View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

youngcitychick
3 Nov 2007, 22:55
I did not go, heard a few of the boys won a bit. Good day by all reports. More other clubs rather than YC on the bus as meant to be the YC Footy Trip, which is a bit of a shame, but that just reflects on the year it was.

Fair enough, going into hossy this week to get knee cleaned up, ready for next year, i hear there are a few from other clubs doing the same. Saw two other LV footy boys in waiting room. Its just that time of the year i suppose. hate this part of the game.

Gossip Girl
3 Nov 2007, 23:36
May I first apologise,I'm new to this typing shit! Pumpkinhead u r a ******** this I will prove to u if my typing stands up. Point 1 D(super****en)mac left a lot to be desired when it come to dealing with the fringe players (the ones that count once injuries kick in, or when January heroes can't back up what they claim) 2 YCC has never claimed to be on a commitee, ....... I had other things to disclaim this point but then I realised that was the lamest bullshit point I have ever heard after 20+ years involvement in country footy!
3 My family (is that my me & my wife or me & my husband, but you'll work it out expert!) have often been back after games and we are always welcomed by people who would be considered GENUINE! Not the mercenery types who seem to love football clubs these days depending on how much money gets around! 4 I was surprised u mentioned Peters, I thought he actually liked the place but someone's obviously been pissing in his pocket because he is so far out of his league compared to the other blokes that you mentioned. Shauny Gray surprised me that he supposedly is so upset, maybe it's because the other blokes he lives with (or used to,I 'm not sure ) had hugely overrated opinions of their own abilities. One was a good footballer as long as it was a good day , the other was living of the reputation of relatives . Just to finish the Keating famly have to much class & commonsense to get mixed up in any of this bullshit! Check the entry times on some of the logs ****stick !!!! By the way a bloke told me today at cricket(keep thinking expert,me or my husband or my wife)about Paul Barnard & Inglewood!!! Surely that must be wrong ,but he said he heard it from an Inglewood(ex)coach

Hellboy
4 Nov 2007, 12:00
I know first hand that, the reason YCW have lost 14 registered SENIOR players is that for 1, the treatment of DMAC, the way they went about that is discraceful, if you want to appoint a winning coach, (hence, not mat keating your husband), pay money!
2, there is NO spot on a MALE FOOTBALL TEAM COMMITTEE for a chick? You have never played the game so dont comment!
4, if you want to be successful, employ a coach externally instead of the tripe you put up year after year that brings nothing but the same old same olds, that have let the club down for years. Before you comment megan, think long and hard about what you say. And show hubby, he is in denial. Mick Peters, Jay Kingdon, Nath Alford, Bomber Bennet, Jarrod Loring, Dmac, Webby, Wiggy and Shauny Gray are all victims of Tall Poppy Syndrome. You all hate it that they are soooooooo good. These blokes i have played with and regard them as some of the best country footballers i have seen.

As much as I am not the biggest YCW fan, what you have put up here pumpkinhead is rubbish!

1. "If you want to appoint a winning coach pay money" - Certainly didn't work with McCormick.
2. "There is no spot on a football committee for a female" - Shows a great deal of ignorance on your part. The successful running of a club is not gender specific. It is most likely the antiquated, biased opinions of those males who consider themselves to be football masterminds that send clubs down the tube. The club is not all about the team.
3. "To be successful, appoint a coach externally" - See response to 1st point. Also, have a look at who has coached Calivil for the last 5 seasons.
4. "Above mentioned players are so good" - You have named 9 players plus McCormick. That's half a side; if they were so good, why could YCW not make the finals. The buck has to stop with someone, either McCormick was not up to it as a coach or the personnel you mention are not really that good.

madsnake
4 Nov 2007, 12:00
FOR THE LAST LAST TIME I AM NOT MEAGAN FISHER.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, i smell a fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek:

pumkinhead
4 Nov 2007, 12:10
As much as I am not the biggest YCW fan, what you have put up here pumpkinhead is rubbish!

