View Full Version : Is it okay to boo?

Shell
29 May 2006, 18:29
IS is okay to boo??

I recall we (as in we, i mean 'the crowd', not myself included but!) all once booed a one Malcolm Blight at 3/4 time a game at KP. Ended up winning it by 3 points in the end!!!

Me for one, am a NON booer.. are you?

JUBJUB
29 May 2006, 18:30
Boo who ?

thehoff
29 May 2006, 18:31
Never Booo... I can be disapointed, but i will never Boo.

darren forssman
29 May 2006, 18:33
i think once you do the betty boo your through.

but then again the betty boo dance was crazy. so, go ahead and do the betty boo.

purring
29 May 2006, 18:35
I think it's fine, I jumped the social club fence to get to the brownlow race where they were walking off and gave them what for, they needed to hear it too. I got bagged from other supporters there clapping them off, so I had a go back at them, I am sick of these supporters accepting these losses. I simply wont do it, and the players need to know that 'us' the members are not happy.

eliiiiza
29 May 2006, 18:37
No. Never have and never will.

Respect, even?

Shell
29 May 2006, 18:44
I think it's fine, I jumped the social club fence to get to the brownlow race where they were walking off and gave them what for, they needed to hear it too. I got bagged from other supporters there clapping them off, so I had a go back at them, I am sick of these supporters accepting these losses. I simply wont do it, and the players need to know that 'us' the members are not happy.

Mate, booing achieves NOTHIN, NADDA, IMO!!! Please re-think your view on this!!

I dont agree with f***ing clapping them off either tho!

Shell
29 May 2006, 18:46
Boo who ?

Check out the poll title :thumbsu:

The issue came up, in another thread, and it just really gets to me. Thought id take the question to the peoples!

(this is my first ever poll.. im very excited)

year of the cat
29 May 2006, 18:46
My brother-in-law, a passionate geelong man, relayed a story to me on Sat night that he also went down from the social club to tell the players coming off how pathetic they were to have a woman in front of him shout out that they were "a pack of weak f###ing c##ts!" He just turned around a walked home happy that someone had done the job for him!!!!

TheTimeCometh
29 May 2006, 18:48
whatever jacross wants, i'll do.

nananana catman
29 May 2006, 18:48
:D ahh purring gold!

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
29 May 2006, 19:24

Spot on mate. I just wish I was closer to the players' race.

Come on everyone, seriously, we pay their wages and rock up every week (even when they don't). The only way we can get our opinions across is either cheering/booing. They should know what the members (ie. their employers) think. Quite frankly, the last 7 weeks have warranted it.

Shell
29 May 2006, 19:32
Spot on mate. I just wish I was closer to the players' race.

Come on everyone, seriously, we pay their wages and rock up every week (even when they don't). The only way we can get our opinions across is either cheering/booing. They should know what the members (ie. their employers) think. Quite frankly, the last 7 weeks have warranted it.

Ah, so did you boo then when we beat the Sainters huh?

skankfest
29 May 2006, 19:48
Absolutely I boo.

I don't want to try and justify it.

It makes me feel better to let them know that I'm not happy. I'm sure they get their corn-holes licked by the suck-jobs and hangger-ons that follow any footy club.

Hell, even local 5th tier footy clubs have suck-jobs who kiss rectum, so I'm 100% certain that the cats have thier share.

And that's what annoys me.

No matter how hard I boo from the back of the Gary Ablett Terrace I'm sure there's 10x as many leeches telling them how good they are.

If the players feel hard done by that...stuff 'em. They didn't shy away when we were at the family day after the NAB cup win heaping praise on them, so they can't even attempt to tell us to stop heaping scorn.

If they have a problem, maybe they should just go and buy another ivory back scratcher. Thay can use it to scratch thier bottoms while the West Coast Eagles are kicking innumerable unanswered goals.

There!

I've said it.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
29 May 2006, 20:13
Ah, so did you boo then when we beat the Sainters huh?

Nah mate, didn't boo. Didn't cheer either.

