View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
Hellboy
18 Sep 2007, 11:43
If anyone has any info on where the 'Serp 07' t-shirts are I'd love to get hold of some, would be willing to pay...
I don't think any of these shirts will see the light of day.
Tell me that's not karma working at it's best.
joe_average
18 Sep 2007, 14:19
Having travelled up from Melbourne to see the past 2 LVFL Grand Finals was disappointed I could not make it up again over the weekend. Just a very loose connection with Calivil and keep a watching brief on them.
Can anyone point me to a detailed match report anywhere - only been able to find the quick report in the Advertiser so far - who were the better players etc?
Thanks
Thats about as detailed as i can find
http://loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=272306&comp=5153&orgid=366
joe_average
18 Sep 2007, 14:26
Thats about as detailed as i can find
http://loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=272306&comp=5153&orgid=366
I must be blind - was just on that website and missed it - thanks for that:thumbsu:
iwantanotherflag
18 Sep 2007, 21:33
How will Calivil's dominance be tested?? 5 senior flags and a clean sweep in 03 and 07.
Good question.. Mentally they are so far ahead of the competition its not funny..
Info hound
18 Sep 2007, 22:21
I dissagree except for injuries at the wrong time of the year Newbridge would have been a much better side... a side that would have performed much better with a fit Brad Comer & losing their ruckman in the first final didnt help their chances either !
I would even suggest that the loss would even spur Newbridge on.
They will be a side to be reckoned with next year !
BiG rIcK
18 Sep 2007, 22:37
I dissagree except for injuries at the wrong time of the year Newbridge would have been a much better side... a side that would have performed much better with a fit Brad Comer & losing their ruckman in the first final didnt help their chances either !
You are a deadset tool (w@nker) typical newbridge trying to find excuses for them being rolled by a better side
Its hard to compete with grand final experience. I can't imagine the of confidence you would get from going into a grand final, having played in the last 4 and winning all of them...
Time a few other teams take a look at the way Calivil prepare themselves and see what they can learn.
youngcitychick
19 Sep 2007, 00:02
Matt Keating had a two hour interview for the YCW job last week, does he have the recruiting power, top block, well liked around the club, the may be able to retain afew with him, will McCormick stay and play if Keating coaches??? McCormick (YC) and Shevlin (Newbridge) said to be starring on the biggest loser next year!!!
Frankenfurter
19 Sep 2007, 09:29
I'm the biggest newbridge critic out there, but there is no doubt that they should have won the flag this year. As good as Calivil were no side in the LVFL would have been able to compete with Newbridge at full strength. I reckon they had 7 - 10 genuine senior footballers miss out through injury by the end of the season. But in saying that Calivil had a shocking run of injuries during the year as well and the overall eveness of their side shone through and is the reason they won the flag.
It's the old saying a champion team will always beat a team of champions. Newbridge put all their eggs in one basket (paying a heap of cash) and it came crashing down in the finals.
Couple of gutsy calls playing injured blokes in the finals and that didn't work either. Is Dyer going to hang around?
Yeah the calival coach even mentioned that in his speech on Saturday saying that Newbridge were ravaged by injury.
From what I here though Frank your info about forking out heaps of cash at Newbridge is way off the mark.
Frankenfurter
19 Sep 2007, 11:04
happy to agree to disagree olddog, i think you'll find that they did spend a fair bit for the season.
Guess unless we are on the commitee of a club we will never know Frank. We can only rely on word on the street.
From outsider looking in Both Calival and Newbridge had a lot of locals playing.
Newbridge spine of Lakey, Comer, Mildren, Daniel Bourke, Ralton, Shevlin, all played junior footy out there and there families have been associated out there for decades.
Word on street is Ash Wilson is coaching in LV next year.
Hellboy
19 Sep 2007, 12:12
Good question.. Mentally they are so far ahead of the competition its not funny..
The hope for all clubs going up against Calivil, is that the mental side is their only real strength. By their own admission they are not the most talented side. Have a look at this year; they lacked a high quality ruckman as well as a forward capable of kicking 70+ goals. Their strength has been built over many years and clearly revolves around player retention, depth, and a real sense of 'mateship'.
I think the last 2 seasons in particular have shown that there are better sides than Calivil, the problem is that no side has been able to maintain or build on the consistency that is required if they want to match Calivil come the pointy end of the season. 5 wins against 5 different opposition proves this. If Newbridge can retain their current group, they pose a much bigger threat next year.
Hellboy
19 Sep 2007, 12:16
Matt Keating had a two hour interview for the YCW job last week, does he have the recruiting power, top block, well liked around the club, the may be able to retain afew with him, will McCormick stay and play if Keating coaches??? McCormick (YC) and Shevlin (Newbridge) said to be starring on the biggest loser next year!!!
Two hours is ridiculous for any such interview let alone a club stalwart who doesn't really need to prove himself to a recruiting committee. What the hell is discussed that it needs to take 2 hours?
Hellboy
19 Sep 2007, 12:28
Guess unless we are on the commitee of a club we will never know Frank. We can only rely on word on the street.
From outsider looking in Both Calival and Newbridge had a lot of locals playing.
Newbridge spine of Lakey, Comer, Mildren, Daniel Bourke, Ralton, Shevlin, all played junior footy out there and there families have been associated out there for decades.
Where abouts olddog?
Billy Grant has been stitched up at Miti for 2008 so he won't be returning to windy flats. I can't see him coaching Inglewood and with Matt Keating seemingly having the YCW job, that leaves only Calivil I think.
