View Full Version : EFC Grand Final Memories!
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 12:13
When the team is down,we look to past glory for footy happiness!
Well I do anyway.
i was at the MCG for the '83,'84,'85 and 1990 GF's.
1983-i was 13y's old-can't remember much,but i remember my dad saying our time will come next year and it did!
1984- the best one! The roar of the crowd when the siren sounded!
1985- It was good,but i remember it was a bit like 2000.We expected to win and it was relief more than anything to win again after a dominating season.
1990- One of the worst days of my life! Got to the ground at 9am and staked our spot behind the punt rd goals.Surounded by hostile Pie fans who gave out every vile comment they could think of about our dismal display.Can still hear the Collingwood crowd roar as we made our way back across the park to Richmond station.The utter silence on the train which was packed with Dons. The Collingwood supporters spitting on us as we left 10 minutes into the last quarter....i'm not joking!
Daytripper
30 May 2006, 12:15
Leon Baker's last quarter in 84.
Sublime.
Longy413
30 May 2006, 12:30
Timmy Watson's goal in 1984 and his celebration. Two arms above his head. "It's Sheedy's Grand Final."
Longy in 1993, Barnsey crying with Wally in 2000. Barnsey's dropped mark, Hird first goal, knew we had it won then.
The winner of the Norm Smith Medal is - Tony Shaw. As we walked out of the Ponsford. Shattered.
2000 - Beers in the carpark with family afterwards, special. I remember sleeping in Woodland's Park. Actually no I don't, I remember waking up there. Mark Johnson and Joe Misiti at the Royal, MJ still with his jumper on.
I also remember falling down the stairs of One after the 2001 GF.
We've been spoilt, I want more.
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 12:37
2001-Southport Sharks FC ,Gold Coast.
10 Essendon supporters-150 screaming Lions fans-almost as bad as 1990.
The worst part of the game was the last 5 minutes , having to put up with the Brisbane supporters cheering their backman every time they rebounded out of our forward line.I hate that when we know were gunna lose. No wonder i left Queensland.That day hurt bad!!!!
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 12:43
My absolute favorite EFC GF bit of play is Chris Daniher's goal in 93'
The way he fended off that Carlton defender and sent him flying...makes me crack up laughing every time i see it.And i think that goal came just after Longey's "take me on, take me on" moment when he danced around those poor blue boys on the wing!
stander
30 May 2006, 13:24
Dean Wallis in 93 and a fair hip and shoulder on Mil Hanna. Roger Merrett in 84 takes a mark in the goalsquare and the Hawks look puny.
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 13:33
Early in the '93 GF- A Skinny 17 year old Fletcher punching the ball away from the Carlton star we all were worried about ,Kernahan, and sending it into the crowd For such a young player at the time,he really did play well. Even if SK ended up kicking a few that day,i love that massive punch!
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 13:36
I love that slow motion replay of Wallis hitting Hanna in '93. It was a perfect hit that shock Mil to the core.He was lucky to walk away with that with just a headache.
2000 GF. Long's charge into Simmonds which sparked a melee and a camera catching Wally snapping his dislocated finger back into place.
Despite not being the GF, what about Rama's one hander against the Roos when we smashed them in the QF in 2000!!
Shane Hird
30 May 2006, 13:59
S.Denham giving it to Williams all day in '93.
Underated performance that took Carltons biggest play maker away from his game and made him lose focus.Williams was that rattled by Sean's tactics he lost the plot and the entire Carlton side followed suit.
MACDAICOS
30 May 2006, 14:07
Well I do anyway.
i was at the MCG for the '83,'84,'85 and 1990 GF's.
1983-i was 13y's old-can't remember much,but i remember my dad saying our time will come next year and it did!
1984- the best one! The roar of the crowd when the siren sounded!
1985- It was good,but i remember it was a bit like 2000.We expected to win and it was relief more than anything to win again after a dominating season.
1990- One of the worst days of my life! Got to the ground at 9am and staked our spot behind the punt rd goals.Surounded by hostile Pie fans who gave out every vile comment they could think of about our dismal display.Can still hear the Collingwood crowd roar as we made our way back across the park to Richmond station.The utter silence on the train which was packed with Dons. The Collingwood supporters spitting on us as we left 10 minutes into the last quarter....i'm not joking!
And what a roar it was too.........i'll never feeget that......iIve still got my GF ticket in Wallet, I showed John Barnes last year at my footy clubs sportsman night.......He wanted to belt me!!!!!!!! and he didnt even play that day!!!!!!!!! Weird!
