View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
timebomb
10 May 2008, 23:54
Calivil United 19.15 (129) v Inglewood 9.12 (66)
Bears Lagoon Serpentine 14.12 (96) v Mitiamo 17.10 (112)
Pyramid Hill 22.12 (144) v Newbridge 6.7 (43)
Marong 25.8 (158) v YCW 13.10 (88)
Seeings i had the week off i wandered out to see the Serp v Miti game, and wasnt disappointed, it was a ripper, very physical encounter, Miti needed this win. I see the hill flogged Newbridge. What happened there, anyone watch that game? I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.
jack 01
11 May 2008, 10:33
Seeings i had the week off i wandered out to see the Serp v Miti game, and wasnt disappointed, it was a ripper, very physical encounter, Miti needed this win. I see the hill flogged Newbridge. What happened there, anyone watch that game? I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.heard last night that a 2s bloke from newbridge was cleaned up by one of his own team mates and knocked out ,and taken away in a meat wagon ? who was it ? is he ok?
Phar_Lap
11 May 2008, 14:27
heard last night that a 2s bloke from newbridge was cleaned up by one of his own team mates and knocked out ,and taken away in a meat wagon ? who was it ? is he ok?
that was luke kennedy who got knocked out from a accidental knee from a team-mate! he didnt get taken away in ambulance, he was fine just a bit sore. the ambulance had another newbridge 2's player who did his shoulder.
chris judd69
11 May 2008, 17:13
that was luke kennedy who got knocked out from a accidental knee from a team-mate! he didnt get taken away in ambulance, he was fine just a bit sore. the ambulance had another newbridge 2's player who did his shoulder.
hahaha wat a dick
Hellboy
11 May 2008, 19:36
Seeings i had the week off i wandered out to see the Serp v Miti game, and wasnt disappointed, it was a ripper, very physical encounter, Miti needed this win. I see the hill flogged Newbridge. What happened there, anyone watch that game? I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.
This bloke probably saved YCW from being beaten by 20 goals.
Marong have suffered a few key injuries over the last few weeks. The list includes:Adam Rout - hand Dallas Pedretti - ribs Charlie Thompson - knee Xavier Thompson - neck Jarryd Morehouse - knee.
Marong have not finished recruiting yet with the possible signing of another key midfielder this week.
madsnake
11 May 2008, 20:34
hahaha wat a dick
oh yea, good coment u bloody drongo!!!!!!!!!!
timebomb
11 May 2008, 22:17
hellboy, who were Marongs best on Saturday? I heard Jones was good up forward, gave the young kid Peraz a whopping. where did yc pull kenny Zudeman from, anyone know his history?
I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.
The sad thing was....Kenny starred in the last quarter only.......He sat on the bench for a big part of the game. Jake Concol (LVFL U 17 B & F for the previous 2 years) named in centre, but spent no more than 20 minutes on the ground.
timebomb
12 May 2008, 13:12
The sad thing was....Kenny starred in the last quarter only.......He sat on the bench for a big part of the game. Jake Concol (LVFL U 17 B & F for the previous 2 years) named in centre, but spent no more than 20 minutes on the ground.
So can you explain the reasoning behind this?
I know that they are not injured, and they are both committed at training.
On The Money
12 May 2008, 13:22
Pyramid are flying at present setting up their season nicely what are peoples thoughts can they win it?
Check out Calivil Forward Leigh Haw's thoughts on saturdays game on the centralvicfooty site.
nesko_25
12 May 2008, 15:24
Pyramid are flying at present setting up their season nicely what are peoples thoughts can they win it?
Check out Calivil Forward Leigh Haw's thoughts on saturdays game on the centralvicfooty site.
Happy birthday OTM
investor
12 May 2008, 16:29
don't start talking about the hill now, nothing been said about them to this moment, lets keep it that way :thumbsu:. how's me mate going over there OTM.
Inglewood U 17's copped another humiliating thrashing (over 40 goals), this time by Calival......... I'm not sure where the joy is for the Calival's coach / manager etc......you'd think iin junior footy they'd at least offer Inglewood a few good Calival players for the day, to create a contest. But instead, they'd prefer to humiliate and degrade a heep of 13 year olds. It's no wonder some kids are turned away from footy. I
Couldn't agree more.. Apparently Calivil did get Inglewood its bench players, but still, who gets anything out of it other than teams having a massive %
Frankenfurter
13 May 2008, 17:09
the league needs to look at increasing the age bracket, plain and simple.
I remember when the age division was increased from U16 to U17......all this did was delay the problem for another year. The answer is not as simple as this.
In the short term, junior coaches need to show some sportsmanship.
Frankenfurter
13 May 2008, 17:30
I remember when the age division was increased from U16 to U17......all this did was delay the problem for another year. The answer is not as simple as this.
In the short term, junior coaches need to show some sportsmanship.
it gives you a hell of a lot more players to pick from, means that sides aren't relying on 12 - 13 year old kids to fill the side.
