View Full Version : Dogs vs Freo Face Off Thread
Welcome to the BigFooty Face-off where a Dogs fan and a quality poster from the opposition will give their analysis of how and where their team can win.
This week it's Rocco Jones from the Dogs up against RIPPER_46, one of the best posters from the Fremantle Board to discuss the match at the Telstra Dome this Sunday.
Please welcome RIPPER_46, and I hope that many Dogs and Freo fans will join in. This a thread for quality discussion in a good spirit - any troll posts from either side will be deleted.
What Freo have to do to beat the Bulldogs.
Bottle up the Bullies midfield the same as was done vs West Coast with strong tackling.
I would expect that Dodd will mind Cooney and Josh Carr will go head to head with Scotty West with Walker running with Griffen.
The Bulldogs have a small forward line so between Parker , Grover , Johnson , Hayden (if selected) we should be able to keep them under wraps.
Freo should have an advantage height wise in the forward line with Pavlich , MacPharlin , Longmuir/Polak/Sandilands/Changing forward while Medhurst can play tall or short and with Farmer provide good crumbing options.
If the ball is moved quickley with precison often enough I can see no problem kicking a score.
Des Headland has been cleared to play and along with Macca seems to relish playing the Bulldogs , both have been well amongst the brownlow votes the last few games between the clubs.
The key to this game is getting first use of the ball and using it effectivly as both teams are great rebounders from the Backline.
All in all this should be a beauty
My prediced team
B: Hayden Parker Grover
HB M Carr Johnson Walker
C Peake Schammer Dodd
HF Headland Pavlich MacManus
F Farmer Macpharlin Longmuir
R Sandilands J Carr Black
I Polak , Medhurst , Mundy , Haselby
Emergencies Duffield , Gilmore , Murphy /Campbell
dockerzrule
6 Jun 2006, 18:58
Really looking forward to a real exciting game between our 2 teams,
I was just wondering who you think will pick up Pav. Im assuming Harris will play full back on either McPharlin or Polak maybe Grant will play on him? If Pav fires then I think we may win by 2-3 goals, if you guys stop him maybe a win for Bullies by a couple. Either way should be exciting game;)
Really looking forward to a real exciting game between our 2 teams,
I was just wondering who you think will pick up Pav. Im assuming Harris will play full back on either McPharlin or Polak maybe Grant will play on him? If Pav fires then I think we may win by 2-3 goals, if you guys stop him maybe a win for Bullies by a couple. Either way should be exciting game;)
Pav won't play...
Only kidding.
Hargrave, Harris or Morris...
TheWackedYak
6 Jun 2006, 19:15
it won't be Harris as he'll run him stupid. Morris/Hargrave seems a reasonable bet...
Hard Ball Get
6 Jun 2006, 21:17
it won't be Harris as he'll run him stupid. Morris/Hargrave seems a reasonable bet...
I'd give him to Hargrave first up.
The midfield battles will be interesting. If my memory is correct they have kicked a lot of goals against us the last few times so it will be interesting to see how we try to curb their ability to score.
jd hot stuff
6 Jun 2006, 22:15
Id rather shaggy play on Pav then any other of our defenders as his about the same hot and can match his pace and can run all day long on him. And the midfield battle will be a good one and it might be slightly easer for due to the fact that Bell is out, Bell seams to play his best we he plays us.
Heaps of intriguing matchups. I'm looking forward to Sandilands lining up against Street.
I think we are a chance with Headland in the team though i'll be tipping you guys (apparently this is blasphemy, but i'm doing very well in my tipping comp and i think you are a better chance than us).
If we hit targets in the forwardline we should win. This is a huge IF. If we don't you will hammer us on the rebound and you'll win convincingly. If we do manage to nail targets your shorter defence will struggle to contain our tall options.
Thats why Headlands inclusion is such a big deal. One of the few who can deliver the ball lace out over 50-60m.
jd hot stuff
7 Jun 2006, 00:36
Heaps of intriguing matchups. I'm looking forward to Sandilands lining up against Street.
