View Full Version : GFL U/18's
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 11:48
who will win it this year? and who are the good players of the league?
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 12:13
i would have to say the grand final will be south barwon VS bell park. id say bell park will get up by 2 goals winning thier 3rd grand final in a row.
Best players from each club:
Newtown: Jordan Grant, Nick scott, Matthew Mcmahon, Tim Nash
North Shore: Nathan peoples, Nick Costello, PJ Di Santo, Daniel Milligan
Bell Park: Rhonnie Ahfat, Hugh Hanlon, Nick Talarico, Evan Norbury
Leopold: Travis Gavin, David Gray, Sam Calder
St Albans: Nick Bound, Ben Rain
Colac: Hugh Douglas, Levi Dare
GWSP: Tyson Stott, Brenton Ritchi, Josh Sells,
Lara: Tory Liuzzi, Brad Sanders,
Grovedale: Devon Eddy, Jack Chaffer, Daniel Broderick, Luke Delaney
St Mary's: Shaun Trevaskis, Brandon Backwell, Luke Bath
St Josephs: Christian Messser, Leigh O' donnell, Luke Ryan, Todd Purser
South Barwon: Sam Green, Mitch Mckee, Jesse Mawson, Jack Moorfoot
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 19:21
clearly thats you tys. you might want to add luke van kreikan to north shore top players. the matter of finals needs to be discussed. whats your top 5???
(in no particular order)
-sth barwon
-bell park
-north shore
-colac
-st josephs
and st mary's and lara might be thereabouts
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 19:23
also everyone should state their name, team and #
Jackson Brady - North Shore - #11
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 19:33
Top 5 teams:
1.Sth Barwon
2.Bell Park
3.St Joseph's
4.North Shore
5. Colac
Top 5 Players:
1. Luke Delany
2. Rhonnie Ahfat
3. Todd Purser
4. Shaun Trevaskis
5. Jordan Grant
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 19:46
Top 5 teams:
1.Sth Barwon
2.Bell Park
3.St Joseph's
4.North Shore
5. Colac
Top 5 Players:
1. Luke Delany
2. Rhonnie Ahfat
3. Todd Purser
4. Shaun Trevaskis
5. Jordan Grant
players: (in no particular order)
1. Nathan Peoples
2. Daniel Broderick
3. Hugh Hanlon
4. Jordan Grant
5. PJ Disanto
its hard to say. so much talent in GFL these days. that 5 is most likely incorrect, there are just too many good players.
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 19:49
also. newtown are nothing without "college". its no excuse. you are only as good as your team each week.
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 19:53
The GFL dream team:
B: Hugh Hanlon (BP), Luke Ryan (St J), Pj Di Santo (Nth S),
HB: Christian Messer (St J), Evan Norbury (BP), Sam Green (Sth B)
C: Shaun Trevaskis (St M), Nick Talarico (BP), Rhonnie Ahfat (BP)
HF: Jordan Grant (New), Luke Delaney (Grvd), Nathan Peoples (Nth S)
F: Trent Buckland (Sth B), Hugh Douglas (Col), Nick Costello (Nth S)
Ruck: James Huybens (BP), Daniel Broderick (Grvd) Todd Purser (St J)
Bench: Jack Morfoot (Sth B), Mitch Mckee (Sth B), Tim Nash (New)
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 19:59
The GFL dream team:
i rate this team. although: peoples - CHF. as long as players like sanders arent in it, im happy.
also. newtown are nothing without "college". its no excuse. you are only as good as your team each week.
ull see jackson!
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 20:13
ull see jackson!
dont give me that crap alexander.
The GFL dream team:
wat about the best team in the gfl... with out falcons!!
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 20:17
yer they will definatly be alot better side with thier college ppl coming back in. they have alot of very good players to come in the side... newtown will be a different side this week when they line up agaisnt joey's and the following 3 weeks after that with the school holidays. and all of them will be walk-in starters to the team
these players to come in the side.
1. James McArthur- (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!...biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, could probs play falcons.will be extremely hard to match up on!
