View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
Confidence
10 Feb 2008, 19:35
does anyone know wat the ruling about a club not bein able to field an under 17's side is? serp 17's don't look like there going to have a 17's side at all this yr, does this mean the club has to fold?
Unsure....however, Mount Pleasant were in a similar situation a few years ago, Mount Pleasant had the HDFL make it clear to them....that Under 17 side or else...not sure what the "or elses" was though.
With country communities becoming smaller.......some clever clubs...are focussing on recruiting kids....eg...Calival...Inglewood have been placing a lot of effort to attract Under 17 kids...I hope Inglewood get to see the results of their efforts in 2007.
nesko_25
10 Feb 2008, 20:09
Unsure....however, Mount Pleasant were in a similar situation a few years ago, Mount Pleasant had the HDFL make it clear to them....that Under 17 side or else...not sure what the "or elses" was though.
With country communities becoming smaller.......some clever clubs...are focussing on recruiting kids....eg...Calival...Inglewood have been placing a lot of effort to attract Under 17 kids...I hope Inglewood get to see the results of their efforts in 2007.
The HDFL made Mounts and Elmore field an under 17s side, if they couldnt field one they would lose 4 points from the 1s
Can you just explain that a bit more nesko? 4 points as in 4 points on the ladder?? Jeez u would be wanting to scratch a team together.. Can the ladder go into negatives?
Torpedo Punt
11 Feb 2008, 10:19
It depends which club your from to what happens. If it's YCW or Marong your threatened with the loss of points for the senior side. if your from any other club you are looked after (eg Serp playing with only 16 for the past 2 years).
So i would imagine Serp will be right.
nesko_25
11 Feb 2008, 10:28
Can you just explain that a bit more nesko? 4 points as in 4 points on the ladder?? Jeez u would be wanting to scratch a team together.. Can the ladder go into negatives?
yeah the 1s lose four premership points for every game the thirds cannot come up with a side. It was a great rule because if makes the whole club look after the juniors.
jhirdy5
11 Feb 2008, 12:05
i hope serp comes up with a team. in 2006 marong under 17s had too forfiet the first game only had four players. through hard work by the coach, players and general club people and plenty of advertising they ended up with enough by the end of the year and actually made finals that year, so everyone at serp please dont give up, the league needs you too be able too fill an unders team, it would be a shame for any team not too be able too fill all three footy sides every saturday.
Vitalogy
12 Feb 2008, 18:03
Anyone know anything on ycw? do they have enough to even fill reserves yet? Or any new recruits? hasnt been alot of talk of them.
LVFL U 16 / U 17 Best and Fairest Winners (Stephen Dowling Award).
Stephen Dowling was an exceptional young footballer from Inglewood. Stephen suicided shortly after several of his friends were seriously injurred in a car accident. Stephen drove the car.
1980 David Forbes Mitiamo
1981 Craig Niemann Yarrawalla
1982 Andrew Wild Calival
1983 Steve Simmons Newbridge
1984 Roger Miles Calival
1985 B. Taig Calival
1986 C. Stringer Serpentine
1987 A. Holland Serpentine
1988 Tim Birthisel Inglewood
1989 M. Franken YCW
1990 R. Whyte YCW
1991 W. Pahina Newbridge
1992 R. Murphy Marong
1993 M. Scholes / Steve Ward Newbridge / Inglewood
1994 A. Turton YCW
1995 Evan Ralphs Calival
1996 B. Hope Calival
1997 A. Collins / S. O'Toole Serpentine / Pyramid Hill
1998 M. May Calival
1999 R. Doolan Calival
2000 R. Heppell Inglewood
2001 B. Comer Newbridge
2002 D. Rose Inglewood
2003 J. Foskett Pyramid Hill
2004 C. Grant Newbridge
2005 J. McEwan Newbridge
2006 Jake Concol YCW
2007 Jake Concol YCW
Craig Niemann is now the CEO of the City of Greater Bendigo. What are the other doing now ???
rockafella
14 Feb 2008, 09:24
Stephen Dowling was an exceptional young footballer from Inglewood. Stephen suicided shortly after several of his friends were seriously injurred in a car accident. Stephen drove the car.
1982 Andrew Wild Calival
1984 Roger Miles Calival
1985 B. Taig Calival
1989 M. Franken YCW
1990 R. Whyte YCW
1991 W. Pahina Newbridge
1992 R. Murphy Marong
1994 A. Turton YCW
1995 Evan Ralphs Calival
1996 B. Hope Calival
1998 M. May Calival
1999 R. Doolan Calival
2001 B. Comer Newbridge
2002 D. Rose Inglewood
2004 C. Grant Newbridge
2005 J. McEwan Newbridge
2006 Jake Concol YCW
2007 Jake Concol YCW
Craig Niemann is now the CEO of the City of Greater Bendigo. What are the other doing now ???
