View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
blown budget
26 Mar 2008, 20:22
i see newbridge have picked up Ramon Bramley use to be a dominant ruckman a few years back i reckon he would be getting a bit older now though! also calivil have nic manley back
blown budget
26 Mar 2008, 20:22
mitiamo play elmore friday night at miti
i see newbridge have picked up Ramon Bramley use to be a dominant ruckman a few years back i reckon he would be getting a bit older now though! also calivil have nic manley back
Manley would have to be getting past his best now wouldn't he? Still could be a handy player.
Anyone seen him play in the Heathcote League?
ROOTA#6
26 Mar 2008, 21:06
Manley would have to be getting past his best now wouldn't he? Still could be a handy player.
Yeah played against him last time. Probably didn't get much of an opportunity at Elmore due to the quality of thier side. From waht i have heard he has definite ability and has proved this in earlier seasons. We line up against Calivil this week s it will be interesting to see where he lines up in their side
He looks like Straunie with darker hair.
Very over weighted i mean rated!
He looks like Straunie with darker hair.
Very over weighted i mean rated!
Haha, good one Ablett!:)
Steve_Addlem
27 Mar 2008, 11:53
How does Matthew Giri from Newbridge go? Ones or Twos? BIG or small?
barry badrinath
27 Mar 2008, 15:57
How does Matthew Giri from Newbridge go? Ones or Twos? BIG or small?
a very handy player at riverside and will easily play ones at harcourt....but his head is that big he may be taller if he lays on his back...
Confidence
28 Mar 2008, 11:02
Played at Huntly in 06 and finished 3rd in their best and fairest, probably had hid worst year of footy last year at Elmore but was fortunate enough to be a part of their premiership side.
If he gets fit could be handy at Calivil this year but i did say IF.
andypipkin
28 Mar 2008, 13:02
has brent borkowski been spotted at riverside yet? former gvfl and cmfl player. may be one that newbridge have been trying to keep quiet
CatAttack_07
28 Mar 2008, 14:08
Guy's, what's your thoughts on Serpentine this season. I have noticed that alot have them listed as a bottom 3 chance only?
timebomb
28 Mar 2008, 14:17
I was told today that a few clubs are struggling for numbers to field all footy and netball teams. Serp was one of them, anyone from Serp able to give us a heads up on the situation. It would be a shame to not have the games to play. Also is it mainly junior footy or is it reserves as well. I am hearing it is reserves also.
Frankenfurter
28 Mar 2008, 14:25
Guy's, what's your thoughts on Serpentine this season. I have noticed that alot have them listed as a bottom 3 chance only?
I was told today that a few clubs are struggling for numbers to field all footy and netball teams. Serp was one of them, anyone from Serp able to give us a heads up on the situation. It would be a shame to not have the games to play. Also is it mainly junior footy or is it reserves as well. I am hearing it is reserves also.
CatAttack, i think timebomb has covered off on why a lot of people think Serp will end up in the bottom 3. I think through recruiting Marong will move ahead of them and through natural improvement of young lists Inglewood and YCW will end up with more wins than Serp.
Serp have lost 3 quality players in Gladman, Bateman and Welch. Apparently Korp will be a player to watch, but at this stage it doesn't look like they have recruited enough quality to cover the loss of these players.
madsnake
28 Mar 2008, 15:43
where has ricky welch gone to?:confused:
He'll be playing for South Bendigo
Does anyone have a comment or two about the lift out in the addy today?
For those of you who haven't seen it, here are the predictions for the year:
Adam Bourke
Top 5 - Miti, PH, Calivil, BW, NB
Premier - Miti
Wooden Spoon - Serp
Harding medal - Dave Morrissey
Leading Goal Kicker - Chilcott
Nathan Dole
T5 - BW, Miti, Calivil, NB, Inglewood
P - BW
WS - YCW
HM - Wicks
Goals - Ashman
Luke West
T5 - Miti, Calivil, BW, NB, Inglewood
P - Calivil
WS - Serp
HM - R. Maxted
Goals - Ashman
Nino Bucci
T5 - Calivil, Miti, NB, Iwood, Marong
P - Miti
WS - YCW
HM - Charlie Thompson
Goals - Chilcott
Lucky Stew
T5 - Calivil, BW, Miti, NB, Marong
P - BW
WS - YCW
HM - R. Maxted
Goals - Ashman
I'm sure this will fire the forum up a bit...:)
YCW are looking for U 17 footballers.....they are about 10 players short at this stage...
It's intriguing that three "experts" have predicted that the young list of Inglewood will make the finals, whilst the young list of YCW will end up wooden spoon.....
Five Fingers
29 Mar 2008, 09:32
YCW are looking for U 17 footballers.....they are about 10 players short at this stage...
They might struggle for a few weeks, but they usually pick up a few a couple of games in, Due to Bendigo junior clubs cutting a few.
Its getting harder and harder to field junior sides these days, very unfortunate.
Phar_Lap
29 Mar 2008, 12:21
has brent borkowski been spotted at riverside yet? former gvfl and cmfl player. may be one that newbridge have been trying to keep quiet
yes he was named in newbridge's team to play in the practice match against sea lake @ newbridge today!
timebomb
29 Mar 2008, 22:53
They might struggle for a few weeks, but they usually pick up a few a couple of games in, Due to Bendigo junior clubs cutting a few.
