View Full Version : Team vs Port Adelaide

blueheart
29 May 2006, 12:57
I know it is only Monday but have time to kill!
Would like to see this line up on Sunday:
B: Carrazzo Thornton Bannister
HB: Walker Whitnall Scotland
C: Simpson Bentick Russell
HF:Houlihan Kennedy Koutoufides
F: Lappin Fevola Betts
FOL: French Stevens Murphy
INTER: McLaren Prendergast Blackwell Longmuir
IN: Carrazzo Bannister Russell Betts Longmuir
OUT: Sporn Teague Livingston Wiggins McGrath

Yep another 5 changes! Lets face it, those omissions are just not up to it!
Would like to see Longmuir given a chance only because he hasnt played seniors this year and is a better replacement playing the role of Brad Fisher. Would also like to see Kennedy, Russell and Blackwell be given plenty of game time as well:thumbsu:
I think we can win this one - Blues by 27 points:thumbsu:

Grover
29 May 2006, 13:11
Surely couldnt drop Wiggo or Mcgrath. Mcgrath Killed Riccutio and Wiggo has been very good the last 3 weeks.

I wouldnt bring in Longmuir and i would give Betts some time in the ressies to get some confidence up.

would prefer Setanta to come in instead of Bannister, not cuz of good form but he is more the future than Bannister, just put him in give him game time and hope for the best.

Ins: Russel, Ohailpin, Carazzo

Outs: Livo, Sporn, Teague

but there is no point playing any of these ids if they play most of the day on the bench, give them 3 quarters or more.

AlecDuncan
29 May 2006, 13:14
I think we should leave Livo in to take Tredrea. Gorilla for Gorilla.

And the next time we pick Bannister - play him at full-back FGS.

av76
29 May 2006, 13:17
In: Carrazzo and Bannister
Out: Sporn and Teague

I think Russel should be given a few games in which he dominates to really get his confidence and up and when they bring him back give him a full game. If they bring him back now he will be on and off the bench again and straight back to the ressies.

SA Blue
29 May 2006, 13:25
I think we should leave Livo in to take Tredrea. Gorilla for Gorilla.

And the next time we pick Bannister - play him at full-back FGS.

Agree with the Livo comment. Port could load up forward with Tredrea, White and Lade and Livo could take any of those which would leave Whits up forward.

McGrath has got to stay in the one's, he had a great game. Same for Wiggo.

The only obvious in for me is Carrazo. Not sure how Betts played, but would like to see him in, if the form is there.
JR could also come in, maybe for Blackwell who needs som time in the 2's.

BlueWorld
29 May 2006, 13:36
Betts never played at the weekend. Went to Adelaide as an emergency. Would expect him to play in the bullants next week.

goal sneak
29 May 2006, 14:51
Bring in Betts. Good chance for a win this week, need to play your guns

WTTF
29 May 2006, 15:11
Carrazzo & Russell are must inclusions.............most likely for Teague & Sporn.

With Betts not playing at all on the weekend, its unlikely he'd be considered.

I'd play Bannister instead of Prendergast as well. I like Prender's endeavour, but his turnovers kill us. We badly need a tagger and Bannister should be given a job.

In: Carrazzo, Russell, Bannister
Out: Teague, Sporn, Prendergast

AlecDuncan
29 May 2006, 16:11
I'd play Bannister instead of Prendergast as well. I like Prender's endeavour, but his turnovers kill us. We badly need a tagger and Bannister should be given a job.
This is Bannister's problem. The few chances he gets at AFL level are wasted playing tagging roles (i.e. chasing someone's bum) instead of doing what he does best at VFL level. If we're going to play him, play him at full-back, and let him set up rebounds like he does so well for the Bullants!

WTTF
29 May 2006, 16:30
This is Bannister's problem. The few chances he gets at AFL level are wasted playing tagging roles (i.e. chasing someone's bum) instead of doing what he does best at VFL level. If we're going to play him, play him at full-back, and let him set up rebounds like he does so well for the Bullants!

Tagging was what got him a game in 2004 and subsequently 10th in the B&F that year.