I think we are a chance with Headland in the team though i'll be tipping you guys (apparently this is blasphemy, but i'm doing very well in my tipping comp and i think you are a better chance than us).
If we hit targets in the forwardline we should win. This is a huge IF. If we don't you will hammer us on the rebound and you'll win convincingly. If we do manage to nail targets your shorter defence will struggle to contain our tall options.
Thats why Headlands inclusion is such a big deal. One of the few who can deliver the ball lace out over 50-60m.
Very true, if you do hit your targets you will just win, but with bell out i think you might lack a bit of running work in your midfield + when he plays us he plays some of his best footy. And for us to win we will have to keep Pav out of the match wich will be very hard to do due to the fact he is a great forward.
lifelike_
7 Jun 2006, 00:40
The two biggest men in the AFL IIRC.
Whoever wins that battle will most likely be on the winning team when the final siren sounds.
lifelike_
7 Jun 2006, 01:09
Very true, if you do hit your targets you will just win, but with bell out i think you might lack a bit of running work in your midfield + when he plays us he plays some of his best footy. And for us to win we will have to keep Pav out of the match wich will be very hard to do due to the fact he is a great forward.
That's another key point. Our delivery into the F50 of late hasn't exactly been something to write home about, and with Freo able to run the ball out of the backline efficiently, our missed target down one end could end up with Pavlich and Medhurst among others lining up from the other end.
Rocco Jones
7 Jun 2006, 01:30
6-4 vs 6-4, obviously a big game for both sides.
Freo expose the cliche tall weakness for us down back. J-Lo seems to pull out every week for them and McPharlin has struggled this year, as well as coming off an injury. Pavlich already poses a huge danger so hopefully the two will continue to have a reduced impact. They seem to struggle to get the right balance between the big 3 when forward. I think we will need to have Grant down back for the majority of the game. I'd go with Hargrave on Pavlich, Harris on McPharlin and Grant on J-Lo/Polak. If Pavlich is creating problems outside 50 there is the option to move Morris on him and Harris if Pavlich is playing deep. Morris on Farmer or Peake if he is having a good day.
Sandilands was a big inclusion last week, they seem to be a considerably better side with him in. We have the poor man's Sandliands in Street. Hopefully Street can take advantage up against a player who doesn't expose his weakness as much as others. How hitouts are taken advantage of/sharked by Cooney, Cross and Westy will be vital. I think Freo struggle a bit for pace, so would love to see a guy like Jordy in there to expose them. McMahon seems like he is ready to take the next step.
I think Freo's backline is vulnerable to power forwards, something we cannot take advantage of. Can't really see a role for Parker if Grant's back, really can expose him. Freo seem to love rebounding from defence like us (bit less now Mundy in out), using Schammer in a quarter-back role. Would like to see us pressure them in this regard, Robbo's workrate will be important and would also like to see Faulkner given a chance. Michael Johnson has been a revelation down back, sensational at creating attack from defence. Kind of player I hope Cam Wight can be something like. M Johnson can create alot of problems for us around half forward as his atheltic ability will mean he isn't exposed pace wise while hurting us with his size.
I assume they will be playing Grover on Johnson if he is playing deep, in a tough, annoying lockdown role that can really hurt Johnno at times. It seems as if Johnno can really struggle with them or just totally expose them. We really need the latter. Johnson v Johnson is a chance if our boy is playing in a CHF role.
How mobile is Sandlilands around the ground, how's his endurance and what are his kicking and handball skills like?
I ask this in the hope that we have found the perfect match for big Streety.
How mobile is Sandlilands around the ground, how's his endurance and what are his kicking and handball skills like?
I ask this in the hope that we have found the perfect match for big Streety.