Well to start off with some of the Newbridge players, Steve Simmons has been coach of the junior side for the past few years now, though unsure whether he will take it on again due to work commitments up north in Queensland. Jumping forward to Brad Comer, I'm sure we are all aware of his wherabouts at the moment, Assistant Coach at Newbridge and is working for Comer Transport in Shelbourne East I am led to believe. Cameron Grant has recently moved to Melbourne to start his work as a nurse at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Cam, a key part of the Newbridge side last season, may/may not be back at Newbridge due to working commitments this season. Justin McEwan played two seasons of senior football at Newbridge after 2005, though is moving on this season to play for Kangaroo Flat.
Hellboy
14 Feb 2008, 10:37
Interesting to note that the only 3 teams to have no clearances in at this stage (YCW, Serp and Newbridge), are also the teams with the highest number of departures with 7, 6 and 5 respectively.
Phar_Lap
14 Feb 2008, 17:11
Well to start off with some of the Newbridge players, Steve Simmons has been coach of the junior side for the past few years now, though unsure whether he will take it on again due to work commitments up north in Queensland. Jumping forward to Brad Comer, I'm sure we are all aware of his wherabouts at the moment, Assistant Coach at Newbridge and is working for Comer Transport in Shelbourne East I am led to believe. Cameron Grant has recently moved to Melbourne to start his work as a nurse at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Cam, a key part of the Newbridge side last season, may/may not be back at Newbridge due to working commitments this season. Justin McEwan played two seasons of senior football at Newbridge after 2005, though is moving on this season to play for Kangaroo Flat.
Steve Simmons is no longer coach of the junior side at Newbridge.
The runner from last year, Mick Purcell is taking over the job.
Burgandy
15 Feb 2008, 16:19
daniel wills signing with pyramid hill last night, trained the house down, looking much fitter than what he did last year at miti. should be a massive pick up for the hill!!
investor
15 Feb 2008, 21:35
daniel wills signing with pyramid hill last night, trained the house down, looking much fitter than what he did last year at miti. should be a massive pick up for the hill!!
yes, great pick up.
KevinSheedyismad
19 Feb 2008, 15:48
Not sure fitness was Daniel's main problem at miti last year.
BiG rIcK
19 Feb 2008, 19:42
Not sure fitness was Daniel's main problem at miti last year.
No his problem at miti last year was that he chose work over footy and the miti sooks couldn't handle it, apparently mr wicks rang him to say the club would have him back once they think they can trust him. All i can say is good move willsy all the best at the hill but please do something about the hair:D
blown budget
20 Feb 2008, 16:21
i've been talking to willsy and the main reason for him leaving mitiamo is cos of that wanka wicks so i dont blame him for moving onto another club i dont know how other mitiamo players have put up with him for so long
The Gun Recruit
20 Feb 2008, 16:24
1982 Andrew Wild Calival
1984 Roger Miles Calival
1985 B. Taig Calival
1989 M. Franken YCW
1990 R. Whyte YCW
1991 W. Pahina Newbridge
1992 R. Murphy Marong
1994 A. Turton YCW
1995 Evan Ralphs Calival
1996 B. Hope Calival
1998 M. May Calival
1999 R. Doolan Calival
2001 B. Comer Newbridge
2002 D. Rose Inglewood
2004 C. Grant Newbridge
2005 J. McEwan Newbridge
2006 Jake Concol YCW
2007 Jake Concol YCW
As for the Inglewood boys;
Tim Birthisel - played a few games of reserves for Geelong as a lad. Won Inglewood's senior b&f in early 90's. Holds the distinguished record of coaching two seasons about 8 years apart without a win in either. Retired from football last year. Manager of Bendigo Bank, Eaglehawk.
Steve Ward - played several seasons at Maryborough Rovers. Current status unknown. Brother Bryan coached Inglewood U17's past two seasons.
Ray Heppell - almost cost Sandhurst U18's a premiership after being sent off in last quarter of drawn GF in 2001. Subsequently missed the replay and premiership the following week due to suspension. Went on to play for the mighty Dunolly for a few seasons before moving to Queensland. Current status unknown.
Dave Rose - was r/up b&f in Inglewood's senior preliminary final side of 2003. Went on to play in about 50 straight defeats. Won a b&f in there somewhere. Moved to Tassie last year, working as a mining engineer.
Snippers
20 Feb 2008, 18:52
Steve Ward - played several seasons at Maryborough Rovers. Current status unknown. Brother Bryan coached Inglewood U17's past two seasons.
Steve still at Rovers.
ROOTA#6
20 Feb 2008, 21:30
Did Tim Birthisel play in a flag at Mount Pleasant???
The Gun Recruit
21 Feb 2008, 16:12
Did Tim Birthisel play in a flag at Mount Pleasant???
Yes he did.
