View Full Version : Lodden Valley Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Joe Czak
22 Aug 2007, 17:08
I'de be looking at Freddo. He has the resources to recruit high level players, loves the club and probably would save them a few pennies.

Perhaps Darren "Mini Bus" Turnbull.

Hellboy
22 Aug 2007, 17:28
Perhaps Darren "Mini Bus" Turnbull.

Can't see it happening Joe.

Knackers is stepping down as 2nds coach.

Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 17:45
time for a bit of new blood at the panthers. Knackers isn't the answer. Heard today YCW and probably Serp are looking for new coaches as well

doogey wondall
22 Aug 2007, 17:58
time for a bit of new blood at the panthers. Knackers isn't the answer. Heard today YCW and probably Serp are looking for new coaches as well i believe serp were chasing phil lobb at the start of the season. i heard things didnt work out at rochy for him so surely they should try to get his services. would be very handy.

Frankenfurter
22 Aug 2007, 18:02
phil lobb would be a great pick up to play, not sure on his coaching ability though, just a young fella and gets himself into sticky situations a fair bit.

LOGZ
23 Aug 2007, 11:02
I see HDFL are pursuing to get the new Strath side in their league.
Should the LVFL look into this or is every one happy having a bye. My brother tells me their facilities look impressive. A possibility to have league finals and functions there. I think I would still prefer the bye though.
Any thoughts

Frankenfurter
23 Aug 2007, 11:19
would be a good addition to the LVFL i reckon. We would be behind the 8 ball to get them though, it makes senese geographically to go to the HDFL.

Will be interesting to see how they go recruiting players and the like out there.

LOGZ
23 Aug 2007, 11:19
time for a bit of new blood at the panthers. Knackers isn't the answer. Heard today YCW and probably Serp are looking for new coaches as well

Anyone who thinks Knackers is a serious thought for a coach is off with the fairies. He has only coached the two because Marong have just accepted that he will do it. He hasnt taken coaching seriosly for 3 years. hasnt played seriously for 3 years. He just love the club.
Marong need to be serious about their on and off field leadership to become competitive

the barking dog
23 Aug 2007, 11:58
I'de be looking at Freddo. He has the resources to recruit high level players, loves the club and probably would save them a few pennies.

grapevine tells me that former b&f winner from marong tim murphy may come back for a coaching job.. he certainly showed his experience in his couple of years that he played there!

LOGZ
23 Aug 2007, 12:14
grapevine tells me that former b&f winner from marong tim murphy may come back for a coaching job.. he certainly showed his experience in his couple of years that he played there!

Thats a juicy grapevine. Murph has a great understanding of the game and has been seen at the club rooms occasionally throughout the last couple of years. Plays like a champion but is way to polite and nice. He just doesnt have the mongrel Marong needs to put a few slackers back in line.
Marong has a very unfit side, all but 5 players would be 10kg+ over ideal playing wieght and Murph was never a figure of fitness. Still a good option though if Marong doesnt go with their stupid playing coach rule.

D-Nine
23 Aug 2007, 12:42
So I think we have heard about the wooden spooners enough.

Who are everyones tips for the weekendand and why?

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 12:49
Anyone who thinks Knackers is a serious thought for a coach is off with the fairies. He has only coached the two because Marong have just accepted that he will do it. He hasnt taken coaching seriosly for 3 years. hasnt played seriously for 3 years. He just love the club.
Marong need to be serious about their on and off field leadership to become competitive

I think Joe Czak was taking the piss when he brought up Knackers' name.

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 12:59
Thats a juicy grapevine. Murph has a great understanding of the game and has been seen at the club rooms occasionally throughout the last couple of years. Plays like a champion but is way to polite and nice. He just doesnt have the mongrel Marong needs to put a few slackers back in line.
Marong has a very unfit side, all but 5 players would be 10kg+ over ideal playing wieght and Murph was never a figure of fitness. Still a good option though if Marong doesnt go with their stupid playing coach rule.

That stupid playing coach rule seems to have worked pretty well for Calivil of recent years. It's good enough for 6 of the 9 Loddon Valley clubs and most of the BFL clubs. What a ridiculous statement.

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 13:06
So I think we have heard about the wooden spooners enough.

Who are everyones tips for the weekendand and why?

There would be very little happening on this thread at the moment if people weren't discussing Marong.

Pyramid will belt Bridgewater. No Hall and no Ashman, limited finals experience. Can't see things changing enough in one week.

Calivil will beat Mitiamo. Too much experience at the pointy end of the season. Hitting their straps at the right time.

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 13:08
i believe serp were chasing phil lobb at the start of the season. i heard things didnt work out at rochy for him so surely they should try to get his services. would be very handy.

Phil Lobb is an ex YCW player. Wouldn't he be more inclined to head back there?

Frankenfurter
23 Aug 2007, 13:10
i reckon Calivil are a little vulenrable at Pyramid Hill, they got beat up there pretty easily last year by Newbridge and always seem to struggle up there. If it were anywhere else i reckon they would be across the line.

Pyramid are as good as home in the sunday game, can't see Bridgey turning the tables on last week.

Any early mail on the league medal? Comer to get the most votes but can't win it, reckon it is an odds on chance that the winner won't be sitting in the serp hall at 10:30 to here his name get read out.

Trent the flight Steward
23 Aug 2007, 13:19

That stupid playing coach rule seems to have worked pretty well for Calivil of recent years. It's good enough for 6 of the 9 Loddon Valley clubs and most of the BFL clubs. What a ridiculous statement.

