View Full Version : Just a reminder (VFL)

onslaught
10 Jun 2006, 13:31
That the Tigers play the Devils down at Bellerive Oval today, 1pm.

On TV (ABC) and SEN (Radio).

.M a t t.
10 Jun 2006, 14:05
Minson playing today. Baird, mccormack, davidson, faulkner playing aswell
Good to see Minson playing hopefully back playing for us next week.

Scroater
10 Jun 2006, 14:14
MINSON on HAY
Minson 1 goal

Just what Big Will needs to get back in form. Turn up to the ground and your opponent is HAY. How well did he sleep last night.:p

Scroater
10 Jun 2006, 15:05
Attention, Attention, platform 13, Werribee train leaving Bellrive Oval, stand clear please, stand clear.:p 6-12 to 0-4 Hay is having a pearler.

.M a t t.
10 Jun 2006, 15:11
Minson kicks his 2nd.
Now I can see why Davidson hasn't been called up to the big leagues yet.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 15:32
And you can see why Jon Hay is playing VFL.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 15:39
RE: Hay. No offence to Minson he is doing exactly what is required of him. He isn't getting heaps of possesions but is competing, using his bulk, rucking, took a nice mark and kciked a couple.

Werribee at the half are killing them by 49 points and have kicked badly. Tassy are pretty poor but the inclusions for Werribee have improved them.
Tiller looks impressive at CHF. Tall, slim still but mobile. Started on the bench but has gotten a lot of the ball.
Baird killing them at the start, leading, marking, gathering but poor kicks. Quieter in the second.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 15:39
Now I can see why Davidson hasn't been called up to the big leagues yet.
Totally agree with this assessment.

.M a t t.
10 Jun 2006, 15:56
Davidson kicks a goal.

Aquamarinejewel
10 Jun 2006, 16:08
Faulkner has hurt his left shoulder....not sure how bad as yet, they are checking it. :(

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:10
Davidson kicks a goal.
He was better that quarter and its hard to find a bad Werribee player.

Addison dominated that quarter. The Tassy forward line is undersized both in height and weight. Play half back against them and you will get plenty of it.
Kmac, Addison and Dmac are all knocking up possession.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:11
Faulkner has hurt his left shoulder....not sure how bad as yet, they are checking it. :(
Doesn't look too bad.
Probably has been one of the players that hasn't really dominated. Possibly lacks some intensity.

.M a t t.
10 Jun 2006, 16:25
Faulkner apparently done an ac.
Davo playing down in defence now.

Aquamarinejewel
10 Jun 2006, 16:27
Doesn't look too bad.

It doesn't look good Ernie, they just mentioned that it's possibly his A/C joint...even though he hasn't set the world on fire..it is still another injury. :(

Go_Dogs
10 Jun 2006, 16:28
poor faulkner...thats what, another 4-6 weeks...poor guy. Just as he was named on the extended bench this week too.

Good news about Minson. Playing in the goal square wsa he?

Tiller get any goals?

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:44
It doesn't look good Ernie, they just mentioned that it's possibly his A/C joint...even though he hasn't set the world on fire..it is still another injury. :(
:) Well he didn't look like he was in pain.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:49
poor faulkner...thats what, another 4-6 weeks...poor guy. Just as he was named on the extended bench this week too.

Good news about Minson. Playing in the goal square wsa he?

Tiller get any goals?
Not sure Faulkner has done anything yet, could have been just a precaution.

Minson rucked a little and played out of square and also benched a few times. I'd put him in the seniors on that performance because he could do the same at the top level and help our structure.

Tiller no goals. Moves well but still a bit away from seniors. If he keeps playing like that and improving he will get a senior run late in the season.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:50
By the way Power didn't play so its likely someone is out.

gridlocked
10 Jun 2006, 16:55
Guido is commentating on the radio and does not sound too bad, so he should be playing.

H Dolphin
10 Jun 2006, 16:55
By the way Power didn't play so its likely someone is out.
Johnson or Giansiracusa, most likely.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 16:58
Johnson or Giansiracusa, most likely.
Power might be just an emergency?

