View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

oldmanemu
4 Oct 2007, 17:58
i heard there was a bust up at Ingelwood with the committee a couple of weeks ago and half were hell bent on giving Billet the flick and the other half (including the president) hell bent on keeping him.

Mark Hayes is a name that keeps getting mentioned to me for the coaching job.

I saw Mark Hayes running around Lake Weeroona at lunchtime today. Well he was stretching, but by the way he was doubled over, it looked he had been running. :D

As for Brent Dyer. The most negative coach I have ever seen. He got the team to the GF, but with the talent on offer, should have got the team over the line. Had a couple of injuries in Wills and Bourke, but didn't recruit any backups, and had a 2nd gamer plus Gordon doing the ruckwork in a Grand Final. Were run over by Calivil both times in the finals which suggest fitness was a query. Perhaps the Maroons shouldn't be doing shuttle runs and running around the town during July/August, and perhaps do that before the season starts.

The other flag he won, he had guys like Flanagan, Carson and Dunn who were quality players, plus a younger G.Bourke and runners like Milsom, Hecker, O'Brien and Broom.

Corey Warne may be a smoky. Coached the twos very well after having the heart ripped out of his side on prelim final day, and could adapt to senior coaching.

Newbridge is a quality club, but are better off without Dyer at the helm.

gerta
4 Oct 2007, 18:03
I'd heard that Zane Bigmore might be returning to Inglewood from Navarre. Maybe as coach?

I heard Bigmore coudl be heading st arnaud way with maybe a few blokes from the loddon valley heading with him..

thomo
4 Oct 2007, 18:14
Shouldn't you know who your own team mates are???

Lol, nah coz i am Hayden Sumner, number 16 for Marong... Look out for me next season :thumbsu:

PINNACLE HEALTH
4 Oct 2007, 18:26
Darryl Billett runs a chicken shop in White Hills , i was in there about 3 weeks ago to buy a chook and he said he was coaching again, but that was 3 weeks ago.

I can confirm a few clubs in this league contacted D. walsh but he is playing another year at Square.

Hellboy
4 Oct 2007, 18:45
Lol, nah coz i am Hayden Sumner, number 16 for Marong... Look out for me next season :thumbsu:

You'd better get on the weights in the off season mate!

Hellboy
4 Oct 2007, 18:49
I heard Bigmore coudl be heading st arnaud way with maybe a few blokes from the loddon valley heading with him..

I see on the North Central thread that Nathan McNally has been linked with St Arnaud next season.

Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 19:22
yeah i think nathan had a falling out with St Aranaud a few years back and that's why he ended up at Serp, if that rift is healed than you can bet your bottom dollar he'll be back at St Arnaud.

gerta
4 Oct 2007, 19:30
yeah i think nathan had a falling out with St Aranaud a few years back and that's why he ended up at Serp, if that rift is healed than you can bet your bottom dollar he'll be back at St Arnaud.

Yes it started when brother Heath was omitted from the St Arnaud Senior Grand Final. They left the next year and have been playing in serp since.. That would have been in about 2003 i think.

Frankenfurter
4 Oct 2007, 20:35
well nathan is only a seconds football in the lvfl these days so i suppose St Arnaud aren't really getting a good footballer.........

gerta
4 Oct 2007, 21:36
well nathan is only a seconds football in the lvfl these days so i suppose St Arnaud aren't really getting a good footballer.........

:thumbsu: :D

bill
5 Oct 2007, 09:49

Will any of the 2007 LVFL U17 players have an impact at senior level in 2008?

Do you think the opposition senior / reserve players will try to take out the younger ones that are going up an age group?

The Iron Glove
5 Oct 2007, 10:16

Do you think the opposition senior / reserve players will try to take out the younger ones that are going up an age group?

Can't say I managed to catch a lot of junior footy this year Bill but you shouldn't have any doubts about stepping up to senior level next year. If you playing in the Maryborough/Castlemaine league I would be. If your team mates are worth anything you will be looked after if anything untoward happened which I very much doubt. You only have to look at Matt Smith from Calivil this year to realise if you have the class size doesn't matter.

Frankenfurter
5 Oct 2007, 11:03
i think the only given in the 2007 crop of juniors is Matthew Smith from Calivil will be playing at a higher level of football. Hopefully Mark Ellis gets his head out of his @rse and gets this kid into the pioneers program and gets rid of his arrogant attitude towards juniors in the district leagues.

