View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

andypipkin
17 Jan 2007, 16:32
he is a big man, but in the lvfl i reckon he would still go alright, no matter what his size. wouldnt be ay bigger than what he was his last couple of years out at the burn' i'd think

Big Al 11
18 Jan 2007, 15:43
he is a big man, but in the lvfl i reckon he would still go alright, no matter what his size. wouldnt be ay bigger than what he was his last couple of years out at the burn' i'd think

You may want to rethink your expectations of him because he has whacked on the kg's since I even last saw him, from all reports still kicked around 70 goals last year though carry the extra baggage.

andypipkin
18 Jan 2007, 16:39
may want to rethink my expectations???? i dont think that 70 goals is a bad return. in fact alot of clubs would be happy with a return of that many goals in 14 games. maybe you have high standards big al

Trent the flight Steward
19 Jan 2007, 11:23
ha ha yer not sure about the blinkers but I think he only played 7 or 8 games and he was named in defence for most of those. He shifted to Adelaide mid season think one of the SANFL clubs was trying to get him.
The adelaide faithful will be thrilled to have trants move over there, he will certainly fill the void left by scotty hodges since his retirement

bobbill
23 Jan 2007, 10:49
Interesting person at Serp's first training run last night, former Fitzroy and Sydney player Rowan Warfe!!!

hdflhawkfan
23 Jan 2007, 11:24
Interesting person at Serp's first training run last night, former Fitzroy and Sydney player Rowan Warfe!!!

I spoke to a square bloke this morning who knows Warfe & was talking to him last night (they trained on the same ground last night), and he said that Warfe wasn't leaving Colbo - BUT is NOT even playing this season - knees have packed it in and just get too sore. Apparently Serp have just asked if he could take some training sessions.

switch the play
24 Jan 2007, 08:57
may want to rethink my expectations???? i dont think that 70 goals is a bad return. in fact alot of clubs would be happy with a return of that many goals in 14 games. maybe you have high standards big al
Where did anyone mention 14 games andy,you arent the man himself pumping up your own tyres are you?

Doona2
24 Jan 2007, 11:40
Freemantle takes on coaching again

Bendigo Advertiser
Wednesday, 24 January 2007

LODDON Valley Football League premier Calivil United has ended its search for a coach, with the club again turning to one of its favourite sons, Andrew Freemantle.

Freemantle coached the Demons for three seasons between 2002 and 2004, guiding the side to a grand final in his first year, and then to two premierships in his last two years in charge.

He remained with the Demons in 2005 and last year when the side was coached by Ross Maxted, who also won two premierships, meaning Freemantle will take over a side that has won the past four LVFL flags.

"I think there is pressure on us from outside (to continue the success), but inside the club, everyone just enjoys playing together, and has done so for a long time," Freemantle said yesterday.

"We're probably going down a bit of a different track this year in the fact we have 12 players from the under-17 premiership side coming in, which is pretty exciting for the club.

"After having a fairly settled side for the past few years, you need some young players coming up, and it looks like we're going to have that this year.

"At this stage, the only players the Demons look like losing from last year are ruckman Matt Winchcomb and full-forward Nic Balic.

Calivil United president Brent Mitchell said the club was rapt Freemantle had again committed to coaching the Demons.

"We're very happy Andy put his hand up again because he will work with the young players really well and he has everyone's respect around the club," Mitchell said.

"He did a terrific job in the three years he coached the club previously and he will be really good again - everyone around the club thinks he does a great job.

"Asked if the remarkable run of success the club has had over the past four years may have daunted some prospective coaches, Mitchell answered: "Maybe people didn't want to come in and feel under pressure that they had to keep the success going, not that the club expects it's going to happen again, it's a year-by-year proposition.

"Calivil United will have a meet the coaches day at Raywood from 11 am this Sunday. The 2007 LVFL season is scheduled to start on Saturday, April 14.

andypipkin
26 Jan 2007, 07:59
sorry to disappoint, switch the play, but im not big shevy. look, im not denying the fact that shevlin has grown in size since he left the pioneers all those years ago. but i dont think that you can deny the fact that he has a bloody good goal kicking record. i was referring to the fact if he kicked 70 odd goals from 14 games for newbridge this year, they couldnt complain with that

bigboofer
26 Jan 2007, 21:03
seems to be pretty quiet on the lv side surely must be something going on or are all the clubs just sitting and waiting

Bobby Rivers
27 Jan 2007, 15:16
In relation to Newbridge I heard Shevlin was going there. I watched a mate play against Barnawartha last year and he definately is the heavy recruit they may be chasing.
SHEVLIN IN THAT CASE WOULD BE A HUGE RECRUIT,MASSIVE,ENORMOUS......SAW HIM DOWN THE STREET THE OTHER DAY LOOKS LIKE HED SWALLOWED A TEENAGER!!![/quote]

Is it true that Bob & Jillian are the new fitness advisors at Newbridge? Just the word on the street.

switch the play
27 Jan 2007, 17:40
sorry to disappoint, switch the play, but im not big shevy. look, im not denying the fact that shevlin has grown in size since he left the pioneers all those years ago. but i dont think that you can deny the fact that he has a bloody good goal kicking record. i was referring to the fact if he kicked 70 odd goals from 14 games for newbridge this year, they couldnt complain with that
fair enough

Superfly
28 Jan 2007, 13:38
Havn't been involved in this league for a while now and was just wondering who the teams to beat would be this season. Are YCW a chance?

