View Full Version : Essendon posters - are they standing firm?
One of the features over my years on BigFooty has been the presence of so many Essendon supporters who have been here week in week out. sure a few bandwagoners have blown in and out as they do for all teams. But the Bombers have had a squad of dedicated, loyal and quite verbose supporters who have formed quite a team in here. Unfortunately it seems that a period of "hopelessness" is too much for many of them. Some have shamelessly just completely vanished - most are still here but posting at a mere fraction of their previous rate and avoiding discussion of their plight.
A possible win tonight against the miserable Cats may see a few stagger back in - and that will be a good thing for Big Footy - its not the same without them!
Moss Rocket
9 Jun 2006, 09:25
Longy gives the most balanced and intelligent commantary on this forum. As a seriously regular poster, he has to put up with tools like Zeke, FU, Pav AA etc etc. He never gets personal and just tells it like it is. Not easy being a bomber at present, and he certainly can't be labelled farirweather.
I like his style!:)
Daytripper
9 Jun 2006, 09:25
One of the features over my years on BigFooty has been the presence of so many Essendon supporters who have been here week in week out. sure a few bandwagoners have blown in and out as they do for all teams. But the Bombers have had a squad of dedicated, loyal and quite verbose supporters who have formed quite a team in here. Unfortunately it seems that a period of "hopelessness" is too much for many of them. Some have shamelessly just completely vanished - most are still here but posting at a mere fraction of their previous rate and avoiding discussion of their plight.
A possible win tonight against the miserable Cats may see a few stagger back in - and that will be a good thing for Big Footy - its not the same without them!
Bay 13 Board.
Longy413
9 Jun 2006, 09:46
Longy gives the most balanced and intelligent commantary on this forum. As a seriously regular poster, he has to put up with tools like Zeke, FU, Pav AA etc etc. He never gets personal and just tells it like it is. Not easy being a bomber at present, and he certainly can't be labelled farirweather.
I like his style!:)
Thanks dad ;)
I reckon there are more Essendon supporters on these boards than there was this time last year.
Poor thread, but it's to be expected.
The Dice Man
9 Jun 2006, 09:52
Thanks dad ;)
I reckon there are more Essendon supporters on these boards than there was this time last year.
Poor thread, but it's to be expected.
Apparently they call this growth ;)
It's my understanding the members list has grown considerably over the last year, so ALL clubs have more supporters on these boards than this time last year.
There is no doubting as a whole, Bomber supporters are alot quieter this year. But I agree that you Longy, have stuck and flown the flag...
Unlike someone else ... ;)
BigFooty Veteran
Last Activity: 25th May 2006 12:13
essendon have got bad quicker than everyone thought. there supporters are not used to being hopeless and they dont know what to do.
every other team has had there chance in vicoria it is just essendons chance now.
draft picks might give you a couple of good players but it wont make a good team.
how much of the downfall is due to the fact that they could not keep all there players under the salary cap? Hird and the velvet sledehammer. but there list is turning a bit kouta on them.
I'm still here and always will be wether Bombers finish 1st or last. Got to tell it how it is nowadays ...
Daytripper
9 Jun 2006, 10:11
I'm still here and always will be wether Bombers finish 1st or last. Got to tell it how it is nowadays ...
hmmmm
Even if your AFL Club is performing quite bad there are still lots of other subjects to talk about anyway. So why leave the forums here only cos your afl club is goign crap ?
I don't see the point of that really.
The Dice Man
9 Jun 2006, 10:18
essendon have got bad quicker than everyone thought....
Not quite everyone ;)
Essendon fans seem to stick fat. Not as much as the Pies of course, but then they're not down the bottom as often as us:(
TwoBlueEyes
9 Jun 2006, 10:21
To be fair their year hasn't been great and the hits just keep coming with injuries. Unlucky. I guess there is only so much you can take before you lose hope on a season.
They'll be back next year no doubt.
johnnyhoward
9 Jun 2006, 12:16
If they won a couple of those 5 or 6 close games things would be so much different.
But I expect them to beat Geelong tonight.