Its getting harder and harder to field junior sides these days, very unfortunate.
I thought YCW had some sort of deal going each year where they take the kids from Dockers who arent getting much on field time, is this still the go, who the heck is coaching the juniors there, still the bakerboy???
Bridgewater are gunna walk on water in 08!!!
getakick
30 Mar 2008, 16:36
Anyone know how ycw went yesterday against south yarra? Any new faces perform well? How'd the kids play?
jack 01
30 Mar 2008, 19:44
I thought YCW had some sort of deal going each year where they take the kids from Dockers who arent getting much on field time, is this still the go, who the heck is coaching the juniors there, still the bakerboy???
Bridgewater are gunna walk on water in 08!!! the only way bridgey will walk on water ,as if they can wake porno(curt)up from the coachs accreditation held in Shep today . Good work porno:thumbsu::confused::cool:
BiG rIcK
30 Mar 2008, 22:10
the only way bridgey will walk on water ,as if they can wake porno(curt)up from the coachs accreditation held in Shep today . Good work porno:thumbsu::confused::cool:
Bad news for calivil over the weekend with Jarad Smith breaking both bones in his leg, apparently had surgery today to have rods, plates and screws inserted, not something you would wish on anyone, would just like to wish smithy all the best and a speedy recovery
timebomb
30 Mar 2008, 22:19
Bad news for calivil over the weekend with Jarad Smith breaking both bones in his leg, apparently had surgery today to have rods, plates and screws inserted, not something you would wish on anyone, would just like to wish smithy all the best and a speedy recovery
How did he break it, playing footy, he will be a while with that sort of injury, badluck mate but i am sure the Calivil crew will involve you some other way. All the best for your recovery.
BiG rIcK
31 Mar 2008, 10:06
How did he break it, playing footy, he will be a while with that sort of injury, badluck mate but i am sure the Calivil crew will involve you some other way. All the best for your recovery.
Playing in a practice match on saturday against Mt Pleasant.
Has been told that the break is that bad that he will most likely never play again, needs 2 rods plus some plates, pins and screws.
timebomb
31 Mar 2008, 10:27
how old would he be.
jhirdy5
31 Mar 2008, 10:29
that is bad news yeah we all hope he has a speedy recovery a very handy player for them will be a big loss, hopefully theyll involve him in some way, shape or form. any results from matches over the weekend?
ROOTA#6
31 Mar 2008, 10:33
that is bad news yeah we all hope he has a speedy recovery a very handy player for them will be a big loss, hopefully theyll involve him in some way, shape or form. any results from matches over the weekend?
It was a terrible break and not a good thing to see. All of us at Mounts wish him the best and hope he is up and around the Calivil club again soon
Torpedo Punt
31 Mar 2008, 11:01
how old would he be.
He is still fairly young i think he is 28. It's terrible news for him, he is a great bloke and by the sounds of it, a terrible injury. Speedy recovery to him hopefully.
BiG rIcK
31 Mar 2008, 11:26
It was a terrible break and not a good thing to see. All of us at Mounts wish him the best and hope he is up and around the Calivil club again soon
How did it happen ROOTA?
ROOTA#6
31 Mar 2008, 11:56
How did it happen ROOTA?
Well there was a loose ball and one of our blokes went to ground to retrieve the ball and it looked like the Calivil bloke came in over the top and his leg got caught underneath our bloke. Pure accident. You see this kinda of thing happen so many times during a match without any injury but this time unfortunately there was a serious one
nesko_25
31 Mar 2008, 12:24
Is that Ash's brother?
timebomb
31 Mar 2008, 16:06
Anyone else heard that Wayne Eve did his knee against Heathcote in the practice match, gone for the year i heard, this is second hand news but must be some truth. Anyone know???
did hear it was a quad,from a miti bloke
If that is true it is a massive loss for Miti.
Best wishes to Smith from Calivil, those sort of injuries make us all sick to the stomach.
mightymagoos
31 Mar 2008, 16:38
It's intriguing that three "experts" have predicted that the young list of Inglewood will make the finals, whilst the young list of YCW will end up wooden spoon.....
well bill its like this mate the young list at inglewood have been together for a few years now as the list at yc are only new so that would make sense to me !
Frankenfurter
31 Mar 2008, 17:40
heard he will miss at least the first 4 weeks of the season, didn't hear what sort of injury it was
BiG rIcK
31 Mar 2008, 17:43
heard he will miss at least the first 4 weeks of the season, didn't hear what sort of injury it was
Torn quad will only be out for the first 4 rounds apparently
Bdiddy18
31 Mar 2008, 18:57
Im a bit surprised to see only 1 person has Pyramid Hill making finals. From all reports they have recruited pretty good in the off season. Any reasoning as to why you guys have left them out?
Does anyone have a comment or two about the lift out in the addy today?
