View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League
skloddon_8
4 Aug 2007, 12:03
just because they are locals doesn't mean they aren't going to be getting some sort of money. I reckon it's fantastic that they get them back there to play.
As for flying ducks comment, who apart from the player themselves and the treasurer would know what any player in the club is on? That's right no one. Of course it's all speculation about who is doing what. I'll have a crack at who i reckon is getting coin at each club
Newbridge to me would be paying more than match payments to Comer, Wills, Shevlin, both Giri's, Lakey, Ash Grant, Baxter, McLean, Nixon, Hughes, Mildren, Cam Grant,
Pyramid Chillcot, Birchmore, Pavlou, Thatcher, Gilchrist, Marscheni, Bird,
Calivil, Fremantle, Both Demeo's, The Maxted's, The Allen's,
YCW, Rob Bennett, Lorring, McCormick, Webb, Turner, Keating,
Miti, Wicks, Haythorpe, Morriesy, Pratt, Boldiston, Wills, Shannon Hayes, Craig Nicholls,
Serp, Maxted, Pointon, Gadsden, Cox, Mensforth (even if he is in the twos), Bateman, McMurray, McNally, Pollock, Welch,
Bridgey Ashman, Ant Collins, Alex Collins, Christie, Hall, Ferguson, Clutton
Ingelwood Billett, Kelly, Connally, Wilson,
Marong Rogers, Both Thompsons, Brad McCormick, Sudweeks, Gadsden, Dahl, Blandthorn,
All educated guesses, don't shoot me down, let me know if you think i've missed any.
i agree with u on most of the players u hav listed.... but bird for pyramid... he's been playing there for 7 years now... he loves the club and the people around it.... i would say he's on shit all.....
Trent the flight Steward
6 Aug 2007, 13:12
i think ya full of s h i t... u need to swap pryramid hill and newbridge... then swap the hill gain with bridgewater... y do u think pyramid is spending so much money... who they spending it on...
they would have to spend up big, as who in their right mind would go to Pyramid for free, great town.....:thumbsd:
Tommy Guns
6 Aug 2007, 15:12
they would have to spend up big, as who in their right mind would go to Pyramid for free, great town.....:thumbsd:
Second that.
Given that I don't know how much players in my own club are getting paid, and am usually surprised when I find out who is and who isn't, I find it hard to believe anyone would be able to compile a list for the whole league with any authority.
old saint
7 Aug 2007, 12:36
[
Serp, Maxted, Pointon, Gadsden, Cox, Mensforth (even if he is in the twos), Bateman, McMurray, McNally, Pollock, Welch,
is this the steven cox from heathcote, if so how is he travelling this year.
is his younger brother shane still playing along side him ?
Frankenfurter
7 Aug 2007, 13:34
Tommy Guns, i've got no idea what anyone at any club is on. All i'm trying to do is get some sort of discussion going on the LVFL, the thread seems to die pretty quickly. The players listed are the ones in my opinion are playing footy for more than the local kid who has played there all his life. The players i have listed for your club though how do you reckon my list stacks up?
Old Saint, it is Steve Cox still out at Serp, Shane is playing in the twos, think he is working his way back from a nasty hamstring tear from 6 - 8 weeks ago when he finally had got back into the senior side alongside Steve. Steve still goes alright, although is getting on in years.
[
is this the steven cox from heathcote, if so how is he travelling this year.
is his younger brother shane still playing along side him ?
That would the one... Steve has played pretty well all year, had a couple of little niggles throughout the season which has meant he missed a few games.
Shane has been playing as well, kicked 11 in the twos a couple of weeks ago, but has had an injury interupted season.
Info hound
7 Aug 2007, 23:43
Can any one tell me where the finals are likely to be held ?
Frankenfurter
8 Aug 2007, 09:58
FINALS DRAW FOR 2007
25th August Qualifying final Pyramid Hill
26th August Elimination Final Newbridge
1st September 2nd Semi Bridgewater
2nd September 1st Semi Marong
8th September Preliminary Inglewood
15th September Grand Final Bears Lagoon Serpentine
League B&F at Serpentine Hall 9th September
Frankenfurter
10 Aug 2007, 12:44
Interesting round of matches coming up this weekend
Serp v Newbridge - I think Newbridge will win comfortably, probably not as comfortably as last time they played Serp but an easy day at the office coming up. Apparently Serp is up to their old tricks and are stacking their reserves side (WTF?!?)
Ing v YCW - Who knows here, YCW could win by 30 goals or could get beat by 10. All depends on McCormick really if he kicks a few they seem to win, if he doesn't they usually fail. YCW have to win to have any hope of making the finals.
Marong v Bridgey - From all reports Bridgey has copped a season's worth of injuries in the last two weeks, apparently have got 9 senior players missing this week including Christie, Ashman and Symons. If Marong were ever going to cause a boilover this is probably the week. Marong to win i reckon.
Pyramid v Calivil - Grand Finalists from last year. Calivil are slowly awakening from their slumber to get ready for another finals tilt. This is their last game as they have a bye next week, Pyramid need to win to sew up a finals spot. Calivil though will be too strong.