The young fella from YCW has won the last two league medals must be a chance to play senior footy as well if he hangs about.

bobbill
5 Oct 2007, 11:37
Will Matt Keating have any pulling power when it comes to recruiting? As I think he may have a few to replace like Loring who hasn't got a phone call from Keating, McCormick who is playing elsewhere, Bennett who North are keen to get back, along with Alford and Kingdom, who will go if Bennett goes?
I think a goal kicker would be at the top of his list.

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 11:47

I dont really know from other teams, but certainly from Marong, James Bower (2nd in the Best and Fairest) and Alan Rackstraw will have impacts. Both played around 6-7 games this year for the Senior side.

bill
5 Oct 2007, 12:06
i think the only given in the 2007 crop of juniors is Matthew Smith from Calivil will be playing at a higher level of football. Hopefully Mark Ellis gets his head out of his @rse and gets this kid into the pioneers program and gets rid of his arrogant attitude towards juniors in the district leagues.

The young fella from YCW has won the last two league medals must be a chance to play senior footy as well if he hangs about.

The Pioneers seem to overlook the LVFL and HDFL. The only Pioneer listed player that I know of that comes from these leagues is "Saladino", who plays for Heathcote seniors.

The LVFL lose alot of kids to the Under 18's, then many never come back. Having the opportunity to play at senior level, and do preseason with Pioneers could develop these kids well.

Maybe if the Pioneers invited kids from the LVFL & HDFL to preseason training, this would help these leagues to retain young players.

If the kids don't make the Pioneer preseason cut, they are still better off for doing the higher level training.

Yes, I agree........there is a lot of arrogance amongst many of the players on the Pioneers list.

Frankenfurter
5 Oct 2007, 12:17
Will Matt Keating have any pulling power when it comes to recruiting? As I think he may have a few to replace like Loring who hasn't got a phone call from Keating, McCormick who is playing elsewhere, Bennett who North are keen to get back, along with Alford and Kingdom, who will go if Bennett goes?

that would make Keating's job that much harder if he were to lose Bennett especially, the others would be big losses as well as all senior footballers. Is Lorring looking to move on or just dirty because he hasn't got a phone call? Has Keating rang the rest of the list? Any confirmed as leaving?

A full forward if McCormick is no longer there would be at the top of the shopping list, seemed to lack an avenue to goal this year with McCormick and with lorring being injured / playing in the reserves.

bill
5 Oct 2007, 12:19
I dont really know from other teams, but certainly from Marong, James Bower (2nd in the Best and Fairest) and Alan Rackstraw will have impacts. Both played around 6-7 games this year for the Senior side.

Hey Hayden, James Bower has improved out of sight in the last couple of years and Alan Rackshaw is a hard nut that could be better if he committed himself.

What about that Frankel kid, Camilleri and Nugget.........what are they doing in 2008?

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 12:24
Hey Hayden, James Bower has improved out of sight in the last couple of years and Alan Rackshaw is a hard nut that could be better if he committed himself.

What about that Frankel kid, Camilleri and Nugget.........what are they doing in 2008?

Lachie Frankel and Camers are staying under 17's next year... Nugget if stays at Marong will go to Seniors

Bowhunter
5 Oct 2007, 13:07

From what I have heard he will be recruiting very hard and has a fairly extensive plan in place for this. He knows a lot of good footballers around town and I for one hope that Bomber stays Bobbill, great player and clubman, plus Alford and Kingdom are big losses if Bomber goes.

Frankenfurter
5 Oct 2007, 13:09
From what I have heard he will be recruiting very hard and has a fairly extensive plan in place for this. He knows a lot of good footballers around town and I for one hope that Bomber stays Bobbill, great player and clubman, plus Alford and Kingdom are big losses if Bomber goes.

If one of the north bendigo blokes goes will they all go?

olddog
5 Oct 2007, 13:53
I saw Mark Hayes running around Lake Weeroona at lunchtime today. Well he was stretching, but by the way he was doubled over, it looked he had been running. :D

As for Brent Dyer. The most negative coach I have ever seen. He got the team to the GF, but with the talent on offer, should have got the team over the line. Had a couple of injuries in Wills and Bourke, but didn't recruit any backups, and had a 2nd gamer plus Gordon doing the ruckwork in a Grand Final. Were run over by Calivil both times in the finals which suggest fitness was a query. Perhaps the Maroons shouldn't be doing shuttle runs and running around the town during July/August, and perhaps do that before the season starts.

The other flag he won, he had guys like Flanagan, Carson and Dunn who were quality players, plus a younger G.Bourke and runners like Milsom, Hecker, O'Brien and Broom.

