View Full Version : The weekly 'Meet me at the footy' thread.
Renegade
1 Jun 2006, 20:25
Last week i got to meet thehoff during my football adventures. Top bloke. In case you didn't see last weeks thread, i'm a footy loner now that my usual footy mates have become pansies and refuse to go to Geelong games after our string of pathetic performances. So, i'm looking for anyone else that's keen to meet up at the footy from here. Shell wimped out with sickness last week....spose i'll excuse her for that, and this week i need a victim. Eagles fans from here welcome as well. I can ramble on about the sponsors dinner as well....i'm sure thehoff loved it last week. ;)
eliiiiza
1 Jun 2006, 20:35
Do you go in the standing area? I do!
cats2rise
1 Jun 2006, 20:47
Im working saturday 1-4pm :mad: Will tape the game from TV. It brtter be telecast......
chapmanmagic35
1 Jun 2006, 20:50
Im working saturday 1-4pm :mad: Will tape the game from TV. It brtter be telecast......
Foxtel I think...LIVE
cats2rise
1 Jun 2006, 20:56
Foxtel I think...LIVE
What bout norm tv?
Renegade
1 Jun 2006, 21:03
Do you go in the standing area? I do!
Yep i'm always in the standing area.
eliiiiza
1 Jun 2006, 21:11
Cool, we usually stand on the 50. I'll be with about 4 other friends - don't think you'll want to hang out with us teenagers though. We're not that cool.
Foxtel I think...LIVE
Nope,ch10 on delay [3.30pm]
RoosterLad
1 Jun 2006, 21:15
I'm in.
Renegade
1 Jun 2006, 21:17
Cool, we usually stand on the 50. I'll be with about 4 other friends - don't think you'll want to hang out with us teenagers though. We're not that cool.
haha that's about where i stand anyway. Probrably seen you there before.
Renegade
1 Jun 2006, 21:18
I'm in.
haha i'd definately catch up with you. Only thing is i'd be dishing abuse about the Ashes as well ;)
eliiiiza
1 Jun 2006, 21:18
Probably. I'm the asian one who screams when Byrnes gets the ball.
cats2rise
1 Jun 2006, 21:20
Thanks, will set the video player up!
Renegade
1 Jun 2006, 21:21
Probably. I'm the asian one who screams when Byrnes gets the ball.
Hmmm maybe i havent seen you there. Well if you wanna say hello on sat let me know.
eliiiiza
1 Jun 2006, 21:22
I don't mind! You'll have to tell me who you are though, if you see me there.
Scarlett30
1 Jun 2006, 21:25
I will be there mate. Standing area, i will be next to 2 very tall pi$$ed blokes, with a stack of empty cups at our feet.
RoosterLad
1 Jun 2006, 22:12
haha i'd definately catch up with you. Only thing is i'd be dishing abuse about the Ashes as well ;)
Hehe a bit of knuckle at the footy never hurt anyone.
Last week i got to meet thehoff during my football adventures. Top bloke. In case you didn't see last weeks thread, i'm a footy loner now that my usual footy mates have become pansies and refuse to go to Geelong games after our string of pathetic performances. So, i'm looking for anyone else that's keen to meet up at the footy from here. Shell wimped out with sickness last week....spose i'll excuse her for that, and this week i need a victim. Eagles fans from here welcome as well. I can ramble on about the sponsors dinner as well....i'm sure thehoff loved it last week. ;)
Hey im so flattered that i got a shout out there :)
Anyway, you'll be glad to know that I AM going to the game tomorrows :thumbsu: Still am sick, but no where near as bad as last week. I'd be happy to have a drink or what not before the game Renegade and hear all about the wonderful Chum they dished out at the sponsors dinner, before i venture into the reserved seating area. (god knows i think we ALL will be needing alcohol.. am i right or am i right :D )
My thoughts exactly. We cant be standing with the scumbags behind the goals at the city end. :D
chapmanmagic35
2 Jun 2006, 10:55
Ooops, I just assumed they would be showing the 2 Vic teams (Hawks and Dogs) at TD.
Cheers!
-Charlie-
2 Jun 2006, 11:53
Yeah, well.. Me and Champ39 will be sitting in our front row seats, behind the behind post in the Gary Ablett terrace thinking about all you losers (im joking! i promise) standing up the whole game..:)
My thoughts exactly. We cant be standing with the scumbags behind the goals at the city end. :D
Man, i did that whole standing thing for many years up until about 98'... what can i say?? Im tired now :o
Likewise, although i used to love the atmosphere in the standing room. You just don't get that in the social club.
Skeppersap
2 Jun 2006, 14:39
If any of you guys wanna meet up for a beer in Islamabad while watching the replay, give me a shout!
Likewise, although i used to love the atmosphere in the standing room. You just don't get that in the social club.
Haha, remember the "seating" that was in the outer, before the new seating was put in? And i do use the term 'seating' loosely there! ;) The atmosphere was great but hey, i prefer the comfort now. :thumbsu:
RoosterLad
2 Jun 2006, 17:47
I always stand at the footy.
Always.
I always stand at the footy.
Always.
I used to always stand too.
My sister and I would get there real early with our tiny chairs so we could sit right at the front of the gates, then we would sneak down to the seats at half time. Lol.
But now I am not as poor so I can afford a seat.
And trust me it is much much better. :thumbsu:
RoosterLad
2 Jun 2006, 18:46
Nah i dont think its better. I like standing with the Grog Squad, sinking :D:D:D:D. It doesnt cost me more for a seat at the sanfl as far as i know its just a better atmosphere standing with the group. Especially at away games like against Port at Alberton.
Renegade
2 Jun 2006, 18:46
Nice, i sent u a pm. Forgot u had reserved seating though. I think i'm behind you anyway....Bay 19 Ablett Terrace yeah?
RoosterLad
2 Jun 2006, 18:47
Hook in Renegade!! Hook in son!
Renegade
2 Jun 2006, 18:58
Hook in Renegade!! Hook in son!
hahaha, just a friendly g'day and a drink at the footy pal. Sorry to disappoint.
RoosterLad
2 Jun 2006, 19:11
Soft. Just like your team AND the English cricket side!!
Renegade
2 Jun 2006, 19:31
Soft. Just like your team AND the English cricket side!!
Sorry what were you saying? :D
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/gallery/cricket/ashes05/test5/cashefina.jpg
RoosterLad
2 Jun 2006, 19:37
The English team will be like this mob Down Under.
http://www.blindcricket.org.uk/images/ashes/englandlord's1a.jpg
Copernicus
2 Jun 2006, 23:59
You lot have a beer or two for me while I'm sleeping or whatever it is I'll be doing when the game is on. Starts at midnight for me :p
RoosterLad
3 Jun 2006, 19:32
I hate footy.
-Charlie-
3 Jun 2006, 19:38
I hate footy.
You'll get over it in a few days, and barrack for them again.
I know, because I say that too. :(