Now i know who u are its no fun givin u crap anymore... might have to start talking some actual footy now
bl**dy hell i rekon that will be scary.......
as for the footy side of things banger glenorden by that much some how i dont think so..
mcghie has to play at chb if they are going to b any chance....
parks and albanvale will be very tough, hard in the clinches type of game i think we have too much fire power up forward for them to handle....:)
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 20:49
I just reckon the Glenorden have got enough good players to cover Wests forwrds.... stop 3 players and they cant score. West will get frustrated and lose the plot... Glenorden to blow em away late in the game
lookout4lions
30 Aug 2006, 20:54
I just reckon the Glenorden have got enough good players to cover Wests forwrds.... stop 3 players and they cant score. West will get frustrated and lose the plot... Glenorden to blow em away late in the game
Dont totally agree on glenordans back half rekon west will trouble them in that area, should be g8 game though. Whats ur reasoning behind albv beating us?:thumbsu:
w.weapons
30 Aug 2006, 21:00
Albanvale over parks... 10 points
Glenorden by 70 points.
Werribee surface is crap but it is better than playing at Altona. Worst ground for finlals ever. The conditions dont allow good footy and there is no atmosphere. They shoould never be allowed to play finals there.
yes tru about altona not a good finals ground
the u/16s played their gf at westbourne i tell u good surface but the wind probably goes across the ground rather than down it so would make an interesting contest for div 2, good facillities as well, u been there?
thoughts...........
w.weapons
30 Aug 2006, 21:03
Dont totally agree on glenordans back half rekon west will trouble them in that area, should be g8 game though. Whats ur reasoning behind albv beating us?:thumbsu:
get ur clubs out soon 'lookout' ill give u a touch up after the season is finished........:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
30 Aug 2006, 21:05
the u/16s played their gf at westbourne i tell u good surface but the wind probably goes across the ground rather than down it so would make an interesting contest for div 2, good facillities as well, u been there?
thoughts...........
havn't been there but heard they have the best rooms this side of town.
Albanvale... big ground, too many slow players at Parks. IF albanvale runs hard they should win.
crappermd
31 Aug 2006, 12:04
With the top four now playing off in the preliminary finals -
Glenorden Vs West Footscray
Deer Park Vs Albanvale
Would anyone like to speculate on sides strengths and weaknesses and key players / match ups for this weekend?
Old Warrior
31 Aug 2006, 13:29
thoughts...........
Westbourne has the best hotdogs going around in local footy. The hotdog equivalent of the South Melb Market dim sim.
building yes we will have 18's next year 12 or 13 boys from the premiership winning u 16 side are going up.
Mate your under 16's were crap this year... you cant say theyre superstars because they won the C grade of under 16's.
GoesBangFrom50
31 Aug 2006, 18:31
Westbourne has the best hotdogs going around in local footy. The hotdog equivalent of the South Melb Market dim sim.
Ive heard of them... Aces Double Dogs!!!
My tips:
West over Glenorden by 2 goals
Deer Park over Albanvale by 5 goals
w.weapons
31 Aug 2006, 21:47
Mate your under 16's were crap this year... you cant say theyre superstars because they won the C grade of under 16's.
c'mon man you cant bag the PREMIERS who was the best side then?
div 2 here not 16's......:D
w.weapons
31 Aug 2006, 21:56
My tips:
West over Glenorden by 2 goals
Deer Park over Albanvale by 5 goals
MY TIPS
glenorden to draw with west
deer park by 4 goals
bring your umbrellas
beanies and gumboots
stubby holders :thumbsu:
vegie patch will be in full voice on sunday
w.weapons
1 Sep 2006, 00:45
i know ur from the western magpies and that says it all go back to the
18'b thread
i didnt say they were superstars mockimbird.........:thumbsd:
they won the granny and no1 can take that away from them.