2. Andrew McArthur- (CHB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. another hard 1 to match up on.
3. Steen Balodis- (Rover) very good hands and could even be down at falcons, from Ammo's last season, will be one of the better on-ballers in the leauge
4. Tom Steinfort- (Ruck/FF) another big boy, will be a very good ruckman in GFL, clean pair of hands
5. Cam Russell- (FF) very very good hands, will be the best FF in the league but his kicking in front of goal is very inaccurate
6. Ben McClure (Rover) coming off a foot injury but has played the last 4 games with college. playing in the U/16 Vic team he will be one of the best on-ballers in the leauge
7. Will Schofield- (CHB/ Ruck) has played falcons games earlier this year but with the recent sucsess of the falcons it will be hard for him to make it back into the side.big 196 cm. also played in the U/16 Vic metro side.will dominate GFL if he plays!
8. Micheal Rockefeller- (Rover) Very very doubtful he will play because he should be back at falcons as he started on the ball for the 1st 3 games this year. avg of about 25 disp for falcons, if he plays for newtown will easily get 40 disp a game.
jacko_cats
5 Jun 2006, 20:18
i think north shore is that team hilly. guns like peoples, van kreikan etc arent falcons.
Pickle1364
5 Jun 2006, 20:58
Hey you boys didn't include Tom Couch... what a surprise. :D
Everyone else in Geelong who knows **** all about the GFL thinks he is a gun. Oh well, just the usual. Where is Macula, where is Backwell?
You don't make Mary's Best & Fairest only to be dropped out of the team of the season. Also, why have you left PJ off your team Hilly? He's an absolute gun, despite the fact that he is a fringe seniors player, unlike Macula who consistently plays week in week out down for the Jumpin' Joeys
dcshoecousa
5 Jun 2006, 21:20
i think north shore is that team hilly. guns like peoples, van kreikan etc arent falcons.
Jacko_cats, name some of the best talent (and why u think they are good) that have played 4 nth shore u/18's in the last 3-4 years.
Hows Jorden Grant go these days? should he be playing TAC
yer he goes good!! he is cumming back from op at the moment!! he is in some very good from for newtown tho!! it would be hard to brake into the falcons side at the moment but im sure he will get some games sometime this year!
Jackson Brady - North Shore - #11
Dud. Did he even get a kick on the weekend. Heard his effective at bench warming tho:thumbsu:
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 23:24
Hey you boys didn't include Tom Couch... what a surprise. :D
Everyone else in Geelong who knows **** all about the GFL thinks he is a gun. Oh well, just the usual. Where is Macula, where is Backwell?
You don't make Mary's Best & Fairest only to be dropped out of the team of the season. Also, why have you left PJ off your team Hilly? He's an absolute gun, despite the fact that he is a fringe seniors player, unlike Macula who consistently plays week in week out down for the Jumpin' Joeys
sorry mate but i named my side on who has been playing well (unlike backwell) and people who actually play 18's consistently so thats why i didnt add macula in the side. but yer he would defiantly be in there
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 23:27
yer he goes good!! he is cumming back from op at the moment!! he is in some very good from for newtown tho!! it would be hard to brake into the falcons side at the moment but im sure he will get some games sometime this year!
he wont play TAC cup this year.... to get back into falcons u would have to be dominating at a senior level such as andrew van noordenburg (OG/ BFL) who is consistently getting in the best for ocean grove seniors.i rate jordan as a player but it is just too hard to make it into the side now. will get his chance next year though.
Wizzfizz
5 Jun 2006, 23:30
Top 5 teams:
1.Sth Barwon
2.Bell Park
3.St Joseph's
4.North Shore
5. Colac
Top 5 Players:
1. Luke Delany
2. Rhonnie Ahfat
3. Todd Purser
4. Shaun Trevaskis
5. Jordan Grant
now that i think about it..... i would have to put newtown in the top 5 instead of colac. they just have to win a few games without college players and they should be in with a shot.
colac will not be in the finals race! i dont know who put them in there:S
go fullta
6 Jun 2006, 10:45
1. James McArthur- (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!...biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, could probs play falcons.will be extremely hard to match up on!