Looks like marong should go for the Rojo double brett in the ones, matt in the twos, however who will tell brett off for those ugly helicopterpunts that he specialises in, perhaps they could look at andy grant, and why not neddy im sure hes still a hit with the players

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 13:31
Any early mail on the league medal? Comer to get the most votes but can't win it, reckon it is an odds on chance that the winner won't be sitting in the serp hall at 10:30 to here his name get read out.[/quote]

Will anyone be there at 10:30?

Need A Win!!
23 Aug 2007, 13:37
[quote=Hellboy;8496540]

Looks like marong should go for the Rojo double brett in the ones, matt in the twos, however who will tell brett off for those ugly helicopterpunts that he specialises in, perhaps they could look at andy grant, and why not neddy im sure hes still a hit with the players

Andy Grant would not go back to Marong in a fit, he will be coaching Elmore next year.

Hellboy
23 Aug 2007, 13:39
[quote=Hellboy;8496540]

Andy Grant would certainly be on Marong's short list. However coaching against his old man may be an issue, as well as dollars.

Ned would be great. Bit hard when he's on the other side of the country though. I don't think he'd want to do it with his his number one fan Rod Wearne stepping down.

LOGZ
23 Aug 2007, 13:55

Fair call, but it just doesnt seem to work for Marong.

LOGZ
23 Aug 2007, 14:07
Looks like marong should go for the Rojo double brett in the ones, matt in the twos,

Dont know if Matt will have time to coach when he will be president

Frankenfurter
23 Aug 2007, 14:43

Don't think YCW would want him back.

Frankenfurter
23 Aug 2007, 14:46
[quote=Trent the flight Steward;8496699]

Andy Grant would certainly be on Marong's short list. However coaching against his old man may be an issue, as well as dollars.

Ned would be great. Bit hard when he's on the other side of the country though. I don't think he'd want to do it with his his number one fan Rod Wearne stepping down.

Andy Grant would / should be on the list of every club looking for a coach. But getting him would be the hard thing. Will be interesting over the next 6 - 8 weeks to see how clubs going in finding coaches.

the barking dog
23 Aug 2007, 16:48

he would be a good coach if he had a "mongrel" assistant coach next to him, has a great understanding of the game.. and i'm a great friend of his, back in his day he was as fit as they come!

Joe Czak
23 Aug 2007, 17:36
I think Joe Czak was taking the piss when he brought up Knackers' name.

Yep, it was a joke Joyce.

MasterOfRoc
23 Aug 2007, 17:55
Heyaz...
Im after the names of a couple of guys, that play footy for Newbridge... They're Shearers... Brad someone, and Josh someone!? Help appreciated

Thanks in Adv.

Five Fingers
23 Aug 2007, 20:50
Brad and Josh Comer bud.

MasterOfRoc
23 Aug 2007, 21:57
Brad and Josh Comer bud.

Cheers mate

doogey wondall
24 Aug 2007, 09:41
Don't think YCW would want him back.
yes he was an old ycw boy. they should have him back. good players who kick goals are hard to find these days.:D:D was playing for rochy at the start of the year.injuries cut his season down. was playing good footy in his first year in the best country football league in victoria. not sure if rochy would want him to leave. serp and ycw should be trying to contact phil lobb so they can lure him to there club.:D:D

Frankenfurter
24 Aug 2007, 10:55
Phil Lobb has been a menace at every club he has been at. If it's not him it's his brother causing trouble. That's why i don't reckon YCW will chase him would be a better fit out at Serp where there is already some peanuts.

It's the age old problem for footy clubs, do you take the gun footballer who can win games of footy by himself but is a problem off the field or do you take the good bloke who is serviceable to your club.

I'll take the good bloke everytime.

Trent the flight Steward
24 Aug 2007, 12:59
Matt "Duggy" Dalton could be a dark horse for the vacant marong coaching position former player had a big couple of years in the BFL big player pulling power

Frankenfurter
24 Aug 2007, 13:46
gee the calivil side tomorrow looks the strongest they have had in all year. I see Shaun Lourie has made a comeback to help bolster them in the ruck. Could it be 5 in a row?

Tommy Guns
24 Aug 2007, 17:17
gee the calivil side tomorrow looks the strongest they have had in all year. I see Shaun Lourie has made a comeback to help bolster them in the ruck. Could it be 5 in a row?

Although Shaun "HotDogs" Lourie will be starting 2nd ruck, the clash between him and Wicks should be a very good one. Before being struck down with injury he was rucking as well as anyone in the league. In a side that lacks height, hes an extremely handy inclusion coming into finals.

Frankenfurter
24 Aug 2007, 17:29
Although Shaun "HotDogs" Lourie will be starting 2nd ruck, the clash between him and Wicks should be a very good one. Before being struck down with injury he was rucking as well as anyone in the league. In a side that lacks height, hes an extremely handy inclusion coming into finals.

is a good old fashioned ruckman, workhorse around the ground, wouldn't want to be relying on him kicking a goal to win a game though, is probably a good idea if he sticks to handballing.

investor
24 Aug 2007, 23:13

YCW dont open there wallet, so i dont think lobb would go back there for the love, i hear there is no love there anyway, fair bit of inhouse fighting,how was training this week boys:D:D:D:

Hellboy
25 Aug 2007, 22:02
Hot of the press; Brett Rogers signed on today as Marong coach for next season.

littlecat
25 Aug 2007, 22:06
Hot of the press; Brett Rogers signed on today as Marong coach for next season.