Should make for an interesting final round next week if these results fall as Pyramid, Bridgey, YCW and Serp fighting out for the 4th and 5th spot on the ladder.
:thumbsu:I reckon Pyramid by a couple of goals .
They tell me they are fired up for what should be a great game .
skloddon_8
10 Aug 2007, 20:52
:thumbsu:I reckon Pyramid by a couple of goals .
They tell me they are fired up for what should be a great game .
i agree with ya on that mate... Pyramid hill will pump calivil this week..
other winners will be YCW comfortably, Newbridge by 100 points, Bridgy to win by a handy 5 goals....
FlyingDucks
10 Aug 2007, 21:24
just because they are locals doesn't mean they aren't going to be getting some sort of money. I reckon it's fantastic that they get them back there to play.
As for flying ducks comment, who apart from the player themselves and the treasurer would know what any player in the club is on? That's right no one. Of course it's all speculation about who is doing what. I'll have a crack at who i reckon is getting coin at each club
Newbridge to me would be paying more than match payments to Comer, Wills, Shevlin, both Giri's, Lakey, Ash Grant, Baxter, McLean, Nixon, Hughes, Mildren, Cam Grant,
Pyramid Chillcot, Birchmore, Pavlou, Thatcher, Gilchrist, Marscheni, Bird,
Calivil, Fremantle, Both Demeo's, The Maxted's, The Allen's,
YCW, Rob Bennett, Lorring, McCormick, Webb, Turner, Keating,
Miti, Wicks, Haythorpe, Morriesy, Pratt, Boldiston, Wills, Shannon Hayes, Craig Nicholls,
Bridgey Ashman, Ant Collins, Alex Collins, Christie, Hall, Ferguson, Clutton
Ingelwood Billett, Kelly, Connally, Wilson,
Marong Rogers, Both Thompsons, Brad McCormick, Sudweeks, Gadsden, Dahl, Blandthorn,
All educated guesses, don't shoot me down, let me know if you think i've missed any.
I think you have grossly overestimated some of those Newbridge guys and the money they would be getting.
investor
11 Aug 2007, 20:00
other winners will be YCW comfortably, Newbridge by 100 points, Bridgy to win by a handy 5 goals....
Well, the hill beaten, but not disgraced, calivil play a good consistant game,
but don't worry, the hill will be there to play finals, dont worry YCW maybe next year:D
FlyingDucks
12 Aug 2007, 15:57
Well, the hill beaten, but not disgraced, calivil play a good consistant game,
but don't worry, the hill will be there to play finals, dont worry YCW maybe next year:D
Dont Pyramid play Mitiamo last round? And YCW play Marong. I know which team I would be more confident of being in the Finals. And YCW was the team who troubled Newbridge the most other than the loss to Pyramid.
jack 01
12 Aug 2007, 17:36
no nobhead pyramid play bridgewater last round ,and with the way bridgy have been going the last few weeks u would have to back the hill wouldnt ya? Serp play miti
Tommy Guns
13 Aug 2007, 10:39
Tommy Guns, i've got no idea what anyone at any club is on. All i'm trying to do is get some sort of discussion going on the LVFL, the thread seems to die pretty quickly. The players listed are the ones in my opinion are playing footy for more than the local kid who has played there all his life. The players i have listed for your club though how do you reckon my list stacks up?
Old Saint, it is Steve Cox still out at Serp, Shane is playing in the twos, think he is working his way back from a nasty hamstring tear from 6 - 8 weeks ago when he finally had got back into the senior side alongside Steve. Steve still goes alright, although is getting on in years.
Good on you for trying to get discussion going, because you're right, it can be lacking at times. You've still got to be ready to cop flack if you make rank calls though.
As for your accuracy on my club, about half the names lifted would receive compensation for fuel, and two of these would receive slightly more because they fill leadership roles.
Frankenfurter
13 Aug 2007, 10:57
big round of footy coming up this weekend, i dare say the YCW boys will be wishing Bridgey all the luck in the world as they need them to beat Pyramid to sneak into the finals (providing they can take care of Marong). Newbridge and Mitiamo will just want to get through without any injuries leading into the finals.
Should be an interesting finals series, although i'm not sure what the league executive were thinking in the allocation of finals, Qualifying Final at Pyramid Hill again? Don't they want people to go to the finals?
BiG rIcK
13 Aug 2007, 14:00
I see calivil got pumped by pyramid:confused:......... good call! Just like they were gonna pump them in the grand final last year, why dont you wait until they beat calivil and then you can talk them up:thumbsd:
jack 01
13 Aug 2007, 17:25
big round of footy coming up this weekend, i dare say the YCW boys will be wishing Bridgey all the luck in the world as they need them to beat Pyramid to sneak into the finals (providing they can take care of Marong). Newbridge and Mitiamo will just want to get through without any injuries leading into the finals.