You end up with more top age players than bottom age players which will hopefully ensure that flogging don't occur like they do at the moment. The VCFL have a list of over 100 kids that miss out on a game of football from the BJFL under 16.5 and those kids who miss out on BFL under 18's who would then fit into the LVFL. It would then be up to the clubs to try to get these kids back playing football which is what the league should be about, giving kids the chance to play football for as long as they can.
League is shortsighted beyond belief believing these 12 - 13 year old kids should be playing under 17 football and by increasing the age to under 18 you put these younger kids in harms way. THEY SHOULDN'T BE PLAYING KIDS THAT ARE 12 - 13 YEARS OLD IN UNDER 17 FOOTBALL TO START WITH.
Have a combined LVFL side from under 12 upwards in the BJFL giving the younger kids somewhere to play and develop their games. Does them no favours sitting in a forward pocket running away from the contest for 2 - 3 years as 16 - 17 year old kids run after the footy.
The best thing about it is the way these older kids do look after the younger kids ensuring they don't hurt them or keep them out of harm's way.
FlyingDucks
13 May 2008, 20:20
Maybe Inglewood football club is at a crossroads across the board and needs to do something to survive.
I watched the senior team play Marong and they were very ordinary at times. Rocky Morris is a very good player didnt have a lot else.
I have always wondered how two clubs Bridgey and Inglewood have survived being such close towns together. Maybe the future is a merger.
Changing age brackets is not going to change anything as the young kids are not in Inglewood so they would not improve. It is important to keep the age limit at Under 17 and any kids 13 or younger should play elsewhere until they are old enough to play Under 17 football.
timebomb
13 May 2008, 23:12
Maybe Inglewood football club is at a crossroads across the board and needs to do something to survive.
I watched the senior team play Marong and they were very ordinary at times. Rocky Morris is a very good player didnt have a lot else.
I have always wondered how two clubs Bridgey and Inglewood have survived being such close towns together. Maybe the future is a merger.
Changing age brackets is not going to change anything as the young kids are not in Inglewood so they would not improve. It is important to keep the age limit at Under 17 and any kids 13 or younger should play elsewhere until they are old enough to play Under 17 football.
Surely the league has an age requirement to play in the under 17 comp, i wouldnt let my boy play against fellas that are 16 and 17. I agree that you are not teaching them anything, they would be better off playing in their own age group until 14 or 15. You have to wonder what insurance company would cover a kid of 12 playing in an under 17 comp, doesnt make sense. I agaree that a LVFL team would be great playing in the BJFL comp, now some body needs to organise it for next season.
What was the go with Marongs ground getting ripped up by some yobbo in his chariot, the netball courts have got a fair bit of rubber on them too apparently. Hope they caught him?
Frankenfurter
14 May 2008, 10:19
Surely the league has an age requirement to play in the under 17 comp, i wouldnt let my boy play against fellas that are 16 and 17. I agree that you are not teaching them anything, they would be better off playing in their own age group until 14 or 15. You have to wonder what insurance company would cover a kid of 12 playing in an under 17 comp, doesnt make sense. I agaree that a LVFL team would be great playing in the BJFL comp, now some body needs to organise it for next season.
What was the go with Marongs ground getting ripped up by some yobbo in his chariot, the netball courts have got a fair bit of rubber on them too apparently. Hope they caught him?
no minimum age for playing under 17 football. People at league level have the antiquated idea that is good for the kids to play under 17 football as soon as they are 12 - 13 because that is what they did when they were kids back in the 70's and the kids want to play and they are short of numbers so rather than look at lifting the age limit to capture these players they find it better to basically lower the standard by playing these young kids.
Let's face facts, at the moment the LVFL is clearly the third league in and around bendigo below BFL and HDFL, why not try to strengthen the entire league by creating a clearer pathway for players to graduate from junior football to senior football by allowing them an extra season in the juniors at a club.
Will this automatically solve a club's problem with putting a side on the park, no of course it won't that takes a club thinking outside the square and trying things. Will it make the LVFL better? Maybe but it sure as hell won't hurt the league.
Yes, some of the "old heads" involved in the lvfl do not like change and show no flexibility....
Why not invite the bjfl clubs and bjfl to schedule a few Under 13.5 games to be played before the 17's, on lvfl ovals. This would work for the clubs close to bendigo. It may help to create a recruiting base.
Inglewood / Bridgey could put a combined U 13.5 team in the bjfl....Calival have an U 12 team in the bjfl.
The Gun Recruit
14 May 2008, 16:50
Maybe your future is the nut house - Inglewood and Bridgewater are the last two teams on earth that would merge. The oldest and biggest rivalry in the league.
What do you mean 'need to do something to survive'. How bout going from 51 consecutive defeats at an average of well over 100 points to a competitive side who won 4 games last year and lost another 4 by a combined total of 20 points?