For those of you who haven't seen it, here are the predictions for the year:
Adam Bourke
Top 5 - Miti, PH, Calivil, BW, NB
Premier - Miti
Wooden Spoon - Serp
Harding medal - Dave Morrissey
Leading Goal Kicker - Chilcott
Nathan Dole
T5 - BW, Miti, Calivil, NB, Inglewood
P - BW
WS - YCW
HM - Wicks
Goals - Ashman
Luke West
T5 - Miti, Calivil, BW, NB, Inglewood
P - Calivil
WS - Serp
HM - R. Maxted
Goals - Ashman
Nino Bucci
T5 - Calivil, Miti, NB, Iwood, Marong
P - Miti
WS - YCW
HM - Charlie Thompson
Goals - Chilcott
Lucky Stew
T5 - Calivil, BW, Miti, NB, Marong
P - BW
WS - YCW
HM - R. Maxted
Goals - Ashman
I'm sure this will fire the forum up a bit...:)[/quote]
blown budget
31 Mar 2008, 19:27
Eve done a quad at training! will be out for four weeks but will probably take a rest till after the bye
timebomb
31 Mar 2008, 23:17
Inglewood played very well in a practice match against Kerang i think it was, was told they have plenty of running young players, ex LV players say they should push for a top 5 slot, surely not, lol, or surely yes, is it Inglewoods turn to be on the up and up, and clubs like Serp and YC to be on the rebuild.
I see Serp advertising for under 17 lads, where are all the kids these days, whats drawing them away from country footy, work? other sports? Petrol prices? This problem is getting worse and needs to be addressed at league level. I have also been told by a Serp stalwart that they may not field a junior netball team either, and ditto for my girls at Bridgie, and Marong and Inglewood.
I put it to you all out there, is country footy and netball a dying sport? And if so, what or how can we ensure that the Loddon Valley is around for another generation?
Inglewood played very well in a practice match against Kerang i think it was, was told they have plenty of running young players, ex LV players say they should push for a top 5 slot, surely not, lol, or surely yes, is it Inglewoods turn to be on the up and up, and clubs like Serp and YC to be on the rebuild.
I see Serp advertising for under 17 lads, where are all the kids these days, whats drawing them away from country footy, work? other sports? Petrol prices? This problem is getting worse and needs to be addressed at league level. I have also been told by a Serp stalwart that they may not field a junior netball team either, and ditto for my girls at Bridgie, and Marong and Inglewood.
I put it to you all out there, is country footy and netball a dying sport? And if so, what or how can we ensure that the Loddon Valley is around for another generation?
Timebomb, Think you might find that Inglewood had a game against Wandella FC from the Golden Rivers Footbal League. Would have been intereseting if Kerang and Inglewood played each other as we both wear Carlton colours. Think the bombers coach is an old Mitiamo boy and assistant to Filo at Eaglehawk last year, name escapes me. Havnt seen Billett since he used to whack everyone each Satyrday, how is the silver fox going out there as coach? Can anyone let me know if Serp still have the big fella Gordon Adlem filling in from time to time, still big and fit last time i saw him. Cheers.
Well there was a loose ball and one of our blokes went to ground to retrieve the ball and it looked like the Calivil bloke came in over the top and his leg got caught underneath our bloke. Pure accident. You see this kinda of thing happen so many times during a match without any injury but this time unfortunately there was a serious one
Surfing the threads and couldnt help but see this. Feel for the bloke, i had the same injury last year, snapped Tibia and Fibula, I'm a bit old and past it but this bloke still has a chance if he gets the right treatment. Hope he got Dayananda as his surgeon in bendigo, bloody brilliant man. It's a long road and I know how the bloke feels, chin up and a speady recovery. For anyone who isnt sure and if the information is correct it is a similar break to nathan BROWN from Richmond, compound fracture or not he will get there, just takes a while.
timebomb
1 Apr 2008, 10:35
Timebomb, Think you might find that Inglewood had a game against Wandella FC from the Golden Rivers Footbal League. Would have been intereseting if Kerang and Inglewood played each other as we both wear Carlton colours. Think the bombers coach is an old Mitiamo boy and assistant to Filo at Eaglehawk last year, name escapes me. Havnt seen Billett since he used to whack everyone each Satyrday, how is the silver fox going out there as coach? Can anyone let me know if Serp still have the big fella Gordon Adlem filling in from time to time, still big and fit last time i saw him. Cheers.
Ahh thanks for that information, I am being told as we speak that Wandella is coached by Wilson ex Miti, and that would make sense as it is an ex miti boy standing here telling me that Inglewood played well, but in saying that are Wandella any sought of team to compare against. Where the heck is it anyway? They must be all right to attract Wilson there to coach, any reports on how Newbridge went in their practice match?
Trent the flight Steward
1 Apr 2008, 12:42
Surfing the threads and couldnt help but see this. Feel for the bloke, i had the same injury last year, snapped Tibia and Fibula, I'm a bit old and past it but this bloke still has a chance if he gets the right treatment. Hope he got Dayananda as his surgeon in bendigo, bloody brilliant man. It's a long road and I know how the bloke feels, chin up and a speady recovery. For anyone who isnt sure and if the information is correct it is a similar break to nathan BROWN from Richmond, compound fracture or not he will get there, just takes a while.
Yeah very nasty injury, will take a good 3-4 years to get back close to where he was before the break
KevinSheedyismad
1 Apr 2008, 12:48
No doubt country footy is struggling. Problem is that alot of these country towns / areas within our league are also struggling. Have a look at the league. Pyramid, Miti, Calivil, Inglewood, Bridgewater, Newbridge, Serp all have populations that are reducing not growing. They just don't have the populations to provide the numbers required. The Bendigo based clubs are in competition with alot of other clubs and find it difficult to attract players.