Corey Warne may be a smoky. Coached the twos very well after having the heart ripped out of his side on prelim final day, and could adapt to senior coaching.

Newbridge is a quality club, but are better off without Dyer at the helm.

Oldmanemu sounds like you played under dyer and was not happy with the way he went about his business.

Kneeless
5 Oct 2007, 14:38
I heard the Blanthorns boys might be leaving Marong this year. One of them knows a bloke from Colbo and they are looking for a bit of success. Their mum who coached the netball and sister who won A B&F have had enough too.

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 14:48
I heard the Blanthorns boys might be leaving Marong this year. One of them knows a bloke from Colbo and they are looking for a bit of success. Their mum who coached the netball and sister who won A B&F have had enough too.

i havent heard much about that. I know the daughter , i will ask her what is going on, but i havent heard anything

oldmanemu
5 Oct 2007, 15:13
Oldmanemu sounds like you played under dyer and was not happy with the way he went about his business.

Didn't play under him, but was a keen spectator at that stage. Always puts players down before mentioning any positives, which he rarely finds any.

Bungled the 2007 season for both ones and twos.

Hellboy
5 Oct 2007, 16:38
Lachie Frankel and Camers are staying under 17's next year... Nugget if stays at Marong will go to Seniors

Freddo is a big rap for Matt Camileri so I wouldn't be surprised if he gets the chance to play seniors next season. Lachie Frankel is all class and has shown that he will have what it takes to play seniors if he puts on a few pounds. Nugget has some work to do if he wants to retain a spot in the ones.

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 16:45
Freddo is a big rap for Matt Camileri so I wouldn't be surprised if he gets the chance to play seniors next season. Lachie Frankel is all class and has shown that he will have what it takes to play seniors if he puts on a few pounds. Nugget has some work to do if he wants to retain a spot in the ones.

yeah well i think Matt needs to put on a bit too. A small fella, but he is a great mark. Lachie needs to put alot on aswell, but yeh Nugget was injured alot this season, so was limited to play matches for us

bill
5 Oct 2007, 17:01
What Under 17 players (other than Marong) do you think will go well in the step up to reserve / seniors?

Jordan Lea (Calival) picked up 2 league votes, whilst filling in for the Seniors.

That Pollock kid from Bridgey looks as though he's got a bit of a future.

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 17:06
What Under 17 players (other than Marong) do you think will go well in the step up to reserve / seniors?

Jordan Lea (Calival) picked up 2 league votes, whilst filling in for the Seniors.

That Pollock kid from Bridgey looks as though he's got a bit of a future.

yeah Jordan Lea should have a big futrue. Alexander Pollock is a good player, but when he has a quiet one, he has a really really bad one. A awsome left foot kick. Jake Concol (YCW) and under 17 league Best and Fairest is a solid kid, would be difficult to get past him wether seniors, reserves or anything.

Hellboy
5 Oct 2007, 17:22

I can assure you that there is absolutely no truth to this. I have just got off the phone with John; he is a definite starter for Marong in 2008. He said there is no way he would leave Marong, especially now with Freddo as coach. Leigh is returning after a year off and Ian is likely to play in Melbourne as he lives there. John said that Noelene and Lisa will not be leaving either.

youngcitychick
5 Oct 2007, 19:12

Bobbill,
is it true D-mac is going to Calivil as a player. If so they are unbeatable!

Will Linda McCormack be going too, she will be sadly missed at YCW, as will there two gorgeous boys.

:(YCC

madsnake
5 Oct 2007, 19:35
anyone think that there will be players that will head into the bfl next season? matt smith would have to get a gig at pioneers, and maybe some like cam grant, gav james should give it a crack?

bobbill
5 Oct 2007, 19:46
Bobbill,
is it true D-mac is going to Calivil as a player. If so they are unbeatable!

Will Linda McCormack be going too, she will be sadly missed at YCW, as will there two gorgeous boys.

:(YCC

Don't know if he would play against ycw, even thou he is not happy with them. I have heard there are a few HDFL clubs chasing him.

jhirdy5
5 Oct 2007, 21:01

hey haydos great to see your pumped for next year, with the class of players the 17s have plus hopefully a few new players it could be a big year for you guys hopefully. Looking forward to it already.

Hellboy
5 Oct 2007, 22:11
Don't know if he would play against ycw, even thou he is not happy with them. I have heard there are a few HDFL clubs chasing him.

I'd heard he was heading to coach North Bendigo. Makes some sense if the likes of Bennett and Alford etc. are heading there too.