Should be an interesting finals series, although i'm not sure what the league executive were thinking in the allocation of finals, Qualifying Final at Pyramid Hill again? Don't they want people to go to the finals?
well last years grandfinal was at miti there seem to be a fair crowd there whats another ten minutes up the road .How many people do u think they cramp into serp for the grandfinal this year been such a small ground?:confused:
Frankenfurter
13 Aug 2007, 17:37
the only reason it was a decent gate and supposed crowd last year at Mitiamo was because so many clubs had a side in the grand final, so supporters from many clubs made the trip up the road. Aside from that i don't reckon there were many people who were coming just to watch the footy.
Surely it makes sense to have the games closer to bendigo. Why else does a final at YCW or Marong get a significantly bigger crowd than Miti or Pyramid Hill. Surely the league can promote itself a little bit better.
Serp will be a nightmare like it was in 1996 for the game, crowded, cramped, hard to get a park, hard to get anything.
jack 01
13 Aug 2007, 17:55
the only reason it was a decent gate and supposed crowd last year at Mitiamo was because so many clubs had a side in the grand final, so supporters from many clubs made the trip up the road. Aside from that i don't reckon there were many people who were coming just to watch the footy.
Surely it makes sense to have the games closer to bendigo. Why else does a final at YCW or Marong get a significantly bigger crowd than Miti or Pyramid Hill. Surely the league can promote itself a little bit better.
Serp will be a nightmare like it was in 1996 for the game, crowded, cramped, hard to get a park, hard to get anything.
they also have got the league count there as well ,where are they gunna put everyone?????????????? ycw i reakon wouldnt much different to serp ,but marong would be the go :thumbsu:
Frankenfurter
13 Aug 2007, 20:35
the league have worked out the only way to make the vote count an even worse night than it currently is, move it to a sunday night at Serp. Bravo league bravo.
Why not have it on a sunday afternoon somewhere and have the day finished at 6pm. Surely that makes for a more enjoyable night than sitting in the cold, $hitful Serp hall until 10:30 to hear Tim Wicks get beat in the last round again?
Seriously who is going to go?
Trent the flight Steward
14 Aug 2007, 13:33
are miti the marong football club relocating there seems to be quite a few panthers out at windy flats will be interesting to see how the go if theyt make the granny as none of them got a kick in the last one they played
Frankenfurter
14 Aug 2007, 14:20
i still don't reckon Miti will get near calivil or newbridge. the surprise packet might by Pyrmaid Hill if they can make the finals. Clear stand outs are Newbridge though and Calivil not far behind them.
The reserves looks a bit the same with Newbridge clear front runners. Looks as though Serp are stacking their side pretty heavily (for the glory of a two's flag, bravo), Calivil and YCW on the next rung, always there abouts.
The juniors is all Calivil, it's like the good old days when they just handed the demons the under 17's trophy each year, it looks as though they have got another good side together, Newbridge, Marong and YCW the dangers.
investor
15 Aug 2007, 08:09
i still don't reckon Miti will get near calivil or newbridge. the surprise packet might by Pyrmaid Hill if they can make the finals. Clear stand outs are Newbridge though and Calivil not far behind them.
The reserves looks a bit the same with Newbridge clear front runners. Looks as though Serp are stacking their side pretty heavily (for the glory of a two's flag, bravo), Calivil and YCW on the next rung, always there abouts.
The juniors is all Calivil, it's like the good old days when they just handed the demons the under 17's trophy each year, it looks as though they have got another good side together, Newbridge, Marong and YCW the dangers.
Agree on all, know much about the netball, the hill girls looking to go back to back, or can someone knock them off.
Hellboy
15 Aug 2007, 10:53
the league have worked out the only way to make the vote count an even worse night than it currently is, move it to a sunday night at Serp. Bravo league bravo.
Why not have it on a sunday afternoon somewhere and have the day finished at 6pm. Surely that makes for a more enjoyable night than sitting in the cold, $hitful Serp hall until 10:30 to hear Tim Wicks get beat in the last round again?
Seriously who is going to go?
Tim Wicks might. I'm sure he'd like to hear the sound of his own voice when he gives another runners up speech.
Hellboy
15 Aug 2007, 11:07
are miti the marong football club relocating there seems to be quite a few panthers out at windy flats will be interesting to see how the go if theyt make the granny as none of them got a kick in the last one they played
There has been a fair exodus of Marong players to Miti over the last two years with Billy Grant coaching up there. 4 in total plus a couple of kids and a netballer. Dan Farrelly has led the way by returning to Marong this year, maybe the others will follow suit.
I don't think there will be much of an issue with any of them getting a kick in a grand final, it will be very difficult to do so because they don't play for Newbridge or Calivil.
Frankenfurter
15 Aug 2007, 12:38
it is really starting to look like a newbridge v calivil grand final and funnily enough i reckon it will be Newbridge that might have to get there by winning the prelim final. Will be interesting to see their side this weekend seeing as though they've got next week off. They have got a few really handy players who haven't played for a while, who would want a run before 2nd semi day.