Whoever does take on the Calivil job is certainly on a hiding to nothing.
Where abouts olddog?
Billy Grant has been stitched up at Miti for 2008 so he won't be returning to windy flats. I can't see him coaching Inglewood and with Matt Keating seemingly having the YCW job, that leaves only Calivil I think.
Whoever does take on the Calivil job is certainly on a hiding to nothing.
[quote=olddog;8833724]
Hellboy my source mentioned Serp for Ash Wilson as he thinks Wally Maxted might not do the job again.
barry badrinath
19 Sep 2007, 18:24
[quote=olddog;8833724]
Hellboy my source mentioned Serp for Ash Wilson as he thinks Wally Maxted might not do the job again.
that would fit in well with serps habit of paying old washed up has beens...he would probably just get dropped to the twos with 5 weeks to go..
have heard that brent dyer has already told newbridge he wont be back.. that might persuade a few players to hang around if what i hear is true
Hellboy
19 Sep 2007, 20:25
[quote=olddog;8833744]
that would fit in well with serps habit of paying old washed up has beens...he would probably just get dropped to the twos with 5 weeks to go..
have heard that brent dyer has already told newbridge he wont be back.. that might persuade a few players to hang around if what i hear is true
And what is it that you've heard Barry? Let me guess, some players didn't like the way things were handled come finals time.
FlyingDucks
19 Sep 2007, 21:24
[quote=olddog;8833744]
For the long term benefit of the Newbridge Football Club, Dyer must be replaced. Heard him talk during the finals and is very negative and is a very self centred person from what I have been told. Newbridge may well have won with no injuries but that is part of the game. Fact is the backline was far from strong enough, they did not have enough speed around the ground and without Reed Wills and Leon Nixon plus lack of form for Shev the forward line lacked a lot of bite. Sam Mildren would be crazy not to be having a crack at Bendigo League footy is too good to be playing LVFL.
barry badrinath
20 Sep 2007, 11:56
[quote=barry badrinath;8838572]
And what is it that you've heard Barry? Let me guess, some players didn't like the way things were handled come finals time.
Holland and McLean wont leave newbridge(did you see his get up on sat)
Have just heard that a few blokes havent seen eye to eye(both 1sts and 2nds)
i know this happens with every coach,but for what ive seen/heard he isnt a good bloke off the field..
Frankenfurter
20 Sep 2007, 12:12
dyer had the side to win and wasn't able to get the job done. I've heard that he lost a lot of players during the finals with his approach.
Hellboy
20 Sep 2007, 15:12
dyer had the side to win and wasn't able to get the job done. I've heard that he lost a lot of players during the finals with his approach.
I think a few blokes out at Riverside might be a bit pissed off about how the season finished up and are looking for a fall guy. It may even be fair enough given that both sides finished well clear on top of the ladder and they still walk away with any silverware. I'm sure once they get over it and have a look back, they might find the answer to what went wrong. I call it Calivil.
Frankenfurter
20 Sep 2007, 15:57
I think a few blokes out at Riverside might be a bit pissed off about how the season finished up and are looking for a fall guy. It may even be fair enough given that both sides finished well clear on top of the ladder and they still walk away with any silverware. I'm sure once they get over it and have a look back, they might find the answer to what went wrong. I call it Calivil.
i call it injuries and Neale Torpey.
Bombertastic
22 Sep 2007, 15:17
Lay off Torpey. He's alright. It was injuries and everyone knows that. Next year Newbridge are a shoe in. Also I give some of the blame to the way Newbridge was coached. A couple of selections were a little questionable but more so the way the side was structured looked all wrong.
youngcitychick
22 Sep 2007, 18:54
who won all the club Best and fairest this year,
YCW Steve Turner in the firsts, Wigfield runner up, not sure the reserves, thirds was won by Perez, in an upset to Concol. My boyfriend was there and said only about a dozen footballers were there, must be disappointing to the club, normally they have a big turn out.
bobbill
22 Sep 2007, 19:24
who won all the club Best and fairest this year,
YCW Steve Turner in the firsts, Wigfield runner up, not sure the reserves, thirds was won by Perez, in an upset to Concol. My boyfriend was there and said only about a dozen footballers were there, must be disappointing to the club, normally they have a big turn out.
I think you'll find that Nath Alford had his 25th birthday at Icon last night and that a fair few Ycw footballer's were there.
where2now?
22 Sep 2007, 23:17
Hellboy my source mentioned Serp for Ash Wilson as he thinks Wally Maxted might not do the job again.[/quote]
What sort of season did Maxted have in regards to his playing firstly & secondly his coaching? Where did he play himself?
Vitalogy
23 Sep 2007, 18:21
I think Max Grant took out reserves for ycw. Perez won by a point over plugger also heard as well.
youngcitychick
24 Sep 2007, 10:55
spoke to Ash wilsons sister and she wasnt giving much away, all she said was he is a definit to coach in this league next year. Personally i think its Serp.
Bobbill that still doesnt explain why more footballers werent at YC vote count, surely they want to get together for the last function of the year. It was all over by 10pm, wouldnt they head to Alfords party then. What did you think of D-macs speech. Is he coming back to play?
Hellboy
24 Sep 2007, 11:59
Marong B&F results. Brett Rogers from Charlie Thompson in the seniors, Mick Herrick from Knackers in the reserves, Al Rackstraw from Matt Camileri in the thirds.
Hellboy
24 Sep 2007, 12:08
i call it injuries and Neale Torpey.
The losing team always has an excuse and 'injuries' seems to be the standard one.
Newbridge were beaten by a better team; end of story.