2. Andrew McArthur- (CHB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. another hard 1 to match up on.
haha i no these boys, they used live near camperdown and played under 14s with me at north warrnambool, they were huge then, they must be even stronger now...
they still concertrating on tennis or focusin on footy now??
Wizzfizz
6 Jun 2006, 10:50
haha i no these boys, they used live near camperdown and played under 14s with me at north warrnambool, they were huge then, they must be even stronger now...
they still concertrating on tennis or focusin on footy now??
they were originally from down there.... and yer its the only thing that lets them down really, james is more focused on tennis (being in the Vic side) and andrew is a keen rower.
Wizzfizz
6 Jun 2006, 10:58
who will win the league Best and fairest this year??.....remember its based on recent form not how good they are.
this is actually jacko_cats. im using rizzo's account.
best and fairest possibilties:
- Nathan Peoples
- Mitch McKee
thats about it. unless jimmy huybens is killing it.
wat are peoples tips for this weeks rounds?
Whispers
6 Jun 2006, 15:15
South over Grovey (South Barwon look unreal.. one of the best U/18 teams in a while.)
Lara at home over St. Marys
Joeys and Newtown.. too hard to call. Joeys have been pathetic this year...
Park to smash St. Albans
North shore will in Colac
West will sneak home over Leopold.
THE TOP GUN
6 Jun 2006, 15:56
i would have to say the grand final will be south barwon VS bell park. id say bell park will get up by 2 goals winning thier 3rd grand final in a row.
Best players from each club:
Newtown: Jordan Grant, Nick scott, Matthew Mcmahon, Tim Nash
North Shore: Nathan peoples, Nick Costello, PJ Di Santo, Daniel Milligan
Bell Park: Rhonnie Ahfat, Hugh Hanlon, Nick Talarico, Evan Norbury
Leopold: Travis Gavin, David Gray, Sam Calder
St Albans: Nick Bound, Ben Rain
Colac: Hugh Douglas, Levi Dare
GWSP: Tyson Stott, Brenton Ritchi, Josh Sells,
Lara: Tory Liuzzi, Brad Sanders,
Grovedale: Devon Eddy, Jack Chaffer, Daniel Broderick, Luke Delaney
St Mary's: Shaun Trevaskis, Brandon Backwell, Luke Bath
St Josephs: Christian Messser, Leigh O' donnell, Luke Ryan, Todd Purser
South Barwon: Sam Green, Mitch Mckee, Jesse Mawson, Jack Moorfoot
Very overrated footballer, gets a lot of cheap easy kicks and doesnt to many team things. For Lara i would have had Tory liuzzi, Ricky "fatty" Joyce or Luke Willis.
are lara coming good? or are joeys just ****?
Wizzfizz
6 Jun 2006, 16:32
South over Grovey (South Barwon look unreal.. one of the best U/18 teams in a while.)
Lara at home over St. Marys
Joeys and Newtown.. too hard to call. Joeys have been pathetic this year...
Park to smash St. Albans
North shore will in Colac
West will sneak home over Leopold.
would have to agree with that. my tips would be...
South B Vs Grovd- South B by about 8 goals
Lara Vs St M- Lara by 4 goals
Joeys Vs Netwn (with college)- Newtown by 3 goals
Bell Park Vs St A- bell park by 10 goals
North S Vs Colac- Nth S by 4 goals
West Vs Lepld- West by 5 goals
would have to agree with that. my tips would be...
South B Vs Grovd- South B by about 8 goals
Lara Vs St M- Lara by 4 goals
Joeys Vs Netwn (with college)- Newtown by 3 goals
Bell Park Vs St A- bell park by 10 goals
North S Vs Colac- Nth S by 4 goals
West Vs Lepld- West by 5 goals
i like them tips but i think marys will win by 2 goals!
jacko_cats
6 Jun 2006, 20:22
South B Vs Grovd- barwon easy. 8 goals.
Lara Vs St M- draw. lol.
Joeys Vs Netwn (with college)- newtown. just. 1 goal.
Bell Park Vs St A- bell park by 15 goals.
North S Vs Colac- North shore by 5 goals.
