View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
Frankenfurter
10 Sep 2007, 09:23
well that is a little disappointing, there is no doubt he is a gun footballer, it's just a pity that he is such a moron.
Tool would be a more appropriate term. The guys ego had him winning this at the start of the year. It pi$$ed off a few of his team mates too.
oldmanemu
10 Sep 2007, 11:15
Wicksy will have to enjoy it, as he should miss the first half dozen games of next season with his cheap shot, and he did bait the crowd. Massive tool. Always has been.
Anyway, should be an interesting night at selection at Newbridge this week. I don't think they can go with Shev and Holland in the same team again. It didn't work at all on Saturday, and probably need someone who can play up forward, but also further up the ground and whilst a great team man, Holland isn't that player.
Also need to get M.Giri to work a bit harder. Has had a couple of ordinary weeks. Ralton and Lakey were great down back and Sam Mildren good up forward.
As for the twos, with blokes like McNally and Pointon, plus Cox running around for Serp, and Gordon, Holland, Ryan and Scullie taken out of the Newbridge side, it was always going to be a tough ask. The Maroons put up a good fight, but their delivery into the forward line wasn't good enough, whilst Pointon was hit on the chest every time Serp went inside 50.
Serp will win the twos in a canter.
Newbridge should win the seniors as long as they get something out of the big fella in the goal square!!
Tommy Guns
10 Sep 2007, 11:28
How's serp looking for the grandfinal (grass wise etc)? personally i think its one of the most ratshit grounds in the league.
Went and had a look at the ground on Saturday, was in a lot better condition than any of the other grounds that have been used for finals. Still pretty hard underneath but has a good cover of grass. Apparently they've got the go ahead to dump some more water on this week so should be in pretty good condition by the weekend.
Frankenfurter
10 Sep 2007, 13:21
serp's ground is a tough one, it can be awesome if we don't get rain and they can water it but if we get rain it quickly turns to crap. Thankfully we should have a good surface this weekend.
Hopefully we get a good day to showcase the biggest day on the calender. The two best sides have made the senior and under 17's game which is always good and we've got calivil vs serp in the two's.
skloddon_8
10 Sep 2007, 14:59
U blokes out there who say Newbridge are spending so much money on this years side, You are all jumping on the Hate Newbridge band wagon with no facts to back it up. As i have posted before, apart from wills, all the recruits from this year have a connection or a history out there and they would not be paying anywhere near what you tools think.
Anyway, what a tool head wicks is from Miti, bowing to the crowd, calling the maroons chokers!! They r the ones that let the game go with 6-7 minutes to play. He will get plenty of weeks for his cheap shot that made ash grant even uglier! Newbridge have a fair bit of work to do to overcome Calivil this week, but with right mix of players and if they can kick straight they could end calivils run of flags.
I would like to also know who u cyber rats think the players r that throw the cheap shots. Nothing like getting over excited on your keyboard. Tall poppy syndrome at its best. Bag a club out for having a successful year but let the clubs that have been a massive dissapointment (YC, Serp, Pyramid) off the hook.
Go the Maroons!!!!
yeah thats wicks for ya.. a complete dic k head... but i don't see how you think Pyramid were a massive disappointment this year.. explain that one to me Cathead...
The Iron Glove
10 Sep 2007, 15:36
I wouldn't say Pyramid were as great of a disappointment as YCW but they were certainly a disappointment. I think your coach learnt a lot from the year. From the start he was spruiking off saying that they were going to challenge for the flag and in the end they just managed to scrape through. By the end of the year he coached with maturity but if he hadve done that from the start of the year I have no doubt they would have finished third. No doubt if they can keep the core nucleus of players as well as Chillcott they will be a force next year.
But for me YCW were the main disappointment. Bennett, McCormick, Loring all going through the year without firing a shot. Webb was ok in patches but found it harder playing in a miediocre side compared to the dominant Mounts. Connelly only plays well against lower rated opposition. Keating was good without being outstanding but it shouldn't be left to a bloke like him.
And from all reports it looks like it could be a struggle next year too
Cathead
10 Sep 2007, 15:36
The Hillies have had a dissapointing year, recruiting well and then having a very ordinary patch thru-out the year which only allowed them to finish 5, just. Most clubs from last year improved apart from the ones mentioned and they went backwards. In the last half of the year, YC, Pyramid, Serp, all had their chances to cement their spot in the 5 but would lose the games they should win. Pyramid gone from being Grand Finalists one year to being beaten by Inglewood and then just making the 5 the next year. It might be Pyramids mind set that they are happy just to make up the numbers. but i know that i wouldnt be happy with falling like that, considering the standard of some of the other sides.