There has been a fair exodus of Marong players to Miti over the last two years with Billy Grant coaching up there. 4 in total plus a couple of kids and a netballer. Dan Farrelly has led the way by returning to Marong this year, maybe the others will follow suit.
Whats happened to Marong? They were a real force a few years back. Did they buy there success but now the money hass run out so these players have gone to club with money? And why isnt Bill Grant coaching Marong?
Sitting on the bottom of the ladder what a demise.
FlyingDucks
16 Aug 2007, 17:28
Agree on all, know much about the netball, the hill girls looking to go back to back, or can someone knock them off.
On current form and experience you would have to go with Mita and pyramid in the netball.
skloddon_8
16 Aug 2007, 23:17
wtf mate is with that last comment.... I would say Pyramid Hill got the best ground in the league and has great facilities and always a good day for footy there to.... unlike marong whos ground is a disgrace.... does the league want the players breaking legs and screwing knees up during finals...
skloddon_8
16 Aug 2007, 23:25
for the seniors i would have to say Calival r looking good once again this year.... they always seem to peak bout this time of year and are really playing good footy as they ran away from Pyramid Hill last week who also if they do make finals could corse an upset.
the 2's could go to anyone and i did hear that serp have a better 2's side then there seniors side:thumbsu:...
in the juniors it could go to either Calival/ bendigo seeming that where there majority of players come from, YCW, Newbridge and Marong could be there main threats.
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 09:48
wtf mate is with that last comment.... I would say Pyramid Hill got the best ground in the league and has great facilities and always a good day for footy there to.... unlike marong whos ground is a disgrace.... does the league want the players breaking legs and screwing knees up during finals...
Pyramid Hill is the best ground in the league? What have you been smoking? It's a shocker of a ground to play on and the facilities are a disgrace. If you need to go to the toilet you've got to walk out the back (what is this 1959), if Pyramid aren't kind enough to turn the pilot light on the heater you don't have a hot shower and the rooms are tiny.
The only good thing is the hot roast rolls they have, as for the rest well you could blow the joint up and it would most likely be an improvement.
Joe Czak
17 Aug 2007, 10:00
They grass may be green but it's so spongey it's like running in loose sand. Facilities at the Hill are adequate but nothing to write home about. I've always thought that Bridgewater and Inglewood are well set up for finals. Maybe it's time to switch the LV Grand Final to a neutral venue in Bendigo.
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 10:44
On current form and experience you would have to go with Mita and pyramid in the netball.
Who cares!
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 10:48
who does everyone think will end up in 5th? My money is on Pyramid Hill, Bridgey seem to have lost a bit of form of late. Will keep YCW out who must be one of the bigger disappointments of the year.
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 10:58
Whats happened to Marong? They were a real force a few years back. Did they buy there success but now the money hass run out so these players have gone to club with money? And why isnt Bill Grant coaching Marong?
Sitting on the bottom of the ladder what a demise.
Sitting on the bottom isn't much fun Logz, especially given the expectations were pretty high preseason. Far from using it as an excuse, injuries to key players has played a big part; Lee Franklin, Sam Milner, Glenn Carson, Jimmy Williams, Ray Kell to name a few. Couple this with a lack of depth and fitness and you have a recipe for disaster.
Marong certainly haven't bought success. Given that we've only played in one losing grand final in the last 17 years, we haven't really been very successful. You'd be surprised how little Marong have paid out over the years. There were definitely players who could have got much more coin at other clubs but chose to play with mates at Marong. As for Billy coaching at Marong; at the time the club was after a playing coach.
The club is soon to appoint a new senior coach and with the president stepping down at the end of the year, there might be a change of direction that brings more success in 2008.
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 11:12
the panthers on paper have the nucleus of a really good side. Charlie & Xav Thompson, Brett Rogers, Brad McCormick, Paul Thomson, The Blandthorn Brothers, Sudweeks, Franklin, Dahl, but they must drop away quickly after that.
If they can retain that group, get the new senior coach to find 4 or 5 senior players and they can quickly turn it around, same with most of the clubs in the league
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 11:44
the panthers on paper have the nucleus of a really good side. Charlie & Xav Thompson, Brett Rogers, Brad McCormick, Paul Thomson, The Blandthorn Brothers, Sudweeks, Franklin, Dahl, but they must drop away quickly after that.
If they can retain that group, get the new senior coach to find 4 or 5 senior players and they can quickly turn it around, same with most of the clubs in the league
That's why the season has been so disappointing. Marong have, without doubt, some of the top players in the competition but there are probably 10 spots where guys are just making up the numbers. There are 4 Under 17's who have played several games in the seniors this year but it us difficult to gauge their performance when they are part of an ordinary side.
Next season can't come around quick enough!
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 11:48
who does everyone think will end up in 5th? My money is on Pyramid Hill, Bridgey seem to have lost a bit of form of late. Will keep YCW out who must be one of the bigger disappointments of the year.
Pyramid easily. Bridgewater took 3 and a half quarters to get over Marong last week. Unless they have a few players returning this week (hard to know as their side wasn't in the Addy), they will get belted.