West Vs Lepld- west by 10 goals.
jacko_cats
6 Jun 2006, 20:34
whos "whispers"?
info on last weeks games! and key players that stood out in the games that were played?
just think if the gfl were able to steal the few good players in the gdfl how good of a league it would really be. who do u reckon are the good players in the gdfl that u wud like in ur teams?. my choice would probably be matty wade from corio or shaydon bloomfeild from werribee.
Whispers
7 Jun 2006, 15:49
just think if the gfl were able to steal the few good players in the gdfl how good of a league it would really be. who do u reckon are the good players in the gdfl that u wud like in ur teams?. my choice would probably be matty wade from corio or shaydon bloomfeild from werribee.
I like Zac Hickelton as a player and I know there was some pressure by Bell Park for him to come across with big Woodman. Hicko's brother Shane (i think) played a few games at the Park last year. Handy footballing family.
What about Sam Wharton from Werribee or is he too old?
Cerebral Assassin
7 Jun 2006, 16:17
Who are all the under 18's captains in the GFL this year?
I like Zac Hickelton as a player and I know there was some pressure by Bell Park for him to come across with big Woodman. Hicko's brother Shane (i think) played a few games at the Park last year. Handy footballing family.
What about Sam Wharton from Werribee or is he too old?
zac would not go to bell park!! if he would go anywhere it would be newtown!! e came across last year for 4 games before his family made him go back to banno!! he will be a newtown boy soon;) im good mates with him!
dcshoecousa
7 Jun 2006, 19:27
whos "whispers"?
I will ask u again jacko, who are the best u/18's that have played for Nth Shore (and why they are good) in the last 3-4 years?
dcshoecousa
7 Jun 2006, 19:30
Matty Wade is a dud, wouldnt put him in my worst 22 in the gdfl u/18's!
pudski poodlers
7 Jun 2006, 19:54
wat do people think of lara this year are they a chance for making finals becuase i watched them when they played joeys and they look like they are a good hard hititng team and have a very strong backline with the lights of fatty, nicka, jase and liutz down there.
I will ask u again jacko, who are the best u/18's that have played for Nth Shore (and why they are good) in the last 3-4 years?
yer thats a good question all i know of is arron jervies.... costello and pj disanto this year from there 18s!
Cerebral Assassin
7 Jun 2006, 21:25
The only captain i am aware of is talarico for bell park, who are the others?
Matty Wade is a dud, wouldnt put him in my worst 22 in the gdfl u/18's!
one of mattys ex teamates christian obrien went out to play for banno this year and is suppose have been playing pretty good. also jacko macleod who is 16 is playing in thomson seniors, he is a pretty good player. i wonder who is up there for there premiership, werribee are looking good but bannockburn and north geelong have some good players it will be interesting to see who wins that premiership
this is a gfl talk room! not GDFL!
zac hickleton said "if banno win the flag he will come to a gfl club and he said it would most likely be newtown"
Whispers
8 Jun 2006, 11:36
Without a doubt Jervies!! Superstar!! Will be one to play his entire career at the Shore. Lee Ormeno and Chris Parker where always tough in 18's.. good players. Jamie Pyle and Chippa Chandler come to mind since they played seniors while in the 18's, on the Falcons list and played in the Interleague team. David O'Brien was a good player.. had some good contests against him growing up. How's he going at North Geelong DC do you know?
You knew you played a game of footy when you played against North Shore in the 18's.. they made you earn every touch.
jacko_cats
8 Jun 2006, 11:48
This year shories 18's picked up Peoples and Van Kreikan from North Geelong. Star recruits coming from the GDFL, but remember they both started their footy at North Shore.
Last 3 or 4 years:
Chandler, Pyle, Jervies, Disanto. What more do i need to say?
jacko_cats
8 Jun 2006, 11:53
oi whos whispers???
Whispers
8 Jun 2006, 12:00
Jacko_Cat.. do u reckon you could list other players from other clubs that played 18's in the past 3 or 4 years? Do you reckon you could construct a team from it?