On The Money
30 Jan 2007, 20:21
Havn't been involved in this league for a while now and was just wondering who the teams to beat would be this season. Are YCW a chance?

I would think that Y.C are a realistic chance of being a Top 3 side with some handy pick up's adding to the handy team they had last year.

Seen Serp training last night under the guidence of Rowan Warfe and the boys done a very solid block of running. The numbers were handy for this stage of the year so they could catch a couple sides off guard early with a strong pre-season and the couple of recruits they have snared.

Superfly
31 Jan 2007, 12:11
I would think that Y.C are a realistic chance of being a Top 3 side with some handy pick up's adding to the handy team they had last year.

Seen Serp training last night under the guidence of Rowan Warfe and the boys done a very solid block of running. The numbers were handy for this stage of the year so they could catch a couple sides off guard early with a strong pre-season and the couple of recruits they have snared.
Are Inglewood still the perrenial whipping boys or have things turned around for them in recent times?

JGraf
1 Feb 2007, 17:43
Are Inglewood still the perrenial whipping boys or have things turned around for them in recent times?

Havent won a game in 3 years.

The Mighty Maroons
1 Feb 2007, 20:05
The League has posponed play a week back to where they first planned to start the season again. What is everyones thought to this. My personal Opinion is that i dont think that the extra week is going to do much but i spose that we will have to see what happens :(

gerta
1 Feb 2007, 20:24
The League has posponed play a week back to where they first planned to start the season again. What is everyones thought to this. My personal Opinion is that i dont think that the extra week is going to do much but i spose that we will have to see what happens :(
Thats right... If we haven't had significant rainfall by then, postponing it an extra week ain't really gunna help, but i guess that deadline will change the close we get to the start of the season if there hasn't been a change... Apparently listening to the news tonight the pyramid hill ground is fine and will be ready whenever the season starts.

The Go
2 Feb 2007, 08:36

yeah i heard he will be taking one training session a week.

As far as recruitment goes I don’t think they have done a great deal at all which will hurt them considering they really needed to. They have a few blokes that can go ok but they will be out for the season injured. Apart from the consistent players such as Maxted, they have a lot of young ones that are all talk and no show.

The Mighty Maroons
2 Feb 2007, 18:26
Thats right... If we haven't had significant rainfall by then, postponing it an extra week ain't really gunna help, but i guess that deadline will change the close we get to the start of the season if there hasn't been a change... Apparently listening to the news tonight the pyramid hill ground is fine and will be ready whenever the season starts.

I really cant see much of a chance even if there is significant rain fall to see all of the grounds getting a little bit less harder for the whole season, Even after a bit of rain there will be a bit of green and it will dampen but like everything else after a week or 2 if will be bak where it was at appear but that doesnt mean that it will be suitable to play on. Yeah so ive heard that Pyramid Hill is the only ground that is suitable to play on and i mean thats not much use, so yeah much postponing is ahead i reckon

gerta
2 Feb 2007, 18:36
I really cant see much of a chance even if there is significant rain fall to see all of the grounds getting a little bit less harder for the whole season, Even after a bit of rain there will be a bit of green and it will dampen but like everything else after a week or 2 if will be bak where it was at appear but that doesnt mean that it will be suitable to play on. Yeah so ive heard that Pyramid Hill is the only ground that is suitable to play on and i mean thats not much use, so yeah much postponing is ahead i reckon

Yes unfortunately this could be the case (postponing) for a lot of leagues... Hopefully we all get some much needed rain so everyone can enjoy there weekend sport.

dang-bot
3 Feb 2007, 15:04
eaglehawk skillfull hard man on the move, does anyone know if he is joining the valley for 2007! i here mitiamo maybe?

bigboofer
3 Feb 2007, 18:39
eaglehawk skillfull hard man on the move, does anyone know if he is joining the valley for 2007! i here mitiamo maybe?
how do we know who it is if you dont put a name on there but having read it on the bendigo site it must be kirk eddy

dang-bot
3 Feb 2007, 19:10
how do we know who it is if you dont put a name on there but having read it on the bendigo site it must be kirk eddy
trying to chase the man down for footy

BiG rIcK
4 Feb 2007, 12:01
any news on calivil if they have recruited anyone?

Trent the flight Steward
4 Feb 2007, 12:38
any news on calivil if they have recruited anyone?
I hear a former premiership player is coming out of retirement to sit in the forward pocket

BiG rIcK
4 Feb 2007, 17:42
yeah i heard that one phil hetherington may be pulling the boots back on

jj66
4 Feb 2007, 18:16
Is the word right that Stu Egan will be back at Inglewood in 07 playing out of the square?? I think he run's the pub there, could be a big signing???

Any news on that??

gutted rabbit
4 Feb 2007, 19:04
Read on the BFL transfer list that Leon Nixon has put in a request to Newbridge. If he plays mainly in the fwd line, early tip for leading league goal-kicker, if the footy is delivered with any sort of consistency. Harshly treated at Kangaroo Flat by senior bench...You heard it first here!:thumbsu:

andypipkin
4 Feb 2007, 19:22
big call there rabbit.

gutted rabbit
4 Feb 2007, 19:32
James Wheelhouse also to Newbridge, solid running half-back or full-back...they look to be picking up a few handy, versatile players.

gerta
4 Feb 2007, 19:53
Is the word right that Stu Egan will be back at Inglewood in 07 playing out of the square?? I think he run's the pub there, could be a big signing???