Big Ump
22 Feb 2008, 18:23
Yes he did.
What year
What year
2001. Was assistant coach to Timmy Tripplett. Got best on in the grand final that year also. Only stayed the one year though.
Big Ump
23 Feb 2008, 10:37
2001. Was assistant coach to Timmy Tripplett. Got best on in the grand final that year also. Only stayed the one year though.
Thanks for that how time flys,what ever happened to Timmy Tripplett. His father coached H/cote back in the 80's:thumbsu:
kidgorgeous
23 Feb 2008, 15:20
Thanks for that how time flys,what ever happened to Timmy Tripplett. His father coached H/cote back in the 80's:thumbsu:
Played at Murrabit in the Golden Rivers league, won a flag with them in 2005. Played at Tyntynder last year.
fifth quarter
24 Feb 2008, 14:01
is that the same tim triplett who played with sandhurst in the bfl :confused:
Jeez how many clubs would Timmy have played for??? Quite a few i'm guessing...
bobbill
24 Feb 2008, 16:55
Played for Charlton as well.
Thats where i remembered him from...
ROOTA#6
24 Feb 2008, 17:34
Is living and working in Swan Hill. Had a run with Tyntynder in the CMFL last year
Big Ump
24 Feb 2008, 18:03
Gerta I do not know what Tim is doing work wise now, but i say when he was growing up he would have to moved around a bit because of his fathers work.He's father worked with Elders,thats why he might have played with a few country clubs
The Big Arab
25 Feb 2008, 15:05
Gerta I do not know what Tim is doing work wise now, but i say when he was growing up he would have to moved around a bit because of his fathers work.He's father worked with Elders,thats why he might have played with a few country clubs
I thought he may have been in the Bendigo Bank at one stage and then moved into Elders as well? Tim's a really good bloke.
He was a gun when he was playing at Charlton... But jeez how old would be he now??? I reckon he was working in a bank at one stage...
Big Ump
25 Feb 2008, 16:56
He was a gun when he was playing at Charlton... But jeez how old would be he now??? I reckon he was working in a bank at one stage...
Gerta, i would think Tim would be around 33 or 34.I came to H/cote in 81 his father was coaching and i coached the 2's. Tim i thought would have been about 6 at that time.But i could be wrong:thumbsu:
max powers.
26 Feb 2008, 13:15
I thought he may have been in the Bendigo Bank at one stage and then moved into Elders as well? Tim's a really good bloke.
Also Coached Moama in the old N&EFL in the mid to late nineties.
jhirdy5
26 Feb 2008, 18:29
any news on the new recruits in the lvfl? theres a few starting too get in now, should be a very interesting year.
timebomb
28 Feb 2008, 13:47
any news on the new recruits in the lvfl? theres a few starting too get in now, should be a very interesting year.
*** to check out all the new recruits and exits from the league go to this web site, interesting where everyone has ended up, and who has gone with them.
http://www.loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp (http://www.loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp)
That should answer your question hirdy, now lets get some chat going about who the top five will be come finals.:D
1. Calival
2. Marong
3. Pyramid Hill
4. Newbridge
5. Mitiamo
wooden spooner- Inglewood
Anyone have any thoughts???
(http://www.loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp)
Confidence
28 Feb 2008, 14:24
disregard my comment about the serp 17's not having a side this season, got a fair few players goin out there, certainly enough to field a side. The team will most likely be lead by the courageous stephen gladman and will be competitive. good news for the bears!!:D
naughts
28 Feb 2008, 14:29
[quote=timebomb;10199820]*** to check out all the new recruits and exits from the league go to this web site, interesting where everyone has ended up, and who has gone with them.
http://www.loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp (http://www.loddonvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp)
That should answer your question hirdy, now lets get some chat going about who the top five will be come finals.:D
1. Calival
2. Marong
3. Pyramid Hill
4. Newbridge
5. Mitiamo
wooden spooner- Inglewood
Anyone have any thoughts?
not in any order
1. Calivil
2. Mitiamo
3. Newbridge
4. Bridgewater
5. P.Hill
Wooden Spoon: Serpentine
blown budget
28 Feb 2008, 18:48
1. calivil
2. mitiamo
3. pyramid hill
4. newbridge
5. bridgewater
in that order
jhirdy5
28 Feb 2008, 20:10
disregard my comment about the serp 17's not having a side this season, got a fair few players goin out there, certainly enough to field a side. The team will most likely be lead by the courageous stephen gladman and will be competitive. good news for the bears!!:D
thats terrific too hear, we need all teams too comfortably be able too field 3 sides every week. id better not do a top 5, id be a bit biased being from marong but i will do the 5 sides who i think we'l find the hardest too beat are: calivil, pyramid hill, mitiamo, bridgewater and i'll go out on a limb and tip inglewood too also be big improvers maybe not top 5 but the presence of barnard along with some other new players should improve them.