SBI
10 Jun 2006, 16:58
He's probably just a backup incase.

jboyar
10 Jun 2006, 17:00
I heard Rocket on the radio saying they will probably keep someone in reserve die to the illneess in the club.

bulldogtragic
10 Jun 2006, 17:00
Things i got from the game:

Davidson still hasn't shown enough, although he does possess very strong potential.

Tiller showed some good signs, and has me looking forward to his 2007.

D-Mac musn't be far off a senior debut.

K-Mac played a very good game, but to me, I think that's it. He's only a decent VFL player - Perhaps a trade.

Faulkner looked very good. I liked the mongrel he showed today, i hope his injury is not too bad.

Minson did enough for his first game back.

Chris Bond saying he thinks PODS will get into the AFL was thought provoking.

But the biggest thing i got from the game was watching Dylan Addison.

This kid got nearly 10 marks and 25 possessions, and set up a heap of play, his kicking was great, and geez he has a massive turn of speed. Pick 27 was well worth it. I hope his consistency stays up and a senior game this year is not out of the question.

And my adoptee played very well too i thought, some very good 'dukey' marks and a couple of goals. He presented well and could well be in next week.

gridlocked
10 Jun 2006, 17:07
Baird and Tiller had a first gamer on them, who in all honesty is not up to VFL standard.

But then again, you can only play on who they put on you.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 17:18
Baird and Tiller had a first gamer on them, who in all honesty is not up to VFL standard.

But then again, you can only play on who they put on you.
It was also Tiller's 4th or 5th game.

Dog Town
10 Jun 2006, 17:43
Really impressed by our listed players today which I will get to soon.

I know most disagree but I need to get something off my chest.James Podsiadly is disastrous for the development of our young tall players.They just direct every forward thrust through him.Tommy Davidson spent a long time in the square next to him and didn't have a prayer of getting a mark inside 50 because Pods was always the first leading option and they go through him every time.Similar story when Tiller was playing deep.I despise the fact that we have to play our guys in amongst players that are not on our list.Paper said the reserves might be coming back and from a purely football perspective I would be ecstatic if they did.This is not having a shot at Werribee as our particular alliance seems to be one of the better models of how to do it.Just frustrates me that we cant play our players in meaningful roles.

When watching games like that where we were absolutely dominating you have to hold back your praise a little bit and look more at how players went about it I reckon.

Addison- Basically the first time I have seen of him and was a bit shocked with how advanced he was and also the style of player he is.Very balanced and evasive and IMO was the best of our listed players.Ran the lines very well and took players on.Seems to have all the tools with pretty good defensive skills and a solid attack on the footy.Very pleased.

Wight-Progressing nicely IMO.Defensive work was very good and he made his opponents (mainly McIntosh and Moran who are both listed with North) look foolish with his run out of defence.Spoiling and positioning seems to have improved.As far as his AFL prospects for this year go I think Eade struggles to find a role for him at times.Not yet strong enough to play on really good KP forwards.I think we need to start finding him some games and be prepared to cough up a few goals because the kid has a bit of a future IMO.It is good that he was so keen to run and create because he will need to do that against stronger opponents.We could probably play him on mid size players with the mobility that he has.

McCormack-Similar to Addison.Played in defence and ran off all day with plenty of drive.Looks a little bit scrappy below his knees occasionally but was very good on the day.Evasive and prepared to take blokes on.

Baird-Eade loves forwards that present to the ball and he certainly does that.Wouldn't be shocked if Eade actually targeted him as opposed to Scotty Clayton.If you look at it we have alot of forwards in and outside our side who just work up the ground at the ball carrier.We got Baird and Davidson this year and already had Tiller and Rob Murphy who are a similar style.We trialled David Haynes who is a very similar style to all of those guys.Baird will play seniors before the year is out I think.Pretty strong in the air and works hard on the lead.As a leading player he is going to rely a fair bit on delivery which is why you cant look at stats and best lists when trying to gauge how well he is going at Werribee.Got plenty to work on and is perhaps a little one dimensional but he did manage to get a few ground level goals which was pleasing.Kicking at goal could be an issue.