Wizzfizz
8 Jun 2006, 13:17
never heard of those 2.... i dont think there are many decent players in gdfl. all have already left (eg, daniel kee to south barwon, luke van krieken and nathan peoples to north shore, patty dillion and micheal woodman to bell park). any decent player that wants to improve thier football would go to gfl like those boys i metioned
Wizzfizz
8 Jun 2006, 13:20
wat do people think of lara this year are they a chance for making finals becuase i watched them when they played joeys and they look like they are a good hard hititng team and have a very strong backline with the lights of fatty, nicka, jase and liutz down there.
i think they wont make finals.... yes they do have a few good back line players, but there is to many dead weights in that team. they have no good foward line players and defiantly no good on-ballers. being hard at the ball does not get you to the finals, skill is invlolved aswell.
Wizzfizz
8 Jun 2006, 13:23
EVERYONE WHO IS TALKING BOUT GDFL, GO AWAY!!.... make your own forum!
it aint hard to stand out at thompson ;)
whos leading the goalkicking
Sammy_88
8 Jun 2006, 16:11
i think they wont make finals.... yes they do have a few good back line players, but there is to many dead weights in that team. they have no good foward line players and defiantly no good on-ballers. being hard at the ball does not get you to the finals, skill is invlolved aswell.
obviously watching a different lara than i have been, strong backline with the likes of Tory Liuzzi and Fatty Joyce good supply coming out of the midfield form Lukey Willis and John Doolan and with big stevo up forward kicking goals (will kick the most for the year) they will surpirse many teams
zac hickleton said "if banno win the flag he will come to a gfl club and he said it would most likely be newtown"
if zac was gonna come to a gfl side which he shud it wud prob be bell park coz he has mates there as well as past team mates. its about time he did come to gfl coz gdfl is ****!!!
THE TOP GUN
8 Jun 2006, 19:01
Scotty BIG MAC Mknight, ex lara utility who recently moved to north geelong would be a handy player in any side.
Sammy_88
8 Jun 2006, 19:31
Scotty BIG MAC Mknight, ex lara utility who recently moved to north geelong would be a handy player in any side.
yer TOP GUN ive herd about that Mckinght bloke around the traps hows he goin at north?? herd he couldnt get a game out at lara! he getten a kick these days
pudski poodlers
8 Jun 2006, 19:36
The two big boys in the GFL,
Michael Stevenson from LARA Vs Benjamin Toner from GWSP!
Who will take out the league Goal Kicking?
Or will there be a dark horse in the race for top spot!
And out of the 2, which of these Full Forward utilities would a team prefer?
And does anybody believe their is a better full forward than these 2 blokes?
tell ya what joeys and newtown shaping up to be game of the round big ins for newtown and joeys :thumbsu:
The two big boys in the GFL,
Michael Stevenson from LARA Vs Benjamin Toner from GWSP!
Who will take out the league Goal Kicking?
Or will there be a dark horse in the race for top spot!
And out of the 2, which of these Full Forward utilities would a team prefer?
And does anybody believe their is a better full forward than these 2 blokes?
cam russle newtown!
i believe stevenson will take it out
wot sort of form is costello in this season
pudski poodlers
8 Jun 2006, 20:19
cam russle newtown!
Who is cam russle? never herd of him
I reckon joeys will wipe the floor with town on the weekend by 6 goals or more
Who is cam russle? never herd of him
I reckon joeys will wipe the floor with town on the weekend by 6 goals or more
yeah who is cam russle is he even in the top five goal kickers?
all newtown ever do is rely on their college players they have no real depth. I mean with players with the skills like Boner in their side it just makes me wonder who else could get a run?
pudski poodlers
8 Jun 2006, 20:38
yer true he has no chance? coz he needs a good team to get the ball down to him
all newtown ever do is rely on their college players they have no real depth. I mean with players with the skills like Boner in their side it just makes me wonder who else could get a run?
mate college is apart of our team!! wat are you talking about?? boner got dropped this week!!
pudski poodlers
8 Jun 2006, 20:40
yer im with spudda town are ****house with out collage
pudski poodlers
8 Jun 2006, 20:45
Town have no chance of finals and the top 5 will be
1 South
2 Parkers
3 North shore
4 Joeys
5 Lara or Marys
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 09:00
obviously watching a different lara than i have been, strong backline with the likes of Tory Liuzzi and Fatty Joyce good supply coming out of the midfield form Lukey Willis and John Doolan and with big stevo up forward kicking goals (will kick the most for the year) they will surpirse many teams
stevo is overwieght and is extremly slow at for a CHF and if he comes up agaisnt a decent defender he will be easily shutdown. the on-ballers at lara would not match any other on-ballers for other sides in gfl except for maybe st albans or leopold. but even those sides have decent on ballers. luke willis is hard at it but does not do much when he has the footy and john doolan should be playing U/16's with his size.