dunkarob
28 Feb 2008, 20:31
[quote=naughts;10200141
not in any order
1. Calivil
2. Mitiamo
3. Newbridge
4. Bridgewater
5. P.Hill
Wooden Spoon: Serpentine[/quote]
what a load of crap zero's
obviously dont know anything about lvfl do you
try this for size
BLSerp
Calivil
YCW
Mitty
Anglewood
Spoon Pyramids
timebomb
29 Feb 2008, 06:15
try this for size
BLSerp
Calivil
YCW
Mitty
Anglewood
Spoon Pyramids
How do you figure YCW will be in t he top 5, they havent recruited well, and seem to have gone with a young side, only positive thing i have heard about there recruiting is the handy pick up of two Eaglehawk boys. My thoughts are YC are having a rebuilding year, and that equals no finals footy for them. Cant see Serp finishing top of the ladder, they would fall over there ego as they did last year in the 2's granny.
dunkarob
29 Feb 2008, 06:34
How do you figure YCW will be in t he top 5, they havent recruited well, and seem to have gone with a young side, only positive thing i have heard about there recruiting is the handy pick up of two Eaglehawk boys. My thoughts are YC are having a rebuilding year, and that equals no finals footy for them. Cant see Serp finishing top of the ladder, they would fall over there ego as they did last year in the 2's granny.
ouch!!!! someone doesn't like the serp boys. YCW kids will kick on and The serp teddy bears will learn from ther EGO tripping last year no doubt....with wooma and nesbitt up forward there's no stopping them, add gerta when he gets over his soft heart and they will have the most potent forward line in the league by a mile:D
Hellboy
29 Feb 2008, 11:24
In some order.
1. Calivil
2. Mitiamo
3. Marong
4. Pyramid Hill
5. Newbridge
Wooden Spoon: YCW.
Hellboy
29 Feb 2008, 11:35
try this for size
BLSerp
Calivil
YCW
Mitty
Anglewood
Spoon Pyramids
That's funny. Is it safe to assume you are taking the piss dunkarob? You are more than entitled to your opinion but if you're going to have a crack at someone else's top 5, at least make sure your own effort is a bit closer to the mark.
What will you suggest next - Tim Wicks as LVFL personality of the year?
naughts
29 Feb 2008, 11:43
try this for size
BLSerp
Calivil
YCW
Mitty
Anglewood
Spoon Pyramids
i dont know anything about LVFL footy?!
Inglewood spelt with an I not with a A!
timebomb
29 Feb 2008, 12:53
That's funny. Is it safe to assume you are taking the piss dunkarob? You are more than entitled to your opinion but if you're going to have a crack at someone else's top 5, at least make sure your own effort is a bit closer to the mark.
What will you suggest next - Tim Wicks as LVFL personality of the year?
What are you trying to say about Wicksy, he has personality, some would say he has two or three personalities. One on each shoulder, ohhh sorry they would be chips.:D He's still a bloody good individual footballer, does anyone know if he has a lot of injuries over the years, he is in good nick, keeps himself trimm, not sure how when he leans of the stop/go sign all day.
Hellboy, How is Roger Ramjet going as president of the panthers?
A couple more question for you Hellboy, not sure how long you have been around Marong but did Paul Mc Connachie from YC ever play or coach out at the Panthers?
What ever happened to Stan the treasurer from about 15 years ago?
There used to be a player 'rocket' that played out there from Ararat i think, wheres he now?
Is Teddy Rogers just a spectator these days, or what is his involvement.
Confidence
29 Feb 2008, 13:11
Top 5 In some sort of order
Newbridge
Calivil
Pyramid
Marong
Inglewood
Wooden Spooners: Serp Or Bridgewater
Burgandy
29 Feb 2008, 13:15
1. Mitiamo
2. Pyramid Hill
3. Calival
4. Bridgewater
5. Newbridge
Inglewood and Marong to fight out 6th and 7th. Miti should improve on last year, should play their best footy in the first couple of rounds with wiksy rubed out. Pyramid with another couple of signings in last couple of weeks. Paul Carmody back in the red blue and white in 08. Calival to start slowly but once again will be the benchmark come finals time.
Hellboy
29 Feb 2008, 13:22
What are you trying to say about Wicksy, he has personality, some would say he has two or three personalities. One on each shoulder, ohhh sorry they would be chips.:D He's still a bloody good individual footballer, does anyone know if he has a lot of injuries over the years, he is in good nick, keeps himself trimm, not sure how when he leans of the stop/go sign all day.
Hellboy, How is Roger Ramjet going as president of the panthers?
A couple more question for you Hellboy, not sure how long you have been around Marong but did Paul Mc Connachie from YC ever play or coach out at the Panthers?
What ever happened to Stan the treasurer from about 15 years ago?
