View Full Version : GFL U/18's
C7-Heaven
20 Dec 2006, 13:26
With the new influx of players expected to come into the gfl u18 comp what players do you expect at each club and what do they bring to the table.
More of the same from the Dragons.....
Boundary-Rider
21 Dec 2006, 14:13
Colac
As per most years they will possibly recruit some players that played in the interleague games last year.
Watch some of these at Thompson oval so I would suggest some of he following players maybe making their way to the tigers.
David Dunn strong on-baller good leadership skills
Daniel Roberts small defender played senior footy for the past 2-3 years.
Beau Swanson can find th ball and usually creates well
Ben Martin KPP Strong mark, athletic, Mobile player can kick goals
Shaun Maxwell running defender
Justin Coulbourne Tall defender/ruckman
Some of the available talent from interleague games should do well at GFL level. Heard some of these should have been there last year.
Should do well at this level.
hilly21
28 Dec 2006, 22:49
anyone top 5 for next year?
WildJohn
4 Jan 2007, 15:08
Congratulations to Ben Hovey on being appointed coach of Bell Park U/18's.
I reckon he'll be great for the group and will be able to lead them to the ultimate just like Allthorpe has in the past. Go Get 'Em Hoves!!
KingRich
4 Jan 2007, 15:10
Congratulations to Ben Hovey on being appointed coach of Bell Park U/18's.
I reckon he'll be great for the group and will be able to lead them to the ultimate just like Allthorpe has in the past. Go Get 'Em Hoves!!
Who will fill the assistants role Wild John?? The outgoing assistant from the last few years has left some "large" shoes to fill!
-Junior-
4 Jan 2007, 17:46
is this true?? big step for ben and also just wondering if there is any word on when the bell park boys would be starting as im sure a few of the other teams around the league may have started or would be starting shortly...
toot_toot
7 Jan 2007, 19:55
incorrect - whoever saw this comment previously. incorrect. steven paulke was to blame.....
The_Bulldogs_Bite
9 Jan 2007, 12:16
Top 5 players from each Club for this year?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bell Park:
South Barwon:
Colac:
North Shore:
Joeys:
Grovedale:
Marys:
Newtown:
Albans:
Leopold:
West:
Lara:
Wizzfizz
9 Jan 2007, 15:06
Bell Park:Joel O'connor, Chris Lynch, Hugh Hanlon, Stephen Paulke,Brad Nelson
South Barwon:Mitch Mckee, Jesse Mawson, Scott Treoth, Brad Nankervis,?????
Colac: no idea
North Shore: Nick Costello, ?????,?????,?????,?????
Joeys: Luke Ryan, Ben Capra, Adam Podbury
Grovedale: Jack Chaffer, Sam Bourke, Luke Delaney, Daniel Broderick, Brent Chadwick
Marys: Brandon Backwell, ??????,??????,???????,??????
Newtown: Ben Mcclure, Matt Mcmahon, David Nye,
Albans: Ben Evans, Kirby Bourke, Nick Bound,?????,?????
Leopold:Sam Calder,?????,?????,?????,?????
West: Brenton Ritchi, Simon Cavallo, Rhys Bourke, ?????,??????
had a crack!:confused:
Top 5 players from each Club for this year?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bell Park:
South Barwon:
Colac:
North Shore:
Joeys:
Grovedale:
Marys:
Newtown:
Albans:
Leopold:
West:
Lara:
tommahawk_07
9 Jan 2007, 16:56
Bell Park:Joel O'connor, Chris Lynch, Hugh Hanlon, Stephen Paulke,Brad Nelson
correct me if i'm wrong blake nelis was in the best 5 in 2006, why would this change??
benchie
10 Jan 2007, 11:21
Colac: Nick Cole, David Dunne, Tyson Finnegan, Ben Martin Daniel Roberts
benchie
14 Jan 2007, 20:41
Levi Dare: Is at the falcons this year :Tall reasonaly mobile bigman
Mustang00
15 Jan 2007, 11:48
i see all u blokes on here are showing lara very little respect by not nameing any of there players in your top 5's list! lets just throw afew names from the mighty cats into the mix! afew top age names like john doolan the big ruckman matty marray along with the like of nick elliott should be closely watched! and i know for a fact that there are alot of good players comeing up form the under 16's the likes of James poutney, taylor renolds, jack shannahan, danny liuzzi and many more the cats should be closely monitored this year!
tommahawk_07
15 Jan 2007, 18:57
jack shannahan couldnt get a kick in a street fight...
Whispers
16 Jan 2007, 10:15
I reckon Shannas is a fair player Tomma. Won't dominate but will be helpful for Lara this year. Needs to find some bulk...
afew top age names like john doolan the big ruckman matty marray along with the like of nick elliott should be closely watched!
