View Full Version : williamstown vs geelong
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 16:50
I know the 2's got up by about 50pts
any detailed results ?
progressive score in the 1's?
http://reg.sportingpulse.com/onlineresults_new/rpt_progressive.cgi?a=MR_&aID=16&ext=1
The results don't mean too much to me. I just wanna know which Pies players played well!
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 18:40
any player reviews?
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 19:13
Chris Egan: Did most of his damage in the first half, off a back flank pushing up the ground. A strong wind made kicking uneasy, but Egan used the ball brilliantly.
7/10.
Shannon Cox: Started in the goal square and immediately made an impact, booting two goals in the first ten minutes of the contest. Pushed up the ground and played well.
5/10.
Cameron Cloke: Worked like a "horseman". Rucked well, and provided a strong target up forward.
6/10.
John Anthony: Came into the game when the pressure settled down. Did a couple of good things, but he has a lot to learn still.
4/10.
David Fanning: The big man made a couple of bloopers. He played below average.
4/10.
Tristen Walker: Held his own in the back line. Took a couple of solid marks, and showed improvement.
5/10.
Alan Toovey: Ran well. Backed himself. Disposal needs work.
4/10.
Danny Stanley: Perfect conditions for Stanley, but he didn't make the most of his opportunities.
3/10.
Ryan Cook: It wasn't his ideal conditions. Didn't have an impact on the contest.
3/10.
Harry O'Brien: Harry loves to run with the ball. Has got good composure and awareness.
6/10.
Ben Davies: Solid game. Ran hard through the midfield. Courageous player.
7/10.
Rhyce Shaw: Rhyce needs a couple more weeks at Williamstown. Looked proppy. But he played a serviceable game.
5/10.
Sean Rusling: Gotch played Rusling wisely. They are trying to develop Sean into an elusive midfielder. Like Rhyce, needs a couple more weeks at Williamstown.
4/10.
Leg_Spinning_Sensation
11 Jun 2006, 19:25
Great to see Chris performing well, he has found a new burst of enthusiasm it seems with almost being called up to the side. Russy and Racer still need a bit of time in the ressies but it is great to see them up and running and pushing lowly for selection. Ben Davies continues to perform, will be a good player at senior level. Cam Cloke, too good for the VFL, not good enough for the AFL, I think eh will be traded, could have a future at another AFL club IMO, where was Jason?
Shannon Cox, I see as a player of the future, Harry will play soon, got lots of potential. Thanks Coin :thumbsu:
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 19:25
who played in the ressies?
Chris Egan: Did most of his damage in the first half, off a back flank pushing up the ground. A strong wind made kicking uneasy, but Egan used the ball brilliantly.
7/10.
Shannon Cox: Started in the goal square and immediately made an impact, booting two goals in the first ten minutes of the contest. Pushed up the ground and played well.
5/10.
Cameron Cloke: Worked like a "horseman". Rucked well, and provided a strong target up forward.
6/10.
John Anthony: Came into the game when the pressure settled down. Did a couple of good things, but he has a lot to learn still.
4/10.
David Fanning: The big man made a couple of bloopers. He played below average.
4/10.
Tristen Walker: Held his own in the back line. Took a couple of solid marks, and showed improvement.
5/10.
Alan Toovey: Ran well. Backed himself. Disposal needs work.
4/10.
Danny Stanley: Perfect conditions for Stanley, but he didn't make the most of his opportunities.
3/10.
Ryan Cook: It wasn't his ideal conditions. Didn't have an impact on the contest.
3/10.
Harry O'Brien: Harry loves to run with the ball. Has got good composure and awareness.
6/10.
Ben Davies: Solid game. Ran hard through the midfield. Courageous player.
7/10.
Rhyce Shaw: Rhyce needs a couple more weeks at Williamstown. Looked proppy. But he played a serviceable game.
5/10.
Sean Rusling: Gotch played Rusling wisely. They are trying to develop Sean into an elusive midfielder. Like Rhyce, needs a couple more weeks at Williamstown.
4/10.
I think you must have been at a different game to me to give votes like that!!
bucksisbest
11 Jun 2006, 19:37
Agreed John Anthony had one of his better ones today , nice run off half back as well (prefer JA playing as an attacking CHB than a stopper at FB).
Defensive unit as a whole today was very good.
Paracetamol Merchant
11 Jun 2006, 19:38
Anthony was in the best and apparently beat Kingsley.
Hey that's worth more than 4.
I'm with JAJH - Coin Toss its literally almost like you are reviewing players from a different match... :confused:
Anthony, Rhyce and Harry were all fantastic.
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 19:39
I think you must have been at a different game to me to give votes like that!!
I view the game my way!
If you don't like it, then **** off! :mad:
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 19:41
Anthony was in the best and apparently beat Kingsley.
Hey that's worth more than 4.