Marong B&F results. Brett Rogers from Charlie Thompson in the seniors, Mick Herrick from Knackers in the reserves, Al Rackstraw from Matt Camileri in the thirds.
I was a bit suprised Rackers won our Best and Fairest. I woulda thought Bower would of taken it out, but Rackers was well deserved winner. Matty Camileri was deservidly 2nd... I only polled 20 votes.. got 6th overall :D
The losing team always has an excuse and 'injuries' seems to be the standard one.
Newbridge were beaten by a better team; end of story.
I disagree in parts Hellboy. You need some luck of having a full list to choose from. Would of liked to have seen Newbridge to have a crack at Calival with Daniel Bourke, Reed Wills, Daniel Nalder and to not lose two off the bench for the day in first five minutes.
Would of liked to see Newbridge boys not to lose Lakey and Bourke in first 5 mins of second semi as well.
Calival unbelievable side and even if Newbridge had full list the belief that Calival have and will to win still may have been too much. Tip my hat to them.
However do believe that the boys at riverside did have some bad luck towards the end of season. Calival had bad luck during the year but seemed to get everybody on the park when the business end came around.
bobbill
24 Sep 2007, 14:46
spoke to Ash wilsons sister and she wasnt giving much away, all she said was he is a definit to coach in this league next year. Personally i think its Serp.
Bobbill that still doesnt explain why more footballers werent at YC vote count, surely they want to get together for the last function of the year. It was all over by 10pm, wouldnt they head to Alfords party then. What did you think of D-macs speech. Is he coming back to play?
Alford's party was a surprise party, that's why they didn't go to the vote count. I didn't hear D-macs speech as I was at party.
Hellboy
24 Sep 2007, 15:14
I disagree in parts Hellboy. You need some luck of having a full list to choose from. Would of liked to have seen Newbridge to have a crack at Calival with Daniel Bourke, Reed Wills, Daniel Nalder and to not lose two off the bench for the day in first five minutes.
However do believe that the boys at riverside did have some bad luck towards the end of season. Calival had bad luck during the year but seemed to get everybody on the park when the business end came around.
The fact is that if it wasn't injuries it would be umpiring decisions, or the wind, or the coach etc. When it comes to a grand final, there are 21 (presumably fit) blokes running out for each side. How many sides go through undefeated or are clear stand outs only to get beaten in Grand Finals? Not all these teams have injuries. When it comes down to it, the best team wins and any excuse given for a favourite losing is only a means of justifying the loss.
Five Fingers
24 Sep 2007, 15:26
Newbridge
Seniors - Brad Comer over Scott Baxter/Chris Lakey
Reserves - Kym Wheelhouse over Rob Gallager
Juniors - Steve Holland over Pat Rogash
Was a few weeks ago, didnt know if people knew
The fact is that if it wasn't injuries it would be umpiring decisions, or the wind, or the coach etc. When it comes to a grand final, there are 21 (presumably fit) blokes running out for each side. How many sides go through undefeated or are clear stand outs only to get beaten in Grand Finals? Not all these teams have injuries. When it comes down to it, the best team wins and any excuse given for a favourite losing is only a means of justifying the loss.
Fair enough. Balarand in Swan Hill League fits this category. They got flogged at weekend. Doesn't the saying go a team of champions won't beat a champion team?
Hellboy
24 Sep 2007, 16:54
Fair enough. Balarand in Swan Hill League fits this category. They got flogged at weekend. Doesn't the saying go a team of champions won't beat a champion team?
You're spot on olddog. That's why there should never be a question over Calivil winning the flag. They are the epitome of a champion team.
The Gun Recruit
24 Sep 2007, 18:34
Inglewood B&F Results
Seniors: Leigh Lamprell
R/Up: Chris Innes
Reserves: Steve Harris
R/Up: Julian Renshaw
Jumbo 2
26 Sep 2007, 20:50
Any talk on who's coaching YCW yet :confused: What about Calavil, any favourites :confused:
bobbill
26 Sep 2007, 22:14
Any talk on who's coaching YCW yet :confused: What about Calavil, any favourites :confused:
Matt Keating has got the Ycw coaching job.
investor
27 Sep 2007, 07:30
you staying on or heading back to the kennel:confused:
youngcitychick
27 Sep 2007, 09:53
you staying on or heading back to the kennel:confused:
mc cormick should hang around, it would be a shame if he doesn't swallow his pride and get back in the niche` of being a good footballer. He needs to have a year of concentrating on his own game, drop 10kgs, get fit, have some fun with the boys. He still has plenty of fuel in the tank.
Its a shame he doesnt pass on his knowledge to the under 17's, they are raw and in need of a gentle giant like him. I would love to see him coach them, these kids are the next group of seniors coming through. You need to have quality coaches looking after these kids. And no dave it wouldnt be a put down to coach juniors, your gentle nature is just what they need.
Dave, put your hand up and have a dip. Become a great club person, people at YCW respect you and adore your wife and children. Hang around and you will be rewarded with respect, mates and the opportunity of life long friends. What do you think Dave???:cool::cool::cool:
Hellboy
27 Sep 2007, 16:56
So who does that leave still in search of a coach? By my reckoning, that leaves Calivil, Inglewood, Serp, and if you believe previous posts, Newbridge. Does anyone know if Birchmore still has the job at Pyramid?
Anyone have any news on players that may be coming or going ?
Buttons
28 Sep 2007, 09:25
How many people do YC need to recruit to get back in the finals race if they are supposedly losing so many players? eg.McCormick, Webb & Co, Loring etc.
