View Full Version : Tassie finally gets a game

roorat
1 Jun 2006, 23:02
Now the Roos are finally coming to Tassie this year lets make sure we have a huge turnout there.
Tassie fans are as passionate about the roos as the "Mainlanders" so lets show it in numbers.

KingyOrTheKing
2 Jun 2006, 10:48
Yep. I'll be there. Whats the date again?

roorat
2 Jun 2006, 10:59
26th August (saturday) try and book through the club to sit in the supporters block

Howard Littlejohn
2 Jun 2006, 19:27
I'm hoping to get back home to York Park, catch a few (Hawthorn supporting) mates and drag one or two other ex-Lonny lads back.
Theres no way Kanga fans will match Hawks for numbers, don't know why but Hawthorn have always had a huge following in Lonny - and that's why they chose to play there.
Should be a full house for that game though, and I can remember when 2000 was too many for York Park to cope with. And you couldn't hear the siren even then :p actually I've been there with less than 500 and you couldn't hear the siren.

roorat
2 Jun 2006, 22:08
new siren is now in place actually 2 banks of 4 - 8 in all, hopefully all will go well, same timekeeper though, Afl giving him another chance.

Hawkk
3 Jun 2006, 22:21
Theres no way Kanga fans will match Hawks for numbers, don't know why but Hawthorn have always had a huge following in Lonny - and that's why they chose to play there.
A certain P. Hudson could have something to do with it ;)

At our current rate, even the great man would struggle to kick 50 goals :D

Howard Littlejohn
4 Jun 2006, 11:25
A certain P. Hudson could have something to do with it ;)

At our current rate, even the great man would struggle to kick 50 goals :D
If it was a Hudson thing; why is the Hawthorn base in Hobart not as large, with twice the population? Huddo is a southerner after all.

Hawkk
4 Jun 2006, 11:28
If it was a Hudson thing; why is the Hawthorn base in Hobart not as large, with twice the population? Huddo is a southerner after all.
Bloody Tasmanian's ;)

Couldn't you have left that one to go through to the keeper :p

To answer your question..I have no idea.

KingyOrTheKing
5 Jun 2006, 10:58

May have something to do population primacy, or lack of it in Tassies case (primacy meaning that the capital city is usually the area with the most dominant population - WA being a good example of it). There is higher population in the North and North West than in the South (albeit only slightly). York Park would be fed quite a bit from North-Westerners, rather than just from Launny.

Hawkk
5 Jun 2006, 11:56
May have something to do population primacy, or lack of it in Tassies case (primacy meaning that the capital city is usually the area with the most dominant population - WA being a good example of it). There is higher population in the North and North West than in the South (albeit only slightly). York Park would be fed quite a bit from North-Westerners, rather than just from Launny.
North vs South debate please ;)

crashroo34
8 Jun 2006, 21:50
If anyone has trouble getting tickets feel free to let me know.Have a source with a supply.

Howard Littlejohn
9 Jun 2006, 19:39
If memory serves, the figures show that Launceton alone has much more Hawthorn support than Hobart. Not just that the north of the state has more than south of the south. Its just a strange quirk, Launceston has very few St Kilda fans compared to Hobart or the north west - the NW would be partly the Baldock factor - though.
The Hawks did their homework before deciding on York Park ahead of a Hobart venue. As much as I hate Hawthorn, all credit to them for being smart with the venue.

Hawkk
9 Jun 2006, 23:41
If memory serves, the figures show that Launceton alone has much more Hawthorn support than Hobart. Not just that the north of the state has more than south of the south. Its just a strange quirk, Launceston has very few St Kilda fans compared to Hobart or the north west - the NW would be partly the Baldock factor - though.
The Hawks did their homework before deciding on York Park ahead of a Hobart venue. As much as I hate Hawthorn, all credit to them for being smart with the venue.
I've often wondered, from a Tasmanian viewpoint, which clubs are the most popular and where?