Any news on that??

Had heard that he had recently become involved in the pub, but that a rumor that he was going to return to St Arnaud to play..

Footy Maniac
5 Feb 2007, 13:19
Heard a whisper that Scotty Baxter was finishing up, can anyone confirm this?? Big loss if this is true!

The sloth
5 Feb 2007, 13:51
James Wheelhouse also to Newbridge, solid running half-back or full-back...they look to be picking up a few handy, versatile players.

Oh dear road kill, wheels has a heart the size of a pea. If pre season is hard out by the river you won't see him. Always injured.

Footy Maniac
5 Feb 2007, 15:06
Oh dear road kill, wheels has a heart the size of a pea. If pre season is hard out by the river you won't see him. Always injured.

Gee, that says alot for your name 'Sloth'!!

body & soul
5 Feb 2007, 16:55
any truth to the rumour that kurt ashman to coach bridgewater in 07, confirm/dismiss

Footy Maniac
5 Feb 2007, 17:59
Yes, I've now heard it from several people also. One of the boys that plays at Bridgy also confirmed it.

jj66
5 Feb 2007, 20:06
Had heard that he had recently become involved in the pub, but that a rumor that he was going to return to St Arnaud to play..

You might be right Gerta, but his father in law Jeff is coaching the Inglewood two's i'm lead to believe. He would be mad not to play in Inglewood if he's running the local pub.

oldmanemu
7 Feb 2007, 09:28
Read on the BFL transfer list that Leon Nixon has put in a request to Newbridge. If he plays mainly in the fwd line, early tip for leading league goal-kicker, if the footy is delivered with any sort of consistency. Harshly treated at Kangaroo Flat by senior bench...You heard it first here!:thumbsu:

With Shevlin going to Newbridge, I would suggest Nixon won't be at FF, so may struggle to win the goalkicking.

gutted rabbit
7 Feb 2007, 19:40
With Shevlin going to Newbridge, I would suggest Nixon won't be at FF, so may struggle to win the goalkicking.

Nixon is a small forward anyway, so probably would not play at FF, but this guy can rove a pack and kick goals from anywhere. Watched him in an intra-club a few seasons ago, kicked a bag, some of the most freakish goals that I have ever seen. Left and right boot equally good. Would make seniors at any side. Wheelhouse may stay at Flat.

andypipkin
7 Feb 2007, 20:29
why wasnt he in the seniors at flat gutted one??? falling out with the heirachy???

gutted rabbit
8 Feb 2007, 21:16
why wasnt he in the seniors at flat gutted one??? falling out with the heirachy???

Apparently crucified by bench and selection committee of Dickens and Curran, who loved their favourites, despite results. Disgraceful...one gone, one to go.

Pratt = Premiers
11 Feb 2007, 10:46
Have been told Cam Milward is close to returning to the country and is interested in heading out to Riverside for a few games, anyone else heard this???

roofan
11 Feb 2007, 11:36
Have been told Cam Milward is close to returning to the country and is interested in heading out to Riverside for a few games, anyone else heard this???

Heard that he might play at Newbridge; same reason as others, waiting for a full bench clean-out at Flat.

carrot top
13 Feb 2007, 10:44
Heard that he might play at Newbridge; same reason as others, waiting for a full bench clean-out at Flat.

35 on the track at mitiamo last night, 18 new blokes apparently, not sure if all have signed or just checking the joint out!

andypipkin
13 Feb 2007, 17:00
where the miti boys training at weeroona oval???
on the milward rumour, heard that after being engaged to a lovely scandinavian girl, he was quite happy overseas

Trent the flight Steward
14 Feb 2007, 11:53
How are panthers shaping u pthis year i see michael keeny pratt is leaving

jj66
16 Feb 2007, 16:04
It's looking like N/B will be the side to beat this year by the way are picking up new players. The word is that about 5 or 6 of Huntly's senior players last from year are heading out to the Bridge.

JGraf
16 Feb 2007, 17:08
It's looking like N/B will be the side to beat this year by the way are picking up new players. The word is that about 5 or 6 of Huntly's senior players last from year are heading out to the Bridge.

Unless it is Manley or Geary they wouldnt much better than role players so dont worry about that.

Pratt = Premiers
16 Feb 2007, 17:22
Unless it is Manley or Geary they wouldnt much better than role players so dont worry about that.
I think you'll find they have picked up half of kangaroo flat, maybe players that weren't stars in the BFL, although one was, but will all be very very good players in the LVFL. Milward, Nixon, Holliday, Scoble.

roofan
16 Feb 2007, 17:48
I think you'll find they have picked up half of kangaroo flat, maybe players that weren't stars in the BFL, although one was, but will all be very very good players in the LVFL. Milward, Nixon, Holliday, Scoble.

