View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Joe Czak
30 Aug 2007, 14:22
At least there is locals in their team, look at Calivils U17s side

How many kids do you think acually live in Calivil? I'm sure that there's not any kids who want to play missing out on a game. Good on them for being able to field a side.

The Iron Glove
30 Aug 2007, 15:27
How many kids do you think acually live in Calivil? I'm sure that there's not any kids who want to play missing out on a game. Good on them for being able to field a side.

Im with you on this Joe. The under 17's competition in not just our league but in Heathcote as well is seriously under the pump. With most of the young fella's going to school in between 5 secondary schools the pressure is put put on by mates to play with mates. You only have to look at the BJFL and there seem to be 5 new teams every year.

Serp haven't played a full side for 3 years now, Newbridge played with 18 on the weekend in a final, Inglewood have been lucky to field a side at all but good on them for not letting anyone down and playing all year. Even if it meant "borrowing" players from the opposition.

The issue shouldn't be how many locals are playing in the side but how many kids are playing at all

gerta
30 Aug 2007, 15:30

Im with you on this Joe. The under 17's competition in not just our league but in Heathcote as well is seriously under the pump. With most of the young fella's going to school in between 5 secondary schools the pressure is put put on by mates to play with mates. You only have to look at the BJFL and there seem to be 5 new teams every year.

Serp haven't played a full side for 3 years now, Newbridge played with 18 on the weekend in a final, Inglewood have been lucky to field a side at all but good on them for not letting anyone down and playing all year. Even if it meant "borrowing" players from the opposition.

The issue shouldn't be how many locals are playing in the side but how many kids are playing at all

Excellent post that one... Will be a massive issue in the coming future....

nesko_25
30 Aug 2007, 21:56
Speaking of the Calival 17s, how are the two dennis boys going?

skloddon_8
30 Aug 2007, 23:10
Thats good, a bit of water, some warm conditions and sunshine and it should be looking a treat :)

Any news on the Marong coach??

Also heard that a Loddon Valley Football club has been speaking to one Rick Andrews... Anyone got any goss on that???

Have they removed the gravel from the goal squares yet:D:D:D.... Rick Andrews hey... NCFL b&f winner last year and runner up this year by 3 votes i hear... if they did pick him up would be a great recruit.....

skloddon_8
30 Aug 2007, 23:18

Young anthony goes pretty good... matt holds his position and gets his job done but isn't what u would call staring... League B&F is coming up in a week and abit so who does everyone suspect to win....

Seniors:
Reserves:
Under 17's:

youngcitychick
31 Aug 2007, 00:34
Have they removed the gravel from the goal squares yet:D:D:D.... Rick Andrews hey... NCFL b&f winner last year and runner up this year by 3 votes i hear... if they did pick him up would be a great recruit.....
anyone got the goss on YCW new coach, i heard they are holding onto the
D-mac as a player, and for the 5 goals he gives them most games. Anyone heard anything on this????

Azol
31 Aug 2007, 11:14

Not sure about dave, but Ants ripping it up.

Azol
31 Aug 2007, 11:21
Yeah you are right in Calivil's U/17's there is only 7 local kids playin but lets see in Serp's 2's side there is all of........ WOW a whopping 5 locals.
And if you really wanna compare the 2 clubs in the last home and away round both clubs played, Serp had 5 locals in the 1's, 6 in the 2's and 7 in the 3rd's, where as Calivil had 14 in the 1's, 11 in the 2's and 7 in the 3rd's so sorry sunshine maybe you should think before you type:thumbsd:

I'm not from Serp? But good on them. They are a respectable club, however I agree you must give Calivil credit for their locals in their Seniors and Reserves thats an excellent effort.

Gamingkid
31 Aug 2007, 11:53
Not sure about dave, but Ants ripping it up.

Ant is a champion player, we played them few wweks ago, and news came out that he broke his arm from our game? Any news on that?

Hellboy
31 Aug 2007, 12:46

The goal squares will definitely be cleaned up before Sunday. Not an easy or enjoyable task.

bobbill
31 Aug 2007, 14:34
D-mac as a player, and for the 5 goals he gives them most games. Anyone heard anything on this????

D-mac told ycw that he wanted to do the job again but committee told him they were advertising the job. He said that he would put in for it but then thought if nobody applied they would come back to him and he was not going to be nobody's fall back, so he told ycw that was not interested in doing the job and also told them he would not play there next year!!!