Didn't boo after Hawthorn.
Didn't boo after the Bulldogs.
Didn't boo after Melbourne.
Didn't boo after Collingwood.
Wanted to boo after Richmond. Seriously mate, we have to go and watch that crap they're serving up to us.

How else do we get our opinions across?

Champ39
29 May 2006, 20:16
The only thing I 'boo' is the opposition, oh and the umpires of course.
Stupid maggots.

ben_cats_fan
29 May 2006, 20:22
Maybe rather than booing or clapping, dead silence may have more of an impact?

Shell
29 May 2006, 20:22
Nah mate, didn't boo. Didn't cheer either.

Didn't boo after Hawthorn.
Didn't boo after the Bulldogs.
Didn't boo after Melbourne.
Didn't boo after Collingwood.
Wanted to boo after Richmond. Seriously mate, we have to go and watch that crap they're serving up to us.

I dunno mate, I dunno.

An angry email to the club? Wait by the phone for Bomber to give you a call? :D

Im just as upset and frustrated as everyone else around here. I just choose not to boo... Unconditional love and support, i am guilty of :(

Champ39
29 May 2006, 20:25
Maybe rather than booing or clapping, dead silence may have more of an impact?

I don't think anything could or would make an impact. Right now it looks like a lost cause.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
29 May 2006, 20:32
I dunno mate, I dunno.

An angry email to the club? Wait by the phone for Bomber to give you a call? :D

Im just as upset and frustrated as everyone else around here. I just choose not to boo... Unconditional love and support, i am guilty of :(

Mate, emails/letters/phone calls do nothing. The players don't hear them.

Look, I give unconditional love and support too. Ill give an analogy - not sure how old you are, but I'm sure your parents used to give you unconditional love and support too, it doesn't mean that they never criticised you or spoke negatively to you.

There is a time when the players have to be told what's not good enough.

TheTimeCometh
29 May 2006, 20:34
i like that idea of cold dead silence.

Shell
29 May 2006, 20:40
i like that idea of cold dead silence.

Ohh me too.. we could cue some tumbleweeds to blow across the ground as well..

Shell
29 May 2006, 20:43

Look, I give unconditional love and support too. Ill give an analogy - not sure how old you are, but I'm sure your parents used to give you unconditional love and support too, it doesn't mean that they never criticised you or spoke negatively to you.

I said WAIT by the phone biatch!! Cant you read? :D (im kidding mate, i know emails n shyte do nothing)

Im 26.. just check out me profile :thumbsu:

Its the coaches job to do that.. oh no wait. He throws his weight behind someone who has kicked 1 goal in 3 weeks of football, saying he'll be fine!! Maybe we cant rely on the coach then...

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
29 May 2006, 21:00
I said WAIT by the phone biatch!! Cant you read? :D (im kidding mate, i know emails n shyte do nothing)

Im 26.. just check out me profile :thumbsu:

Its the coaches job to do that.. oh no wait. He throws his weight behind someone who has kicked 1 goal in 3 weeks of football, saying he'll be fine!! Maybe we cant rely on the coach then...

Mate, the coach doesn't pay the players' wages. We do.

More like 1 goal in 6 weeks or so.

Also, Thompson didn't say one word to the players after the game.

TheTimeCometh
29 May 2006, 21:28
yes, yes.

tumbleweeds.

Bartel'sNo1Fan
29 May 2006, 22:09

the players DO hear them
I had one player actually email me back a couple of times.

nananana catman
29 May 2006, 22:35
the players DO hear them
I had one player actually email me back a couple of times.

Bet you the letter wasn't being critical of him...

nananana catman
29 May 2006, 22:37

English

rizzo
29 May 2006, 22:39
I booed Loud nd proud

worthogs
30 May 2006, 00:00
abuse, slag off, riddicule, vent anger, verbal tirade, call for mass sackings, death threats, but never Booing .....oh and never SPITTING!!!

skankfest
30 May 2006, 00:33
Good to see that the majority of people here so far boo.