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 09:08
Town have no chance of finals and the top 5 will be
1 South
2 Parkers
3 North shore
4 Joeys
5 Lara or Marys
i definatly think newtown will make finals.... i agree that they do rely on college players but that have done well without them so far. they only need to win a few games without them because when they come back in the side this week they will be a very hard team to beat. with these players coming into these possies on the weekend agaisnt joey's.tom steinfort in the ruck, ben mcclure and steen balodis coming straight onto the ball this week, james mc arthur on the foward flank, will schofield at CHB, andy mc arthur at full back and cam russell at full foward.
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 09:12
look out for these college players to come into the newtown the side this week.
1. James McArthur- around 185cm/ about 90kg (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!... and will be the biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, and has good foot skills. could probs play falcons. will be extremely hard to match up on!
2. Andrew McArthur- around 182cm/ about 90kg (CHB/FB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. will beat 'any!!' foward in GFL
3. Steen Balodis- around 180cm/about 75 kg (Rover) about 75 kg very good hands and could even be down at falcons, from Ammo's last season, will be one of the better on-ballers in the leauge. playing with mcmahon, mclure, grant. will be a very good engine room
4. Tom Steinfort- around 190cm/ about 90kg (Ruck/FF) another big boy, will be a very good ruckman in GFL, clean pair of hands and takes big pack marks. struggles with his kicking but will be a huge bonus to the side.
5. Cam Russell- around 185cm/ about 85kg (FF) very very good hands, son of ex geelong footballer glen russell, will probs be the best FF in the league but his kicking in front of goal is very inaccurate so might not be as dangerous on the goalkicking ladder.
6. Ben McClure- around 182 cm around 82kg (Rover) coming off a foot injury but has played the last 4 games with college. very hard at it. good footskills on both feet, playing in the U/16 Vic team he will be one of the best on-ballers in the leauge.
7. Will Schofield- around 194cm/ around 75kg (CHB/ Ruck) has played falcons games earlier this year but with the recent sucsess of the falcons it will be hard for him to make it back into the side.big 196 cm. also played in the U/16 Vic metro side.will dominate GFL if he plays!
8. Micheal Rockefeller- around 180 cm/around 80kg (Rover) Very very doubtful he will play because he should be back at falcons as he started on the ball for the 1st 3 games this year. avg of about 25 disp for falcons, has been asked about seniors but if he plays for 18's will easily get 40 disp a game.
mate college is apart of our team!! wat are you talking about?? boner got dropped this week!!
yeah u still rely on them so much you are the only team in the league who has to rely on players from a different club and league (APS). You dont see any other gfl club waiting on college players to come back to their side. Just the fact that boner could get a run in your side is ridiculus. he couldnt get a run with Nelson parks 3rd 22.
THE TOP GUN
9 Jun 2006, 10:28
stevo is overwieght and is extremly slow at for a CHF and if he comes up agaisnt a decent defender he will be easily shutdown. the on-ballers at lara would not match any other on-ballers for other sides in gfl except for maybe st albans or leopold. but even those sides have decent on ballers. luke willis is hard at it but does not do much when he has the footy and john doolan should be playing U/16's with his size.
Mate stevo is not chf he is ff put him in the goal square he will outmark anyone, I would have thought Benny Capra from joeys was a handy defender. My mate from Lara told me Stevo wiped the floor with him in the second quarter of that game a couple of weeks ago. Anyway hilly how is Big Bona going at the eagles this year does he get a run? do the boys like him?
yer mate ronza likes it at newtown.... the boys find him a good bloke!!!!! he is a good bloke!! yer he gets a run but college are playin this week so i dont know if he is playing or not!!
