View Full Version : Best books about music.

Shinboners
10 Jan 2002, 18:31
So, what are everyone's favourite books about music? Here are some of mine....in no particular order:

The Faber Book Of Pop - Edited by Hanif Kureishi and Jon Savage.

This is an anthology of writing about music from the 1940s to the 1990s. It covers all types of music that has had an impact on the Western World, and the articles range from musicians talking about what they to do critics analysing the trends.

Pet Shop Boys Versus America by Chris Heath.

This book follows the Pet Shop Boys touring the US in the early 90s. They had made it big in England and were trying to break into the US market. It's full of cynicsm and humour, which is always a winning combination for me.

The Manual - How To Have A Number One Hit The Easy Way by Jim Cauty and Bill Drummond

Cauty and Drummond found fame as the K.L.F., and in this book, they explain what is needed to have a number one hit. With plenty of humour, they write about the art of "borrowing" from the past to create a catchy tune that is radio friendly. If you doubt whether it works or not, there were some Germans who followed the manual's instructions and had a #1 hit song in Germany!

The Dark Stuff by Nick Kent

Nick Kent was a journalist with the NME and this book contains some of his best articles. His writing is often as dark as the musicians he interviews, and his style is a million miles away from the "press release dressed up as an article" writing that passes for music journalism these days.

Sniffin' Glue by Mark Perry.

Sniffin' Glue was a punk fanzine that lived and died along with UK punk in the late 70s. The first part of the book talks about the people involved in the fanzine and the culture that spawned these people. The second part has the full reproductions of the dozen or so issues of Sniffin' Glue.

England's Dreaming by Jon Savage

This book is a thorough history of the punk movement in mid-late 70s England. It talks about how it started, its growth, and the beginning of its demise. Savage's writing reflects the excitement he had when growing up in the punk era and the disappointment as things came crashing down.

M29
10 Jan 2002, 19:38
Take me there - the story
A journey on how Oasis started out in music. Plenty of pics from their first concerts.

Darky
10 Jan 2002, 23:55
Run To The Hills - an Iron Maiden biography by Mick Wall. Outstanding informative read. Originally published around 1996, but a new version has been released covering the line-up changes and new albums from the last 5 years.

As a reference, nothing is as concise as The Virgin Encyclopedia of Heavy Rock by Colin Larkin. One or two notable bands are missing, but this is as close as anyone has ever got to making a complete A-Z of the genre. Larkin has also done such books on other genres.

I'm still on the lookout for the David Lee Roth book Crazy From The Heat. If anyone in the greater Melbourne area has seen it, please PM me to let me know where and how much $.

IAMDASH
11 Jan 2002, 06:47
Stranded - Clinton Walker
Bon Scott biography - Clinton Walker
The encyclopaedia of Australian Rock an Pop - Ian McFarlane

Danny Chook Fan Club
11 Jan 2002, 11:09
The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions - Mark Lewisohn.

The Love You Make - Peter Brown, the best Beatles history I've read.

Does High Fidelity count as a music book? ;)

Rusty Brookes
11 Jan 2002, 12:59
Please Kill Me- by Legs McNeil. Awesome history of American punk rock from the 60s (Sonics, MC5, Velvet Underground) through to the late 70s (Ramones, Dead Boys).

I'm With the Band-Pamela Des Barres-A history of rock n roll groupies from one of the best at her profession. She was one of the original Plaster Casters-have a guess what they made casts of.

Radio Birdman-Vivian Johnson. A real blow by blow account of one of Australia's best and most underrated bands.

Stairway to Hell-Chuck Eddy. This psycho has ranked his top 500 heavy metal albums of all time. His definition of heavy metal is pretty broad. He includes Neil Young and Miles Davis alongside Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. I don't agree with his list but it is a great read.

IAMDASH, I really didn't like Stranded. I love the music but I found the book reflected Clinton Walker's bias and many great and important bands were left out.

Shinboners
11 Jan 2002, 14:58
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
IAMDASH, I really didn't like Stranded. I love the music but I found the book reflected Clinton Walker's bias and many great and important bands were left out.

Stranded was an okay book, but as R.B. has pointed out, Walker's tastes shone through a little bit too strongly.

I don't think there have been any great books about Australian music or bands. There was a biography of Nick Cave (I can't remember the author) that was quite average and there was Dave Nichol's biography of the Go-Betweens, which covered their early history very well, but their later years not quite as well.