GO THE LIONS
cold pies
1 Sep 2006, 09:02
there appear to be a few deer park people on this thread who are quite confident they can win the premiership this year, if that is the case is the club got any plans in place for a grade next season or will they worry about that when it comes up
i know glenorden coaching staff have said they need to recruit 8 to 10 players to be competitive, do deer park have a similar plan in place
lookout4lions
1 Sep 2006, 17:57
there appear to be a few deer park people on this thread who are quite confident they can win the premiership this year
were ready 2 take next step, have been talking to new players already well b4 finals started, agree with glenordan need min 6 recruits of good quality 2 make sure we stay when get up there. Players spoken 2 have been impressed with clubs future and where they seem to be heading. Saying that we have 2 win 2 more games yet 2 even get that ball rolling, Albanvale will b a g8 game this week both sides confident. All parks players fired up to max, bring it on.:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
1 Sep 2006, 18:30
were ready 2 take next step, have been talking to new players already well b4 finals started, agree with glenordan need min 6 recruits of good quality 2 make sure we stay when get up there. Players spoken 2 have been impressed with clubs future and where they seem to be heading. Saying that we have 2 win 2 more games yet 2 even get that ball rolling, Albanvale will b a g8 game this week both sides confident. All parks players fired up to max, bring it on.:thumbsu:
You might need more than 6..... IF you do get through how many retirements would you have? I would reckon at least 4... add that to the 6 and thats how many you might need.
w.weapons
1 Sep 2006, 18:32
other than the granny this has to be the biggest game of the year, the two sides in good form will be an excellent contest.theres alot more riding on this 1 than last time not only a spot in the granny, the bragging rights
that also comes with it.
good luck to every 1 involved in the finals this week........:thumbsu:
lookout4lions
1 Sep 2006, 20:27
You might need more than 6..... IF you do get through how many retirements would you have? I would reckon at least 4... add that to the 6 and thats how many you might need.
Not sure on retirement numbers but yeah u could b right. No mata who does win it they will need 2 recruit heavy to stay up the year after. Goes bang puttin crap aside why dont heights pay money 4 players, is it a sponsor shortage or something like that? Honestly they only need 2-4 key players & they would b a force but 2 get them would take some coin, ur comments b appreciated.:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
1 Sep 2006, 23:06
Not sure on retirement numbers but yeah u could b right. No mata who does win it they will need 2 recruit heavy to stay up the year after. Goes bang puttin crap aside why dont heights pay money 4 players, is it a sponsor shortage or something like that? Honestly they only need 2-4 key players & they would b a force but 2 get them would take some coin, ur comments b appreciated.:thumbsu:
The club has no money.. bottom line. 5-6 good people run the whole club. Although they all work their guts out they don't have the business skills or connections to attract sponsors.
U are right about being only a few players short and it wouldnt be that hard to pay some coin out to get 3 or 4 players but how could u possibly justify buying 3 or 4 players when Greto, Weston, Mallia, Bugeja and the Caruana's are on $000.
Club decided to spend the few $$$ they have on medical staff rather than players. That way ALL of the players get the benifet.
kangaman06
2 Sep 2006, 00:11
The club has no money.. bottom line. 5-6 good people run the whole club. Although they all work their guts out they don't have the business skills or connections to attract sponsors.
U are right about being only a few players short and it wouldnt be that hard to pay some coin out to get 3 or 4 players but how could u possibly justify buying 3 or 4 players when Greto, Weston, Mallia, Bugeja and the Caruana's are on $000.
Club decided to spend the few $$$ they have on medical staff rather than players. That way ALL of the players get the benifet.
Speaking of Weston, how is his knee/leg after the final? Being on the other side and watch him tear up the midfield, do his knee, then nearly steal the game being nursed in the forward line was one of the gutiest efforts I've seen on a footy field.
GoesBangFrom50
2 Sep 2006, 09:53
Speaking of Weston, how is his knee/leg after the final? Being on the other side and watch him tear up the midfield, do his knee, then nearly steal the game being nursed in the forward line was one of the gutiest efforts I've seen on a footy field.
Got the all clear. Would have been 2 -4 weeks if the year was still going. He'll be right for the Heightes pre season kick off in November
lookout4lions
2 Sep 2006, 10:06
Fair enough, but wouldnt those players mentioned prefer 2 win g/f, obviously they r all g8 clubmen surely u would think they couldnt care as long as it came with success and they got rite players 2 club.:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
2 Sep 2006, 10:48
They are good clubmen, but to get players better than them you have to pay big $$$. Just couldnt justify it.besides:
The players are all genuine mates. no seperate groups and in fighting. That would be destroyed.
The main thing is the club thinks it can get the extra 4-5 players without paying $$.. coming from 2 or 3 recruits (which it has for next year) as well as the under 18's of which 5 played senior footy this year.