They used Walker to tag last year, and have tried Carrazzo, Bentick, Simpson and Sporn this year with very limited success. We are crying out for an effective tagger and Bannister should be given another shot at it in my opinion.

Bannister is not a Full Back!

Full Back in the VFL v Full Back in the AFL. Chalk & Cheese.

av76
29 May 2006, 16:43

Exactly...he's tall, fast and quite strong...suitable to play on the 2nd or 3rd tall and provide run out of the forward 50. Wouldn't want him playing on the gorilla full forwards though.

AlecDuncan
29 May 2006, 16:45
Bannister is not a Full Back!

Full Back in the VFL v Full Back in the AFL. Chalk & Cheese.
We won't know until we play him there, will we? I'm not saying he's ideal for all opponents (for instance Tredrea this weekend), but that's his position - if he has one. It's not like we have a gun FB we'd be mad to move.

I don't want to see him being wasted as a negative player. At VFL level, he sets up attack after attack from the last line where he can use his exceptional run in a straight line.

WTTF
29 May 2006, 16:57
We won't know until we play him there, will we? I'm not saying he's ideal for all opponents (for instance Tredrea this weekend), but that's his position - if he has one. It's not like we have a gun FB we'd be mad to move.

I don't want to see him being wasted as a negative player. At VFL level, he sets up attack after attack from the last line where he can use his exceptional run in a straight line.

We'll have to agree to disagree, as I don't see him making it as a Key Position Defender at AFL level.

Who would you like to see him take against Port this week for example?

AlecDuncan
29 May 2006, 17:38
We'll have to agree to disagree, as I don't see him making it as a Key Position Defender at AFL level.

Who would you like to see him take against Port this week for example?
Whoever the tall marking forward is left over after Tredrea - not that they have one as such. Lade & Brogan drift forward as options, but otherwise they use small/medium mobile types as goal options - particularly midfielders. As I said above, I'd put Livo on Tredrea.

This was a nightmare game during the pre-season. How we compete with Port's very good ruck/on-ball combination will make any questions about our defence moot. It wouldn't have mattered if you had Southby & Doull down there against the Saints or Crows the way the opposition midfields have reamed us this year.

Jumbo
30 May 2006, 10:47
Whoever the tall marking forward is left over after Tredrea - not that they have one as such. Lade & Brogan drift forward as options, but otherwise they use small/medium mobile types as goal options - particularly midfielders. As I said above, I'd put Livo on Tredrea.

Damon WHITE has progressed very well of late as the 2nd tall forward.

OZBomb
30 May 2006, 11:02
B. Carrazzo Livingston Teague
HB. Walker Thornton McGrath
C. Simpson Bentick Wiggins
HF. Lappin Whitnall Stevens
F. Houlihan Fevola Prendergast
Foll. McLaren Scotland Murphy
Int. French Koutoufides Blackwell Kennedy

Emg. Russell Sporn Deluca

In: Carrazzo
Out: Sporn

BLUEBOY1
30 May 2006, 18:30

Would like to see Longmuir given a chance only because he hasnt played seniors this year and is a better replacement playing the role of Brad Fisher. Would also like to see Kennedy, Russell and Blackwell be given plenty of game time as well:thumbsu:

G'day Guys,

Just letting you know if you don't already Carrazzo has been rubbed out for 1 week for striking.

blueboys1
30 May 2006, 19:31
B. McGrath Bryan McLaren
HB. Lappin Thornton Teague
C. Simpson Bentick Russell
HF. Koutoufides Whitnall Stevens
F. Betts Fevola O'hAilpin
Foll. French Walker Murphy
Int. Scotland Wiggins Blackwell Kennedy

kouta 4 president
31 May 2006, 00:06
Dont care how the team goes as long as Whitnals HF, Fevolas FF and Murphy, Mclaren, Walker and either Bentick or Simpson are in the center. They need the experience