He was on Kingsley for parts of the game!
Anthony was all right but, he buckles under pressure.
I view the game my way!
Nice attitude to take when people disagree with you.
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 19:46
where was Jason?
Jason is carrying a niggle of some sort.
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 19:48
or wakelin is and jas will replace him....?
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 19:49
Nice attitude to take when people disagree with you.
Look mate, I express my opinion differently, arent everyone entitled to their own views and opinions?
Nobody is trying to censor your view as is apparent by others who thought your votes unusual, but to tell me to ****off because of it shows a lack of respect and maturity.
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 19:54
go easy on coin, at least he takes the time to review the games. i appreciate it cos im down in tassie and would have no idea at all otherwise.
coin, how did Iles,Hall and Nicholls go in the 2's?
Bomberland06
11 Jun 2006, 19:56
No need to get all crazy coin toss but I really wonder where Egan got 7/10 from :confused:
Cam Cloke was great I thought and Rhyce did enough imo to book a flight to Sydney if there is a spot for him
I view the game my way!
FIGJAM, what if I had said this?
go easy on coin, at least he takes the time to review the games. i appreciate it cos im down in tassie and would have no idea at all otherwise.
Go easy on him...because he reviews the games?? I go to every game, take hundreds of photos and post them on the internet for all you guys to enjoy...all at my expense. I don't get paid for it. If someone doesn't like my photos am I entitled to tell him/her to ****off.
Lonie_from_50
11 Jun 2006, 19:59
It's a good thing to see Walker in the best. Hopefully he can play good footy and threaten for a senior spot. He has been at the club for many years, is a grand final player, he needs to show more, maybe a start.
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 20:00
from what i have read on other boards, egan had a real good first half.and ja
played well rebounding from defence but some marked him down cos he was on Kingsley.
dont know i wasnt there
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 20:05
Go easy on him...because he reviews the games?? I go to every game, take hundreds of photos and post them on the internet for all you guys to enjoy...all at my expense. I don't get paid for it. If someone doesn't like my photos am I entitled to tell him/her to ****off.
yeah he prob was out of line saying that,
but i can see why he got upset. he has posted his opinion and everyone has critisised it without offering their own opinion on how all the listed players performed.
Bomberland06
11 Jun 2006, 20:11
Fair point John, Coint_toss went to far with his attack on you, his ratings were hard to understand for most and its not only you who was confused by some of them
I hope no one bags your photos, they are sensational and we would hate to see you stop posting them
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 20:18
I ran late, so the 2's were over when I arrived at the ground. But I heard Iles played a good midfield game, kicked three goals.
Hall was quiet.
Not sure, Re: Nicholls.
bucksisbest
11 Jun 2006, 20:35
Are we sure Hall played, as he was up on 2 striking charges from the Sandy 2's game.
Coin_Toss
11 Jun 2006, 20:41
Are we sure Hall played, as he was up on 2 striking charges from the Sandy 2's game.
Forgot about that.. Like I said, I didn't watch the 2's today. I presumed Hall was quiet because he didn't kick a goal and he wasn't named in the best.
mr incredibe
11 Jun 2006, 20:41
pretty sure he played allthough i may be wrong
Bomberland06
11 Jun 2006, 20:44
Hall played, well sort of, was utterly useless as usual, it was bad luck for Willy he wasnt suspended
Paddywackers
11 Jun 2006, 21:16
I view the game my way!
You mark the players to hard! It is too hard to get an eight. Until than...
magpies42
11 Jun 2006, 22:09
i agree with ya! we are all greatful that you guys post your opinions on the game especially me as i havent been to one willi game this year.
Don't take JA's job on Kingsley lightly. Kingsley is an AFL footballer with a wealth of experience and shown he can perform well at AFL. For him to beat Kingsley, who BTW would be looking to prove something is no small feat.
J.Cloke should not be able to play, not because I don't rate him, but he wasn't even named on the extended bench.
CT what is your opinion of Egan's disposal by foot and his decision making? I have the view that when he has the confidence he can be a really great kick.
Cam Cloke is young , I remeber Monkhurst was a dud....then he turned 25/26 and become one of the best ruckman in the comp? Premiership player.
Cam Cloke shows more at 20.... than Damian Monkhurst ever did AT 22. Sack him...you're kidding.
Tell me a 21 yo ruckmen that is established.
Minson and McIntosh were taken b4 him in the draft? Choice
Don't underestimate the Clokes. Esp at 25.
In 2002 , JASON CLOKE, WAS THE BEST THIRD MAN IN THE LEAUGE, CREATED A STAT FOR SPOILS OUTSIDE 5O (kick may go in 20, punch results in OUT 50). He was unique, He will be a PP player.
Arguably very costly for 02 stint at the flag. He was good....very good.