The Gun Recruit
10 Sep 2007, 17:51
Dunno why it would be a dissapointment to lose to Inglewood? Maybe coz the coach got cocky and announced the woodies win was a fluke the previous week? Then hill were 4 goals up at 3/4 time and lost? Don't forget Inglewood won 4 games and could easily have won 8 (4 losses with combined losing margin of 28pts).
Frankenfurter
10 Sep 2007, 17:54
been a few disappointing sides, no more so than YCW, they didn't seem to lose many from last year, got webb and a few others and weren't able to really string anything together, maybe that's why the job has been advertised? Is McCormick any chance of staying on as coach or player?
Bombertastic
10 Sep 2007, 18:29
LMFAO Ash Grant got a nice shiner. Good to see someone finally knocked him down a peg or two, even if it was Wicks. His nose actually looks straighter then before.
Calivil will win the final looking at Newbridges form. They make to many poor disposals.
I agree people should stop paying out of Newbridge for "buying" or rather attempting to buy the premiership. The new ins all have family history with the club as far as I can see.
Still we can all pay out on them choking when the finals come around. Two rather poor displays in two finals. I don't think they have what it takes to win when it matters.
barry badrinath
10 Sep 2007, 19:07
The Hillies have had a dissapointing year, recruiting well and then having a very ordinary patch thru-out the year which only allowed them to finish 5, just. Most clubs from last year improved apart from the ones mentioned and they went backwards. In the last half of the year, YC, Pyramid, Serp, all had their chances to cement their spot in the 5 but would lose the games they should win. Pyramid gone from being Grand Finalists one year to being beaten by Inglewood and then just making the 5 the next year. It might be Pyramids mind set that they are happy just to make up the numbers. but i know that i wouldnt be happy with falling like that, considering the standard of some of the other sides.
The dissapointing teams have been bandied about but what about the biggest dissapointing recruits....
i will start it off by putting up Shannon Hayes from miti...i saw him on the weekend against a old man(gordon) and senior debutant(ryan) and didnt do alot...
what does everyone else think??????
andypipkin
10 Sep 2007, 19:22
maybe he either sold himself very well, or the supporters had to high an opinion of him
jack 01
10 Sep 2007, 19:56
Wicks by a mile from Baxter.
He did have the presence of mind to thank his supporters. The groans of disappointment from the crowd were evident every time his name was called out.
It's unfortunate that a player that is clearly as good as Tim Wicks is such a d ick head.
who got the seconds and the thirds:confused:
youngcitychick
10 Sep 2007, 23:25
Jake Concol (plugger) won the thirds from YCW, and how loud were those YC girls up the back of the hall. One lass yelled out 'marry me plugger' when the young fella went up on the stage.
What did everyone else think about the vote count, was a bugger to have to drive out to Serp.
The hall was cramped, food was cold, put the company was great.
Frankenfurter
11 Sep 2007, 09:16
What did everyone else think about the vote count, was a bugger to have to drive out to Serp.
The hall was cramped, food was cold, put the company was great.
didn't see that one coming, the serp hall would be too small, you wait until the grand final this weekend, then you will know what cramped is.
Hellboy
11 Sep 2007, 09:29
The dissapointing teams have been bandied about but what about the biggest dissapointing recruits....
i will start it off by putting up Shannon Hayes from miti...i saw him on the weekend against a old man(gordon) and senior debutant(ryan) and didnt do alot...
what does everyone else think??????
I agree with you Barry. I hear he came with a fairly hefty price tag which makes it even worse.
Hellboy
11 Sep 2007, 09:31
who got the seconds and the thirds:confused:
Andrew Snell from Calivil won the seconds.