BlueFeaver
31 May 2006, 12:02
B:Bannister, Livo, McGrath
HB:Thornton, Whitnell, Russell
C:Simpson, Bentick, Walker
HF:Lappin, Prender, Kennedy
F:Kouta, Fev, Murphy
Foll:French, Stevens, Scotland
Int:Blackwell, McLaren, Houlihan, Wiggins

Livo- can't kick but can hold a opponent in check. (look @ Presti)
Russell- this is his best suited position needs to be given a license to run
when we are in position.(and game time)
Walker- ideal position, will need to use his endurance and speed to create an option coming out of defense. He also needs to drag his opponent forward more and back himself in marking duals (again his strength).
Prender- the "trier". He will need to present all game and use his size to open space. Again he needs to play to his stengths using endurance at a true CHF position running, creating options when we are coming out of defense. Will need to time his leads better aswell.
Kennedy- the Dome is a ideal situation for Kennedy. Ideally running around the 1/2 forwards flanks and then overlapping deeper forward with the flight of the ball when space is created by Fev leading out of the goal square.
Kouta- his effectiveness around the ground is minimal now we need to extract what we can out of him. Play him as a stay at home forward, let him use his strength and provide a contest closer to goal.
Murphy- rotating through the midfield but ideally only as far as the centre circle, he could also interchange with Simpson on a wing throughout the game. When forward he would read the flight and feed off Kouta's contests, this is Murphy's forte.

All the other positions pretty much speak for themselves. Most of all we need to move the ball quickly and play a one on one style of footy. We may get beaten but it will provide a exciting brand of football and an odea of the future of our club.

Snoozer
31 May 2006, 12:20
Actually don't mind the Bannister at Full back idea. I reckon he'd be ideally suited to play on a Fevola type who is not tall, but good on the lead. Bannister is quick... could develop into a Leo Barry type.

Is it fair dinkum that Carrazzo had 51 touches for the Bullants last week?? Just goes to show the difference in standard... he'd hardly had a kick for the Blues so far this year.

av76
31 May 2006, 12:28
Livo- [/B]can't kick but can hold a opponent in check. (look @ Presti)

Prender- the "trier". He will need to present all game and use his size to open space. Again he needs to play to his stengths using endurance at a true CHF position running, creating options when we are coming out of defense. Will need to time his leads better aswell.

I think people give Livo a bad rap...if a Full back can negate a full forward he deserves his place. As long as he can get a hand pass off when needed. I think Presti is a good example of not expecting too much from a FB. Look at Jonathon Hay...2 high picks..hah.

I think Prender also deserves to retain his spot for a week or two...use his endurance to run the defence into the ground and his size to crash packs...if he does this better than Deluca he might be useful.

murphster
31 May 2006, 14:50

Line up should be as Follows:

Ins: Betts, Longmuir, Russell
Outs: Sporn, Livingston, Teague

B: Prender, Thornton, Russell
HB: Mcgrath, Whitnall, Wiggens
C: Houlihan, Scotland, Walker
HF: Simpson, Kennedy, Lappin
F: Kouta, Fevola, Betts
Foll: Stevens, Murphy, French
Int: Mclaren, Longmuir, Bentick, Blackwell

The three highlighted should be rotated through the middle of the ground at regular intervals or played up forward in Longmuir's case, they should be given equal time on the ground as Houlihan, Stevens, Scotland, Murphy, Betts, Lappin, Kouta, Russell, Walker to spread the load instead of giving some players the whole game without a break, the rotations also break tags and confuse the opposition and also break the opposition momentum. Mclaren can be used in ruck and if needed in defence on Lade who is sure to go forward at regular intervals. Attack Attack Attack with good users of the ball now using it forward of centre and hitting a structured forward line lace out or running the ball up to or inside 50 and kicking goals themselves. With this structure and some flexability in match ups we can and will win the game, we now can put a winning score on the board and let them chase our tails for a change.

Go the Mosquito Fleet!!!!!!

Andyt30
4 Jun 2006, 14:10
Pagan should show the whole carlton side the Geelong v Westcoast game
especally the 2nd half if wce can do it so can we ;) anyway when we play wce they be too stuffed to win next week :)