So ....i don't see Cam Cloke's a problem.i don't see it. Premiers 2007/08....I'll conced that 3 of them won't be there this year
PS Heath/Rhyce Shaw ....all good
Greeney
12 Jun 2006, 09:17
Whats your opinion JAJH then ?
Coin_Toss
12 Jun 2006, 10:04
CT what is your opinion of Egan's disposal by foot and his decision making? I have the view that when he has the confidence he can be a really great kick.
A lot of people I know underestimate the value of having Richardson as development coach. He works with the first, second, and third year players. He also tells them to play with confidence and flair.
Back on Egan now, the club are working on his defensive game. Last year he played mostly on a forward flank and, he looked good when he had the ball, but he wouldn't put defensive pressure on his opponent/s.
In 2006, Egan has played off a back flank. It has worked out really well for him, he looks very good running out of the backline and, he puts on pressure. Yesterday, he went forward after half time and did damage, I think he kicked a goal or two.
In some ways you're right.. Egan is a confidence player. Everything can turn sour when he has had made a couple of bloopers, but it can work the other way when he plays with confidence.
Egan's decision making and skills were fantastic. He missed a dead set sitter in front of the sticks, but he looked dangerous around the ground. Surprisingly (for some) his decision making was quite good, he has found this art hard in the past, but he looks "at home" in the backline.
I believe he could be something special for the Collingwood Football Club.. But the jury is still out.
FIGJAM, what if I had said this?
Yes Coin, using that sort of language is unacceptable, even if you're under attack.
Everyone else can chill the hell out. Coin's provided great service here with his Towner reports, and he's known to be a hard marker.
If you want different opinions PROVIDE us with your own, or alternatively have a read of some other opinions.
http://www.voy.com/51976/
http://www.magpies.net/nick/article/article.php?subaction=showfull&id=1150058276&archive=&start_from=&ucat=7&
http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=29667&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
Curto I completely disagree with your opinion that Monkey was a dud at 21/22. Monkey and Manson were crucial to our 1990 flag and Monkey was one of our most important player in the early to mid 90's.
Whats your opinion JAJH then ?
What's my opinion on what?
Timmy from Thomastown
12 Jun 2006, 11:27
What's my opinion on what?
I think he's interested in who you thought the better players were. We all are, as we respect your opinions.
PS I reckon your boy has the goods. Unfortunately the only game I've seen live is the Sandy game where he had a poor one, but from what I've seen on the ABC he seems to have the size, brain and mobility to replace Clement Presti and Wakes in the next year or three.
I think he's interested in who you thought the better players were. We all are, as we respect your opinions.
Unforutnatley, it is a bit difficult for me to give accurate ratings simply because at most games my head is behind a camera which makes it tough to focus on the game/players, however yesterday's weather was so bad the camera was put away for most of the game which allowed me to watch with a bit more interest.
Fanning - played a pretty serviceable game, for bloke his size he keeps running and as someone once said, 'the big blokes don't get any smaller".
Cam Cloke - not blessed with skills but generally gives you as much as he can...a good backup to Fanning yesterday.
Egan - Pretty good foot skills, not the type to get in and under, I thought his defensive work basically as a crumber was good. When he moved up forward I thought he wasn't hard enough at it.
Ben Davies -Got a heart as big as Texas, never stops trying.
Stanley - Kicking generally a little loose, but good work rate, hard at the contest, runs straight through, did some very good work in the conditions.
Ryan COOK - I didn't sight him yesterday, but has been good in the last couple of weeks.
Tristen WALKER- I haven't been a big wrap for him, I think he has lost his way a bit which is obviously why he struggles to win a spot in the Pies. Yesterday was one of the better games I have seen him play although he struggles to read the ball coming in...often finds himself too far under the ball.
Heath LAWRY- A strange one, sometimes plays blinders up forward, the sort of player destined as a goal kicker, yet seemed equally comfortable in the backline.
Brad LLOYD - Good leader, always in the thick of it, never seems to do anything outstanding but always getting plenty of possessions.
Andrew WILLIAMS - Very good leading forward, good hands, yesterday looked uncomfortable in the conditions, but a serviceable game.
John ANTHONY - At the risk of sounding biased, I thought it was his best game this season. I have always thought he is better suited as a running/attacking defender. I was a little confused where Kingsley was actually playing because John seemed to have free reign at CHB for a good part of the game.
Ryhce SHAW- Always make a contest of it, I think sometimes he gets too vocal on the ground and can be prone to the occasional spite behind play, but you never doubt his intenstity.
RUSLING- I didn't see a lot of him, still looks a bit reserved going for the hard ball, skills are very good, will have to earn his spot in the seniors.
Harry O'BRIEN- Tough as nails in the backline, foot skills need work, the sort of player who makes me nervous when he gets the ball, he seems to almost panic for a split second then makes a decision.
Timmy from Thomastown
12 Jun 2006, 11:54
Cheers, thanks.