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 12:00
I know people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones (Marong's ground is definitely bad), but Pyramid's ground is far from great, let alone the best in the league. It's far too big; a problem made worse by the fact that you have to run so far when it's so spongy under foot. It's not even a good ground to watch footy at. You need a set of binoculars to see play on the far wing. That said, being green and too soft is still far better than patchy, uneven and hard.
Why is it that everyone thinks their ground and facilities are the best?
investor
17 Aug 2007, 12:05
Pyramid easily. Bridgewater took 3 and a half quarters to get over Marong last week. Unless they have a few players returning this week (hard to know as their side wasn't in the Addy), they will get belted.
I'm with ya there hellboy, i hear there will be big walk outs at yc next year, new coach maybe mat keating.
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 12:24
Bridgey won well when they played them up at Pyramid Hill earlier in the year (although Pyramid were struggling and Bridgey were flying at the time).
Will be an interesting day tomorrow with plenty of YCW people spending the afternooon on the phone getting updates.
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 12:29
i reckon calivil has the best surface but crappy rooms. In fact there isn't many rooms that are real classy. Inglewood have the best showers (especially after they fixed the electric shock you used to get if you touched the taps), Newbridge is a good place to watch the footy but the ground is only alright the cricket pitch is a big minus. YCW is good although the grandstand is shocking to watch from as the sun is in your eyes all arvo.
Ash Grant
17 Aug 2007, 14:11
Maybe it's time to switch the LV Grand Final to a neutral venue in Bendigo.
I would have to agree with that. It would be beneficial in many ways.
Maybe it's time to switch the LV Grand Final to a neutral venue in Bendigo.
Thats a great idea. I doubt the BFL will let us on too many grounds. Is the old Kennington ground suitable? I havent been there since I was a junior. Maybe the ground isnt as big as I remember.
Sitting on the bottom isn't much fun Logz, especially given the expectations were pretty high preseason. Far from using it as an excuse, injuries to key players has played a big part; Couple this with a lack of depth and fitness and you have a recipe for disaster.
I went to watch Bridgy Marong on the weekend. For a side sitting on the bottom they were competitive. Obviously fitness is what did Marong in the end.
And the ground, disgraceful. Every time a player hit the ground a plume of dust would rise. I can see why Marong have lost so many players to serious injuries. Surely the ground needs improvement before finals can be played on there. Is the league helping out with any of the grounds used for fnals?
Hellboy
17 Aug 2007, 15:48
Having a look at each of the ladders, there's a very distinct possibility that it will be a Newbridge v Calivil grand final in all 3 grades.
Might be a blessing in disguise given the venue. They might actually be able to fit everyone in.
Frankenfurter
17 Aug 2007, 16:50
Thats a great idea. I doubt the BFL will let us on too many grounds. Is the old Kennington ground suitable? I havent been there since I was a junior. Maybe the ground isnt as big as I remember.
what's wrong with using YCW for all the finals and splitting the monies up amongst all clubs. Obviously Marong's ground is rat$hit at the moment or use Canterbury Park, just make it close to Bendigo. Kennington is in a bit of strife at the moment as well i think with the Bendigo Jnr Footy League looking to move finals.
what's wrong with using YCW for all the finals and splitting the monies up amongst all clubs. Obviously Marong's ground is rat$hit at the moment or use Canterbury Park, just make it close to Bendigo.
I think the problem with using YCW ground would be their very creative accountants. I dont think all clubs would see 100% of the money. YCW would already be one of the richest clubs in the league. Plus the area and facilities for spectators is limited, once all the cars get in there, although this is still a better alternative than Serp
jack 01
17 Aug 2007, 18:43
what's wrong with using YCW for all the finals and splitting the monies up amongst all clubs. Obviously Marong's ground is rat$hit at the moment or use Canterbury Park, just make it close to Bendigo. Kennington is in a bit of strife at the moment as well i think with the Bendigo Jnr Footy League looking to move finals.
canterbury park would be a good spot for the grandfinal no advantages to any sides not bad rooms either.:thumbsu:thats for ycw why for finals why would they bother its a $hithole
skloddon_8
17 Aug 2007, 20:52
Pyramid Hill is the best ground in the league? What have you been smoking? It's a shocker of a ground to play on and the facilities are a disgrace. If you need to go to the toilet you've got to walk out the back (what is this 1959), if Pyramid aren't kind enough to turn the pilot light on the heater you don't have a hot shower and the rooms are tiny.
The only good thing is the hot roast rolls they have, as for the rest well you could blow the joint up and it would most likely be an improvement.
shows how long since u hav been there c o ck su cker... they have a whole new hot water sistem, a couple of new fires in the main previllian and the toilets mate are joined on to the back of the main previllian so maybe before ya go bagging them out ya head up there and hav a look:D
Junky Bish
18 Aug 2007, 00:02
I read in the paper the other day that Gadsen is finishing up as Coach of the Panthers.
How many players would they need to get back up on the pace?