Gamingkid
31 Aug 2007, 15:13
The goal squares will definitely be cleaned up before Sunday. Not an easy or enjoyable task.

the goals were still pretty dusty at trainin last night, but the rest of the ground is holding up well

investor
31 Aug 2007, 16:10

heard alot was on the move from yc, and they are looking inside there club for the coach, doubt it if dmac stays

investor
31 Aug 2007, 16:17
D-mac told ycw that he wanted to do the job again but committee told him they were advertising the job. He said that he would put in for it but then thought if nobody applied they would come back to him and he was not going to be nobody's fall back, so he told ycw that was not interested in doing the job and also told them he would not play there next year!!!

you there again bobbill, what about your other close mates,

Azol
31 Aug 2007, 16:47
Ant is a champion player, we played them few wweks ago, and news came out that he broke his arm from our game? Any news on that?

Ah i don't think that is true, because we played them 3 or so weeks ago and he got best on. And I saw him yesterday and there wasnt anything wrong with him.

Gamingkid
31 Aug 2007, 17:04
Ah i don't think that is true, because we played them 3 or so weeks ago and he got best on. And I saw him yesterday and there wasnt anything wrong with him.

obviously just a fracture must of came from it then, because he got carried off the ground late in the quarter in our match, bout 4 weeks ago

Azol
31 Aug 2007, 17:09
obviously just a fracture must of came from it then, because he got carried off the ground late in the quarter in our match, bout 4 weeks ago

Oh ok, well it musnt have been very serious then?? I dunno, because yesterday he was marking the footy with us, and the match against our boys he played awsome, which was only a few weeks ok.

Gamingkid
31 Aug 2007, 17:10
Oh ok, well it musnt have been very serious then?? I dunno, because yesterday he was marking the footy with us, and the match against our boys he played awsome, which was only a few weeks ok.

yeah musn't been very serious. Who do you play for?

The Talking Goat
31 Aug 2007, 17:37
this thread is up and about now. good on you blokes

Vitalogy
31 Aug 2007, 18:15
Let's hope one of the 17's sides can knock of calivil. Should be a good game tomorrow between them and ycw.

ablett
31 Aug 2007, 18:20
i heard robbie bennett, kingdom and maybe webb are heading back to north bendigo next from ycw.

Azol
31 Aug 2007, 21:41
yeah musn't been very serious. Who do you play for?

pyramid

youngcitychick
31 Aug 2007, 23:56
I heard today that Andy Grant is keen to coach YC??? Apparently doesnt care if he coaches against his old man. Interesting that Steve Cox is planning on stealing a 2's flag for Serp, as he might be the new coach of huntly for 2008!!! Talk is its him or Buster Alf.

publife6
1 Sep 2007, 11:19
Heard that Webb will be going back to Mount Pleasant. Insiders at YCW say that Webb is the man for the coaching job next year. Problem is he doesn't like it there and his close mates are the same. Kingdom and alford back to North and Webb to Mounts. Club also unhappy with Loring and expect him to be looking for greener pastures next year.

publife6
1 Sep 2007, 11:24
YCW insiders say that Webb is the man to coach next year. Problem is he doesn't like it there. Webb to mounts, Kingdon and alford back to North and Chopper off to White Hills.

investor
1 Sep 2007, 13:55
YCW insiders say that Webb is the man to coach next year. Problem is he doesn't like it there. Webb to mounts, Kingdon and alford back to North and Chopper off to White Hills.

i think all these boys will be heading back to north including webb and loring

investor
1 Sep 2007, 19:03
there has to be something in the food at newbridge come finals time, keeps getting stuck, some big injuries to, along with there 39 point loss, not good, when your 5 goals up at 1/4 time, good on calivil :thumbsu:, looking back on some earlier post did'nt newbridge have it in the bag, as was said boys finals are'nt in june, newbridge in stright sets again i think

Bombertastic
1 Sep 2007, 19:31
I knew Calivil was going to win. They just know how. Pretty much came down to better use of the ball. Newbridge turned it over far to much. They looked to have more ineffective kicks then effective. Missed some pretty easy goals in the first and third quarter with the breeze. Torpey missed two sitters and others were just as bad. Newbridge kicked 5-8 in the first but it should have been 8-5. Only have themselves to blame.

Torpedo Punt
1 Sep 2007, 19:58
was a great win by Calivil, disappointing injuries for Newbridge again today, it appeared they weren't fit enough or couldn't run the game out. Blokes were cramping in the second quarter.

If i were newbridge i would hate to have to face up to Pyramid Hill next week.

Bombertastic
1 Sep 2007, 20:02
Yeah there did seem to be a lot of cramp evident from the Newbridge boys and yeah the injuries were telling. However maybe the week off is what hurt the most.

BiG rIcK
1 Sep 2007, 20:53
was a great win by Calivil, disappointing injuries for Newbridge again today, it appeared they weren't fit enough or couldn't run the game out. Blokes were cramping in the second quarter.

If i were newbridge i would hate to have to face up to Pyramid Hill next week.