Credit to the people and players of Inglewood who kept the club going and developed a platform for future success.
Carn the Blues.:D
Frankenfurter
14 May 2008, 17:11
Maybe your future is the nut house - Inglewood and Bridgewater are the last two teams on earth that would merge. The oldest and biggest rivalry in the league.
What do you mean 'need to do something to survive'. How bout going from 51 consecutive defeats at an average of well over 100 points to a competitive side who won 4 games last year and lost another 4 by a combined total of 20 points?
Credit to the people and players of Inglewood who kept the club going and developed a platform for future success.
Carn the Blues.:D
Mate, Inglewood are about stuffed. Ground is stuffed, president lasted five minutes before he bolted and after an encouraging win first up they are getting belted again week after week. It's been happening for the past 5 years can't really expect it to survive if they keep battling like they have.
You can hate Bridgewater as much as you want, but it may come down to two choices, merge and have half a footy side to support or fold and let over 120 years of history become just that, history.
Give credit where it is due, they have improved the side, but the club as a whole is about stuffed. Can't get a thirds side together and they get flogged, the twos get flogged and the seniors are struggling as well. How long do you think they can last doing that?
Mate, Inglewood are about stuffed. Ground is stuffed, president lasted five minutes before he bolted and after an encouraging win first up they are getting belted again week after week. It's been happening for the past 5 years can't really expect it to survive if they keep battling like they have.
You can hate Bridgewater as much as you want, but it may come down to two choices, merge and have half a footy side to support or fold and let over 120 years of history become just that, history.
Give credit where it is due, they have improved the side, but the club as a whole is about stuffed. Can't get a thirds side together and they get flogged, the twos get flogged and the seniors are struggling as well. How long do you think they can last doing that?
I think that's a bit harsh........."the President that walked".......work commitments didn't allow the President to do what was required...there are heaps of clubs with stuffed surfaces.....
Inglewood has a strong committee, netballers are performing well in all grades...they have good amenites...........and I'm unsure of their finances...
There's much more that determines the continuation of a club......much more than how the footballers are performing.
Hellboy
15 May 2008, 08:52
Without going in to too much detail, the idiot responsible is known and the issue in the hands of the police. Proving he did it is difficult. If the police can't do anything, there are plenty of pissed of footballers who are more than willing to 'fix it'.
[quote=The Gun Recruit;11007869]Maybe your future is the nut house - Inglewood and Bridgewater are the last two teams on earth that would merge. The oldest and biggest rivalry in the league.
Im not having a crack at you Gunner, but unfortunately this is the ignorance shown by die hard supporter. Many clubs have folded because they were to pig headed to merge. Other clubs have decided to merge with another club ehich defies practicality.
An example of this is the Nullawil v Culgoa debate. These are 2 towns 17kms apart, very small communties, but a huge sporting rivalry. Unfortunately Culgoa went on the way side, and decided to merge with Berriwillock. Berri-Culgoa had some fantastic eras in the Mallee league, but unfortunately with the drought and dwindling population, the club merged again with sea-lake. These days Sea Lake- Nandaly-Berri-Culgoa, is just reffered to as Sea Lake and the fantastic Culgoa ground gets used 1 time during the year. In hindsite it with have being economically viable for Culgoa to Join Nully but because of ignorance and pig headiness, Culgoa as a town is getting smaller by the minute.
So sometimes towns need to nip things in the bud and listen to their head and not with their heart................
Frankenfurter
15 May 2008, 11:01
I think that's a bit harsh........."the President that walked".......work commitments didn't allow the President to do what was required...there are heaps of clubs with stuffed surfaces.....
Inglewood has a strong committee, netballers are performing well in all grades...they have good amenites...........and I'm unsure of their finances...
There's much more that determines the continuation of a club......much more than how the footballers are performing.
look i don't know the in's and out's of why he left, at the end of the day the majority of income generated through sponsorship and gate takings and ensuring a viable club is generated by the football club, if your football side is in the situation that Inglewood is in, it costs more to recruit players because it's harder to convince them to play for a struggling club. It's harder to get non inglewood supporters to the game because no one wants to go see a team get belted.
If you look at any of the clubs that have merged / folded / gone into recess the reason why is because of no success on the football field. It drives the entire club.
The post isn't about belting Inglewood about the ears, but if they believe the club is in good shape then i would hate to see a club in a bad state.
MickGatto
15 May 2008, 14:01
bit of a set back for shannon hayes big footy posters... the dynamic ruckman has been eaten by a bear...he's dead
The Gun Recruit
15 May 2008, 15:29
The post isn't about belting Inglewood about the ears, but if they believe the club is in good shape then i would hate to see a club in a bad state.