Don't forget Ricky Joyce also. The man child will play a few ressies/senior games but did mention about helping out the 18's throughout the year.
[quote=Whispers;6546665]I reckon Shannas is a fair player Tomma. Won't dominate but will be helpful for Lara this year. Needs to find some bulk...
thats a fair call whispers.. may not dominate but has silky skills and will do well for the cats this year...
mate hes a lara boy and lara boyis know how to get a kick in a street fight thats for sure
Mustang00
16 Jan 2007, 10:46
yer tomma think your underrating jack shannahan he played afew games in the 18s last year and held his own! whispers spot on there, if rick joyce plays 18's, mate i swear he will kill someone, herd hes been on the weights over the summer and can he hit hard! think he will most likely play 1's though.
Mustang00
16 Jan 2007, 11:12
ok ive got something for use to do...ill name some players from a few clubs and tell us what you reckon of each one that you know of and the ones you dont know dont worry about:
south barwon - brad nankervis, eric holt, scott troeth
joeys - ben capra, shannon gove
grovedale - brent chadwick, adam donohue, lachlan smith
st albans - justin maher
leopold - matthew lancaster
newtown - matt mcmahon
bell park - blaine templeton
geelong west - rhys burke, simon cavallo, brenton ritchi
colac - levi dare
yer salsa played against alot of these boys last year and rekon brenton ritchie could be one to watch this year! silky skills and a smart footballer.
Whispers
16 Jan 2007, 11:39
yer tomma think your underrating jack shannahan he played afew games in the 18s last year and held his own! whispers spot on there, if rick joyce plays 18's, mate i swear he will kill someone, herd hes been on the weights over the summer and can he hit hard! think he will most likely play 1's though.
Even without Fatty Joyce, Lara will finish top 6!
The_Bulldogs_Bite
16 Jan 2007, 14:08
Ladder, anyone?
I'm not sure about Lara finishing Top 6, although in 2005 they were a good side so perhaps you're on the money Whispers.
As for Shannahan, I think he's a serviceable player and Whispers basically nailed it on the head. He won't dominate, but he'll be a handy type. Good skills and picks up possessions. Adapted well to a HBF last year, as well as being probably the #1 midfielder. In the 18s he will fall down the pecking order.
Lara has a good core group of midfielders, who will start their? Some quality from the 18s still there and some up from the 16s, anyone wanna take a stab?
----------------------------
I'll comment on a few of Salsa's list:
Matt McMahon: Intelligent player, big body, good skills. Not particuarly quick but a smart Football brain probably overcomes this. Biggest flaw is his constant injuries and it's a shame because he's a very talented Footballer, but I don't know - his body is suspect. If he can remain injury free, he'll be influential for Newtown.
Rhys Burke: Small build and will really need to bulk up, but he's talented too. Good skills and pretty quick. In a good side, he'll flourish - but he can't carry a side. I think he's a little one dimensional personally, as I don't think he can play forward. However, when he's on, he's a damaging midfielder and hard to stop.
Simon Cavallo: Tall ruckmen with a huge kick. Strong player, but doesn't always utilise this. I'd try throwing him deep in the forward line at times and single him out 1 on 1 in the goal square with his opponent. I'm not sure how his marking is, but I'd suspect he'd go OK at the least. I'd try him at FF when resting, and Rhys Burke at his feet when resting. They both need to adapt a little better to another position and this could work for them. They combined well in 2005 I thought.
Another I thought I'd throw in from South Barwon is Alex Gear. He's pretty small,a nd that might catch up to him in U18's Football, but he's a pretty talented type. Quick "dancing like" feet when in close, and good skills. Smart player and gets good protection and service from his fellow midfielders & Ruckmen.
Mustang00
16 Jan 2007, 18:10
Ladder, anyone?
I'm not sure about Lara finishing Top 6, although in 2005 they were a good side so perhaps you're on the money Whispers.
As for Shannahan, I think he's a serviceable player and Whispers basically nailed it on the head. He won't dominate, but he'll be a handy type. Good skills and picks up possessions. Adapted well to a HBF last year, as well as being probably the #1 midfielder. In the 18s he will fall down the pecking order.
Lara has a good core group of midfielders, who will start their? Some quality from the 18s still there and some up from the 16s, anyone wanna take a stab?
----------------------------
I'll comment on a few of Salsa's list:
Matt McMahon: Intelligent player, big body, good skills. Not particuarly quick but a smart Football brain probably overcomes this. Biggest flaw is his constant injuries and it's a shame because he's a very talented Footballer, but I don't know - his body is suspect. If he can remain injury free, he'll be influential for Newtown.