Big Ump
11 Sep 2007, 10:26
A few of the H/Cote boys had a look at Newbridge and Miti game they all said the standered of football is well below the Heathcote league .To be fair to the Lodden Valley people has anyone had a look at any final games in the H/Cote league if so give your opinion:thumbsu:
Vitalogy
11 Sep 2007, 12:40
I hope calivil get knocked of in all grades this week :P nothing sweeter!
iwantanotherflag
11 Sep 2007, 14:22
A few of the H/Cote boys had a look at Newbridge and Miti game they all said the standered of football is well below the Heathcote league .To be fair to the Lodden Valley people has anyone had a look at any final games in the H/Cote league if so give your opinion:thumbsu:
I think you'll find District Footy is District Footy, there isn't much difference between comps. Watching a game is a lot different to playing in a game, watching it can look much faster.
nesko_25
11 Sep 2007, 15:19
I think you'll find District Footy is District Footy, there isn't much difference between comps. Watching a game is a lot different to playing in a game, watching it can look much faster.
Lets not get into the HDFL v LVFL. Players from both leagues could carve up either.
On the Hayes thing, I never thought he was much chop. To small for a ruckman and to slow for a dominate CHB/CHF. He hangs his hat on coming 3 or 4th in HDFL league metal but everyone knows you only need 5 real outstanding games or so to win were as club b and fs you have to be consistantly good.
rumour is ycw are trying to lure darren walsh to coach them next year and a few would follow one would think.
investor
11 Sep 2007, 20:59
come on big ump, thats coming from a group of blokes that proberly played in that league without success (miti), look heathcote league is stronger, cause there is more money in the clubs so that means they get more talent in the one side,there are some very talented players in the lv, but there spread apart, have played in both leagues for many years,
Former Newbridge player in Tony Bellenger was a run away winner in the MCDFL's B & F award for 2007. Tony has lead the Avoca club into the Preliminary final aganst Caribrook this Saturday. A pretty impressive effort when you take into account that he is coaching a very similar list to the one that finished seventh last year.
Bombertastic
12 Sep 2007, 10:13
I've watched a bit of the HC league and to be quite frank the standard of play is below LV by a sizable margin. At least in my opinion.:thumbsu:
I disagree. The pace and skill at which Elmore/Mount game was played at during the year was fair better than the final between Miti/Newbridge.
But having said that I have played in both leagues and think the LV is a far better league, maybe not in skill but in competition.
speccymcgee
12 Sep 2007, 12:05
good footage of tim wicks snotting ash grant on the monday nite win news, hes up at the tribunal tonight, how many weeks does everyone think he'll get? i think he has a record. maybe first 3-4 games next year?
Big Ump
12 Sep 2007, 12:21
good footage of tim wicks snotting ash grant on the monday nite win news, hes up at the tribunal tonight, how many weeks does everyone think he'll get? i think he has a record. maybe first 3-4 games next year?
Myself my wife and daughter watched the footage did not look good,and then my daughter reads in the Addy he wins BF not good for the league i would say the tribunal must give him the maximum penalty
oldmanemu
12 Sep 2007, 13:02
I think what was worse was that Grant came off with blood pouring from his face and as Wicks ran over to the timekeepers box, through the crowd, a Newbridge supporter yelled out at Wicks that he should "Go have a shower", then Wicks yelled back at the supporter, staring at him, whilst in the crowd, 10-15m away, "I'll be back on in 15 minutes to hit another one!"....... Wicks is an idiot.
And the above is 100% true, as I was standing next to the Newbridge supporter who yelled out.
Wicks should get 6 weeks, minimum.
The Wombat
12 Sep 2007, 13:03
Record wouldn't be too bad, 2nd on four occassions Harding medal and first 3 times. Wasn't inelligible to win these in each of these years, so for seven seasons record was clean.
The Wombat
12 Sep 2007, 13:06
Record wouldn't be too bad, 2nd on four occassions Harding medal and first 3 times. Wasn't inelligible to win these in each of these years, so for seven seasons record was clean.
In saying that a record should not preclude him from getting at least five, how smart is a bloke to do that in a pre lim final when the game is still up for grabs. Suggests to me he wasn't going to play next week through injury, or his he just that dumb.
youngcitychick
12 Sep 2007, 13:12
Well we know he wont be winning the B&F for the league next year, will this sway umpires next year to look at other players for votes, even if Wicks, 'earwax' is what we refer to him as, is the best on the ground???
Who thinks umpires will give there votes to other players, because they know its a waste to give them to him next year???
Wheres my mate Bobbill, you were a bit late getting to the vote count, werent you, you missed the Under 17 footy!!!
youngcitychick
12 Sep 2007, 13:18
Geeeeeeeeeeeeees this thread has gone quiet today, wheres Ash Grant, nose sore or something, come on boys, someone open up a can of worms and get it moving, its the bloody grand final this weekend, does everyone think calival have got it in the bag????