Palace03
10 Sep 2006, 20:10
Who won the flag?
kangaman06
10 Sep 2006, 22:44
Who won the flag?
DEER PARK (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4359105&c=1-25-0-39366-0)8.8-56 def. by GLENORDEN (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4359116&c=1-25-0-39366-0)13.20-98
From the WRFL Website
13 - 20 - Looks like it may have been a scrappy game - anyone there? Goesbang?
Does this mean next year Glenorden will be in Div 1?
kangaman06
11 Sep 2006, 11:47
There has been some discussion about this for a while
Apparently Glenorden go up to Div 1 because they lost Seddon, nobody comes down. Does anyone know what teams will exist in Div 2 - Will Centrals and Brunswick return?
Palace03
11 Sep 2006, 13:36
I hope we see Central Altona back in 07, but i doubt Brunswick will be back.
Does this mean next year Glenorden will be in Div 1?
:eek:
kangaman06
11 Sep 2006, 21:49
I hope we see Central Altona back in 07, but i doubt Brunswick will be back.
That would be better, it would mean no byes then if nobody dropped down to Div 2 with 12 teams in the comp.
Palace03
11 Sep 2006, 21:56
I would hope the league would go back to a final 6 if it was a 12 team comp next season, but as the finals are the leagues biggest money maker I doubt that will happen.
Tony Delaney
12 Sep 2006, 10:42
Like I said in an early message. Two fat slow ruckmen useless on a big ground. More a liability. No running game on the big grounds of finals. If we had of kicked straight (33 shots to 16) the result would have been 15 goals. Also take away number 17 (who by the way looks like he is getting fatter by the day) and you wouldn't have scored half of what you did.
Heard one of your addresses. If you didn't say the words 'all right' 80 times i'll go he. Also I can't remember the last time a team listening to their coach could take in 30 things in one address. Two or three main points maybe. I liked the cliche's as well, "punch from behind" blah blah blah. If one thing was clear it was that you like the sound of your own voice and enjoy grand standing. eg the occassional raising of the voice with no substance coming out.
You are a long way away from a premiership. Enjoy the A 2's and however long you have left at Deer Park til they work you out.
GoesBangFrom50
12 Sep 2006, 21:30
DEER PARK (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4359105&c=1-25-0-39366-0)8.8-56 def. by GLENORDEN (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4359116&c=1-25-0-39366-0)13.20-98
From the WRFL Website
13 - 20 - Looks like it may have been a scrappy game - anyone there? Goesbang?
Didn't go mate and from all reports I didnt miss much.
Hey Lions.. just remember there's no second place... only losers!!!
w.weapons
13 Sep 2006, 16:03
Didn't go mate and from all reports I didnt miss much.
Hey Lions.. just remember there's no second place... only losers!!!
congrats to the boys down at kookaburra ave well done underfeated premiers cant say anything bad about that........:thumbsu:
a big 3 days on the **** for the boys, looking forward to presentation day
to have a few more, looks like banger we will meet again......:thumbsu:
Ive heard that Pt Cook will have a senior side next year, Can anyone confirm this?
bangitlong
14 Sep 2006, 11:19
I would hope the league would go back to a final 6 if it was a 12 team comp next season, but as the finals are the leagues biggest money maker I doubt that will happen.
I have heard that the WRFL are close to confirming that next year there will be a final 5 exactly the same as the div 1 finals system.
this makes sense as centrals and brunswick are definatley looking like they wont be a part of the 2007 season. There is also huge doubts that the western magpies will have a senior side in 2007 aswell.. this is just the mail i have heard from a very reliable source.
Palace03
14 Sep 2006, 11:47
I have heard that the WRFL are close to confirming that next year there will be a final 5 exactly the same as the div 1 finals system.
this makes sense as centrals and brunswick are definatley looking like they wont be a part of the 2007 season. There is also huge doubts that the western magpies will have a senior side in 2007 aswell.. this is just the mail i have heard from a very reliable source.
That would be a shame if true. Hopefully Point Cook can get a team together, however if they do it might mean the end for the Magpies. If they can keep that group together from the U/18's this season they may improve and atleast be able to field a side next year.
