View Full Version : Ex-Rochester Players
hahaha
7th June 2006, 22:46
I was wondering if anyone from the Goulburn Valley could tell me what sort of players Jeremy Campbell and Tim Rassmussan were at Rochy. Were they dominant players?
I watched them play couple of weeks ago in the EFL and they both looked pretty handy, Rasmussan kicked 6 and Campbell won plenty of ball in the midfield. Easy to spot him with that bright red hair!
T.Perry
8th June 2006, 08:25
I was wondering if anyone from the Goulburn Valley could tell me what sort of players Jeremy Campbell and Tim Rassmussan were at Rochy. Were they dominant players?
I watched them play couple of weeks ago in the EFL and they both looked pretty handy, Rasmussan kicked 6 and Campbell won plenty of ball in the midfield. Easy to spot him with that bright red hair!
Both were exceptional players. Jezza was a very courageous, consistent and reliable on-baller who had a tremendous workrate, while Timmy was more of a superstar type player, potential matchwinner, awesome mark, very athletic, loved a goal..Timmy has always been hard to match up on because he has the marking capabilities of a 6' 3" or so player, but can match any smaller guy for speed, endurance, etc..I think Timmy's out this week with a hammy, and Jezza has been in solid form for Blackburn..
randallbone
8th June 2006, 16:53
Both were exceptional players. Jezza was a very courageous, consistent and reliable on-baller who had a tremendous workrate, while Timmy was more of a superstar type player, potential matchwinner, awesome mark, very athletic, loved a goal..Timmy has always been hard to match up on because he has the marking capabilities of a 6' 3" or so player, but can match any smaller guy for speed, endurance, etc..I think Timmy's out this week with a hammy, and Jezza has been in solid form for Blackburn..
Have to agree there Mr Perry. They are both well above average. Blackburn has been struggling a bit at this stage I believe, but you know they are certainly not going to be underdone if Jez is running training. If I'm not mistaken one Tim Rasmussen was playing at Hawthorn (reserves, VFL call it what you will) for a year or so after Pioneers...
centreman
8th June 2006, 17:00
I can't speak highly enough of Campbell. Champion player, bloke, tough as the come. Wonderful fellow, great family, great captain. Gives you everything they've got.
hahaha
8th June 2006, 18:40
Thanks for the input guys.
I also believe Chris McCarty had some role at Blackburn as well before he went overseas?
Good to see the GV boys mixing it up with the best in Melbourne.
Wayne Weideman
8th June 2006, 21:26
g'day boys. this is a feelgood thread isn't it. i would like to say that both these players, campbell and rasmussum are two blokes you love to have around footy clubs. larrikins, good mates and gun footballers. rochester are a club that have been blessed with loyal, gun footballers. these two going back a few years were getting ridiculous offers to play footy all over australia but in the end decided that no place beats playing at home. campbell a jerry sienfeild look-a-like i imagine would be a very good communicator where as rasmussun's actions on the field do the talking. WEIDEMAN OUT!!!:cool:
inCOGnito
25th May 2007, 10:17
Sensational players and were true leaders round the club. Would hope to see them in action at home again one day!
nesko_25
29th May 2007, 13:01
Isnt Tim looking to come back this way so he can play with Steve? I thought South Bendigo threw a bit of cash their way when Steve left Rochy but he decided to head to Rushy and Tim wanted to play a higher level.
bradrowe#32
29th May 2007, 13:53
Isnt Tim looking to come back this way so he can play with Steve? I thought South Bendigo threw a bit of cash their way when Steve left Rochy but he decided to head to Rushy and Tim wanted to play a higher level.
Tim played with Rochy until 2002 and then had a year with West Preston (for a flag) and then played with Rochy again in 2004. He moved to Blackburn with another Rochy player Jeremy Campbell who was coaching. Tim lives and works in Melbourne and probably got sck of travelling back every week.
I think Steve got a very good offer from South but chose Rushy because of his family connection out there. He plays for free, but knowing him, he probably negiotated a couple of pies and a few beers as part of his package.
cantmarkcantkick
29th May 2007, 16:15
what about martin kick
bradrowe#32
29th May 2007, 16:42
what about martin kick
Just about my favourite Rochy player ever. Not sure what happened to him. I think he left in 1995 and played with Moama, but I'm probably wrong.
GG Rides Again
4th June 2007, 13:05
Just about my favourite Rochy player ever. Not sure what happened to him. I think he left in 1995 and played with Moama, but I'm probably wrong.
Best player and bloke outside of Rochy locals to play in the last 15 years David Putamorsi by a mile. Kicky was a gun as was sparkes, but the best saturday night on the lunatic soup with was Jamie Duursma. Great bloke and his brother Disco also very well respected.
principal skinner
10th October 2007, 20:50
although timmy and jez now are in the twighlight of their careers, they have a lot to offer any club, bush or city. They have the two things any footy club needs and that is passion and commitment. Jezz has a real ambition to keep coaching and may one day be on the look out for a post in the bush again, Timmy just wants to ignite the playing fire post his injuries, go the burners
joshooaa
12th December 2007, 13:13
Does anyone know a former rochy player Brendon Hicks?
bradrowe#32
12th December 2007, 13:22
Does anyone know a former rochy player Brendon Hicks?
Yes.
Does he need bail?
GG Rides Again
13th December 2007, 08:22
Yes.
Does he need bail?
very funny Rowey. Brought a smile to my dial.
You could have ended it by " try the fish. I'm here all week"
joshooaa
18th December 2007, 22:38
i used to study with him back a few years ago in Melbourne. I was just wondering what he's up to because I remember he was a Rochy boy. Wouldnt mind getting in contact with him - always seemed a decent bloke to me?
bradrowe#32
19th December 2007, 13:20
i used to study with him back a few years ago in Melbourne. I was just wondering what he's up to because I remember he was a Rochy boy. Wouldnt mind getting in contact with him - always seemed a decent bloke to me?
He's a top fella.
He was o/s for awhile. I think he was in Ireland with his missus for ages. He's definitely bulked up, must of been on the Guinness for breakfast. Saw him at the last game of the GV when Rochy beat Echuca.
I guess you could try facebook? Everyone seems to be on their now.
joshooaa
29th December 2007, 21:55
He's a top fella.
He was o/s for awhile. I think he was in Ireland with his missus for ages. He's definitely bulked up, must of been on the Guinness for breakfast. Saw him at the last game of the GV when Rochy beat Echuca.
I guess you could try facebook? Everyone seems to be on their now.
Yeah tried that to no avail. Cheers anyway mate.