Well, we can only hope. I'll be there tonight, I'm a glutton for punishment! ;)
I'll be there in spirit, just hope we put in a good performance & hopefully have a win.
Not that it will matter to the BF trolls, if we win, it will be because the Cats are a rabble, if we lose, we're either tanking or a rabble, depending on which troll is posting.
Go Bombers. :thumbsu:
Oh my Zaccy - so touching..just so touching!
Now all we need to do is drag your sorry hide to the 'G on Monday...
Here!! :thumbsu:
....and I shall be there tonight too! They better bloody win this time around.
Oh my Zaccy - so touching..just so touching!
Now all we need to do is drag your sorry hide to the 'G on Monday...
Nah Paz... he doesnt do games! ;)
redandblackveins
9 Jun 2006, 13:07
Can't speak for other Essendon posters, but you must admit some the post on here are just not worth responing to.
I read all the posts regarding the Bombers but wouldn't waste any effort responsing to Trolls.
Smokin_Joe
9 Jun 2006, 13:58
This coming from a poster who pretty much dissapeared last year :D
Falchoon
9 Jun 2006, 14:09
In fairness, all those 16 year old girls of the late nineties now have a career/family/boyfriend to think of rather than Matty and James.
Numbers are bound to drop off.
In fairness, all those 16 year old girls of the late nineties now have a career/family/boyfriend to think of rather than Matty and James.
Numbers are bound to drop off.
I dont think they were that into Hird... but 'Lloydy' on the other hand. That said, I must admit I'm pretty impartial to the hottie 22 year olds still wondering around with 18 on their backs..... :cool: mmmmmmmmmm
PS: Melbourne, Hawks and Doggies girls are the best in the comp by far! :eek:
I dont think they were that into Hird... but 'Lloydy' on the other hand. That said, I must admit I'm pretty impartial to the hottie 22 year olds still wondering around with 18 on their backs..... :cool: mmmmmmmmmm
Where? What? Since When? I haven't seen them in a while!
Full credit to Longy for sticking to his guns and doing a reasonable job at it
Where? What? Since When? I haven't seen them in a while!
Thats because we protect them from you..... :cool:
There are some clowns who support Essendon who post on here but that is the case for all clubs, mine included. By and large the Essendon mob on here are pretty good. They have some good posters. I have missed vandal though. He’s probably waiting for Tarrant to fart or something.
. Some have shamelessly just completely vanished - most are still here but posting at a mere fraction of their previous rate and avoiding discussion of their plight.
More than happy to discuss our current plight but I'm not really interested in responding to the constant trolling of supporters from clubs who are in no position to give advice to us on anything football related. We want our club to be out of the bottom quickly so why would we want to respond to Tiges & Hawks (most threads are started by them) who are still outside the 8 despite several years (in Richmonds case decades) of failure & priority picks. Essendon supporters know better than anyone that we are currently in terrible shape but we are also confident that we can turn things around. Talk from trolls of Essendon spending the next 10-20 years at the bottom is simply not worth responding to, as is ignorance about all aspects of our club.
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 15:37
Since we started going not as well I have not been posting on the main board as much as before but more on the Essendon board. I think that most Essendon posters have stuck round on bigfooty though.
The Essendon board definately hasn't gotten any slower
More than happy to discuss our current plight but I'm not really interested in responding to the constant trolling of supporters from clubs who are in no position to give advice to us on anything football related. We want our club to be out of the bottom quickly so why would we want to respond to Tiges & Hawks (most threads are started by them) who are still outside the 8 despite several years (in Richmonds case decades) of failure & priority picks. Essendon supporters know better than anyone that we are currently in terrible shape but we are also confident that we can turn things around. Talk from trolls of Essendon spending the next 10-20 years at the bottom is simply not worth responding to, as is ignorance about all aspects of our club.
Summed up beautifully. :thumbsu:
celtic_pride
9 Jun 2006, 15:59
How can essendon fans have a go at other club's troll when they have arguably BF's no 1 troll (Vanda) ?
Where is Vanda anyway ?