Keating is going to have a lot of long and boring discussion with people who just want to be told how good they are. The joys of trying to recruit. Good luck to him as he is a great bloke and should lead by example.
Frankenfurter
28 Sep 2007, 10:15
from what i've heard YCW aren't going to lose too many at all. Think the big improvers next year will be Marong, Rogers is mates with a lot of good footballers who might be tempted to come and play with a good mate and the sniff of success.
youngcitychick
28 Sep 2007, 15:30
[quote=Hellboy;8942194]So who does that leave still in search of a coach? By my reckoning, that leaves Calivil, Inglewood, Serp, and if you believe previous posts, Newbridge. Does anyone know if Birchmore still has the job at Pyramid?
Just off the phone from a Newbridge wife, and was told Newbridge are chasing Nick Carter or, Damien Drum as coach. Drum was at the Granny in his Newbridge shirt looking spiffy. I wonder how much money they will want off the Newbridge money tree??? Nick Carter would be an awesome playing coach. What does everyone else think?
Frankenfurter
28 Sep 2007, 17:07
it is about 1,000,000 to 1 that Nick Carter or Damien Drum will be coaching, the women should stick to what they know and leave the football to the Boys.
Gloury to coach newbridge, Wilson to Serp, Marong to sign Tobin from Heathcote as assistant to Rogers, Ingelwood to chase internally or someone from Eaglehawk (who is playing sunday)
Hellboy
28 Sep 2007, 17:34
Just off the phone from a Newbridge wife, and was told Newbridge are chasing Nick Carter or, Damien Drum as coach. Drum was at the Granny in his Newbridge shirt looking spiffy. I wonder how much money they will want off the Newbridge money tree??? Nick Carter would be an awesome playing coach. What does everyone else think?
Yeh, and Chris Judd is about to announce that Marong are the 5th club in the running for his services! He has said that with Kevin Sheedy running the bench for Freddo he is likely to line up for the Panthers next season!!
Hellboy
28 Sep 2007, 17:46
Gloury to coach newbridge, Wilson to Serp, Marong to sign Tobin from Heathcote as assistant to Rogers, Ingelwood to chase internally or someone from Eaglehawk (who is playing sunday)
Educated guess Frank?
iwantanotherflag
28 Sep 2007, 23:01
[quote=Hellboy;8942194]So who does that leave still in search of a coach? By my reckoning, that leaves Calivil, Inglewood, Serp, and if you believe previous posts, Newbridge. Does anyone know if Birchmore still has the job at Pyramid?
I think Nick will be busy with the Backstreet Boys reforming and all:D
Would Drum have the time, being a MP?
Where did Nick play this year?
youngcitychick
29 Sep 2007, 01:02
it is about 1,000,000 to 1 that Nick Carter or Damien Drum will be coaching, the women should stick to what they know and leave the football to the Boys.
At a million to one i will put $1 on that Frankie. Not sure about the Gloury idea as his two twin daughters are heading to YCW to play next year,unless we are talking about a different Gloury,:D as are a few of the Newbridge senior netballers.
And as for your comment about women sticking to what they know, we all know that behind every great player is a woman, how many mums, wives, daughters and girlfriends freeze there assests off every winter to witness there loved ones fantastic tap on, or hanger of a mark. Us mums are the ones driving the young fellas to training each week, washing there uniforms, working in the canteen and feeding them up to be big boys one day. Dont start that women v's men sh-t on here, we are all here for the ultimate glory, Premierships!!!
Well if tommy went out to marong would that mean that they would change there guernseys to pink? The Marong Pink Panthers. Now that has a ring to it!:D
Investor, heard Shane Gilchrist has been appointed Senior Coach of P/Hill for season 2008. From me to him can you wish him all the best and congrats.:D:D
If that is true about Gilchrist getting the job that can be only good news for Pyramid Hill.
Seen Birchmore coach and he is an absolute laughing stock... not surprised they flicked him at all.
No respect = no job.
investor
1 Oct 2007, 13:23
Investor, heard Shane Gilchrist has been appointed Senior Coach of P/Hill for season 2008. From me to him can you wish him all the best and congrats.:D:D
no worries mr bobbill will do that
Junky Bish
1 Oct 2007, 14:30
By Newbridge advertising their coach job does that signal that they are on the lookout for a new coach or is it merely an act of their constitution to advertise their coaching position each year?
Heard this morning that McCormick is a definite non starter at YCW next season. Apparently he's pretty pissed at not getting the coaching job back.
Bowhunter
2 Oct 2007, 10:45
Heard this morning that McCormick is a definite non starter at YCW next season. Apparently he's pretty pissed at not getting the coaching job back.
He shouldn't be too dissapointed. Lost first final last year then didn't make the finals this year, not a great record. Is a great player and have heard that his wife loves the netball so maybe he should just play.
Frankenfurter
2 Oct 2007, 11:28
you'd can understand he would be pissed at not getting the coaching job and wouldn't begrudge him if he left. If he is looking to coach where will he go? would he play against YCW? Calivil maybe?
Bowhunter
2 Oct 2007, 13:03
So Frank, are you saying that after a couple of years at the helm without any success he should have been reappointed? Or that he should have honestly expected to be reappointed?
Frankenfurter
2 Oct 2007, 13:10
not at all mate, what i'm saying is i can understand why a bloke would be pissed off for not getting it, if he has put in for it and doesn't get it of course he isn't going to be too happy about it.
Is a big loss for the eagles if he does leave, he is good for 80+ goals a year.