Mustang00
9 Jun 2006, 12:04
Top GUn i herd the same about stevo against Joeys they ended up playing 3 or 4 differents blokes on him he beat them all. I saw him against Colac when he kicked 5 same again mate could not be beaten. Not only good in the lead and one on one he finishes well wen roving his own crumbs. #1 Goal kicker in my books
Cassanova#4
9 Jun 2006, 12:04
The next up coming 4 weeks or so are extreamly important for particular clubs in the GFL U/18's that are looking to make the top 5, come that special time in September.
Starting off this week at Central Reserve, Gravesend Street, Colac. When the Seaguls make there trip up to Colac. This will be a very interesting match and could see the Seaguls taking another 4 points, providing they do not loose there temper (which seems to be a bad habit for these young boys). Although, Colac seem quite determained to make it all the way and they do have what it takes to keep a secure position in the top 5. This match could be the match of the round!
Also this week St.Mary's Take on The Lara Cats at the snake pit. This game is crucial for both clubs striving to make that top 5 spot. St.Mary's are wanting to get up on Lara as last season the cats knocked them off on a sunday game at Kardinia Park West, Latrobe Terrace, Geelong apparently after the Lara boys had a big night on the alcohol! This game could make or break these 2 sides. The question is can Lara continue to keep up there previous 3 week winning streak or will the Mary's boys put an end to it and step that 1 step closer to finals!
Mustang00
9 Jun 2006, 12:07
I agree with all you lads out there that Newtown without college are a very basic side and without collge have no chance of making finals. I've herd around the traps that the big fella "nashy" is out nmassive loss to newtown and without him are simply no good
Mustang00
9 Jun 2006, 12:27
Gday Again,
Just wondering about the defenders in the competition anyone got any ideas on the best defenders in the league and afew from each club?
Maybe the best run with defenders sacrificing their own game for the team and then afew run off type defenders who set alot of play up off the backline? Let me Know
pudski poodlers
9 Jun 2006, 15:38
Wizzfizz what are you talking about. I have a few mates that play for lara and from what iv been told Stevo has killed who ever he plays on. I also have seen him play twice this season and he was to big and to strong for his opponents. Its simple who ever he plays on he destroys.
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 16:25
FF then.... there are no good full backs in the GFL thats why stevo kicks goals. if u think stevo is a good full-foward think again.
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 16:27
I agree with all you lads out there that Newtown without college are a very basic side and without collge have no chance of making finals. I've herd around the traps that the big fella "nashy" is out nmassive loss to newtown and without him are simply no good
i definatly agree with you mate but without thier college players they have managed to get a few wins on the board and that is all they have to do whilst they dont have college playing for them. if they can win games without them they will easily be in with a shot for finals
look out for these college players to come into the newtown the side this week.
1. James McArthur- around 185cm/ about 90kg (CHF/HF) will be a huge gain!... and will be the biggest bloke in GFL, hes a tank! goes in hard, and has good foot skills. could probs play falcons. will be extremely hard to match up on!
2. Andrew McArthur- around 182cm/ about 90kg (CHB/FB) massive like his twin brother.... probably the 2 biggest boys in GFL. will beat 'any!!' foward in GFL
3. Steen Balodis- around 180cm/about 75 kg (Rover) about 75 kg very good hands and could even be down at falcons, from Ammo's last season, will be one of the better on-ballers in the leauge. playing with mcmahon, mclure, grant. will be a very good engine room
4. Tom Steinfort- around 190cm/ about 90kg (Ruck/FF) another big boy, will be a very good ruckman in GFL, clean pair of hands and takes big pack marks. struggles with his kicking but will be a huge bonus to the side.
5. Cam Russell- around 185cm/ about 85kg (FF) very very good hands, son of ex geelong footballer glen russell, will probs be the best FF in the league but his kicking in front of goal is very inaccurate so might not be as dangerous on the goalkicking ladder.
