View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

more2come
12 Nov 2007, 17:07
Good 2 c marong may be on the up and up, dont kno col rogers personally but have heard nothing but good reports about the family and their involvement in the club. Has Freddo actually got good names?? Anyone know of the new recruits, are there some old players coming back to join the ranks? D Alford, M Dalton, G Stewart????

blown budget
12 Nov 2007, 17:41
who else from sandhurst will be going to inglewood? have calivil or pyramid picked up any recruits? i heard that daniel pavlou wont be playing there next year?

ablett
12 Nov 2007, 20:06
South 2s of the last 3 years would have beaten the marong senior team logz a lot of very good players roaming around for south 2s in recent years

Sth reserves side from the last 2 years would beat Calivil especially at the qeo, sth's 3rd's would beat Marong you blokes in the lvfl need a reality check.

more2come
12 Nov 2007, 21:20
Oh Yeah "GOD"!! And what would be your basis for this theory

The Gun Recruit
13 Nov 2007, 11:12
Sth reserves side from the last 2 years would beat Calivil especially at the qeo, sth's 3rd's would beat Marong you blokes in the lvfl need a reality check.

Load of crap, ablett, only thing bendigo reserves would win is an ego contest.

ablett
13 Nov 2007, 11:19
Load of crap, ablett, only thing bendigo reserves would win is an ego contest.

I've played lv a few years ago when it was stronger and have played bfl 1's and 2's and i can tell you there's some average players running around in the lv senior top sides cos their daddy or uncle is coach , president etc...

The top sides in bfl 2's on the qeo would touch up Calivil.
I'm not bagging lv footy just stating a fact.

jhirdy5
13 Nov 2007, 11:47

not even worth commenting on

Special Comments
13 Nov 2007, 14:49

You and the big garry 'god' ablett been sharing drugs in hotel rooms mate? what a load of crap. i know a lot of the boys in the sth 2's team, some handy players and sure some of them would play lvfl seniors but to say their team would beat the likes of calivil, newbridge, mitiamo just shows the typical bfl attitude... Personally, id love to come up against the bfl players you seem to exemplify; their cocky, arrogant and are likely to lay down as soon as you start being competitive...

madsnake
13 Nov 2007, 17:20
typical south player mate, blokes in the bfl like your self think there superstars . bfl is obviously not as good as u think, and you are the one in desparate need of a reality check! bloody drongo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

blown budget
13 Nov 2007, 17:49
ablett your an idiot, i played bendigo footy seniors a few years back and let me tell you there are a lot of average players playing senior footy in that league also.The bendigo league is nowhere near as strong as it use to be! i went and watched a few games of of south play n there is no way there 2's would beat calivil actually they wouldnt beat the top 5 teams!

RedRat
13 Nov 2007, 18:32
I agree, don't think it will happen, but live in hope on that rumour!

Serp new coach Ben Fox, did he play there a few years ago? Was he any good? Any one know much about him?

might have played at Serp a few years ago originally from Ararat and a very good player till he injured his ankle in 2005.

Harries08
13 Nov 2007, 18:33
Ablett old son do you really think Calivil would rather have Jay weston running around in the guts than Ross or LLoyd Maxted. The reality is there is some very acccomplished footballer running around in the LVFL who would be walk up stats in the BFL 1st. We are all very protective and passionate of our own clubs and leagues and if you post dribble like that mate expect some backlash.

blown budget
13 Nov 2007, 18:42
well said harry

darkhorse4000
13 Nov 2007, 20:43
Ablett old son do you really think Calivil would rather have Jay weston running around in the guts than Ross or LLoyd Maxted. The reality is there is some very acccomplished footballer running around in the LVFL who would be walk up stats in the BFL 1st. We are all very protective and passionate of our own clubs and leagues and if you post dribble like that mate expect some backlash.
very true, seems to be a lot of leagues comparing themselves to each other, bfl better then lvfl or hdfl?? who really cares, here is a question.....how would the bfl stack up against the goulburn valley?

ablett
13 Nov 2007, 22:21
very true, seems to be a lot of leagues comparing themselves to each other, bfl better then lvfl or hdfl?? who really cares, here is a question.....how would the bfl stack up against the goulburn valley?

Goulburn Valley is stronger, GV and the Ovens'n'Murray would be the two strongest league in country vic.

Hit a few nerves by the looks of things, good to see some of you guys sticking up for league, thats what i like to see a bit of passion.

Junky Bish
13 Nov 2007, 22:21

Your right that most people are very protective about their league and club when talk about standard arises. You have used Jay Weston for an example but it's not a real strong one as Weston has played in senior finals with Wedderburn along with senior footy at Redan and South so while he might not be of the quality of the Maxteds he would be a very good player at this level.

I think the Lodden Valley is in a bit of a lull standard wise at the moment (pretty strong through the late 80's and early 90's) and doesn't stack up to the HDFL in regards to standard or facilities but all the sames it takes a good side to win the flag as Newbridge found out earlier this season. I always reckon the top couple of sides might have the BFL 2's for overall strength but there wouldn't be alot in it hentz a number of LV side basing their recruiting campaigns around fringe BFL senior along with reserves players.