Rhys Burke: Small build and will really need to bulk up, but he's talented too. Good skills and pretty quick. In a good side, he'll flourish - but he can't carry a side. I think he's a little one dimensional personally, as I don't think he can play forward. However, when he's on, he's a damaging midfielder and hard to stop.
Simon Cavallo: Tall ruckmen with a huge kick. Strong player, but doesn't always utilise this. I'd try throwing him deep in the forward line at times and single him out 1 on 1 in the goal square with his opponent. I'm not sure how his marking is, but I'd suspect he'd go OK at the least. I'd try him at FF when resting, and Rhys Burke at his feet when resting. They both need to adapt a little better to another position and this could work for them. They combined well in 2005 I thought.
Another I thought I'd throw in from South Barwon is Alex Gear. He's pretty small,a nd that might catch up to him in U18's Football, but he's a pretty talented type. Quick "dancing like" feet when in close, and good skills. Smart player and gets good protection and service from his fellow midfielders & Ruckmen.
Yer ill have a stab at lara's starting onballers, look mate matt marray will start in the ruck! he played ruck second half of last year and although isnt the most mobile bloke in the league he zones off well and has a good solid crack week in week out. john doolan is a certain starter in the middle, extremly quick skillfull agile player. umm nick elliott who played on a back flank last year and a little bit on ball will maybe start in the guts, tough at the footy skillfull left footer. i rekon also a young bloke james poutney will start there, quick and very skillfull a bottom age player to look out for! if rick joyce plays 18's (which i herd today is a huge possibility) he will most definetly start in the guts to add abit of toughness, that if he isnt screaming in off the square looking for his first casualty for the season!
tommahawk_07
19 Jan 2007, 19:22
i have it on very good authority that rhys burke will play for bell park this year...
toot_toot
21 Jan 2007, 20:47
perhaps tommahawk...he is thinking about it so i hear but doesnt know yet...i think it depends on who play for west..but his best mates with young jason grozdanovski so it wouldnt suprise me if he did go to bell park...plus he plays cricket with joel o'connor and a few others
thanks salsa for that insightful information....... keep up the good work!
The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Jan 2007, 20:57
perhaps tommahawk...he is thinking about it so i hear but doesnt know yet...i think it depends on who play for west..but his best mates with young jason grozdanovski so it wouldnt suprise me if he did go to bell park...plus he plays cricket with joel o'connor and a few others
He also attends the same school as Jason G., O'Connor & Scooter. There's a few others that play with Bell Park that he's friends with, too.
tommahawk_07
22 Jan 2007, 10:44
my mail is he signed on the dotted line at bell park last week in a record deal for GFL under 18 football...
good luck this year rhys in chasing the unprecedented 4-play at the dragons...
Wizzfizz
31 Jan 2007, 20:23
have any 18's teams started pre-season yet?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
31 Jan 2007, 21:32
I thought that Bell Park & Newtown have, but perhaps I am mistaken. I'm positive I've heard players from both teams talk about going, though.
Other then that, I don't think too many have. Some U18s will probably be training with seniors though.
sheep_dogger
14 Feb 2007, 06:54
Who do you reckon the best sheep dogs in the under 18s league??? i give u 2, i reckon Chris Lynch from Bell Park & Aaron Hovey from Grovedale & they have both got Red Hair haha
what i saw of Chris Lynch in the grand final vs sth barwon he was sheep doging everty thing and i dont know how he won the best on ground
And with Aaron Hovey i saw the game when Grovedale played Sth Barwon at grovey when he kicked 3 goals and got BOG for that game and with those goals he sheep dog all of them
.ruby[\]tiger.
14 Feb 2007, 07:17
ill give you one and u's probly wont agree but i think brenton richi is very good at this
tommahawk_07
14 Feb 2007, 17:22
Who do you reckon the best sheep dogs in the under 18s league??? i give u 2, i reckon Chris Lynch from Bell Park & Aaron Hovey from Grovedale & they have both got Red Hair haha
what i saw of Chris Lynch in the grand final vs sth barwon he was sheep doging everty thing and i dont know how he won the best on ground
And with Aaron Hovey i saw the game when Grovedale played Sth Barwon at grovey when he kicked 3 goals and got BOG for that game and with those goals he sheep dog all of them
u'r clueless mate "sheepdogging" as u put it has a legimtimate place in the game and is one of the best bits about it that blokes of smaller stature and build can use their intelligence and ability to read the play to contribute significantly to the end result eg. lynch in the grand final.
he wont he norm smith coz he was in the right spots at the right time over and over again and everything he touched turned to gold!