I call season 2004 being in a bad state. I call everything that has happened since then steady improvement. :thumbsu: There are a few clubs around the traps heading the opposite way.:thumbsd:
IFC Forever :D
BiG rIcK
15 May 2008, 15:35
I call season 2004 being in a bad state. I call everything that has happened since then steady improvement. :thumbsu: There are a few clubs around the traps heading the opposite way.:thumbsd:
And those clubs would be????
Frankenfurter
15 May 2008, 15:44
after it's all said and done the LVFL is a better league with Inglewood in it, because of their history and location in terms of the rest of the league. The eveness of the league however isn't because the weaker sides have become stronger but the stronger sides have become weaker.
The Gun Recruit
15 May 2008, 16:22
after it's all said and done the LVFL is a better league with Inglewood in it, because of their history and location in terms of the rest of the league. The eveness of the league however isn't because the weaker sides have become stronger but the stronger sides have become weaker.
It has been a combination of the two.
Been a more exciting league over the last two years even if the standard of the best may have slipped.
The Gun Recruit
15 May 2008, 16:25
And those clubs would be????
Melbourne for one;)
LVFLfollower
15 May 2008, 16:32
I don't like weighing in on these arguments because no-one likes talking about losing a team from their competition - But if Inglewood weren't in existence, i can't imagine me ever thinking "Damn i wish Inglewood were still in the league, they were so well located and brought so much History to the league." The harsh reality is the Inglewoods, dunolly's and huntly's of the world will battle more and more until one day it gets too much for the community/committee/playing group that has been there for years and they will go into recess and fall off the face of the earth, this is an UNFORTUNATE REALISM of Footy. Fingers crossed the communities can prove me wrong, but if any 3 of those teams were around in 10yrs time it would be a miracle.
Frankenfurter
15 May 2008, 16:45
I don't like weighing in on these arguments because no-one likes talking about losing a team from their competition - But if Inglewood weren't in existence, i can't imagine me ever thinking "Damn i wish Inglewood were still in the league, they were so well located and brought so much History to the league." The harsh reality is the Inglewoods, dunolly's and huntly's of the world will battle more and more until one day it gets too much for the community/committee/playing group that has been there for years and they will go into recess and fall off the face of the earth, this is an UNFORTUNATE REALISM of Footy. Fingers crossed the communities can prove me wrong, but if any 3 of those teams were around in 10yrs time it would be a miracle.
i agree with what you are saying. It would be disappointing at the time they went under but your right 3 - 5 years later it would be like Korong Vale and Yarrawalla nothing but a memory.
The Gun Recruit
15 May 2008, 17:42
The point is Inglewood has struggled less in the past 2 seasons. As a LVFL follower you probably should have picked up on that?
Don't pity Inglewood - Fear them - the 2018 premiers!:)
Hellboy
16 May 2008, 17:04
Simon Cluff from Elmore signed with Marong last night. Another quality footballer to bolster the already strong midfield.
andypipkin
16 May 2008, 18:22
pretty sure cluffy is a forward isnt he?? not to sure about huntly not being aroun in ten years. the area is growing by the year, so new opportunityies will present. not sure you can make a statement like that LVFL without knowing the internal structure at the club
chris judd69
16 May 2008, 19:19
my tips for round 6
p/hill by 17 points
calivil by 89 points
marong by 18 points
and bridgy by 50 points
FlyingDucks
16 May 2008, 20:05
Exactly I agree and is what I said about the future, the juniors are stuffed. Some people dont read before posting.
Also the coach is well hated and plays blokes in the team after training once or for half an hour here and there.
One particular player who stuck around during the hard times has been shafted big time and is now playing twos, and played most of his life for the club and spent time on the committee and lead the club.
timebomb
16 May 2008, 21:08
my tips for this week
miti by 2 points
calivil by 4 goals
marong by 15 points
bridgy by a mallee mile
any reports yet from the first 5 rounds
any reports of shagging or scragging from the shelia's over at the nettie
jhirdy5
17 May 2008, 08:30
my tips for this week
miti by 2 points
calivil by 4 goals
marong by 15 points
bridgy by a mallee mile
any reports yet from the first 5 rounds
any reports of shagging or scragging from the shelia's over at the nettie
my tips are:
pyramid by 12 pts
calivil by 70
marong
bridgy by 4 goals
magic48
17 May 2008, 13:03
My predicition is pain. Pain to the man who has to play on me. I float like a butterfly and sting like a bee, no man can take what i got.
I'd like Bayliss and i to be known as the bash brothers from now on. I'm BB1 and he is BB2
Bombertastic
18 May 2008, 00:24
What the hell has happened to Newbridge this year??? Someone explain this drop in form to me. I haven't been to one of their game this year yet and I can't believe their performance drop from last year.
The Gun Recruit
18 May 2008, 08:42
Nice little win there for the blue baggers, seem to have the 'wood' over Bridgey with three wins in a row.
Not a lot of support from the tipsters?