Frankenfurter
14 Nov 2007, 00:23
Your right that most people are very protective about their league and club when talk about standard arises. You have used Jay Weston for an example but it's not a real strong one as Weston has played in senior finals with Wedderburn along with senior footy at Redan and South so while he might not be of the quality of the Maxteds he would be a very good player at this level.

I think the Lodden Valley is in a bit of a lull standard wise at the moment (pretty strong through the late 80's and early 90's) and doesn't stack up to the HDFL in regards to standard or facilities but all the sames it takes a good side to win the flag as Newbridge found out earlier this season. I always reckon the top couple of sides might have the BFL 2's for overall strength but there wouldn't be alot in it hentz a number of LV side basing their recruiting campaigns around fringe BFL senior along with reserves players.

depth of a league in my opinion is based on the weakest side this year that was marong, they have already improved making the league a better place. A nine team competitive competion is not only going to strengthen the clubs themselves it is going to strengthen the league and allow the LVFL to take over from the HDFL as the strongest district league around bendigo.

B-Boy
14 Nov 2007, 12:35
The standard of all leagues in the region have dropped considerably since the early to mid 90's...ESPECIALLY THE BFL.
Think about the BFL premiership teams of the early 90's like Castlemaine who had all these players who had played AFL or would go on to play AFL such as:

Oliver, Kavanagh, Starbuck, Culpitt...and that is just from one team!

If you put a team like that against Eaglehawk's team this year they would absolutely SMASH THEM!

So I wouldn't go trumpeting the BFL...at the moment it is a disgrace for the "premier league" of the region.

In addition to this point are the crowds: you can always tell the state of a league by the crowds you get to a Grand Final.

Once again, I can remember the Castlemaine V Golden Square GF in the early 90's and it was absolutely packed, you would have to get to the ground at 9am to ensure a spot on the fence.
Compare that to most crowds over the last 10 years...probably twice the attendance.

Much improvement is needed for the BFL before people come on here slagging the LVFL.

LOGZ
14 Nov 2007, 13:40
depth of a league in my opinion is based on the weakest side this year that was marong, they have already improved making the league a better place. A nine team competitive competion is not only going to strengthen the clubs themselves it is going to strengthen the league and allow the LVFL to take over from the HDFL as the strongest district league around bendigo.

Spot on Frank. If the LVFL has 9 competitive sides flogging it out each week than the crowds will improve, funds improve, grounds, player and facilities improve. No one wants to go see a side getting pumped by 15 goals thats boring. But a side winning by under three goals gets more exciting and the bottom side holding its own against the top with a potential win is what we all want to see.

jhirdy5
14 Nov 2007, 15:00
Spot on Frank. If the LVFL has 9 competitive sides flogging it out each week than the crowds will improve, funds improve, grounds, player and facilities improve. No one wants to go see a side getting pumped by 15 goals thats boring. But a side winning by under three goals gets more exciting and the bottom side holding its own against the top with a potential win is what we all want to see.

spot on logz i reckon with that sort of speech you'll make a good coach one day!!!:thumbsu:

LOGZ
14 Nov 2007, 15:14
spot on logz i reckon with that sort of speech you'll make a good coach one day!!!:thumbsu:
No need to be a smart ar$e hirdy;)

ablett
14 Nov 2007, 16:26
Fistly the hdfl is a better standard than the lvfl, calivil would've been lucky to get with in 10 goals of elmore this season.

Secondly the crowds are much better in the lvfl and the hdfl than the bfl, the bfl crowd at a home and away games are pitaful for a major league especially qeo games.

Thirdly the main reason the bfl standard has dropped is since the introduction of the bendigo bombers and then the b/bombers reserves.

more2come
14 Nov 2007, 16:39
Gees Ablett or should I say GOD, have you been having too many tinnies at the cup today. You just said how dismal the crowds are at bfl level, but you also claim that the standard is that much higher, are yu doing a backward flip, finding excuses now for why the bfl standard has dropped cos of the bombers!! Have had quite the few frothies today myself and can not quite keep up with what you are on a bout. Is it due to teh amber fluid or your bullshit???

Young Guns
14 Nov 2007, 19:28
the yr of footy that has just passed i think was the best yr of competitive football there has been in a long time in the lvfl, apart from marong every other team was in with a chance of winning. the were a few exceptions of course with newbridge flogging a few sides but other then that, the rest were fairly even, inglewood definatly weren't pushovers and with what i've heard about marong for next yr the leauge is going to be even better.

ablett
14 Nov 2007, 21:46
Gees Ablett or should I say GOD, have you been having too many tinnies at the cup today. You just said how dismal the crowds are at bfl level, but you also claim that the standard is that much higher, are yu doing a backward flip, finding excuses now for why the bfl standard has dropped cos of the bombers!! Have had quite the few frothies today myself and can not quite keep up with what you are on a bout. Is it due to teh amber fluid or your bullshit???

How doe's the size of a crowd have any indication to its standard, mate have you been sucking on beers all day or the horses middle leg!

jhirdy5
15 Nov 2007, 11:38
No need to be a smart ar$e hirdy;)

yeah fair call it came out wrong sorry about that

Truck
15 Nov 2007, 11:39
How doe's the size of a crowd have any indication to its standard, mate have you been sucking on beers all day or the horses middle leg!