DISCUSSION OVER
sheep_dogger
14 Feb 2007, 18:03
u'r clueless mate "sheepdogging" as u put it has a legimtimate place in the game and is one of the best bits about it that blokes of smaller stature and build can use their intelligence and ability to read the play to contribute significantly to the end result eg. lynch in the grand final.
he wont he norm smith coz he was in the right spots at the right time over and over again and everything he touched turned to gold!
DISCUSSION OVER
lol fine then its over
rocky17
15 Feb 2007, 21:25
anyone know how many got cut? who they were? who's performing well in the pre season down at falcons?
sheep_dogger
16 Feb 2007, 16:26
people are telling me that adam donohue has been training well down at the falcons...they hav been saying that he has lost a few pounds and he is lookin fit
hilly21
16 Feb 2007, 19:43
thats a load of crap chafer goes 1st cut!
.ruby[\]tiger.
16 Feb 2007, 19:55
top 5 for next year:
joeys-consistant side with alot of players to pick from. will be strong all over the ground.
south barwon- pretting much the same as joeys
newtown- biggest movers in the comp. very good midfield with alot of other players been able to go into there. settled down the spine and will be hard to match up on all there talls. picked up good players.
bell park- not as good as there other glory years. still have quality players in the side and big bodys in the middle of the ground. very good 'team' as they have all played together.
colac- get alot of players in the 18's to pick from and will be a strong running side like always, and will be harder to beat on the bigger grounds.
-Junior-
18 Feb 2007, 20:51
I hear that Bell Park are forming a very formidable lineup for the season ahead and are building an extremely potent forward line that could match any other side and are starting to look fairly even across the board...
4-play anybody??
tommahawk_07
18 Feb 2007, 22:33
4-play is a foregone conclusion in my books and when it happens only premiership players and officials from 2004-07 should be allowed to enter club 4-play...
fair enough??
sheep_dogger
19 Feb 2007, 11:23
ill give u this, Bell Park wont win the Premiership this year.the team will go close winnin it is Sth Barwon cause they lost there Confident vs Grovedale in round 17 lol but Sth Barwon will win the Premiership this year and NOT BELL PARK
sheep_dogger
19 Feb 2007, 11:31
Bell Park might go close again this year but they might lose it the Grand Final. If they do make the Grand final Jackson Reid has to have a big season and kick bout 3 goals a game and get bout 30 touches a game
sheep_dogger
19 Feb 2007, 13:25
salsa settle down m8 i will stop talkin bout people i know and start talkin bout know names.name the 3-5 best players from every club???is that a better question to ask salsa
hilly21
19 Feb 2007, 22:44
newtown will fire up this year i am telling you now! some big name players have gone there from outt of the region!
Wizzfizz
20 Feb 2007, 08:25
newtown will fire up this year i am telling you now! some big name players have gone there from outt of the region!
like who hilly?... and does anyone else know of any other teams recruiting good players this year?
tommahawk_07
20 Feb 2007, 10:20
ill give u this, Bell Park wont win the Premiership this year.the team will go close winnin it is Sth Barwon cause they lost there Confident vs Grovedale in round 17 lol but Sth Barwon will win the Premiership this year and NOT BELL PARK
heard all this last year sheep dogger pipe down coz history is about to repeat itself...
furthermore, best you ease yourself back to corio bay technical college to work on your grammatical skills...
sheep_dogger
20 Feb 2007, 15:00
heard all this last year sheep dogger pipe down coz history is about to repeat itself...
furthermore, best you ease yourself back to corio bay technical college to work on your grammatical skills...
can u stop talkin up Bell Park all the time and talk bout other clubs for once
toot_toot
20 Feb 2007, 19:57
i second this, petition signed...... how on earth am i supposed to understand the type of comments sheep dogger is posting.......
toot_toot
20 Feb 2007, 20:02
people are telling me that adam donohue has been training well down at the falcons...they hav been saying that he has lost a few pounds and he is lookin fit
adam tells me that u know aaron quite well sheep dogger.......
sheep_dogger
21 Feb 2007, 06:50
adam tells me that u know aaron quite well sheep dogger.......
i heard that u know chris quite well toot toot......
tommahawk_07
21 Feb 2007, 10:39
and tomma...jeez mate u cood pipe down yaself on bell park...there good but penciling them in for the flag when there is still 3 months till the start of the year is a bit over the top
pinheads like urself said this last year salsa when i was talking them up all year and look what happened...
will the rest of you ever learn?