In SEQ, there is no real distinction between the more popular and less popular 'interstate' clubs. I would say that the Victorian clubs, in particular the 'Big 3' Melbourne clubs have a greater following than the rest, but no non-based club dominates to the extent that I would think it would be in an area like Tasmania. I guess that's what you get for being recognized as a 'Mexican' living in a 'developing' market :)

roorat
10 Jun 2006, 22:25
I think a lot of it comes down to the Baldock, hudsons and richardsons, the people identify with their heroes and therefore create a large following i.e Hawks/richmond clash (standing room only left) at Aurora

roorat
4 Jul 2006, 18:43
Does any one else find it hard to get any communication with the club? Most clubs have an email address usually starting with 'reception@' where fans can do this. Being out of state and not being able to attend many games or functions, it would be good to have some response to emails, even if it was a volunteer replying.
One of my sons decided to follow Freo and corresponded regularly with "Jan" at reception, he saved hard and became a member this year(He's 10). Daughter had same story with St. Kilda. My youngest is a Roo fan and has had no reply from many emails, I told him Freo and Saints only get a few emails from Fans and Roos get heaps so it's hard to reply...but.
This is one way we can encourage kids to join and create life long supporters, it doesn't take much to make a kids day.

helsy3
5 Jul 2006, 06:57
I use the membership@kangaroos.com.au email address, they obviously read their email and I always get a reply quickly.

roorat
5 Jul 2006, 19:36
Tried them all, I must not have the kudos that you do.

Darth German
2 Aug 2006, 10:51
If anyone has trouble getting tickets feel free to let me know.Have a source with a supply.

Just checking crashroo34, would your source still be available as a backup? I am still waiting nervously for the club to put out their arrangements.

Since Centretainment didn't want to know about Roo members, I rang the club & spoke to "Aiden" a couple of weeks ago. He seemed sure that the club would get an allocation of seats and that arrangements would go up on the website about now. Someone here at work reckoned last week that most of the seating was sold though.:(

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
2 Aug 2006, 11:44
Am travelling over from Vic and haven't seen any info on AFL/Kangas site about tickets. Hopefully my Tasmanian source can come through.

Jimmy's Hot Dogs
2 Aug 2006, 20:16
Found a link from AFL Tasmania on the AFL website.

http://aflataurorastadium.com.au/

Now where is the best place to sit?

roorat
2 Aug 2006, 22:28
Found a link from AFL Tasmania on the AFL website.

http://aflataurorastadium.com.au/

Now where is the best place to sit?
Depends on price but the Gunns Stand is pretty good.

roorat
2 Aug 2006, 22:58
Found this info on Tassie Devils Site, hope it helps.

Saturday August 26, 2006
2.10pm start

CURTAIN RAISER

Wrest Point Tasmanian Devils vs Box Hill
10.40am start

Reserved Seats
Eastern Terrace (Undercover)
Normally $38.50
SPECIAL PRICE $28.00
That's a saving of over $10
CALL 63 330602 or 0418 114414

Get in early to secure your seats at this all Victorian AFL match at Picturesque Aurora Stadium

KingyOrTheKing
3 Aug 2006, 14:37
Reserved Seats
Eastern Terrace (Undercover)
Normally $38.50
SPECIAL PRICE $28.00
That's a saving of over $10
CALL 63 330602 or 0418 114414

:( I'm gonna pretend I didn't see this. I just got my open northern terrace wing-side seats booked (never been to the ground so I hope the position isn't too cruddy). Maybe those tickets mentioned above are already sold out?? There was only 500 of them after all....

Still, that price listed above is only a few dollars more than mine, and the Eastern Terrace is the second best spot to be in.:mad: :(

Screw it...as long as I actually get to see the game I'm happy.

The Big O
9 Aug 2006, 13:35
Anyone going to the sportsman's dinner after the game?

RoyalBlue
10 Aug 2006, 00:51
You guys get to watch Hay in action too?

Bastards.

The Big H
10 Aug 2006, 12:39
Can i just turn up with my Aussie roo membership and walk in? i don't think i'll book a seat.