1. "If you want to appoint a winning coach pay money" - Certainly didn't work with McCormick.
2. "There is no spot on a football committee for a female" - Shows a great deal of ignorance on your part. The successful running of a club is gender specific. It is most likely the antiquated, biased opinions of those males who consider themselves to be football masterminds that send clubs broke. The club is not all about the team.
3. "To be successfull, appoint a coach externally" - See response to 1st point. Also, have a look at who has coached Calivil for the last 5 seasons.
4. "Above mentioned players are so good" - You have named 9 players plus McCormick. That's half a side; if they were so good, why could YCW not make the finals. The buck has to stop with someone, either McCormick was not up to it as a coach or the personnel you mention are not really that good.
from all reports it wasn't the coach everyone liked him injuries early cos them big time in playing finals d mac didn't have the support of the others around the club where cu would of

Young Guns
4 Nov 2007, 18:41
from all reports it wasn't the coach everyone liked him injuries early cos them big time in playing finals d mac didn't have the support of the others around the club where cu would of
theres is no team out there that can blame there teams lack of winning performances during the season on a bad run with injuries. calivil this yr had some of the worst luck during the season with injuries, it was the depth of the side with 2nds players that had been unlucky not to get permanent spots who came up and kept getting them over the line.

Young Guns
4 Nov 2007, 18:44
anyone got anymore news on who's coaching who in lvfl next yr?

Torpedo Punt
4 Nov 2007, 20:10

What has being liked by everyone got anything to do with his ability to coach? The cold hard facts of the matter are fairly basic, he had a side capable of winning a flag in 2006 and they lost three of the last four games to go from top spot to 4th and then lost the elimination final after leading by 7 goals in the third quarter. 2007 saw the club go backwards in terms of wins and missing the finals. I find it amazing you would think he would get the job again, performance and history (exactly the same thing happened at Wedderburn) would suggest the club would have been doing the wrong thing by reappointing him.

That part of it is only for his coaching, his record as a player is unmatched and cannot be argued. Absolute GUN player.

Special Comments
4 Nov 2007, 21:18
Heard Julian Lake from Sth Bendigo is heading to Bridgewater. Can anyone from up that way comment, Naughts etc???

jhirdy5
4 Nov 2007, 21:27
What has being liked by everyone got anything to do with his ability to coach? The cold hard facts of the matter are fairly basic, he had a side capable of winning a flag in 2006 and they lost three of the last four games to go from top spot to 4th and then lost the elimination final after leading by 7 goals in the third quarter. 2007 saw the club go backwards in terms of wins and missing the finals. I find it amazing you would think he would get the job again, performance and history (exactly the same thing happened at Wedderburn) would suggest the club would have been doing the wrong thing by reappointing him.

That part of it is only for his coaching, his record as a player is unmatched and cannot be argued. Absolute GUN player.

if the committee at ycw thought he wasnt the right man too coach why wouldnt they've had a plan in place too give him some sort of role too keep him at club? just too valuable a player just too lose and sounds like hes got a terrific family.

Torpedo Punt
5 Nov 2007, 07:38
if the committee at ycw thought he wasnt the right man too coach why wouldnt they've had a plan in place too give him some sort of role too keep him at club? just too valuable a player just too lose and sounds like hes got a terrific family.

Maybe it's as simple as he wouldn't accept a lesser role at the club. His playing ability was never in question but do you continue to let a coach stay at your club as coach simply because he is a gun player? Of course you don't.

naughts
5 Nov 2007, 11:17
Heard Julian Lake from Sth Bendigo is heading to Bridgewater. Can anyone from up that way comment, Naughts etc???

yeah there is a rumour that he is a possible recruit to bridgy, only because he and ashman are good mates, but i'm not sure that it will happen, because he is south through and through!

jhirdy5
5 Nov 2007, 11:21
Maybe it's as simple as he wouldn't accept a lesser role at the club. His playing ability was never in question but do you continue to let a coach stay at your club as coach simply because he is a gun player? Of course you don't.

fair point but i never said they shouldve kept him on as coach, i was just wondering if they offered him another role but if he wouldnt accept anything less i guess there wasnt much they could do.

Need A Win!!
5 Nov 2007, 11:50
Andy Freemantle coaching Calivil again

theflash
5 Nov 2007, 12:24
Yeah I heard that Julian Lake was going up to Bridgie, as well as Marcus McKern from Elmore. There both mates with Kert. I also heard that Damien Wigfield is going to standhope with Rob Bennett. Does anyone know whether there is any truth in that???

B-Boy
5 Nov 2007, 15:14
Yeah I heard that Julian Lake was going up to Bridgie, as well as Marcus McKern from Elmore. There both mates with Kert. I also heard that Damien Wigfield is going to standhope with Rob Bennett. Does anyone know whether there is any truth in that???

They would be two massive pick-up's for Bridgey if true. I heard whispers about Jules making the move next year - being close mates with Kurt.
McKern is another hard at it player - always good in recruiting a senior player straight from a premiership side.