C7-Heaven
21 Feb 2007, 13:54
[QUOTE=sheep_dogger;6726115]Who do you reckon the best sheep dogs in the under 18s league??? i give u 2, i reckon Chris Lynch from Bell Park & Aaron Hovey from Grovedale & they have both got Red Hair haha
Drop dead sheep_dogger drop dead!!!
sheep_dogger
21 Feb 2007, 18:11
[quote=sheep_dogger;6726115]Who do you reckon the best sheep dogs in the under 18s league??? i give u 2, i reckon Chris Lynch from Bell Park & Aaron Hovey from Grovedale & they have both got Red Hair haha
haha like to see that
Whispers
22 Feb 2007, 09:41
Your continuous jargon is just crap Hilly... You come out with these pathetic statements with no justification. Give us reasons why Newtown will excell besides saying "some big name players have gone there". Actually, how can 16-17 yo footballers be known as having "Big Names"!? Either name the players and write better posts or just don't bother... also.. don't make such a d*ck of yourself in a public place such as the Yacht Club, especially when you are under age and where everyone can see. You and all of your Newtown mates were being f*ckheads for all to see...
Supertown
22 Feb 2007, 10:28
Your continuous jargon is just crap Hilly... You come out with these pathetic statements with no justification. Give us reasons why Newtown will excell besides saying "some big name players have gone there". Actually, how can 16-17 yo footballers be known as having "Big Names"!? Either name the players and write better posts or just don't bother... also.. don't make such a d*ck of yourself in a public place such as the Yacht Club, especially when you are under age and where everyone can see. You and all of your Newtown mates were being f*ckheads for all to see...
Settle down whispers, Ive seen a few stjoeys guys make some "f* heads for all to see" over the years!!! let the kid have some fun! he is 17 after all!!!
Dont start attacks on our club like that, cos its a small town and no club is perfect!
Whispers
22 Feb 2007, 12:30
Settle down whispers, Ive seen a few stjoeys guys make some "f* heads for all to see" over the years!!! let the kid have some fun! he is 17 after all!!!
Dont start attacks on our club like that, cos its a small town and no club is perfect!
Mate I'm up for fun alright but when they start harrassing, abusing and insaulting people, then its a different story... nothing against the club at all cos I have nothing against Newtown, but I'm sure the club wouldn't be to impressed by the fact that these players were introducing themselves as "Newtown Footballers" and then making knobs of themselves in public. It brings the club down in reputation, something that the heirachy, commitee, supporters and players whouldn't like.
Sorry if I have upseted you Supertown but it's just some advice for young Hilly.
tommahawk_07
22 Feb 2007, 14:40
well tomma this thread is the gfl under 18s not bell park under 18s...if u wana continously talk up bell park why dont u go make your own thread...
neck up salsa i do what i want...
toot_toot
22 Feb 2007, 20:28
whispers vs newtown (inc supertown and hilly)
tommahawk vs salsa
c7-heaven vs sheep dogger
this thread is goin bananas..........
Whispers
23 Feb 2007, 08:24
whispers vs newtown (inc supertown and hilly)
tommahawk vs salsa
c7-heaven vs sheep dogger
this thread is goin bananas..........
Bit far Toot_Toot. As I said.. nothing against Newtown just concerned how their younger players are portraying themselves in public. I never knew who they were until I heard them introduce themselves as "Newtown Footballers"....
tommahawk_07
23 Feb 2007, 10:33
whispers vs toot_toot
twentysix
23 Feb 2007, 14:06
[quote=sheep_dogger;6726115]Who do you reckon the best sheep dogs in the under 18s league??? i give u 2, i reckon Chris Lynch from Bell Park & Aaron Hovey from Grovedale & they have both got Red Hair haha
if there isnt any sheep doggers in the league whats gonna happen when there is a pack and everyone goes in for it, there will be no one to recieve the handball and release it. sheep doggers open up play and make sure stoppages can be freed, otherwise the ball would just stay in the pack and the game of football will be slow and boring.
chris lynch won the best on ground because he was able to read play and know where to be to get the ball and he thouroughly deserved the medal, he may be a sheep dogger but he is a sheep dogger that gets 30 odd touches, im sure everyone would take that even if they were to be called a sheep dogger
twentysix
23 Feb 2007, 14:12
how can you say that you will fire up when you struggled last year and this year you havent picked any players up, if you named some players that were worthy of being recruits let me know, i havent heard of anyone that has even thought about looking at newtown, im sure your a good club but you just havent got the best team at the moment.
speaking of newtown i agree matt mcmahon was stiff to miss out on falcons, he is a little small but pretty good
sheep_dogger
23 Feb 2007, 14:59
[quote=C7-Heaven;6777992]
if there isnt any sheep doggers in the league whats gonna happen when there is a pack and everyone goes in for it, there will be no one to recieve the handball and release it. sheep doggers open up play and make sure stoppages can be freed, otherwise the ball would just stay in the pack and the game of football will be slow and boring.