Longy413
30 May 2006, 14:16
Maybe it had nothing to do with the Essendon/Collingwood thing.
MACDAICOS
30 May 2006, 14:23
Maybe it had nothing to do with the Essendon/Collingwood thing.
Maybe it did Michael? Maybe it didnt? Maybe it was because I asked him nicely to sign my GF ticket? Maybe it was that I asked him why on "Fox League Teams" he tips against Collingwood every Thursday night? Maybe it was when I asked him if he's misses was still giving Andrew Bews one on the side? Maybe it was when I asked him did you find the crooks who stole ya car? Maybe it was when I asked him Why you off so soon mate after getting he's cash in he's hand on the night? I don't know Michael maybe as a ruckman myself we didnt gel????????
hirdy holding up the cup in 2000
Longs goal in 1993
Rioli's reaction to the 2000 win, just wish he could get a medal himself
Longy413
30 May 2006, 14:28
Moving right along now...
I love the isolated footage Ch7 had of Hird of the last few minutes of the 2000 GF. He knew we had it won, there was pure joy on his face. It was amazing stuff.
Anyone else remember the Essendon Council presenting the keys to Essendon to Gavin Wanganeen after the 1993 flag. And the roar from the crowd at training that week, post-Brownlow when Sheeds would drill balls at Gav and he'd take everything one grab. Brilliant. The "Crows are W_nkers" stickers prior to the Prelim.
EssendonPride
30 May 2006, 15:57
Maybe it did Michael? Maybe it didnt? Maybe it was because I asked him nicely to sign my GF ticket? Maybe it was that I asked him why on "Fox League Teams" he tips against Collingwood every Thursday night? Maybe it was when I asked him if he's misses was still giving Andrew Bews one on the side? Maybe it was when I asked him did you find the crooks who stole ya car? Maybe it was when I asked him Why you off so soon mate after getting he's cash in he's hand on the night? I don't know Michael maybe as a ruckman myself we didnt gel????????
Maybe it was because he doesn't like talking to people that sound like bogans....
Is his that hard to spell?
The D-ROD
30 May 2006, 17:04
longys running goal 93 gf was special...i always crak up seeing silvani plead with the umpire and then throw his hands up in frustration as the umpire delivers the two digits to the roaring mcg crowd...hahah:thumbsu:
The D-ROD
30 May 2006, 17:05
was it 2000 when barnsy was hiding behind the behind post in our forward 50.....haahha.....sneaky bastard...
djharps
30 May 2006, 17:50
i got some final memories
99 prelim.. in the presence of carlton supporters murphy ends up with the ball.. essendon supporters crying around me.. i didnt speak for hours.. wasted season
01 granny high in the southern stand dad scalped 2 tickers for about 600 dollars looking the goods at half time... aker with that bleached blonde hair tearing us apart like paper through the centre... numb
watchin i think 03 final over in WA v fremantle.. it was there time and lloyd and hird stole the spotlight!.. their first final with hirds snap from the boundry sealing the win.. pure gold .. we really have been blessed.. and who could forget the essendon v west coast battles in the early 90's.. you post this in a western bulldogs, melbourne,geelong forum you wouldnt have such happy memories
SydneyBomber
30 May 2006, 18:52
one for the hawks lurking around OUR board - how about lethal's teary exit in 85?
:thumbsu:
Shane Hird
1 Jun 2006, 15:32
1993-Blues got a couple of early goals in the first minutes of the 3rd quarter,looked like they were fighting back into contention.ball comes back to middle for a bounce.
Tap down to David Calthorpe who pumps those chucky little legs and takes two or three bounces and goals from 40 out!! Carlton finally give up and let us kick on to that big GF win in 93
The final nail in the coffin goal!
Without a doubt Leon Bakers blind turn and goal sending the crowd into delirium. I think he only got two possies in that last qtr but they were sheer magic.
I was overseas in 2001 and got my brother to send me the videotape of the GF against Brissie. I just couldnt believe that we'd lost, I kept thinking we were going to come back until Voss kicked that goal because the last i'd seen was 2000 and it looked like we could win 4 premierships straight without sounding ridiculous.
windyhill
1 Jun 2006, 20:01
Being lucky enough to experience four flags. Seeing the joy they bring to all ages, young and old, grabbing any bastard in Red and Black and giving them the bear hug. Magnificent.
P.S. actually joined the boys on the lap of honour in `93, hahaahah, clearly on the tele, Punt Rd end, didn`t last long though !