Any idea on which club these other recruits to bridgey are from mentioned a few pages earlier :confused::confused::confused::confused:

OF COURSE IT IS STILL ONLY NOVEMBER...AND AS THE LAST FEW PAGES HAVE SHOWN...A LOT OF S HIT FLYS AROUND THIS TIME OF YEAR!:):)

naughts
5 Nov 2007, 17:54
They would be two massive pick-up's for Bridgey if true. I heard whispers about Jules making the move next year - being close mates with Kurt.
McKern is another hard at it player - always good in recruiting a senior player straight from a premiership side.

Any idea on which club these other recruits to bridgey are from mentioned a few pages earlier :confused::confused::confused::confused:

OF COURSE IT IS STILL ONLY NOVEMBER...AND AS THE LAST FEW PAGES HAVE SHOWN...A LOT OF S HIT FLYS AROUND THIS TIME OF YEAR!:):)

would like to hear more info on this as well????

good to see freemantle doing it again at the demons, what happened to McCormick doing the job?
any other calivil or bridgy news? :)

bobbill
5 Nov 2007, 18:37
would like to hear more info on this as well????

good to see freemantle doing it again at the demons, what happened to McCormick doing the job?
any other calivil or bridgy news? :)

McCormick was never in for the Calivil job.

Truck
5 Nov 2007, 18:38
Whos coaching Pyramid Hill next year, heard Birch was inteh running for the job at Huntly but i think his past reputation cost him the gig

bobbill
5 Nov 2007, 18:40
Whos coaching Pyramid Hill next year, heard Birch was inteh running for the job at Huntly but i think his past reputation cost him the gig

Shane Gilchrist

pen pen
6 Nov 2007, 07:59
Shane Gilchrist

who is gunna be one of the stronger teams this year in th seniors?? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 13:27
YCW agm last night, no one put up their hand for the big jobs, no president, no treasurer, so as of last night a young looker by the name of Jess Fitzpatrick is the new president of YCW until further notice. She is the Jnr Vice Pres, so she will assume the job until they are filled. Bates to stay as Secretary, he is good bloke. Lots of names on the committee though.

Where are all the club stalwarts, Frankenfurter, you should have a bit to say on this. Where are the ex footballers the likes of John Hosking, Para Keating, the Nihill family, the Geary's and many more families that have had a long standing with the club?
When they quit playing footy, why are they quitting the club? Places like Miti, Calival, Bridgy etc, its the big day out in the country, everyone goes to the footy and netty, if you dont play footy anymore then you do the boundary or run the beer tent or something around the club, but in BGO there seems to be more to do, and the families arent sticking around once they are finished playing.
Its a worrying time for YC supporters, a few of you might get your wish on here, and YC will be no more!!!
dont you think that para has done enough for the club over the years he has a young family and why wouldnt he wont to spend time with them rather than wasten his time to go and see yc get flogd every satdy next year. it is a shame though coz he is the only good keating thats at the club the rest of them no one would piss on them if they were on fire . going to be good to see teams like marong and inglewood even flog yc next year .

GG Rides Again
6 Nov 2007, 13:53
YCW - Lets deal with the facts

Only 2 people applied for the coaching gig at YCW. Macca and Keats
All applicants went to P Keating in writing. P Keating also interviewed on a panel both applicants and recommended his pick. Impartial? I couldnt be in that situation with my brother and he should have either removed himself or the committee should have done this.
Macca stated injuries as a key reason for outcomes in the last 2 seasons. Look at who was missing throughout the year and work out why they couldnt make finals. Not the whole reason but alot of it.
You will find alot of people have resigned from the committee because of the decisions that have been made.
Last point. Get on with it. Unless you are on the committee and make yourself available to make decisions, you dont get a say. Answer is to be on committee or shut the whining.

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 15:11

All applicants went to P Keating in writing. P Keating also interviewed on a panel both applicants and recommended his pick. Impartial? I couldnt be in that situation with my brother and he should have either removed himself or the committee should have done this.
Macca stated injuries as a key reason for outcomes in the last 2 seasons. Look at who was missing throughout the year and work out why they couldnt make finals. Not the whole reason but alot of it.
You will find alot of people have resigned from the committee because of the decisions that have been made.
Last point. Get on with it. Unless you are on the committee and make yourself available to make decisions, you dont get a say. Answer is to be on committee or shut the whining.
the years that i was at yc it was hard to get on the committee as you had to be in bed with paul keating and im not that sick .:D keats is mr ycw ! or he thinks he is anyway .

theflash
6 Nov 2007, 15:17
the years that i was at yc it was hard to get on the committee as you had to be in bed with paul keating and im not that sick .:D keats is mr ycw ! or he thinks he is anyway .
its a shame about yc but what i have heard on here and off past players alot of it is there own fault.