chris lynch won the best on ground because he was able to read play and know where to be to get the ball and he thouroughly deserved the medal, he may be a sheep dogger but he is a sheep dogger that gets 30 odd touches, im sure everyone would take that even if they were to be called a sheep dogger
thats right what you are sayin there.....i forgive for callin chris lynch a sheepdog cause he isnt one....cause he can read the play very well and thats why he won the Best On Ground in the grand final last year cause he got into space and open the game up
C7-Heaven
26 Feb 2007, 12:42
[QUOTE=sheep_dogger;6794138][INDENT][quote=twentysix;6793760]
thats right what you are sayin there.....i forgive for callin chris lynch a sheepdog cause he isnt one....cause he can read the play very well and thats why he won the Best On Ground in the grand final last year cause he got into space and open the game up
After Chris Lynch's Falcon's game on Sunday we don't have to worry about him playing in this league. Word was he dominated
twentysix
26 Feb 2007, 19:02
[quote=sheep_dogger;6794138][indent][quote=twentysix;6793760]
After Chris Lynch's Falcon's game on Sunday we don't have to worry about him playing in this league. Word was he dominated
yer i heard the same thing, as well as, jaxson barham the u/19 and brenton ritchie.
hilly21
26 Feb 2007, 21:49
chris lynch is a sheep dog!!! everyone knows it! he is a smart player tho same as hovey same players!
Ozzie72
27 Feb 2007, 08:13
is barham playing falcons this year? good player really quick and good skills
twentysix
27 Feb 2007, 15:53
chris lynch is a sheep dog!!! everyone knows it! he is a smart player tho same as hovey same players!
hilly you cant pay out players when u cant get a kick yourself
twentysix
27 Feb 2007, 15:54
is barham playing falcons this year? good player really quick and good skills
yer his one of the u/19s handy player deserves to be there
sheep_dogger
1 Mar 2007, 10:33
does any one know if Daniel Kee is playing at Sth Barwon again this year....or as he go back to Nth Geelong?
heard he is staying at south!
toot_toot
1 Mar 2007, 20:05
heard he is staying at south!
who off.....?
sheep_dogger
2 Mar 2007, 20:42
I can say that Devon Eddy is the best player in the GFL 18s after he got cut from the falcons last monday night....does any one agree with me?.....or am i talkin Rubbish again?
i heard daniel kee was going to st albans.....supposedly they hooked up an apprenticeship for him...is this correct?
and dev eddy...along with sam burke, jack chafer and daniel broderick i suspect will not play much u/18 football this year as they will most likely all be playing seniors
The_Bulldogs_Bite
7 Mar 2007, 14:45
Best two players from each club, one being a top age and the other a bottom age. Have a go:
Bell Park
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
South Barwon
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Colac
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
North Shore
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
St. Josephs
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Grovedale
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
St. Marys
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Newtown
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
St. Albans
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Leopold
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Geelong West
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
Lara
Top Age:
Bottom Age:
pudski poodlers
7 Mar 2007, 16:58
Hello boys yes the poodler is back from a long off-season and is ready to get stuck into the preseason.. just reading through some of the **** that has been said and yes alot of it is ****.. I would also like to say hello to tommahawk.. who is a dear friend of the poodler...
What is the go with the best players.. who will be the players to watch out for that will not get a game in senoirs or falcons.. i want to know about the blokes that will play 18s for most of the year.
I can also confirm that Jase Lee from lara is gone and headed off to bell park and if i must say it is a good choice as bell park will be looking for 4..
Also Daniel Kee is not yet a mover on the free agent market and looks to stay at south. James Pountney from lara has fled off to the WRFL.. and Reece Burke has been training at Bell Park, but not sure what he is doing..
Also prehaps one of the biggest moves in the off-season is Nick Costallo who has been training at Anikie but got knocked back for his clearence form.
The_Bulldogs_Bite
7 Mar 2007, 18:12
I can also confirm that Jase Lee from lara is gone and headed off to bell park and if i must say it is a good choice as bell park will be looking for 4..
Also Daniel Kee is not yet a mover on the free agent market and looks to stay at south. James Pountney from lara has fled off to the WRFL.. and Reece Burke has been training at Bell Park, but not sure what he is doing..
Also prehaps one of the biggest moves in the off-season is Nick Costallo who has been training at Anikie but got knocked back for his clearence form.
Source?
Apparently, Jase Lee is training with Bell Park and has been going pretty well. However, he hasn't got a clearance and going by word, it won't be easy to get one.