The crowds for the bendigo league are down because theres no community support....South bendigo have no supporters because there's no local community to support them, compared to newbridge, pyramid, serp....ect. ect.. who have half the local township attending the game every week, in the BFL you dont get any players grandparents, relatives and old supporters/past players and those sorts of people like you do in the LVFL and HDFL an thats where your crowds come from it doesnt really matter what standard of footy it is with out community support you will not have a crowd...

madsnake
15 Nov 2007, 11:58
Fistly the hdfl is a better standard than the lvfl, calivil would've been lucky to get with in 10 goals of elmore this season.

wrong again u drongo, would love to have a hit out between the 2 leagues. think the hdfl would be in for a plesant suprise and would be a very close battle! there are a lot of quality players running around in lvfl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bloody drongo ablett, talk some sense or just dont talk at all!!:thumbsd:

spiderweb
15 Nov 2007, 12:38
wrong again u drongo, would love to have a hit out between the 2 leagues. think the hdfl would be in for a plesant suprise and would be a very close battle! there are a lot of quality players running around in lvfl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bloody drongo ablett, talk some sense or just dont talk at all!!:thumbsd:

Ya wont see that stupid, everyone knows the LVFL pulled the pin on these games due to the fact they were getting embarrassed by the HDFL in these matches.

nesko_25
15 Nov 2007, 13:37

The best league is the BFL then HDFL followed by the LVFL, thats the way it is. LV is improving but it is still behind the HDFL, the calibre of players in the HDFL is outstanding, while the LV does have great players, there isnt as much depth.

The BFL standarded has dropped because of the VFL side. If there was no bombers there wouldnt be as many teams and it would be more like the GV with prob 3-4 teams in bendigo and they play off against teams over an hour away. The bombers also take the good players from the BFL sides, sometimes not the best just the "fringe" players who add the depth. Hence why some players might have to play at a standerd they're not really up too.

One last thing on the LV vs HDFL, if the committee of the LV really thought they were better than the HDFL then why would they not play in interleague? Because the last 2 times the HDFL and LV meet it wasnt even a match. LV (who believed they had an awesome side) got pumped.

The players in the HDFL that would dominate LV Lock, Dunne, Hayes, Newth, Meldrum, Fevleaki, Hill, Cambell, Cater. Just off the top of my head

ablett
15 Nov 2007, 13:46
The crowds for the bendigo league are down because theres no community support....South bendigo have no supporters because there's no local community to support them, compared to newbridge, pyramid, serp....ect. ect.. who have half the local township attending the game every week, in the BFL you dont get any players grandparents, relatives and old supporters/past players and those sorts of people like you do in the LVFL and HDFL an thats where your crowds come from it doesnt really matter what standard of footy it is with out community support you will not have a crowd...

Very true, the bfl lacks that family atsmosphere.

Hellboy
15 Nov 2007, 13:48
One last thing on the LV vs HDFL, if the committee of the LV really thought they were better than the HDFL then why would they not play in interleague? Because the last 2 times the HDFL and LV meet it wasnt even a match. LV (who believed they had an awesome side) got pumped.

The Loddon Valley won't get an interleague side because Tim Wicks would be selected, making him the sole representative as all other players would refuse to play with the knob (including Mitiamo players!).

BiG rIcK
15 Nov 2007, 13:55
[quote=nesko_25;9477739]The best league is the BFL then HDFL followed by the LVFL, thats the way it is. LV is improving but it is still behind the HDFL, the calibre of players in the HDFL is outstanding, while the LV does have great players, there isnt as much depth.

The BFL standarded has dropped because of the VFL side. If there was no bombers there wouldnt be as many teams and it would be more like the GV with prob 3-4 teams in bendigo and they play off against teams over an hour away. The bombers also take the good players from the BFL sides, sometimes not the best just the "fringe" players who add the depth. Hence why some players might have to play at a standerd they're not really up too.

The players in the HDFL that would dominate LV Lock, Dunne, Hayes, Newth, Meldrum, Fevleaki, Hill, Cambell, Cater. Just off the top of my head[/quote

I dont care what anyone says it all comes down to the almighty $$$$ the hdfl would triple the amount of player payments of the lvfl easily, and now days its not about going to a good club its about what coin you can get so therefore the hdfl is always going to attract the bigger name players.[/I][/I]

theflash
15 Nov 2007, 18:49
[quote=nesko_25;9477739]The best league is the BFL then HDFL followed by the LVFL, thats the way it is. LV is improving but it is still behind the HDFL, the calibre of players in the HDFL is outstanding, while the LV does have great players, there isnt as much depth.

The players in the HDFL that would dominate LV Lock, Dunne, Hayes, Newth, Meldrum, Fevleaki, Hill, Cambell, Cater. Just off the top of my head[/quote

I dont care what anyone says it all comes down to the almighty $$$$ the hdfl would triple the amount of player payments of the lvfl easily, and now days its not about going to a good club its about what coin you can get so therefore the hdfl is always going to attract the bigger name players.[/i][/i]
who saying lvfl are better then hdfl are wankaers and dont no ant thing about footy hdfl $hit all over lvfl and about money how would you no both leauges pay money and they get the crowds because its better footy to watch with the like of dunn fev lock carter and so on what is lvfl big name wicks your kidding

Five Fingers
15 Nov 2007, 19:02
who gives a shit, this argument got old the first 454 times it comes up.

diggidog
15 Nov 2007, 19:20
who saying lvfl are better then hdfl are wankaers and dont no ant thing about footy hdfl $hit all over lvfl and about money how would you no both leauges pay money and they get the crowds because its better footy to watch with the like of dunn fev lock carter and so on what is lvfl big name wicks your kidding

Well said flash, but more importantly shouldnt you be elsewhere now? Froffies?