Absolute crap. The Magpies will most definitely have a side next year no doubt about it and a much improved side aswell, about 6-7 Under 18's will go up next year and thats where the improvement will come from.
twodogs13
14 Sep 2006, 22:21
Any news on coaching appointments or vacancies from the clubs yet? I heared a whisper that Coburg might be in the market for a new coach. Can anyone confirm or deny this?
w.weapons
15 Sep 2006, 01:32
Absolute crap. The Magpies will most definitely have a side next year no doubt about it and a much improved side aswell, about 6-7 Under 18's will go up next year and thats where the improvement will come from.
yer unit they will improve by 2 goals at least with all the 18's coming up, next year they will finish bottom again.......:thumbsu:
sorry about bagging the maggies again but as i have said before use are crap hehehehehehehehehehe:eek:
people please tell unit how bad the maggies are
bangitlong
15 Sep 2006, 11:43
Any news on coaching appointments or vacancies from the clubs yet? I heared a whisper that Coburg might be in the market for a new coach. Can anyone confirm or deny this?
Yeah there are a few coaching positions available - can check them out on www.wrfl.asn.au (http://www.wrfl.asn.au) - checked the coburg situation on www.coburgdistricts.com.au (http://www.coburgdistricts.com.au) and they are looking for a new coach by the looks of things - kangaman have you heard anything ? if dale hough leaves there might be a few boys that go with him you would think as he seems close with a few of the guys down there..
Western magpies have my respect for turning up every week.. but there onfield performances are terrible. i know its not a professional comp and people play for the love of the game but there are 20 ordinary unfit footballers in that side.. ok you may have a few 18s coming up.. but they are not going to turn it around to even beat gladdy park for example. (nothing against gladdy park there just the first club that came to mind)
does anyone know if they are loosing players due to retirement or another club yet ? be interested to see if there is any early moves..
kangaman06
15 Sep 2006, 12:31
Yeah there are a few coaching positions available - can check them out on www.wrfl.asn.au (http://www.wrfl.asn.au) - checked the coburg situation on www.coburgdistricts.com.au (http://www.coburgdistricts.com.au) and they are looking for a new coach by the looks of things - kangaman have you heard anything ? if dale hough leaves there might be a few boys that go with him you would think as he seems close with a few of the guys down there..
Western magpies have my respect for turning up every week.. but there onfield performances are terrible. i know its not a professional comp and people play for the love of the game but there are 20 ordinary unfit footballers in that side.. ok you may have a few 18s coming up.. but they are not going to turn it around to even beat gladdy park for example. (nothing against gladdy park there just the first club that came to mind)
does anyone know if they are loosing players due to retirement or another club yet ? be interested to see if there is any early moves..
Have no idea what's going to happen - i was always under the impression if Dale didn't coach he would still be down at the club in some way or form.
Caught up with some of the boys last weekend and I asked what was happening with Dale - they said he had until today to let them know what he wanted to do. Will probably find out more next Friday at Presentation night.
If Dale did indeed leave I wouldn't be suprised if people went with him as he has been at the club for many years and has many solid friendships there. To be honest if wasn't there I may weigh up my options as well.
Just had a look at the districts website - pretty funny, Romeo was an absolute madman that night - gotta love him!
yer unit they will improve by 2 goals at least with all the 18's coming up, next year they will finish bottom again.......:thumbsu:
sorry about bagging the maggies again but as i have said before use are crap hehehehehehehehehehe:eek:
people please tell unit how bad the maggies are
Keep sookin about your grand final loss buddy.
i cant wait until next season when our 18's smash your 18's (if you are able to get a side that is which is highly doubtful) by 10 goals.
Western magpies have my respect for turning up every week.. but there onfield performances are terrible. i know its not a professional comp and people play for the love of the game but there are 20 ordinary unfit footballers in that side.. ok you may have a few 18s coming up.. but they are not going to turn it around to even beat gladdy park for example
Yeah mate thats probly right ... but i think results will certainly improve , this year when the Magpies come close to Nth Fscray they had 4 Under 18's and that made the difference for them. All 4 of those boys plus another couple will go up , i wouldnt expect us to win many if any games but i dont think u will c 200 point losses every week.
All i expect is a much more competitive side , you shouldnt expect the Magpies to get some decent results until at least 2008 though.
kangaman06
18 Sep 2006, 12:17
Any more news on the B&F's for the year? West Footscray - Did Bains or Lane win that one? What about other clubs in the league?