Newbridge have picked up these guys, but they are hardly "half of Kangaroo Flat"........Milward will not be back until later in the year, Nixon knows that he should still be at K/Flat playing seniors this year with Zantuck, Rombotis, Wiegard and Warry, Holliday is a good player in the bush but how fit is he, and Scoble is a great bloke, and an old war-horse, but pulls up injured. All these guys will be trying to get back to Kangaroo Flat in 2008.

bigboofer
19 Feb 2007, 08:19
just reading on heathcote league rumor that rob bennett may be going to dunolly i think rubbish any one confirm i thought one reason webby agreed to play there as well as the a/c role

fingeronpulse
21 Feb 2007, 10:33
just reading on heathcote league rumor that rob bennett may be going to dunolly i think rubbish any one confirm i thought one reason webby agreed to play there as well as the a/c role

Yes has anyone seen him at training lately...rumour has it that he is back at north bulldogs...misses the place. Someone has said that he wants to talk return but noone approached him.:confused:

bobbill
21 Feb 2007, 20:55
Yes has anyone seen him at training lately...rumour has it that he is back at north bulldogs...misses the place. Someone has said that he wants to talk return but noone approached him.:confused:

He is staying at YCW a mate of his put it on Big Footy as a joke. He did go training at north only because he couldn't make it to YCW's on the Friday night. As for him wanting to return, it is way out of the question, and that is why nobody would of approached him because they know he won't return and he doesn't miss the place.

Also he hasn't missed training at YCW. Fingernotonpulse!!!

fingeronpulse
21 Feb 2007, 22:54
He is staying at YCW a mate of his put it on Big Footy as a joke. He did go training at north only because he couldn't make it to YCW's on the Friday night. As for him wanting to return, it is way out of the question, and that is why nobody would of approached him because they know he won't return and he doesn't miss the place.

Also he hasn't missed training at YCW. Fingernotonpulse!!!

not a problem here, bob..i live out of town and get the gossip wrong on a regular basis, which is why i like checking out what other misinformed people put on here...he must be an assett if he is keen to train that hard.

fingeronpulse
26 Feb 2007, 23:07
not a problem here, bob..i live out of town and get the gossip wrong on a regular basis, which is why i like checking out what other misinformed people put on here...he must be an assett if he is keen to train that hard.

i must say this is the slowest thread around...does that reflect the league, and people just are not quite up to it out here in the sticks, or are people so far up themselves that they do enjoy the game for what it is...a bit of fun these days? i invite some feedback on this contentious issue. Is there anyone passionate about this league or am i gunna switch to KDFL or HDFL???????????? wake up guys!

iwantanotherflag
27 Feb 2007, 12:58
Being an ex Calivil player (2000), I was wondering what was happening out there in the EL VEE. Any big news? Calivil, Serp, YC and N/B still tearing it up? Predicted ladder for 2007? Coaches any thing.

hdflhawkfan
27 Feb 2007, 14:12
Being an ex Calivil player (2000), I was wondering what was happening out there in the EL VEE. Any big news? Calivil, Serp, YC and N/B still tearing it up? Predicted ladder for 2007? Coaches any thing.

From what the EX Huntly boys are saying and what is on the clearance board (and still to come) Newbridge sound like they might be the ones to beat in 07. Although you can't rule out Calival.

Pratt = Premiers
27 Feb 2007, 20:22
Unless we get some rain, the season won't go ahead anyway. have had a look at a couple of the grounds and there is no way you could play footy on them at the moment, hard as a rock with very little grass.

gerta
27 Feb 2007, 20:54
Unless we get some rain, the season won't go ahead anyway. have had a look at a couple of the grounds and there is no way you could play footy on them at the moment, hard as a rock with very little grass.

Very sad state of affairs there... What are the grounds that would be of most concern pratt??? Obvioulsy YCW's home ground would have to be in pretty poor knick wouldn't it?

On The Money
27 Feb 2007, 21:07
Very sad state of affairs there... What are the grounds that would be of most concern pratt??? Obvioulsy YCW's home ground would have to be in pretty poor knick wouldn't it?

I don't think Y.C.W would be the worst and there was word that they were going to have access to bore water so if they can get 3 0r 4 grounds in decent conditions the season will surely go ahead even if it means a few games at alternate times.

On the Footy side of things Newbridge have certainly had a productive pre season and Reed Wills should prove a real handful up forward while Y.C.W with a couple of handy recruits and the solid base they had in place last season should be in the thick of the action to you would think.
How does everyone think Pyramid Hill will go under new coach Phil Birchmore? If he can snap their 50 odd year Premiership drought they will proberly hand him the keys to the town.

Blinky
27 Feb 2007, 22:21
For God's sake is LoddOn Valley Football League -can we spell it right!

28 at Inglewood footy training and 30 at netball training last night, have recruited well the Blues for 2007. A BBQ afterwards and everyone attended, very good feeling around the club.

Now if the footballers could just win a game...;)

hdflhawkfan
28 Feb 2007, 11:38
I don't think Y.C.W would be the worst and there was word that they were going to have access to bore water so if they can get 3 0r 4 grounds in decent conditions the season will surely go ahead even if it means a few games at alternate times.

On the Footy side of things Newbridge have certainly had a productive pre season and Reed Wills should prove a real handful up forward while Y.C.W with a couple of handy recruits and the solid base they had in place last season should be in the thick of the action to you would think.
How does everyone think Pyramid Hill will go under new coach Phil Birchmore? If he can snap their 50 odd year Premiership drought they will proberly hand him the keys to the town.