ROOTA#6
15 Nov 2007, 19:24
Well said flash, but more importantly shouldnt you be elsewhere now? Froffies?

Shouldn't you be elsewhere also Dog???

Maxi
15 Nov 2007, 19:36
[quote=BiG rIcK;9477879]

Well the comment was made by someone who has played in both leagues recently so its an informed opinion as far as I can tell.

theflash
15 Nov 2007, 20:04
[quote=theflash;9479936]

Well the comment was made by someone who has played in both leagues recently so its an informed opinion as far as I can tell.
Yes I should be somewhere else Dog! But when you have someone like Roota taking all the wickets I don't need to train..!!
Thanks Maxi, yes I have played in both leagues in recent years, and hdfl is alot better, not taking it away from lvfl it is still a good league just not as good. It would be great to get the interleague games going again, between both leagues.
and yes I am having a couple of frothies right now!! and they are great!!!
May I add can down a frothie!!

madsnake
15 Nov 2007, 20:22
[quote=BiG rIcK;9477879]
how about comer, lakey, ashman,mccormick,shevlin,both maxteds,chilcott,baxter,nicholls,mildren,c.grant,haythorpe!! !! pretty handy list off the top of my head.;)

jhirdy5
16 Nov 2007, 11:42
[quote=madsnake;9480585]
you are kidding thats the big names couple guns but not all them names i would not think .sorry couple use to be good not as much now you must be from newbridge r u with some of them names not good enough to get the flag

is it true a couple of big geelong names, hocking and riccardi are being linked too huntly because there mates with new coach shane hamilton? probably just a november rumour but thought i ask if theres anything too it

ablett
16 Nov 2007, 13:14
[quote=theflash;9480736]

is it true a couple of big geelong names, hocking and riccardi are being linked too huntly because there mates with new coach shane hamilton? probably just a november rumour but thought i ask if theres anything too it
]
Plus i'm gunna sit in a pocket next to billy in the square!

Catter
16 Nov 2007, 13:30
[quote=theflash;9480736]

Talked a bloke with Huntly, completely untrue

jhirdy5
16 Nov 2007, 13:59
[quote=jhirdy5;9483599]

yeah fair enough thought it was probly just a november rumour, thought id ask anyway just incase.

madsnake
16 Nov 2007, 17:21
[quote=madsnake;9480585]
you are kidding thats the big names couple guns but not all them names i would not think .sorry couple use to be good not as much now you must be from newbridge r u with some of them names not good enough to get the flag
not saying these names are afl superstars, but fairly handy in bush wacker footy which is all lvfl and hdfl are ! not saying where better but would be alot closer than u think ! hdfl is nt that crash hot either.:mad:

Special Comments
16 Nov 2007, 19:01
[quote=theflash;9479936]
how about comer, lakey, ashman,mccormick,shevlin,both maxteds,chilcott,baxter,nicholls,mildren,c.grant,haythorpe!! !! pretty handy list off the top of my head.;)

Obviously both leagues have genuine good country footballers. I have to say tho, some of the names u just mentioned haven't exactly helped out the cause for arguing how good lvfl is. the last four are a bit of a joke, they havent really played many good years of footy, nevertheless they would be handy in a good side where there is less pressure for them to perform but id have to say their not gonna set the league on fire.

From each club THIS year, i'd probably suggest the better players in the league would be;

Bridgewater; Ashman, Clutton, Coughlan
BL/Serp; Bateman, Welsch
Calival; Maxted X2, A Demeo, Doolan
Inglewood;
Marong; Rogers, Thompson X2, McCormck
Mitiamo; Morrisey, McKean (I refuse to put Wicks in for the greater of the league)
Newbridge; Comer, Baxter, Lakey, D Bourke
Pyramid; Chilcott, James
YCW;

This is merely a suggestion, would like to hear who others would of said. I cant really comment on HDFL players, mainly cause i dont get to see many matches, if anyone with greater knowledge about that league would pick out the better players from the league, could make an interestin discussion. Instead of just the little backchat, throwin out a few names.

Young Guns
16 Nov 2007, 20:04
[quote=madsnake;9480585]

Obviously both leagues have genuine good country footballers. I have to say tho, some of the names u just mentioned haven't exactly helped out the cause for arguing how good lvfl is. the last four are a bit of a joke, they havent really played many good years of footy, nevertheless they would be handy in a good side where there is less pressure for them to perform but id have to say their not gonna set the league on fire.