Shinboners
11 Jan 2002, 15:03
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Does High Fidelity count as a music book? ;)

I was wondering who was going to mention that book. ;)

And yes, it does count! :)

IAMDASH
11 Jan 2002, 16:15
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Yes I would agree with you to a degree that many important bands were not given much of a run by Walker. I still found it a good read though. There was a book out recently. I can't recall the name. It was one guys account of the Melbourne music scene(I think) and featured bands like the Psychos with a good interview with Bill Walsh. Read it in a bookstore before Chrissy. Can't remeber the bloody name though. I once heard Damian Lovelock say he was going to put pen to paper on his take on the Australian scene which would have made for interesting reading. Lets hope he comes through on that one. Rusty as a fan of Dern Rutlidge how have you found the album. I have just got a gift voucher from HMV and am looking to purchase Johnny No Stars? Is it a worthwhile investment?

Mcchawk
12 Jan 2002, 08:58
Lone Stone- Bill Wyman
Many years from now- Paul McCartney biography
Dirt- Motley Crue
The true adventures of the Rolling Stones- Stanley Booth
The Bad Seed, Nick Cave- biography

I really like reading music books too many more to mention.

Rusty Brookes
12 Jan 2002, 13:29
Originally posted by IAMDASH

Yes I would agree with you to a degree that many important bands were not given much of a run by Walker. I still found it a good read though. There was a book out recently. I can't recall the name. It was one guys account of the Melbourne music scene(I think) and featured bands like the Psychos with a good interview with Bill Walsh. Read it in a bookstore before Chrissy. Can't remeber the bloody name though. I once heard Damian Lovelock say he was going to put pen to paper on his take on the Australian scene which would have made for interesting reading. Lets hope he comes through on that one. Rusty as a fan of Dern Rutlidge how have you found the album. I have just got a gift voucher from HMV and am looking to purchase Johnny No Stars? Is it a worthwhile investment?

Damien Lovelock would have a pretty interesting take on the scene. He is a pretty funny guy and makes great observations.

Regarding Dern Rutlidge, I bought the single of Lines on the Table which was great but I haven't got around to picking up the album. I'm sure it's good if their live shows are anything to go by.

mandy
12 Jan 2002, 16:00
Robbie Williams, Somebody Someday

LOADS of pictures, and a very interesting story following him on the road. I highly recommend that everyone rush out RIGHT now and get it. RRP $49.90. If you have any trouble getting it, I know how popular it is, I suggest Borders in Chapel Street. They just got in a new shipment. ;)

SydneyBomber
12 Jan 2002, 17:32
No Irish No Blacks No Dogs - John Lydon biography.
Very interesting stuff

Would like to read the Motley Crue book, and the Marilyn Manson book for a laugh.

Not really a fan of either, but I think the books would be interesting - not worth $50 either.

Wouldn't mind reading the updated Iron Maiden biog either.

lioness
13 Jan 2002, 12:09
The Nearest Faraway Place - Brian Wilson, The Beach Boys and the Southern California Experience
by Timothy White

This is more than just a book about the Beach Boys, it takes in the times as well, as the title says: the Southern California experience. You know, like other bands around, popular fads, stuff like that. Amazingly researched, and a really fascinating read.
Timothy White is amongst the elite music writers, he's amazing.

Dennis Wilson - The Real Beach Boy
by Jon Stebbins

A book I was very keen to get a hold of, and couldn't put it down. It's a biography of the true Beach Boy Dennis Wilson, and his life is just incredible. And wonderfully told by Jon Stebbins, who I have since come to know online and harrassed with endless questions. :D lol Written with a huge amount of love and care.

Another interesting book for those who are interested in the era is a set on Gary Usher, who almost single-handedly started the whole hot-rod era of songs. I believe there are 5 volumes and I am looking forward to getting my hands on them.

There is also a book I know was due out last year by Mark Moore, about Jan Berry. I had a few conversations with him regarding the book and he seems to know what he's talking about, having spent extensive time with Jan.

Another I heard of about 2 years ago is by David Clack, a Warner Bros employee who began working with the Beach Boys in the early 70s. He was mostly friends with Dennis and Carl Wilson. When Stebbins book came out he told me some of it was less than factual, and that he was seriously thinking of writing his own book, and actually asked me if it was a good idea!!!!! ME :eek: He promised me I could proof-read it, so yeah we'll have to see if he comes through!!!!!!!! Anyways I haven't seen him around for a couple of years so I'm HOPING he's busy writing!!!!! He gave a very interesting chat at the Home of the Denny Snobs, recounting stories like Dennis's epic fight with Jim Morrison, and Denny's streaking through hotel lobbies so yeah well worth a read!!!!!!!!!!

ANYWAYS. Yeah I know a few good Beatles books too but will shut up for now. :D LOL

lioness
13 Jan 2002, 12:16
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions - Mark Lewisohn.

The Love You Make - Peter Brown, the best Beatles history I've read.

I LOVE The Love You Make, very well written!!!!!!

With The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions, I treasured that for years. GREAT reference. There is an updated version The Complete Beatles Chronicle which is like twice as good!!!!! SO much information and in a little more detail. It's hardcover, and bloody heavy too. :D I picked it up for $15, absolute bargain, although if you look hard enough you can pick it up for around $20.