Bowhunter
2 Oct 2007, 18:14
You're right about the big loss part Frank, big forwards are not real easy to come across. But I can imagine that there are plenty of clubs out there that will throw a bit of money at the big fella, even if it is just to play and not coach.
I have heard North Bendigo and White Hills are interested in his services
Frankenfurter
2 Oct 2007, 21:19
I have heard North Bendigo and White Hills are interested in his services
any district side would love to have him in their side. From what i have seen he is good for 6 a week at a minimum. Would still be competitive in major league footy.
FlyingDucks
3 Oct 2007, 00:12
Gloury is a chance, but I would like to place 5 dollars on those odd you have offered for Nick Carter to coach. I would be happy to give him some of my winnings just to sign. I think you will find that this rumour is pretty strong and those odds might be taken by more than me!!!
FlyingDucks
3 Oct 2007, 00:15
At a million to one i will put $1 on that Frankie. Not sure about the Gloury idea as his two twin daughters are heading to YCW to play next year,unless we are talking about a different Gloury,:D as are a few of the Newbridge senior netballers.
And as for your comment about women sticking to what they know, we all know that behind every great player is a woman, how many mums, wives, daughters and girlfriends freeze there assests off every winter to witness there loved ones fantastic tap on, or hanger of a mark. Us mums are the ones driving the young fellas to training each week, washing there uniforms, working in the canteen and feeding them up to be big boys one day. Dont start that women v's men sh-t on here, we are all here for the ultimate glory, Premierships!!!
I would very much doubt the Gloury girls will ever play anywhere but Newbridge and I have no doubt there will be ramifications of the Grand Final loss by Newbridge in the Senior Netball due to poor coaching.
Frankenfurter
3 Oct 2007, 08:24
Gloury is a chance, but I would like to place 5 dollars on those odd you have offered for Nick Carter to coach. I would be happy to give him some of my winnings just to sign. I think you will find that this rumour is pretty strong and those odds might be taken by more than me!!!
it's fairly common knowledge that Carter has signed on at Golden Square as an assistant to Jeff Brennan.
Junky Bish
3 Oct 2007, 19:26
I would very much doubt the Gloury girls will ever play anywhere but Newbridge and I have no doubt there will be ramifications of the Grand Final loss by Newbridge in the Senior Netball due to poor coaching.
What was the story with the netball Duckman? Didn't Pyramid win easy.
Also whats the story with Dyer has he been moved on or is he still in the running to coach the Newbridge?
FlyingDucks
3 Oct 2007, 23:11
Also whats the story with Dyer has he been moved on or is he still in the running to coach the Newbridge?
Yeah Pyramid much better side, just a lot of infighting from the girls from what I hear and watched some of the game and the lack of changes by the coach and body language of players suggested to the onlooker that there were a lot of problems...
Dyer from what is going around will not be asked to continue.
youngcitychick
3 Oct 2007, 23:19
Alot of unhappy senior netballers by half year at Newbie, at least 10 that i can name as definites to make a move to greener pastures, and alot of them are local girls.
Players the likes of Anne Louise Dillion (Chilvers) were in B-grade, (What a joke, she is an A-grade B&F for the league), also saw her playing for South Bendigo A-grade on the same day she played B's at Newbie, asked her why she was doing that and she said she couldn't get a game in A's at Newbie, coach didnt rate her!!!
If they go the boyfriends follow, look out for some huge movement at Newbridge in the footy. They had better get there cheque books out and sign a footy coach asap.
NO confidence in the coach = no confidence on the field
p.s.####*****Bongo is the smartest person in the world!!!:p:p:p
The Iron Glove
4 Oct 2007, 10:43
Alot of unhappy senior netballers by half year at Newbie, at least 10 that i can name as definites to make a move to greener pastures, and alot of them are local girls.
Players the likes of Anne Louise Dillion (Chilvers) were in B-grade, (What a joke, she is an A-grade B&F for the league), also saw her playing for South Bendigo A-grade on the same day she played B's at Newbie, asked her why she was doing that and she said she couldn't get a game in A's at Newbie, coach didnt rate her!!!
If they go the boyfriends follow, look out for some huge movement at Newbridge in the footy. They had better get there cheque books out and sign a footy coach asap.
You have got to love rumours, speculation and innuendo at this time of year. I think you will find netballers change clubs because of the footballers not being happy. Not the other way round. Anne Louise was an A-Grade B&F winner but I'm pretty sure it was 8 years ago. As good as she is you can't hold onto time forever. When you have girls in 20-25 age group coming through with the same ability who are you going to play?
Michelle Eastman has taken A-Grade to a grand final in her first year after they only won 4 games last year and B-Grade to finals which they haven't done since 2000-01. I'd say thats a fair effort.
If you look at Brent Dyer's coaching history you will find that he has only coached for 2-3 years maximum. He called half way through the year that he wasn't altogether keen to continue. So there is no point speculating on why he wasn't appointented again. Newbridge probably have a few peolple they could appoint inhouse too but why stop the search there? Wouldn't it be wise to try and find the best possible coach available? If you could find a key position player that could coach your killing 2 birds with 1 stone. As good as a bloke and a player Matt Keating is he will be pushing the brown stuff uphill to recruit the players he will need to replace.
[quote=youngcitychick;9029114]
What is it with chicks? Last year there was an exodus from YCW to Newbridge, now it's Newbridge to ? Is it right to assume that it may be the same people causing the problems? It seems also that the Newbridge netballers might be chewing on the same sour grapes as the footballers and blaming the coach for being beaten by a better side.
I doubt very much that any quality footballers will follow their partners.