I'd heard he was going to Elmore.

Junky Bish
27 Aug 2007, 15:57
Whats everyone think of the wash up from the weekend?
Newbridge and Calvil should be a great tussle this weekend you'd think reckons the Maroons just.
Pyramid Hill made light work of Bridgewater who were pretty ordinary really. The Pyramid/Miti game should be tight too I reckon and Miti might just bite back and win this one they've had a pretty good season and should be desperate not to go out in straight sets.
I see Marong have advertised their coaching gig in the addy on saty and the word is the YCW could well do the same in the near future interesting......

Frankenfurter
27 Aug 2007, 17:05
Newbridge and Calvil should be a great tussle this weekend you'd think reckons the Maroons just.
Pyramid Hill made light work of Bridgewater who were pretty ordinary really. The Pyramid/Miti game should be tight too I reckon and Miti might just bite back and win this one they've had a pretty good season and should be desperate not to go out in straight sets.
I see Marong have advertised their coaching gig in the addy on saty and the word is the YCW could well do the same in the near future interesting......

Calivil all the way for me this weekend, had a pretty handy two's side on the weekend as well Marcus Allen, Glen Richards and a few others. They are only going to get stronger and at the right time of the year. Few rumblings out at Riverside apparently Reed Wills has already told them he won't be there next year.

Miti and Pyramid at Marong is an interesting one, i think Pyramid are flying at the moment and might out tough Miti.

In the two's Newbridge to win saturday and the Serp seniors to win the sunday game.

Hellboy
27 Aug 2007, 17:23

I think Pyramid will be too strong for Miti but won't get past the preliminary. Calivil won't be able to kick enough goals against Newbridge.

With a side that includes 3 Harding medalists (stacking at it's best), Serp two's are going to be hard to beat.

Frankenfurter
27 Aug 2007, 17:41
With a side that includes 3 Harding medalists (stacking at it's best), Serp two's are going to be hard to beat.

i could be the only one that thinks this way, but why would you stack your side for the sake of winning a two's flag. Seriously what does it mean to Pointon, McNally, Cox and the like to win a two's flag? I reckon it's an utter disgrace that they do it and it's not the first time they have done it either. The problem they have is Newbridge still look good in the two's. Might be the first time in my life that i barrack for the boys from Riverside.

gerta
27 Aug 2007, 18:52
i could be the only one that thinks this way, but why would you stack your side for the sake of winning a two's flag. Seriously what does it mean to Pointon, McNally, Cox and the like to win a two's flag? I reckon it's an utter disgrace that they do it and it's not the first time they have done it either. The problem they have is Newbridge still look good in the two's. Might be the first time in my life that i barrack for the boys from Riverside.

Is an interesting that one, the old stacking of the seconds... Although also probably reflects the injury interrupted season most of those blokes mentioned have had, which has meant that have had a few games in the twos.

Sunday's games where interesting, with Bridgewater not really firing a shot in the main game... Jeez how hard was the ground though... I'd hope that the other final venues have the ability to put some water on their grounds in the coming weeks otherwise....

jack 01
27 Aug 2007, 21:38
i dont really like either side but would like to see serp win , they have been down for a while ,and i rekon they would be trying to win one for spit dean?

iwantanotherflag
27 Aug 2007, 21:49

Are you telling me that Nathan McNally is playing LVFL reserves? Has he missed games through injury?

gerta
27 Aug 2007, 22:06
Are you telling me that Nathan McNally is playing LVFL reserves? Has he missed games through injury?

Yep he hurt his knee about round 5 against calvil and made his return in round 14 to play the last 5 games in the twos... His first few games in the twos he was still a bit conscious about the knee

investor
28 Aug 2007, 08:00

if you can do it why not, hey frank you won any flags lately, what was the feeling like, 1's or 2's the feelings great, there things you remember for a life time, good on them i say,:thumbsu:

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 09:52
if you can do it why not, hey frank you won any flags lately, what was the feeling like, 1's or 2's the feelings great, there things you remember for a life time, good on them i say,:thumbsu:

massive difference between winning a senior flag and a reserves flag. the only way it would mean something to me in the two's is if i was playing for Calivil, YCW or Newbridge and were able to stick it up Serp by beating them.

I just think it is a little unfair to those clubs like Calivil and Newbridge who through depth at their club are able to put two good sides (senior and reserves) on the park and Serp basically give up on the senior side with a month to go to stack their two's. What about the four of five blokes who are going to miss out in Serp's reserves side for the senior blokes to come in and try and get some glory? Is it fair on the 26th best player at Serp to miss a game to give them the glory of a two's flag? I say no.

Junky Bish
28 Aug 2007, 10:08
It's an interesting one about Serp stacking their reserves side it really depends on the group of the attitudes of players that are their towards it.
What they need to assess is wether the blokes who are going to miss out and others that are against it going to walk next year because then it will bite them as they will struggle to field a side. But if they have gathered had a chat about it and said lets go for it then why not.
Who coaches Serp reserves? Is Wally Maxted expected to go on in the head role gerta or anyone else? It was a dissapointing season for them following the big pre-season they did.

gerta
28 Aug 2007, 10:17
It's an interesting one about Serp stacking their reserves side it really depends on the group of the attitudes of players that are their towards it.
What they need to assess is wether the blokes who are going to miss out and others that are against it going to walk next year because then it will bite them as they will struggle to field a side. But if they have gathered had a chat about it and said lets go for it then why not.
Who coaches Serp reserves? Is Wally Maxted expected to go on in the head role gerta or anyone else? It was a dissapointing season for them following the big pre-season they did.