KingyOrTheKing
10 Aug 2006, 13:37
Can i just turn up with my Aussie roo membership and walk in? i don't think i'll book a seat.
It'll get you admission. You'll have to stand. It cost me $7 to get a seat using my aussie roos...

Darth German
10 Aug 2006, 14:15
Finally secured seats now that the club has sorted things out with Centretainment.:thumbsu: I'm giving the Northern Terrace a try this time - just up behind the Roos' cheersquad apparently. $14.50 for me and $9 for the boy.

helsy3
10 Aug 2006, 17:25
We sat in the Northern Stand at a game earlier this year, it was fine. Hopefully it'll be a big crowd, can't wait!

Roo-Boy
12 Aug 2006, 22:43
We sat in the Northern Stand at a game earlier this year, it was fine. Hopefully it'll be a big crowd, can't wait!Make sure that you can cheer for all of us here in Melb helsy3 that can't make it there to Tas. I think we can beat Hawthorn:thumbsu:

Howard Littlejohn
13 Aug 2006, 14:27
So how do i go about using my AussieRoos membership to get a general admission ticket? I'm expecting a sell out, its not that big a ground, and don't want to turn up at York Park only be turned away.

roorat
13 Aug 2006, 14:59
Book your ticket through Centretainment, Hobart http://www.centertainment.com.au/7897.html
or Princess Theatre Launceston. General Admission reserve is $3.50. Just need to swipe your membership card at the gate on the day.
BTW unlikely to be a sell out but you never know.

KingyOrTheKing
17 Aug 2006, 20:17
Kangaroos first game in Tassie?? There should be a few roos supporters around.

crashroo34
17 Aug 2006, 21:29
Kangaroos first game in Tassie?? There should be a few roos supporters around.

Yep should be heaps of us there.
Just want to put the record straight, it will be the 3rd time we have played at York Park let alone Tassie.but the 1st one for points. 2 Pre season games.
Also 1 game at North Hobart against Fitzroy.

Roos by 23pts v the Dawks

Kingpin
18 Aug 2006, 17:09
Still, that price listed above is only a few dollars more than mine, and the Eastern Terrace is the second best spot to be in.:mad: :(
The Gunns Stand is good, the Eastern Terrace is quite good viewing wise, there's eateries out the back etc.
A tip, if it's a sunny day, be prepared to get blinded by the sun after halftime when the sun starts dropping.
I sat in the Eastern for the Tigers - Hawks game and couldn't see 'jack' for most of the second half, had to stand up to see for awhile, then could see nothing in the last quarter, which was preety fortunate given the way Richmond were playing, so dark glasses and cap might be adviseable.

Hopefully North's following is stronger up North than it is in Hobart, went to all three of their games they held at North Hobart (Fitzroy, St Kilda & Carlton) and probably only the last one had a decent turnout.

Hawkk
20 Aug 2006, 22:33
The word around MightyHawk is that the the organisers are expecting a crowd of around 18,000 (22,000 capacity)

roorat
19 Oct 2006, 05:38
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,20606438-13222,00.html
Kangaroos are to play in Tassie again next year!. Hopefully have something to celebrate this time.:thumbsu:

KingyOrTheKing
19 Oct 2006, 06:01
Thats bloody great news. And we certainly deserve it. We basically outnumbered hawks supporters in the game this year, and we were, what, third from the bottom of the ladder? Not to mention this will count as an away game for us, even though the supporters will be 50/50.

Howard Littlejohn
19 Oct 2006, 19:37
We didn't outnumber Hawk supporters at all, though it was close outside the gunns stand (and, yes, we did in the northern terrace).
For me, it means two of my trips back home might be centered around footy. Obviusly our game, and I'll probably head down for the hawks-cats game as well.

KingyOrTheKing
20 Oct 2006, 06:48
We didn't outnumber Hawk supporters at all, though it was close outside the gunns stand (and, yes, we did in the northern terrace).
For me, it means two of my trips back home might be centered around footy. Obviusly our game, and I'll probably head down for the hawks-cats game as well.

Have you got gate figures? Gunns stand is always going to have more Hawks supporters than anyone else.