From each club THIS year, i'd probably suggest the better players in the league would be;

BL/Serp; Bateman, Welsch
Inglewood;
Mitiamo; Morrisey, McKean (I refuse to put Wicks in for the greater of the league)
Pyramid; Chilcott, James
YCW;

This is merely a suggestion, would like to hear who others would of said. I cant really comment on HDFL players, mainly cause i dont get to see many matches, if anyone with greater knowledge about that league would pick out the better players from the league, could make an interestin discussion. Instead of just the little backchat, throwin out a few names.
couple of players i think have been left out are
Newbride: Chris Giri
Calivil: Dan Smith, Caleb Smith
Pyramid: Brad Fawcett, Gavin James

BiG rIcK
16 Nov 2007, 20:13
[quote=Special Comments;9486611]
couple of players i think have been left out are
Newbride: Chris Giri
Calivil: Dan Smith, Caleb Smith
Pyramid: Brad Fawcett, Gavin James

Could nearly add Matt Smith from Calivil to that list too may only be young but definately not intimidated by older and bigger bodies:thumbsu:

6from7
16 Nov 2007, 22:54
[quote=madsnake;9480585]

BL/Serp; Bateman, Welsch
Inglewood;
Pyramid; Chilcott, James
YCW;

Follow HDFL pretty closely. Top 2-3 from each club in my opinion:

Elmore - Hayes, Grant, Fevleaki
Colbo - Lock (last year), Sammy Hill, Pinniger
Mounts - Carter, McCleary, Jamie Gee
Broadford - Dunne, Fletcher, Taylor
Heathcote - Meldrum, Waters
White Hills - J Angove, M Sawyer, B McConnell
Lockington - Bongiovanni, Newth
North Bendigo - Watson
Huntly - ??????

These would be some of the main players that would spring to mind if you were playing against these teams.

jhirdy5
17 Nov 2007, 08:25
[quote=madsnake;9480585]

BL/Serp; Bateman, Welsch
Inglewood;
Pyramid; Chilcott, James
YCW;

some players you may have missed out on bl/serp: n.mcnally, (i know he played 2s towards end of year but his early season form was good enough),h.mcnally ycw : d mccormick, calivil: freemantle, probably more. I wonder if anyone out there could make an lv team from the players who played in 2007. would certainly be an interesting discussion.

Frankenfurter
17 Nov 2007, 09:08

some players you may have missed out on bl/serp: n.mcnally, (i know he played 2s towards end of year but his early season form was good enough),h.mcnally ycw : d mccormick, calivil: freemantle, probably more. I wonder if anyone out there could make an lv team from the players who played in 2007. would certainly be an interesting discussion.

This is straight off the top of my head and could contain omissions of players that should be in there, and is based on all players playing at best form, not necessarily on 2007 form (although in K.Shevlin's case i have taken his 2007 weight not his playing weight from years ago) it's not done to start a little b!tch fight on here either, so here goes

B McKern (YCW) Maxted (Serp) C.Giri (New)
HB Ant Collins (B/W) Lakey (New) Turner (YCW)
C M.Smith (Cal) Comer (New) A.Demeo (Cal)
HF Rogers (Mar) Haythorpe (Miti) C.Thompson (Mar)
F Ashman (B/W) McCormick (YCW) Fremantle (Cal)
Fol Wicks (Miti) R.Maxted (Cal) Morrisery (Miti)
Int Baxter (New) Chilcott (P/H) James (P/H)

Fairly handy side that is very versitile. Apologies to about 20 other players who could easily slide in.

Truck
17 Nov 2007, 12:47
[quote=jhirdy5;9483599]

Spoke with the big cheese last night he said he would be ver suprised if both hocking and riccardi didn't play a few games if not most games next year, they are also talking to Sholl and Billy should play a few games of the seconds an hopefully get him up for a training on a thursday night..... If you know what i mean

nesko_25
17 Nov 2007, 15:17

Follow HDFL pretty closely. Top 2-3 from each club in my opinion:

Elmore - Hayes, Grant, Fevleaki, Schuburt
Colbo - Lock (last year), Sammy Hill, Pinniger, Jacobs
Mounts - Carter, McCleary, Jamie Gee
Broadford - Dunne, Fletcher, Taylor
Heathcote - Meldrum, Waters, Featherstone
White Hills - J Angove, M Sawyer, B McConnell
Lockington - Bongiovanni, Newth, O'Brien
North Bendigo - Watson
Huntly - ?????? Adam Cambell

These would be some of the main players that would spring to mind if you were playing against these teams.

Just a few I was thinking

B-Boy
17 Nov 2007, 17:45
[quote=jhirdy5;9488912]

This is straight off the top of my head and could contain omissions of players that should be in there, and is based on all players playing at best form, not necessarily on 2007 form (although in K.Shevlin's case i have taken his 2007 weight not his playing weight from years ago) it's not done to start a little b!tch fight on here either, so here goes

Fairly handy side that is very versitile. Apologies to about 20 other players who could easily slide in.

Not bad Frank...it is a very subjective task to select the best team.

One thing I would like to point out is Clutton for B/W had a much, much better year than Anthony Collins at CHB...he was right up there with Lakey this year. (I know I am being picky)

madsnake
17 Nov 2007, 18:01
[quote=jhirdy5;9488912]

yea pretty handy side i guess, but i think the one posted in the elvee is better in my opinion. like you said, there is many quality players to choose from, they cant all make the cut! would love them to give inter-league another:thumbsu: chance.

Special Comments
17 Nov 2007, 18:04
Not bad team. Agree though, Clutton to replace Collins. WOuld have Baxter starting rover (Bloke did come 2nd in league medal while constantly being heavy tagged). Dunno if id have too many YCW defenders, they had A LOT OF GOALS kicked on them this year :D Nathan McNally, while a very good player, didn't play 1's very much due to injuries so I didnt put him in the team of the YEAR. I didn't have Haythorpe in due to him coming in half way, the players i suggested where those who i thought played well THIS year, regardless of their reputation or previous years.