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 15:24
its a shame about yc but what i have heard on here and off past players alot of it is there own fault.
its not a shame . if they treat people like shit why would people wont to play there ? they couldnt even have a good function same crap everyweek . back to the crap pub . not that any 1 would turn up . cant wait till they fold

Confidence
6 Nov 2007, 15:25
news is that nick manly is headed back to calivil for season 08. just wat calivil was looking for, a key forward

Torpedo Punt
6 Nov 2007, 15:36
non ycw people getting on here and bagging YCW doesn't worry me in the slightest because they wouldn't have any idea about the club and are just picking on an easy target.

YCW people getting on here and sinking the boots into a bloke or family or the club at people who have worked their @rse off for the club copping it because some people don't like him is gutless. The majority of the utter dribble on here from the people is stuff they wouldn't say to their faces and is weak as pi$$. It's amazing that all these YCW and ex YCW people are on here caning the club saying how crap the place is yet no one has the balls to say anything or do something about it, much easier to simply bag the bloke who is prepared to work and do things.

The facts remain the same, the people getting off the committee aren't leaving because of a decision that was made they are leaving for the right reasons.

Webb leaving is disappointing for the club but he is going back to the club he grew up at (same for Alford, Kingdom) Lorring was told he wasn't welcome which was a mutual decision. The rest have got a chip on their shoulders and believe they are better than they actually are (Bennett and Wigfield if they leave excluded)

GUTLESS

bill
6 Nov 2007, 15:40

AGREE TOTALLY.........If people know that there is a problem...and they choose not to do anything about the problem....they then become part of the problem....People who whinge, but do not contribute to fix problems are the worst.

If functions or the club or anything are not good enough........Do something about it yourself, don't sit back and blame committee. The committee are volunteering their own time and most likely doing more for the club than those that whinge about the club.

Some people want everything......but don't want to work for it themselves

With the amount of time, commitment and passion that Paul Keating has put into YCW, he deserves to have a say in how the club runs......and maybe Matt Keating will be good for the club. Maybe he will devlop players that are already at the club.........

I DON'T REALLY CARE ABOUT OPINIONS OF THOSE THAT ARE BAGGING YCW OR THE KEATINGS...........GUTLESS COMMENTS FROM WHINGERS THAT ARE TOO LAZY OR STUPID TO FIX PROBLEMS.

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 15:43
rob bennett couldnt get a kick in an electric chair . like half his yc mates

Torpedo Punt
6 Nov 2007, 15:47

All clubs have injuries using that as an excuse to me simply identifies a lack of depth at the club which comes back to recruiting or lack of recruiting of senior footballers to a club, why continue down that path if an alternative presents itself?

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 15:47
non ycw people getting on here and bagging YCW doesn't worry me in the slightest because they wouldn't have any idea about the club and are just picking on an easy target.

YCW people getting on here and sinking the boots into a bloke or family or the club at people who have worked their @rse off for the club copping it because some people don't like him is gutless. The majority of the utter dribble on here from the people is stuff they wouldn't say to their faces and is weak as pi$$. It's amazing that all these YCW and ex YCW people are on here caning the club saying how crap the place is yet no one has the balls to say anything or do something about it, much easier to simply bag the bloke who is prepared to work and do things.

The facts remain the same, the people getting off the committee aren't leaving because of a decision that was made they are leaving for the right reasons.

Webb leaving is disappointing for the club but he is going back to the club he grew up at (same for Alford, Kingdom) Lorring was told he wasn't welcome which was a mutual decision. The rest have got a chip on their shoulders and believe they are better than they actually are (Bennett and Wigfield if they leave excluded)

GUTLESS
what about yc people getn on herebagn miti ( tim wicks ) thats gutless

Confidence
6 Nov 2007, 15:57
what about yc people getn on herebagn miti ( tim wicks ) thats gutless
i dont mind anyone coming on here baggin tim wicks. but i will say that ycc goin on about he's money problems was too far, other then that though it doesn't bother me one bit.

tassie2heads
6 Nov 2007, 16:05
i dont mind anyone coming on here baggin tim wicks. but i will say that ycc goin on about he's money problems was too far, other then that though it doesn't bother me one bit.
everyone is open for a baggin on here coz its only someones opinion but when it gets personal thats when its gone to far. i just think that people wish that they could be as good as tim wicks . he is a great football player and his record will show that . got me beatwhy people bag him out ALL lvfl clubs would love to have him in there team !