The Iron Glove
12 Sep 2007, 14:14
Ash Grant won't talk about the incident till after the tribunal he said. Doens't want to give anybody any ammunition.
Five Fingers
12 Sep 2007, 14:36
Also wicksy bowed to the crowd after he was sent off and reported.
He is a brainless moron, one day he might get a promotion and get of the Stop-Go sign for the council. Maybe buy another pub...
Hellboy
12 Sep 2007, 14:39
In saying that a record should not preclude him from getting at least five, how smart is a bloke to do that in a pre lim final when the game is still up for grabs. Suggests to me he wasn't going to play next week through injury, or his he just that dumb.
He is definitely that dumb. I've heard him complain about a free kick awarded against him for a tackle being too high because his 'shoulders are above his neck'.
Hellboy
12 Sep 2007, 14:41
I wonder if that footage can be used as evidence? It would make for a pretty short hearing.
Hellboy
12 Sep 2007, 14:47
Also wicksy bowed to the crowd after he was sent off and reported.
He is a brainless moron, one day he might get a promotion and get of the Stop-Go sign for the council. Maybe buy another pub...
His first venture into the Hotel business was a great success. How he was allowed back into town after closing the only pub within miles of Miti is beyond me.
Footy Maniac
12 Sep 2007, 15:16
I wonder if that footage can be used as evidence? It would make for a pretty short hearing.
Apparently the footage can't be used as evidence - as it's not often that incidents are captured via video so they don't allow them! Correct me if I'm wrong but that's what I was told. Pretty sure Granty's face is enough evidence - dirty big shiner, cuts and a broken nose.
Hope Wicksey gets at least 5 weeks - what a disgrace that he won the medal - what a waste!:thumbsd:
The Gun Recruit
12 Sep 2007, 16:08
Wicksy is definately a shot that should've gone in the sheets.
No amount of Harding Medals will buy that man respect.
Ash Grant
12 Sep 2007, 16:47
Ash Grant won't talk about the incident till after the tribunal he said. Doens't want to give anybody any ammunition.
Thankyou for talking on my behalf. However you are right. I'll answer all questions tomorrow.;)
Bombertastic
12 Sep 2007, 17:05
Back to footy. Calivil will surely win on Saturday, of that I have no doubt. Experience and a genuine belief will get them over the line. Newbridge now has more doubts then ever about their ability.
Personally I can't wait to see this match. I am so excited I am busting at the seams. All I need now is Wicks to hit Ash Grant again at the tribunal and I really will be in heaven.:D
Just kidding Ash.;)
Hellboy
12 Sep 2007, 17:10
Thankyou for talking on my behalf. However you are right. I'll answer all questions tomorrow.;)
Make sure you put him in it.
Frankenfurter
12 Sep 2007, 17:15
there has never been any doubt wicksy is a tosser. As for this weekend, how could you tip against Calivil? Serp in the twos and Calivil in the thirds all look clear cut faves to me, hopeful for a good contest in each game.
Vitalogy
12 Sep 2007, 17:46
Calivil havnt lost a game in the 3rds either.
bobbill
12 Sep 2007, 18:46
Well we know he wont be winning the B&F for the league next year, will this sway umpires next year to look at other players for votes, even if Wicks, 'earwax' is what we refer to him as, is the best on the ground???
Who thinks umpires will give there votes to other players, because they know its a waste to give them to him next year???
Wheres my mate Bobbill, you were a bit late getting to the vote count, werent you, you missed the Under 17 footy!!!
Once again Mrs. Wilson you have got it wrong!!! I didn't even go Sunday night to the vote count, so I guess I missed it all.
zakster
12 Sep 2007, 21:05
any news on the grannie b/cast boys the team drove up to inglewood but couldnt master the 3g network setup defening silence from inglewood for the whole afternoon they say they r going to serp where a phone tower isnt far from the grond beleve it when we see it and hear it, eh:eek:
Footy Maniac
12 Sep 2007, 21:23
Wicksey the slimy bastard only got 3 weeks!!!
any news on the grannie b/cast boys the team drove up to inglewood but couldnt master the 3g network setup defening silence from inglewood for the whole afternoon they say they r going to serp where a phone tower isnt far from the grond beleve it when we see it and hear it, eh:eek:
Mmm i don't like there chances at Serp, i don't the coverage is much better there.. Might need to get out the tin cans and some string
youngcitychick
12 Sep 2007, 21:43
Wicksey the slimy bastard only got 3 weeks!!!