There used to be a player 'rocket' that played out there from Ararat i think, wheres he now?
Is Teddy Rogers just a spectator these days, or what is his involvement.
Ramjet is already having a very positive impact in her role as El Presidente. I was playing when Conks was at the helm in 1992. Unfortunately we went through the season winless. Stan stills lives in Marong but has not had anything to do with the club for a long time now. 'Rocket' Rod Waddell is living in Bendigo; I catch up with him for a beer occasionally. He has lent a hand to Billy Grant up at Miti in recent years and still gets out to the footy on the odd occasion. Ted still stands on the hill drinking green cans. He is involved in our latest fund raising venture.
Joe Czak
29 Feb 2008, 13:56
How are the panthers shaping up this year Hell Boy.
Hellboy
29 Feb 2008, 20:06
How are the panthers shaping up this year Hell Boy.
2008 looks like being a much better year Joe. The vibe around the place is pretty good. There's consistently 25-35 at training every night, Freddo has brought a varied and intense training regime with him. That said, there is still plenty of 'bonding' going on.
Recruiting has been solid and losses minimal. There are still a few new guys to put pen to paper that will certainly make a difference in the LVFL. Freddo has also had a word with your man Dug who I believe is weighing up his options.
What are the chances of seeing your good self back in the red, blue and gold Joe?
Harries08
1 Mar 2008, 21:24
Hellboy I heard a rumor that there is achance that you may be signing Hayes from Elmore is this just some drunk bloke talking crap or are yo a chance. Amazing pickup if he signs on. Hows Freddo going enjoying the role, and another question mate where is ned now is e still over W.A.?
timebomb
1 Mar 2008, 21:36
Lets have some reports on ground conditions, someone from every club, dont tell us how it looked when you drove past, tell us how it ACTUALLY is when you trained on it.
How is it underfoot, hard etc. How much grass cover you got? Lets get this thread pumping.
Hellboy I heard a rumor that there is achance that you may be signing Hayes from Elmore is this just some drunk bloke talking crap or are yo a chance. Amazing pickup if he signs on. Hows Freddo going enjoying the role, and another question mate where is ned now is e still over W.A.?
Hayes would be welcome addition, but unfortunately there is no truth to that rumour. I think Freddo would enjoy himself more if we can get 1 or 2 more top line players to put pen to paper. There may be another couple of additions this week. Ned is still in W.A. and I don't think has much intention of coming back any time soon.
Lets have some reports on ground conditions, someone from every club, dont tell us how it looked when you drove past, tell us how it ACTUALLY is when you trained on it.
How is it underfoot, hard etc. How much grass cover you got? Lets get this thread pumping.
Marong is typically pretty hard and dusty. The ground was aerated last week and will sprayed during the week. There is plenty of water available to all parts of the ground now. The grass coverage is ok for this time of year and with the weeds gone soon, should be in good shape come the start of the season. With the cricket club playing finals, the pitch can't be covered for at least another week but will be covered with turf not sand or seed. The goal squares are to be repaired meaning no more stones.
timebomb
2 Mar 2008, 13:39
Marong is typically pretty hard and dusty. The ground was aerated last week and will sprayed during the week. There is plenty of water available to all parts of the ground now. The grass coverage is ok for this time of year and with the weeds gone soon, should be in good shape come the start of the season. With the cricket club playing finals, the pitch can't be covered for at least another week but will be covered with turf not sand or seed. The goal squares are to be repaired meaning no more stones.
good to hear Hellboy, i hope a few more clubs take a look at what your doing with your goal square, i am sick of the f***** gravel rash us forwards get when we get pumelled by the big fat full backs.:cool:
investor
2 Mar 2008, 13:58
you may hate the drive to pyramid hill, but our oval is in great condition, thats just from the rain, no water been pump on it yet, so by start season should be even softer.
Phar_Lap
2 Mar 2008, 14:18
newbridge is in great condition. its not very hard at all and the grass is green and lush, best i have seen it for years!
plus when the bore is up and running the oval will be beautiful!
look forward to playing on it this year!! :thumbsu:
FlyingDucks
2 Mar 2008, 16:24
1. Mitiamo
2. Pyramid Hill
3. Calival
4. Bridgewater
5. Newbridge
Inglewood and Marong to fight out 6th and 7th. Miti should improve on last year, should play their best footy in the first couple of rounds with wiksy rubed out. Pyramid with another couple of signings in last couple of weeks. Paul Carmody back in the red blue and white in 08. Calival to start slowly but once again will be the benchmark come finals time.
Mitiamo and Calival will be my tip to play in the Grand Final. Bridgewater 3rd, Newbridge 4th and Pyramid/Marong/Serp fighting out for 5th. Inglewood and YCW not much chance to play finals.
timebomb
2 Mar 2008, 21:03
Mitiamo and Calival will be my tip to play in the Grand Final. Bridgewater 3rd, Newbridge 4th and Pyramid/Marong/Serp fighting out for 5th. Inglewood and YCW not much chance to play finals.