Inglewood must be the dark horses for the finals I'd reckon. A bye then YCW, then 6 of the last 9 at home. (An ingenious ploy by the club to delay the conditioning of the ground to allow a good run home heading towards the finals)
Carn the Blues!
Nice little win there for the blue baggers, seem to have the 'wood' over Bridgey with three wins in a row.
Inglewood must be the dark horses for the finals I'd reckon. A bye then YCW, then 6 of the last 9 at home. (An ingenious ploy by the club to delay the conditioning of the ground to allow a good run home heading towards the finals)
Carn the Blues!
Will be a fantastic run home for Inglewood getting to play a large number of there remaining games at home..
jhirdy5
18 May 2008, 12:48
Carn the Blues!
yeah well done too inglewood, im one of the tipsters that didnt tip them but happy too be wrong, good on them. hopefully this rain helps their ground. marong had a good win yesty, anyone see miti pyramid game mustve been a ripper
How even is the season... Apart from Pyramid and Serp. 4 points seperating everyone bar YCW...
speccymcgee
18 May 2008, 14:13
heard there was a few reports out of the Newbridge vs Marong game? anyone know who an what happened???
Straight from the loddon valley website:
"Reports: Daniel Holland No. 15 Newbridge reported for bumping or making forceful contact to an opponent from front on. (Contact made with Jayson Wilson No 3 Marong) Marc Waddington No. 5 Marong reported for engaging in rough conduct against an opponent which was unreasonable. (Contact made with Newbridge No 11 Todd Miller)"
blown budget
18 May 2008, 21:34
The miti vs pyramid game was of pretty good standard in the wet. miti was leading by 6 goals at 3qtr time but pryamid came home strong. adrian alford was playing very well for pyramid before doing an injury. so far this year no one has been able to stop haythorpe. will be interesting to see how both haythorpe and eve go in the same team
Kneeless
19 May 2008, 14:49
What the hell has happened to Newbridge this year??? Someone explain this drop in form to me. I haven't been to one of their game this year yet and I can't believe their performance drop from last year.
Newbridge have the laziest forward line I have ever seen. On the weekend the ball would come streaming in through the middle and if a goal wasnt scored straight away it went straight back out. They rely on two old fat guys to mark and kick goals from the pocket - Easiest work I have seen for Marongs back line for a long time.
Kneeless
19 May 2008, 14:53
Straight from the loddon valley website:
"Reports: Daniel Holland No. 15 Newbridge reported for bumping or making forceful contact to an opponent from front on. (Contact made with Jayson Wilson No 3 Marong) Marc Waddington No. 5 Marong reported for engaging in rough conduct against an opponent which was unreasonable. (Contact made with Newbridge No 11 Todd Miller)"
Both these reports were for front on contact. No malice in it just clumsy football from both players. A few scuffles in the twos though - expected.
Carnaborough
20 May 2008, 13:40
Exactly I agree and is what I said about the future, the juniors are stuffed. Some people dont read before posting.
Also the coach is well hated and plays blokes in the team after training once or for half an hour here and there.
One particular player who stuck around during the hard times has been shafted big time and is now playing twos, and played most of his life for the club and spent time on the committee and lead the club.
You must say Gday to CK
richogenius
20 May 2008, 15:50
Have had a crack at sorting out a website for the league and clubs at the following URL after some interest in the local area.
Can be seen at http://loddonvalleyfootball.sportzvault.com/
Would be interested in any feedback - check the ResultsVault menu for match results and ladders from CountryFootyScores.
Have had a crack at sorting out a website for the league and clubs at the following URL after some interest in the local area.
Can be seen at http://loddonvalleyfootball.sportzvault.com/
Would be interested in any feedback - check the ResultsVault menu for match results and ladders from CountryFootyScores.
Not a bad effort richo..
jhirdy5
20 May 2008, 21:31
hey heard a rumour that either inglewood or bridgy had 19 on field the other day and got penalised. i dont know much about it, is there any truth 2 it
nesko_25
20 May 2008, 23:44
hey heard a rumour that either inglewood or bridgy had 19 on field the other day and got penalised. i dont know much about it, is there any truth 2 it
It was bridgy. only lost 2 goals
timebomb
20 May 2008, 23:58
It was bridgy. only lost 2 goals
And the score nesko finished at what, eight points the difference.
Only, only 2 goals, hmmmm. Interesting.
Inglewood 12.10 (82) vBridgewater 11.8 (74)
Carnaborough
21 May 2008, 08:27
I wasnt there but it was only in ther reserves i believe , Inglewood still got thumped
The Desmond
21 May 2008, 15:30
What happened to this league? Since when does Inglewood win a game? Its a crazy world...
nesko_25
21 May 2008, 16:06
Sorry was on the phone to the missus when I was typing. Bridgey was done with 19 on the field and had their score st the time (2 goals) wiped from the score board.
The Desmond
21 May 2008, 23:31
Sorry was on the phone to the missus when I was typing. Bridgey was done with 19 on the field and had their score st the time (2 goals) wiped from the score board.