Torpedo Punt
6 Nov 2007, 16:07

agree totally with that.

tassie2heads
6 Nov 2007, 16:13
rob bennett couldnt get a kick in an electric chair . like half his yc mates
harsh rob bennetts a gun ! yc would love him to stick around !

The Iron Glove
6 Nov 2007, 16:19
everyone is open for a baggin on here coz its only someones opinion but when it gets personal thats when its gone to far. i just think that people wish that they could be as good as tim wicks . he is a great football player and his record will show that . got me beatwhy people bag him out ALL lvfl clubs would love to have him in there team !

Either you have been drinking or you don't know Tim Wicks!

Not even his own club like him.

tassie2heads
6 Nov 2007, 16:33

yup been drinking . but still stand by what i said he is a gun .;)

B-Boy
6 Nov 2007, 16:51
If the ruckmen in the LV had half a brain and tagged Wick's you wouldn't be calling him a gun.

He constantly drops out the back of packs or onto vacant wings to get easy kicks.

Very much a "gun player" who plays for his stat sheet an individual honours.

theflash
6 Nov 2007, 16:52

at the end of the more then half the stuff on here is crap. you write i write if you cant handle a bit of baggin dont give it . it just gives us some thing to look foward to till footy starts again.

GG Rides Again
6 Nov 2007, 17:40

TP, I think you may have missed my point. I think Paul Keating was the only one willing to do the leg work in regards to the coaching gig. I think the issue was when Matt applied and in a normal situation, you would want to remove yourself from the decision making process. How can you when there is know one to do the work?

In regards to bagging the Keating family, its not a direct shot at them but the state of a once very strong club. As witnessed by the AGM, not enough people willing to jump on board, to few doing too much.

I do stand by is the comment that committee is leaving based on the process followed to achieve the outcome for senior coach and the lack of involvement in major decisions.

blown budget
6 Nov 2007, 17:52
any other recruiting news happenning hows marong going? have heard that they have signed chris stone from harcourt? hows coaching serp?

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 17:55
any other recruiting news happenning hows marong going? have heard that they have signed chris stone from harcourt? hows coaching serp? would be a good pick up for marong if true

mightymagoos
6 Nov 2007, 17:56
Shane Gilchrist
bobbill where are you playing next year ?

gerta
6 Nov 2007, 18:00
any other recruiting news happenning hows marong going? have heard that they have signed chris stone from harcourt? hows coaching serp?
Should be an announcement from Serp in the not too distant future

Torpedo Punt
6 Nov 2007, 18:19

TP, I think you may have missed my point. I think Paul Keating was the only one willing to do the leg work in regards to the coaching gig. I think the issue was when Matt applied and in a normal situation, you would want to remove yourself from the decision making process. How can you when there is know one to do the work?

In regards to bagging the Keating family, its not a direct shot at them but the state of a once very strong club. As witnessed by the AGM, not enough people willing to jump on board, to few doing too much.

I do stand by is the comment that committee is leaving based on the process followed to achieve the outcome for senior coach and the lack of involvement in major decisions.

agree to disagree, but i think factually what you are saying is completely incorrect. I'm not going to argue the point on here but suffice to say you are wrong.

Gossip Girl
6 Nov 2007, 18:27

It was not only Paul Keating who had a say in his brothers appointment as coach. The whole committee voted on it from what I hear. If they wanted D Mac ahead of Matt Keating they should have voted that way. I hope Mat does well & good luck to Dmac where ever he plays as it is obvious he has not been offered a coaching gig.

Confidence
6 Nov 2007, 18:56
nick manly to calivil for season 08

B-Boy
6 Nov 2007, 19:37
nick manly to calivil for season 08

manly gets around more than paris hilton ;)

wonker
6 Nov 2007, 22:01
manly gets around more than paris hilton ;)
I notice a lot of talk about Manly. Would he be rated as a top class footballer?
The word is that he is staying put at Elmore.

The Gun Recruit
7 Nov 2007, 06:16

If he wasn't such a w-nker, sure. Just being a good player doesn't mean every team would want him. Same with that Loring guy.;)

Torpedo Punt
7 Nov 2007, 07:17
If he wasn't such a w-nker, sure. Just being a good player doesn't mean every team would want him. Same with that Loring guy.;)

the truest thing that has been said on here in weeks.

jhirdy5
7 Nov 2007, 07:57
who is gunna be one of the stronger teams this year in th seniors?? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

not ycw by the sounds of it! the way they mouthed off in the last game of the year against marong i hope they lose 5 or 6 more, too answer youre question obviously calivil will be the bench mark again, newbridge will have a point too prove, i reckon it will be a very even comp next year havent heard much on serp any new recruits there?