Some good points made by all the posters... Definitely disappointing that blokes miss out on playing in finals... But generally that happens whether or not sides have been stacked, usually at the end of the year everyone is ready to play..

Geoff Harker is coach of the twos.. As for Wally, not sure what his intentions are for next year, but yes a very dissapointing season for serp in the seniors.

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 10:18
if it were me in that situation and i was a two's player who constantly trained and had played most of the year but wasn't a superstar i would be $hitty as a meataxe if i got the flick so that a few of the genuine senior players at the club can stroke their egos and big note themselves by winning a two's flag.

Hellboy
28 Aug 2007, 12:02
if it were me in that situation and i was a two's player who constantly trained and had played most of the year but wasn't a superstar i would be $hitty as a meataxe if i got the flick so that a few of the genuine senior players at the club can stroke their egos and big note themselves by winning a two's flag.

I think stacking two's sides prior to finals or during finals, rightly or wrongly, is part of football. It appears so much worse in this case because of the profile of a few of the players in question. If these players play several games in the two's prior to finals, good luck to them. It's an entirely different story if you have senior players who play because they are eligible for reserves come finals time and someone who has played all season is dropped.

There are arguments for both winning a flag and risking getting someone's nose out of joint, or playing those guys loyal to the club and missing out on a premiership. At the end of the day, you can't keep everyone happy.

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 12:50
apart from the blokes who play in a winning two's flag what does it do for your club? I would say nothing. any prospective recruit is going to ask how the senior side went and not care about the two's. May sound harsh but it's true.

I see the HDFL took a final off Nth Bendigo this Saturday because of the ground, any thoughts to doing the same to Marong this sunday?

Hellboy
28 Aug 2007, 13:06
I see the HDFL took a final off Nth Bendigo this Saturday because of the ground, any thoughts to doing the same to Marong this sunday?

The league executive inspected the ground last week and gave the all clear.

There's a fair bit of water going on the ground this week so hopefully that softens it up a bit. It won't be any harder than Newbridge. Where possible, any of the uneven areas will be patched up. It won't be anywhere near great but it will be better than recent weeks.

Need A Win!!
28 Aug 2007, 13:25
Yet again i see its the LOCALS that are being shafted again at serp. As long as Gadsden is president that club will never go forward.

Junky Bish
28 Aug 2007, 13:31
apart from the blokes who play in a winning two's flag what does it do for your club? I would say nothing. any prospective recruit is going to ask how the senior side went and not care about the two's. May sound harsh but it's true.

Mate the way your talking there should be no reserves. It's all about the cards your dealt ability wise if thats your ability range then it's the ultimate to play in a Lodden Valley reserves Premiership. If your an AFL or VFL player they would look at the LV seniors and say what does a Premiership mean in that nothing? It's about a persons ability and what it means to them that makes anything. any good clubman knows how valuable reserves are to a club. The buzz you get when you win a Premiership at any level is fantastic so keep that in mind.

gerta
28 Aug 2007, 13:39
good to see this thread finally fire up after being pretty disappointing for the majority of the year..

hopefully the marong and inglewood grounds will be in good nick for the weekend...

i think hellboy hit the nail on the head... like it or not stacking seconds is a part of footy... nothing used to annoy me more than playing all year in the twos and the team going alright, to be absolutely smashed in the finals when other teams could bring back senior footballers.. I'm sure that every club has done it at some stage. A premiership is a premiership whether it be firsts, seconds or thirds

andypipkin
28 Aug 2007, 13:42
I see the HDFL took a final off Nth Bendigo this Saturday because of the ground, any thoughts to doing the same to Marong this sunday?[/quote]

word around the league is that north didnt want it, because they apparently couldnt find enough workers to run the day. bit bizarre

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 14:01
Mate the way your talking there should be no reserves. It's all about the cards your dealt ability wise if thats your ability range then it's the ultimate to play in a Lodden Valley reserves Premiership. If your an AFL or VFL player they would look at the LV seniors and say what does a Premiership mean in that nothing? It's about a persons ability and what it means to them that makes anything. any good clubman knows how valuable reserves are to a club. The buzz you get when you win a Premiership at any level is fantastic so keep that in mind.

Of course there should be reserves and it should be for the second best 18 at your club. In regards to your cards analogy, Serp have marked the cards in the deck so of course they are going to get good cards. I don't like the fact that local blokes with a little less ability get shafted as another poster has said.

The Iron Glove
28 Aug 2007, 14:31
YCW have been the kings of "stacking" in the magoo's for years. As you say it's an unfortunate scenario and you have to feel sorry for the boys that have put in the hard hards through out the year. Can't really see what Pointon and McNally would do with a 2's flag. The Cox boys will no doubt chase the glory

gerta
28 Aug 2007, 15:59
Enough talk about the magoos boys... What about the seniors??? Are newbridge vulnerable by possibly only playing two games in a month??? providing that they win this weekend... What about pyramid are they any chance??

Footy Maniac
28 Aug 2007, 16:18
Calivil all the way for me this weekend, had a pretty handy two's side on the weekend as well Marcus Allen, Glen Richards and a few others. They are only going to get stronger and at the right time of the year. Few rumblings out at Riverside apparently Reed Wills has already told them he won't be there next year.

Miti and Pyramid at Marong is an interesting one, i think Pyramid are flying at the moment and might out tough Miti.