Tiller-IMO will be a very good leading forward for us once he gets some games under his belt.Still only 19 but he presents to the ball beautifully.Took a nice diving mark on the lead and got involved at ground level as well.Fairly confident he will play senior footy at some stage in his career.

Davidson-As I said earlier he struggled to work in with Pods when he was on.Probably a natural CHF but Werribee like us do not play with a genuine CHF and prefer to carry the ball through the middle of the ground.Baird probably played the role that Davidson would have been suited to.Did some ok things but struggled to be involved in enough contests.

Faulkner-Hurt his shoulder when he flattened Benny Beams.Could miss a while by the looks of it.Was playing a reasonable game but not really any different to what we have seen from Cam before.

Minson-Didn't play a full game and spent alot of time from the goal square.Just worked his way back into.Nice mark on the lead early and then a mini speccy was a good sign that he is not thinking about his leg too much.

Dog Town
10 Jun 2006, 17:45
Forgot K-Mac.He was good also and seems to be working harder.Not very far off a promotion.

bulldogtragic
10 Jun 2006, 17:56
Agree 100% about Pods.

Davidson, Tiller, Wells, and Walsh (next year or if he was fit) just are not getting the amount of ball they need to continue to develop and run into strong form. I find this very concerning.

Rocco Jones
10 Jun 2006, 18:16
Yeah having not watched the Bees for awhile I forgot how much they go to Pods. Definitely not good for the development of our kids.

I have been speaking to Pembelton about the reserves/VFL situation a bit of late (being the kings of cool we are). The main advantage is that we would be able to develop our kids the way we see fit but we will also be able to use players in roles we want them to play in the senior side (could really benefit guys Eade has doubts over ie. Faulkner, Birss, Wight).

Romantically, I'd love to see the "Footscray Bulldogs" play out of the Whitten Oval in the VFL. Ensure we always play at home when our seniors are interstate. Add say $30-50 to our normal membership to also get a VFL one, $20-30 on top of a social club membership etc.

Obviously fianancial issues have to be considered. I know it costs more money to get a stand alone licence in the VFL. I would try to petition the AFL to change this. If they truly want what's best for the game then they should. Listed players' salary won't go up because we currently pay for our listed Bee players. We'd probably need another coach to oversee Bees side but I'd want us to pay for Atkins if we got to control what he did with the side.

With reduced lists we would need extras. Hopefully we will have more players on our rookie list from next year (which I think is a huge competitive disadvantage for us atm anyway). Getting enough numbers could pose a problem.

I am not sure of the associated costs but if it's at all possible I think it must be looked at.

Mofra
10 Jun 2006, 18:26
Unfortunately didn't get to see the whole game - but watching D-Mac, nothing has changed my assessment that he is ready to slip into our backline as soon as a spot is available, to replace either a McMahon or Griffen, and free one of those two up to move into the midfield rotation.

As a midfielder I don't think he is AFL ready yet, but as a back pocket I think he is at the required standard already. If you look at his progression, he has been in the bests a few times which isn't always easy to do playing back.

Tiller is raw but looks the goods (of course I like the kid so am bais anyways). Given most KPP players aren't ready until their early 20s anyway, he has plenty of time to develop and is probably one of (if not the) most promising of our young forward options.

Wight only needs to add size to bring himself into regular AFL contention, certainly not lacking attack on the ball or pace for a big man.

Baird presents well but his kicking was definately off today - would have to be a chance to play HFF for the Dogs as he can definately take a grab and without Murphy our HF marking ability is a concern.

Addison - I've seen the footage of him taking 3-4 bounces, running through the centre in an intra-club match and thought he looked OK. Today he showed it is the norm for his style of play, and could well be another that can provide run out of defence if a McMahon or Griffen move forward. Developing nicely which could be a concern for a few players that have been in the system a few years already.