GoesBangFrom50
18 Sep 2006, 22:13
Where have all the DEER PARK people gone???..
Any tips for the Smith Medal on Sat??
w.weapons
18 Sep 2006, 22:27
Where have all the DEER PARK people gone???..
Any tips for the Smith Medal on Sat??
still here banger not much to talk about.........
draw between little rock(deer park)inella(glenorden)
parkers have recruited big already lookout4loins 2007........:thumbsu:
what about the grey hound trainers how use goin with players.....
kangaman06
18 Sep 2006, 22:54
Heard a whisper that Sean Smith may be coaching Taylors Lakes next season. Will the Deer Park/Taylors Lakes boys stay down at Ballarat Rd or head back to the marshy meadows of Taylors Lakes with their potential big name coach?
w.weapons
19 Sep 2006, 01:11
Heard a whisper that Sean Smith may be coaching Taylors Lakes next season. Will the Deer Park/Taylors Lakes boys stay down at Ballarat Rd or head back to the marshy meadows of Taylors Lakes with their potential big name coach?
hopefully the are boys staying with the parkers, big plans for the lions headquarters down at ballarat rd so no reason to leave after the year they have had, so looking forward to 2007..:thumbsu:
just to quote u kanga they are DEER PARK boys surely they would stay at ballarat rd and be flag favorites which we will be at the start of the year......:thumbsu:
why dont u have junoirs? is it because of all the edfl clubs that surround u??
hopefully the are boys staying with the parkers, big plans for the lions headquarters down at ballarat rd so no reason to leave after the year they have had, so looking forward to 2007..:thumbsu:
just to quote u kanga they are DEER PARK boys surely they would stay at ballarat rd and be flag favorites which we will be at the start of the year......:thumbsu:
why dont u have junoirs? is it because of all the edfl clubs that surround u??
Is that Smith from springvale?
w.weapons
19 Sep 2006, 04:03
Is that Smith from springvale?
dunno mate is the sean smith u r talking about kangaman the ex player from melb/werribee the 1 that took that hanger against brisbane.....:confused:
kangaman06
19 Sep 2006, 07:06
Yup that'd be the one (Sean Smith that is)
With that quote, all I was referring to was that they had come from Taylors Lakes originally, it's not uncommon in local footy for people to return to the clubs they were originally with (such as the Agresta boys in the EDFL, Tony Romeo with us went to Rox. Park but then came back) I wouldn't expect people who have been Deer Park all their lives to suddenly turn around and play for Taylors Lakes.
As for juniors, I have no idea. Heard from people during the year that we've been approached by a few local clubs over the years with juniors about merging but it's the direction the club wants to take - just to be a seniors only club. But it would be difficult when you have Pascoe Vale, Oak Park, Strathmore, Hadfield, Glenroy, West Coburg and North Coburg all in close proximity.
GoesBangFrom50
19 Sep 2006, 19:27
Got any names of those recruits?
Any confirmed retirements from Parks?
Greyhound trainers.... thats pretty good. I got a bit of a chuckle at that one. I'm sure the boys will to . next time I see em at the Meadows i'll tell em that one.
Got a few confirmed recruits... a few coming back to the club and a couple from here and there
Greyhound trainers.... thats pretty good. I got a bit of a chuckle at that one. I'm sure the boys will to . next time I see em at the Meadows i'll tell em that one.
Got a few confirmed recruits... a few coming back to the club and a couple from here and there
One name for you...the golden oldie G williams is returning to the lions..big man with a bigger ego.....who else is on your recruitment coup?
w.weapons
19 Sep 2006, 20:50
One name for you...the golden oldie G williams is returning to the lions..big man with a bigger ego.....who else is on your recruitment coup?
have herd a whisper he will be back gonna make the f/line even stronger....
dunno were u get the ego s h i t from he's a top bloke
the big bear told me it was his last game, 2 or 3 other blokes might retire who knows?
the other blokes wait n see
w.weapons
19 Sep 2006, 20:58
are the 1's coming back goin to get paid or they coming back to play with their mates....lolhehehehehe:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
19 Sep 2006, 21:36
Excuse my ignorance... never heard of him. wher has he been playing?