So what do they do to attract players? Offer money. So the league starts to be made up of the have's and the have not's. I am aware that Calivil buck this trend. They have been hugely successful whilst not paying alot of money however they have been lucky in a way that they just seemed to have a lot of locals over the past years who don't get paid much and have been able to top up with class players. However these local are getting older and there is not necessarily a new batch coming through.
The vast majority of top sides in the LVFL will have less than 25% local players in their senior sides. Sad but true.
One way I have heard of that teams are using to attract a steady stream of young players to the league is to offer U17 players $20-30 per week to play. It may be rumour but I understand Calivil did this last year.
Personally I don't agree with paying under aged players to play footy. It may be just me but I think it sends exactly the wrong message to young footballers.
I suggest the league adopts a "Player Points System" such as that introduced to the Central Murray Football league. The main objectives of the system are to:
Encourage clubs to develop and promote their junior players
Encourage clubs to recruit new players from outside the league
Better manage increasing player payments and improve the financial stability of clubs.
You would need to tinker with the system to get it to work for the LVFL but at least the system works to make the league stronger and more healthy as apposed to slowly running it down like the current one.
I would be keen to hear from anyone who has first hand experience with the points system to give us some information on how it has worked and if it would help the LVFL.
Carnaborough
1 Apr 2008, 15:13
Ash Wilson is coaching Wandella and last time i saw Billett seems he has mellowed a little bit hehehe
timebomb
1 Apr 2008, 15:27
great reply 'kevinsheedyismad', others must have ideas about this too, speak up, Hellboy, Frankenfurter, and the other regular contributors, where is the brains trust???
What do you think, what is the answer, ???
Frankenfurter
1 Apr 2008, 21:16
No doubt country footy is struggling. Problem is that alot of these country towns / areas within our league are also struggling. Have a look at the league. Pyramid, Miti, Calivil, Inglewood, Bridgewater, Newbridge, Serp all have populations that are reducing not growing. They just don't have the populations to provide the numbers required. The Bendigo based clubs are in competition with alot of other clubs and find it difficult to attract players.
So what do they do to attract players? Offer money. So the league starts to be made up of the have's and the have not's. I am aware that Calivil buck this trend. They have been hugely successful whilst not paying alot of money however they have been lucky in a way that they just seemed to have a lot of locals over the past years who don't get paid much and have been able to top up with class players. However these local are getting older and there is not necessarily a new batch coming through.
The vast majority of top sides in the LVFL will have less than 25% local players in their senior sides. Sad but true.
One way I have heard of that teams are using to attract a steady stream of young players to the league is to offer U17 players $20-30 per week to play. It may be rumour but I understand Calivil did this last year.
Personally I don't agree with paying under aged players to play footy. It may be just me but I think it sends exactly the wrong message to young footballers.
I suggest the league adopts a "Player Points System" such as that introduced to the Central Murray Football league. The main objectives of the system are to:
Better manage increasing player payments and improve the financial stability of clubs.
You would need to tinker with the system to get it to work for the LVFL but at least the system works to make the league stronger and more healthy as apposed to slowly running it down like the current one.
I would be keen to hear from anyone who has first hand experience with the points system to give us some information on how it has worked and if it would help the LVFL.
Honestly don't believe that a points based system can work not only in the LVFL but the three leagues in the Bendigo district.
While the concept is noble in it's desire to stop having an English Premier League style league where you only have 4 sides that can possibly compete for the flag in reality it won't work. If a player isn't recruited or isn't chased by an Elmore, Mounts, Newbridge because they have hit their cap in terms of points they aren't more likey to play for a Huntly, Inglewood, Marong (which i believe is the aim of the cap system, to more evenly distribute the top talent across a league) because they are spoilt for choice in where they can play. If they want to play for money, they can travel an hour from Bendigo and play in the Nth Central League or Murray league, if they are more interested in playing at a higher level they have the BFL or the GVFL or even Ballarat Football League.
What may occur is a shift in philosphy in terms of "big money" players, will the shift be away from a 27 - 30 year old bloke who has played footy in major country leagues or the VFL because they cost a team too much in terms of points? Will this mean that a kid who has played BFL or GVFL under 18's is worth more in terms of dollars to a club simply because someone has decided in terms of points he is worth less than the older player?
I don't believe it can work as a system because the two district leagues are unable to develop juniors because any good junior should be encouraged by his club to go and play under 18 football in Bendigo and then they are relying on goodwill for the kid to come back to the district club.
The idea like i said is a noble one, but in terms of implementation i believe the bendigo region is a nightmare to try and make this work.
However it is a topic worthy of discussion.
Points system does not work. I am originally from Central Murray Footy League and it is a perfect of example of how it does not work. The rich and strong clubs are getting stronger and the weaker and poorer are getting weaker. The gap is widening. The rich clubs target one or 2 of the best players from the other teams in the comp (worth max points) offer them ridiculous amounts that the weak club cannot match. They then go further away from the league and offer gun players (worth less points ridiculous amounts of money to travel to come and play. Balranald and even Tooleybuc to a lesser extent are examples of this
Ahh thanks for that information, I am being told as we speak that Wandella is coached by Wilson ex Miti, and that would make sense as it is an ex miti boy standing here telling me that Inglewood played well, but in saying that are Wandella any sought of team to compare against. Where the heck is it anyway? They must be all right to attract Wilson there to coach, any reports on how Newbridge went in their practice match?