K-Mac looks like he could plug a few holes this year in teh seniors and looked OK, although given the progression of a few others if he doesn't get regular AFL time by the end of the season his time may have poassed.

bulldogtragic
10 Jun 2006, 18:31
Love the idea Rocco.

I'd be more inclined to go the 2's in that scenario. I hate the big corporatised grounds and concrete atmosphere.

I'll sign your petition.

Rocco Jones
10 Jun 2006, 18:34
Does anyone else see Freo's Michael Johnson in Cam Wight? Would love him to become anything like him. Just nees more size to ensure he isn't murdered in contest situation. Other than that, he should be at the very least warrant a spot in our side for awhile.

Dog Town
10 Jun 2006, 18:37
Does anyone else see Freo's Michael Johnson in Cam Wight? Would love him to become anything like him. Just nees more size to ensure he isn't murdered in contest situation. Other than that, he should be at the very least warrant a spot in our side for awhile.Good comparison.You have to understand how far back Wight has come from to really understand how much he has improved.All he needs to do is continue that level of improvement and he should have a good career.

bulldogtragic
10 Jun 2006, 18:39
Does anyone else see Freo's Michael Johnson in Cam Wight? Would love him to become anything like him. Just nees more size to ensure he isn't murdered in contest situation. Other than that, he should be at the very least warrant a spot in our side for awhile.
The ABC commentators were talking about Wight and said he needs a few years in the gym and could be a good player.

He has already spent about 4 in the gym, and doesn't appear to be getting much stronger.

I hope he comes on, i like him, he enormous potential, but i haven't seen it and i'm soory to say, skeptical about whether he can make the leap to AFL.

mjp
10 Jun 2006, 18:39
Yeah having not watched the Bees for awhile I forgot how much they go to Pods. Definitely not good for the development of our kids.
Agree with this.

Add say $30-50 to our normal membership to also get a VFL one, $20-30 on top of a social club membership etc.
Nice idea - but dont we get a Bee's membership as part of the Dogs membership package already? I have VFL membership through a different mechanism, but I am sure I have a card floating around somewhere.

All of that aside, Addison's development has been outstanding. And I believe Baird is a ready made player - and a tough match-up - who would already be in the seniors if not for injury...

Dog Town
10 Jun 2006, 18:43
Baird is a ready made player - and a tough match-up - who would already be in the seniors if not for injury...Could comfortably step straight in and fill a role as a leading forward IMO.He would get better delivery at AFL level which would help him.Sort of guy that would just about get better with the increase of standard.

OldSchool
10 Jun 2006, 18:46
Nice idea - but dont we get a Bee's membership as part of the Dogs membership package already? I have VFL membership through a different mechanism, but I am sure I have a card floating around somewhere.

All of that aside, Addison's development has been outstanding. And I believe Baird is a ready made player - and a tough match-up - who would already be in the seniors if not for injury...

I got a Bees membership this year as part of my membership.

Agree with your views on Addison. I saw him a lot during the summer and he was very raw. The last few times I have seen him his progress has been excellent. Still a fair way to go but if he keeps on improving he should be an exciting player for us.

Baird just needs to string a few games together so that we can gauge where he might be be suited in the seniors.

ErnieSigley
10 Jun 2006, 19:27
The ABC commentators were talking about Wight and said he needs a few years in the gym and could be a good player.
He has already spent about 4 in the gym, and doesn't appear to be getting much stronger.
Agree. How can he expect to play seniors if hasn't got the body to do it?
He isn't exactly blessed with pace, a great mark or ball winning ability.

Rocco Jones
10 Jun 2006, 20:08
Agree. How can he expect to play seniors if hasn't got the body to do it?
He isn't exactly blessed with pace, a great mark or ball winning ability.

He is 200cms and has just recently turned 21. While you would hope he would have put on a bit more size, being under developed at his height and age isn't exactly uncommon.