On the phone to the missus hey? :thumbsu:
blown budget
23 May 2008, 11:33
Wayne Eve is finally making his debut for the superoos! looks fit which is a good sign will be hard to stop. should be a good game marong against mitiamo!
jhirdy5
23 May 2008, 15:23
Wayne Eve is finally making his debut for the superoos! looks fit which is a good sign will be hard to stop. should be a good game marong against mitiamo!
yeah should be a great game here are my tips,
marong just
pyramid by 20 at home
calivil by 30
bridgy by 45
skloddon_8
23 May 2008, 19:22
My tips:
Miti by 7 goals
Pyramid just only because at home
Calival by 10 goals
Bridgy by 9 goals
shortymuir
23 May 2008, 21:18
Rumours that nth bendigo ruckman of 07 heath ilsley might be to leaving p/hill to come back to nth.
can anybody confirm this??
Hellboy
23 May 2008, 21:45
Not so sure about that. Miti seem to be getting close to full strength while Marong have lost another 3 play makers from last week in Craig Gadsden (groin), Jayson Wilson (neck), and Marc Waddington (suspension). Throw in Adam Rout and Jarryd Morehouse to that list of outs and Marong's depth will be tested. While far from using injuries as an excuse, when coming up against quality opposition these guys could make a significant difference to the result.
timebomb
23 May 2008, 23:04
my tips are :
Miti by 7 goals
Serp by 2 goals
Newbridge in an upset
bridgy of course
skloddon_8
25 May 2008, 17:41
Rumours that nth bendigo ruckman of 07 heath ilsley might be to leaving p/hill to come back to nth.
can anybody confirm this??
reports of wat i've heard cant c y he'd leave the hill wen he seems to be having a good time even tho he only playing 2's
The article below is from todays Bendigo Addy............You have to wonder whether the votes were kept in a secure area....considering that QEO house has been broken into on 3 other occasions in the last 6 months......
BENDIGO'S sports world is reeling following the theft of league best and fairest vote cards from QEO House on Sunday night.
Vote cards from all rounds to date in this season's Bendigo Junior Football League and the Bendigo Netball League were stolen.
The last round of best and fairest vote cards from the Bendigo Senior Football League and the Loddon Valley Football League were also taken.
Central Victorian Football chief executive officer Steven Oliver said the theft was shocking.
"At this stage we just don't know what do to,'' he admitted.
Duplicate cards are never made, and there is no copy of players who received the umpires' votes.
QEO House has been broken into four times in the past six months.
Mr Oliver acknowledged additional security was on its way.
He has contacted the City of Greater Bendigo, which is working with the league to increase security.
Mr Oliver yesterday made a desperate plea for the sealed envelopes to be returned.
"Our job is to collate that information for all the volunteers in the area,'' he said.
"We are just asking for them to be returned.''
Bendigo Junior Football League secretary John Hewitt said the loss was immense.
With 23 clubs, 90 teams, 1700 players and about 36 matches played each weekend, the junior league faces an enormous challenge in determining how to fix the loss of almost 200 sets of voting cards.
Only the under 10s are not given votes.
"Obviously we'll have to try and consider what we might do,'' Mr Hewitt said.
"We can't go back to umpires because they won't be able to remember... it's really disappointing.''
The secretary said the league was faced with abandoning the best and fairest this year, or awarding the medal based on votes from the remainder of the season.
"That's obviously a really hard thing too for the players who have had good games in the matches already played,'' he said.
Mr Hewitt urged for the envelopes to be returned.
"Just please hand them back to some central point, with no questions asked,'' he said.
CVF operations manager Trevor Arnel said the sealed envelopes were in a drawer waiting to be entered into a spreadsheet.
"We're not sure why they took them, whether or not they thought there was money in them, but we really need them back,'' he said.
Anybody with information about the theft is urged to contact Bendigo police on 5448 1300.
timebomb
27 May 2008, 16:09
ok so what happens now, was it just the last round of the LV league, or is it all the rounds? That sucks!!!
betterinthewet
27 May 2008, 21:11
how did marong new recruits ben tuohey & simon cluff go in the 2s sat.seems marong are still recruiting & spending coin
blown budget
28 May 2008, 16:13
They both went better in the second half! after a few games they'll be pretty handy recruits and should go alright
Hellboy
28 May 2008, 16:59
how did marong new recruits ben tuohey & simon cluff go in the 2s sat.seems marong are still recruiting & spending coin
Cluffy might find himself playing with the big boys this week after a pretty good showing last Saturday. Ben Tuohey might need a couple in the 2's to get a bit of match fitness back but it won't be long before he's in the seniors, especially given the mounting injury list.
Marong are most certainly still recruiting, with a BFL midfielder possibly signing shortly. Not a lot of money being spent though.