I don't care what anyone says Calivil was the better side they know how to win when it counts. As for Newbridge we can all only hope both their 1's and 2's get knocked out in straight sets!

speccymcgee
2 Sep 2007, 19:20
does anyone know how chris lakey ended up concussed an carried off on stretcher within first minute yesterday? doesnt sound like just a coincidence? also heard there was some reports out of the calivil newbridge games, likely suspensions or were the incidents minor?

Bombertastic
2 Sep 2007, 21:16
I turned up just as Lakey was being carried off so I have no idea. As for other incidents there were none that I saw. A clean match and no reports as far as I can see.

skloddon_8
2 Sep 2007, 22:05
does anyone know how chris lakey ended up concussed an carried off on stretcher within first minute yesterday? doesnt sound like just a coincidence? also heard there was some reports out of the calivil newbridge games, likely suspensions or were the incidents minor?

Wasn't dirty suprisenly:rolleyes:... he just got a fair big bump while he was of balanced and hit his head on the hard bridgy ground.... yeah there was a report in the 2's with glen richards doing what he did in last years grand final, taking a guys head of with his elbow.... hes a dirty prick and deserves to miss out on playing in the grand final this year....
Pyramid hill were disappointing today... i think with all the injuries that they got especially with matt chilcott going down mid way of the second quarter... things just seemed to go down hill from there...

youngcitychick
2 Sep 2007, 22:51
I noticed that Marong advertised for there 1sts and 2nds coach in the Addy on the weekend...so i took the time to chat to my old mate 'Freddo' aka Brett Rogers today. From the frogs mouth, "I am coaching Marong next year", oggle oggle a good looking blonde walking by, "No my brother Matt is not coaching the 2nds" end of quote.
He says he has heaps he wants to do out their and heaps of new recruits to chase, but looked like he was chasing a fair bit of skirt from YCW today.

Hellboy
3 Sep 2007, 09:48
I heard today that Andy Grant is keen to coach YC??? Apparently doesnt care if he coaches against his old man. Interesting that Steve Cox is planning on stealing a 2's flag for Serp, as he might be the new coach of huntly for 2008!!! Talk is its him or Buster Alf.

I would have thought Andy would have the Elmore job stitched up.

Steve Cox would not be a step in the right direction for Huntly.

Jock Clark 2
3 Sep 2007, 11:53
YEP, Andy would go OK as a coach.
But first of all there has to be a vacancy.
Has Bluey Southcombe decided to step down at Elmore ??

Hellboy
3 Sep 2007, 14:39
Does anyone give Miti a snowflakes chance in hell against Newbridge?

Given that no one gave them any hope against Pyramid and they won convincingly, they must be a chance.

oldmanemu
3 Sep 2007, 15:04
Calivil were just too good. Bourke and Lakey were key losses, but the coaching staff didn't take a spare ruckman into the game, and left noted finals performer Dean Gordon in the twos.

I would also wonder whether the players had headaches after reading the 50 pages of paper stuck on the wall in the Newbridge rooms...What the hell was that about???

I would also be worried about the fact Shevy can't get the ball unless it is pin-pointed on his head, so a swirly breeze ends his use.

Newbridge just stopped in the twos. Had it sewn up but Calivil just kept on going, as they do. Newbridge had a fair few players down on form, and will need to do some re-grouping against Serp seniors this week at Inglewood. Perhaps give McIntosh a set of balls.

Steve Cox would be an interesting choice for HFC. Has played finals and won B&F's, but still likes a bit of a tipple last I heard. ;)

Trent the flight Steward
3 Sep 2007, 19:24
I noticed that Marong advertised for there 1sts and 2nds coach in the Addy on the weekend...so i took the time to chat to my old mate 'Freddo' aka Brett Rogers today. From the frogs mouth, "I am coaching Marong next year", oggle oggle a good looking blonde walking by, "No my brother Matt is not coaching the 2nds" end of quote.
He says he has heaps he wants to do out their and heaps of new recruits to chase, but looked like he was chasing a fair bit of skirt from YCW today.
Disapointing to hear the rojo double isnt happeining, who will freddo bring as new players to the pathers den that havent already pulled on panther gurnsey?
Im sure the new recruits will be happy with freddo and his approach to warm ups for training

youngcitychick
3 Sep 2007, 22:18
apparently his old man has a few recruits lined up, a couple of red hot brothers from over Arrarat way, he mentioned their names but they didnt ring a bell. Also a couple of players from up Cohuna way...not sure what key positions but according to Freddo they will fill what has been lacking at Marong. I think he will do well as long as he has the right person pulling the moves of the bench...someone mentioned Murph... but Freddo says he's out of the loop...much happy as a spectator. So who is going to be his eyes off the field while he is playing???