Stargazer
2 Jun 2006, 18:47
The two first GF's I saw Essendon in we lost - both to Melbourne.
But then John Coleman came back to Windy Hill, this time as a coach and I saw us win in '62 and again in '65.
The best ever flag was '84. After 19 long years of frustration, disappointment,
and grief (I kid you not!) along came Sheeds and the place was jumpin'.
After being trounced by the seemingly invincible Hawks in '83, by a then record score, we came from being behind all day to get ahead in the last quarter and knock 'em off.
As far as I'm concerned, the 80's was a great decade for the Bombers, to see our supporters return enmasse to watch us play after the doldrums of the 70's
to pick up up a news paper, and find we were the headliners, to go to Windy Hill and find the place packed with fanatical supporters, to see Salmon unbeatable at FF and then outed for 12 months with a knee reco and miss the '84 Grand Final
To know we had a choice of THREE chf's (TD, Merritt,and Vanda), to pick up two rovers in one year - Daisy Williams and Alan Ezard - and then Leon Baker(my cup runneth over) plus the brilliance,pace and dedication of Bomber, Nobby, Heard, Hawker, Neagle, Duckworth.
Paul Weston at fb - did anyone ever read the play better than he ?
And Simon Madden - the best ruckman EVER. The best clubman, most reliable player in the side. I LOVED him. Still do.
I love watching the last quarter of '84 (our '85 premiership side was better, by the way) because of the CROWD. It was electric. The Essendon supporters were estatic, and most of us were in tears.
A wonderful day. Thanks Sheeds.
Longy413
2 Jun 2006, 19:54
But then John Coleman came back to Windy Hill, this time as a coach and I saw us win in '62 and again in '65.
After being trounced by the seemingly invincible Hawks in '83, by a then record score, we came from being behind all day to get ahead in the last quarter and knock 'em off.
As far as I'm concerned, the 80's was a great decade for the Bombers, to see our supporters return enmasse to watch us play after the doldrums of the 70's
to pick up up a news paper, and find we were the headliners, to go to Windy Hill and find the place packed with fanatical supporters, to see Salmon unbeatable at FF and then outed for 12 months with a knee reco and miss the '84 Grand Final
To know we had a choice of THREE chf's (TD, Merritt,and Vanda), to pick up two rovers in one year - Daisy Williams and Alan Ezard - and then Leon Baker(my cup runneth over) brilliance,pace and dedication of Bomber, Nobby, Heard, Hawker, Neagle, Duckworth.
And Simon Madden - the best ruckman EVER. The best clubman, most reliable player in the side. I LOVED him. Still do.
I love watching the last quarter of '84 (our '85 premiership side was better, by the way) because of the CROWD. It was electric. The Essendon supporters were estatic, and most of us were in tears.
Maybe it's the liquid lunch talking, but I'm quite willing to nominate this for the Essendon Board post of the year.
To know we had a choice of THREE chf's (TD, Merritt,and Vanda), to pick up two rovers in one year - Daisy Williams and Alan Ezard - and then Leon Baker(my cup runneth over) brilliance,pace and dedication of Bomber, Nobby, Heard, Hawker, Neagle, Duckworth.
That post had the hairs standing up on the back of my neck!!
Massive THANK YOU for making it feel like I was actually there again!!
Well I do anyway.
Hallelujah Brother
Stargazer
4 Jun 2006, 17:48
Thanks Longy and Cave for the complements. When we're getting our backsides kicked as we did V Adelaide, we need to remember the good times to get us through the bad.
Here's a thought : I've heard a few people say on talkback radio this last week that the Essendon 2000 side was the best (or near enough to) best ever. Ignoring Brisbane for a moment, I have always believed our 1985 side would have beaten the 2000 team in a Grand Final. Your thoughts ?
That last quarter has to be the msot watched last quarter of all time from me.
The commentary, I can repeat nearly word for word.
"Oh I wouldn't go across goal if I was Nobby Clarke"
"This premiership is Sheedy's premiership with the fantastic moves he's made!"
"Baker! Oh beautiful play! I think he's kicked the goal has he? *pause* YES, he's kicked it."
Ill never forget Wallis on Mill Hanna, Wallis puching B.Green and dislocating finger lol
oh and the DUD Mark Athorn his performance in the 93 GF for Carlton, how did he play in a GF team? let alone AFL!
Longys goal in 93' with SOS pleading he touched it!
Misitis goal after the 3/4 time siren from the boundary
Barnard 4 goals in 2000
Hirdys goal in 93' and his celebration!