If he wants to coach, Calivil might not be out of the question. They are looking for a coach and need a key forward; might as well kill two birds with one stone.

I'm sure he's got a fairly hefty price on his head.

Frankenfurter
5 Oct 2007, 22:21
i reckon calivil have gone alright the past three years without a key forward!

Although they were unstopable with Pip Hetherington in the side. It doesn't happen too often that a coach leaves a LVFL club and crosses to another one to play against them.

I know Steve Cox has played at Newbridge and Serp but no real big names still playing that i can think of who have done it.

I've heard White Hills with McCormick and also Castlemaine in the BFL?

bill
5 Oct 2007, 23:30
yeah Jordan Lea should have a big futrue. Alexander Pollock is a good player, but when he has a quiet one, he has a really really bad one. A awsome left foot kick. Jake Concol (YCW) and under 17 league Best and Fairest is a solid kid, would be difficult to get past him wether seniors, reserves or anything.

oh ok
pollock played a few senior games but was hardly gettin a run he got a fair go in one game and tore it aparently...
Jake Concol do you think senior footy will be to fast for him? with the extra size he has he is also a slower player?

hayden sumner
5 Oct 2007, 23:43
oh ok
pollock played a few senior games but was hardly gettin a run he got a fair go in one game and tore it aparently...
Jake Concol do you think senior footy will be to fast for him? with the extra size he has he is also a slower player?

it would be pretty quick for him no doubt, but if he can get the ball, then i wouldnt think many could bring him down to be honest. Reserves might be the only he can get too

jhirdy5
6 Oct 2007, 07:52
i reckon calivil have gone alright the past three years without a key forward!

Although they were unstopable with Pip Hetherington in the side. It doesn't happen too often that a coach leaves a LVFL club and crosses to another one to play against them.

I know Steve Cox has played at Newbridge and Serp but no real big names still playing that i can think of who have done it.

I've heard White Hills with McCormick and also Castlemaine in the BFL?

The story ive heard is that north bendigo are chasing him as a player i think simpson has been reappointed as their coach, hes a top player and would be an asset wherever he went.

Kneeless
6 Oct 2007, 14:22
I can assure you that there is absolutely no truth to this. I have just got off the phone with John; he is a definite starter for Marong in 2008. He said there is no way he would leave Marong, especially now with Freddo as coach. Leigh is returning after a year off and Ian is likely to play in Melbourne as he lives there. John said that Noelene and Lisa will not be leaving either.

I dont know if John is telling you the hole truth their hellboy. Just spoke to one of Leighs very good mates and he has been approached by Colbo (dont know if officially or just through mates) Dont know Leigh personally but his is very happy with his knees, already lost 8kg (after putting on 10kg) a looking for a good year of footy. If Marong loose him I'm sure the rest of the family wont be too far behind. This would be a massive loss for Marong - very passionate and skillful family.

madsnake
6 Oct 2007, 14:58
as a player at newbridge i would be wraped to see corey warne get the job for seniors. he speaks very well and i think he would have the respect of the players.

jhirdy5
6 Oct 2007, 20:27
I dont know if John is telling you the hole truth their hellboy. Just spoke to one of Leighs very good mates and he has been approached by Colbo (dont know if officially or just through mates) Dont know Leigh personally but his is very happy with his knees, already lost 8kg (after putting on 10kg) a looking for a good year of footy. If Marong loose him I'm sure the rest of the family wont be too far behind. This would be a massive loss for Marong - very passionate and skillful family.

I doubt very much if Leigh would leave Marong he is very passionate about the club and was telling me not long ago how much he was looking forward to coming back to play next year, and i know John wouldve told hellboy the truth as he is one of the most honest blokes you would ever meet, the family is a much valued part of the club.

naughts
7 Oct 2007, 10:07
hi new to the sight, but there is a lack of bridgy talk on hear, thought i would help out.
firstly, B&F winners:
seniors: winner david coghlan
runner-up: darren clutton

reserves: winner: kris gill
runner-up: jimmy hitchcock

i can confirm kurt is coaching for 08, however haven't heard much bout possible recruits. but can confirm that 99% of last years list are playing at bridgy next year, which is a good start.

madsnake
7 Oct 2007, 10:46
hi new to the sight, but there is a lack of bridgy talk on hear, thought i would help out.
firstly, B&F winners:
seniors: winner david coghlan
runner-up: darren clutton

reserves: winner: kris gill
runner-up: jimmy hitchcock

i can confirm kurt is coaching for 08, however haven't heard much bout possible recruits. but can confirm that 99% of last years list are playing at bridgy next year, which is a good start.
well i recon that dave and darren are both very handy players and well deserved winers. on the other hand i hope your club does'nt pay alex collins a cent, he is useless and he eats way to many pies:D

naughts
7 Oct 2007, 12:11
no i dont think he gets payed, however giving him baked goods usually does the trick and he is happy with that.;)
seriously though, alex was a very handy addition to the side.