Thanks for that. Ash WILSON, i believe was attracted to Wandella by a few ex kerang boys that are out there now. Think he might have neen assistant coach at Kerang 3 or so years ago with Shaun Filo. Dont know that Wandella are as strong as last year, have lost quite a few good players. GRFL wouldnt be near as strong as the LVFL, so i hope the hit out against them was a good one for Inglewood?
timebomb
2 Apr 2008, 00:29
Honestly don't believe that a points based system can work not only in the LVFL but the three leagues in the Bendigo district.
The idea like i said is a noble one, but in terms of implementation i believe the bendigo region is a nightmare to try and make this work.
So Frankefurter what do you think of the idea of paying the under 17's a match payment to get them there to play. I didnt realise that Calivil did that. Do any other clubs inthe league currently pay there under 17's and what do others think of this idea, is it the answer to the problem or just creating another problem?
dropthesirenAcky
2 Apr 2008, 06:39
I suggest the "Player Points System" .
I tend to agree mate , but maybe petrol vouchers for mum or dad might be the answer , after all they are the ones out of pocket . Also I like your Idea of the point system . But what happens if it is adopted by all leagues ? it still doesn't solve the shortage of players .
Frankenfurter
2 Apr 2008, 09:40
So Frankefurter what do you think of the idea of paying the under 17's a match payment to get them there to play. I didnt realise that Calivil did that. Do any other clubs inthe league currently pay there under 17's and what do others think of this idea, is it the answer to the problem or just creating another problem?
I don't think it's a sustainable way to attract juniors to your club, your better off trying to get kids to bring their mates along, sounds simple but i reckon kids want to play with mates and don't really care where they play at times.
I thought Calivil ran a mini bus to training and maybe games as well for the bendigo based kids to try and help recruit players. I believe good players would want to play under 17 football at Calivil because if good enough they will be given a game in the seniors, which is more than they can get at all other clubs.
I think with the right coach and the right support from committees all clubs within the LVFL should be able to put together a junior side and if they don't it doesn't come down to not enough kids or locals it comes down to a problem with that club. As harsh as that may sound
GG Rides Again
2 Apr 2008, 10:58
However it is a topic worthy of discussion.[/quote]
The idea of the points system is to make the club work harder to develop their local talent. I have seen it in operation in the MPFL and every local player who continues to play with the club is minimum points. I think the points system isnt just about players but also makes the club focus on social gatherings, community involvement and the reputation of their club in gaining the services of juniors whose parents want to know they are being looked after.
The points system as per any system ( salary cap) can be cheated against but I dont think the system is solely based on players and performance on the ladder of the team. Everyone knows footy runs in cycles and if you have a great club, committee, playing group and social atmosphere people will be attrracted to the club. How many clubs in the LVFL could afford to pay 4 quality players $500-800 a game because realistically thats what you are competeing against at the moment with HDFL, the BFL and even other leagues from further afield.
I strongly believe the points system would work.
Frankenfurter
2 Apr 2008, 11:32
The idea of the points system is to make the club work harder to develop their local talent. I have seen it in operation in the MPFL and every local player who continues to play with the club is minimum points. I think the points system isnt just about players but also makes the club focus on social gatherings, community involvement and the reputation of their club in gaining the services of juniors whose parents want to know they are being looked after.
The points system as per any system ( salary cap) can be cheated against but I dont think the system is solely based on players and performance on the ladder of the team. Everyone knows footy runs in cycles and if you have a great club, committee, playing group and social atmosphere people will be attrracted to the club. How many clubs in the LVFL could afford to pay 4 quality players $500-800 a game because realistically thats what you are competeing against at the moment with HDFL, the BFL and even other leagues from further afield.
I strongly believe the points system would work.[/quote]
How many district clubs (HDFL and LVFL) can develop local talent when the only step up from under 17's is senior football? The kids have the chance to go in to the BFL to play under 18's (and are heavily recruited by Sandhurst, Kangaroo Flat but that's another story) it's extremely difficult to recruit these kids back to your club after they have been to another club? Does a club then get penalised from a points perspective because the player has played at another club in the BFL?
The other big killer is kids leaving the bendigo district to go to uni or to chase work which in turns means they may not play at the club of their choice.
Regardless of a points system clubs are always going to face issues with paying players, that cannot be avoided but introducing a forced cap with points isn't going to help the weaker clubs in the league.
timebomb
2 Apr 2008, 14:45
I am with Frankenfurter on this one, but still would like some more answers from others on what can be done to recruit more kids to the junior comp, the idea of running a mini bus out to training is a great idea, petrol vouchers for the folks another great idea, what about free entry into the ground for the parents of a junior footy/netballer, upon presentation of a card, you would still make money on them at the canteen.
This is something Huntly have introduced this year and others in the HDFL are following this trend. Rather than them getting dropped offf at the gate, and getting no entry money and no canteen money they are bringing all the family to the games and making the money back at the canteen, plus some parents are now involving themselves in the club and helping out.
Think about how much it must cost to play footy, boots and gear $150 (and that on a tight budget), club membership at least $50 a single, or $100 a family??? maybe. Petrol to games from say Bendigo would vary but allow $30, it mite even its self out a bit. Gate entry $8 plus elvee $2 plus raffle $2. Lunch and drinks, $20. thats a fair bit of dosh, I personally would not have a problem with it, and would sell my grand ma for the kids to be able to play, but not everyone is so inlove with the game.