Big Sandilands was meant to be out for another 5 weeks, but played last week after just 3 on the sidelines with a broken jaw..big effort...also had a BIG impact in the clearances early for Freo. Kicked a goal & was running flat out around the ground trying to get some touches....his teammates don't use him enough though....kicking skills have improved out of sight, BUT, he's probably a once a month contested mark ruckman.
He's 125kg's...dunno what Street is, but I reckon Sandilands is a lot bulkier than Streety just going from the idiot box
He is. Street is still pretty lanky.
SHould be a great game, however i feel the dogs have a slight edge in that they have a slightly better and more potent midfield, and a few more avenues to goal. The Freo forward line looms large though, and how our taller defenders play could dictate the way the game goes if Freo are able to move the ball quickly.
Looking forward to it, any news on tv coverage, especially in sa?
Dog Town
7 Jun 2006, 18:47
Freo expose the cliche tall weakness for us down back. J-Lo seems to pull out every week for them and McPharlin has struggled this year, as well as coming off an injury. Pavlich already poses a huge danger so hopefully the two will continue to have a reduced impact. They seem to struggle to get the right balance between the big 3 when forward. I think we will need to have Grant down back for the majority of the game. I'd go with Hargrave on Pavlich, Harris on McPharlin and Grant on J-Lo/Polak. If Pavlich is creating problems outside 50 there is the option to move Morris on him and Harris if Pavlich is playing deep. Morris on Farmer or Peake if he is having a good day.
Sandilands was a big inclusion last week, they seem to be a considerably better side with him in. We have the poor man's Sandliands in Street. Hopefully Street can take advantage up against a player who doesn't expose his weakness as much as others. How hitouts are taken advantage of/sharked by Cooney, Cross and Westy will be vital. I think Freo struggle a bit for pace, so would love to see a guy like Jordy in there to expose them. McMahon seems like he is ready to take the next step.
I think Freo's backline is vulnerable to power forwards, something we cannot take advantage of. Can't really see a role for Parker if Grant's back, really can expose him. Freo seem to love rebounding from defence like us (bit less now Mundy in out), using Schammer in a quarter-back role. Would like to see us pressure them in this regard, Robbo's workrate will be important and would also like to see Faulkner given a chance. Michael Johnson has been a revelation down back, sensational at creating attack from defence. Kind of player I hope Cam Wight can be something like. M Johnson can create alot of problems for us around half forward as his atheltic ability will mean he isn't exposed pace wise while hurting us with his size.
I assume they will be playing Grover on Johnson if he is playing deep, in a tough, annoying lockdown role that can really hurt Johnno at times. It seems as if Johnno can really struggle with them or just totally expose them. We really need the latter. Johnson v Johnson is a chance if our boy is playing in a CHF role.Good stuff Rocco.
Personally I think Harris will play on Pavlich unless he is really pushing up the ground alot.Typical scenario with our defensive set up.Do we play smaller with any 3 of Hargrave,Harris,Morris and Gilbee taking the the three talls allowing Grant to go forward or do we start Grant down back? Grant has spent much more time forward over the last few weeks and I wouldn't be shocked if Eade went small down back again and dared the dockers to go tall as he has done before..As Rocco noted they have struggled at times to get the three talls working in well together at times.If Grant plays down back then I think Morris or Hargrave will get Medhurst who is more of a leading type.Really with Pav,Longmuir,McPharlin,Farmer and Medhurst we have a couple of options for each player so it will be interesting to see how it pans out.
Really worried about Sandilands influence at the stoppages.Street needs to respond after his recent performances and games do not get much bigger than this week.Agree with Rocco that we can stretch them for pace if we get the ball out in the open but beating them in close will be no walk over.The dockers are pretty good in close these days and can mix it up with the best of them.
He is. Street is still pretty lanky.
SHould be a great game, however i feel the dogs have a slight edge in that they have a slightly better and more potent midfield, and a few more avenues to goal. The Freo forward line looms large though, and how our taller defenders play could dictate the way the game goes if Freo are able to move the ball quickly.
Looking forward to it, any news on tv coverage, especially in sa?