Heresay McGossip
7 Nov 2007, 08:55

Add Marc Waddington Ex Harcourt Premiership player and current elmore player to that list of Marong Recruits. Got told he only played a handful of games in elmore 2's after having a knee reco just before the HDFL Grand FInal in 06. Is very fit and keen to play from what I have heard. Will also be accompanied by his mate Ryan Everett who played in the 06 Harcourt flag and had this year off.

Heresay McGossip
7 Nov 2007, 08:56
Wayne Eve Kynton to Mitiamo

Hellboy
7 Nov 2007, 11:02

There's definitely a fair bit going on at Marong at the moment. I won't go into names just yet - Watch this space.

Hellboy
7 Nov 2007, 11:07
Wayne Eve Kynton to Mitiamo

I think this is the third time someone has mentioned Wayne Eve is going to Mitiamo. Safe to say, he's going to Miti.

Wedderburner
7 Nov 2007, 11:39
I saw this posted in the North Central FL thread, maybe some from the Upper Loddon Cric Association could be interested. Thommo being a childhood hero of mine, i know im thinking of going. Plus i might be able to meet "The Roc"

JEFF THOMPSON
Come and enjoy some stories from the Cricket Pitch, and beyond!
A must see event, for all Cricket, and Sporting Fans alike!
Appearing at the St Arnaud Sporting Club

Tuesday 20th November, Starting 7:30 SHARP!
Signed Memorabilia available on the night

To Book or Enquire, Speak to Bruce, at SPORTFIRST ST ARNAUD
PH (03) 5495 1283 OR 0407 951 945
During Business Hours

TELL YOUR MATES!!

GG Rides Again
7 Nov 2007, 12:43
agree to disagree, but i think factually what you are saying is completely incorrect. I'm not going to argue the point on here but suffice to say you are wrong.

I am bit lost here with the comment. Agree to disagree but I am wrong!
I am happy to be wrong but on which points? Factually all correct.

Torpedo Punt
7 Nov 2007, 13:23

The first point is totally incorrect, there was a sub committee formed of three committee people who were charged to come back to the general committee, don't disagree with your point about Paul removing himself but do not believe that he had any influence on the final outcome.

The only person leaving the committee because of the "process" is leaving because they had lined up a position with McCormick for 2008 and weren't happy he didn't get the job. The others are leaving for family committements no deep dark controversy i'm afraid.

tassie2heads
7 Nov 2007, 13:39
If he wasn't such a w-nker, sure. Just being a good player doesn't mean every team would want him. Same with that Loring guy.;) so ifben cousins came to your team and said he would play would you turn him away ? na i dont think u would ? yeah that loring guy thinks he is ben cousins dont he ! any 1 no when yc are starting pre season and when there christmas party is ?

Maxi
7 Nov 2007, 13:41
I notice a lot of talk about Manly. Would he be rated as a top class footballer?
The word is that he is staying put at Elmore.

He is handy but not top class, he is however a top class pie eater! :D

Loves to kick a goal too....

Torpedo Punt
7 Nov 2007, 13:47
so ifben cousins came to your team and said he would play would you turn him away ? na i dont think u would ? yeah that loring guy thinks he is ben cousins dont he ! any 1 no when yc are starting pre season and when there christmas party is ?

judging by the comments on here it would be a waste of time having a christmas party at YCW, it would be a crap function, no one would go to it and there would be no one there to cook the bbq!

As for your Ben cousins analogy, i dare say he would end up at Newbridge or Elmore because none of the other clubs would be able to cough up as much cash as them. A lot to be said for having good people at your club (Calivil) before good footballers (Newbridge)......

mightymagoos
7 Nov 2007, 14:11
judging by the comments on here it would be a waste of time having a christmas party at YCW, it would be a crap function, no one would go to it and there would be no one there to cook the bbq!

As for your Ben cousins analogy, i dare say he would end up at Newbridge or Elmore because none of the other clubs would be able to cough up as much cash as them. A lot to be said for having good people at your club (Calivil) before good footballers (Newbridge)......
he would snif out the drugs and end up where the drugs are !

tassie2heads
7 Nov 2007, 14:17

As for your Ben cousins analogy, i dare say he would end up at Newbridge or Elmore because none of the other clubs would be able to cough up as much cash as them. A lot to be said for having good people at your club (Calivil) before good footballers (Newbridge)...... going to be funny if keats picked up a heap of players and they won the flag next year ! have to see whowould be bagn him and the club then

Maxi
7 Nov 2007, 14:22
he would snif out the drugs and end up where the drugs are !