w.weapons
19 Sep 2006, 22:13
Excuse my ignorance... never heard of him. wher has he been playing?
no dramas banger he was apart of the 1994 a1 premieship side at deer park then went to port colts for a few years probably played in 1 of the colts grannys as well, hasnt played for a couple due to buisness commitments i think, thats what ive been told deffinately be a great player in 2nd div...what about u blokes down at glengala rd any names?
w.weapons
20 Sep 2006, 02:01
on good authority kanga, sean smith has aplied for the job down at lakes so when pre-season comes around, it will tell the story for who stays and who goes......:thumbsu:
GoesBangFrom50
20 Sep 2006, 20:08
no dramas banger he was apart of the 1994 a1 premieship side at deer park then went to port colts for a few years probably played in 1 of the colts grannys as well, hasnt played for a couple due to buisness commitments i think, thats what ive been told deffinately be a great player in 2nd div...what about u blokes down at glengala rd any names?
Not that im gonna let out here... dont want u cashed up clubs swooping in!!
w.weapons
20 Sep 2006, 21:06
Not that im gonna let out here... dont want u cashed up clubs swooping in!!
no cash here banger...no cash...lol
in my team of the year i had 14 of the starting players correct not a bad effort i might add. u play cricket banger:confused:
GoesBangFrom50
20 Sep 2006, 21:37
no cash here banger...no cash...lol
in my team of the year i had 14 of the starting players correct not a bad effort i might add. u play cricket banger:confused:
nah... too busy with the greyhounds!!
w.weapons
20 Sep 2006, 23:00
nah... too busy with the greyhounds!!
got any dish lickers that go good? any tips? lol........:thumbsu:
ahhhhhhh all in good fun......hehehe
bangitlong
21 Sep 2006, 10:38
Any more news on the B&F's for the year? West Footscray - Did Bains or Lane win that one? What about other clubs in the league?
Havent heard anything on the clubs around town WRFL DIV 2 TEAM OF THE YEAR . has been posted at www.wrfl.asn.au (http://www.wrfl.asn.au) any thoughts ?
I know its only names on a bit of paper but i still would of had Laney at full forward just for the fact that he has consistantly bagged 100's. just my thoughts..
For anyone that posted there team of the year how did it stack up ? are all your players in there ?
can any of you lions boys, or others for that matter, rate rob may's performance as deer park coach this year? is he continuing next year?
kangaman06
21 Sep 2006, 12:45
Had a look at team - not bad - wouldn't play Baines where he is either.
Who selects the side - does anybody know?
Gibbsrightboot
21 Sep 2006, 14:10
Too ease your worries bangers I would like to comfirm that all the "Taylors Lake boys" will be at Deer Park next year. How would I know youu may ask..... Im one of them.
Why would we leave when we only lost 2 games to Glenorden for the year and that team has been promoted for next year.
You do the maths..........
twodogs13
21 Sep 2006, 14:15
can any of you lions boys, or others for that matter, rate rob may's performance as deer park coach this year? is he continuing next year?
I reckon he had an excellent year. He was always well organised for game day and players always new their role. He kept the game plan pretty simple which I reckon is the way to go at this level of footy. It's a shame he wasn't fit enough to play this year. In the few games he did play I found his on field leadership and voice particularly valuable. He would be almost guaranteed the job for next year. We only lost 2 games for the year and that was to a better, quicker team. I wouldn't think he would be sacked after that performance. If we can find a bit more speed in our recruiting I think we will be a real show next year. That's not syaing we are slow, as a lot of people on this thread seem to think. It's just Glenorden were definately quicker.
Gibbsrightboot
21 Sep 2006, 16:11
I would say that he has had a great year as coach. Don't forgot he took a side that did not even make the finals in 05 to a side that played in GF in 06. We only lost to 1 side for the year and that side was undefeated for the whole year, we were 4 games clear from 3rd so it has been a pretty successful year.
He also managed to gel a side that had a huge influx of new players brought into it which is not as easy as it sounds.
There is not a chance in hell that he will not be around next year and I am pretty confident that we can go one step further next year under Robbie.