The Talking Goat
7 Oct 2007, 13:05
no i dont think he gets payed, however giving him baked goods usually does the trick and he is happy with that.;)
seriously though, alex was a very handy addition to the side.
I was very impressed with ross smith's season for mitiamo this season. a quiet achiever

andypipkin
7 Oct 2007, 15:24
any truth to the rumour that newbridge have found there coach and are just waiting on the approval of the commitee before anouncing it. he is also a former player at the club?

Frankenfurter
7 Oct 2007, 17:34
who is it andy?

Junky Bish
7 Oct 2007, 20:33
It's become a hard hitting league the LV Dyer, Birchmore and McCormick all sacked in a fashion.
A bit has been said about where McCormick will end up but what about Birchmore?? and Dyer??

Calivil will lose Lyold Maxted for season 2008 when he goes back overseas does anyone else know any player movements?

Hellboy
7 Oct 2007, 22:24
It's become a hard hitting league the LV Dyer, Birchmore and McCormick all sacked in a fashion.
A bit has been said about where McCormick will end up but what about Birchmore?? and Dyer??

Calivil will lose Lyold Maxted for season 2008 when he goes back overseas does anyone else know any player movements?

Marong will lose Brad McCormick who is also headed overseas. He is a chance of returning by mid season.

naughts
7 Oct 2007, 22:27

birchmore might go back to the flat!!! if they will have him?

newbridge should get brad comer to coach!! is young and leads by example, despite the odd misdemeanour (pyramid game).

bobbill
8 Oct 2007, 06:16
Heard Saturday that Webb is a strong chance of going to North Bendigo as Ass. Coach, source was a good mate of his. Also he was telling family and friends that this was happening AFL grand final day.
Also heard McCormick interested in playing in the BFL.

bobbill
8 Oct 2007, 06:22
birchmore might go back to the flat!!! if they will have him?

newbridge should get brad comer to coach!! is young and leads by example, despite the odd misdemeanour (pyramid game).

Birchmore was in for Huntly coaching job but Huntly wanted an answer straight away, but he was still hopeful of getting pyramid job but ended up missing out.

madsnake
8 Oct 2007, 06:42
Birchmore was in for Huntly coaching job but Huntly wanted an answer straight away, but he was still hopeful of getting pyramid job but ended up missing out.
brad comer is a great player and nice guy but i believe theres a way to go before he is ready to coach. give him the captaincy for a couple more years and then see how we go.

The Gun Recruit
8 Oct 2007, 09:08
If Billlett wants the job, he should get it. Inglewood appear to have turned the corner this season but could quite easily slip back into their old ways. The only reason I see for some wanting Billett out is that they may be seeking a high quality playing coach. I'm sure there would be issues that none of us are privy to that might have caused this rift. We can only speculate.

I'd heard that Zane Bigmore might be returning to Inglewood from Navarre. Maybe as coach?

Good call, hellboy. Billett has put together a pretty handy, young squad who could have easily been knocking on the door of the top five this year. What is needed now is stabilty, a similar or slightly better year next year would put them back in the race for big name recruits.

Agreed, the only reason to oust chunky would be for a high quality playing coach, however I still don't think they are in the position to do that yet.

On the rumour front, Ben Rose to return after winning a flag with Wedderburn?

switch the play
8 Oct 2007, 11:07
any truth to the rumour that newbridge have found there coach and are just waiting on the approval of the commitee before anouncing it. he is also a former player at the club?
Could Kris Shevleen do the job?

Frankenfurter
8 Oct 2007, 11:32
Heard Saturday that Webb is a strong chance of going to North Bendigo as Ass. Coach, source was a good mate of his. Also he was telling family and friends that this was happening AFL grand final day.
Also heard McCormick interested in playing in the BFL.

would be very disappointing for the eagles to lose the coach and the assistant coach in the same year. I assume Kingdom, Alford, Bennett and Lorring would go with him if appointed?

Would make life difficult for the incoming coach to lose 5 - 6 of the senior side straight away.

Hellboy
8 Oct 2007, 11:59
would be very disappointing for the eagles to lose the coach and the assistant coach in the same year. I assume Kingdom, Alford, Bennett and Lorring would go with him if appointed?