Anyone got anymore idea on how to get the kids.
BiG rIcK
2 Apr 2008, 15:49
Calivil dont and never have paid any kids to play footy out there
I agree...LVFL footy is an expensive option for kids living in Bendigo....however....there are many benefits.
1. as much as some may not agree...but in general, LVFL clubs treat their U17's as a part of the club....unlike, in Bendigo, where Junior clubs and seniors clubs do not have good relationships. Senior clubs are not interested in their kids until they can play senior footy....or fill short numbers in the 18's. I bet if you asked members of the BFL clubs, who the coaches are for their local junior team..they would have no idea.
2. There is a community atmosphere in the LVFL. This doesn't exist in the BJFL. In the BJFL, kids play their game...then go straight home.
3. Footy draws are done in advance - home games are played "at home"....kids know that they will play every Saturday at 11.00am. Whereas, the BJFL play either Saturday or Sunday with no home games. The BJFL (through no fault of their own) can not prepare draws for the whole season, before the season commences.
4. Under 17 coaches are usually ex-footballers, or are clubmen. There are many many coaches in the BJFL that are not ....um....suitable....
In regard to U 17 payments......No club in the LVFL pays U 17 players. However, in 2007, some parents from Inglewood, donated $10 each to kids from Eaglehawk that played on permit to assist with player shortages. The $10 was to help cover costs.
other benefits of LVFL U 17 footy include.
5. BJFL players get to play on whatever footy ovals are available (usually shabby ovals)...2006 & 2007 the seasons were delayed due to not enough ovals in suitable condition.....whereas, LVFL communites realise the importance of their local footy community...the 2007 LVFL season was not delayed...some ovals, specifically Mitiamo were in fantastic condition.
6. Rego fees in the BJFL are minimum $100.
7. The opportunity to play interleague (U15 & U17's) is much easier than the BJFL.
8. A day trip every second Saturday for the footy season. Many Bendigo kids enjoy this about the LVFL.
9. LVFL U 17's have better access to qualified trainers.
10. LVFL U17's have a good opportunity to get to know senior and reserve players. Many train together at times. This creates a good pathway for junior footballers, to senior football.
Surely there are other good points aswell.
timebomb
2 Apr 2008, 22:56
Bravo Bill, anyone else who can see the positives, great point of view.
KevinSheedyismad
3 Apr 2008, 12:02
Some great ideas. Really like minibus, petrol vouchers, free entry for U17 players and maybe parents.
What about each U17 side being able to play 3 or 4 over age players. This would help keep 18 year old players that are not quite ready for senior football at their LVFL club as well as help make up the numbers.
In regards to Frankenfurter's question:
"Does a club then get penalised from a points perspective because the player has played at another club in the BFL?
My understanding would be that if a player returns to his home LVFL club following a year in the U18's in the BFL he would return as a one point player. i.e no penalty.
I suppose that situation highlights the need for any such system to be tinkered with to ensure it meets the leagues needs.
Frankenfurter
3 Apr 2008, 17:09
Some great ideas. Really like minibus, petrol vouchers, free entry for U17 players and maybe parents.
What about each U17 side being able to play 3 or 4 over age players. This would help keep 18 year old players that are not quite ready for senior football at their LVFL club as well as help make up the numbers.
In regards to Frankenfurter's question:
"Does a club then get penalised from a points perspective because the player has played at another club in the BFL?
My understanding would be that if a player returns to his home LVFL club following a year in the U18's in the BFL he would return as a one point player. i.e no penalty.
I suppose that situation highlights the need for any such system to be tinkered with to ensure it meets the leagues needs.
If a points system is the desired way to go for the VCFL then it need implementation across all leagues and districts rather than haphazardly being embraced by individual leagues.
I think the overage solution has a great deal of merit to it and would help clubs that may struggle with numbers at times.
Any final practice matches for clubs this weekend?
Bridgewater play Nth Bendigo (at Nth) on Saturday
Made4September
4 Apr 2008, 09:54
Newbridge are taking on St Arnaud i think i read a few pages back. Can anyone confirm?
timebomb
4 Apr 2008, 10:31
Any final practice matches for clubs this weekend?
Bridgewater play Nth Bendigo (at Nth) on Saturday
Loring, you better bring your best game Saturday. Looks like my last chance to let you know how crap you are, and how good my team is.
:p:p:p
FlyingDucks
4 Apr 2008, 11:20
An 18 year old kid who is not ready for seniors should be playing reserves. At the better clubs using last years examples Calivil and Newbridge, players would be part of a system then when and if they are ready they would get the chance to play in the senior team.
Playing another year of u17 football is not going to teach them anything, they will get over inflated egos which most kids have already now as they will more than likely be taller and stronger and need to play against men.
A kid at 15,16 or 17 who is good enough should be playing senior footy anyway, like Smith from Calivil.
A kid at 18 plays reserves or becomes a trainer or club person if they are no good enough and want to stay involved.
FlyingDucks
4 Apr 2008, 11:21
Newbridge are taking on St Arnaud i think i read a few pages back. Can anyone confirm?
Checked their website, they do play at home v St Arnaud tomorrow. Played Sea Lake last weekend.
Some great ideas. Really like minibus...
Some brilliant ideas. I know if Marong had a minibus it would be filled by the tight ar$e uni students instead of the U/17 though.