I would have thought he had very good pace and mobility for his size. He attacks the ball well and is improving rapidly in his reading of play. Marking overhead also improving and will improve in contests as he gains size.

Fossie 32
10 Jun 2006, 20:57
Missed the third quarter but thought Cam was better than usual early, Addison very good attack on the ball, heaps better than last I saw him, same for Baird apart from kicking, getting right into it, Tiller just starting to do something, Wight not that great. McCormack very good, one of his better efforts too.
KMac a fair game, 15 kicks and 7 handballs seemed to have plenty of poise but a couple of times kicks went to defenders. For those so keen to can him, facts are:
1 He rarely gets an opportunity in the Dogs side
2 when he does he doesn't get much game time but usually manages a decent number of possies [not many tapouts but]

gohardorgohome
10 Jun 2006, 21:06
I noticed that M West got 5 goals in the ressies. That sounds promising.

J Wells still no goals and not in the best .:(

Fossie 32
10 Jun 2006, 21:35
I noticed that M West got 5 goals in the ressies. That sounds promising.

J Wells still no goals and not in the best .:(

That was last week wasn't it? Don't think they played today.

stmookeyj
10 Jun 2006, 23:53
FWIW (Seeing as though no-one has bothered yet)

TASMANIA 7.8.50
WERRIBEE 17.21.123

GOALS: Podsiadly 4, Robinson, MINSON, BAIRD, Hassan 2, Gleeson, DAVIDSON, Allan, Young, Furfaro
BEST: ADDISON, Allan, McCORMACK, Robertson, WIGHT, Robinson

Reserves have the week off this week.

Fat Smitty 18
11 Jun 2006, 00:05
Nice idea - but dont we get a Bee's membership as part of the Dogs membership package already? I have VFL membership through a different mechanism, but I am sure I have a card floating around somewhere

Sure do - have used mine for a couple of games already

Maverick Dog
11 Jun 2006, 08:35
I agree with Pods. We can hardly judge Davidson performance when they go to Pods 9 out of 10 times. Saw Davidon lead a few times but they ignored him and tried to pass to Pods. This is an issue for Davidson, Tiller and Walsh.

Addison looks a player. His balance and poise is great. Has a leap on him and run the lines well. Baird played on a first gamer in the 1st quarter so do not really rate is perfromance. Davidson was ordinary but he does look like he has the goods to become a player. Appears to have the atributes. Would still like to see him get a couple of games later in the yr when his confidence is up to see how he goes. At least by doing that we can judge if he worthy of a spot next yr

scooter600x
11 Jun 2006, 09:59
The reason they go to Pods so often is because he leads to the right spots.

You don't get time to look up with the ball and say to yourself, "no, that's the wrong bloke. Where's Pods?". If they present, they'll get the ball. Anything else is an excuse.

Borgsta
11 Jun 2006, 10:17

You don't get time to look up with the ball and say to yourself, "no, that's the wrong bloke. Where's Pods?". If they present, they'll get the ball. Anything else is an excuse.

That and they are used to the spots that Pods goes to as well Id imagine.

Dog Town
11 Jun 2006, 11:14

You don't get time to look up with the ball and say to yourself, "no, that's the wrong bloke. Where's Pods?". If they present, they'll get the ball. Anything else is an excuse.He leads to the right spots because he is the main target.Any of them could do it but he is used in that role.He is the main target and everyone else has to work in around him.Not an excuse in my view.If Pods wasn't playing yesterday then Davidson would have been the main target rather than giving the second lead or the stay at home option.Been the same every time I have watched Werribee over the last few years.Major issue for us.

G-Mo77
11 Jun 2006, 11:31
So what are Werribee supose to do put Pods on the bench and make Davidson the main target?

Dog Town
11 Jun 2006, 11:37
So what are Werribee supose to do put Pods on the bench and make Davidson the main target?Where did I say anything like that? Pods is a better option and Werribee are right to use him that way but it does not make it any less of a problem for us.You cant blame any one person for it because it is just a product of the current system we are forced to work in.Just something we have to deal with.We have probably 5 young guys who at some stage are going to find themselves trying to learn and play the same role that the best forward outside the AFL is already playing.If anyone thinks that isn't going to influence the rate of development in those guys then you have rocks in your head.