Youngcitychick, you have made another big statement here regarding a mass exodus of footballers from Newbridge that really has no substance. While the next 6 months on this thread may be mostly about the innuendo and gossip surrounding who is coming and going from the league, try and get some facts right. So far you have said that Andy Grant is coaching YCW, Buster Alford or Steve Cox were going to get the job at Huntly and Marong were recruiting from Cohuna and Ararat. You were way off the mark with all of these. I hope Ash Wilson gets the job at Serp so at least something you put up here may actually be true.
youngcitychick
4 Oct 2007, 12:46
thanks for the confidence Hellboy. Why dont you look at your own statement, there was no mass exodous from YC last year, Michelle Eastman and her daughter went out there because they are friends with people on the committee and Michelle had an issue with a YC committee person i heard. Other than that Michelle left on a good note. Lots of the players from YC still talk to her and like her, myself included. The other netballer to go to Newbridge was Brooke Walters, that was it, she was no loss. Nic Gilmore retired, Nic Donnellon had her knee done, Lauren Tuohey followed her boyfriend to another league. Lauren Gardner had a baby. but you would already know all that, having researched your work before adding a thread. Let the bull dust roll on... from your lips.
As for Andy Grant coaching YC that came from his mum Annette, she said he has alot of friends there, Matt Keating i think.
Buster Alford was approached to coach Huntly, he was at the Elmore game late in the year, and i know that for a fact he was considering it, as i work with his wife at the Bank.
Steve Cox was never true, he told me to write that, just stirring the pot.
Freddo told me at the final at Marong that his brother Matt wasnt coaching the 2's and that he had some guys from Ararat, through his old man and Cohuna coming to play.
And i can tell you that Serp have never ever rang Ash, and that is a quote,that is a fact, when he called around on the weekend i asked him.
So eat my shorts Hellboy!!!
thanks for the confidence Hellboy. Why dont you look at your own statement, there was no mass exodous from YC last year, Michelle Eastman and her daughter went out there because they are friends with people on the committee and Michelle had an issue with a YC committee person i heard. Other than that Michelle left on a good note. Lots of the players from YC still talk to her and like her, myself included. The other netballer to go to Newbridge was Brooke Walters, that was it, she was no loss. Nic Gilmore retired, Nic Donnellon had her knee done, Lauren Tuohey followed her boyfriend to another league. Lauren Gardner had a baby. but you would already know all that, having researched your work before adding a thread. Let the bull dust roll on... from your lips.
As for Andy Grant coaching YC that came from his mum Annette, she said he has alot of friends there, Matt Keating i think.
Buster Alford was approached to coach Huntly, he was at the Elmore game late in the year, and i know that for a fact he was considering it, as i work with his wife at the Bank.
Steve Cox was never true, he told me to write that, just stirring the pot.
Freddo told me at the final at Marong that his brother Matt wasnt coaching the 2's and that he had some guys from Ararat, through his old man and Cohuna coming to play.
And i can tell you that Serp have never ever rang Ash, and that is a quote,that is a fact, when he called around on the weekend i asked him.
So eat my shorts Hellboy!!!
I thought that might fire you up!
I know Andy (and Annette) very well and there was no way he was ever coaching YCW. Clearly you proved my point regarding Steve Cox. Having a look back, you only suggested that it may be Serp that Ash Wilson coaches but you did state that he was a definite to coach in this league after speaking to his sister. So if you've spoken to him, where is he going? I have spoken to Freddo and he has never told anyone that Marong are recruiting from Ararat or Cohuna. This I know for certain.
If you have a look, I was very ambiguous about the netball comment, as I wasn't sure of too many details. I didn't mention 'mass' exodus. I was simply asking the question, not making a statement. You have reeled off the names of 7 players who did not play for YCW this season, I would call that an exodus of players.
Without your input on this thread, there would be very little going on youngcitychick so keep up the good (if a little inaccurate) work.
Newcomer63
4 Oct 2007, 13:18
Well, If you can name 10 players that were unhappy at half year, be my guest. The only players that were unhappy were the ones that overrate their importance in the side. The others, that is, the majority, were having a great year, with much success on and off the field. You should ask every member of the netball commitee and players and you'll find out some harsh but realistic information about Anne-louise's playing ability. We cannot hold on to past successes and achievements, we must look at her contribution to the team now and it was definitely not enough to gain a spot in the starting 7. If you need to pull out the fact that she's playing A grade at south bendigo, you are really scraping the barrel, just a quick question, where did South finish this year?
Also, no confidence in the coach? Look where she got us? playing off in grand final!! No one was capable of beating pyramid hill this year, they are a star-studded team and the newbridge girls are not bitter about their loss, in fact, they are thrilled with their ability to reach that far considering their last years' efforts. I think you need to do a bit more research before you go mouthing off about this united team!
Newcomer63
4 Oct 2007, 13:27
[quote=youngcitychick;9029114]
What is it with chicks? Last year there was an exodus from YCW to Newbridge, now it's Newbridge to ? Is it right to assume that it may be the same people causing the problems? It seems also that the Newbridge netballers might be chewing on the same sour grapes as the footballers and blaming the coach for being beaten by a better side.
I doubt very much that any quality footballers will follow their partners.
Youngcitychick, you have made another big statement here regarding a mass exodus of footballers from Newbridge that really has no substance. While the next 6 months on this thread may be mostly about the innuendo and gossip surrounding who is coming and going from the league, try and get some facts right. So far you have said that Andy Grant is coaching YCW, Buster Alford or Steve Cox were going to get the job at Huntly and Marong were recruiting from Cohuna and Ararat. You were way off the mark with all of these. I hope Ash Wilson gets the job at Serp so at least something you put up here may actually be true.