I would be good if we could have some of these ideas implemented on a league level rather than club level. I know when Marong struggled for Juniors just a few years ago the committee had to become very created, enthusiastic and determined to fill a U/17 side each week which has now paid off.
Good luck to all clubs finding the players.
KevinSheedyismad
4 Apr 2008, 15:11
An 18 year old kid who is not ready for seniors should be playing reserves. At the better clubs using last years examples Calivil and Newbridge, players would be part of a system then when and if they are ready they would get the chance to play in the senior team.
Playing another year of u17 football is not going to teach them anything, they will get over inflated egos which most kids have already now as they will more than likely be taller and stronger and need to play against men.
A kid at 15,16 or 17 who is good enough should be playing senior footy anyway, like Smith from Calivil.
A kid at 18 plays reserves or becomes a trainer or club person if they are no good enough and want to stay involved.
This is all hypothetical but anyway let's thrash it out.
The option to play over-aged players would only be available to those clubs that could substaniate a short fall in numbers. You could predict that these sides would be in the bottom half of the ladder and as such an injection of 3 older kids would make the side a little more competitive however not so much that they dominate the comp.
Of course the primary benefit is the 3 kids stay at the club and you would think be more likely to play on with their home club in future years.
The 3 over -age kids that did play would most likely not be the most talented out of last years side as you would think the most talented would go through and play seniors or perhaps a mix of seniors and reserves in LVFL. Hence the most talented player would infact continue on playing at a level that challenges them and develops their game.
Conversly the over-aged players selected to stay in U17 would be more likely to be players that have not developed the skills to make senior or reserve level footy but could do with another year in the under age level to develop their game. So it becomes both a means to make up numbers but also develop your juniors.
There is also an arguement to kids born in the second half of the year struggle (particularly at representative level) when compared to kids born in the first half of the year. At the ages of 16,17 & 18, 6 months in age can make a pretty big difference. Maybe you could make a rule that the kids staying back are born in the second half of the year and therefore less likely to be a standout when playing back in U17's.
In regards to Smith from Calivil - every now and then one pops up that can really play. Of course they will go onto play senior footy - they are good enough. Ironically, you could argue that for this kid to reach his potential he would actually be better off playing BFL U18's then BFL seniors. But that is another arguement.
Finally, from my experience most 18 year old kids involved in footy want to play footy not be a trainer or club person. Shouldn't we give then every opportunity to do so? Just my opinion.
Junky Bish
4 Apr 2008, 16:11
See on www.centralvicfooty.com.au (http://www.centralvicfooty.com.au) they reckon that Newbridge can still be amongst the top teams of the LV they are doing Marongs next. What do guys think can Newbridge can win losing Lakey, Giri and that?
I tend to disagree with the prediction in this article.
The losses at this stage outweigh the recruits they have gained over summer.
I would say they will finish around 3rd or 4th.
madsnake
4 Apr 2008, 17:53
never even heard of that site, pretty good though, newbridgewill be alright!
investor
6 Apr 2008, 08:50
any results from practice matches on weekend, did hear nth bgo beat bridgy by 5 goals, boort over pyramid 4 goals, any others.
St Arnaud by plenty over Newbridge apparently..
Phar_Lap
6 Apr 2008, 13:47
St Arnaud by plenty over Newbridge apparently..
yeah i think it was about 6-7 goals in the end.
MasterOfRoc
6 Apr 2008, 13:50
15-9-99 def Newbridge 6-8-44
Solyom 8 goals
Not that i was counting ;)
Phar_Lap
6 Apr 2008, 13:54
15-9-99 def Newbridge 6-8-44
Solyom 8 goals
Not that i was counting ;)
i was close!! haha newridge reserves and juniors easily defeated st arnaud in their respective matches!
any results from practice matches on weekend, did hear nth bgo beat bridgy by 5 goals, boort over pyramid 4 goals, any others.
Is it true that the Bridgewater v North Bendigo game had a few brawls?
timebomb
6 Apr 2008, 18:21
Is it true that the Bridgewater v North Bendigo game had a few brawls?
YEP!!!:cool:
blown budget
6 Apr 2008, 18:37
mitiamo lost to cohuna by 4 or 5 goals
A pretty good hit out for Bridgewater.
Had a couple of first gamers playing and were also missing Andrew Ferguson, Lucas Ruedin, Pat Miceli, Justin Symonds and the two Millard's.
Two big forwards in Poyner and Clutton took some strong grabs.
Pretty scrappy game and as predicted, there were a few fights in both seniors and reserves.
A pretty good hit out for Bridgewater.
Had a couple of first gamers playing and were also missing Andrew Ferguson, Lucas Ruedin, Pat Miceli, Justin Symonds and the two Millard's.
Two big forwards in Poyner and Clutton took some strong grabs.
Pretty scrappy game and as predicted, there were a few fights in both seniors and reserves.
I didn't play either B-Boy! Can't forget the seasoned veteran? just had a quiet run in the seconds to find my feet, so i'm ready for round 1 :cool:
Marong played White Hills on Saturday going down by 7 or 8 goals. Still missing 8 senior players which didn't help. The seconds was a similar story.
How are clubs going for numbers? Marong currently has 61 players on their list with a few more sure to come out of the wood work over the next couple of weeks. Pretty good numbers in the U17's as well with 22.