In the two's Newbridge to win saturday and the Serp seniors to win the sunday game.

Nah no rumblings out at Newbridge mate. Willzy is movin to Darwin in a few months, that's why he won't be there next year.

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 16:20
Enough talk about the magoos boys... What about the seniors??? Are newbridge vulnerable by possibly only playing two games in a month??? providing that they win this weekend... What about pyramid are they any chance??

i reckon they are ultra vulnerable this weekend, a lot of players haven't played a lot of footy in the last 8 weeks, could be a bit rusty and calivil are hard and fit and playing real good footy at the right time of the year.

The one side i wouldn't want to play next weekend would by Pyramid Hill, who are in the same boat, had a down period in the middle of the season, battled to make the finals and are now up and flying.

could find we have a re-match of last year's game.

Bombertastic
28 Aug 2007, 16:31

You be they are. They will choke for sure. Not enough experience and the week off will hurt them badly. I predict a defeat of about 5 goals this week.

Hellboy
28 Aug 2007, 16:45
i reckon they are ultra vulnerable this weekend, a lot of players haven't played a lot of footy in the last 8 weeks, could be a bit rusty and calivil are hard and fit and playing real good footy at the right time of the year.

The one side i wouldn't want to play next weekend would by Pyramid Hill, who are in the same boat, had a down period in the middle of the season, battled to make the finals and are now up and flying.

could find we have a re-match of last year's game.

If Calivil can apply enough pressure, Newbridge might crack. They haven't been pushed much this year and when it was served up to them, they dropped their bundle. This may open a chink in their armour that a team like Calivil will exploit. That said, they have only lost 1 game so they are still clear favourites.

It's hard to gauge where Pyramid are at based on last weeks game. Bridgy were bad through their own doing more so than Pyramid were great. They are probably the form side of the second round though .

It appears that everyone has written off Miti?

The Iron Glove
28 Aug 2007, 17:09
If Calivil can apply enough pressure, Newbridge might crack. They haven't been pushed much this year and when it was served up to them, they dropped their bundle. This may open a chink in their armour that a team like Calivil will exploit. That said, they have only lost 1 game so they are still clear favourites.

It's hard to gauge where Pyramid are at based on last weeks game. Bridgy were bad through their own doing more so than Pyramid were great. They are probably the form side of the second round though .

Calival have had there fair share of injuries throughout the year and judging from saturday's performance up at Pyramid they still haven't quite hit there straps. There skills weren't quite right and they seemed to kick wide an aweful lot. Having said that its a brave man who under estimates Calival in a final series.

For me Mitiamo were really disappointing. Being 11 points down at 3/4 time kicking to the scoring they let Calival kick the first 2 goals into the breeze. The class of Maxted and Freemantle seem to stand out when the pressure went on and Mitiamo showed them nowhere near enough respect. Mitiamo don't seem to have the class or match winners of Newbridge, Calival or Pyramid. Haythorpe doesn't work hard enough for a man of his talent. If I was a Miti man I'd be very concerned facing Pyramid this week

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 17:13
newbridge have got some real class though, comer is good for 40 touches a week and 37 of them are going to be effective, baxter and giri still find a lot of the footy, Shevlin while massive is still a good target, calivil are one of the few teams that can really match them through the midfield.

As a team Calivil are way better on paper Newbridge probably look a bit better. GOing to be a great match

The Iron Glove
28 Aug 2007, 17:58
Your right. The battle is really going to be won in the midfield. If Newbridge can pump the ball into their forward 50 often enough then they're a good show. But if Calivil can put the pill inside there with quality then it's going make it fairly difficult for the Newbridge defenders

Junky Bish
28 Aug 2007, 18:19

Calival have had there fair share of injuries throughout the year and judging from saturday's performance up at Pyramid they still haven't quite hit there straps. There skills weren't quite right and they seemed to kick wide an aweful lot. Having said that its a brave man who under estimates Calival in a final series.

For me Mitiamo were really disappointing. Being 11 points down at 3/4 time kicking to the scoring they let Calival kick the first 2 goals into the breeze. The class of Maxted and Freemantle seem to stand out when the pressure went on and Mitiamo showed them nowhere near enough respect. Mitiamo don't seem to have the class or match winners of Newbridge, Calival or Pyramid. Haythorpe doesn't work hard enough for a man of his talent. If I was a Miti man I'd be very concerned facing Pyramid this week

The word is the game didn't reach any great heights and Miti weren't real impressive but one thing I have found over a number of years the side that gets beats in a qualifying final more often than not touted to go out in straight sets. I'd say this is because they have obviously lost their first final and their seasons hard work could go out the window and their next opponent is coming off a win. That can create some resolve and I reckon their game with Pyramid is a real toss of the coin the performances of Chillcott and Haythorpe in front of the sticks will be super important.

Do you guys reckon Newbridge have a stronger side than Calivil and the danger they face is Caivils successful finals experience?

gerta
28 Aug 2007, 19:31
Do you guys reckon Newbridge have a stronger side than Calivil and the danger they face is Caivils successful finals experience?

I think the finals experience will be a massive factor, but i think this weekend's games should be crackers.

Frankenfurter
28 Aug 2007, 19:41
i believe that calivil is a better side than newbridge and better able to adapt their side.

Newbridge on the other hand are a little one dimesional, if Shevvy has an off day this week (like the off days he used to have at Wedderburn in a couple of grand finals) and Wills, Mildren aren't getting a kick they don't really have an avenue to goal, they have nixon and torpey who are both just forward pockets and not reliable, the big kicker is newbridge's on ballers are all goal kickers. There isn't really a good match up for Chris Lakey in the backline and he will be required to start the attack from CHB.