Talking to recruiting guy from YCW, said they have a bore in and can water as much as they like and he said a few other teams (he thought newbridge was 1) has already put things into place for sinking a bore if the rain didn't come. He also mentioned that Pyramid was fine and Marong had access to water. So it appears that league should have enough grounds initially to start. You would think they would start with maybe all games played over 4-5 grounds and as the rain comes open up other grounds as they become playable.

andypipkin
28 Feb 2007, 14:27
hawker, not sure the huntly boys heading to newbridge, will set the world on fire out there, if they do, its not really saying alot. OTM, reed wills to win the goal kicking if he plays forward all day, every day. the big shev may watch the ball sailing over his head all day. big recruit

Pratt = Premiers
28 Feb 2007, 20:37
Talking to recruiting guy from YCW, said they have a bore in and can water as much as they like and he said a few other teams (he thought newbridge was 1) has already put things into place for sinking a bore if the rain didn't come. He also mentioned that Pyramid was fine and Marong had access to water. So it appears that league should have enough grounds initially to start. You would think they would start with maybe all games played over 4-5 grounds and as the rain comes open up other grounds as they become playable.
Can confirm Newbridge have no water, and have been told YCW bore is to salty, they will have to mix a bit of fresh water into it if they want to water the ground. So in other words, their ground is stuffed to. Bridgewater was terrible last year, don't know how Inglewood has pulled up, but again, was very ordinary last year and wouldn't expect it to be any better over the hot summer.

fingeronpulse
1 Mar 2007, 14:48
Can confirm Newbridge have no water, and have been told YCW bore is to salty, they will have to mix a bit of fresh water into it if they want to water the ground. So in other words, their ground is stuffed to. Bridgewater was terrible last year, don't know how Inglewood has pulled up, but again, was very ordinary last year and wouldn't expect it to be any better over the hot summer.

There has been talk of a meeting on Monday night coming to determine if this league even starts up this year due to insufficient grounds...and a bleak outlook on those grounds. Does anyone have any more info about this....could see an influx of recruiting kickstarted again.

Joeyboy
2 Mar 2007, 13:57
M.Pollock back to his old stomping ground in Serp after a couple years at the borough. Can the man play or his he all talk, do serp look like being contenders

andypipkin
3 Mar 2007, 07:49
pollock can play dont wory bout that. reallydidnt get the chance at the borough with the older brigade still running through the guts. very hard at it player, very tough. should go alright for you boys one would think

JGraf
3 Mar 2007, 08:04
For God's sake is LoddOn Valley Football League -can we spell it right!

28 at Inglewood footy training and 30 at netball training last night, have recruited well the Blues for 2007. A BBQ afterwards and everyone attended, very good feeling around the club.

Now if the footballers could just win a game...;)

28 players is hardly anything to write home about. And when there is food about and the missus going to training, more blokes turn up. I bet the very next session 15 guys only make it to training. Inglewood wont win a game again this season.

Woodies_Girl
3 Mar 2007, 09:09
28 players is hardly anything to write home about. And when there is food about and the missus going to training, more blokes turn up. I bet the very next session 15 guys only make it to training. Inglewood wont win a game again this season.

The Blues should bet B'water this year. The Blues have got about 5 or more young blokes that look set to sign, that could possible play seniors. I hear that the coaches other son is meant to be playing for them too. With B'water missing Andrew Ball at the helm, not too sure who will lead them. He's gonna be a BIG miss for them.

P.S Does anyone know how the netball teams are looking? Any new faces?;)

Footy Maniac
5 Mar 2007, 13:01
The Blues should bet B'water this year. The Blues have got about 5 or more young blokes that look set to sign, that could possible play seniors. I hear that the coaches other son is meant to be playing for them too. With B'water missing Andrew Ball at the helm, not too sure who will lead them. He's gonna be a BIG miss for them.

P.S Does anyone know how the netball teams are looking? Any new faces?;)

Heard a bit about netball. Serp start training tomorrow night but don't have a coach as yet as last years coach, Wendy Ryan I believe was asked to move on. But the girls will manage. YC have a heap of girls, not hard to get girls when they're based in town. Newbridge got a heap of new players, I believe they had to cut a few. They've got a new coach - she coached YC for the last few years so they're games shall be interesting this year!! Believe Calivil are looking for more players. Not sure about the other clubs. Has anyone else heard anything???

Blinky
6 Mar 2007, 18:32
Heard a bit about netball. Serp start training tomorrow night but don't have a coach as yet as last years coach, Wendy Ryan I believe was asked to move on. But the girls will manage. YC have a heap of girls, not hard to get girls when they're based in town. Newbridge got a heap of new players, I believe they had to cut a few. They've got a new coach - she coached YC for the last few years so they're games shall be interesting this year!! Believe Calivil are looking for more players. Not sure about the other clubs. Has anyone else heard anything???

Yes Wendy Ryan up to her usual tricks again and was asked to move on, the second LVFL club to ask her to leave. Her daughter and a few other netballers have left as well and Serp aren't looking too strong. After their implosion in the finals last year anyway it seems they can't hack the pace when it counts and are more worried about how they look and being immature than playing netball. Miti have recruited well, good numbers and strong players, Newbridge also about 40 turn up for pre-season, Inglewood also good numbers with popular new coach at the helm, apparently Marong struggling for numbers, actually heard YC didn't have that many so not sure about that?? Bridgy will probably struggle as usual and Pyramid Hill lost a few due to footy coach going back to Echuca and it being too far to travel for the Bendigo based girls, all in all shaping up for a strong season again. :)

gerta
6 Mar 2007, 18:38
Reported on Win News this evening about the LVFL meeting last night.

5 clubs believe that there grounds will be ready to go as scheduled for round 1.

4 clubs believe that unless we get significant rainfall there grounds are doubtful.

Apparently closer to the date, the league will go and inspect all grounds and declare whether or not they are safe to play on.

They didn't go into details about which grounds where ready to go and those they were doubtful.

On The Money
6 Mar 2007, 20:02

5 clubs believe that there grounds will be ready to go as scheduled for round 1.

4 clubs believe that unless we get significant rainfall there grounds are doubtful.

Apparently closer to the date, the league will go and inspect all grounds and declare whether or not they are safe to play on.

They didn't go into details about which grounds where ready to go and those they were doubtful.

Thats simple then if the LV has 5 grounds ready to roll then you start the season as scheduled and play on them until the others come up to scratch. Watch out for Serp in the early rounds boys they had done a good pre-season and could get off to a flyer.

gerta
6 Mar 2007, 20:12
Thats simple then if the LV has 5 grounds ready to roll then you start the season as scheduled and play on them until the others come up to scratch. Watch out for Serp in the early rounds boys they had done a good pre-season and could get off to a flyer.

Should be a good indication on Friday night when Serp plays a praccy match over at Maryborough under lights.. I think Maryborough Rovers are first on the agenda... What are they like?

On The Money
6 Mar 2007, 20:25
Should be a good indication on Friday night when Serp plays a praccy match over at Maryborough under lights.. I think Maryborough Rovers are first on the agenda... What are they like?

My research tells me 4th same as Serp so it should be a good hit out for you guys.
I see Ingelwood take on North Bendigo next Tuesday are their any other LV sides in the comp?

gerta
6 Mar 2007, 20:29
I'm not 100% sure about last year ( they didn't make the GF) but in recent years they have been up in the finals mix.
I see Ingelwood take on North Bendigo next Tuesday are their any other LV sides in the comp?

I think they are the only other LV side in the comp (Serp and Inglewood)... I think Daylesford Magoos are in there as well, not sure who else..

Woodies_Girl
6 Mar 2007, 21:36

from what i heard from the league meeting last night (monday) only inglewood and bridgewater are the only unplayable grounds, didn't say that they weren't safe, at the minute, but the shire is wanting the clubs to put an action plan in place, so that the shire can then help them out with water and tanks. newbridge is apparatenly gettin a pipe connected to the river or something just to help them out a bit. all they need is about 2 inches in rain between now and the start of the season!;)

gerta
6 Mar 2007, 21:51
from what i heard from the league meeting last night (monday) only inglewood and bridgewater are the only unplayable grounds, didn't say that they weren't safe, at the minute, but the shire is wanting the clubs to put an action plan in place, so that the shire can then help them out with water and tanks. newbridge is apparatenly gettin a pipe connected to the river or something just to help them out a bit. all they need is about 2 inches in rain between now and the start of the season!;)

Any rain would be a good start... Good to see that the Shire is willing to assist the clubs that are struggling with their grounds..

Woodies_Girl
6 Mar 2007, 22:36
had heard a few rumours through out the off season that ross smith is heading back to miti, macca lamprell meant to be going back to i'wood, casey millard is meant to be leaving bridgewater and heading to where ever andrew ball is now. :eek:

JGraf
7 Mar 2007, 11:02
Yes Wendy Ryan up to her usual tricks again and was asked to move on, the second LVFL club to ask her to leave. Her daughter and a few other netballers have left as well and Serp aren't looking too strong. After their implosion in the finals last year anyway it seems they can't hack the pace when it counts and are more worried about how they look and being immature than playing netball. Miti have recruited well, good numbers and strong players, Newbridge also about 40 turn up for pre-season, Inglewood also good numbers with popular new coach at the helm, apparently Marong struggling for numbers, actually heard YC didn't have that many so not sure about that?? Bridgy will probably struggle as usual and Pyramid Hill lost a few due to footy coach going back to Echuca and it being too far to travel for the Bendigo based girls, all in all shaping up for a strong season again. :)

Even though this is a footy site, good to see some yack and sledging by the girls.

Mitiamo proved to good in the finals against Serp and is of no surprise Wendy was asked to move on. The daughter couldnt hack the pace either asking for injury time continuously.

Mitiamo may struggle in the goals this year though, they have recruited some very strong defenders. One who won the league B and F in the very strong Heathcote Netball League.

Woodies_Girl
7 Mar 2007, 16:38
Mitiamo may struggle in the goals this year though, they have recruited some very strong defenders. One who won the league B and F in the very strong Heathcote Netball League.

she didn't play for north bendigo did she? her name being bobby simpson? i could be wrong, but that's who i thought of when i read that!

BiG rIcK
7 Mar 2007, 19:44
Watch out for Serp in the early rounds boys they had done a good pre-season and could get off to a flyer.

OTM i think you will find serp always get off to a flyer but can never go on with it too many old legs too many young cocky boys and too many that go out on the piss on friday nights before games even during finals no depth if they get a few injuries so i think will struggle to even make the 5 will have to beat sides like Y.C.W- Newbridge- Pyramid Hill- Calivil and Mitiamo

The Go
8 Mar 2007, 12:19
OTM i think you will find serp always get off to a flyer but can never go on with it too many old legs too many young cocky boys and too many that go out on the piss on friday nights before games even during finals no depth if they get a few injuries so i think will struggle to even make the 5 will have to beat sides like Y.C.W- Newbridge- Pyramid Hill- Calivil and Mitiamo

Serp have nothing this year. I seen them train last week hardly any there and from what I seen the majority were 2's and what good ones they do have are out injured for the year.

The Go
8 Mar 2007, 12:28
P.S Does anyone know how the netball teams are looking? Any new faces?;)[/quote]

A strong squad like YCW will never lose their players they are a pretty close knit bunch.

Marong are trying to poach a few yet unsuccessully.

Serp have lost the majority of there younger stars from last year. Pretty much left are the mothers and locals. Still coachless

If PH keep there sides as they did last year they will very hard to beat.

bobbill
8 Mar 2007, 13:06

Who is the footy coach heading back to Echuca?

Woodies_Girl
8 Mar 2007, 14:36
Blinky Quote
"Inglewood also good numbers with popular new coach at the helm"

from what i've heard, she is in a pretty clicky group up there! there are a few girls who don't think they want to play because they wont get a game! I'wood have got a few local girls there who are good enough to play A Grade, but the coach doesn't seem to think so! Besides that they need at least another A Grade goaler and maybe defender!

Have heard that B'water have got a netball coach from Wedderburn way? Is anyone able to confirm?
Does anyone know who is coaching Calivil netball?

JGraf
8 Mar 2007, 19:33
she didn't play for north bendigo did she? her name being bobby simpson? i could be wrong, but that's who i thought of when i read that!

No twins from Locky. Their Dad is coaching the footy Reserves at Miti this season.

Jock
8 Mar 2007, 20:43
[quote=Woodies_Girl;6893338]Blinky Quote

from what i've heard, she is in a pretty clicky group up there! there are a few girls who don't think they want to play because they wont get a game! I'wood have got a few local girls there who are good enough to play A Grade, but the coach doesn't seem to think so! Besides that they need at least another A Grade goaler and maybe defender!
quote]

You're obviously a player if you know all this and you seem quite unhappy with it all?? If people don't wanna play then don't play - simple. And with the username Woodies Girl sort of give yourself away as a "local girl" don't you matey???? Early days, all clubs - footy and netball at this time of the year should be supportive of their coach. Besides, what netball club anywhere isn't clicky and has ***** stirrers in the background dissing the coach because of their own personal agenda. Let the coach do her job or put your hand and back up your talk up instead of bitching anonomously in a public forum. Chicks eh ... who needs em?! :p Now lets get back to the footy fellas.

Jock
8 Mar 2007, 20:50
Has anyone heard how Marong and YC have recruited in footy this year?

How does every1 think the FOOTY ladder will end up at the end of the season? (sorry girls this is a footy website, butt i care really i do):p

Blinky
8 Mar 2007, 21:33
Blinky Quote

Have heard that B'water have got a netball coach from Wedderburn way? Is anyone able to confirm?
Does anyone know who is coaching Calivil netball?

I only know what I hear at work from someone who is on the league committee and all i've heard is positive things about i'wood netball this year so she can't be doing too much wrong. they have had trouble in the past with others i know that. i remember about 5 years ago they had a reel good coach but have struggled since she fell out with someone at the club and left...
Here at YC we have lost a few so if you know of a few players interested in getting a game throw them our way. cheerz

Blinky
8 Mar 2007, 21:37
Who is the footy coach heading back to Echuca?

Bird? Didn't he coach or assistant coach? Also brought players up from Echuca way with him?

The Go
9 Mar 2007, 07:54
Since Netball has been raised and most of us are guys on here. Who would have the hotest team?

Woodies_Girl
9 Mar 2007, 08:36
You're obviously a player if you know all this and you seem quite unhappy with it all?? If people don't wanna play then don't play - simple. And with the username Woodies Girl sort of give yourself away as a "local girl" don't you matey???? Early days, all clubs - footy and netball at this time of the year should be supportive of their coach. Besides, what netball club anywhere isn't clicky and has ***** stirrers in the background dissing the coach because of their own personal agenda. Let the coach do her job or put your hand and back up your talk up instead of bitching anonomously in a public forum. Chicks eh ... who needs em?! Now lets get back to the footy fellas.

no i don't play for inglewood....my partners last name is wood! i just know 2 girls who played there last year and they aren't happy with a few of the coaches ideas! all i'll say is with the numbers that they have had apparently at training, they'd wanna pick the locals & those who played last year in the team first.

JGraf
9 Mar 2007, 15:05
You're obviously a player if you know all this and you seem quite unhappy with it all?? If people don't wanna play then don't play - simple. And with the username Woodies Girl sort of give yourself away as a "local girl" don't you matey???? Early days, all clubs - footy and netball at this time of the year should be supportive of their coach. Besides, what netball club anywhere isn't clicky and has ***** stirrers in the background dissing the coach because of their own personal agenda. Let the coach do her job or put your hand and back up your talk up instead of bitching anonomously in a public forum. Chicks eh ... who needs em?! Now lets get back to the footy fellas.

no i don't play for inglewood....my partners last name is wood! i just know 2 girls who played there last year and they aren't happy with a few of the coaches ideas! all i'll say is with the numbers that they have had apparently at training, they'd wanna pick the locals & those who played last year in the team first.

Wood is your partner's last name is it? You wouldnt be a Miti girl would you that has a partner who plays Seniors for Mitiamo?

Would you happen to work at a school in the District?

Number8
10 Mar 2007, 13:58

Hi my name's Liz and I am actually the netball coach of Inglewood this year, wow some great reading on a Saturday about the supposed going ons at our club!!! :confused:

If you want to hear anything from the "horse's mouth" just PM me Woodies Girl and I'll let you know whats going on - I'd rather you get your facts straight than posting innuendo and trying to create controversy like you have on here.

If you are not at the club then its none of your business really, all our players know where they stand at the club because they've been to training and received club letters and they know the criteria when it comes to choosing teams. I've had no one tell me they're unhappy yet so I suggest you stick to talking about something you actually know your facts about instead of slagging off others and giving your unwanted opinion.

Footy Maniac
11 Mar 2007, 22:27
[quote=Woodies_Girl;6898651]You're obviously a player if you know all this and you seem quite unhappy with it all?? If people don't wanna play then don't play - simple. And with the username Woodies Girl sort of give yourself away as a "local girl" don't you matey???? Early days, all clubs - footy and netball at this time of the year should be supportive of their coach. Besides, what netball club anywhere isn't clicky and has ***** stirrers in the background dissing the coach because of their own personal agenda. Let the coach do her job or put your hand and back up your talk up instead of bitching anonomously in a public forum. Chicks eh ... who needs em?! Now lets get back to the footy fellas.

Footy clubs are just as clicky as netball clubs, pal! Guys just keep it hidden alot better. No one can say that they've never slagged off their coach as some stage whether it's to their face or not (I'm not saying it's the right thing to do as it's a tough job!) for being dragged, dropped to the 2's, etc. As all of us have heard plenty of noise coming from the interchange bench at times! I think it's good that the girls are taking interest in the goings on of footy life - God knows it's takes up plenty of our time, so Jock, don't be a Jock and bag out the girls for getting a little involved! And we do need the Gals - we need someone to bitch to if we've had a bad game or to fetch us an ice pack!

bloodhound!
13 Mar 2007, 15:36
Has anyone heard how Marong and YC have recruited in footy this year?

How does every1 think the FOOTY ladder will end up at the end of the season? (sorry girls this is a footy website, butt i care really i do):p

Marong have recruited Charlie and Xavier Thompson from Harcourt, both are very very good players, charlie in the midfield and up forward and xavier of a back flank on in the middle.
Xav was best on in the 06 Grand final.

Woodies_Girl
13 Mar 2007, 21:29
Hi my name's Liz and I am actually the netball coach of Inglewood this year, wow some great reading on a Saturday about the supposed going ons at our club!!! :confused:

If you want to hear anything from the "horse's mouth" just PM me Woodies Girl and I'll let you know whats going on - I'd rather you get your facts straight than posting innuendo and trying to create controversy like you have on here.

If you are not at the club then its none of your business really, all our players know where they stand at the club because they've been to training and received club letters and they know the criteria when it comes to choosing teams. I've had no one tell me they're unhappy yet so I suggest you stick to talking about something you actually know your facts about instead of slagging off others and giving your unwanted opinion.

sorry there liz, didn't mean to upset you. was just what i heard. i believe that i am allowed to give my opinion on here.....given that it is a forum!! hopefully no hard feelings :o mayb i'll just stick to the footy in here and stay away from the netball! sorry once again.

Number8
13 Mar 2007, 23:10
sorry there liz, didn't mean to upset you. was just what i heard. i believe that i am allowed to give my opinion on here.....given that it is a forum!! hopefully no hard feelings :o mayb i'll just stick to the footy in here and stay away from the netball! sorry once again.

Thanks Woodies Girl, you are certainly allowed to give your opinion, what I am saying is that you haven't been to our training and you tell me you aren't an Inglewood player so I'd be interested to know where you are getting your 'information' from to jump on a forum and post what we should and shouldn't be doing according to you. :confused: In your initial post you used pretty firm language so have a think about how that comes across, ie: "from what i've heard, she is in a pretty clicky group up there! there are a few girls who don't think they want to play because they wont get a game! I'wood have got a few local girls there who are good enough to play A Grade, but the coach doesn't seem to think so! Besides that they need at least another A Grade goaler and maybe defender! AND ... i just know 2 girls who played there last year and they aren't happy with a few of the coaches ideas! all i'll say is with the numbers that they have had apparently at training, they'd wanna pick the locals & those who played last year in the team first."

Tell me how do you know these things?? We have been having fantastic trainings and there's so much enthusiasm and positive feeling around the club we are so far ahead of where we were last year already so I'm not sure who the 2 so called unhappy players are you are talking but they certainly haven't let any of the senior netball coaches know of any issues they have despite having been given the chance.

Seeing you seem to know these 2 players tell them to talk to the coach instead of you would you?

Apology accepted. Sorry for the long post to everyone else.