Was at the gym today and two blokes were talking about YCW, seems they have just started training there and both played with the
Borough last year. Handy pick ups??? But still going to have a young and inexperienced team.
Anyone from YC on here who can tell us who has stayed from last years seniour list, rather than who has left!!! Not many on here rating the Eagles, let us know if we are underestimating you guys.
Also will Jake Concol be playing back with the Eagles again, and how many dimsims has the kid eaten over summer, nuggety little fella.
Joe Czak
3 Mar 2008, 11:48
2008 looks like being a much better year Joe. The vibe around the place is pretty good. There's consistently 25-35 at training every night, Freddo has brought a varied and intense training regime with him. That said, there is still plenty of 'bonding' going on.
Recruiting has been solid and losses minimal. There are still a few new guys to put pen to paper that will certainly make a difference in the LVFL. Freddo has also had a word with your man Dug who I believe is weighing up his options.
What are the chances of seeing your good self back in the red, blue and gold Joe?
Well I reckon I've still got my old jumper packed away somewhere but I'm heading OS in about 3 weeks so I probably wouldn't be much use to the team. An intriguing thought though.
Old Dig Dug would be handy to throw down in the back pocket but I think that Freddo would be better off talking to his missus as although Dug wears the pants, she tells him which ones to put on. Touché.
Joe Czak
3 Mar 2008, 11:53
good to hear Hellboy, i hope a few more clubs take a look at what your doing with your goal square, i am sick of the f***** gravel rash us forwards get when we get pumelled by the big fat full backs.:cool:
That only happens to the lazy forwards who stand in the goal square waving their arms, waiting to cherry pick goals.
Joe Czak
3 Mar 2008, 11:55
you may hate the drive to pyramid hill, but our oval is in great condition, thats just from the rain, no water been pump on it yet, so by start season should be even softer.
It has always been green but it's so spongy it feels like you're running in sand. UI hate that surface.
That only happens to the lazy forwards who stand in the goal square waving their arms, waiting to cherry pick goals.
There's no one like that at Marong Joe!
It has always been green but it's so spongy it feels like you're running in sand. UI hate that surface.
Can't agree more
Carnaborough
4 Mar 2008, 07:39
Was at the gym today and two blokes were talking about YCW, seems they have just started training there and both played with the
Borough last year. Handy pick ups??? But still going to have a young and inexperienced team.
Anyone from YC on here who can tell us who has stayed from last years seniour list, rather than who has left!!! Not many on here rating the Eagles, let us know if we are underestimating you guys.
Also will Jake Concol be playing back with the Eagles again, and how many dimsims has the kid eaten over summer, nuggety little fella.
The two players from Eaglehawk you are talking about both struggled to get a game in the reserves last year , assuming they are the two i'm thinking of but given a chance could improve at YCW
Trent the flight Steward
4 Mar 2008, 11:46
Well I reckon I've still got my old jumper packed away somewhere but I'm heading OS in about 3 weeks so I probably wouldn't be much use to the team. An intriguing thought though.
Old Dig Dug would be handy to throw down in the back pocket but I think that Freddo would be better off talking to his missus as although Dug wears the pants, she tells him which ones to put on. Touché.
I hear through the grapevine joe that you are keeping yourself in peek physical condition so on arrival from overseas you can suit up for a side ready to make a premiership assault, im sure marong would be interested in your rebound off defence as you were the former springboard setting up many attacks.
Dug Dalton would be putting his hand up for a wing as he is only required in the back pocket to combat the small power forwards such as gadsden, as he gave troy "chalky" Auld a bath in the bfl in that position, i believe auld is still having nightmares about that game
timebomb
4 Mar 2008, 12:40
The two players from Eaglehawk you are talking about both struggled to get a game in the reserves last year , assuming they are the two i'm thinking of but given a chance could improve at YCW
Thanks for the information. No one has any news on Jake Concol???
I hear that hes stayen at ycw, will be interested too see how he handles the step up too senior footy, was a fantastic u 17s player.
]
YCW to play Avoca in a practice match at Avoca on Sat 15th March.
timebomb
4 Mar 2008, 21:56
]
what other practice matches are on, mite go for a sticky beak and check out the opposition.
blown budget
5 Mar 2008, 09:42
miti have a practice match against murrabit on the 15th at murrabit and have one against heathcote and elmore up at miti on next thursday night and the following
Phar_Lap
5 Mar 2008, 13:11
what other practice matches are on, mite go for a sticky beak and check out the opposition.
newbridge have 2 practice matches:
29th march - newbridge vs sea lake @ newbridge
5th april - newbridge vs st arnaud @ st arnaud
gotherosellas
5 Mar 2008, 14:28
]
what is ycw's ground like at the moment i believe we are playing a practice match there at the end of the month??