Dippers Donuts
13 Jan 2002, 21:47
I tend to read a lot of music biographies rather than books about musical eras etc.

Peter Guralnick's two volume bio on Elvis Presley is simply magnificent; as close to we will ever get to knowing the real Elvis I think. The best music bio I've ever read.

Bon Scott: The life and times of ACDC legend. Great read, almost stereotypical account of the live fast, die young rock n roller.

Other good reads include: Rat Pack Confidential (ahh...the broads, the martinis), Keith Richards bio (that man should be dead and probably is, we wouldn't know) and a Van Morrisson bio.

Danny Chook Fan Club
14 Jan 2002, 11:11
Originally posted by lioness22
With The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions, I treasured that for years. GREAT reference. There is an updated version The Complete Beatles Chronicle which is like twice as good!!!!! SO much information and in a little more detail. It's hardcover, and bloody heavy too. :D I picked it up for $15, absolute bargain, although if you look hard enough you can pick it up for around $20. Hmm, I'll look into that - thanks lioness.

sethlad
16 Jan 2002, 11:24
No-one here gets out alive

The story of Jim Morrison by Danny Sugarman.

Way better than the movie.

Hammer Of The Gods-Led Zeppelin
Say no more

GOALden Hawk
16 Jan 2002, 12:57
Come as you are by Michael Azerrad. There are dozens of books out about Nirvana and Kurt Cobain, a lot of them are filled with rubbish. This is easily the most complete story of the band as a whole - well written, entertaining and very detailed.

Over the edge by Alan Cross. I'm not sure if this is available in Australia - but it's a fanstasic book. Basically a fact book about the evolution of "alternative" music and includes heaps of facts about things like banned film clips, rare album covers etc.

Wally
16 Jan 2002, 18:38
A few i've read:

Sorry: The wretched tale of Little Stevie Wright (Jack Marx):
Covers the career of Stevie Wright, from the heady days as lead singer of '60's group The Easybeats, to the pathetic, heroin-riddled, figure he became, living in a caravan. A very seedy book, considering the author's admission of his own heroin use (with Wright) while researching it. Marx and Wright fell out during the book's construction and Wright has since dismissed the book as lies. Nevertheless it's a very interesting read.

The Stones (Philip Norman): Excellent biography of 'The Greatest Rock'n'Roll band In The World', The Rolling Stones. Death, sex, groupies, booze, the drug busts, the infamous Altamont concert, it's all here. A great read.

Scars Of Sweet Paradise:The Life And Times Of Janis Joplin (Alice Echols): The story of Janis Joplin. Very sad.

Sex, Thugs And Rock'n'Roll: A Year In Kings Cross 1963-'64 (Billy Thorpe): In Thorpey's own words, 17 year old young Billy arrives in Kings Cross, Sydney to launch his career. Hilarious.

Most People I Know Think That I'm Crazy (Billy Thorpe): More
tales from Thorpey in his 'Sunbury' era. Sometimes you could argue Billy is stretching the truth (Was it really SIX airline hostesses Thorpey?...hmmmm...). Only Billy himself would know if he's bullsh*tting, but it's a bloody funny book.

*I'm on the lookout for the Bon Scott biography but can't seem to find it, anybody know where i can?*

where's wally?

bobbity
17 Jan 2002, 13:54
'Crazy Diamond' by Pete Watkinson and er, some other bloke.
The DEFINITIVE account of the rise and fall of Floyd's "Adonis-looking genius" (Syd Barrett)

TwiggyDunn
19 Jan 2002, 16:06
Hitmen - by Fredric Dannen - on the corruptness of the music industry is the best rock book ever published.

The Dirt (motley crue) is the best band account documented ever written

Jeff Jenkins Skyhooks book is also excellent

and yes Clinton Walkers book on Bon Scott and AC/DC is excellent

Theres also some great Queen books out there too

and for Heavy Metal you cant go past

The International Encyclopedia of Hard Rock and Heavy Metal by Tony Jasper and Sir Derek Oliver

bobbity2
21 Jan 2002, 10:48
[QUOTE]Originally posted by TwiggyDunn
[B]Hitmen - by Fredric Dannen - on the corruptness of the music industry is the best rock book ever published.

Theres also some great Queen books out there too

One great Queen book is "Queen live" by Greg Brooks. DEFINITIVE account of Queen's concert career. Top stuff. Also the book by Freddies lover Jim Hutton "Mercury and me" (although some panned it).

SydneyBomber
22 Jan 2002, 19:36
'Lords of Chaos' - a detailed chronicle of the rise and fall of Black Metal in Scandinavia in the early-mid 90's.

Interesting and controversial.

Any 'music' book that discusses murders, physical attacks, bomb threats, church burnings, crazed satanists and other assorted nastiness has to be worth a look.
;)