Joe Czak
4 Sep 2007, 10:42
apparently his old man has a few recruits lined up, a couple of red hot brothers from over Arrarat way, he mentioned their names but they didnt ring a bell. Also a couple of players from up Cohuna way...not sure what key positions but according to Freddo they will fill what has been lacking at Marong. I think he will do well as long as he has the right person pulling the moves of the bench...someone mentioned Murph... but Freddo says he's out of the loop...much happy as a spectator. So who is going to be his eyes off the field while he is playing???

Craig and Ash Cooper perhaps? Maybe time for Murray Werne to step up as assistant coach.

Hellboy
4 Sep 2007, 10:44

Not sure Jock. I'd heard that Andy was being groomed to take over from Bluey when he finishes up. Couldn't say with any certainty when that may be.

LOGZ
4 Sep 2007, 12:46
Craig and Ash Cooper perhaps? Maybe time for Murray Werne to step up as assistant coach.

You're a very funny man Joe. I'm still laughing

Trent the flight Steward
4 Sep 2007, 17:45

I didnt know brendan Mannix had a brother, as he certainly is red and from ararat, perhaps freddo should try lure richie murray back as he is from cohuna regon (kerang) and he moves well he is what marong has beeen lacking for the senior players to take note of the way he leads.
Murray Wearne certainly has the footy smarts to been thrown into the coaching circles although im sure he will just be keen to concentrate on his own game. I hear Glen 'starsky' Hutchinson is back in town and keen to be panther again. Rick Hasite is an encylopedia of knowledge im sure he would put his hand up to be freddos eyes or perhaps one out of left field Bruce Nelson to come back and be the wise head from the pine

Frankenfurter
5 Sep 2007, 15:59
Well the footy was fantastic last weekend, unfortunately the state of both grounds to host the games left a little bit to be desired. There is no doubt both Bridgey and Marong had a crack at getting the grounds into reasonable shape but unfortunately they were hard as a rock both of them, marong had a tinge of grass but was like a road and Bridgey much the same.

The worst thing about it, is that Inglewood is in worse shape than both of them. I feel for both Newbridge and Mitiamo to have to back up after last weekend and play on road and then be expected to face up to an inform Calivil at Serp.

Starting to look a lot like a clean sweep in the footy to Calivil, young Matt Smith was best on again and looks to have a future at a much higher standard than LVFL.

Early predictions for this week and for the Frank Harding medal?

I'll take Newbridge to rebound and Comer to get the most votes but a David Morriesy win in the league count.

Hellboy
5 Sep 2007, 16:53

I'll take Newbridge to rebound and Comer to get the most votes but a David Morriesy win in the league count.

What was the red card for Frank?

Newbridge will be too good for Mitiamo. I'd have my money on Dave Morrissey for the medal.

Frankenfurter
5 Sep 2007, 17:14
i was unlucky, somewhere in a post i mentioned the name of the club (by complete accident) at the centre of the drug scandal. Copped a week, which was killing me.

omar
6 Sep 2007, 01:04
Wasn't dirty suprisenly:rolleyes:... he just got a fair big bump while he was of balanced and hit his head on the hard bridgy ground.... yeah there was a report in the 2's with glen richards doing what he did in last years grand final, taking a guys head of with his elbow.... hes a dirty prick and deserves to miss out on playing in the grand final this year....
Pyramid hill were disappointing today... i think with all the injuries that they got especially with matt chilcott going down mid way of the second quarter... things just seemed to go down hill from there...

About the Glen Richards repeat elbow job on an oposition player [if as reported ], he should get a wacking big fine ,say $1000.00 for a broken or fractured jaw plus a season OUT .

Lets get rid of this garbage .

Frankenfurter
6 Sep 2007, 08:56
not endorsing what Glen Richards did last saturday but you see worse than that most weeks. He deserves a couple of weeks for his brain explosion though.

gerta
6 Sep 2007, 09:59
Well the footy was fantastic last weekend, unfortunately the state of both grounds to host the games left a little bit to be desired. There is no doubt both Bridgey and Marong had a crack at getting the grounds into reasonable shape but unfortunately they were hard as a rock both of them, marong had a tinge of grass but was like a road and Bridgey much the same.

The worst thing about it, is that Inglewood is in worse shape than both of them. I feel for both Newbridge and Mitiamo to have to back up after last weekend and play on road and then be expected to face up to an inform Calivil at Serp.

Starting to look a lot like a clean sweep in the footy to Calivil, young Matt Smith was best on again and looks to have a future at a much higher standard than LVFL.

Looks like there has been plenty of water going on the ground in the past 24 hours at Inglewood and another water tanker parked at the ground this morning... Although have they left there run a bit late??

