View Full Version : A trip down Bulldog Lane - Simon Beasley

Aquamarinejewel
6 Jun 2006, 21:22
Simon Beasley played 154 games for the Dogs between the years of 1982 - 1989 and kicked 575 goals in his time with the Bulldogs. He hailed from Western Australia and was recruited from Swan Districts and went on to become on of the Bulldogs best Full Forwards.

He kicked 12 goals on three occasions Geelong in 1982 and against Richmond and Melbourne in 1985 along with winning the Coleman Medal in the same year with 105 goals. I remember him as a great overhead mark and lead well. He is now a sports Bookmaker. Simon "The Pieman" Beasley was definitely an important Bulldog in Footscray Football Club's history.

Thoughts?

Wind Sock
6 Jun 2006, 22:49
He was big. Produced fast, well-timed leads and marked very well on the lead. Once he got a yard on a full back, it was all over if the ball was delivered reasonably well. Not a great contested mark—sometimes gave the impression the ball was hitting him—and not great on the ground although he always contested. Beasley chasing was one of the funnier sights in the 80s but he always tried. He kicked for goal as well as all but the very best forwards. In recent decades, forwards like Templeton, Quinlan and Grant were much better all round footballers, but Beasley was a very fine specialist full forward. For long term consistency, he's the best we've had since Jack Collins, perhaps ever.

The_Flying_Egg
6 Jun 2006, 22:55
Beasley was my first favourite player. I went to my first game in 1988, it was at the G against Melbourne, Beasley kicked 8 and we smacked them. Tragically however I was brought to tears when I lost the Beasley badge Dad bought for me before the game :( I was also in tears when he retired not long after. Is a great man

Benno From Berwick
7 Jun 2006, 15:28
Simon the Pieman.

His first season was a one of contrast.

The first half he kick 20 odd goals and in the second half kicked 60 plus to finish with 82 or there abouts.

His first kick, at Windy Hill Bombers killed us, went out of bounds on the full. I think they won by 143 points. Steve McPherson played is first game as well......

scooter600x
7 Jun 2006, 15:45
Simon the Pieman.

His first season was a one of contrast.

The first half he kick 20 odd goals and in the second half kicked 60 plus to finish with 82 or there abouts.

His first kick, at Windy Hill Bombers killed us, went out of bounds on the full. I think they won by 143 points. Steve McPherson played is first game as well......
I clearly remember his first game. It was a shocker. That OOB was about his only kick.

I remember going home on the train telling anyone who would listen that we had spent $100K on a dud.

Turned out to be a well spent $100K.

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
7 Jun 2006, 17:53
I was a great fan of Simon as a kid, and can recall running out onto Waverley after a game against North (I think if not, Richmond) in 84, getting his autograph in my Footy record.
My mum used to reckon he looked like an oldman the way he joged around. He used to jog around with 2 thumbs up. Beasley running, as Windsock noted was indeed a funny sight.

Sedat!
7 Jun 2006, 18:26
If you ever want to stump your footy mates with a trivia question, try this one:

Q: Who kicked the most goals in the VFL in the 1980's?
A: Simon Beasley.

Guaranteed you will get Lockett's and Dunstall's left, right and centre ;)

I loved the Pieman. He was so consistent for us from 1982 until 1988. Only in his last year did he start to fall away (frankly the whole team did in 1989). His raw numbers are super impressive but imagine if he started his VFL career at 20 instead of 26. He would be lauded as one of the all-time greats.

My favourite memory is obviously kicking the winning goal in 1984 against the scum at the kennel when Gubby Allen kicked across goal. Jim Edmond letting Allen know all about it was great viewing. I also loved the way that Mick Malthouse would wait until the weather forecast on the Saturday morning before deciding whether or not to play Beaser on the wet tracks. He certainly liked it dry. I remember one day at the kennel when Mick actually played him on one of those typically horrible wet days, Beaser came out on one of those trademark strong leads down the corridor, but alas the slippery ball went straight through his fingers and hit him fair on the bonce, leaving a big red sherrin mark on his receeding forehead. God that was funny.

Wind Sock
7 Jun 2006, 18:29
I was a great fan of Simon as a kid, and can recall running out onto Waverley after a game against North (I think if not, Richmond) in 84, getting his autograph in my Footy record.
My mum used to reckon he looked like an oldman the way he joged around. He used to jog around with 2 thumbs up. Beasley running, as Windsock noted was indeed a funny sight.

Beaser was the only footballer I've ever seen who looked more comfortable in a tuxedo than in football gear. I remember him that first year well—1982 wasn't it? One day at Carlton he was flapping around in the goal square and a mate of mine, a Carlton supporter, yelled out 'You animal, Beasley'. Everybody laughed, especially the Bulldog supporters. The guy beside me said 'We wish he were.'

He never turned into an animal but he did turn into a fine leading full forward.