OMG, he should have got more, what about bringing the game into disrepute for all his carryings on.
OK Ash give us all the details now...
Bobbill you still havent answered my question, put it out there, who is coaching YC???:D:D:D
bobbill
13 Sep 2007, 04:42
OMG, he should have got more, what about bringing the game into disrepute for all his carryings on.
OK Ash give us all the details now...
Bobbill you still havent answered my question, put it out there, who is coaching YC???:D:D:D
As I am not into saying "I heard this" or "Been told this", the only information I KNOW is Matt Keating has applied for the coaching job at ycw. That's for you youngcitychick!!!
Frankenfurter
13 Sep 2007, 04:59
As I am not into saying "I heard this" or "Been told this", the only information I KNOW is Matt Keating has applied for the coaching job at ycw. That's for you youngcitychick!!!
who else is in the running bobbill? What about McCormick? last i heard he wanted to coach again, but couldn't committ to training.
Ash Grant
13 Sep 2007, 12:40
:mad:
Hellboy
13 Sep 2007, 12:52
:mad:
Is that it??
Ash Grant
13 Sep 2007, 14:00
Well not really, however in my current state of mind it may be best if someone else speeks on my behalf.
youngcitychick
13 Sep 2007, 14:08
LMAO, go bobbill, you legend.:D:D:D
Who is your tip for the weekend???
youngcitychick
13 Sep 2007, 14:12
Anyone know what ever happened to a dynamite little player from the late 90's , they used to call him mini franken i think, always ate too many dimsims according to the ex YC coach Phil Walsh.
Can anyone else think of anybody else in this league who was going to be something and seemed to just vanish out of the 1's???
Interesting article in today's bendigo addy about serp's twos side..
http://bendigo.yourguide.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=general&story_id=1052663&category=general
Hellboy
13 Sep 2007, 14:36
Does anyone have any club best and fairest news?
Frankenfurter
13 Sep 2007, 15:00
expected reply from Wally Maxted in the paper, they can say what the like, at the end of the day they have got about it the wrong way. Wouldn't really expect him to say they dropped players to win a two's flag.
what are newbridge going to do tonight i wonder? will everyone favorite LVFL footballer Neale Torpey get a recall? What about Leon Nixon, played the whole year in the ones and got dropped last week? Surely they can't think playing Holland and Shevlin in the same side is going to be their best chance of success?
oldmanemu
13 Sep 2007, 15:12
expected reply from Wally Maxted in the paper, they can say what the like, at the end of the day they have got about it the wrong way. Wouldn't really expect him to say they dropped players to win a two's flag.
what are newbridge going to do tonight i wonder? will everyone favorite LVFL footballer Neale Torpey get a recall? What about Leon Nixon, played the whole year in the ones and got dropped last week? Surely they can't think playing Holland and Shevlin in the same side is going to be their best chance of success?
I said earlier that Holland and Shevlin can't play in the same team. Waste of a player really, especially with Calivil's mobile, running backline.
After Nixon's lacklustre effort in the two's last week, a call-up would be a terrible call from the footy committee. I have seen him play 3 games this year and he would have been lucky to have had 3 possessions. How he kicked 40 in the seniors has me :eek:'d.
Torpey was in good form before his indiscretion, but there would be a few guys in line for a call-up from the reserves, as they have a few that have played a few senior games this year.
Will be interesting reading in the paper tomorrow morning.
I would hope Calivil don't expect Freemantle to kick 7 again to win it though!!
Frankenfurter
13 Sep 2007, 16:04
they don't need fremantle to kick 7 to win. They kick their goals through on-ballers and they are good for 10 - 12 goals per week. Add Brad Allen and Freo in for 5 and all of a sudden you've got 15 goals which is going to win you a hell of a lot more games than you lose.
As for Nixon, he kicked his bags against the weaker sides Marong, YCW, Inglewood and really struggled in the big games. Torpey is just a forward pocket nothing else, maybe they think Holland is a better player than Torpey or maybe they just want to win a flag with Holland in the side, all you hear from newbridge people is what a great bloke he is. there is no doubt if his knees held up he would be good for 80 goals a year, it's a shame to see a good player not being able to do the things he used to be able to do because of injury.