There training lights are pathetic are other clubs in the competition like this? I know that Bridgewater and Ingelwood were pretty average a couple of years ago when I saw them in action from the road.
Frankenfurter
18 Aug 2007, 00:49
shows how long since u hav been there c o ck su cker... they have a whole new hot water sistem, a couple of new fires in the main previllian and the toilets mate are joined on to the back of the main previllian so maybe before ya go bagging them out ya head up there and hav a look:D
i was up there this year dip$hit. It might all be connected if your in the home rooms, but i still can't have a $hit before the game in the visitors rooms. Plus the showers were cold because the pilot light wasn't on. Get your own head out your @rse and have a look in the visitors rooms before you jump on your high horse.
ask anyone out there, Pyramid Hill is the most depressing trip in the LVFL, they have a crap pub, a nursing home and a heap of inbreed halfwits who like to punch on.
jack 01
18 Aug 2007, 08:52
i was up there this year dip$hit. It might all be connected if your in the home rooms, but i still can't have a $hit before the game in the visitors rooms. Plus the showers were cold because the pilot light wasn't on. Get your own head out your @rse and have a look in the visitors rooms before you jump on your high horse.
ask anyone out there, Pyramid Hill is the most depressing trip in the LVFL, they have a crap pub, a nursing home and a heap of inbreed halfwits who like to punch on.
what u cant get a pilot light going mate? dont know about the rest of crap u are on about ,but the pub goes ok for a small country town
Hellboy
18 Aug 2007, 10:31
I read in the paper the other day that Gadsen is finishing up as Coach of the Panthers.
How many players would they need to get back up on the pace?
There training lights are pathetic are other clubs in the competition like this? I know that Bridgewater and Ingelwood were pretty average a couple of years ago when I saw them in action from the road.
We're not that far away JB. We are down a couple of key position players (CHB & CHF) and maybe another solid midfielder. Throw in a couple of decent flankers and we'd be just about on the money. We have the core of a pretty good side but the quality falls away pretty quickly.
You're right about the lights; they're not great. The plan is to have a new set in before the start of next season.
Frankenfurter
19 Aug 2007, 02:29
what u cant get a pilot light going mate? dont know about the rest of crap u are on about ,but the pub goes ok for a small country town
The pub goes ok? compared to what? The burnt down roadhouse? Get over yourself it's the @rse end of the universe. the whole point of what everyone is saying is the facilities aren't as good as some make them out.
Will be an interesting re-match next week Bridgey v Pyramid Hill. Will Bridgey get a few back or has Pyramid got em covered
jack 01
19 Aug 2007, 09:21
The pub goes ok? compared to what? The burnt down roadhouse? Get over yourself it's the @rse end of the universe. the whole point of what everyone is saying is the facilities aren't as good as some make them out.
Will be an interesting re-match next week Bridgey v Pyramid Hill. Will Bridgey get a few back or has Pyramid got em covered
yeah the facilities would do with a bit of work. Im guessing bridgey will get a few back,ashman and hall didnt play yesterday. yeah i rekon they will beat bridgey again next week
skloddon_8
19 Aug 2007, 21:29
yeah sure mate... if Pyramids like that then u should enjoy going there cause your an inbred f uck wit.... anywayz its at pyramid so get over it ya sook...
skloddon_8
19 Aug 2007, 21:33
yeah the facilities would do with a bit of work. Im guessing bridgey will get a few back,ashman and hall didnt play yesterday. yeah i rekon they will beat bridgey again next week
i got good word that ashman and hall wont play next week so i'de say pyramid will win and they did play well this year at newbridge to.... i thought shevlin was out for the year.. he kicked 10 yesty..
Joe Czak
20 Aug 2007, 10:11
[quote=jack 01;8441963]The only good thing is the hot roast rolls they have, as for the rest well you could blow the joint up and it would most likely be an improvement./quote]
I concur, even though they're probably roast horse.
Tommy Guns
20 Aug 2007, 12:07
[quote=jack 01;8441963]The only good thing is the hot roast rolls they have, as for the rest well you could blow the joint up and it would most likely be an improvement./quote]
hahaha that's true, and I wouldn't like to speculate on the traumas the horse was put through before being roasted... tasty rolls though..
Having traveled to Pyramid recently it is a fairly depressing trip, and the rooms aren't that special, but I can't really think of any in the league that are. The ground is tough to play on but the surface isn't too bad, I just hope they give it a once over with the mower before Saturday. Terrible ground for spectators though, they need to get rid of the trotting track, would improve it 110%.
Will be an interesting final series with probably 3 teams who have a realistic shot at going all the way.
Trent the flight Steward
20 Aug 2007, 12:07
As long as they are Ricky Hasties champion nags.
Sounds like marong need an injectionv of brendan Mannix to hold down the key back posts, and i think if they are looking for a coach its time to BRING BACK THE BIFF!!
Joe Czak
20 Aug 2007, 12:39
Sounds like marong need an injectionv of brendan Mannix to hold down the key back posts, and i think if they are looking for a coach its time to BRING BACK THE BIFF!!