Gav James was selected if you look close enough buddy :thumbsu: I know goals win matches Frank, but where u swappin ur on ballers? Think u might of gone in a bit top heavy there. Who were the unlucky one's who missed a guernsey in ur 21 Frank? But its good to see some genuine comments coming through. Also, good to see the someone went through HDFL, looks like there could be some very good match ups if these names went head to head.

Frankenfurter
17 Nov 2007, 19:13
Not bad team. Agree though, Clutton to replace Collins. WOuld have Baxter starting rover (Bloke did come 2nd in league medal while constantly being heavy tagged). Dunno if id have too many YCW defenders, they had A LOT OF GOALS kicked on them this year :D Nathan McNally, while a very good player, didn't play 1's very much due to injuries so I didnt put him in the team of the YEAR. I didn't have Haythorpe in due to him coming in half way, the players i suggested where those who i thought played well THIS year, regardless of their reputation or previous years.

Gav James was selected if you look close enough buddy :thumbsu: I know goals win matches Frank, but where u swappin ur on ballers? Think u might of gone in a bit top heavy there. Who were the unlucky one's who missed a guernsey in ur 21 Frank? But its good to see some genuine comments coming through. Also, good to see the someone went through HDFL, looks like there could be some very good match ups if these names went head to head.

like i said it may not be a functional side but was used to show the depth and quality of player in the LVFL. It's hard picking a backline because they are traditionally under rated and when watching the footy you don't often give enough credit to the backline player simply assume the forward is having a dog of a day. Other players off the top of my head i thought of were:

L.Maxted (Cal)
B.Allen (Cal)
S.Dean (Cal)
S.Gilchrist (P/H)
X.Thompson (Mar)
Clutton (B/W)
Bateman (Serp)
Fawcett (P/H)
Bennett (YCW)
Webb (YCW)
Grieves (Cal)
Mildren (New)
Shevilin (New)
Wills (New)
McNally (Serp)

I haven't put a hell of a lot of thought into it, would be interested to see other peoples sides and also the one that was in the El Vee

Info hound
17 Nov 2007, 21:57
[quote=Catter;9484255]

Spoke with the big cheese last night he said he would be ver suprised if both hocking and riccardi didn't play a few games if not most games next year, they are also talking to Sholl and Billy should play a few games of the seconds an hopefully get him up for a training on a thursday night..... If you know what i mean

Billy wont be doing anything he is having major surgery on both his hip and ankle Dec & Jan

madsnake
17 Nov 2007, 23:09
L.Maxted (Cal)
B.Allen (Cal)
S.Dean (Cal)
S.Gilchrist (P/H)
X.Thompson (Mar)
Clutton (B/W)
Bateman (Serp)
Fawcett (P/H)
Bennett (YCW)
Webb (YCW)
Grieves (Cal)
Mildren (New)
Shevilin (New)
Wills (New)
McNally (Serp)

I haven't put a hell of a lot of thought into it, would be interested to see other peoples sides and also the one that was in the El Vee[/quote]
this is the elvee side.
b- c. giri c. lakey s. mcmurray
hb-r.welch s. turner d. clutton
c- c. grant s. baxter c. millard
hf- r.maxted s. mildren g. connelly
f- c. nicholls m. chillcott k. ashman
fol- t. wicks b. comer b. rodgers
int- c. innes r. haythorpe a. demeo

blown budget
18 Nov 2007, 11:09
apparently mitiamo have picked up adam campbell from huntly and two other players

Truck
18 Nov 2007, 13:35
[quote=Truck;9489976]

Billy wont be doing anything he is having major surgery on both his hip and ankle Dec & Jan

Think the Huntly boys would be happy with the big man getting there for a thursday night to have a spin

mightymagoos
18 Nov 2007, 18:51
apparently mitiamo have picked up adam campbell from huntly and two other players
wouldnt say that adam campbells a good pick up for miti . over rated like many in the lvfl .

Hellboy
18 Nov 2007, 22:29
wouldnt say that adam campbells a good pick up for miti . over rated like many in the lvfl .

What a ridiculous statement. Show me a league that doesn't have over rated players.

On Campbell; from what I understand the offer made by Mitiamo was far in excess of the quality of the footballer. If Miti are going to give him more than he's worth, good luck to the bloke.

doogey wondall
19 Nov 2007, 08:25
What a ridiculous statement. Show me a league that doesn't have over rated players.