Bridgewater played it's first match in the Maryborough Night Series last night. They won by a couple of goals.
Bridgey had about 10 senior players missing from the team.
Lucas Ruedin played well in his first game back from Sandhurst and Reece Poyner (Nullawil) was a big target across half forward.
Fairly scrappy game but Bridgey showed some good passages of play.
I heard Calivil is playing on Friday night...any other teams in the night series?
Bridgewater played it's first match in the Maryborough Night Series last night. They won by a couple of goals.
Bridgey had about 10 senior players missing from the team.
Lucas Ruedin played well in his first game back from Sandhurst and Reece Poyner (Nullawil) was a big target across half forward.
Fairly scrappy game but Bridgey showed some good passages of play.
I heard Calivil is playing on Friday night...any other teams in the night series?
Marong are playing Nth Bendigo next Tuesday and Maryborough Rovers the following Tuesday.
Serp are also playing. Given the calibre of the other clubs, it's highly likely to be 2 LVFL clubs playing off. Marong played this series in '04 and '05, winning both years. I think there's a couple of thousand $ up for the winner so it's definitely worth having a crack at.
Joe Czak
6 Mar 2008, 08:21
There's no one like that at Marong Joe!
There used to be one playing two's back when I was there. Can't remeber his name. Ha!
timebomb
6 Mar 2008, 08:45
what is ycw's ground like at the moment i believe we are playing a practice match there at the end of the month??
who do you play for 'gotherosellas', whens this practice match on with YC, interesting to see how many kids they are playing.
Pyramid has gone quite on here, whats the ground like up there, who are you playing in practice matches.
Hellboy i hear alot of your netballers are moving on this year, a couple gone to another club in this league, Mop to Hillies, no one left from last years A grade team. Who is in charge of netball at the panthers these days, Ramjet would have to much on her plate to be coaching again surely??? Although my missus still says she was the best coach she has ever played under.
Joe Czak
6 Mar 2008, 09:11
I hear through the grapevine joe that you are keeping yourself in peek physical condition so on arrival from overseas you can suit up for a side ready to make a premiership assault, im sure marong would be interested in your rebound off defence as you were the former springboard setting up many attacks.
Dug Dalton would be putting his hand up for a wing as he is only required in the back pocket to combat the small power forwards such as gadsden, as he gave troy "chalky" Auld a bath in the bfl in that position, i believe auld is still having nightmares about that game
No, not training for footy Trent, I just enjoy looking my best. Tuesdays are arms and back - It's boring but its part of my life. I'll consider all options ($$$) upon my return. Maybe we could organise an Indian cricket league style auction with the winning club to secure my services for the remainder of the year.
My sources have indicated that you have embarked of a rigorous interval training regime, running 1km then walking 1km. Do you realise that with one repartition you have doubled the amount of ground you used to cover in two trainings and a game. (not including walking to the bar)
If Dalton had his way he'd be playing ruck because of his "great vertical leap" but I don't even thin Kevin Sheedy would make that move.
gotherosellas
6 Mar 2008, 10:57
who do you play for 'gotherosellas', whens this practice match on with YC, interesting to see how many kids they are playing.
Pyramid has gone quite on here, whats the ground like up there, who are you playing in practice matches.
Hellboy i hear alot of your netballers are moving on this year, a couple gone to another club in this league, Mop to Hillies, no one left from last years A grade team. Who is in charge of netball at the panthers these days, Ramjet would have to much on her plate to be coaching again surely??? Although my missus still says she was the best coach she has ever played under.
we r playing yc on the 29th march.i play for south yarra from southern division 3 in melbourne.looking forward to coming up for the saturday game then staying up there for plenty of beers and some team bonding.
There used to be one playing two's back when I was there. Can't remeber his name. Ha!
I think I remember the bloke; big leap, good hands and kicked a heap of goals. Can't remember his name either. Used to go all right with the ladies too.
News travels fast I see. It has been suggested to me that I steer clear of too much comment on this. As often seems to be the case with netball, the bullshit and innuendo too often becomes gospel. I will say that the football netball club is focused on moving in a direction that might not necessarily have suited some people hence the departure of a few netballers. There is no coach at the moment but I believe one is to be appointed very soon.
There is no doubt the club will be in a much stronger position come seasons end regardless of any football or netball results or who may or may not be playing.
[quote=Joe Czak;10253998]No, not training for footy Trent, I just enjoy looking my best. Tuesdays are arms and back - It's boring but its part of my life. I'll consider all options ($$$) upon my return. Maybe we could organise an Indian cricket league style auction with the winning club to secure my services for the remainder of the year.quote]
6 green cans, 2 hamburgers and a spot up forward in the 2nds is all Marong will offer Joe. If I was you, I'd take it.