If I remember he was more suited as a hard running half back rather than a key position role. Handy infront of goals too.
oldmanemu
20 Aug 2007, 13:28
As someone said, the worst part of the Hill's ground is that you have to sit 50m from the boundary if it is cold/wet. Not much good for families. And on a good day, the wind blows down the ground at only 100 kmh. :D
If I remember he was more suited as a hard running half back rather than a key position role. Handy infront of goals too.
Dont really care where or how he played. He certainly new how to knock back the beers. Would love to see his face around Marong again. Might even put the boots back on myself if he is there.
You're right about the lights; they're not great. The plan is to have a new set in before the start of next season.
Does that mean Marong could have some consistency with their wings. When I played one was a dust bowl and the other the Amazon.
sfc2007
20 Aug 2007, 13:50
Where is Daniel Holland playing his football this year?
Joe Czak
20 Aug 2007, 15:07
Does that mean Marong could have some consistency with their wings. When I played one was a dust bowl and the other the Amazon.
Not sure if the lights would affect the playing surface.
They only ever train where the lights are, so the ground is knackered
Hellboy
20 Aug 2007, 17:03
Sounds like marong need an injectionv of brendan Mannix to hold down the key back posts, and i think if they are looking for a coach its time to BRING BACK THE BIFF!![/quote]
He'd be more suited to the role of pacy, goal kicking wingman!
Hellboy
20 Aug 2007, 17:07
As someone said, the worst part of the Hill's ground is that you have to sit 50m from the boundary if it is cold/wet. Not much good for families. And on a good day, the wind blows down the ground at only 100 kmh. :D
The worst part of the Pyramid gorund is the location - Pyramid Hill!
I see calivil got pumped by pyramid:confused:......... good call! Just like they were gonna pump them in the grand final last year, why dont you wait until they beat calivil and then you can talk them up:thumbsd:
Big Rick,
In the GF last year Pyramid had one send off and two other good players gone with debilitating injuries in the first half, [ including a badly broken jaw ] .
This made for an uneven contest . It could have been a different result .:thumbsu:
Frankenfurter
21 Aug 2007, 09:41
Are you serious Omar? Having Peter Bird going mad in the first half and belting every Calivil bloke in sight wasn't really good for the contest and thankfully the umpires sent him off. Glenn Schultz was in la la land after copping one in the first quarter.
Tommy Guns
21 Aug 2007, 11:38
Big Rick,
In the GF last year Pyramid had one send off and two other good players gone with debilitating injuries in the first half, [ including a badly broken jaw ] .
This made for an uneven contest . It could have been a different result .:thumbsu:
In regard to loss of players, I believe Glenn Scholtes (who got BOG in the GF the year before) didn't participate for Calivil after the first 5 mins, thanks to Birds permanent psychotic episode. Pyramid had a very good side, but they were never going to come away victors that day, full team or not.
Frankenfurter
21 Aug 2007, 11:50
Bird played an awesome second half to help drag Pyramid a bit closer but the damage was done and he had cost his team any chance of victory, with his stupidity in the first half.
BiG rIcK
21 Aug 2007, 15:50
Big Rick,
Is the day ever going to come when a pyramid person actually admits and accepts that they were beaten by a better TEAM? Stop being sore losers .... oops sorry not possible!
BiG rIcK
21 Aug 2007, 15:56
Are you serious Omar? Having Peter Bird going mad in the first half and belting every Calivil bloke in sight wasn't really good for the contest and thankfully the umpires sent him off. Glenn Schultz was in la la land after copping one in the first quarter.
Whichteam do you follow frank?
Frankenfurter
21 Aug 2007, 17:04
consider myself a Calivil man. although it would probably be a fairer thing to say i'm an anti newbridge man.
speccymcgee
21 Aug 2007, 21:43
Where is Daniel Holland playing his football this year?
which one? theres two? dutchy holland's still running round at newbridge, diesel has crossed from huntly to inglewood
skloddon_8
21 Aug 2007, 22:06
Is the day ever going to come when a pyramid person actually admits and accepts that they were beaten by a better TEAM? Stop being sore losers .... oops sorry not possible!
Ahh rick man the only reason you get on here and abuse them is cause you couldn't get a regular game in the 1's side.... i'll admit to it pyramid was beaten by a better side on the day, although those 3 players out helped calival they still beat pyramid comfortably....
skloddon_8
21 Aug 2007, 22:10
In regard to loss of players, I believe Glenn Scholtes (who got BOG in the GF the year before) didn't participate for Calivil after the first 5 mins, thanks to Birds permanent psychotic episode. Pyramid had a very good side, but they were never going to come away victors that day, full team or not.
Tommy wat u say put Glenn scholtes out of the game was a great tackle... nothing more to it... anyway that was last year so it dont matter now....
skloddon_8
21 Aug 2007, 22:13
Oldman its Pyramid where talking bout not mitiamo... bearly ever windy at pyramid... so do ya's think will win out of Calival and miti.... i tip Calival...