On Campbell; from what I understand the offer made by Mitiamo was far in excess of the quality of the footballer. If Miti are going to give him more than he's worth, good luck to the bloke. looks like mitiamo are the early fav for the flag if providing they keep the team from last year and with all these new recruits campbell,closhey,saunders,eve and orton they may go a step further and play off in a grand final. spending some dollars only time will tell if its worth it.:D:D:D

Truck
19 Nov 2007, 10:02
looks like mitiamo are the early fav for the flag if providing they keep the team from last year and with all these new recruits campbell,closhey,saunders,eve and orton they may go a step further and play off in a grand final. spending some dollars only time will tell if its worth it.:D:D:D

Is Billy Grant still coach??? His son would be a top pick up if they could get him away from Elmore

Young Guns
19 Nov 2007, 10:28
[quote=jhirdy5;9488912]

the only change i would make to this line-up would be to get rid of TIMOTHY WICKS and replace him with a descent ruckman like CALEB SMITH.

blown budget
19 Nov 2007, 12:05
bill grant is still coaching! they will never get andy grant cos he is on way to much money already, they couldnt afford him

blown budget
19 Nov 2007, 12:10
who are the 8 players apparently heading from elmore to marong?

jhirdy5
19 Nov 2007, 14:04
[quote=jhirdy5;9488912]

it isnt my side although it is a terrific team on paper theres no way id have wicks in, league medal or no league medal, agree with alot of the players in the team think, a terrific effort by matt smith too be even considered for it at his age. be very interesting too see if all of these players are in the lv next year and how many would we be talking about being in a team of the year in 12 mths time.

diggidog
19 Nov 2007, 17:07
Shouldn't you be elsewhere also Dog???

Yeah rootski ther dog was there, hardly anyone to froff on with but. To be expected day after the cup ay:D

ROOTA#6
19 Nov 2007, 18:23
Yeah rootski ther dog was there, hardly anyone to froff on with but. To be expected day after the cup ay:D

Yep cup day sure took its toll on me!!!

blown budget
19 Nov 2007, 18:27
has anyone else got any recruiting news?

upandcomer
19 Nov 2007, 19:43
looks like mitiamo are the early fav for the flag if providing they keep the team from last year and with all these new recruits campbell,closhey,saunders,eve and orton they may go a step further and play off in a grand final. spending some dollars only time will tell if its worth it.:D:D:D

One could be excused for thinking they are recruiting a super rules team Clohesy is as old as my grandma, Saunders is 10 years older than that and Eve is somewhere in between not sure how that makes them improve and if they are paying those types of blokes any sort of cash they will end up where Huntly is.

littlecat
20 Nov 2007, 10:47
has anyone else got any recruiting news?

Heard that Adam Rout has put pen to paper at Marong. A few from Elmore to follow now that he has signed.

Andy Barry is back from overseas and is likely to be lining up with the Panthers again next season along with brother Dale. Marong are close to signing (if they haven't already) a couple of blokes from South (good 2nds players I think), a couple from Harcourt and 1 quality midfielder from Golden Square. Not sure of names at this stage.

LOGZ
20 Nov 2007, 13:08
I hear the Barry boys are looking at playing locally again. Spoke to Dale on the weekend wants to play but doesn't want to train ever again. Apparently Andy is keen to play at Marong or maybe BFL for a year, wants to know what its like to have a big ego. Lets hope they both sign before December so they can get right in to the pre-season. See you and your Mo there Dogga.

blown budget
20 Nov 2007, 15:50
good to see that marong are picking up a few what about any other clubs like serp, calival, pyramid, bridgey, newbridge

The Gun Recruit
20 Nov 2007, 15:55
Paul Barnard will be involved with Inglewood next year.

blown budget
20 Nov 2007, 16:02
will he be playing or just helping out? have inglewood signed anyone yet

B-Boy
20 Nov 2007, 18:04
will he be playing or just helping out? have inglewood signed anyone yet

I heard Barnard will be playing 4 or 5 games during the season to try and help get numbers to Inglewood. Apparently he has a spot on the river at Bridgewater...don't know what other connection there is with I'wood. :confused:

If it is true...who could match up against Big Barney???!!!

skloddon_8
20 Nov 2007, 19:41
[quote=Frankenfurter;9489057]
the only change i would make to this line-up would be to get rid of TIMOTHY WICKS and replace him with a descent ruckman like CALEB SMITH.

haha matt smith your full of s hit the only reason u saying that is cause he ya cousin. wicksy may be the biggest coc khead in the league but he can play footy and watz with the go having matt chilcott( league leading goal kicker) scott baxter ( runner up in league b&f) and gav james ( 4th in league b&f) on the bench and matt smith in the team.... smitty your a good player for your age played a very handy game but not in the league team as proven u dident even pole a league vote not saying the team should go on that but if you were good enought to represent the leauge at senior level u would wanna pole a vote... Matt Chilcott is one of the best full forwards this league has seen in a long time...

skloddon_8
20 Nov 2007, 19:45
[quote=Frankenfurter;9489057]
yea pretty handy side i guess, but i think the one posted in the elvee is better in my opinion. like you said, there is many quality players to choose from, they cant all make the cut! would love them to give inter-league another:thumbsu: chance.

The only reason you say that is because your in the league side mr Sam Mildren... dont no how u got in u pretty easy to shut down...

skloddon_8
20 Nov 2007, 19:49
[quote=Young Guns;9486979]

Could nearly add Matt Smith from Calivil to that list too may only be young but definately not intimidated by older and bigger bodies:thumbsu:

Mick Manley i think u starting to dribble abit mate... like acer or as he called of this site whitey...

acer91
20 Nov 2007, 20:18
[quote=BiG rIcK;9487037]

Mick Manley i think u starting to dribble abit mate... like acer or as he called of this site whitey...

need a spell check on big footy or what?