James Pountney too, is yet to gain a clearance. Though I haven't heard what he's doing exactly, I suspect some would be talking him into going to Bell Park if he's leaving Lara? Especially since Jase Lee, a now "ex team mate" is there and he goes to school to Western Heights??
Rhys Burke would be a big loss to GWSP, but he's got friends there too. I wouldn't be surprised if he stayed.
toot_toot
7 Mar 2007, 19:25
Source?
Apparently, Jase Lee is training with Bell Park and has been going pretty well. However, he hasn't got a clearance and going by word, it won't be easy to get one.
Rhys Burke would be a big loss to GWSP, but he's got friends there too. I wouldn't be surprised if he stayed.
Has Lee played a game of 18's? If he hasnt, lara cannot keep him at the club - fact......
Who are Rhys' friends at West?
toot_toot
7 Mar 2007, 19:36
does anybody know where buck buck has gone? he's not dead is he?
twentysix
7 Mar 2007, 19:46
Has Lee played a game of 18's? If he hasnt, lara cannot keep him at the club - fact......
Who are Rhys' friends at West?
young twins tim and mitch wight, as well as rob sims. he hasnt got many though.
costellos clearance has gone through on a time limit, so looks like he is there to stay.
pudski poodlers
7 Mar 2007, 19:46
Ur right he training with park and going well but ur worng abouth im not getting a clearnce he is as good as gone and so is pountey who is deff playign in WRFL for Wez or hoppers coz i think he lives in little river where ever the *** that is i know its closer to melbs then any other g-town, town.
And as for rhys he has a **** load of mates at park. So if he decides to saty at west it wont be beacuse of mates he has there coz all of them r at park.
twentysix
7 Mar 2007, 19:54
Bell Park
Top Age: hugh hanlon, chris lynch
Bottom Age: joel o'connor
South Barwon
Top Age: mitch mckee
Bottom Age: ???
Colac
Top Age: levi dare
North Shore
Top Age: pj disanto
Bottom Age: ????
St. Josephs
Top Age: cant pick
Bottom Age: michael jennings
Grovedale
Top Age: sam bourke
Bottom Age: adam donohue
St. Marys
Top Age: luke bath
Newtown
Top Age: matt mcmahon, nick scott
Bottom Age:
Leopold
Top Age: ???
Bottom Age: sam hughes
Geelong West
Top Age: brenton ritchie
Bottom Age: rhys burke
toot_toot
7 Mar 2007, 20:00
Bell Park
Top Age: hugh hanlon, chris lynch
Bottom Age: joel o'connor
Chris Lynch! Are u on drugs 26? Has Steven Paulke just quit football or something. I would of thought he'd walk into the top 2 Bell Park players (alongside Hanlon) in 07.
Lift 26 Lift!!!!!
twentysix
7 Mar 2007, 20:02
Chris Lynch! Are u on drugs 26? Has Steven Paulke just quit football or something. I would of thought he'd walk into the top 2 Bell Park players (alongside Hanlon) in 07.
Lift 26 Lift!!!!!
chris lynch is on the list for falcons mate pretty sure he deserves a spot in there
pudski poodlers
7 Mar 2007, 20:04
what about st albans or lara those two teams r very low key and form what i ahve herd lara may be a top 5 chance as well as st albans
Mustang00
8 Mar 2007, 13:49
Yes thats right the mustang is back! first off wats with all you blokes talken **** about chris lynch?? BOG in the grand final and one of bell parks best last year and all of yas talk **** about him! i rekon the kid deserves alot more respect than all of yas are given him will be one of the best top age players in the league this year, thats if falcons dont pik him up! Anyone got any news on people moving? And i see hilly is still talking out of his **** maybe he might gather more than 3 possesions for a season this year (fingers crossed for the kid hey) top 5 anyone??
MUSTANG
tiger3_4
8 Mar 2007, 20:13
I dont no alot about the younger blokes. But ill have a dip anyway.
Bell Park
Top Age: hugh hanlon,
Bottom Age: ?
South Barwon
Top Age: mitch mckee
Bottom Age: anthoney biemans
Colac
Top Age: levi dare
North Shore
Top Age: pj disanto and cosy if hes stays there
Bottom Age: ????
St. Josephs
Top Age: liam if he played otherwise luke ryan
Bottom Age: michael jennings
Grovedale
Top Age: luke delaney
Bottom Age: adam donohue
St. Marys
Top Age: brandon backwell
Newtown
Top Age: matty mc and nick scott
Bottom Age: duno
Leopold
Top Age: ???