It's on 9 in Melb @ 4pm & Fox Footy @ 8.30pm.
sabre_ac
8 Jun 2006, 12:02
J-Lo wont be playing, I dont think he is getting back for a while.
McPharlin is definitely struggling, and as yet hasnt looked like turning it around...Perhaps this is the game for him.
Pavlich is obviously your biggest threat and will be very hard to match up on. If Conolly plays him deep in the forward line one out, your going to have to double team him.
Farmer too has been down on form and is due for a big one.
Obviously freo are going to try and make the most of the doggies lack of height and presumeably the doggies arnt going to put on a massive flood like hte tigers did.
You over estimate how good sandilands is for the side.
Our best football was against the eagles with him out and Polak in the ruck.
Unfortunately for the dockers good midfields read him better than ours.
Comes down to Haselby, the guy has to pull his finger out as he is our premire midfielder and has simply been dissmal of late.
Peak and Headland are our pace out wide and peak is definitely given more of a liscence to take the ball and just run. He may require a tag as when he is up and running few players in the competition will keep up with the kid, his disposal at full pace is another matter entirely though.
Freo MUST play man on man football in this game.
I think you underate our backline. Currently the form area of our side and gives us the majority of our run.
Grover and Johnson are some of the form backmen of the competition. Grover will play deep and Johnson at CHB providing run and poise.
That said though dont be surprised if McPharlin is put down back as well freeing Johnson up as a sweeper. McPharlin too offers excellent rebound and is deceptively quick. While we probably dont need so much height down back, like I said our drive comes from half back and I hold little hope of us winning many clearancs.
If you let Johnson run free he will kill you with his ability to read the play and kicking accuracey. Turn the game against Richmond and with Pavlich is currently our best performed players.
Ultimate this game from a freo perspective will come down to a number of things.
1. Freo's ability stem the tide if Doggies get on one of their runs.
2. Our midfield breaking even or at least being accountable.
3. How big an impact Pavlich has.
4. Our backline continuing to provide drive.
Love the way the doggies play, going to be a great game....CANT WAIT!
scooter600x
8 Jun 2006, 15:18
You over estimate how good sandilands is for the side.
Our best football was against the eagles with him out and Polak in the ruck.
Unfortunately for the dockers good midfields read him better than ours.
Sounds just like Street
While we probably dont need so much height down back, like I said our drive comes from half back and I hold little hope of us winning many clearancs.
We haven't won a clearance in a month either, maybe the ball won't get cleared at all. One big ball up for the whole game.
I'd just like to call Mr Jones a bitch, as I won't have the pleasure of saying it to his face this time :(
Tough game to call - I think if Pav comes to play, and McPharlin can kick3 or 4, Freo by 2-3 goals.
No input meaningful from them, and we're in for a 5 goal loss.
Oh, and Rocco you suck.
Much love,
Uncle kuep
Rocco Jones
8 Jun 2006, 18:58
I'd just like to call Mr Jones a bitch, as I won't have the pleasure of saying it to his face this time :(
Tough game to call - I think if Pav comes to play, and McPharlin can kick3 or 4, Freo by 2-3 goals.
No input meaningful from them, and we're in for a 5 goal loss.
Oh, and Rocco you suck.
Much love,
Uncle kuep
Hugs
An interesting scenario is for Robbins to play slightly further put from goal and pressure the Freo runners off the backline. He played a little further out against the Hawks and it did help curb the precision delivery into the opposition forward line.
Doggies will allow an opposition F50 entries if the entries are rushed, as we are more likely to run the ball from Griffen or McMohan out of the backline than from our midfield, which has been well held of late, even aginst the Hawks when for periods of the game it looked as if we couldn't buy a clearance.
I hope Freo do try and stretch us for height. Most teams get found out against us, as with 4 talls in the forward line there is generally one who is not fully prepared foir the defensive side of turnovers.