Would make life difficult for the incoming coach to lose 5 - 6 of the senior side straight away.

This sort of thing would make it difficult to recruit good players to the club. Losing 5 - 6 good senior footballers could suggest an instability at the club which might result in potential recruits going elsewhere. Ideally a coach or recruiting committee would be looking for 5 or 6 players to top up the rather than replace. If this turns out to be true, YCW are probably in need of 10 -12 players.

Frankenfurter
8 Oct 2007, 12:20
i reckon every club turns over 4 - 6 senior players every year, but to lose a block of players like that and including probably the 3 best players at the club (McCormick, Lorring, Webb) is a tough one to swallow.

Any news on who is taking over at Newbridge?

Hellboy
8 Oct 2007, 13:33
I have been reliably informed that Darryl Billet has been re-appointed at Inglewood.

olddog
8 Oct 2007, 13:45
I have been reliably informed that Darryl Billet has been re-appointed at Inglewood.

Any news on Serpentine. Is Wally Maxted going again or is he retiring to the twos super side as well.

Previous threads seem to have squashed the Ash Wilson link.

Hellboy
8 Oct 2007, 14:22
Any news on Serpentine. Is Wally Maxted going again or is he retiring to the twos super side as well.

Youngcitychick may be able to fill us in about this.

jhirdy5
8 Oct 2007, 16:33

be very interesting to see if he takes it on again, what about calivil? has andy freemantle indicated he doesnt want too coach them next year? you would think the club would be keen for him too coach them again given his fantastic record

naughts
8 Oct 2007, 18:30
Good call, hellboy. Billett has put together a pretty handy, young squad who could have easily been knocking on the door of the top five this year. What is needed now is stabilty, a similar or slightly better year next year would put them back in the race for big name recruits.

Agreed, the only reason to oust chunky would be for a high quality playing coach, however I still don't think they are in the position to do that yet.

On the rumour front, Ben Rose to return after winning a flag with Wedderburn?

hard to see that happening now. been a redback for nearly ten years, loves it there, they love him!
if dave was still at inglewood maybe, but i'd say ben will be at wedderburn till he gets a life membership.
inglewood must really hurt, that he left all those years ago!!

on the billett saga, he seems to have a youth policy and it is worked pretty well for them this year (bridgy knows bout that!!!), he should keep doing it! :thumbsu:

B-Boy
8 Oct 2007, 18:49
[/b]

hard to see that happening now. been a redback for nearly ten years, loves it there, they love him!
if dave was still at inglewood maybe, but i'd say ben will be at wedderburn till he gets a life membership.
inglewood must really hurt, that he left all those years ago!!

on the billett saga, he seems to have a youth policy and it is worked pretty well for them this year (bridgy knows bout that!!!), he should keep doing it! :thumbsu:

As an outsider, the inglewood committee would have to have rocks in their head not to reappoint Billett. You couldn't have asked for a better result for them this year. And as for the talk of Hayes returning as coach...that would be a disaster. I remember playing them a couple of years ago when he was in charge and the inglewood boys biffed each other at half time! They need stability...

Five Fingers
10 Oct 2007, 11:15

That rumour has been confirmed, Newbridge appointed a new coach for next year. It is a former player. Not too sure wether or not im able to disclose the name. So ill let it stew for a bit.

olddog
10 Oct 2007, 12:16
That rumour has been confirmed, Newbridge appointed a new coach for next year. It is a former player. Not too sure wether or not im able to disclose the name. So ill let it stew for a bit.

Would it be Flanagan ? Five Fingers

PINNACLE HEALTH
10 Oct 2007, 12:54

Scott Pigdon?

spiderweb
10 Oct 2007, 14:10
Scott Pigdon?

I have heard his surname was White??

Frankenfurter
10 Oct 2007, 14:40
i heard Pigdon was the one as well. He coached them to a two's premiership a few years back and played in their senior flag in 2000

olddog
10 Oct 2007, 14:58
i heard Pigdon was the one as well. He coached them to a two's premiership a few years back and played in their senior flag in 2000

I just heard Pigdon as well.