No, I would never do that to our boys = 13
Yes, whenever I want to, i will boo = 10
Yes, only in completely dire circumstances = 4
I boo whether we win or lose! = 1

Now I know I'm not alone.

Sammy D
30 May 2006, 00:45
I don't boo, but the infamous Brownlow clapping :D:D:D:Ds me to tears.

Ricardo
30 May 2006, 00:51
I would never encourage booing our own players....the umpires are a different matter, i love booing and yelling abuse at them :D it makes you feel so much better.

I would however encourage silence, although it would be hard because people either will boo the team or cheer them, i think cheering them gives them some satisfaction that not everyone was AS angry at the loss, although i find it annoying anyone would clap, its almost encouraging mediocrity.

joolerylovesbigh
30 May 2006, 11:35
I used to scream abuse at Linga no matter what he was doing, a few years ago I couldn't stand the bloke.

I'm now wondering why I changed my mind....

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
30 May 2006, 13:01
Please, please everyone.

STOP ACCEPTING MEDIOCRITY FROM THE FOOTY CLUB.

Once the culture of accepting mediocre results has been destroyed from GFC (if it is possible), only then will the club ever truly go forward.

Partridge
30 May 2006, 13:28
Please, please everyone.

Once the culture of accepting mediocre results has been destroyed from GFC (if it is possible), only then will the club ever truly go forward.

Absolutely correct and brilliantly said - the post of the year so far. Once they realise that the supporters will not accept second best then maybe, just maybe the players (and especially the coach) might too.

rizzo
30 May 2006, 13:34
Please, please everyone.

Exactly RIGHT!!, The clapping from the brownlow stand is a disgrace!! Its offensive to know that people will clap them off after watching that for 120mins!

Copernicus
30 May 2006, 13:37
Please, please everyone.

And good luck with that. It's been the weight around our neck for 43 years. Small town culture may play a part, I'm not sure, but one way or another it's a bloody hard smell to eradicate.

Partridge
30 May 2006, 13:40
And good luck with that. It's been the weight around our neck for 43 years. Small town culture may play a part, I'm not sure, but one way or another it's a bloody hard smell to eradicate.

Just briefly - did anyone else see the documentary on Foxtel on Sunday night about FC Barcelona? It should be mandatory viewing to every employee of the Geelong Football Club about what real pressure and expectations are.

Funnily enough, it seems that with supporters who will not in any circumstances accept failure, the club expects and achieves success. League and European champions this year too. Strange that.

TheTimeCometh
30 May 2006, 13:43
could you imagine if we had 13/14 flags to our name, and more often than not, always seriously competitive - we'd be more loathesome than the 'pies. the jealousy fer a one vic team town would be paramount.

as it is no-one takes the GFC seriously. S "Problems Galore" J is right. the fans accept it. the town accepts it. in music terms we are MOR, nothin more.

Pamela Anderson
30 May 2006, 13:53
I agree, DEFINATELY no spitting!

Renegade
30 May 2006, 14:56
i said i'd boo when i want, but i don't ever recall booing the players. I certainly don't sit there clapping like a trained seal when we trot off after a pathetic loss.

Partridge
30 May 2006, 15:26
i said i'd boo when i want, but i don't ever recall booing the players. I certainly don't sit there clapping like a trained seal when we trot off after a pathetic loss.

I never boo - I abuse. I went ballistic after the Footscray loss when all these halfwits were cheering them off after they lost. Unbelievable.

Mind you, I don't wait until the end to offer verbal broadsides. Lately they've been coming much earlier.

jacross
30 May 2006, 17:19
could you imagine if we had 13/14 flags to our name, and more often than not, always seriously competitive - we'd be more loathesome than the 'pies. the jealousy fer a one vic team town would be paramount.

as it is no-one takes the GFC seriously. S "Problems Galore" J is right. the fans accept it. the town accepts it. in music terms we are MOR, nothin more.

Now this is a good post.

I clapped them off last year when they lost in Canberra. Their were a number of reasons.

1, I don't get to see them very often.
2, I went to a Catholic School who believed in 'good sportsmanship', unfortunately despite my best attempts, it manifests itself in me.
3, They lost but they didn't play like a disgrace.