6. Ben McClure- around 182 cm around 82kg (Rover) coming off a foot injury but has played the last 4 games with college. very hard at it. good footskills on both feet, playing in the U/16 Vic team he will be one of the best on-ballers in the leauge.
7. Will Schofield- around 194cm/ around 75kg (CHB/ Ruck) has played falcons games earlier this year but with the recent sucsess of the falcons it will be hard for him to make it back into the side.big 196 cm. also played in the U/16 Vic metro side.will dominate GFL if he plays!
8. Micheal Rockefeller- around 180 cm/around 80kg (Rover) Very very doubtful he will play because he should be back at falcons as he started on the ball for the 1st 3 games this year. avg of about 25 disp for falcons, has been asked about seniors but if he plays for 18's will easily get 40 disp a game.
Who thinks wizzfizz has a pull over all these blokes? lol
u must be real close to no all this info about these blokes are you a towner ?????????
FF then.... there are no good full backs in the GFL thats why stevo kicks goals. if u think stevo is a good full-foward think again.
I thought be cappra was meant to be good? wasnt he down at the falcs?
Anyone who can outplay 4 different backman in one match is decent.
Gday Again,
Just wondering about the defenders in the competition anyone got any ideas on the best defenders in the league and afew from each club?
Maybe the best run with defenders sacrificing their own game for the team and then afew run off type defenders who set alot of play up off the backline? Let me Know
I heard lara have a few good backman and connoly from west isnt too bad either i dont really no of any other good backman but.
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 16:59
Who thinks wizzfizz has a pull over all these blokes? lol
u must be real close to no all this info about these blokes are you a towner ?????????
no im not a towner, never will be!
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 17:04
Gday Again,
Even norbury (BP), Keiran woods (BP), Calvin Hillear (BP), Tory Liuzzi (lara), Sam Green ( Sth. B), Jack Chaffer (Grvd).... bout all i can think of that actually run off and create play. most GFL defenders wont run-off.
chaffer plays on ball!
Wizzfizz
9 Jun 2006, 17:37
does he..... i knew he would but i just thought he would have played backline aswell
no im not a towner, never will be!
arnt you then wat team do you play for wizzfizz????
Who would have the best midfield in the comp? Played agaisnt gwsp probly the most under rated midfield in the competion have some very handy players in there that win alot of centre clerences.
newtown at full strength i think have the best midfield!
ridmania
9 Jun 2006, 20:52
Well this year looks to be defintly exciting wouldn't you say boys? From Newtown relying on it's "College" boys to a few certain teams who rely on too much on select players and do not commit enough to good old team work. Tut tut Boner, at least your still trying mate for that i give you some credit but at Newtown i'm not too sure about that. Looking at joeys performances i have to say without they're falcons players they have little heart and don't go in for the ball very hard. On the other hand i'm not playing in the ones this year and i was able to go and watch the lara versus grovedale match and i have to say even though lara don't have their "star" players they work as a team and are a good unit. They have some excellent backmen such as the skipper Torz Liuzzi who is a champion half back, he alone holds the defense in check and week in week out can be seen dodging players and breaking tackles to do his bit for the team. You also have Ricky "fatty" Joyce and a under rated full back by the name of Jason Hall. This defender is a unknown but week in week out takes on the on of the best forward and is seen spoiling 9/10 of the marks in the defensive 50. Onto the midfield, i have to admit there is no extrodianry talent but with the height of Matt "muzzer" Maray there is hope for futere generations. Now into the forawrd line, you have a few forawrds with average talent but then you have the big man Michael "stevo" Stevenson, when his on fire he will beat any man one on one in the square, kicks dead straight and can lead hard and fast. All in all Lara will be pushing hard for finals this year, all they need is the hunger for the football and based on the last 2 games i can see it and they want it bad. My bet this year is for joeys to be competing with lara for 5th spot due to joey's seemingly bullcrap attitude towards it's football and how they play it.
ridmania
9 Jun 2006, 20:54
newtown at full strength i think have the best midfield!
come now hilly "at full strengh" you can't include college players in your full strength side when they really arent part of the team.
OF COURSE THERE APART OF OUR TEAM!!!! HOW ARE THEY NOT?? look in the record mate!!