I didn't play either B-Boy! Can't forget the seasoned veteran? just had a quiet run in the seconds to find my feet, so i'm ready for round 1 :cool:
Yeah, I heard you were starting all the fights in the twos! haha.
Cherry ripe for Saturday hey? :)
Heresay McGossip
8 Apr 2008, 10:06
Who has been playing well in the practice matches for each club heading in to round 1?
LVFLfollower
8 Apr 2008, 12:20
Speaking with a few Miti boys over the past few days and they are setting their sights fairly high for this early in the season. All have spoken about playing deep into the finals & one of them even said "we've just got to knock Calival off in the Grannie" - for a team with a lot of new guys in their side, does anyone else think they might be getting ahead of themselves? :confused:
I don't think it's unreasonable for Mitiamo to set their sights on a grand final. Just missed a spot last year and look to have a better line up this year. That said, they should learn from Newbridge last year and to a certain extent Serp 'reserves' and not get too carried away. There's a fine line between confident and cocky.
Mitiamo needs to keep in the back of their minds:
Serp 2007 Reserves Premiers T-Shirts!
Haha
blown budget
8 Apr 2008, 15:26
the only person who would say that from mitiamo would be Wicks, and no one takes any notice of him anyway cos everyone knows what hes like
timebomb
8 Apr 2008, 18:12
the only person who would say that from mitiamo would be Wicks, and no one takes any notice of him anyway cos everyone knows what hes like
How many grandfinals has Wicksy played in, whats his win and loss ratio. He is obviously loyal to Miti though, as much as he does like to brag, how many years has he played at Miti for and is there a reason he has not been lured to other leagues for bigger money???
It feels like he has been at Miti forever.
Junky Bish
9 Apr 2008, 00:04
How many grandfinals has Wicksy played in, whats his win and loss ratio. He is obviously loyal to Miti though, as much as he does like to brag, how many years has he played at Miti for and is there a reason he has not been lured to other leagues for bigger money???
I think he played in there '99' FLAG and would have gone round when they lost the tight one in wet against Calivil in 03 and from there i reckon he would have played in a few Prelims 04 and 07 spring to mind.
LVFLfollower
9 Apr 2008, 10:55
The heresay around the traps (& i am the first to say i have no actual facts to back this up...) Is that Wicksy generally gets an advance on match payments and usually owes the club games come the end of each season - therefore he has to stay on the next season to repay them and not take offers from other clubs. Weather it's just a good tactic by miti to keep him from straying or just poor finance management from tim who knows - and as much as you miti folk will say it's crap, i have heard this at least a dozen times in the last 3 or so years - from Miti clubmen & people who know wicksy personally.
blown budget
9 Apr 2008, 18:30
im from miti and i have heard that, but whether its true or not i dont know. i see mitch hall and david wood have signed up with bridgewater a couple of good young players there
FlyingDucks
9 Apr 2008, 20:46
This is all hypothetical but anyway let's thrash it out.
The option to play over-aged players would only be available to those clubs that could substaniate a short fall in numbers. You could predict that these sides would be in the bottom half of the ladder and as such an injection of 3 older kids would make the side a little more competitive however not so much that they dominate the comp.
Of course the primary benefit is the 3 kids stay at the club and you would think be more likely to play on with their home club in future years.
The 3 over -age kids that did play would most likely not be the most talented out of last years side as you would think the most talented would go through and play seniors or perhaps a mix of seniors and reserves in LVFL. Hence the most talented player would infact continue on playing at a level that challenges them and develops their game.
Conversly the over-aged players selected to stay in U17 would be more likely to be players that have not developed the skills to make senior or reserve level footy but could do with another year in the under age level to develop their game. So it becomes both a means to make up numbers but also develop your juniors.
There is also an arguement to kids born in the second half of the year struggle (particularly at representative level) when compared to kids born in the first half of the year. At the ages of 16,17 & 18, 6 months in age can make a pretty big difference. Maybe you could make a rule that the kids staying back are born in the second half of the year and therefore less likely to be a standout when playing back in U17's.
In regards to Smith from Calivil - every now and then one pops up that can really play. Of course they will go onto play senior footy - they are good enough. Ironically, you could argue that for this kid to reach his potential he would actually be better off playing BFL U18's then BFL seniors. But that is another arguement.
Finally, from my experience most 18 year old kids involved in footy want to play footy not be a trainer or club person. Shouldn't we give then every opportunity to do so? Just my opinion.
It is Under 17's, if they are 18 they are too old. It is rubbish to be allowed to have a few overage players lets move on.
As for this season. Mitiamo and Calivil are clear favourites for mine. Newbridge have not replaced any of their players so fifth might be the best they can hope for.
Miti, Calivil, Bridgey are clear three. Marong may well improve enough to get into finals we will see. YCW, Inglewood and Serp may not be much chop this season. Pyramid would fight for the bottom two spots in the five.
Vitalogy
9 Apr 2008, 21:49
Tips for this w/e?
Seniors/ressys.
BiG rIcK
9 Apr 2008, 22:00
Tips for this w/e?
Seniors/ressys.
Seniors: P/Hill 40 points, Bridgy 10 goals, Miti 5 goals, N/Bridge 10 goals+
Reserves: P/Hill, Bridgy, Miti, N/Bridge
blown budget
9 Apr 2008, 22:07