Joe Czak
6 Mar 2008, 12:19
[quote=Joe Czak;10253998]No, not training for footy Trent, I just enjoy looking my best. Tuesdays are arms and back - It's boring but its part of my life. I'll consider all options ($$$) upon my return. Maybe we could organise an Indian cricket league style auction with the winning club to secure my services for the remainder of the year.quote]
6 green cans, 2 hamburgers and a spot up forward in the 2nds is all Marong will offer Joe. If I was you, I'd take it.
It's a good start. Throw in some tomato sandwhiches before the game and we'll talk.
Joe Czak
6 Mar 2008, 12:20
I think I remember the bloke; big leap, good hands and kicked a heap of goals. Can't remember his name either. Used to go all right with the ladies too.
That's right he's first name was darren, wasn't it?:D
Thoroughbred
6 Mar 2008, 12:33
Marong are playing Nth Bendigo next Tuesday and Maryborough Rovers the following Tuesday.
Serp are also playing. Given the calibre of the other clubs, it's highly likely to be 2 LVFL clubs playing off. Marong played this series in '04 and '05, winning both years. I think there's a couple of thousand $ up for the winner so it's definitely worth having a crack at.
Anyone around Borough will tell you that the money should be on the LVFL teams. Rovers (Calival & Marong) and Dunolly (Bridgewater & Serp) are the only 2 MCDFL teams to enter. Daylesford 2's and North Bendigo round it off. Rokewood from the Lexton Plains are filling in for Calival's second game as they couldn't make it. Maryborough Rovers aren't taking it too seriously with a few of their guys in cricket finals over the next 2 weekends.
the hill to play, belmont in geelong, boort, macorna, to round off, my first run for a couple of weeks on monday,about 24 on track thats only bgo based, things looking good.
That's right he's first name was darren, wasn't it?:D
That's the one! Rumoured to be back in the Panther guernsey by mid season after spending time recently playing the bum sniffing sport in Mackay.
blown budget
6 Mar 2008, 19:43
looks like Tranter from inglewood will be playing with mitiamo in 2008 has been training with them for the last two weeks
timebomb
6 Mar 2008, 21:13
looks like Tranter from inglewood will be playing with mitiamo in 2008 has been training with them for the last two weeks
Mitiamo would need to pick up some players after losing two of the Hay brothers to Wandella, one to be assistant coach. Ollie still deciding. Big loss of a fantastic local family, played there all there life i reckon. Wilson is pulling some talent up to Wandella. Word is miti are talking tall, that is there recruits are HUGE HUGE boys, hope they are all forwards and not back men. I hate getting crunched!!!!!:(
Junky Bish
6 Mar 2008, 23:19
Nothing but a whinger that bloke. He got to Ingelwood through Billett then got on the committee and tried to bring in another coach. Got enough ability to be a handy played in the LV but high maintenance.
Carnaborough
7 Mar 2008, 07:20
Nothing but a whinger that bloke. He got to Ingelwood through Billett then got on the committee and tried to bring in another coach. Got enough ability to be a handy played in the LV but high maintenance.
From what i hear Tranter would struggle to get a regular game in a good competitive side , which Inglewood is shaping up to be , so draw your own conclusions
Mitiamo will be more competitive than Inglewood so I doubt he is leaving because he feels his spot in the 1st's is in jeopardy.
tassie2heads
7 Mar 2008, 12:36
what a shame ! looks like he cracked the shits after he didnt get the 2s coaching job . even if he had of got it no one would have played under him wasnt as well respected as he thought he was up there . he should fit in well at miti being a **** head and all .
Carnaborough
7 Mar 2008, 13:23
what a shame ! looks like he cracked the shits after he didnt get the 2s coaching job . even if he had of got it no one would have played under him wasnt as well respected as he thought he was up there . he should fit in well at miti being a **** head and all .
I think if he puts in for a clearance he will have no trouble at all getting it , All Inglewoods recruits will be good players at senior LVFL level , hopefully the woods will win a few and get up the ladder in 08
Phar_Lap
10 Mar 2008, 12:35
newbridge have 2 practice matches:
29th march - newbridge vs sea lake @ newbridge
5th april - newbridge vs st arnaud @ st arnaud
the game against st arnaud has been moved to newbridge.
so now both of newbridges practice matches are at newbridge. :thumbsu:
timebomb
10 Mar 2008, 16:23
I see Marong have 3 teams in the BJFL this year and Calivil 1 team entered, great work from the country clubs, is this an initiative of the clubs or seperate organisation.
Trent the flight Steward
10 Mar 2008, 16:53
has anyone ever seen tranter handball when in an 80metre radius of goal the guy thinks his scott Lucas but kicks like Anthony Ingerson, would find it hard to see him be a regular in a finals LV side