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 16:00
Yup thats why I have posted on the main board less.
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 16:01
How can essendon fans have a go at other club's troll when they have arguably BF's no 1 troll (Vanda) ?
Where is Vanda anyway ?
We dont make Vanda troll a. and b. there are worse then him.
FuManchu
9 Jun 2006, 16:01
VVANDA is the epitome of the Essendon supporter. God bless him and his dual personality, here for the good times, gone when it gets tough
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 16:03
VVANDA is the epitome of the Essendon supporter. God bless him and his dual personality, here for the good times, gone when it gets tough
he hasn't posted for 2 weeks. So When it was 1-7 it was good times.
FuManchu
9 Jun 2006, 16:05
he hasn't posted for 2 weeks. So When it was 1-7 it was good times.
perhaps it was his Richmond detractors that finally sent him packing his bags like an Essendon supporter at 3/4 time this year
Smokin_Joe
9 Jun 2006, 16:05
Where is Vanda anyway ?
Vanda is our ONLY troll. Name one other bomber poster who trolls. But every team needs one i suppose.
ManWithNoName
9 Jun 2006, 16:13
I'm still here don't worry. I wouldn't run off and hide under some alias account, far to much effort required.
And I'm going along tonight, and next week, and the week after that, so none of you can call me a bandwagoner either :p
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 16:14
perhaps it was his Richmond detractors that finally sent him packing his bags like an Essendon supporter at 3/4 time this year
Essendon supporters dont leave at 3/4 time.. Thats mainly cos we are usually in with a chance at 3/4 time and get overrun so good try d*ckhead
ManWithNoName
9 Jun 2006, 16:28
Essendon supporters dont leave at 3/4 time.. Thats mainly cos we are usually in with a chance at 3/4 time and get overrun so good try d*ckhead
Our "cheersquad" leaves at 3/4 time, or just after that.
jules101
9 Jun 2006, 16:37
Is that a joke cos they clapped the boys after the West Coast game for some reason... WE LOST!!! DONT CLAP
SydneyBomber
9 Jun 2006, 16:38
God bless him and his dual personality, here for the good times, gone when it gets tough
sybil? ;)
keep punching mudpie, we're still here
Vanda is our ONLY troll. Name one other bomber poster who trolls. But every team needs one i suppose.
It may be true you only have one troll, but you also have Dan26, who defies description really.
It's actually rather embarrassing. Dodgey should run our cheer squad.
Where is Vanda anyway ?
Macpie anyone?
Daytripper
9 Jun 2006, 16:54
Macpie anyone?
morgoth
tigerboyz
mcchawk
DynamoUltra
morgoth
tigerboyz
mcchawk
DynamoUltra
Dice Man
Choota
Hawkk
Dice Man
Choota
Hawkk
Chewy
Some bogan called Jim Beam
Chewy
Some bogan called Jim Beam
How could we forget "the awful truth"? I know I have just hurt his feelings again, calling him a troll. :rolleyes:
eastaugh36
9 Jun 2006, 19:08
I think we are a good chance tonight. We look like we match up well with the cats. Bring it on.
i guess we'll have to wait a bit longer for them to drift back. 10 straight losses - who saw that coming?
We look like we match up well with the cats. .
how would you think you match up on them? atm essendon barely match up on williamstown
OI Macca I am here, disappointed of course, the players have lost all confidence, I am sure that if we can get a win, things will turn around. Not that we will be world beaters this year, but will make less mistakes, because the players will think they can win a game.
eastaugh36
10 Jun 2006, 09:34
how would you think you match up on them? atm essendon barely match up on williamstown
Bryce Gibbs will help. ;)
eastaugh36
10 Jun 2006, 09:38
atm essendon barely match up on williamstown
Just like you lot last year?
Still here ;) but i must say i am dissapointed with the efforts of a few. If you are going to dish it out you have to be able to cop it in the bad times.
Where is Vanda anyway ?
Very ordianry effort by Vanda although Vanda isnt the biggest BF troll. Appears to be the biggest sooky lala trol though :D