Cyberdoggie
11 Jun 2006, 11:44
how good was addison though. Looked very gilbee'esque running out of defence with lots of confidence. Great to see.

Dog Town
11 Jun 2006, 11:47
how good was addison though. Looked very gilbee'esque running out of defence with lots of confidence. Great to see.Certainly looks like Clayton has found another running player.Signs look very good for last years draft with Higgins and West also impressing.

Mofra
11 Jun 2006, 11:58
Certainly looks like Clayton has found another running player.Signs look very good for last years draft with Higgins and West also impressing.
Actually all 5 choices offer value - Baird prestened well all day and could very well get some AFL time on the HHF as a marking link man up the ground. Higgins is clearly going to play alot more senior football, especially considering he's the youngest AFL listed player and physically immature.
Monty will play another 20-30, Addison looked fantastic (it's nto the first time we've seen him streaming through the corridor either) whilst Lamby could be anything.

Clayton:thumbsu:

bresker
11 Jun 2006, 11:59
There aren't many blokes of Cam Wight's height with better skills running round the AFL. He will put on weight and he will be an excellent player in a couple of years.

Maverick Dog
12 Jun 2006, 09:17

Don't agree, I saw pods lead to to boundary about 5 times. Same time Davidson or Tiller lead down the middle. Who did they kick to? Pods. Pods presents well and rarely lets them down. As a player it is natural to look for him.

When you have the ball at that level of course you know who you want to go to. Pods has been the money man for a number of years. The players know when and where he leads and they look for him on most occassions.

I suppose Essedon players don't look for LLoyd, Swan don't look for Bazza, Blues do not look for Fev. If you do not look for your money man you should not be playing football at any level.

2 full fwds playing next to each other rarely works no matter how good they are eg Roach ,Taylor. Roach got shifted to CHF and was then stuffed.

I would like to see Davidson be given a chance at FF with no Pods before I can pass judgment on him. Pods is defintely hurting the devlopment of our tall Fwds

scooter600x
12 Jun 2006, 09:29
I suppose Essedon players don't look for LLoyd, Swan don't look for Bazza, Blues do not look for Fev. If you do not look for your money man you should not be playing football at any level.

One of the reasons they are the money men because they lead to the right spots. Johnno and Nathan Brown draw the ball as well, not because they're 6' 4" full forwards but because they lead to the right spots.

It's about timing and reading the delivering players balance. Sometimes you have to lead wide if your midfielder is being forced that way. You'll find Pods leads slightly to the left of centre if given the option, to help his left foot kicking.

And I remember Lockett and Dunstall going OK together in a state game.

Dog Town
12 Jun 2006, 09:37
One of the reasons they are the money men because they lead to the right spots. Johnno and Nathan Brown draw the ball as well, not because they're 6' 4" full forwards but because they lead to the right spots.

It's about timing and reading the delivering players balance. Sometimes you have to lead wide if your midfielder is being forced that way. You'll find Pods leads slightly to the left of centre if given the option, to help his left foot kicking.

And I remember Lockett and Dunstall going OK together in a state game.Agree with all that Scooter and Pods does it well but as the number 1 forward he also gets first choice of where to lead which leaves the other guys with the option of leading the other way or staying put.The same applies in our side yesterday when Skipper was forward when Johnson quite rightly told him off for leading to the same spot as him.No doubt Davidson and others could and should play better but they are not helped by this situation.

Raw Toast
12 Jun 2006, 13:31
Agree with all that Scooter and Pods does it well but as the number 1 forward he also gets first choice of where to lead which leaves the other guys with the option of leading the other way or staying put.The same applies in our side yesterday when Skipper was forward when Johnson quite rightly told him off for leading to the same spot as him.No doubt Davidson and others could and should play better but they are not helped by this situation.