I picked yes but only in the most dire circumstances, and I think Saturday would have qualified. It's not that they lose, I can handle them losing if they lose with guts and lose honourably. It's how they are losing and their attitude this year. I think if I was their on Saturday I would have booed them. There has to be a point where you can't take it anymore and I cannot take this :D:D:D:D anymore.

As I wrote on here a couple of weeks ago when some ****heads were calling us arrogant. I'm sick of accepting mediocrity. It's either 'almost there' or 'nothing', and that isn't good enough and shouldn't be accepted by Geelong.

Shell
30 May 2006, 17:29
I seriously cant believe some of the shyte i have read on my poll thread. (altho very interesting as well)

Are we apart of this club?? I mean, we're members, people are forever telling us that 'we are'.. What does booing achieve exactly, please tell me that? Especially after the game is already played and lost?? Does it give the team inspiration to come out and play better next week?? I highly doubt it, but you'd have to ask the players that.

As for saying NOT booing is like you're accepting this "crap", well that is the biggest load of crap i've ever heard.

FINALLY.. there are WORSE things in a football sense, than just losing a few on the trot and ****ing up your season. Just go ask any Fitzroy or South supporter yeah??

Bottom line no booing.. BAN THE BOO (cept for umpires and/or the opposition :thumbsu: )

Shell
30 May 2006, 17:33
Will the person who answered "boo whether we win or lose", please stand up.. please stand up!! :D

Pamela Anderson
30 May 2006, 18:08
Check out the poll title :thumbsu:

The issue came up, in another thread, and it just really gets to me. Thought id take the question to the peoples!

(this is my first ever poll.. im very excited)

Hey Shell, how do you start a poll? I have a good one to do!

Shell
30 May 2006, 18:13
Hey Shell, how do you start a poll? I have a good one to do!

Haha, you're a dumb blonde hey? I'll try and use very simple words for you.. ;)

On second thought, what poll do you wanna do hmmmm?? Nothing derogatory towards the GFC i hope?!?!

(btw, creating a poll is easy, theres a button, you check at the bottom of the page, just like when you create a normal, new thread. Then just follow the steps.)

Pamela Anderson
30 May 2006, 18:25
Haha, you're a dumb blonde hey? I'll try and use very simple words for you.. ;)

On second thought, what poll do you wanna do hmmmm?? Nothing derogatory towards the GFC i hope?!?!

(btw, creating a poll is easy, theres a button, you check at the bottom of the page, just like when you create a normal, new thread. Then just follow the steps.)

No I am a Catters supporter! I hadn't selected my team on my profile so it was automatically saying Adelaide as my team, I have changed it now!
No nothing bad at all, just a bit of fun for the ladies! :)

pinkcococupcake
30 May 2006, 18:28
No I am a Catters supporter! I hadn't selected my team on my profile so it was automatically saying Adelaide as my team, I have changed it now!

Can't wait for it Pammy. After all the negative comments lately, I will look forward to your poll, sounds interesting :p Especially as it is for ladies only.... Hubba Hubba

Shell
30 May 2006, 18:32

Oh, geeze you really are dumb arent ya?? :D

Seriously welcome to the club mate!! Hope you can handle the crap that is served up on a daily basis around here! (kidding, kidding, peoples!!)

Something for the ladies huh?? Cannot wait!!!! :cool:

Shell
30 May 2006, 18:35

PS. Four important words...

WILL. THERE. BE. PICS??? :D :thumbsu:

darren forssman
30 May 2006, 18:36
is it okay to fart??

my guts are killing me??

maybe that should be the next poll!!

Shell
30 May 2006, 18:39
is it okay to fart??

my guts are killing me??

maybe that should be the next poll!!

You see Pamela?? You see?? :D

darren forssman
30 May 2006, 18:43
You see Pamela?? You see?? :D

its not funny shell.

the foreskin is going to blow his top so to speak.