LOGZ
6 Sep 2007, 10:40
Looks like there has been plenty of water going on the ground in the past 24 hours at Inglewood and another water tanker parked at the ground this morning... Although have they left there run a bit late??

Better late than never. I wonder if this has this been organised and funded by the league or by the club.
Lets just hope it doesn't create some soggy parts of the ground. Consistency all over the ground is better than patches of green next to dust. I know a few players who have done knees on grounds like that, including me.

gerta
6 Sep 2007, 10:52
Better late than never. I wonder if this has this been organised and funded by the league or by the club.
Lets just hope it doesn't create some soggy parts of the ground. Consistency all over the ground is better than patches of green next to dust. I know a few players who have done knees on grounds like that, including me.

Wouldn't be surprised if even the local shire were involved in some way... but yes, hopefully they pump the ground full of water and actually have it soft for saturday...

Hellboy
6 Sep 2007, 11:14

There was a heap of water put on the ground at Marong in the week leading up to last Sunday and it was still very hard. They might have left it a bit late but I don't think there would have been much that could have been done earlier anyway.

Frankenfurter
6 Sep 2007, 12:12

WAY WAY WAY too late i reckon. Couple the rock hard surface with the kids sand pit in the middle (soft sand that is dangerous) plus the ditch that stretches across the ground and has been covered in rocks and we've got a dangerous situation on our hands.

Good on them for having a crack at getting it up to speed, here is hoping all grades of footy can get through without incident.

nesko_25
6 Sep 2007, 13:28

Gone Jock, from my understanding he said at the start of the year that he is finished and thats why Andy was appointed assistant

Joe Czak
6 Sep 2007, 13:37
I didnt know brendan Mannix had a brother, as he certainly is red and from ararat, perhaps freddo should try lure richie murray back as he is from cohuna regon (kerang) and he moves well he is what marong has beeen lacking for the senior players to take note of the way he leads.
Murray Wearne certainly has the footy smarts to been thrown into the coaching circles although im sure he will just be keen to concentrate on his own game. I hear Glen 'starsky' Hutchinson is back in town and keen to be panther again. Rick Hasite is an encylopedia of knowledge im sure he would put his hand up to be freddos eyes or perhaps one out of left field Bruce Nelson to come back and be the wise head from the pine

Bruce Nelson is one of the most inspirational coaches you're likely to hear. His inovative thinking is Sheedy like (Sunday morning training that started at the pub). He also springs for some grog at the season which is nice. As for Hutchinson, needs to learn how to blind turn without getting K.O.'d.

Bombertastic
6 Sep 2007, 14:01

Maybe, however under performers at Newbridge have to lift. Like the Grants. Ash Grant especially has to seek the ball and stop sheep dogging it.

LOGZ
6 Sep 2007, 14:47
found this link in the HDFL forum.
Classic.
A bit of inspiration to all those in finals

(warning, mild frequent language)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8651091#post8651091

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwq5cMFPkK8

skloddon_8
6 Sep 2007, 20:37
Maybe, however under performers at Newbridge have to lift. Like the Grants. Ash Grant especially has to seek the ball and stop sheep dogging it.

i honestly can't see newbridge winning this week... i think they have a few cockey d ickheads to win this week... serp seniors should win comfortably in the 2's and YCW to get back on the winners board in the juniors.... David Morrissey to win the Harding medal and younge scott mann to win the juniors b&f...

i also had a chat to rick Andrews on yesterday and said theres no chance of him leaing charlton next year... a little bit disapointing because he would have been a great player to have in our league...

youngcitychick
7 Sep 2007, 06:42
Andrew Grant is definetly the coach of Elmore next year, bluey southcombe moving over for him. Looks like Webby might be YCW's next coach!!!
Heard lard ass Lawring is leaving YC as well, not sure about D-mac, as his wife is an important and popular member of the A grade netball. Word has it that the ladies from YC wont be letting her leave easily.

Dan Burke has broken, a bone in his foot, thinks he is still playing, but his family tell me he wont be. Other Burke brother is carrying an injury too, but is set to play.

bobbill
7 Sep 2007, 06:57
Andrew Grant is definetly the coach of Elmore next year, bluey southcombe moving over for him. Looks like Webby might be YCW's next coach!!!
Heard lard ass Lawring is leaving YC as well, not sure about D-mac, as his wife is an important and popular member of the A grade netball. Word has it that the ladies from YC wont be letting her leave easily.

Dan Burke has broken, a bone in his foot, thinks he is still playing, but his family tell me he wont be. Other Burke brother is carrying an injury too, but is set to play.