The Wombat
28 May 2008, 17:32
ok so what happens now, was it just the last round of the LV league, or is it all the rounds? That sucks!!!
Last round and I believe the umpires are digging deep into the memory banks to recall the votes from last weekend.
Gossip Girl
28 May 2008, 17:38
Where is all the coin coming from? Aren't we supposed to have some sort of salary cap? Has this been scrapped because it's been put in the too hard basket for our league. If you have to buy a premiership you club's crazy. Stick with the faithfull & the kids. They are the ones who will be around a lot longer than the "one year wonders" who pick up their coin the pi$$ off & don't give a crap about the club.
skloddon_8
28 May 2008, 22:26
Forums pretty quiet these days have to get a good convo going...
where 7 rounds in and even tho last rounds votes were stolen who do ppl think are polling well in league?...
Seniors?
Reserves?
Colts?
investor
29 May 2008, 08:23
Where is all the coin coming from? Aren't we supposed to have some sort of salary cap? Has this been scrapped because it's been put in the too hard basket for our league. If you have to buy a premiership you club's crazy. Stick with the faithfull & the kids. They are the ones who will be around a lot longer than the "one year wonders" who pick up their coin the pi$$ off & don't give a crap about the club.
thats right, you learning something from previous years, dont tell us you dont spend money, you should have a bit in the kitty with the blokes that left last year. how many premiership players still helping out at yc :confused:
BiG rIcK
29 May 2008, 13:10
thats right, you learning something from previous years, dont tell us you dont spend money, you should have a bit in the kitty with the blokes that left last year. how many premiership players still helping out at yc :confused:
And how many premiership players are there playing at marong????:D
I'm guessing none that played in a senior flag @ Marong.
When did Marong last win a flag????
CHEAP SEATS
29 May 2008, 15:21
Thats a great way to run a football club if your happy finishing fifth or sixs every year. If you are serious about being a flag contender (which should be everyones goal) you need to spend the clubs revinue on players. It sucks but thats just how it is, so theres no point crying about it you just work harder of the feild to raise some money and recuit the right blokes to your club. If you can create the right enviroment you'll find they stick around and at a lower cost.
Or just develop the local tallant so the club doesn't need to pay mega bucks for half a side of rejects and can just recruit one or two good solid match winners and few others to add a bit of class around the edges. then they can offer a bit of the coin to the locals who have hung around..
ROOTA#6
29 May 2008, 16:17
Or just develop the local tallant so the club doesn't need to pay mega bucks for half a side of rejects and can just recruit one or two good solid match winners and few others to add a bit of class around the edges. then they can offer a bit of the coin to the locals who have hung around..
Easier said then done Truck old mate
Hellboy
29 May 2008, 16:56
Narrow mindedness at it's best Gossip Girl!
Hellboy
29 May 2008, 16:57
I'm guessing none that played in a senior flag @ Marong.
When did Marong last win a flag????
Jeebus. I'd want to buy a flag too. :p
So who has the longest "Flag drought" in the LVFL?
Phar_Lap
29 May 2008, 20:46
Forums pretty quiet these days have to get a good convo going...
where 7 rounds in and even tho last rounds votes were stolen who do ppl think are polling well in league?...
Seniors?
Reserves?
Colts?
Seniors? Josh Hutton (B/L Serp)
Reserves?
Colts? Steve Holland, Pat Stokes (Newbridge), Tyler Kekich, Tyler Mitchell (Marong)
The Desmond
29 May 2008, 23:27
Nick Younghusband is looking good to make his debut for the Inglewood ones soon.. Has been playing some very good footy in the U17's and he might just be the spark Inglewood needs! :thumbsu:
Surprised he hasn't been picked yet...
investor
29 May 2008, 23:31
i'm not a marong follower, your club has done well big rick, they have looked after there own, some clubs are not lucky enough to have blokes come home to play thats why they have to spend some $ to attract. :D
Carnaborough
30 May 2008, 08:24
Jeebus. I'd want to buy a flag too. :p
So who has the longest "Flag drought" in the LVFL?
That would have to be Inglewood , they last won flag in 1986
Frankenfurter
30 May 2008, 09:27
That would have to be Inglewood , they last won flag in 1986
Um what about Pyramid Hill? Haven't they only won one flag about 90 years ago?
bloodhound!