Calivil are a bit the same in the massive rotations they can swing through the midfield and the entire forward line, if things aren't working they can swing azza or nick demeo into the middle, freo, the allen boys. Reliable and not flashy backline that will be strengthen when glen richards comes back in.

iwantanotherflag
28 Aug 2007, 22:28
Yep he hurt his knee about round 5 against calvil and made his return in round 14 to play the last 5 games in the twos... His first few games in the twos he was still a bit conscious about the knee

I know our rule (Picola DFL) is if you play 9 senior games in a season you cannot play 2s finals unless your seniors are playing on the same day (ie. normal selection & common sense).

If you have played 8 senior games and 0 reserves games you can actually play 2s finals. Is that true for LVFL? I played for Calivil in 2000 and Serp pumped us in the GF in the 2s and again had quite a few guys from their senior line up who could make it.

Would you say that Serp sacrifice their seniors in order to keep the door open for 2s finals... if things go that way?

As for McNally, the guy may have won a league medal but is probably a bit behind his best if he had that many weeks off with a knee.

gerta
28 Aug 2007, 22:50
I know our rule (Picola DFL) is if you play 9 senior games in a season you cannot play 2s finals unless your seniors are playing on the same day (ie. normal selection & common sense).

If you have played 8 senior games and 0 reserves games you can actually play 2s finals. Is that true for LVFL? I played for Calivil in 2000 and Serp pumped us in the GF in the 2s and again had quite a few guys from their senior line up who could make it.

Would you say that Serp sacrifice their seniors in order to keep the door open for 2s finals... if things go that way?

As for McNally, the guy may have won a league medal but is probably a bit behind his best if he had that many weeks off with a knee.

I think in the Loddon Valley you can't play more than 8 seniors games but you have to play 4 seconds games to qualify..
As for the 2000 grand final, i remember watching that day very closely. My brother was coaching the serp side that day and yes it was a pretty handy side...

Bombertastic
28 Aug 2007, 23:06

Nail hit on head there. Happened last year. Both mid fields stack up pretty well. Experience may be the telling factor however how good Calivils defense is against Newbridge's forward line is key. If they step up to the challenge they could overwhelm with occasion and I think they will.

Maxi
29 Aug 2007, 00:00
Yet again i see its the LOCALS that are being shafted again at serp. As long as Gadsden is president that club will never go forward.

Gadsen is a bloody mouthpiece like his mate Pointen. If Serp are to ever go forward as a club d!ckheads like these need to be shown the door. They are vermin of the highest order.

Serp need a commitee not so focused on buying premierships but instead fostering a good club environment. This means local guys need to get a fair go. A good club atmosphere will entice players to the club and locals that have gone elsewhere to escape the bullsh!t may return.

The Iron Glove
29 Aug 2007, 10:02
The way your talking Frankenfurter sounds like Newbridge are already playing for second place. You say they are one dimensional going forward yet you have named 5 forwards who have all kicked over 200 goals for the year between them. (Shevlin 75 odd, Wills 45, Nixon 42, Mildren 30, Torpey 20 odd). You throw in the onballers of Comer, Baxter, Giri x 2, and Cam Grant there is a lot of fire power going forward. Shevlin missed 4-5 games through injury this year and they didn't drop one game including one against Mitiamo. Even that day they had out Wills, Shevlin and Lakey. Hardly a side that sounds one dimensional

Who besides Freemantle and maybe Scholtes if his head is in the game is capable of kicking a bag?

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 10:21
Who besides Freemantle and maybe Scholtes if his head is in the game is capable of kicking a bag?

This will be Calivil's biggest problem. I don't think they can kick enough goals to beat Newbridge. The only way they can win is to cut off supply to the Newbridge forwards. The midfield battle should be a ripper.

Frankenfurter
29 Aug 2007, 10:21
The way your talking Frankenfurter sounds like Newbridge are already playing for second place. You say they are one dimensional going forward yet you have named 5 forwards who have all kicked over 200 goals for the year between them. (Shevlin 75 odd, Wills 45, Nixon 42, Mildren 30, Torpey 20 odd). You throw in the onballers of Comer, Baxter, Giri x 2, and Cam Grant there is a lot of fire power going forward. Shevlin missed 4-5 games through injury this year and they didn't drop one game including one against Mitiamo. Even that day they had out Wills, Shevlin and Lakey. Hardly a side that sounds one dimensional

It's easy to look at the total goals a bloke has kicked for a year but you need to look a bit deeper than that.

Nixon has kicked goals against Marong, Inglewood, YCW and the other dud sides and goes missing against good sides, because he gets a good player rather than a young kid.

Torpy is a two's player at best, very selfish player which probably explains why he has kicked 20, if torpy and nixon are in the same side i can't see newbridge winning a flag, they are the same player forward pockets only.

Shevvy when he was 30kg lighter played at Wedderburn and kicked over a 100 goals three times i think, in the two grand finals that he played in i don't think he kicked more than 2 goals in either of them, had the yips and kicked a heap of points, fair to question whether he is a big game player.

Will Wills play in the seniors this week? Wrist not all that good, barney with the club last weekend, maybe he won't be there.

Mildren good player who is tough to match up with, capable of kicking three or four but not capable of winning the game off his own boot.

If it comes down to relying on Comer, Baxter and the two giri's and the on ballers kicking goals for Newbridge i think they could be in a bit of strife.