BiG rIcK
21 Aug 2007, 22:28
Ahh rick man the only reason you get on here and abuse them is cause you couldn't get a regular game in the 1's side.... i'll admit to it pyramid was beaten by a better side on the day, although those 3 players out helped calival they still beat pyramid comfortably....
WRONG!!!!!! I have actually had lots of pleasure playin 1's against and beating pyramid numerous times so you can get over thinkin i'm rick mason!!!!
doogey wondall
21 Aug 2007, 22:40
which one? theres two? dutchy holland's still running round at newbridge, diesel has crossed from huntly to inglewood speaking of huntly i heard marong is looking at getting mark billings from huntly. i think this is why he is not coaching them next year.
Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 09:45
makes sense from Marong's point of view, replace one broken down HDFL player/coach with another one. How old would Billings be 36 - 37?
Spot on Frankenfurter. Mark was a super star for Marong 9-10 years ago. He would well passed his prime now. Surely Marong would have to look at a youngish coach like Wayne Laundry again, he did wonders with his excitment for footy. Look at what Kurt Ashman has done for Bridgy.
vincecat
22 Aug 2007, 10:51
Does anyone remeber a player for Marong, Charles Williams, was a big strong marking CHF with a great pair of hands and a thumping kick, looked a bit like Nick Riewoldt, where is he playing these days?
Hellboy
22 Aug 2007, 11:09
speaking of huntly i heard marong is looking at getting mark billings from huntly. i think this is why he is not coaching them next year.
I can assure you Doogey that you have been misinformed.
Billo was a great player for Marong 10 years ago; Marong are after a coach;he is not coaching Huntly; I can understand where such a story might come from.
It would be interesting to know where you heard this or did you make this one up yourself?
Hellboy
22 Aug 2007, 11:13
Does anyone remeber a player for Marong, Charles Williams, was a big strong marking CHF with a great pair of hands and a thumping kick, looked a bit like Nick Riewoldt, where is he playing these days?
Chuck broke his leg badly at the Avoca Cup last year when Nick Manly fell on it (that'll do it).
He wont play footy again.
Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 11:16
geezus nick manley falling on you i'm surprised the leg didn't shatter.
I've said it before but Marong aren't far away from being a competitive side get a coach who can recruit 5 or 6 good senior players and they'll be a good side. Same goes for YCW and Serp. Bridgey need to top up as well
Chuck broke his leg badly at the Avoca Cup last year when Nick Manly fell on it (that'll do it). He wont play footy again.
Both the Williams boys are as unlucky as each other. Jimmy had a terrible year with injuries. He tells me he might retire from footy as well and move down to Melb. Apparently a few guys thought he was faking his injuries because Marong were getting pumped. He was pi$$ed
doogey wondall
22 Aug 2007, 13:07
I can assure you Doogey that you have been misinformed.
Billo was a great player for Marong 10 years ago; Marong are after a coach;he is not coaching Huntly; I can understand where such a story might come from.
It would be interesting to know where you heard this or did you make this one up yourself?genral pub talk mate. overheard a couple of blokes talking about it in huntly team shirts. maybe just chit chat just was wondering if anyone at marong had heard.i dont see why you would go for 36/37 year old bloke. surely not playing anyway.
Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 13:21
at the end of the day billo is a great bloke, a great clubman but his time has come. It would have to have been fairly draining to coach a side that is getting pumped for so long. Then to think he would go and accept a job at Marong is a bit of a stretch. Ok they aren't far away from being alright but they won one game this year.
They need to get stronger off the field to allow them to succeed on the field.
BiG rIcK
22 Aug 2007, 13:37
consider myself a Calivil man. although it would probably be a fairer thing to say i'm an anti newbridge man.
Player or supporter come on give me some clues as to your identity
Hellboy
22 Aug 2007, 13:46
geezus nick manley falling on you i'm surprised the leg didn't shatter.
I've said it before but Marong aren't far away from being a competitive side get a coach who can recruit 5 or 6 good senior players and they'll be a good side. Same goes for YCW and Serp. Bridgey need to top up as well
It did shatter, literally.
Hellboy
22 Aug 2007, 13:50
Both the Williams boys are as unlucky as each other. Jimmy had a terrible year with injuries. He tells me he might retire from footy as well and move down to Melb. Apparently a few guys thought he was faking his injuries because Marong were getting pumped. He was pi$$ed
Jimmy's not going anywhere. Everyone knows he wasn't faking, he's just being a bit precious. He was unlucky this year though; gave Shevy a bath in round 1 then didn't play again for about 14 weeks.
littlecat
22 Aug 2007, 14:54
I heard a rumour on the weekend that Marong's new coach might be coming from within the ranks. Couldn't get a name though.
Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 15:26
hmm Brett Rogers maybe? Can't think who else it could be. Very loyal player and grew up there.
I heard a rumour on the weekend that Marong's new coach might be coming from within the ranks. Couldn't get a name though.
I'de be looking at Freddo. He has the resources to recruit high level players, loves the club and probably would save them a few pennies.