Young citychick, I think we should start calling you Caroline Wilson as your information or sources are so far off the mark. I don't know who keep's giving you the Yc information!!!

The Iron Glove
7 Sep 2007, 09:59
i honestly can't see newbridge winning this week... i think they have a few cockey d ickheads to win this week... serp seniors should win comfortably in the 2's and YCW to get back on the winners board in the juniors.... David Morrissey to win the Harding medal and younge scott mann to win the juniors b&f...

i also had a chat to rick Andrews on yesterday and said theres no chance of him leaing charlton next year... a little bit disapointing because he would have been a great player to have in our league

Another excellent and inciteful comment from you again Sk. While not following Newbridge myself I would hardly consider it a reason for Mitiamo winning.

Why don't you give us a run down what went wrong with your mob's insipid display at Marong on Saturday? For someone that has been spruiking off since they snuck into the five I wouldn't be throwing too many shots

Hellboy
7 Sep 2007, 10:58
Young citychick, I think we should start calling you Caroline Wilson as your information or sources are so far off the mark. I don't know who keep's giving you the Yc information!!!

I can assure you youngcitychick's previous post about Marong's recruiting for next season is also well of the mark.

Ash Grant
7 Sep 2007, 12:25

And just who are you? I think you will change your mind about me when you see the show I have planned for tomorrow. It's go time.

investor
7 Sep 2007, 14:45

will webby coach, looking at the following on sunday of the 2's (snr 's) has a long way to go to make the club a bit tighter, big task, if he doe's all the best, might have to drag a few mounts boys over, as ask before, where you playing next year.

investor
7 Sep 2007, 14:51
And just who are you? I think you will change your mind about me when you see the show I have planned for tomorrow. It's go time.

that go time would want to be before half time, cause i watched you last week when they lifted you started walking, i think miti will have your measure, see ya on the fence next week watching, will be the same as last year:D

FlyingDucks
7 Sep 2007, 16:39
that go time would want to be before half time, cause i watched you last week when they lifted you started walking, i think miti will have your measure, see ya on the fence next week watching, will be the same as last year:D

Newbridge would have to not play at all for Mitiamo to beat them. Calivil and Newbridge are streets ahead of the other teams.

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 19:02
could we be so lucky as to hope that the three newbridge football sides lose (the thirds will lose, the seconds are playing a senior side in Serp, the seniors should win) and all the netball sides lose as well and the boys and girls from riverside end the year without a flag.

Good to see Newbridge think LVFL supporters are morons with the side they had in the addy today, Damian Hughes named twice, Bourke, Wills and Torpey named.

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 19:05

last i heard McCormick had retired, apparently one of his legs are stuffed. Probably doesn't help that he has whacked on about 10 kgs since he kicked the ton for YCW last year too many hot dogs before the game or he has been talking to Shevvy on how best to treat your body like a temple.

youngcitychick
7 Sep 2007, 19:24

Well Bobbill who is coaching the Eagles seniours next year, you sound like you have got your finger in the pie. Who's coaching them, put up or shut up!!!:p

My sources are on the money, I would rather you refer to me as Hutchie cos you are going to read the exclusives here before anyone else. Nice of you to go the easy option and refer to me as Caro.

youngcitychick
7 Sep 2007, 19:38
Good to see Newbridge think LVFL supporters are morons with the side they had in the addy today, Damian Hughes named twice, Bourke, Wills and Torpey named.[/quote]

Dan Bourke cant be playing his sister told me his foot is stuffed.

jack 01
7 Sep 2007, 20:24
could we be so lucky as to hope that the three newbridge football sides lose (the thirds will lose, the seconds are playing a senior side in Serp, the seniors should win) and all the netball sides lose as well and the boys and girls from riverside end the year without a flag.

Good to see Newbridge think LVFL supporters are morons with the side they had in the addy today, Damian Hughes named twice, Bourke, Wills and Torpey named.
what did fathead torpey end up getting in the end:confused:

BiG rIcK
7 Sep 2007, 20:26
what did fathead torpey end up getting in the end:confused:

He only got 1

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 20:33
He only got 1

does anyone know who newbridge are going to bring in for Torpey, Bourke, Wills maybe Lakey and Cam Grant?

While they have a strong seconds side there doesn't seem to be a lot of depth there, i assume Gordon will be in to ruck, but where do they go from there?

What about Miti is Tim Wicks back? Do you think he will be happy or surly if his team mate was to beat him in the league count?

jack 01
7 Sep 2007, 20:34
gees it would be a shame if newbridge seniors and seconds both get beaten this weekend

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 20:52
would be a terrible shame your right there jack.

On another note, Glenn RIchards won't be celebrating another flag this year, he copped a couple of weeks from the tribunal i heard.