Five Fingers
10 Oct 2007, 15:20
Yep, Pig has the job.

speccymcgee
10 Oct 2007, 16:42
pigdon should be good for newbridge, from all reports was a very good tactical coach when he coached the 2's there. would have to have better people skills then brent dyer. should keep a few more footballers there now with a new coach. is there any falling out with brad comer though? his old man is best mates with dyer. any clubs chasing any of the sandhurst players? talk is 10-15 of their senior team is looking elsewere...

oldmanemu
10 Oct 2007, 17:04
Pigdon. Really? That's a surprise. Has a good footy brain, but humility isn't a strong point.

andypipkin
10 Oct 2007, 18:11
expect him to bring a few with him to newbridge aswell. in particular a quality utility from leitchville/gunbower who kicked around 50 goals in a finals team

olddog
10 Oct 2007, 18:15
Pigdon. Really? That's a surprise. Has a good footy brain, but humility isn't a strong point.

Geez hard to please Emu. You hated Dyer and now giving Pigdon a belt.
Who would of you recruited mate to coach.

Hellboy
10 Oct 2007, 20:45
pigdon should be good for newbridge, from all reports was a very good tactical coach when he coached the 2's there. would have to have better people skills then brent dyer. should keep a few more footballers there now with a new coach. is there any falling out with brad comer though? his old man is best mates with dyer. any clubs chasing any of the sandhurst players? talk is 10-15 of their senior team is looking elsewere...

Marong have spoken to a couple. I'm not at liberty to divulge any more details at the moment.

bobbill
10 Oct 2007, 23:44
Damien Webb rang Matt Keating tonight to tell him that he is playing at North Bendigo next year. I don't know if Webb is going as Ass. Coach or just as a player but has said yes to North.
I think now you could add Kingdom, Alford, Loring andf maybe even Bennett to go with Webb. Don't be surpised if a couple of other YCW players from this year end up at North as well!

Frankenfurter
11 Oct 2007, 08:59
Eagles to struggle next year then i would imagine, it's not the way you want to start a coaching career with probably 4 of the best players gone (McCormick, Lorring, Webb, Bennett).

Good pick ups for Nth Bendigo though, will it make them competitive Bobbill? (Probably a question for the HDFL board) Is it a falling out at YCW or just a desire to go back to Nth?

diesel7
11 Oct 2007, 11:07
Eagles to struggle next year then i would imagine, it's not the way you want to start a coaching career with probably 4 of the best players gone (McCormick, Lorring, Webb, Bennett).

Good pick ups for Nth Bendigo though, will it make them competitive Bobbill? (Probably a question for the HDFL board) Is it a falling out at YCW or just a desire to go back to Nth?
north did beat the teams that finished 4th and 5th last year so they are already competitive. These players along Aarron Craig from the pioneers and a few others should put them in the finals race.

olddog
11 Oct 2007, 15:52

What about Calival frank. Any word on their new coach?

Frankenfurter
11 Oct 2007, 16:25
heard McCormick was talking to them but more as a player rather than coach. Don't believe they are in a hurry to appoint a coach, happy to wait and see who is avaliable and then appoint from there.

Hellboy
11 Oct 2007, 16:45
Brad Comer's name has come up on the North Central thread linking him with St Arnaud. It has been mentioned on here of a possible falling out with Newbridge. Any truth or just silly season B/S?

Frankenfurter
11 Oct 2007, 17:27
i've heard Comer's old man wasn't too happy that he and Dyer got the flick, so it wouldn't surprise if that were true.

BiG rIcK
11 Oct 2007, 17:40
I've heard Nick Manley might be on his way back to calivil frank, how do you think he and mccormick would go in the same side?

Frankenfurter
11 Oct 2007, 17:59
Rick,

I don't think it would be an issue because if both McCormick and Manly were at Calivil i think you'll find that N.Manley would win the reserves goal kicking title.

BiG rIcK
11 Oct 2007, 18:08
Rick,

I don't think it would be an issue because if both McCormick and Manly were at Calivil i think you'll find that N.Manley would win the reserves goal kicking title.

I would have to agree went to elmore for a pay rise and didn't perform( W.O.G in the GF) just not fit and disciplined enough for senior footy, but in saying that if he played in a good 2's side could kick alot of goals

Frankenfurter
11 Oct 2007, 19:15
Manly has progressively got worse at each club he has been at if you ask me.

LOGZ
12 Oct 2007, 09:49
any clubs chasing any of the sandhurst players? ...
Marong have spoken to a couple. I'm not at liberty to divulge any more details at the moment.

I know Marong was keen for Metrovich a couple of years ago but didnt have the funds. Is he one of them Hellboy? Maybe cheaper due to injuries and heard he will never return to the Slagheads?

Catter
12 Oct 2007, 11:00
I know Marong was keen for Metrovich a couple of years ago but didnt have the funds. Is he one of them Hellboy? Maybe cheaper due to injuries and heard he will never return to the Slagheads?