People leaving clubs does not necesarily mean they are unhappy. Last year for example, YCW netballers didn't leave on a bad note, many were injured, pregnant, following boyfriends, following friends etc. The only reason this year for an 'exodus' at newbridge is because a few locals think they are a touch better than reality and newbridge had an influx of approx. 10 uni girls all in their last year and all moving around next year. The newbridge girls are united and a tight-knit group and are most certainly not bitter about the loss and in an even more ridiculous statement, are not blaming the coach! Would any other club like to come up against the likes of stacey and jess scott, merryn rogan, brooke watson and the mass of other brilliant netballers pyramid hill have to offer? I didn't think so. The newbridge netballers were beaten by a better side and are aware.
Newcomer63
4 Oct 2007, 13:39
[quote=youngcitychick;8959154]
The Gloury girls are going nowhere. If i'm not mistaken, the girls mum has just joined the newbridge netball commitee for the 2008 season so I'd be more than surprised to see them go. The Gloury's live, eat and breathe newbridge. I would also be absolutely stunned if any more than 2 netballers went to YCW next year. I know a few that are on the move, but its not to YC.
Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 13:45
crikey moses, the netball girls are fired up in here today, bone of contention is newbridge by the looks of it. Obviously things didn't end up well between the newbridge coach and YCW last year?
The Iron Glove
4 Oct 2007, 14:20
crikey moses, the netball girls are fired up in here today, bone of contention is newbridge by the looks of it. Obviously things didn't end up well between the newbridge coach and YCW last year?
Youve just gotta love chicks fighting! Do we need to get out the jelly to sort this one out? :D
Did anyone see Number 16 for the Marong under 17's this season. Tall, skinny blonde hair kid? Played Centre Half Forward and Ful Forward?
youngcitychick
4 Oct 2007, 15:19
Well, If you can name 10 players that were unhappy at half year, be my guest. The only players that were unhappy were the ones that overrate their importance in the side.
Also, no confidence in the coach? I think you need to do a bit more research before you go mouthing off about this united team![/quote]
there was no mass exodous from YC last year, Michelle Eastman and her daughter went out there because they are friends with people on the committee and Michelle had an issue with a YC committee person i heard.
Other than that Michelle left on a good note. Lots of the players from YC still talk to her and like her, myself included. The other netballer to go to Newbridge was Brooke Walters, that was it, she was no loss. Nic Gilmore retired, Nic Donnellon had her knee done, Lauren Tuohey followed her boyfriend to another league. Lauren Gardner had a baby.
Newcomber63,
good to see you bothered to actually read the thread i left, if you did you would see the above mentioned. I didnt say there was anything wrong with Michelle Eastmen as coach, i was talking about the footy. But other people on here have mentioned her. Have a re-read above, and thanks for reiterating what i had already said about the YC team. As much as i am told by the netballers at YC there has never been any issues with Michelle, although her husband should keep his nose out of her coaching, doesnt look good when the coach has got him breathing down her neck telling her what he would do :thumbsd:. Good to see the newbridge netballers are so tight, lets see what happens at the start of the season.
Anyway YCW are looking for netball coaches for their junior teams, the girl who did the Under 17's is heading to Sandhurst to coach there juniors and B-grade. The C and B grade coaches are going overseas. A's to be coached by a YC mum.
Keep up the threading and remember its still '07.
Any one been on a footy/netball trip yet, if not where are you all going this year??????
youngcitychick
4 Oct 2007, 15:29
Touche` Hell boy, and i will get back to you on the Ash Wilson scenario, he even logged on himself to see what everyone was talking about. he is over for dinner tomoro night, so i willl see if i can get it out of him. Maybe after a few green ones.
Newcomer63
4 Oct 2007, 15:52
Well, If you can name 10 players that were unhappy at half year, be my guest. The only players that were unhappy were the ones that overrate their importance in the side.
Also, no confidence in the coach? I think you need to do a bit more research before you go mouthing off about this united team!
there was no mass exodous from YC last year, Michelle Eastman and her daughter went out there because they are friends with people on the committee and Michelle had an issue with a YC committee person i heard.
Other than that Michelle left on a good note. Lots of the players from YC still talk to her and like her, myself included. The other netballer to go to Newbridge was Brooke Walters, that was it, she was no loss. Nic Gilmore retired, Nic Donnellon had her knee done, Lauren Tuohey followed her boyfriend to another league. Lauren Gardner had a baby.
Newcomber63,
good to see you bothered to actually read the thread i left, if you did you would see the above mentioned. I didnt say there was anything wrong with Michelle Eastmen as coach, i was talking about the footy. But other people on here have mentioned her. Have a re-read above, and thanks for reiterating what i had already said about the YC team. As much as i am told by the netballers at YC there has never been any issues with Michelle, although her husband should keep his nose out of her coaching, doesnt look good when the coach has got him breathing down her neck telling her what he would do :thumbsd:. Good to see the newbridge netballers are so tight, lets see what happens at the start of the season.
Anyway YCW are looking for netball coaches for their junior teams, the girl who did the Under 17's is heading to Sandhurst to coach there juniors and B-grade. The C and B grade coaches are going overseas. A's to be coached by a YC mum.
Keep up the threading and remember its still '07.