Bottom Age: sam hughes
Geelong West
Top Age: brenton ritchie
Bottom Age: rhys burke
footyforlife
11 Mar 2007, 14:16
deals have been cancelled with ritchie
tiger3_4
12 Mar 2007, 16:24
interesting u sed dean muir on the list a falcons..deservedly or nah?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
12 Mar 2007, 17:34
well his not very good and his small and skinny...but he didnt do anything rong in the whole pre season training except cheat in a 3km time trial where he skipped a lap!! but yeah they coodnt not pik him coz he didnt do anything to get cut really
It's not about doing anything wrong in the pre-season training IMO. Simply, Dean is not up to it. There's a LOT of players that would run rings around him that didn't get a shot at Falcons. It's pretty poor IMO.
sheep_dogger
12 Mar 2007, 20:48
does any one know of any pracey games that are comeing up in the next couple of weeks?
twentysix
12 Mar 2007, 21:07
It's not about doing anything wrong in the pre-season training IMO. Simply, Dean is not up to it. There's a LOT of players that would run rings around him that didn't get a shot at Falcons. It's pretty poor IMO.
the only thing i have in deans defense is that the falcons dont always pick players on their ability to play the game, the main aim of the falcons is to get kids drafted. falcons look to develop kids and maybe thats their plan for dean even though he wud need a lot of it. he also took the top number in number 1, any thoughts on that?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
12 Mar 2007, 21:55
the only thing i have in deans defense is that the falcons dont always pick players on their ability to play the game, the main aim of the falcons is to get kids drafted. falcons look to develop kids and maybe thats their plan for dean even though he wud need a lot of it. he also took the top number in number 1, any thoughts on that?
I've heard that philosophy before, but I really don't understand it. Surely players with the ability to play the game have a better chance of being drafted over players like Dean Muir.
What would an AFL Club be after in Dean? IMO he doesn't standout with any real qualities, I think there's plenty of others in GFL that are legit GUNS who would have a far better chance of being drafted.
ThePuma
14 Mar 2007, 10:12
who cares about dean muir,anyway.and who cares what jumper number someone wares.they wouldn't have picked him for no reason.garry hocking of all people would not hav picked someone in his side if he didnt think they were up to it.
ThePuma
14 Mar 2007, 10:22
how would dean muir get away with cheating in a 3km time trial at that level. wldn't he be caught out later on in all the other fitness testing they do???????
footyforlife
14 Mar 2007, 17:02
who cares about dean muir,anyway.and who cares what jumper number someone wares.they wouldn't have picked him for no reason.garry hocking of all people would not hav picked someone in his side if he didnt think they were up to it.
jumper number 1 has to go to a player that will play a game thats a simple fact
footyforlife
14 Mar 2007, 17:02
how would dean muir get away with cheating in a 3km time trial at that level. wldn't he be caught out later on in all the other fitness testing they do???????
y are u sticking up for him so much? do you know him puma?
Whispers
14 Mar 2007, 17:17
Congrats to Chris Lynch on making the Falcons list! For all the sh*t he has copped over the past few months about his performance, it has been laid to rest by his inclusion onto the list!
However, he has got a few more sessions in the gym before he advances any further! (66kg). He better take Sammy Hughes (63kg) in with him as well!
tiger3_4
14 Mar 2007, 19:20
ddint mean to get a biff started over muir. was just asking..any news of blokes looking at getting a senior game.. i no a few blokes that hav apparently played well in senior praccys thta might be calling on a gig in the real season.. for one..middy mckee..any others
footyforlife
15 Mar 2007, 13:47
Congrats to Chris Lynch on making the Falcons list! For all the sh*t he has copped over the past few months about his performance, it has been laid to rest by his inclusion onto the list!
However, he has got a few more sessions in the gym before he advances any further! (66kg). He better take Sammy Hughes (63kg) in with him as well!
for that matter muir as well. just want to have a last comment on muir. he may not be good enough to be on the falcons list but the fact is he is on the list and theres nothing anyone can do about it, they may realise he isnt any good or he might shine in a few matches and suprise everyone else, its up to him now to prove he should be there.
surely sam bourke will play seniors if he isnt playing falcons, pj disanto must pushing seniors.
Wizzfizz
16 Mar 2007, 19:14
for that matter muir as well. just want to have a last comment on muir. he may not be good enough to be on the falcons list but the fact is he is on the list and theres nothing anyone can do about it, they may realise he isnt any good or he might shine in a few matches and suprise everyone else, its up to him now to prove he should be there.
surely sam bourke will play seniors if he isnt playing falcons, pj disanto must pushing seniors.
apparently pj is playing full back for seniors this year. and rumour has it that bell park is keen to play a few of there 18's kids this year aswell, see what happens though.