Dog Town
8 Jun 2006, 21:57
2. Our midfield breaking even or at least being accountable.
!Our 4 losses this year have come when we have been absolutely smashed in the midfield.If we break even with you particularly at the stoppages and contested ball situations then we will be well on our way to winning.For you guys you really need to dominate us in close and at the stoppages because we are extremely good at spreading opposition sides with our run.Only way to stop us kicking a big score seems to be by either denying us the ball or by clogging up the middle of the ground (effectively a half ground flood).The crows,swans,saints and pies all did this in one way or another.Freo are certainly capable of doing it but I think they need to have a big win in those areas.
This year it is our defensive pressure in the midfield which has come to the fore, and I think this is what will turn the tables on the dockers this time around. they have loved playing us of late, precisely because we have let them run loose.
I like Grant forward, it just helps to have the Man's presence up there for the midfield to kick to and to provide that space for our other forwards by pushing the oppositon around and knocking them over. harris provides a similar presence in the backline these days and I think we can get away without grant there too.
bloody small forwards, we still cant stop them reliably. OBviously we will give macmahon first crack at farmer, but he has been blowing hot and cold and I would be ready to make the switch of morris onto farmer as soon as famrer even hints at being dangerous.
Freo is a bit of a free-wheeling team and I expect eagleton to step up and have a big impact if freo gives him any lattitude.
Hard Ball Get
9 Jun 2006, 18:35
Hopefully all our players that have been affected by the Gastro bug fully recover in time.
Apparantly Jonno, Gia and Smith have been ill all day.
I think the fact that the game is at the dome is a major issue for Freo. The shifting surface really seems to unsettle our blokes, if I recall the last time we played there our disposal was poor because the plant foot shifts just as you are kicking the ball. You can adjust and get used to it if you play there regularly which we don't.
If this game was at Subi or the MCG I would be pretty confident but I am a bit worried about this game.
West in is Brownlow form (as usual) and our midfield with Bell out and Hase either down on form or carrying an injury will have to really lift to break even.
I still think that we can win but a lot of things will have to go right for us in the middle of the ground for us to pinch it.
Here's hoping that the game lives up to expectations and is a good close game.
Dry Rot
10 Jun 2006, 00:00
I think the fact that the game is at the dome is a major issue for Freo. The shifting surface really seems to unsettle our blokes, if I recall the last time we played there our disposal was poor because the plant foot shifts just as you are kicking the ball. You can adjust and get used to it if you play there regularly which we don't.
Interesting point. Mind you, playing there regularly takes its own account we can assure you.
If this game was at Subi or the MCG I would be pretty confident but I am a bit worried about this game.
What's your record at the G vs the Dome?
Here's hoping that the game lives up to expectations and is a good close game.
Agreed.
Freo is a bit of a second team for me - I have a lot of relatives in Perth who are all Eagles fans and hate the Dogs. It was great when you beat them in the derby. I was also a big Clive Waterhouse fan.
I rarely get to see Freo over here, and hence an honest question.
Your team has a lot of talent on paper and I've seen them play some great footy, but also the complete opposite. Why?
A simple answer is that that they don't travel well. IMHO I find them an enigma, and I make these comments and questions not as a troll but in the spirit of this thread.
And also relevant to this thread - we've had a poor record vs Freo i recent years, and what worries me is that we may meet the "good" Freo on Sunday. On a good day you have a bloody good spine.
Freo is a bit of a second team for me - I have a lot of relatives in Perth who are all Eagles fans and hate the Dogs. It was great when you beat them in the derby.
Likewise. All my family are Freo members - from 80year old grandparents down - and attend the games every week. That's what will make it even funnier when my brothers phone is playing 'Sons of the Scray' from the finish of Sunday's game until the next Freo win...
Freeeoo
10 Jun 2006, 13:23
Interesting point. Mind you, playing there regularly takes its own account we can assure you.
What's your record at the G vs the Dome?
Agreed.