Calivil do though rely on their midfield to kick their goals, however the difference being they have set up a gameplan to do that whereas newbridge play a more traditional set up looking to hit up key targets across half forward and then either hit a mobile forward (Wills) or a more stationary target (Shevlin).

Calivil are taking a side that has won numerous flag into a second semi with a game plan that they know works and the players know what they have to do and when they have to do it.

Newbridge on the other hand rely on the brillance of some of their players to drag them into the contest and then hope on overall ability they are able to beat the side they are playing.

On ability Newbridge can't get beat however the game isn't won on ability alone.

All in all it's going to be a great contest this weekend

The Iron Glove
29 Aug 2007, 14:33
It's easy to look at the total goals a bloke has kicked for a year but you need to look a bit deeper than that.

Nixon has kicked goals against Marong, Inglewood, YCW and the other dud sides and goes missing against good sides, because he gets a good player rather than a young kid.

Torpy is a two's player at best, very selfish player which probably explains why he has kicked 20, if torpy and nixon are in the same side i can't see newbridge winning a flag, they are the same player forward pockets only.

Shevvy when he was 30kg lighter played at Wedderburn and kicked over a 100 goals three times i think, in the two grand finals that he played in i don't think he kicked more than 2 goals in either of them, had the yips and kicked a heap of points, fair to question whether he is a big game player.

Will Wills play in the seniors this week? Wrist not all that good, barney with the club last weekend, maybe he won't be there.

Mildren good player who is tough to match up with, capable of kicking three or four but not capable of winning the game off his own boot.

If it comes down to relying on Comer, Baxter and the two giri's and the on ballers kicking goals for Newbridge i think they could be in a bit of strife.

Calivil do though rely on their midfield to kick their goals, however the difference being they have set up a gameplan to do that whereas newbridge play a more traditional set up looking to hit up key targets across half forward and then either hit a mobile forward (Wills) or a more stationary target (Shevlin).

Calivil are taking a side that has won numerous flag into a second semi with a game plan that they know works and the players know what they have to do and when they have to do it.

Newbridge on the other hand rely on the brillance of some of their players to drag them into the contest and then hope on overall ability they are able to beat the side they are playing.

On ability Newbridge can't get beat however the game isn't won on ability alone.

All in all it's going to be a great contest this weekend

You must'nt have been able to get to Pyramid on Saturday then to watch a Calivil team kick only 4 goals up till half time on what a clear sunny day. They went wide more often than not searching for a target that they lack across half forward and inside 50. Doesn't sound like a solid game plan to me. They should benefit from including Allen, Rogers and Richards back in the 1's this week though.

The so called "barney" that happened with Wills was he decided he was going up the river on the weekend instead of footy training on Saturday morning. No big problem there but it was just pointed out that he hadn't played for a while.

Can't judge Shevvy until Saturday though. At least when he plays he provides a target that Nixon, Torpey, Baxter and the Giri's can get around to crumb. Unfortunatly Calival don't have that target. They have to rely on the ability of Freemantle to get free and he hasn't kicked any more than 2 goals against Newbridge this year. While Maxted x 2 and Demeo x 2 would be the starting on ballers in any side in this competition can they push forward enough to get the score on the board?

Would be surprised if this game turns out better than the Grand Final

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 16:07
I agree with Sk8Loddon, Birdy isn't even playing seniors now, and he's just a good bloke that loves playing for Pyramid.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 16:12
I think that he should get the 3 votes just for giving it to one of the pyramid filth. Lets face it they're scum and it's all they deserve. They're the biggest snippers in the league, they're supporters are ferals, and they're town stinks. Boot them from the league!

Pyramid Filth? I ask you are you no the one saying that comer should get 3 votes for smashing someone? Is that not a sniper thing to say? Newbridge are the dirtiest team in the league, I detest every match we play against them, because not only is their senior crowd feral, its right down in their juniors. There U17's football boys are the worst I have ever seen, when your 16 or 17 trying to belt up or take out 11 year olds is not on! I was disgraced by their efforts, they are ruining junior football for the whole league.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 16:18
well last years grandfinal was at miti there seem to be a fair crowd there whats another ten minutes up the road .How many people do u think they cramp into serp for the grandfinal this year been such a small ground?:confused:

Whats the difference between Pyramid Hill and any other ground in the league? I would rather go there than Newbridge any other day.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 17:06
shows how long since u hav been there c o ck su cker... they have a whole new hot water sistem, a couple of new fires in the main previllian and the toilets mate are joined on to the back of the main previllian so maybe before ya go bagging them out ya head up there and hav a look:D

I happen to believe also that Pyramid Hill has the best ground in the league. It is the only ground which is maintained all year long. Also I think you will find that the toilet out the back has not been used since before I was born, as I can never remember actually using those toilets. As for the opposition showers I cannot comment. Facilities wise, I would say with the exception of Mitiamo’s new shed rooms that Pyramid have the best facilities in the League. I also think you’ll find that they have the best pies around as well. Also the old toilets which I do consider are no longer used, aren’t that far out the back, but I suppose for some people 40m is a fair hike! So I’m guessing that either you haven’t really been to Pyramid Hill this year, or otherwise you’re just incredibly lazy and vision impaired. How can Pyramid Hill be the most depressing trip in the LVFL? It frustrates me that twits like yourself, don’t realize that your traveling on pretty much the same road to Calivil & Miti, and you have exactly the same sights. As for the crap pub, I think it goes damn well once again compared to Calivil & Mitiamo where there isn’t one at all. Serp which has only just started up. And you can’t possibly tell me that YCW actually socialize enough to even have a ‘Club’ Pub. Finally I think it is very shallow of you to bring the burnt down roadhouse into it, seen as a local family is suffering because of it. And as for the others who say that you have to sit too far back from the ground, I think its excellent especially when you get terrible supporters for example this year at Newbridge against Pyramid Hill, Newbridge supporters were completely disgusting not only on the field but off the field as well, the poor umpires the Newbridge supporters were right in their ears constantly.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 17:28
The pub goes ok? compared to what? The burnt down roadhouse? Get over yourself it's the @rse end of the universe. the whole point of what everyone is saying is the facilities aren't as good as some make them out.