30 May 2008, 11:51
I have only been at marong for a short time but from what I have seen they do a fantastic job at developing young talent and have managed to keep a few older local players around the club. This year we have had 3 guys under the age of 18 play seniors and all of them have played well and are developing into excellent footballers. Freddo is a local marong boy, How many other clubs coaches are local? Murray Wearne is a local as are the blandthorns and several others. The fact is the club is rebuilding after a hard few years and they have managed to recruit a good mix of players without spending big money. Everyone who is there is there because they are keen to help the club turn things around and hopefully play finals footy this year and for many years to come. The facts are that no club can survive on locals alone outsiders have to come to the club in order for them to survive let alone be successfull. You do the best you can to develope local talent but at the same time you encourage and support your local talent to be the best that they can be and if that means playing at a higher level then thats great for them and the community and by extension the club having produced that talent. People move on for many different reasons and you cant keep people in one place forever. Anyone who takes a potshot at a club for trying to turn their on field success around is a joke and needs to grow up people like you have no place in country footy because all you do is bring it down and it makes me sick. Marong is not splashing the cash and bleeding themselves dry they are working hard within their means to be the best team and club they can be get off their backs and start encouraging them because its not just good for them but good for the league.
nesko_25
30 May 2008, 14:03
I have only been at marong for a short time but from what I have seen they do a fantastic job at developing young talent and have managed to keep a few older local players around the club. This year we have had 3 guys under the age of 18 play seniors and all of them have played well and are developing into excellent footballers. Freddo is a local marong boy, How many other clubs coaches are local? Murray Wearne is a local as are the blandthorns and several others. The fact is the club is rebuilding after a hard few years and they have managed to recruit a good mix of players without spending big money. Everyone who is there is there because they are keen to help the club turn things around and hopefully play finals footy this year and for many years to come. The facts are that no club can survive on locals alone outsiders have to come to the club in order for them to survive let alone be successfull. You do the best you can to develope local talent but at the same time you encourage and support your local talent to be the best that they can be and if that means playing at a higher level then thats great for them and the community and by extension the club having produced that talent. People move on for many different reasons and you cant keep people in one place forever. Anyone who takes a potshot at a club for trying to turn their on field success around is a joke and needs to grow up people like you have no place in country footy because all you do is bring it down and it makes me sick. Marong is not splashing the cash and bleeding themselves dry they are working hard within their means to be the best team and club they can be get off their backs and start encouraging them because its not just good for them but good for the league.
All well and good bloonhound!. What about the Marong Community? I've heard the Marong Family Hotel approached the footy club with a sponsership deal and the footy club said they would consider it. Next time the pub heard the footy club had taken the same deal to the Lake View. Any truth to the rumor?
Frankenfurter
30 May 2008, 15:13
They have done it for 6 months, and has taken them since about 1989 to realise that the approach they have taken is better in the long term and better for the club. Well done to them for biting the bullet, they have appointed the right bloke to coach a local who has the club and the community's best interest at heart. If you look at the appointments throughout the league this year it is a similar story
Newbridge - Scott Pigdon premiership player at Newbridge
YCW - Matt Keating premiership player at YCW family history at club
Marong - Brett Rogers family deeply entrentched at the club
Calivil - Andy Fremantle won a million premierships at the club family history at club
Hellboy
30 May 2008, 17:51
All well and good bloonhound!. What about the Marong Community? I've heard the Marong Family Hotel approached the footy club with a sponsership deal and the footy club said they would consider it. Next time the pub heard the footy club had taken the same deal to the Lake View. Any truth to the rumor?
Absolutely no truth whatsoever Nesko. It was the club who approached the pub about sponsorship. I was part of the discussions and I can tell you that no monetary figure was ever seriously discussed as what the hotel had to offer was not suitable to the football club. It was also clear that they could not accommodate the numbers on a Saturday night, leaving no viable solution. A sponsorship deal was then struck with the Lakeview and the Newmarket hotels (of which the publicans of both are current Marong footballers). This deal was more than twice what was discussed with the Marong Hotel. As much as the club wanted to stay at the Marong Hotel, the decision was pretty simple in the end from both a logistical and business point of view.
Cluffy might find himself playing with the big boys this week after a pretty good showing last Saturday. Ben Tuohey might need a couple in the 2's to get a bit of match fitness back but it won't be long before he's in the seniors, especially given the mounting injury list.
Marong are most certainly still recruiting, with a BFL midfielder possibly signing shortly. Not a lot of money being spent though.
Ben Tuohey that played at Colbo years ago? Very handy player when fit if this is him.
betterinthewet
30 May 2008, 21:10
[quote=Hellboy;11197856]Absolutely no truth whatsoever Nesko. It was the club who approached the pub about sponsorship. I was part of the discussions and I can tell you that no monetary was ever seriously discussed as what the hotel had to offer was not suitable to the football club. It was also clear that they could not accommodate the numbers on a Saturday night, leaving no viable solution. deal was then A sponsorship struck with the Lakeview and the Newmarket hotels (of which the publicans of both are current Marong footballers). This deal was more than twice what was discussed with the Marong Hotel. As much as the club wanted to stay at the Marong Hotel, the decision was pretty imple in the end from both a logistical and business point of view
geez very convenient
skloddon_8
30 May 2008, 23:11
Um what about Pyramid Hill? Haven't they only won one flag about 90 years ago?
I dont no bout 90 years but i thought 2 years back when pyramid was playing calival it was like 50 odd years since they won a senior flag.. anyone confirm this?