If calivil do win it, geezus what an effort 5 in a row, that stuff just doesn't happen.
fifth quarter
13 Sep 2007, 19:25
they r confident gerta
boss said on the wed nite show they had the gear for the grannie and would get the bcast up and running after last weeks debacle
not much help around from telstra u woodnt think stuck in a spot like serp its not as if its one of the worlds great population hubs
they r confident gerta
boss said on the wed nite show they had the gear for the grannie and would get the bcast up and running after last weeks debacle
not much help around from telstra u woodnt think stuck in a spot like serp its not as if its one of the worlds great population hubs
thats good... i will look forward to having a listen to the boys... Usually i have a bit of a listen on Wednesady night, but missed last night...
Frankenfurter
13 Sep 2007, 21:47
good to hear that their will be coverage of the day on the fresh. Always adds that little bit of professionalism, any idea if they are recruiting any locals to help them with players etc?
They would want to get ther early to make sure they can park the truck on the fence, it's going to fill up real quick.
Anyone heard any selecton news from either camp?
investor
13 Sep 2007, 21:50
Does anyone have any club best and fairest news?
pyramid Gav james won, and brad fawcett 2nd once again
any other results out there.
BiG rIcK
13 Sep 2007, 22:54
With Wicks only getting 3 weeks and Newbridge not being allowed to use the news coverage as evidence can someone explain to me why Pyramid were allowed to take grand final footage to the league to get Glen Richards rubbed out? I can guarantee you right now if the umpires wathched the whole video there would have been more than him getting done.
Frankenfurter
13 Sep 2007, 23:05
i think Glenn Richards deserved to be suspended, he did elbow the bloke in the head and it was contact that could have been avoided. Always disappointing to see a bloke not play a grand final because of suspension, but it's a thin line between too much and not enough aggression.
BiG rIcK
13 Sep 2007, 23:27
i think Glenn Richards deserved to be suspended, he did elbow the bloke in the head and it was contact that could have been avoided. Always disappointing to see a bloke not play a grand final because of suspension, but it's a thin line between too much and not enough aggression.
Re-read what i said i was talkin about after last years grand final never said anything about this time round!
Vitalogy
13 Sep 2007, 23:37
Is the radio stations only broadcasting the seniors?
oldmanemu
14 Sep 2007, 09:17
How the hell did Holiday get a game for Newbridge and McLean get dropped?????? Holiday isn't a forward, isn't a senior level on-baller, in fact I would think he was too slow for senior footy, and couldn't get a kick in the twos last week, so I just don't get it.
I would suggest McLean could get a game for any other footy club, and get a nice enough reward for doing so.
Cathead
14 Sep 2007, 10:14
Couple of surprises last night at the bridge. Holliday in for McLean & Torpey in for Holland. What do the big footy brains trust think about the changes? Where can it be won and lost in the big one on Saturday?
I think Newbridge are better off for winning thru the prelim way than going straight in into the GF after the 2nd semi. They now know that it takes 4Q of footy to win a final and that they need to make the most of each shot on goal. Newbridge have to shut down Calivils midfield, two maxteds and demeo and with chris lakey at CHB it will make a huge difference. Looking forward to a tight contest up to half time with Newbridge getting up by 5 goals and Brad Comer winning the medal.
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 10:24
i wouldn't take the paper side to be the right side, i think they have put "fake" sides in each week. Couldn't see McLean getting the flick for Holiday, especially considering Holiday has only played the last two weeks after missing a massive chunk of the year. Torpey for Holland is more realistic though.
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 10:37
hmm maybe i was wrong, they have posted their sides on the vcfl website and holliday and torpey are in there, but surely they couldn't be serious. Don't know if you could call the newbridge selection panel a brain trust if these changes are fair dinkum.
The game will be won or lost in the newbridge forward line, if they fire they can kick a big score quickly and Calivil are a little bit limited in the changes they can make. They rely on midfield pressure to limit the quality delivery into the forward line, if they can't gain control in the middle and comer, baxter, 2 x giri's can get good footy to Mildren (key) and Shevlin then look out. If Calivil are able to get on top in the middle then it will be the same result as 2nd semi, Calvil won the game through gut running and putting Newbridge under pressure they hadn't been under for the year. You would hope that Dyer has some sort of plan for Daniel Smith who would have had 45 possies in the 2nd semi and touched up whoever went to his wing. Going to be a great contest but am sticking to what i've said for weeks, if Neale Torpey is in the senior side Newbridge can't win.