Shell
30 May 2006, 18:54
its not funny shell.

the foreskin is going to blow his top so to speak.

Haha.. go do a fart or something :D

cats2rise
30 May 2006, 21:18
Have never booed the boys. Ive been f***ing p***ed off at them, stod there for 5 minutes staring into space, then marching out there. The car trip home is hell. Then i let my anger out at something when i get home. Hitting billiard balls onto the factorys roof behind my house has always been a good one.

Shell
30 May 2006, 21:23
Have never booed the boys. Ive been f***ing p***ed off at them, stod there for 5 minutes staring into space, then marching out there. The car trip home is hell. Then i let my anger out at something when i get home. Hitting billiard balls onto the factorys roof behind my house has always been a good one.

I knew you would not let me down C2R! :thumbsu:

cats2rise
30 May 2006, 21:28
I knew you would not let me down C2R! :thumbsu:
Hit two birds with the one stone.
I get to let my anger/frustration/sadness out, and practice my cricket shots for when the cricket season rolls by!

Shell
30 May 2006, 21:38
Hit two birds with the one stone.
I get to let my anger/frustration/sadness out, and practice my cricket shots for when the cricket season rolls by!

Haha.. are you related to Cameron Mooney by any chance?

I guess gals and guys are very different. After the Sydney game last year i took all my frustration out on my credit card. ;)

cats2rise
30 May 2006, 21:47
After the Sydney game last year i took all my frustration out on my credit card. ;)
I threw multiple items at the TV. Yelled. Stormed to my room. Screamed "F*** F*** F***".
10 minutes later my mother came in "Dont worry, there is always next week"
"THERE IS NO F****** NEXT WEEK"
She doesnt follow footy at all. Atleast she tried!

Shell
30 May 2006, 21:49
I threw multiple items at the TV. Yelled. Stormed to my room. Screamed "F*** F*** F***".
10 minutes later my mother came in "Dont worry, there is always next week"
"THERE IS NO F****** NEXT WEEK"
She doesnt follow footy at all. Atleast she tried!

LOL, if my mum had said that to me, I would have quite possibly decked her one! :D ;)

jacross
30 May 2006, 23:02
My stepdad has taken to continually say "it's only a game" to me just because he knows how much I hate that. He pushes his luck sometimes. I usually celebrate a loss by swearing at my parents, swearing at God, swearing at myself, and then brooding for a couple of hours.

However last year I calmly got up from the couch, said goodnight to my stepdad, calmly walked to my room, calmly lay down on my bed, and as a 22 year old male preceeded to bawl my eyes out for 10 minutes.

Bloody football.

Shell
30 May 2006, 23:11
My stepdad has taken to continually say "it's only a game" to me just because he knows how much I hate that. He pushes his luck sometimes. I usually celebrate a loss by swearing at my parents, swearing at God, swearing at myself, and then brooding for a couple of hours.

However last year I calmly got up from the couch, said goodnight to my stepdad, calmly walked to my room, calmly lay down on my bed, and as a 22 year old male preceeded to bawl my eyes out for 10 minutes.

Bloody football.

I drove home from the pub in a rage (lucky there were no cops around) and proceeded to bawl my eyes out for about 5 minutes.

You are officially the biggest sook mate!!! :D

Kidding! (((Jacross))) < that is a hug for Jacross :(

Mr Sensitive
31 May 2006, 12:38
abuse, slag off, riddicule, vent anger, verbal tirade, call for mass sackings, death threats, but never Booing .....oh and never SPITTING!!!

Spot on. So it's alright to come on to boards like this and tear the players to shreds but we can't express how we feel to their faces???:confused:

Partridge
31 May 2006, 13:16
Spot on. So it's alright to come on to boards like this and tear the players to shreds but we can't express how we feel to their faces???:confused:

I do. I express my feelings to the players all the time. I can't see the problem with that. If the players can soak up the joy after wins they shouldn't complain when we tear into them after pathetic displays. Every loss in other words.

jacross
31 May 2006, 16:57
I drove home from the pub in a rage (lucky there were no cops around) and proceeded to bawl my eyes out for about 5 minutes.