BiG rIcK
7 Sep 2007, 20:56
would be a terrible shame your right there jack.

On another note, Glenn RIchards won't be celebrating another flag this year, he copped a couple of weeks from the tribunal i heard.

The most disappointing thing for glen would be that this year was probably his last with good mate steve dean.....

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 21:04
steven dean has been retiring the last couple of years, hard to retire when you've won 4 in a row. Richards can go around again next year quite comfortably i would think, although he has slowed a little and the elbows seems to come out a little quicker than they used to.

I wonder who will go in as fave next weekend? Calivil for mine if they face Miti or Newbridge if they make it, in saying that i still think that calivil are across the line in all grades of footbal.

skloddon_8
7 Sep 2007, 22:27

i also had a chat to rick Andrews on yesterday and said theres no chance of him leaing charlton next year... a little bit disapointing because he would have been a great player to have in our league

Another excellent and inciteful comment from you again Sk. While not following Newbridge myself I would hardly consider it a reason for Mitiamo winning.

Why don't you give us a run down what went wrong with your mob's insipid display at Marong on Saturday? For someone that has been spruiking off since they snuck into the five I wouldn't be throwing too many shots

The cockey d ickheads isent the only reason i dont think they will win, they were badly struck down with injurie last week and i just can't see them bouncing back, mitiamo is in good form and should win to play against calival in the grand final... i already gave my comments on Pyramid Hills efort last week get up with it mate...

The Mighty Maroons
7 Sep 2007, 22:38
Does every single person on here hate newbridge??
Really tell me truthfully what did they do to each person on here to be so hated

*with the exception of Ash_Grant lol

:confused:

The Mighty Maroons
7 Sep 2007, 22:41

Seriously, Newbridge recruited over last summer to get a heap of players, They have all teams in the finals, They have had a quite successful year and everyone is against them all of a sudden. That what footy has come to these days, buy in players to win a flag and everyone is going to have to deal with that

The Mighty Maroons
7 Sep 2007, 22:44

Good call granty haha you show everyone tommorow in what could become somewhat of a onesided match

BiG rIcK
7 Sep 2007, 22:52
Seriously, Newbridge recruited over last summer to get a heap of players, They have all teams in the finals, They have had a quite successful year and everyone is against them all of a sudden. That what footy has come to these days, buy in players to win a flag and everyone is going to have to deal with that

Hmmm still yet to see calivil buy a flag

Frankenfurter
7 Sep 2007, 23:16
Does every single person on here hate newbridge??
Really tell me truthfully what did they do to each person on here to be so hated

*with the exception of Ash_Grant lol

:confused:

we went through this about three weeks ago. Newbridge are arrogant beyond belief, are poor winners (and even worse losers), their supporters are arrogant and they enjoy belittling other clubs, some of the players they have are real peanuts (N Torpey, M Holland) aside from that they are a great club. The reason every other club doesn't have an issue with Calivil winning flags each year is the way the club goes about it's business.

They have tried to buy a flag and unfortunately it has come crashing down in the past 7 weeks, Reed Wills is a massive out this weekend, Scott Baxter had the worse game i've ever seen him play last week, Giri was only servicable, Shevvy struggled (like he did at Wedderburn in finals) comer didn't seem to have too many petrol tickets left in the second half.

I'll be honest i hope they get beat, i just hope we don't see a repeat of last year's prelim final when they got the sooks on and starting belting the opposition.

Five Fingers
8 Sep 2007, 10:17
I love reading all the one-eyed socially inept scum bagging out Newbridge, Just means they arent from Newbridge and have no idea what they are talking about. Puts on a good face for the club they support...

Homos, Raging homos

Thats right, i said Raging!

Bombertastic
8 Sep 2007, 10:21
^ A little uncalled for. Simply because much of it is true. Newbridge are arrogant. They also bought players. Now it's finals time and they have injuries and a couple of key players out for the finals. Serves them right.

Cam Grant will play today to answer someone elses question. Should be interesting to see how they respond today. Shev was named on the bench, maybe as a little rev up. Two of the players in from the 2nds are tall ruck/forward players that Newbridge now desperately needs. Should be an interesting match. Pity I can't go today.

Frankenfurter
8 Sep 2007, 12:28
I love reading all the one-eyed socially inept scum bagging out Newbridge, Just means they arent from Newbridge and have no idea what they are talking about. Puts on a good face for the club they support...

Homos, Raging homos

Thats right, i said Raging!

Yeah because that is a considered and mature response. Someone asked why Newbridge were so unpopular and all we did was answer the question.

I'm not on my own i'll give you the tip, last week i've never seen some many clubs cheer in the last quarter as Calivil tore Newbridge apart, and then again over at the netball on sunday.