Five Fingers
14 Sep 2007, 10:43
The team in the paper is the team that will take the field tomorrow.
(providing nothing unfortunate happens)
Should be a cracker
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 10:49
The team in the paper is the team that will take the field tomorrow.
(providing nothing unfortunate happens)
Should be a cracker
Why did McLean get the flick form or injury? No thought to putting Nixon back in the side?
oldmanemu
14 Sep 2007, 11:02
Why did McLean get the flick form or injury? No thought to putting Nixon back in the side?
The side is the actual side that will take the field.
Nixon??? You have to be joking mate. How he got a game in the first place has me buggered. Might have had a big reputation coming from the Flat, but he hasn't performed against decent opposition, and couldn't get a kick last week in the 2's. Far, FAR too soft.
McLean isn't injured as far as I know.
oldmanemu
14 Sep 2007, 11:05
Couldn't edit my last post, but the coach of Newbridge has a habit of dropping blokes for GF's. He did it last time and they fell across the line so perhaps he is going for it again.
Five Fingers
14 Sep 2007, 11:34
He has had problems with his ankle recently, missed a week or 2.
Nixon is down on a bit of form recently.
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 11:35
geezus that a massive call, McLean has been a pretty consistent footballer for newbridge the past two years, so seems a pretty harsh call. Surely he is ahead of G.Bourke, Hughes, Torpey?
Your right about nixon, but i reckon he is a bigger chance of having an impact on the game than Torps. They are both the same sort of player (forward pocket only), but realistically the game isn't going to be won with the selection of either of them.
Five Fingers
14 Sep 2007, 11:57
Harsh calls were always going to be made come grand final time. Unfortunate for some, fortunate for others. Just hope the players do the right thing by the boys who missed out.
In regards to Bourkey and Hughes, the backline has been pretty solid over the last half of the season (With the exception on the 2nd semi).
Just have to wait and see how things pan out.
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 12:32
Harsh calls were always going to be made come grand final time. Unfortunate for some, fortunate for others. Just hope the players do the right thing by the boys who missed out.
In regards to Bourkey and Hughes, the backline has been pretty solid over the last half of the season (With the exception on the 2nd semi).
Just have to wait and see how things pan out.
that's the problem that faces newbridge tomorrow, the backline didn't work in the second semi and it was painfully obvious that was the major problem for newbridge. Realistically the second half of the year means a pinch of $hit tomorrow, you would have to pick your side on the second semi and in that game Hughes and Bourke didn't have match ups that were suitable as they were either too slow or not strong enough to match up their opposition. I assume Hughes will go to Brad Allen who was good in the 2nd semi, bourke will get an easier assignment with Lakey playing but still to drop a consistent half back flanker with a penetrating kick who can play on the ball is a massive call and reeks of a coach and selection panel who are clutching at straws. Holiday is a good footballer who is hard at the pill, but surely fitness is going to be an issue, newbridge got wiped big time in the fitness stakes last time and have decided to roll the dice on a bloke who has played 2 maybe 3 games in the last 12 weeks.
Bombertastic
14 Sep 2007, 13:56
Selections at this time of year when a club has had players coming and going for various reasons is always hard. I'm a Torpey fan and think he should play. Should have kicked 5 in the first final. He has pressence about him and draws the ball. Very good footy brain. The two that missed out are damn unlucky.
Frankenfurter
14 Sep 2007, 14:03
Selections at this time of year when a club has had players coming and going for various reasons is always hard. I'm a Torpey fan and think he should play. Should have kicked 5 in the first final. He has pressence about him and draws the ball. Very good footy brain. The two that missed out are damn unlucky.
there is no doubt selection for a grand final is tough work, i just reckon they are ballsy selections from newbridge. Could pay off could blow up in their faces, there is no second chances, so they would want to be right.
what did you think of the coverage in the addy today? good article about Calivil and not a bad preview.
blackvelvert
14 Sep 2007, 15:08
With Wicks only getting 3 weeks and Newbridge not being allowed to use the news coverage as evidence can someone explain to me why Pyramid were allowed to take grand final footage to the league to get Glen Richards rubbed out? I can guarantee you right now if the umpires watched the whole video there would have been more than him getting done.