Any one been on a footy/netball trip yet, if not where are you all going this year??????[/quote]
I appreciate the fact that you have not said anything way out of your depth to do with her coaching, you seem well informed. However, lets not get caught up on technicalities, you did say a number of players were unhappy (wrong, these are just the ones who don't know when it's time to hang up the skirt) and you did say that her players had no confidence in her coaching abilities (were these the ones that should hang up the boots? because there are only a couple of these out our way).
Did anyone see Number 16 for the Marong under 17's this season. Tall, skinny blonde hair kid? Played Centre Half Forward and Ful Forward?
Hayden Sumner. Goes alright.
Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 16:03
righto can we deal in fact here for a moment, what's the current situtaion on coaches throughout the league:
Calivil - Unknown
Newbridge - Unknown
Miti - Billy Grant
P/Hill - Shane Gilchrist (new)
Bridgewater - Kurt Ashman (Is he Confirmed?)
YCW - Matt Keating (new)
Marong - Brett Rogers (new)
Ingelwood - Darryl Billet (Is he confirmed?)
Serp - Unknown
Billy Grant could be the only bloke left from this year's coaching ranks, who would have thought.
There's not much going on in the football department so it's good to see the netballers keeping things interesting.
Five Fingers
4 Oct 2007, 16:07
Netball fft who cares, something to keep the women busy when they aren't in the canteen.
Uh oh here it comes!
Hayden Sumner. Goes alright.
Do you actually know who it was or did you check the Loddon Valley team sheets?
youngcitychick
4 Oct 2007, 16:15
YOU ARE PURE FILTH FINGERS,lol, get a bigger spoon, thats not enough to get the pot stirring on here, what club do you follow???
Keep the comments coming boys and girls, cos i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Iron Glove
4 Oct 2007, 17:02
righto can we deal in fact here for a moment, what's the current situtaion on coaches throughout the league:
Calivil - Unknown
Newbridge - Unknown
Miti - Billy Grant
YCW - Matt Keating (new)
Serp - Unknown
Billy Grant could be the only bloke left from this year's coaching ranks, who would have thought
Any word from up Calivil way Frank? I know Freemantle was a reluctant leader this year and Maxted wasn't too keen with his coaching abilities so is there any chance we'll Ross back at the helm?
thomo[/B];8898966]I was a bit suprised Rackers won our Best and Fairest. I woulda thought Bower would of taken it out, but Rackers was well deserved winner. Matty Camileri was deservidly 2nd... I only polled 20 votes.. got 6th overall :D
thomo[/B];9035695]Did anyone see Number 16 for the Marong under 17's this season. Tall, skinny blonde hair kid? Played Centre Half Forward and Ful Forward?
Shouldn't you know who your own team mates are???
Calivil - Unknown
Newbridge - Unknown
Miti - Billy Grant
YCW - Matt Keating (new)
Serp - Unknown
Billy Grant could be the only bloke left from this year's coaching ranks, who would have thought.
I heard Darryl Billett wasn't taking on the Inglewood job again. One would assume that Kurt will have the job at Bridgy if he wants it.
Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 17:11
Calivil - Unknown
Newbridge - Unknown
Miti - Billy Grant
YCW - Matt Keating (new)
Serp - Unknown
Billy Grant could be the only bloke left from this year's coaching ranks, who would have thought
Any word from up Calivil way Frank? I know Freemantle was a reluctant leader this year and Maxted wasn't too keen with his coaching abilities so is there any chance we'll Ross back at the helm?
Last i heard, neither the Maxteds or Fremantle are keen to coach. Apparently Calivil didn't think they were going to win the flag this year (ie beat Newbridge) and were more intent on playing the kids with a view to the future which is why Andy took on the job to start with, basically to help the club out.
They were always more intent on having a last hurrah crack with all the local boys in 2008 with a "non-local" coaching. I've heard 100 rumours about who was coaching them Wayne Mitrovic (obviously not true, back to Macorna) and Darren Walsh amongst names, but neither of those is going to happen. So no closer to knowing who is going to do it. Who knows in 10 weeks time azza demeo might be taking the reins.
Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 17:13
I heard Darryl Billett wasn't taking on the Inglewood job again. One would assume that Kurt will have the job at Bridgy if he wants it.
i heard there was a bust up at Ingelwood with the committee a couple of weeks ago and half were hell bent on giving Billet the flick and the other half (including the president) hell bent on keeping him.
Mark Hayes is a name that keeps getting mentioned to me for the coaching job.
i heard there was a bust up at Ingelwood with the committee a couple of weeks ago and half were hell bent on giving Billet the flick and the other half (including the president) hell bent on keeping him.
Mark Hayes is a name that keeps getting mentioned to me for the coaching job.
If Billlett wants the job, he should get it. Inglewood appear to have turned the corner this season but could quite easily slip back into their old ways. The only reason I see for some wanting Billett out is that they may be seeking a high quality playing coach. I'm sure there would be issues that none of us are privy to that might have caused this rift. We can only speculate.
I'd heard that Zane Bigmore might be returning to Inglewood from Navarre. Maybe as coach?
Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 17:54
If Billlett wants the job, he should get it. Inglewood appear to have turned the corner this season but could quite easily slip back into their old ways. The only reason I see for some wanting Billett out is that they may be seeking a high quality playing coach. I'm sure there would be issues that none of us are privy to that might have caused this rift. We can only speculate.
I'd heard that Zane Bigmore might be returning to Inglewood from Navarre. Maybe as coach?
I agree they turned the corner with winning games but as soon as it turned against them it was back to the old ways belting blokes and being the ingelwood of old and Billet didn't try to stop it either. Apparently that could be the driving force behind getting rid of him.