Freo is a bit of a second team for me - I have a lot of relatives in Perth who are all Eagles fans and hate the Dogs. It was great when you beat them in the derby. I was also a big Clive Waterhouse fan.
I rarely get to see Freo over here, and hence an honest question.
Your team has a lot of talent on paper and I've seen them play some great footy, but also the complete opposite. Why?
A simple answer is that that they don't travel well. IMHO I find them an enigma, and I make these comments and questions not as a troll but in the spirit of this thread.
And also relevant to this thread - we've had a poor record vs Freo i recent years, and what worries me is that we may meet the "good" Freo on Sunday. On a good day you have a bloody good spine.
Freo's record at the G vs The Dome:- Someone who is a bit more statistics minded than I would be able to tell us exactly but our record at the G in recent times (the last few years) hasn't been to bad, at the Dome however it is dismal.
As far as our record on the road, if you look at the travelling record of all clubs, Freo stacks up very well.
The problem is consistency, last year we dropped vital games at home that cost us a finals berth but our away record was good. To be more precise, I believe it is the inconsistency of our midfield that lets us down. Our young backline is really settling down and performing well most weeks, our forward line usually delivers of we get the ball down there quickly enough. Our midfield can be blown away for large sections of games and seem unable to arrest the tide when a team gets a run on (which your team is very capable of).
Freo1995
11 Jun 2006, 12:39
Freo will either win, or get belted by 10 goals.
Freo = jekyl & hyde
Dry Rot
11 Jun 2006, 12:45
Freo = jekyl & hyde
Every side can have a bad day at the office, but Freo seems to really be a jekyl and hyde side. Why? Seems to go beyond playing away.
Freo1995
11 Jun 2006, 12:56
Every side can have a bad day at the office, but Freo seems to really be a jekyl and hyde side. Why? Seems to go beyond playing away.
If anyone knew the answer, im sure we would have won some kind of final by now.:confused:
MrChristo
11 Jun 2006, 13:33
Freo will either win, or get belted by 10 goals.
Freo = jekyl & hyde
I don't think Freo have been 'jekyl & hyde' at all...
...apart from the win over the Eagles (very good win), I think their form has been ordinary (well, middle of the road at best) all season.
Don't score well...only topped 100 three times, v. the worst 3 defensive teams in the comp. (Port, Carlton, Tiges)
Had 4 less shots in the win over St. Kilda in Tassie...Saints hate the place, and never play well.
Had 11 less shots than Adelaide, in what looked like a close game.
Same amount of shots against the Kangas in what looked to be a decent win.
Belted by Melbourne and Brisbane.
You'd have to say they were reasonably lucky to scrape passed Richmond last week.
The Dogs have scored 100+ in 6 of 10 games...98 v. Geelong, and 3 < 98 v. 3 of the very best defensive teams. (Crows, Collingwood and Saints @ the Dome).
Pretty confident we will have another win of around 20 points this week.
They won against St Kilda away and beat Port at AAMI.
Did what they had to do against Richmond. Not the worst side going around but i think we'll have their measure by about 30 points.
Freo1995
11 Jun 2006, 13:58
I don't think Freo have been 'jekyl & hyde' at all...
...apart from the win over the Eagles (very good win), I think their form has been ordinary (well, middle of the road at best) all season.
Don't score well...only topped 100 three times, v. the worst 3 defensive teams in the comp. (Port, Carlton, Tiges)
Had 4 less shots in the win over St. Kilda in Tassie...Saints hate the place, and never play well.
Had 11 less shots than Adelaide, in what looked like a close game.
Same amount of shots against the Kangas in what looked to be a decent win.
Belted by Melbourne and Brisbane.
You'd have to say they were reasonably lucky to scrape passed Richmond last week.
The Dogs have scored 100+ in 6 of 10 games...98 v. Geelong, and 3 < 98 v. 3 of the very best defensive teams. (Crows, Collingwood and Saints @ the Dome).
Pretty confident we will have another win of around 20 points this week.
Freo are consistant in being inconsistant. IMHO