I was in Bendigo staying at relations when i saw the footage of Wicks hitting an Newbrige player i live in Melb follow a side in the NFL which was once called the Diamond Valley FL, Out of interest i followed the quote to see how many weeks he would receive i could not believe he was only given 3 weeks if this same incident happen in the DVFL there would be no doubt he would be looking at 6 weeks even more if the tribunal had footage of the incident,and believe me with the tribunal taking a hard approach it has cleaned up the DVFL from these sort of incidents
I must admit after watching the footage the other night, i thought that he was quite lucky to only get 3 weeks.
speccymcgee
14 Sep 2007, 18:17
3 weeks was a joke, considering the damage to Ash Grants face also. Broken nose, had to go off for blood rule 3 times. if u only get 3 for blatantly kinghitting someone hate to see what it takes to get 6 weeks. spose it must help that wicksy boofs the umpires up the...
Bombertastic
14 Sep 2007, 20:02
what did you think of the coverage in the addy today? good article about Calivil and not a bad preview.
Yeah good article. They've been quite good in their support over the past weeks of the LV finals. I just hope that Freshh don't balls up the radio coverage again.:p
As for Wicks getting 3. I actually spoke to someone who went to the hearing. He said the prosecuter who is their on behalf of the umpires and you would think Ash Grant asked Ash some rather bizarre questions. Like "....so you were ok to play on?" and "It can't have been that bad if you returned to the ground" etc. I mean come on what a joke. Any player playing a final will try and play on. Never mind the fact that his nose is now broken and dis figured (I saw him today) or the fact that he still can't remember the incident or the anything from the 2nd and 3rd quarters of the game. Three weeks is a joke and no-one but Wicks is laughing.
Morales
14 Sep 2007, 23:21
Speaking to a reliable source last weekend I hear that Pyramid Hill will be losing a few players next year.......
People not happy with Birchmore and the way he operated.....
Birhmore obviously needs to go, otherwise the Hill will be sitting down with the wood of the comp for the next few years.
Don't think they fought hard enough in keeping Wilkinson......ended up playing ruck in a losing grand final for Strathmore in the Essendon District League which has always had a high standard of footy.
Calivil all 3 wins for the day and 5 in a row in the seniors... too good
Bombertastic
15 Sep 2007, 19:42
Tight game until 3/4 time again. Then Calivil blew them away like last time. Five in a row is some effort.
youngcitychick
16 Sep 2007, 09:41
I heard the funniest thing yesterday at the Granny, Serpentine two's had t-shirts printed up with "premiers 2007" on them. They might need to add a "not" after it. Congratulations to Calivil, what a mighty effort, all 3 footy teams. When was the last time this happened?
Calivil also did it in 2003
FlyingDucks
16 Sep 2007, 13:16
It was great for footy that Serp didnt win by stacking their twos side.
Frankenfurter
17 Sep 2007, 10:24
good results all round from last weekend, a fantastic achievment to win all three grades of football and more pleasing were the games were all of a good standard.
If that is true about Serp, that's pretty ordinary.
Nar i don't think that would be right. I can't say that i saw any Serp 07 T-shirts.
Mind you i used to have a Geelong Premiers 92 T-shirt... Best 50 cents i ever spent.
youngcitychick
17 Sep 2007, 22:22
This is from the thread for the Heathcote league,
"Heard a rumour yesterday at the league vote count that Damien Webb has been signed to coach Nth Bendigo next year. Apparently he has already been active on the recruiting front and has got 4 - 5 coming with him from YCW and maybe a couple from Mounts",
can anyone confirm if this is correct??? Who are the 5 going, last i heard Alford is now staying, but loring is raring to go to greener pastures, who else???
Hey Gerta, that is true about Serp coxy's wife told me on Saturday, and then about 10 other people told me after that.
This is from the thread for the Heathcote league,
"Heard a rumour yesterday at the league vote count that Damien Webb has been signed to coach Nth Bendigo next year. Apparently he has already been active on the recruiting front and has got 4 - 5 coming with him from YCW and maybe a couple from Mounts",
can anyone confirm if this is correct??? Who are the 5 going, last i heard Alford is now staying, but loring is raring to go to greener pastures, who else???
Hey Gerta, that is true about Serp coxy's wife told me on Saturday, and then about 10 other people told me after that.
Thats gold :) I'm disappointed that I missed out on getting one. I would have loved it.
Tommy Guns
18 Sep 2007, 10:35
Thats gold :) I'm disappointed that I missed out on getting one. I would have loved it.
If anyone has any info on where the 'Serp 07' t-shirts are I'd love to get hold of some, would be willing to pay...