Will be an interesting re-match next week Bridgey v Pyramid Hill. Will Bridgey get a few back or has Pyramid got em covered

Ok I think that bringing the burnt down road house into this is appauling. A family is suffering because of it and your using it as a cheap shot comment? Obviously you've never been to the pub, or when you walked into the pub that they realised where you belong and sent you out straight away, because they wouldn't want someone of such low calibre in their pub.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 17:42

At least there is locals in their team, look at Calivils U17s side

Five Fingers
29 Aug 2007, 17:52
46,453 posts later + random unreadable crap

You must be from Pyramid, days behind everyone else. We moved on from there.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 18:52
Are you serious Omar? Having Peter Bird going mad in the first half and belting every Calivil bloke in sight wasn't really good for the contest and thankfully the umpires sent him off. Glenn Schultz was in la la land after copping one in the first quarter.

I wonder why Peter Bird went mad in the first half? Calivil targeted him from the word go. Targeting someone because of their lack of mental stability is not something a worthy club should be proud of. Not to mention he would have been aggravated as you should be if one of your best players jaw had purposely been broken. Whats the difference between Peter Bird hurting someone, and Glenn Richards purposely setting out to hurt someone?

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 19:15
Pyramid Filth? I ask you are you no the one saying that comer should get 3 votes for smashing someone? Is that not a sniper thing to say? Newbridge are the dirtiest team in the league, I detest every match we play against them, because not only is their senior crowd feral, its right down in their juniors. There U17's football boys are the worst I have ever seen, when your 16 or 17 trying to belt up or take out 11 year olds is not on! I was disgraced by their efforts, they are ruining junior football for the whole league.

Seriously Azol, get over it! The state of the lovely facilities and ground at Pyramid Hill was done and dusted a week ago mate.

1 succinct post would have done the trick, not 5 rubbish ones.

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 19:19
Azol, don't bother with commenting on the stacking of the Serp two's. That topic is done with as well.

How about you enlighten us with something new.

gerta
29 Aug 2007, 19:33
Azol, don't bother with commenting on the stacking of the Serp two's. That topic is done with as well.

How about you enlighten us with something new.

Hows the marong ground looking for the weekend's action Hellboy???

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 21:21
Hows the marong ground looking for the weekend's action Hellboy???

I haven't seen it since Saturday Gerta.

There's been a fair bit of water go on it this week with plenty to be dumped on the goal squares and centre on Friday and Saturday.

Should definitely be in better nick than it has been. I'll keep you posted.

Azol
29 Aug 2007, 21:43
I heard that they were thinking of moving the Saturdays match at Bridgewater to Mitiamo? Wondering if that had any truth?

gerta
29 Aug 2007, 21:46

There's been a fair bit of water go on it this week with plenty to be dumped on the goal squares and centre on Friday and Saturday.

Thats good, a bit of water, some warm conditions and sunshine and it should be looking a treat :)

Any news on the Marong coach??

Also heard that a Loddon Valley Football club has been speaking to one Rick Andrews... Anyone got any goss on that???

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 22:03
Thats good, a bit of water, some warm conditions and sunshine and it should be looking a treat :)

Any news on the Marong coach??

Also heard that a Loddon Valley Football club has been speaking to one Rick Andrews... Anyone got any goss on that???

Go back a couple of pages Gerta, Brett Rogers has been appointed for next season.

gerta
29 Aug 2007, 22:10
Go back a couple of pages Gerta, Brett Rogers has been appointed for next season.

Ahhh good work... So that is definite???

Hellboy
29 Aug 2007, 22:49
Ahhh good work... So that is definite???

Yep. It was finalised last Saturday.

BiG rIcK
29 Aug 2007, 23:34
At least there is locals in their team, look at Calivils U17s side

Yeah you are right in Calivil's U/17's there is only 7 local kids playin but lets see in Serp's 2's side there is all of........ WOW a whopping 5 locals.
And if you really wanna compare the 2 clubs in the last home and away round both clubs played, Serp had 5 locals in the 1's, 6 in the 2's and 7 in the 3rd's, where as Calivil had 14 in the 1's, 11 in the 2's and 7 in the 3rd's so sorry sunshine maybe you should think before you type:thumbsd:

gerta
30 Aug 2007, 09:43

Went past the Marong ground on the way to work and the sprinklers were in operation :)

Gamingkid
30 Aug 2007, 11:01
Went past the Marong ground on the way to work and the sprinklers were in operation :)

Hey guys, i play for Marong under 17's, and i tell you the ground is in good nic, better then it has been all season, i have training tonight, and will let you know about the condition

Joe Czak
30 Aug 2007, 14:18

Issue was over weeks ago buddy, but I've still got no sympathy. If you dish it out you've got to take it.