You are officially the biggest sook mate!!! :D

Kidding! (((Jacross))) < that is a hug for Jacross :(

HAHA, no offence taken. When it comes to the Cats, I've always worn my emotions on my sleeve.............bad team to do that with.

TheTimeCometh
31 May 2006, 17:02
i am intrigued as to how you can afford to hit billiard balls onto a roof, and with what type of implement you do this with.

why am i not surprised jX?

it is okay to poo foreskin!

Renegade
31 May 2006, 17:44
My front door is dented after the salt shaker collided heavy with it after that semi last year. Felt sick for days after that loss :(

joolerylovesbigh
31 May 2006, 18:45
Since the Sydney game I've put a barrier up and have very little emotion for Geelong whether they win or lose.

:(

cats2rise
31 May 2006, 22:12
i am intrigued as to how you can afford to hit billiard balls onto a roof, and with what type of implement you do this with.

Cricket bat.

My backyard backs onto a sock factory. Ya line the place up and swing like hell. Proper shots go out the window, no cover drive for me. Just hit the little ball as far as you can.

I had 2 packs of billiard balls, aswell as about half a dozen golf balls. They go off the bat like a rocket.

-Charlie-
31 May 2006, 22:28
A lot of things get broken in my house when Geelong are playing.
For example..

-The TV remote can't change the channels anymore, because I threw it so hard on the ground the stuff inside of it is broken.
-The wheel of my computer chair is broken.. I threw the computer chair last year when Geelong lost to Sydney. I also destroyed my room, and cried.
-I have a bald patch from Stacey (Champ39) from when Geelong played Western Bulldogs this year...

We get angry at my house..

Shell
31 May 2006, 22:32
For example..

-The TV remote can't change the channels anymore, because I threw it so hard on the ground the stuff inside of it is broken.
-The wheel of my computer chair is broken.. I threw the computer chair last year when Geelong lost to Sydney. I also destroyed my room, and cried.
-I have a bald patch from Stacey (Champ39) from when Geelong played Western Bulldogs this year...

Haha, sounds great! :D

Seriously, we shouldnt be getting mad.. we should be getting even :(

cats2rise
31 May 2006, 22:38
Im not sure why, but i was more angry after the loss against the doggies this year. Not sure why. Alot more anger came out, whereas after the Sydney game, i just cried after storming into my room for a good 10 minutes. I came back into the lounge room to hear D***HEAD ROBERT WALLS saying absolute s*** about Geelong.

worthogs
31 May 2006, 23:43

we can express how we feel by hurling abuse and following it up any chance we get. Booing is such an woosie thingh to do its as bad as those Brownlow seated fools that clap after we get slammed, but not as bad as some of the fools in the social club that dont have a clue day in day out.

I have been to too many game where we should have won and as usual they fall over. Booing is just water of a dud players back. The comment came out today that Ling came off the ground in that last qtr and looked shocked at the abuse that was being vented their way. They may hear this but they ignore boo's....its such a nerdie thing

worthogs
31 May 2006, 23:46
For example..

All I can say Charlie is that you obviously have nott been following Geelong long enough as you can distnigish between your room beigh broken or fixed. Learn to live with the pain. From a bloke that first saw the Cats as a 6 year old in 1971 (and they were duds then)
You never get used to the pain you just get Numb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-Charlie-
1 Jun 2006, 18:16
All I can say Charlie is that you obviously have nott been following Geelong long enough as you can distnigish between your room beigh broken or fixed. Learn to live with the pain. From a bloke that first saw the Cats as a 6 year old in 1971 (and they were duds then)
You never get used to the pain you just get Numb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Uhhm, I've only been alive for 16 years, so you know..

hyperswivel
3 Jun 2006, 19:20
I have never been an advocate of booing, but surely today there was a shower of it.
Disgraceful. Kent Kingsley would have made no difference... no difference was required except for Geelong to not have stopped.
A lot of nails just got drilled into a lot of coffins at Geelong today - it's a long, long way to claw back.