He should base himself in Bendigo then......

Frankenfurter
7 Nov 2007, 14:46
from all reports both on the always correct Big Footy and from what you hear about town Marong are looking like the big improvers, if Inglewood can continue to improve and if Serp start picking senior players in the senior side then it can only be a good thing for the league to improve depth across the board and do away with 30 goal thrashings.

The Gun Recruit
7 Nov 2007, 15:09
going to be funny if keats picked up a heap of players and they won the flag next year ! have to see whowould be bagn him and the club then

So you stayin then Tassie?:confused:

andypipkin
7 Nov 2007, 15:10
heard if serp dont get the man they want, steve cox will step in and coach

Torpedo Punt
7 Nov 2007, 15:23

Non Playing?

B-Boy
7 Nov 2007, 17:46
BRIDGEWATER STARTS PRE SEASON TRAINING ON WEDNESDAY 21ST NOVEMBER (6.30PM) AT BRIDGEWATER FOOTBALL GROUND.

Any word on start dates for other clubs???

tassie2heads
7 Nov 2007, 17:55
So you stayin then Tassie?:confused:
havent played there for 2 years now . thinking of going back .

gerta
7 Nov 2007, 18:31

We'll just have to wait and see... I'm sure an announcement will be coming pretty soon...

gerta
7 Nov 2007, 18:32
BRIDGEWATER STARTS PRE SEASON TRAINING ON WEDNESDAY 21ST NOVEMBER (6.30PM) AT BRIDGEWATER FOOTBALL GROUND.

Is the big fella Shrek gunna stay at Bridgey next year or head elsewhere??

B-Boy
7 Nov 2007, 19:18
Is the big fella Shrek gunna stay at Bridgey next year or head elsewhere??

Shrek? Do you mean D. Harrison?

He is staying. 99% of the list will be there again next year.

There is also some talk of a couple of Serp players thinking of making the move to Bridgey. Don't know any names at this stage...

gerta
7 Nov 2007, 20:48
Shrek? Do you mean D. Harrison?

He is staying. 99% of the list will be there again next year.

There is also some talk of a couple of Serp players thinking of making the move to Bridgey. Don't know any names at this stage...

There is only one shrek and that is Ben (the animal) Gretgrix who i believe tore up off the ground..

B-Boy
8 Nov 2007, 06:37
There is only one shrek and that is Ben (the animal) Gretgrix who i believe tore up off the ground..

Ahh, Gretrix...I think he enjoyed the year.

But the only thing he tore up was the ACL off his knee and the dance floor at Universal! haha. Top Bloke. :p

jhirdy5
8 Nov 2007, 11:46

i think marongs will start early december more updates soon

blown budget
8 Nov 2007, 18:20
mitiamo started wednesday night

danielkerr
8 Nov 2007, 20:25
have heard that marong have approached several south bendigo reserve players for next season, can anyone confirm this. . . . ?

LOGZ
9 Nov 2007, 07:27
Just heard Lee Franklin is to be Freddos right hand man at Marong. Dont know whether as assistant coach or captain. Either way a top bloke whos willing to do the hard stuff. Can you confirm or deny this Hellboy?

LOGZ
9 Nov 2007, 08:36
have heard that marong have approached several south bendigo reserve players for next season, can anyone confirm this. . . . ?
Surely not. Marong need to look at key position players to strengthen their side. Picking up reserves players from the BFL only gives you flankers and pockets, thats if they even make LVFL seniors.

Hellboy
9 Nov 2007, 09:02
Just heard Lee Franklin is to be Freddos right hand man at Marong. Dont know whether as assistant coach or captain. Either way a top bloke whos willing to do the hard stuff. Can you confirm or deny this Hellboy?

Captain. If he wants it.

Hellboy
9 Nov 2007, 09:05

I think there's some South players on Freddo's list. Not sure who or what grade they played.

Hellboy
9 Nov 2007, 09:12
Surely not. Marong need to look at key position players to strengthen their side. Picking up reserves players from the BFL only gives you flankers and pockets, thats if they even make LVFL seniors.

Marong's big problem last year was a lack of depth. Their top players were as good as any team but when injuries hit these players, there was nothing left.