Young Guns
20 Nov 2007, 20:23
all the teams should know that all they have to do to shut tim wicks down is to put a player on him, he gets all his cheap kicks through floating around the half back line, caleb i know would jump all over wicksy, run rings around him all day and would out-mark him in just about any situation. Sam Mildren was just about the only newbridge player with a few exceptions, who looked like and played like he wanted to win the match, almost go them there 2. So Sam when u can get a kick in the under 17's and mayb (not a very big chance of happening) become a half descent player u can come on here and start talking people down. Be a long time before that will happen though.

doogey wondall
20 Nov 2007, 20:30
all the teams should know that all they have to do to shut tim wicks down is to put a player on him, he gets all his cheap kicks through floating around the half back line, caleb i know would jump all over wicksy, run rings around him all day and would out-mark him in just about any situation. Sam Mildren was just about the only newbridge player with a few exceptions, who looked like and played like he wanted to win the match, almost go them there 2. So Sam when u can get a kick in the under 17's and mayb (not a very big chance of happening) become a half descent player u can come on here and start talking people down. Be a long time before that will happen though. i see there talking about you on the heathcote thread.:D:D:D

Young Guns
20 Nov 2007, 20:59
i see there talking about you on the heathcote thread.:D:D:D
haha all good i hope

gerta
20 Nov 2007, 21:00
Ahhh soo much anger... How's the chase for the nullawil 18 going??? any sides in the front running for there services yet??/

Young Guns
20 Nov 2007, 21:07
Ahhh soo much anger... How's the chase for the nullawil 18 going??? any sides in the front running for there services yet??/
no idea wat the nullawill 18 is.

gerta
20 Nov 2007, 21:13
no idea wat the nullawill 18 is.

Just a group of blokes looking for a club to have a kick with.. A few handy players apparently.

Young Guns
20 Nov 2007, 21:19
Just a group of blokes looking for a club to have a kick with.. A few handy players apparently.
ah k, could be opportunitys for a club like inglewood there mayb, i dunno

Jonah Takalua
20 Nov 2007, 21:45

Is it 18 blokes leaving Nully or just 18 blokes looking to train some where???

Find it hard to believe that so many would leave Nully when the coach is a local young bloke, who is held in pretty high regard around the area. But if true good luck to who ever gets teh boys knowing a few nully boys im sure the bar sales will be at an all time high

gerta
20 Nov 2007, 22:04
Is it 18 blokes leaving Nully or just 18 blokes looking to train some where???

Find it hard to believe that so many would leave Nully when the coach is a local young bloke, who is held in pretty high regard around the area. But if true good luck to who ever gets teh boys knowing a few nully boys im sure the bar sales will be at an all time high

Nar the 18 was a joke... Only about 4 or so... Very handy pick ups though..

Need A Win!!
20 Nov 2007, 22:07
[quote=Young Guns;9499923]

haha matt smith your full of s hit the only reason u saying that is cause he ya cousin. wicksy may be the biggest coc khead in the league but he can play footy and watz with the go having matt chilcott( league leading goal kicker) scott baxter ( runner up in league b&f) and gav james ( 4th in league b&f) on the bench and matt smith in the team.... smitty your a good player for your age played a very handy game but not in the league team as proven u dident even pole a league vote not saying the team should go on that but if you were good enought to represent the leauge at senior level u would wanna pole a vote... Matt Chilcott is one of the best full forwards this league has seen in a long time...

Ah young sam kennedy so you wanna get on here and out peoples identities not the smartest move little boy!
Best thing for you to do is pull your head in dip s%#t noone likes a little smart ass that still thinks his dick is just for pissin out of!
And also i think matty has got you covered 16yo already played in a senior premiership (something druggo hill wont do in this comp) if you ever have half the ability as him mate you might one day play in a real senior footy side like calivil....... i doubt it though they wouldn't have your kind around the place.

Jonah Takalua
20 Nov 2007, 22:50
Nar the 18 was a joke... Only about 4 or so... Very handy pick ups though..

Got names to back this up?? Egga Poyner would be one, maybe doc molony...any others gerta

gerta
21 Nov 2007, 06:19
Got names to back this up?? Egga Poyner would be one, maybe doc molony...any others gerta

add another one or two names Jonah and i think you would be spot on the money... although i think you are missing one of the biggest names of all ;)

Catter
21 Nov 2007, 08:53

You maybe able to add in Korpy, Moose Poyner and Kiwi Bradley. The reason these blokes are leaving are purely work and uni related. Believe me if they had the chance of staying with Smithy they would. Very handy pickups for Bridgy.

Jonah Takalua
21 Nov 2007, 09:43
You maybe able to add in Korpy, Moose Poyner and Kiwi Bradley. The reason these blokes are leaving are purely work and uni related. Believe me if they had the chance of staying with Smithy they would. Very handy pickups for Bridgy.

So Korpy, Moose, Kiwi, Egga and Doc are all off to Bridgy. what about the bendigo based boys like Matty, Easty and the two little Dickys will they still be traveling up to nully or joining these others at bridgy??

Who was the big name Gerta have we mentioned him yet or is he a silent recruit

Catter
21 Nov 2007, 10:10
The other boys might come.

MasterOfRoc
21 Nov 2007, 10:42
Does this "Big Name Recruit" happen to be one of Gerta's Work Colleagues? (sp) :D

Catter
21 Nov 2007, 10:48
Does this "Big Name Recruit" happen to be one of Gerta's Work Colleagues? (sp) :D

Well done MOC. Gerta dribbling again.