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
7 Jun 2006, 18:35
If you ever want to stump your footy mates with a trivia question, try this one:

Q: Who kicked the most goals in the VFL in the 1980's?
A: Simon Beasley.

Guaranteed you will get Lockett's and Dunstall's left, right and centre ;)

I loved the Pieman. He was so consistent for us from 1982 until 1988. Only in his last year did he start to fall away (frankly the whole team did in 1989). His raw numbers are super impressive but imagine if he started his VFL career at 20 instead of 26. He would be lauded as one of the all-time greats.

My favourite memory is obviously kicking the winning goal in 1984 against the scum at the kennel when Gubby Allen kicked across goal. Jim Edmond letting Allen know all about it was great viewing. I also loved the way that Mick Malthouse would wait until the weather forecast on the Saturday morning before deciding whether or not to play Beaser on the wet tracks. He certainly liked it dry. I remember one day at the kennel when Mick actually played him on one of those typically horrible wet days, Beaser came out on one of those trademark strong leads down the corridor, but alas the slippery ball went straight through his fingers and hit him fair on the bonce, leaving a big red sherrin mark on his receeding forehead. God that was funny.

Yup, that goal by Simon in 84 to win the game against the Filth was amazing.
One of my best footy memories as a kid.
does anyone recall if that is also the game that Rod Macpherson kicked 2 quick goals in the first quarter? And was that Rod's debut??

mackem
7 Jun 2006, 21:08
My favourite memory is obviously kicking the winning goal in 1984 against the scum at the kennel when Gubby Allen kicked across goal. Jim Edmond letting Allen know all about it was great viewing.

The thing that annoys me about that was Simon was never given any credence for taking the mark. It was always about "Grubby's" kick.

Aquamarinejewel
7 Jun 2006, 21:09
I clearly remember his first game. It was a shocker. That OOB was about his only kick.

Same here scooter600x, I also remember that...and I was thinking at the time just our rotten luck. How wrong I was. :)

Mofra
7 Jun 2006, 22:13
From memory, Beasley is also partly-responsible for the second siren being introduced that allowed kids to run on the ground, instead of the rush onto the ground when the first siren went.

A match at Carrara against the Bears, he had a kick from the boundary line after the siren and the officals had a hard time keeping the crowd away, some goose poured their VB all over him and he evntually missed the kick.

One thing about Beasley the Stockbroker, at training you always knew which car was his (the Merc amongst the utes & panel vans).

Probably doesn't get the cudos he deserves as a clubman as well, still serving the club well & is always there for the players.

Fat Smitty 18
8 Jun 2006, 00:28
Simon Beasley played 154 games for the Dogs between the years of 1982 - 1989 and kicked 575 goals in his time with the Bulldogs. He hailed from Western Australia and was recruited from Swan Districts and went on to become on of the Bulldogs best Full Forwards.

He kicked 12 goals on three occasions Geelong in 1982 and against Richmond and Melbourne in 1985 along with winning the Coleman Medal in the same year with 105 goals. I remember him as a great overhead mark and lead well. He is now a sports Bookmaker. Simon "The Pieman" Beasley was definitely an important Bulldog in Footscray Football Club's history.

Thoughts?

Beasley was the reason I wore number 18 when I played. Pity I wasn't anywhere near the FF he was

H Dolphin
8 Jun 2006, 08:48
Probably doesn't get the cudos he deserves as a clubman as well, still serving the club well & is always there for the players.
He averaged just short of 4 goals a game. He was a constant. His one blemish was to initially publically support the merger. I think he was influenced by Nick Columb with whom he was close at the time. Otherwise an absolute ornament and an entertaining speaker at sportsman's nights. I used to love it when opposition supporters would let fly with a barrage of insults questioning his sexuality and comparing him with the tiny, mythical creatures who live at the bottom of the garden. He was 6 ft 4, as big as Mt Ararat and he copped it sweet without flinching.

Sedat!
8 Jun 2006, 09:20
The thing that annoys me about that was Simon was never given any credence for taking the mark. It was always about "Grubby's" kick.
Too true. The kick wasn't terrible, just a little high. Beaser showed fantastic anticipation to get there just before the ball got to its intended target. Ripping good mark.

As Mofra alluded to earlier, another great mark he took was at Carrara in that infamous game in 1988 when there were about 35 people on the mark after the siren. Took a diving slips catch under pressure, in the wet, with about 2 seconds left on the clock. Unfortunately the angle was virtually impossible for him to convert.

Mofra
8 Jun 2006, 21:12
I also remember the family day before the season in 1986, when the announcer described how skillful our list because "only one player could not kick with his left foot" and about 10,000 people looked at Beasley & giggled.

After kicking a ton I'm sure he couldn't have cared less

John Gent
9 Jun 2006, 09:29
Too true. The kick wasn't terrible, just a little high. Beaser showed fantastic anticipation to get there just before the ball got to its intended target. Ripping good mark.

Took it over the top of fat Greg Phillips