Metro is heading to Macorna for 2008.

Young Guns
12 Oct 2007, 14:06
Manly has progressively got worse at each club he has been at if you ask me.
i think that manly going back to calivil would be the best thing for his footy. he would be surrounded by a good support group and his performances would improve 110% in my opinion

Frankenfurter
12 Oct 2007, 14:14
a good support group helps, and young nick needs a good support for his seats so they don't break. At the end of the day he needs to pull his finger out and get at least semi fit and then he may find that instead of spending a vast majority of time on the pine he can play footy.

No doubt he can play, but is just lazy.

Young Guns
12 Oct 2007, 14:26
i just heard from a reliable soucre that both brad fawcett and gavin james will be leaving pyramid to play in a bendigo senior side together. Anyone know which team?

Need A Win!!
12 Oct 2007, 15:36
[quote=Frankenfurter;9166261]a good support group helps, and young nick needs a good support for his seats so they don't break. At the end of the day he needs to pull his finger out and get at least semi fit and then he may find that instead of spending a vast majority of time on the pine he can play footy.

Did manley get much game time when he played at calivil origionally or did he play because they didn't really have any key forwards?
Was speaking to an elmore man the other day and he told me they were very disappointed with him.

Frankenfurter
12 Oct 2007, 16:23
when pip hetherington was playing Nick played mainly in a forward pocket or up at chf, obviously his motor isn't that big to allow him to play there. Played some good footy mainly because he got good match ups (hetherington, Fremantle demanded the best backmen) and is a massive kick of the footy and a good kick for goal.

Was found out a bit when pip retired and was soon off to Huntly.

i think Manly was thankful to the tribunal for giving McKern 3 weeks as it may have saved his spot.

Young Guns
12 Oct 2007, 17:40
when pip hetherington was playing Nick played mainly in a forward pocket or up at chf, obviously his motor isn't that big to allow him to play there. Played some good footy mainly because he got good match ups (hetherington, Fremantle demanded the best backmen) and is a massive kick of the footy and a good kick for goal.

Was found out a bit when pip retired and was soon off to Huntly.

i think Manly was thankful to the tribunal for giving McKern 3 weeks as it may have saved his spot.
when manly was at calivil he was never in any real danger of losing his spot. he always worked hard at training and was usually the last one off the field after trainings. when he is enjoying his footy he works hard and plays well.

Frankenfurter
12 Oct 2007, 17:48
when manly was at calivil he was never in any real danger of losing his spot. he always worked hard at training and was usually the last one off the field after trainings. when he is enjoying his footy he works hard and plays well.

never said he was in danger of losing his spot
never said he didn't work hard at training
never said he played well

On the field in his time at Calivil he was never the focal point to goal, he always got the third or fourth string backline player and that is what made him dangerous and ensured his spot in the team he stretched backlines, when he was at Serp he was the big dog in the forward line with Gadsden and didn't cope as well. At Huntly he was a focal point with Geary not playing struggled, at Elmore he was a bit player again and found his spot, however there wasn't a lot of pressure on him retaining his spot once he knew McKern wasn't avaliable.

He is like a lot of footballers, seems a lot better in good sides (see Des Headland's career) and struggles when the focus on him.

BiG rIcK
12 Oct 2007, 18:05
never said he was in danger of losing his spot
never said he didn't work hard at training
never said he played well

On the field in his time at Calivil he was never the focal point to goal, he always got the third or fourth string backline player and that is what made him dangerous and ensured his spot in the team he stretched backlines, when he was at Serp he was the big dog in the forward line with Gadsden and didn't cope as well. At Huntly he was a focal point with Geary not playing struggled, at Elmore he was a bit player again and found his spot, however there wasn't a lot of pressure on him retaining his spot once he knew McKern wasn't avaliable.

He is like a lot of footballers, seems a lot better in good sides (see Des Headland's career) and struggles when the focus on him.

I know it was only at Huntly but he did come 3rd in our B&F last year he played some really good footy out of position spent a fair bit of time on the ball but yeah he got found out at elmore

Young Guns
12 Oct 2007, 18:19
i have a whole lot of respect for the man. he has the footy smarts that are needed to be a good player. sometimes his actions let him down on the field but he also has the skills to be a good player in a senior side.

Frankenfurter
12 Oct 2007, 18:53
I know it was only at Huntly but he did come 3rd in our B&F last year he played some really good footy out of position spent a fair bit of time on the ball but yeah he got found out at elmore

my apologies, i didn't realise he had such a good year at Huntly. I don't think anyone questions his ability as a player.