Get a grip on reality, Newbridge have created a culture that isn't liked with the LVFL community, deal with it.

speccymcgee
8 Sep 2007, 22:38
geez whatever happened to YCW being the most hated team in the lvfl? im sure everyone will be happy with todays result then, newbridge coming from behind to win in a very good game of footy. wouldnt people prefer to see someone else have success other then calivil every year...

BiG rIcK
8 Sep 2007, 23:49
wouldnt people prefer to see someone else have success other then calivil every year...

People are only sick of them because they know they haven't had to BUY any of their flags and wish they could do the same haha

Trent the flight Steward
9 Sep 2007, 11:50
Any team with Neale Torpey in it has no chance of winning the flag very ordinary seconds player at best

Vitalogy
9 Sep 2007, 12:23
How's serp looking for the grandfinal (grass wise etc)? personally i think its one of the most ratshit grounds in the league.

skloddon_8
9 Sep 2007, 13:56
Yeah because that is a considered and mature response. Someone asked why Newbridge were so unpopular and all we did was answer the question.

I'm not on my own i'll give you the tip, last week i've never seen some many clubs cheer in the last quarter as Calivil tore Newbridge apart, and then again over at the netball on sunday.

Get a grip on reality, Newbridge have created a culture that isn't liked with the LVFL community, deal with it.

i couldn't agree with ya more... they would have to be the dirtyest team going round.. and thats across all the grades... when you see there seniors throwing cheap shots in every 2 minutes your not suprised that there juniors are just the same...

Cathead
9 Sep 2007, 19:54
U blokes out there who say Newbridge are spending so much money on this years side, You are all jumping on the Hate Newbridge band wagon with no facts to back it up. As i have posted before, apart from wills, all the recruits from this year have a connection or a history out there and they would not be paying anywhere near what you tools think.

Anyway, what a tool head wicks is from Miti, bowing to the crowd, calling the maroons chokers!! They r the ones that let the game go with 6-7 minutes to play. He will get plenty of weeks for his cheap shot that made ash grant even uglier! Newbridge have a fair bit of work to do to overcome Calivil this week, but with right mix of players and if they can kick straight they could end calivils run of flags.

I would like to also know who u cyber rats think the players r that throw the cheap shots. Nothing like getting over excited on your keyboard. Tall poppy syndrome at its best. Bag a club out for having a successful year but let the clubs that have been a massive dissapointment (YC, Serp, Pyramid) off the hook.

Go the Maroons!!!!

Maxi
9 Sep 2007, 20:02
Any team with Neale Torpey in it has no chance of winning the flag very ordinary seconds player at best
Only one person rates N.Torpey and that is N.Torpey........

Frankenfurter
9 Sep 2007, 20:59
I would like to also know who u cyber rats think the players r that throw the cheap shots. Nothing like getting over excited on your keyboard. Tall poppy syndrome at its best. Bag a club out for having a successful year but let the clubs that have been a massive dissapointment (YC, Serp, Pyramid) off the hook.

Go the Maroons!!!!

Successful year? Phew talk about putting the cart before the horse, you've had your reserves side lose one game for the home and away season lose two finals and not make the big one and then the senior side have struggled to make the grand final, wouldn't be calling it a successful year by any means just yet.

Cathead
9 Sep 2007, 21:38
By a successful year franky, i mean that the club has had every team in the footy and netball finals. While it is very dissapointing that the twos went out on the weekend, they were decimated with injuries and both ruckmen and the FF were out of the side, to go down by 6 goals to the serp ones is an effort in itself.
In the 2nd semi, the CHB was out in the first 5 mins, the ruckman out within 20min, wills gone, cam grant gone and a Freo having a purple patch and snagging 4-5 goals in the last, it has been a good fightback to make the GF. Every club has its injuries and you dont make excuses, so bring on the weekend. Of course, if the ones don't win this week, it will still have been a successful year but a very disapointing finals campaign. But Franky, you get everyone talking on this thread and you are entitled to your opinion.

Frankenfurter
9 Sep 2007, 23:11
granted newbridge copped some unfortunate injuries at the wrong time of the year, but success can only be judged on the silverware you bring home and it's up to the newbridge seniors, i think all other sides were eliminated.

Anyone know the winners from the league count tonight, the trip to the serp hall proved a little beyond me tonight.

Hellboy
10 Sep 2007, 00:21
[quote=Frankenfurter;8704221
Anyone know the winners from the league count tonight, the trip to the serp hall proved a little beyond me tonight.[/quote]

Wicks by a mile from Baxter.

He did have the presence of mind to thank his supporters. The groans of disappointment from the crowd were evident every time his name was called out.

It's unfortunate that a player that is clearly as good as Tim Wicks is such a d ick head.