Port has had a similar situation with White and Thurstans struggling before this year with the focus on Tredrea. No surprise that both have done better this year with Tredrea missing or down on fitness and form.

I like Pods and hopefully our developing talls can learn off him, but the having an alignment with Werribee (or any other team) clearly limits our player development. A case in point was with Minson who was languising a bit in the Werribee two's and credits his success with Adelaide picking up Ben Hudson which meant Minson was chucked in the Bees firsts and developed well from there.

It's true that Pods leads to the right places better than our talls, but he's a much more developed player. Our players need to develop those skills but rarely experience themselves in the gun because Pods will offer the get out of jail option everytime and he's who they bomb it to if need be (with good reason).

I'd love to have a reserves comp back and to have curtain raisers as well (though Docklands probably wouldn't cope with this on a regular basis). Money's clearly an issue and it would be close to terminal for the vfa (now vfl) but it would be a great bonus for the VIC teams.

BTW alsa really liked Addison's game - has he grown a bit? Seemed to be playing quite tall. The likely inclusion of him and McCormack in the next little while and the development of Higgins doesn't bode well for Birss.

Raw Toast
12 Jun 2006, 14:14
Also liked the way Tiller was prepared to back himself to run past players, seems to have good pace along with decent hands.

Mofra
12 Jun 2006, 14:47
Also liked the way Tiller was prepared to back himself to run past players, seems to have good pace along with decent hands.
I've been impressed with what I've seen of Tiller. 19 yo plays as a genuine KPP and will be very interesting to see what happens after a pre-season.

Gilbo_Fan
12 Jun 2006, 20:35
Great to hear the signs were very positive from the Bulldog listed Werribee players (Addison, Wight, McCormack, Baird and Tiller etc).

I also think Wight will be a player and that persistence is all that is needed. He has great size, and has got a lot stronger but not a great deal bigger. He consistently seems to improve and I would like to see Rocket get him into the team to blood him. I think theres a good chance he will play against the Lions this week.

Davidson is still working himself back into it and I've not given up hope that he will get it right.

Its a credit to KMac as a guy that he just keeps performing at VFL level; perhaps he will also get a chance this week.

Gooka
13 Jun 2006, 13:46
RE: Pods and Weribee...

I guess when the aliance was formed, people didn't expect a guy who dominates games so regularly, and has done so for a few years, to not be on an AFL list.

stefoid
13 Jun 2006, 14:34
He is 200cms and has just recently turned 21. While you would hope he would have put on a bit more size, being under developed at his height and age isn't exactly uncommon.

I would have thought he had very good pace and mobility for his size. He attacks the ball well and is improving rapidly in his reading of play. Marking overhead also improving and will improve in contests as he gains size.

he was listed at 199.2cm and 80kg when he came to the club, so hes put on 13kgs. Cant use 'still growing' as an excuse - just going to be a skinny player...

stefoid
13 Jun 2006, 14:37
Where did I say anything like that? Pods is a better option and Werribee are right to use him that way but it does not make it any less of a problem for us.You cant blame any one person for it because it is just a product of the current system we are forced to work in.Just something we have to deal with.We have probably 5 young guys who at some stage are going to find themselves trying to learn and play the same role that the best forward outside the AFL is already playing.If anyone thinks that isn't going to influence the rate of development in those guys then you have rocks in your head.

I hope someone takes him next year, even if it isnt us.

paul scholes
13 Jun 2006, 16:18
He leads to the right spots because he is the main target.Any of them could do it but he is used in that role.He is the main target and everyone else has to work in around him.Not an excuse in my view.If Pods wasn't playing yesterday then Davidson would have been the main target rather than giving the second lead or the stay at home option.Been the same every time I have watched Werribee over the last few years.Major issue for us.
i agree it's a major issue for the bulldogs, the same situation occurred when mitchell was the main man a couple of seasons back. Surely we should be concerned only in the progress of tiller,davo,baird.