Tony Delaney
21 Sep 2006, 16:19
I reckon he had an excellent year. He was always well organised for game day and players always new their role. He kept the game plan pretty simple which I reckon is the way to go at this level of footy. It's a shame he wasn't fit enough to play this year. In the few games he did play I found his on field leadership and voice particularly valuable. He would be almost guaranteed the job for next year. We only lost 2 games for the year and that was to a better, quicker team. I wouldn't think he would be sacked after that performance. If we can find a bit more speed in our recruiting I think we will be a real show next year. That's not syaing we are slow, as a lot of people on this thread seem to think. It's just Glenorden were definately quicker.
For info:Hello Deer Park Coach. Time to change names again.
Tony Delaney
21 Sep 2006, 16:25
Too ease your worries bangers I would like to comfirm that all the "Taylors Lake boys" will be at Deer Park next year. How would I know youu may ask..... Im one of them.
Why would we leave when we only lost 2 games to Glenorden for the year and that team has been promoted for next year.
You do the maths..........
Good that you can speak for the other Taylors Lakes players. Time will tell. The chance to play in comfortable surroundings coached by an ex AFL/VFL players would be very tempting. Also if the money is right who knows. I am tipping there would be none of you lot at Deer Park if you were not getting paid.
twodogs13
21 Sep 2006, 18:19
For info:Hello Deer Park Coach. Time to change names again.
Couldn't be more wrong Tony. I'm just a humble player (no not one of the ex-Taylors Lakes ones either) I might let you know who I am next time you visit my staff to recruit for the Union.
How are the Holidays going?
Why do you hate Deer Park so much anyway? Any particular personalities or the club in general?
w.weapons
21 Sep 2006, 23:18
I would say that he has had a great year as coach. Don't forgot he took a side that did not even make the finals in 05 to a side that played in GF in 06. We only lost to 1 side for the year and that side was undefeated for the whole year, we were 4 games clear from 3rd so it has been a pretty successful year.
He also managed to gel a side that had a huge influx of new players brought into it which is not as easy as it sounds.
There is not a chance in hell that he will not be around next year and I am pretty confident that we can go one step further next year under Robbie.
gibbsy howd u pull up after a big couple of days on the piss......:thumbsu:
the role u played this year bud was fantastic good on u. will be looking forward catching up with u at the presentation day, it will be awsome if all the new DEER PARK players hung around the club for years to come..:thumbsu:
GOOD LUCK TO RRRRRRROKY SATURDAY NIGHT HOPE HE WINS IT...;)
w.weapons
22 Sep 2006, 00:18
Havent heard anything on the clubs around town WRFL DIV 2 TEAM OF THE YEAR . has been posted at www.wrfl.asn.au (http://www.wrfl.asn.au) any thoughts ?
I know its only names on a bit of paper but i still would of had Laney at full forward just for the fact that he has consistantly bagged 100's. just my thoughts..
For anyone that posted there team of the year how did it stack up ? are all your players in there ?
in my side i had 14 of the starting 18 in my side and that was off the top of my head....
cook as captian idont know about that 1
well done to robbo on getting the v.c deserve's it for the year he has had
pity he didnt play in the finals would have been a massive in for us....
lane was definately in the f/p in my side rozenwieg at f/f also
mcghie at chf plays better at chb i had di petrio at chf (great year)
weston chb dont think so!! i had him running wild in the midfield
rob telfer in the guts dont think so id replace him with disco on the bench
shepherd was on the bench in my side
also got a questoin mark with evans on the wing:confused:
my thoughts are rozenwieg as captian(he deserves it)
brookshaw n como deserve to be the coaches.......:(
w.weapons
22 Sep 2006, 00:37
Good that you can speak for the other Taylors Lakes players. Time will tell. The chance to play in comfortable surroundings coached by an ex AFL/VFL players would be very tempting. Also if the money is right who knows. I am tipping there would be none of you lot at Deer Park if you were not getting paid.
good to hear your thoughts tony but your posts dont mean anything now the boys from kookaburra ave are now in the div 1 so why dont u start talking your crap on the div 1 thread......:thumbsu:
as for the boys getting paid dont know who or what they are getting but surely they are worth the money they got cause they put the parkers back in contention for getting back in div 1.....
do u think any other side deserve to have been playing u guys in the big 1????we were more than worthy grand finalists....
as for ex afl player you'd think he'd get all their coin...
HOPPERS V GLENORDEN that will be an interesting game....:rolleyes: