View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

bobbill
14 Mar 2007, 15:15
Footy news I/wood lost to Nth Bendigo in Maryborough night series by 2 goals and B/Water lost to Maryborough 2nds but looked more like a mixture of 2nds and 3rds.

JGraf
15 Mar 2007, 17:43
Footy news I/wood lost to Nth Bendigo in Maryborough night series by 2 goals and B/Water lost to Maryborough 2nds but looked more like a mixture of 2nds and 3rds.

Yes I heard bith I/wood and Bridgey had young teams in. I/wood will have a number of guys available after the cricket Grand Final involving Kingower and I/Wood is over this weekend. Although might be a few on a drinking binge after a premiership!!!

body & soul
16 Mar 2007, 17:25
Yes I heard bith I/wood and Bridgey had young teams in. I/wood will have a number of guys available after the cricket Grand Final involving Kingower and I/Wood is over this weekend. Although might be a few on a drinking binge after a premiership!!!

good 2 see this forum is still operating although cant believe the lack of posts from members. this league must have some news and rumours ive got a few mates that play in this league and they have informed me that its going to be a very interesting season. unlike previous year calival will not be a premiership side. with the recruits ycw, newbridge have received seems like its gona be 1 great year so lets all giv me some news on recruits,coaches, departures etc. to give readers something to talk about:)

On The Money
17 Mar 2007, 08:24
good 2 see this forum is still operating although cant believe the lack of posts from members. this league must have some news and rumours ive got a few mates that play in this league and they have informed me that its going to be a very interesting season. unlike previous year calival will not be a premiership side. with the recruits ycw, newbridge have received seems like its gona be 1 great year so lets all giv me some news on recruits,coaches, departures etc. to give readers something to talk about:)

I think it would be very dangerous to say Calivil are out of the Premiership race. While it be a big challenge like last season to come up trumphs they have the very strong mental edge against all sides in the comp. They have picked one handy forward that played a half a season their previously.
Anyone one know how Serp went last night?

JGraf
18 Mar 2007, 21:09
I think it would be very dangerous to say Calivil are out of the Premiership race. While it be a big challenge like last season to come up trumphs they have the very strong mental edge against all sides in the comp. They have picked one handy forward that played a half a season their previously.
Anyone one know how Serp went last night?

Hetherington will probably be playing as well. Calivil will be very good again. You cant take the knowledge of how to win away just like Mounts in the HDFL.

live larg
19 Mar 2007, 00:13
Hetherington will probably be playing as well. Calivil will be very good again. You cant take the knowledge of how to win away just like Mounts in the HDFL.
watch out for miti i think they will b the 1 to look out for. they've done the best preseason out of every 1 and billys got them boys in top form:D

bruno
19 Mar 2007, 16:20
Mitiamo must be very happy with regaining the services of Ross Smith (AKA Jarsy) this year. Seen him play a few games out in the HDFL last year and was very solid across half back and created a lot of drive. His kicking was from full back was a big plus for the saints as well hard to replace!!! Will create a lot of headaches out there....

bench_warmer
19 Mar 2007, 22:34
Heard that Birchmore has got the boys at pyramid hill ready to tear the loddon valley apart this year. lost a few big names but with 8 seniors signings and a couple of young blokes out there tearing it apart on the track look ready for a massive year. Should be very hard to beat and by the sounds of things and should be a better side than last year!!

live larg
20 Mar 2007, 00:46
does anyone no if marong lost andy barry too? thatl be hard for them he was half the side. and i think out of the runner up grandfinal u/17s side 2 yrs ago they have 1 player out of all them boys they didnt bother trying to keep the young blokes there even though a few of them are pretty handy and hav a look at how they are now slowly goin down the sh*ter that club. and i heard that they lost that lttle micka pratt i think he went to miti thats also a big loss itl b hard for them for a while but goodluck to them hopfully they can get back on there feet.

ROOTA#6
20 Mar 2007, 21:01
Heard that Birchmore has got the boys at pyramid hill ready to tear the loddon valley apart this year. lost a few big names but with 8 seniors signings and a couple of young blokes out there tearing it apart on the track look ready for a massive year. Should be very hard to beat and by the sounds of things and should be a better side than last year!!

If Birchmore is taking kicking practice then expect some wayward shots from the Pyramid boys

NoH2O
20 Mar 2007, 21:35
Lets hoping this rain will help the grounds in LVFL. How are the Inglewood and Bridgy ovals looking?
Also, who wants to have a stab at this years top 5 final teams. I know its early but why not;)
Here's a stab:
YCW, Pyramid, Calivil, Mitiamo, Newbridge. What are your thoughts?

live larg
20 Mar 2007, 23:31
miti will go all the just watch. and i recon pyramid will b runner up and who cares about the rest.

NoH2O
21 Mar 2007, 08:37
Miti all the way??? That's a big statement considering they didn't make finals last year. I think they'll be in the mix, but what do you know that we dont? Who are their new recruits?

Catter
21 Mar 2007, 11:05
Miti all the way??? That's a big statement considering they didn't make finals last year. I think they'll be in the mix, but what do you know that we dont? Who are their new recruits?

There was a good turn out for their intraclub. Quite a few fresh faces apparently. Wicksy couldnt quite understand the new rules about hands in the back:D

live larg
21 Mar 2007, 19:58
yeh last yr they didnt do that well but the had 6 injuries in 1 game and some bad 1 too. not sure of all the new recruits but their is a few. plus couple of last yrs good injured players are fitt and back their best. they will surprise a few. i give you the hot tip!!

tigerwoods
23 Mar 2007, 00:36
Lets hoping this rain will help the grounds in LVFL. How are the Inglewood and Bridgy ovals looking?
Also, who wants to have a stab at this years top 5 final teams. I know its early but why not;)
Here's a stab:
had rain up this way early in week, more for friday night & sat. here's hoping. Grounds should come up alright if thier right on forcast. I'woods oval has been airaighted early in week so if rains come as forcast it could come up OK. Gutsy go at top 5 so early on, think i'll look at the first couple of games before I even think about it, but well done for having a go.

galloping gasometer
23 Mar 2007, 09:22
Here's a stab:

I reckon Serp might be a chance for the 5 and unless Pyramid has another ruckman to follow up on Al Morris I dont know about them. They have good onballers but maybe wont get the ball like they used to first.

In order

Calivil, Newbridge,YCW, Pyramid, Serp, just in front of Mitiamo

bobbill
26 Mar 2007, 11:17
Any upcoming practice matches coming up for anybody? I have heard that Newbridge are playing Elmore this weekend and YCW are playing Wandella can anybody confirm these?

NoH2O
26 Mar 2007, 12:50
Not sure about those but I heard Mitiamo are playing Macorna this sat.

The Mighty Maroons
26 Mar 2007, 18:30
I can confirm that Newbridge are Playing Elmore this weekend.:)

Trent the flight Steward
29 Mar 2007, 13:42
does anyone no if marong lost andy barry too? thatl be hard for them he was half the side. and i think out of the runner up grandfinal u/17s side 2 yrs ago they have 1 player out of all them boys they didnt bother trying to keep the young blokes there even though a few of them are pretty handy and hav a look at how they are now slowly goin down the sh*ter that club. and i heard that they lost that lttle micka pratt i think he went to miti thats also a big loss itl b hard for them for a while but goodluck to them hopfully they can get back on there feet.
I think mity might need kennys brother to paly for them if they have any chance of dethroning the mighty demons who will win five in a row from birchys dogs

freak06
2 Apr 2007, 13:53
pyramid played host to boort on sat....pretty good hit out for both sides. birchy seems to be gettin a handy side up and going in the hill. close match with a few out from each side

Hellboy
2 Apr 2007, 15:43

I can confirm Andy Barry is going back to Sea Lake but will probably be heading interstate mid season. While Andy is an exceptional footballer, I don't quite think he's half the side. Big loss all the same.

Kenny is yet another Marong footballer poached by Mitiamo.

On The Money
2 Apr 2007, 16:54
pyramid played host to boort on sat....pretty good hit out for both sides. birchy seems to be gettin a handy side up and going in the hill. close match with a few out from each side

Yer Pyramid should still line up resonable. Did anyone hear how the Calivil vs Huntly practice match went?

This Wednesday Serp take on North Dogs in the Marybrough night series Grand Final.

Big Al 11
3 Apr 2007, 09:44
Yer Pyramid should still line up resonable. Did anyone hear how the Calivil vs Huntly practice match went?

This Wednesday Serp take on North Dogs in the Marybrough night series Grand Final.

How did Newbridge go in their last praccy match. Did any of their new recruits standout?

On The Money
3 Apr 2007, 18:10
How did Newbridge go in their last praccy match. Did any of their new recruits standout?

There was a post about the Practice match on the HDFL thread but it didn't give a score or much information.

Y.C.W had a hit out on the weekend against Wandella I think so maybe Bobbill can give us a run down on the Eagles performance.

bobbill
4 Apr 2007, 12:13
There was a post about the Practice match on the HDFL thread but it didn't give a score or much information.

Y.C.W had a hit out on the weekend against Wandella I think so maybe Bobbill can give us a run down on the Eagles performance.

For you OTM, 6 quarter game. YCW only had 10 senior palyers the rest seconds. No score keep but YCW ended up winning by 3-4 goals. Good players were Al Duncan at full back who looks like he should step up from 2's and hold down a spot down back. Nathan Alford was good across half back and then went forward kicking a couple of goals. Shaun Kellow went well on-ball and also kicked 3 or 4 goals and James Coppock in the ruck.
A count up after the game was done on definite seniors players missing with a total of 12 missing. But still a good hit out for those involved.

lucy_the_dog
4 Apr 2007, 19:05

can anyone tell me if joey coatsworth played and if he did how did he go?

wonker
5 Apr 2007, 10:42
The M'borough Castlemaine league has been put back by three weeks. The Avoca ground is in good condition. If any one up that way is interested in playing Avoca in a full scale practice match or would like to use the ground for a hit out on any of the Saturday's or Sundays of April 14th & 15th, 21st & 22nd, 28th & 29th the Secretary of the Avoca club can be contacted on 54653003 or mobile 0419 653003.

JGraf
6 Apr 2007, 12:24

Elmore won the game by 5 points after being 7 goals up at half time. Newbridge had some errors in the first half and didnt quite click until the third quarter which is normal with a lot of new players in a team.

Some of the new players who showed something included Trent McIntosh, a man mountain, Ben Rogers and Leon Nixon just to name a few.

The Big Shev did not play but should play in the next practice match being played on April 14.

Elmore had a system which they were used to playing but would to improve a lot if they want to challenge in the HDFL.

Newbridge are on the right track but as everyone knows Calivil are the team to chase and Pyramid will be hungry to win as will YCW.

The Mighty Maroons
10 Apr 2007, 13:05
Who are Newbridge Playing in a praccy match next??

kidgorgeous
10 Apr 2007, 15:19

What players has Birchmore got with him?

Footy Maniac
10 Apr 2007, 15:22
Who are Newbridge Playing in a praccy match next??

Newbridge are heading to Sea Lake on Saturday for the next praccy match. The whole club are travelling there, netballers and juniors too. Should be a good hitout!

wonker
10 Apr 2007, 18:05
Inglewood is playing Avoca this Satuday. It is being played at the Avoca oval which is in pretty good condition.

Senior Reserve & U17's football along with A & B grade netball.

you_know_it
10 Apr 2007, 20:07
can anyone tell me if chris lakey still plays at newbridge

gerta
10 Apr 2007, 22:36
Serp to play Huntly at Serp on Saturday.

ROOTA#6
10 Apr 2007, 22:39
How will YCW shape up for a praccy on Saturday?

gerta
11 Apr 2007, 00:27

I imagine they would be close to full strength roota... Season starts the following week, so everyone would be as keen as to get amongst it..

From previous posts sounds like they had a few out, but i'm sure this weekend they would be trying to get everyone on the park...

Footy Maniac
11 Apr 2007, 10:21
can anyone tell me if chris lakey still plays at newbridge
Yeah Lakes is still playing out at Newbridge. Had a pretty good year last year and seems set for another stella year! The man has one of the best set of hands in the LVFL.

Hellboy
11 Apr 2007, 10:47
Marong to play North Bendigo at Toolleen on Saturday. Marong's ground isn't up to it at the moment and without rain, might struggle to play their first couple of home games at the ground.

bobbill
11 Apr 2007, 11:17

Roota YCW will have about 6-8 missing on Saturday but no doubt Mounts will still have some missing. Where are you going to be lining up Roota?

you_know_it
11 Apr 2007, 14:42
Yeah Lakes is still playing out at Newbridge. Had a pretty good year last year and seems set for another stella year! The man has one of the best set of hands in the LVFL.
i can agree with you there seen him play before.i might have to go and watch im this weekend where are they playing

Footy Maniac
12 Apr 2007, 14:59
i can agree with you there seen him play before.i might have to go and watch im this weekend where are they playing
Playing Sea Lake @ Sea Lake.

gerta
12 Apr 2007, 22:27
Do bridgewater have any praccy matches this weekend???

Hellboy
16 Apr 2007, 11:57
Marong had a good hit out against North Bendigo yesterday, winning by about 4 goals.

Sam Milner made a great comeback, kicking 5 and giving plenty off. The Thompson twins and Leighton Dullard were among the most impressive of the new recruits.

With 4-5 senior players not playing, including Brad McCormick and Glenn Carson, expect Marong to return to their winning ways this season.

nesko_25
16 Apr 2007, 14:18
HOw soes Shaun Morgan from Inglewood go?

barry badrinath
16 Apr 2007, 17:39
anyone know if mark holland from newbridge will be going around again this year???from round one or will he make his usual comeback about half way through...i know his knees are rooted and was wondering how he has been going,he doesnt run much in cricket..a handy slogger though..

Trent the flight Steward
17 Apr 2007, 13:13
Marong had a good hit out against North Bendigo yesterday, winning by about 4 goals.

Sam Milner made a great comeback, kicking 5 and giving plenty off. The Thompson twins and Leighton Dullard were among the most impressive of the new recruits.

With 4-5 senior players not playing, including Brad McCormick and Glenn Carson, expect Marong to return to their winning ways this season.

Good to see sammy back in the panther kit, hope he stays commited to playing all year as the way his beloved magpies are travelling at the moment he may not play some games to go watch them play as he has done in the past, has biff had an influnece on getting him back?

Leighton Dullard will be super pick up he will more then compensate the loss of kenny, i hope he inherits the famous number 34 gurnsey, that is if stevo fulton hasnt snatched it back, good to see te panthers back on the prowl for 07

oldmanemu
17 Apr 2007, 16:24

North Bendigo won 3 games last year, so a 4 goal win isn't much to write home about, especially when you line up against a side like Newbridge in round 1.

On The Money
17 Apr 2007, 22:41
North Bendigo won 3 games last year, so a 4 goal win isn't much to write home about, especially when you line up against a side like Newbridge in round 1.

Yer and while Sam Milner has some talent I would be surprised if he is committed enough to play week in week out. While I think Marong will lift up the ladder a bit the ''Marong to return to their winning ways'' might have been a bit much with their last Premiership coming in 1989 and plenty of years since then absent from the finals action.

Mobbenfuhrer
17 Apr 2007, 22:54
gerta you might be flyin' the LVFL flag on yer lonesome in the fantasy comp! Not much of a turn-out from these bludgers :p

rockafella
17 Apr 2007, 23:27
anyone know if mark holland from newbridge will be going around again this year???from round one or will he make his usual comeback about half way through...i know his knees are rooted and was wondering how he has been going,he doesnt run much in cricket..a handy slogger though..
from all reports he has been to some trainings, knees never been the same since he hurt them a good two or three years ago. he will probably start out in the 2's but who knows what will happen as the season progresses. yeah, can hit a cricket ball a fair distance!:thumbsu:

Footy Maniac
18 Apr 2007, 13:18
What are the tips for the 1st Round??
Mine are:

Miti
Newbridge
YCW (should be a great game!!)
Calivil
:thumbsu:

gerta
18 Apr 2007, 14:37
gerta you might be flyin' the LVFL flag on yer lonesome in the fantasy comp! Not much of a turn-out from these bludgers :p

Yeah it seems a bit that way Mob...

barry badrinath
18 Apr 2007, 16:42
from all reports he has been to some trainings, knees never been the same since he hurt them a good two or three years ago. he will probably start out in the 2's but who knows what will happen as the season progresses. yeah, can hit a cricket ball a fair distance!:thumbsu:

thanks rockafella..from what i hear there wont be goalsquares big enough to fit holland,shevlin and reed wills in them...all handy players though

Hellboy
18 Apr 2007, 19:45
Yer and while Sam Milner has some talent I would be surprised if he is committed enough to play week in week out. While I think Marong will lift up the ladder a bit the ''Marong to return to their winning ways'' might have been a bit much with their last Premiership coming in 1989 and plenty of years since then absent from the finals action.

Short memory OTM. Marong played off in the Grand Final in 2004 and played in week two of the finals in 2005. One year out of the finals hardly qualifies as "plenty".

As far as Sam Milner goes, we can only hope Collingwood keep losing!

Hellboy
18 Apr 2007, 19:56

I never mentioned anything about it being a good win, simply a good hit out. Given the season last year, 2007 is showing significantly more promise but still with a fair way to go yet.

I wouldn't go and hang your hat on the results of Round 1.

live larg
19 Apr 2007, 10:51
Short memory OTM. Marong played off in the Grand Final in 2004 and played in week two of the finals in 2005. One year out of the finals hardly qualifies as "plenty".

As far as Sam Milner goes, we can only hope Collingwood keep losing!
You might want to have a look at the team that Marong had when they played off in the granny in 2004 a lot of talent lost since then with wayne landry, micka pratt and lee franklin all gone jsut to mention a few. Not to mention Andrew Barry being another loss this season. No doubt Sammy Milner is a great player but living in melbourne might make it hard to keep up the motivation to come back and play all season. While Marong have had some good pick ups i really dont think they will be as strong with the Losses they have had.

and as for the new players 'more than compensating' you could hardly say they have been 'dedicated' to pre season.

rockafella
19 Apr 2007, 13:07
will be interesting see the team sheets in the paper tommorow... from memory newbridge were notorious for submitting fake teams, more noteably the time 70's adult movie star Johnny Holmes lined up the bench for them....;)

Hellboy
19 Apr 2007, 13:21
You might want to have a look at the team that Marong had when they played off in the granny in 2004 a lot of talent lost since then with wayne landry, micka pratt and lee franklin all gone jsut to mention a few. Not to mention Andrew Barry being another loss this season. No doubt Sammy Milner is a great player but living in melbourne might make it hard to keep up the motivation to come back and play all season. While Marong have had some good pick ups i really dont think they will be as strong with the Losses they have had.

and as for the new players 'more than compensating' you could hardly say they have been 'dedicated' to pre season.

Marong certainly don't have the team that went around in 2004 and won't be as strong as that side. I was never comparing the 2004 side with this years, simply that the 2007 side will be much more competitive than last years.

As far as the new players go, the Thompson twins would certainly 'compensate' for the loss of Ned, Leighton Dullard for Kenny, and we would hope that Franky is right to play before the end of the season.

Fair point about the dedication to preseason however a fair bit of this has to do with late signings. Marong wouldn't be the only club in this boat.

Trent the flight Steward
19 Apr 2007, 13:40
Marong certainly don't have the team that went around in 2004 and won't be as strong as that side. I was never comparing the 2004 side with this years, simply that the 2007 side will be much more competitive than last years.

As far as the new players go, the Thompson twins would certainly 'compensate' for the loss of Ned, Leighton Dullard for Kenny, and we would hope that Franky is right to play before the end of the season.

Fair point about the dedication to preseason however a fair bit of this has to do with late signings. Marong wouldn't be the only club in this boat.
have marong only won 1 senior flag in their history hellboy?
My experience of marong was they celebrated to hard for just winning and were content with their 04 seasonin both grades after playing well in a final and not fronting up to play the same brand the next week, looks like they have some quality recruits this year hopefully some of the players of 04 will come back to club like alford and dalton very underated duo and i hear a whisper that jarrad dean is back in town

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Apr 2007, 13:45
My experience of marong was they celebrated to hard for just winning and were content with their 04 seasonin both grades after playing well in a final and not fronting up to play the same brand the next week, looks like they have some quality recruits this year hopefully some of the players of 04 will come back to club like alford and dalton very underated duo and i hear a whisper that jarrad dean is back in town

Actually ... !!!

Marong Football Club (Vic)

Guernseys & Nicknames :
1995 - Marong were known as the Panthers.

Timeline :
1926-27 - Bendigo JFA : Marong participated.
1929 - Bendigo DFA : Marong participated.
1946-50 - Bendigo FA : Marong participated.
1975-80 - Golden City FL : Marong participated.
1981 - Bendigo-Golden City FL Division 2 : Marong participated.
1982 - Bendigo-Golden City FL Division 2 : Marong's final season in this league.
1983 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong commenced.
1984-88 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong participated.
1989 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong were premiers.
1990-92 - Loddon Valley FL - Marong were a powerful club.
1993-94 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong participated.
1995 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong finished 9th (last).
1996-99 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong participated.
2000 - Loddon Valley FL (August 12) : Inglewood 13.13.91 defeated Marong 5.12.42.
2001-04 - Loddon Valley FL : Marong participated.

fifth quarter
19 Apr 2007, 13:48
wot was the year the marong boys got the panther tattoo on the ankles a few days prior to the granny
then went out and lost the granny
tatts applied just a few days too erly as it turned out
that wasn't 2004 was it h-boy :confused: :confused:

live larg
19 Apr 2007, 15:35

I dont think late signing was the case with all the new players not rocking up to train.

fair to say this year will be more than competitve than last years team, and hopefully it is. But i dont think the players were all that was wrong with the reason for the loss's last year either.

No doubt these new recruits are good, but probably best to wait until the season starts to say for sure. Just saying that i think the loss of players like Andrew barry, Ned, Micka and Franky will impact the team regardless of picking up new players. You could definately see the difference just with ned stopping.

Hellboy
19 Apr 2007, 15:51

Unfortunately senior premierships have been few and far between at Marong. 1989 is our only premiership with 2004 being the only other GF played in.

Celebrating certainly was high on the agenda in 04. Consistency in finals wasn't great for either grade. I don't think the two have much to do with each other.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Apr 2007, 15:56
Celebrating certainly was high on the agenda in 04.

Yers must've got MAGGOTTED in 1989!! :thumbsu:

Hellboy
19 Apr 2007, 15:56
wot was the year the marong boys got the panther tattoo on the ankles a few days prior to the granny
then went out and lost the granny
tatts applied just a few days too erly as it turned out
that wasn't 2004 was it h-boy :confused: :confused:

That's news to me 5th Q. The only GF Marong have lost is 2004 and I'd be certain that no one went out and got a Panther tattoo prior to that match.

There was some talk of this happening in the early 90's when Marong were a strong side. We never played in a GF though.

Hellboy
19 Apr 2007, 15:59
Yers must've got MAGGOTTED in 1989!! :thumbsu:

I think Billy Grant is still celebrating!

Hellboy
19 Apr 2007, 16:19
But i dont think the players were all that was wrong with the reason for the loss's last year either.

No doubt these new recruits are good, but probably best to wait until the season starts to say for sure. Just saying that i think the loss of players like Andrew barry, Ned, Micka and Franky will impact the team regardless of picking up new players. You could definately see the difference just with ned stopping.[/quote]

It was a lack of players that was the reason for the losses last year. The only other reason I can think of is that the most of the other teams had better players!

What other reasons can there be Larg?

live larg
19 Apr 2007, 16:27
I think Billy Grant is still celebrating!
Im pretty sure Billy has his focus on the miti boys performing this year

It was a lack of players that was the reason for the losses last year. The only other reason I can think of is that the most of the other teams had better players!

What other reasons can there be Larg?
Fair enough there was a lack of players and other teams were good. The players Marong had last year wernt bad and should have possibly done better than they did. from what i hear there were a few issues that had an impact on things.

hopefully they have a better season this year

The Mighty Maroons
19 Apr 2007, 22:47
Newbridge all the way, would be good to see all 3 footy teams premiers like calival have nearly been doing for the last few years but i think that there time is up in the grand final, Also would be nice to see Newbridge get a few teams in netball through to the finals:cool:

Footy Maniac
20 Apr 2007, 11:30
Newbridge all the way, would be good to see all 3 footy teams premiers like calival have nearly been doing for the last few years but i think that there time is up in the grand final, Also would be nice to see Newbridge get a few teams in netball through to the finals:cool:

Would be good of Calivil to share it around!
From what I've heard Newbridge football seems to be pretty strong. Also, heard that many clubs are struggling for netballers but Newbridge have more than they need and have alot of depth. Could be their year!:D

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Apr 2007, 12:55
Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

iwantanotherflag
20 Apr 2007, 20:53
Would be good of Calivil to share it around!
From what I've heard Newbridge football seems to be pretty strong. Also, heard that many clubs are struggling for netballers but Newbridge have more than they need and have alot of depth. Could be their year!:D

Mate you dont share premierships around. You take them away. I played for Calivil in 2000. Very good club, good people! Having good locals helps. Maxteds, Ralphs, Clymos.

The Mighty Maroons
21 Apr 2007, 11:49
Mate you dont share premierships around. You take them away. I played for Calivil in 2000. Very good club, good people! Having good locals helps. Maxteds, Ralphs, Clymos.

Mate they wont have to try to share there premiership around this year, Last year they werent far from lossing it and this year they defintly will lose it. Other teams improve and in my opinion they think that 'well we have won for the last heaps of years' so why would they want to recruit and get any better???? Also if they think that theres a player that they think will have a big impact on the game i feel they will go for them and not stop until they are really hurt and cant play.:thumbsd:

On The Money
23 Apr 2007, 22:32
Come on boys there was a round of matches on the weekend whats the news?
I watched a fair portion of the Y.C.W vs Pyramid Hill game.
There were some good patches of play at times although there were a number of players that didn't handle the footy at all well.
Pyramid look like they will be a pretty fair side with Wilkinson the new ruckman a very good player at this level with strong hands, athletism across the ground and good skills so I'm sure he will make a mess of a few toilers he comes up against from opposition sides. Chillcott was fantastic slotting 11 goals 4 or 5, most from set shots and some in tight spots while Birchmore provided a good target at CHF to work through.
For Y.C.W Loring was handy from limited opportunities with 4 goals Bennett flashed in and out of the game with some good touches but they will need McCormick and Webb back in ASAP and a good run with injury to give it a shake one would think.

Hellboy
24 Apr 2007, 09:25
As most would have expected, Newbridge were too strong for Marong. Although the scoreline doesn't indicate it, the match was evenly contested for the most part. Two 5 minute bursts at the start of the 2nd and 3rd quarters saw Newbridge kick 8 goals to 0. The game was pretty much sealed from there.

Leon Nixon was pretty impressive kicking 7, however he had very little attention for most of the day. The Big Shev lowered his colours to Jimmy Williams, beaten quite convincingly. While he's sure to kick a few bags this season, he might not have the consistent impact that Newbridge had hoped for. Marong were missing some key players in Sam Milner, Glenn Carson and the yet to be cleared Jacob Dahl. With these players back for round 2, Marong would be expecting a much better showing against Mitiamo this Saturday.

Trent the flight Steward
24 Apr 2007, 13:29
As most would have expected, Newbridge were too strong for Marong. Although the scoreline doesn't indicate it, the match was evenly contested for the most part. Two 5 minute bursts at the start of the 2nd and 3rd quarters saw Newbridge kick 8 goals to 0. The game was pretty much sealed from there.

Leon Nixon was pretty impressive kicking 7, however he had very little attention for most of the day. The Big Shev lowered his colours to Jimmy Williams, beaten quite convincingly. While he's sure to kick a few bags this season, he might not have the consistent impact that Newbridge had hoped for. Marong were missing some key players in Sam Milner, Glenn Carson and the yet to be cleared Jacob Dahl. With these players back for round 2, Marong would be expecting a much better showing against Mitiamo this Saturday.
Is the big chuck going to play with the panthers this year hellboy? How did ray kell go?

Hellboy
24 Apr 2007, 15:40
Is the big chuck going to play with the panthers this year hellboy? How did ray kell go?

Chuck is recovering from a broken leg and is still carrying a fair limp at the moment. I'd suggest this season might be a write off. If you ask Chuck, we are lost without him!

Ray Kell was impressive without being outstanding. Gave plenty of run off a wing and delivered very well. He strained a hammy in the 3rd quarter and spent the majority of the game on the pine after that. Should come up for this weekend.

barry badrinath
24 Apr 2007, 15:44
i heard that newbridge didnt deliver it the way they should to a big guy...i got told they tried to stab pass it to him and not just sit it up high and let him use his size,cause he will be stronger than most blokes one on one...

Hellboy
24 Apr 2007, 17:27
i heard that newbridge didnt deliver it the way they should to a big guy...i got told they tried to stab pass it to him and not just sit it up high and let him use his size,cause he will be stronger than most blokes one on one...

The couple that Shev got were marks from big kicks that were sat up high and they probably did try to drill him too much. He's certainly not going far out of the goal square. Even when the ball was put up, he played from behind and couldn't mark or the ball dropped short and was marked by a player dropping back in front of him (at their own peril).

Given the new interpretation of a push in the back, which the umpires were red hot on, trying to muscle blokes out while playing from behind might not work very often.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, Shev will kick a few bags but won't have things all his own way.

NoH2O
24 Apr 2007, 22:59
I didn't see all of the game at Mitiamo, however Inglewood started off impressively with some good youngsters coming through. For Miti, Craig Nicholls kicked 10 and Azza McKean clocked up the touches. Good to see some of the Inglewood players sticking around after the game for a few drinks:thumbsu: On the netball front, Miti again will be strong contenders in each grade. Lookout for the new "Locky" girls in A grade.

iwantanotherflag
25 Apr 2007, 21:27

Is Jimmy still at the Panthers. Went to Uni with Jimmy. What posi does he play nowadays?

Hellboy
26 Apr 2007, 09:00
Is Jimmy still at the Panthers. Went to Uni with Jimmy. What posi does he play nowadays?

Jimmy is back with the Panthers this year after 2 years overseas. Although he secretly harbours desires to play at full forward, he's playing at full back.

kidgorgeous
26 Apr 2007, 12:52
I didn't see all of the game at Mitiamo, however Inglewood started off impressively with some good youngsters coming through. For Miti, Craig Nicholls kicked 10 and Azza McKean clocked up the touches. Good to see some of the Inglewood players sticking around after the game for a few drinks:thumbsu: On the netball front, Miti again will be strong contenders in each grade. Lookout for the new "Locky" girls in A grade.

Sharelle McMahon going back to her roots?

Roar38
26 Apr 2007, 14:38
how did sisquo coatsworth go for pyramid hill, his a tuff little nut to crack

On The Money
27 Apr 2007, 01:14
how did sisquo coatsworth go for pyramid hill, his a tuff little nut to crack

Yer he did and had some good touches.

D-Nine
27 Apr 2007, 15:13
So guys, who do we think are going to prevail in Round 2?

I saw Pyramid hill v YCW last week and would suggest that Pyramid vs Newbridge is going to be a cracker.
Pyramid Hill looked very good and with a good on ball brigade and multiple forward options could be hard to beat.

Calivil and YCW will be a tough one to pick as well. Im thinking Calivil just with the home ground advantage.

KingRich
27 Apr 2007, 23:13
Did Reed Wills line up for Newbridge Round 1 or still out injured?

The Mighty Maroons
28 Apr 2007, 23:07
WOW newbridge sound unbeatable at the moment now dont they!! Even though we are only 2 rounds in but Pyramid Hill are a stong side and by beating them that is saying only one thing

patty O'furnicha
28 Apr 2007, 23:49
WOW newbridge sound unbeatable at the moment now dont they!! Even though we are only 2 rounds in but Pyramid Hill are a stong side and by beating them that is saying only one thing

So what was the scores? how did my pocket size friend go? (shevlin) have seen him pounding the pavement in attempt to stamp his authority on this league! :D

The Mighty Maroons
29 Apr 2007, 15:02
So what was the scores? how did my pocket size friend go? (shevlin) have seen him pounding the pavement in attempt to stamp his authority on this league! :D

Newbridge won 106 to 81, havent seen shevlin play yet, but i plan to go down to see how they all go this weekend against Calival United:rolleyes:

jaws5
29 Apr 2007, 19:59
can any one tell me how Ben Fitzpatric from YCW goes. I heard he may not be playing there this year and might play at echuca in the GVFL.

D-Nine
30 Apr 2007, 14:41
Heard the big Shev struggled a bit on Saturday. Newbridge boys by all reports are up and running and will be a good one this week against the reigning premiers.

Anyone see or hear about Inglewood winning their first game? Unbelieveable, either they have picked up a few and are not too bad or Serp are going to really struggle thiis year.
Good to see the boys have a win... well overdue.

Catter
30 Apr 2007, 16:37
Heard the big Shev struggled a bit on Saturday. Newbridge boys by all reports are up and running and will be a good one this week against the reigning premiers.

Anyone see or hear about Inglewood winning their first game? Unbelieveable, either they have picked up a few and are not too bad or Serp are going to really struggle thiis year.
Good to see the boys have a win... well overdue.

Think you'll find that Serp got up by a couple of goals. Apparently Inglewood should have won, but couldn't shut the game down in the last 1/4

On The Money
30 Apr 2007, 18:16
Think you'll find that Serp got up by a couple of goals. Apparently Inglewood should have won, but couldn't shut the game down in the last 1/4

Yer it was a mistake in the paper they do alot more likely to snare a win this season though.

gerta
30 Apr 2007, 23:14
Yer it was a mistake in the paper they do alot more likely to snare a win this season though.

Totally agree i think they will snag more than one this year. Looked very impressive on Saturday with the way they moved the ball, especially for the first three quarters. Just couldn't quite finish it off.

On The Money
30 Apr 2007, 23:20
Totally agree i think they will snag more than one this year. Looked very impressive on Saturday with the way they moved the ball, especially for the first three quarters. Just couldn't quite finish it off.

Serp got any players to come into that line up?
What are the expectations for the season?

gerta
1 May 2007, 09:57
Serp got any players to come into that line up?
What are the expectations for the season?

Don't think that Serp do have many more to come into the side, i think that was almost them at full strength. Maybe one or two, i'm not exactly sure.
I think their are reasonably high expectations, but we'll have to wait and see.

D-Nine
1 May 2007, 13:24
I know its early, but given what we have seen over the first 2 rounds is anyone game enough to pick a final 5?

If I was to have an early stab at it I am thinking something like:

Newbridge
Pyramid Hill
Calivil
YCW
Mitiamo