Picking up quality BFL reserves players can only add to the overall depth of the side. Freddo is definitely focusing on key position players and has plenty of possibilities on the go. The problem now is determining which of these are worth any money, which are demanding more than they're worth and which are holding out for better offers.

Trent the flight Steward
9 Nov 2007, 11:44
I can assure you logz that 3/4 of south seconds would be permanent senior players out at marong, looks liek they may lose another key posy player in jacob dahl as well, perhaps they should look at getting the premier backman of lv back in diesal alford

Hellboy
9 Nov 2007, 11:59
I can assure you logz that 3/4 of south seconds would be permanent senior players out at marong, looks liek they may lose another key posy player in jacob dahl as well, perhaps they should look at getting the premier backman of lv back in diesal alford

Jacob has moved to Melbourne but has expressed an interest in remaining with the panthers next year.

Don't you think Diesel would already be on Freddo's list Trent?

jhirdy5
9 Nov 2007, 12:01

diesel would be a great asset too get back too the club, since he left injuries have hampered him alot. last i heard jacob was keen too stay, although have not spoken too him directly about it.

LOGZ
9 Nov 2007, 14:34
I can assure you logz that 3/4 of south seconds would be permanent senior players out at marong

Trent does this mean you think - on average - a BFL reserve side is better than a LVFL senior side, or just better than Marongs senior side?

madsnake
9 Nov 2007, 16:28
well i've heard that both the coxes are heading back to heathcoate and are getting cash to do so! pretty reliable source by the way.:thumbsu:

madsnake
9 Nov 2007, 16:39

good clubs [newbridge] attract good plyers you drongo! what would you know anyway, bloody drongo!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

investor
10 Nov 2007, 11:18

lake and mckern, no legs in that, staying put.

naughts
10 Nov 2007, 21:40
lake and mckern, no legs in that, staying put.

I agree, don't think it will happen, but live in hope on that rumour!

Serp new coach Ben Fox, did he play there a few years ago? Was he any good? Any one know much about him?

Hellboy
12 Nov 2007, 08:30
In stark contrast to YCW, Marong's AGM held yesterday was a successful one. All positions were filled including the general committee. Colleen Rogers was voted in as President and 6 new faces were added to the commitee. There was 50+ in attendence, a vast improvement on recent years. Might have had something to do with the free beer afterwards!

There seems to be a pretty good vibe around Marong. With what appears to be the makings of a vastly improved football side, a new and progressive committee, and a new bore and ground repair in the pipeworks, things are certainly on the up.

Frankenfurter
12 Nov 2007, 10:44
In stark contrast to YCW, Marong's AGM held yesterday was a successful one. All positions were filled including the general committee. Colleen Rogers was voted in as President and 6 new faces were added to the commitee. There was 50+ in attendence, a vast improvement on recent years. Might have had something to do with the free beer afterwards!

There seems to be a pretty good vibe around Marong. With what appears to be the makings of a vastly improved football side, a new and progressive committee, and a new bore and ground repair in the pipeworks, things are certainly on the up.

it couldn't have got much worse for Marong, so the only way was up. It's fantastic to see the club turn around like it has, it's good not only for Marong but also the entire league as 9 strong clubs is what we should be after.

ablett
12 Nov 2007, 11:23
Inglewood have picked up Brenton Dillion from Sandhurst, he came runners up in the reserves league goalkicking this year and word is a few more from S/Hurst will follow.

Marong are recruiting well at this early stage which is good for them, Gadsen will stay on and play.

Trent the flight Steward
12 Nov 2007, 11:29
Trent does this mean you think - on average - a BFL reserve side is better than a LVFL senior side, or just better than Marongs senior side?
South 2s of the last 3 years would have beaten the marong senior team logz a lot of very good players roaming around for south 2s in recent years

Truck
12 Nov 2007, 13:03
South 2s of the last 3 years would have beaten the marong senior team logz a lot of very good players roaming around for south 2s in recent years

The last few years South have a very good list of young fit blokes playing for them there are a few that are in and out of their senior side. Most would play or push for senior selection in LVFL and HDFL.

jhirdy5
12 Nov 2007, 13:10

yeah well done and good luck too col on her new role, it was great too see many new faces at the meeting putting their hands up too help out, im sure the only way is up from here and am really excited about the clubs future

hayden sumner
12 Nov 2007, 15:14
It is good to hear that a club i am just in-barking on, has come from the brink after being last this season, and now things look to be evening out. I have heard Freddo is recruiting well and is getting some fgood players. It is just good to hear from a young kid's point of view, to hear the club you are involved with, is on the up.